Annual Shareholder Meeting

April 17, 2012
Exhibit 99.1

Safe Harbor Statement
This presentation includes “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of Section
27A of the Securities Act and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as
amended, regarding, among other things, our business strategy, our prospects and our
financial position. These statements can be identified by the use of forward-looking
terminology such as “believes,” “estimates,” “expects,” “intends,” “may,” “will,”
“should,” “could,” or “anticipates” or the negative or other variation of these similar
words, or by discussions of strategy or risks and uncertainties. These statements are
based on current expectations of future events. If underlying assumptions prove
inaccurate or unknown risks or uncertainties materialize, actual results could vary
materially from the Company’s expectations and projections. Important factors that
could cause actual results to differ materially from such forward-looking statements
include, without limitation, risks related to the following:

qIncreasing competition in the communications industry; and

qA complex and uncertain regulatory environment.

A further list and description of these risks, uncertainties and other factors can be found
in the Company’s SEC filings which are available online at www.sec.gov,
www.shentel.com or on request from the Company. The Company does not undertake
to update any forward-looking statements as a result of new information or future
events or developments

Use of Non-GAAP Financial Measures
Included in this presentation are certain non-GAAP financial measures that are not
determined in accordance with US generally accepted accounting principles. These
financial performance measures are not indicative of cash provided or used by operating
activities and exclude the effects of certain operating, capital and financing costs and
may differ from comparable information provided by other companies, and they should
not be considered in isolation, as an alternative to, or more meaningful than measures
of financial performance determined in accordance with US generally accepted
accounting principles. These financial performance measures are commonly used in the
industry and are presented because Shentel believes they provide relevant and useful
information to investors. Shentel utilizes these financial performance measures to
assess its ability to meet future capital expenditure and working capital requirements, to
incur indebtedness if necessary, return investment to shareholders and to fund
continued growth. Shentel also uses these financial performance measures to evaluate
the performance of its businesses and for budget planning purposes.

Annual Shareholder Meeting

April 17, 2012

Web
Maps
Shopping
Music
Video

PCS Subscriber Growth History

Total Change in Stock Price

Note: Adjusted for stock splits and as of the end of year close.

Total Change in Dividends per Share

Note: Adjusted for stock splits.

Earle MacKenzie
COO and EVP

Key Operational Results - Wireless

PCS Retail Subscribers (000s)

Key Operational Results - Wireless

PCS Net Additions

How Does Shentel’s Wireless Compare?
 2011 Results (in thousands)
Verizon
AT&T
Sprint
Shentel
US
Cellular
Alltel
(ATNI)
T-
Mobile
nTelos
Covered
POPs

296,000

313,000
 277,800
46,888
 4,500

280,200

5,915
2011 Net
Adds or
(Loss)
5,419
7,699
5,111
54..
(186)
(10)
(1,232)
(18)
Total Subs
107,798
103,247

55,021

5,891
 582

33,734

415
Penetration
36.4%
33.0%
19.8%
17.3%.
12.6%
12.9%
12.4%
7.0%
 Note: All metrics include wholesale subscribers.

Key Operational Results - Wireless
PCS Gross Billed Data & Voice

Investing in the Future

q Keeps Shentel’s network aligned with Sprint’s
q Allows Shentel to remain competitive with Verizon and
 AT&T
q Improve customers’ experience
q Provide 4G LTE service in entire coverage area
q Provide better in building and overall coverage
q Gives Shentel potential to leverage investment

q Convert existing iDEN customers to our network

Profile of the Sprint Nextel Relationship - Postpaid
q Contract
 Ø Initial term to 2024
 Ø Two 10 year renewals
 Ø Defined exit value
 based on DCF
q Net Service Fee of 12%
 (14% maximum):
 Ø Billing
 Ø Customer care
 Ø Long distance
 Ø Travel/Roaming
 Ø National channel
 handset subsidies
q Access to Additional
 Spectrum

 Ø G Block - PCS
 Ø 800Mhz - iDEN
q Management Fee of 8%
 (Fixed for life of contract)
 Ø Spectrum
 Ø Brand
 Ø National platform
 Ø Access to Sprint
 vendors on similar
 terms

..

Network Vision - 2012 & 2013
q Plan to upgrade 274 cell sites in 2012 and the remaining
 236 in 2013 including:

 Ø Multi-modal base station at each site
 Ø Expanded backhaul capacity
 Ø LTE in the PCS G-block
 Ø Voice service in the 800Mhz block
q Expect to launch LTE as early as Q3 2012

..

..

Cable Service Areas

Cable Revenue Generating Units (in thousands)

How Does Shentel Cable Compare?

* Industry Averages are from SNL Kagan's estimate of U.S. totals.

Why Cable has a Competitive Advantage

q Issues with the Local Telephone Company
 Ø Limits of DSL - Is it the new dial up?
 Ø Requires significant capital investment to offer comparable
 Ø Loss of cash flow from shrinking voice service
 Ø Long-term pricing advantages as access revenues decrease
 Ø Bundling of satellite video with their voice and DSL

q Issues with Satellite - Dish/DirecTV
 Ø Bundling of telco DSL and voice with their video
 Ø Satellite internet is fast but has limited capacity
 Ø No local presence

Shentel’s Cable Advantage

q We know Telephone - Our primary competitor
 Ø Needs to spend lots of capital to match our service
 Ø Unfavorable changes in economics
q Own/control our backbone fiber network
q Own our telephone switch
q Regional focus on small markets

Investing in the Future - CapEx Spending (in millions)

Adele Skolits
CFO and VP of Finance

2011 Financial Highlights
Net Income (in millions)
Net Income from Continuing
Operating (in millions)

Revenues (in millions)
Note: Effective 2007, Shentel amended its agreement with Sprint Nextel. The net
 effect of this amendment was a reduction in both revenues and expenses.

Mix of Revenues by Quarter (in millions)

Wireline
Wireless
Cable

Expenses by Quarter (in millions)

Debt to Operating Cash Flow

Cash Dividends Per Share

Annual Shareholder Meeting

April 17, 2012