Exhibit 99.1

Contacts:
Quidel Corporation	Lippert/Heilshorn & Associates
John Radak, Chief Financial Officer	Don Markley/Bruce Voss
(858) 646-8032	(310) 691-7100

QUIDEL ANNOUNCES MARK E. PAIZ RESIGNATION

SAN DIEGO, Calif. (JUNE 1, 2007) – Quidel Corporation (NASDAQ: QDEL), a leading provider of rapid point-of-care (POC) diagnostic tests, today announced that Mark E. Paiz will resign, effective August 31, 2007, as the Company’s chief operating officer to pursue other opportunities outside the Company.

“Mark has been instrumental in the building of Quidel as a leader in point-of-care testing over his nine plus years of service with the Company.  We are grateful for his contributions on behalf of the Company and wish him best of luck in his future endeavors,” said Caren Mason, the Company’s president and chief executive officer.   She added, “In assessing our growth and expansion requirements and future progression, we have determined not to continue with the role of COO and are in the midst of recruiting a commercial operations lead for the Company.”

About Quidel Corporation

Quidel Corporation serves to enhance the health and well being of people around the globe through the discovery, development, manufacturing and marketing of rapid diagnostic solutions at the point of care (POC) in infectious diseases and reproductive health. Marketed under the leading brand name of QuickVue®, Quidel’s portfolio of products currently includes tests that aid in the diagnosis of several disease or condition states, including influenza, respiratory syncytial virus, Fecal Occult Blood, Strep A, pregnancy, bacterial vaginosis, H. pylori and Chlamydia. Quidel’s products are sold to healthcare professionals with a focus on the physician office lab and acute care markets through leading medical distribution partners on a worldwide basis. Quidel’s Specialty Products Group (SPG) develops research products in the fields of oncology and bone health with potential future point-of-care applications. By building value in rapid diagnostic tests, Quidel provides leadership to the industry and among healthcare professionals allowing for the movement of patient testing out of the central laboratory setting and into the physician office, urgent care and other outpatient settings where rapid testing and treatment has an impact on clinical outcomes and provides an economic benefit. For more information, visit www.quidel.com,  www.colorectal-test.com or www.flutest.com.

Safe Harbor Statement

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the federal securities laws that involve material risks, assumptions and uncertainties. Many possible events or factors could affect our future financial results and performance, such that our actual results and performance may differ materially. As such, no forward-looking statement can be

guaranteed. Differences in actual results and performance may arise as a result of a number of factors including, without limitation, seasonality, the length and severity of cold and flu seasons, uncertainty surrounding the detection of novel influenza viruses involving human specimens, adverse changes in the competitive and economic conditions in domestic and international markets, actions of our major distributors, technological changes and uncertainty with research and technology development, including any future molecular-based technology, the reimbursement system currently in place and future changes to that system, manufacturing and production delays or difficulties, adverse actions or delays in product reviews by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (the “FDA”), intellectual property, product liability, environmental or other litigation, required patent license fee payments not currently reflected in our costs, potential inadequacy of booked reserves and possible impairment of goodwill, and lower than anticipated sales or market penetration of our new products. Forward-looking statements typically are identified by the use of terms such as “may,” “will,” “should,” “might,” “expect,” “anticipate,” “estimate,” and similar words, although some forward-looking statements are expressed differently. The risks described under “Risk Factors” in reports and registration statements that we file with the SEC from time to time should be carefully considered. You are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which reflect management’s analysis only as of the date of this press release. We undertake no obligation to publicly release the results of any revision or update of the forward-looking statements.

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