Insituform Technologies, Inc.
Investor Update
October/November 2010

Forward-Looking Statements
The Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 provides a “safe harbor” for forward looking statements. The
Company makes forward-looking statements in this Investor Presentation that represent the Company’s beliefs or
expectations about future events or financial performance. These forward-looking statements are based on
information currently available to the Company and on management’s beliefs, assumptions, estimates and
projections and are not guarantees of future events or results. When used in this presentation, the words
“anticipate,” “estimate,” “believe,” “plan,” “intend,” “may,” “will” and similar expressions are intended to identify
forward-looking statements, but are not the exclusive means of identifying such statements. Such statements are
subject to known and unknown risks, uncertainties and assumptions, including those referred to in the “Risk Factors”
section of the Company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2009, as filed with the
Securities and Exchange Commission on March 1, 2010, and in our subsequent Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q. In
light of these risks, uncertainties and assumptions, the forward-looking events discussed may not occur. In addition,
our actual results may vary materially from those anticipated, estimated, suggested or projected. Except as required
by law, we do not assume a duty to update forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information,
future events or otherwise. Investors should, however, review additional disclosures made by the Company from time
to time in its periodic filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Please use caution and do not place
reliance on forward-looking statements. All forward-looking statements made by the Company in this presentation
are qualified by these cautionary statements.
In addition, some of the market and industry date and forecast included in this Investor Presentation are based upon
independent industry sources. Although we believe that these independent sources are reliable we have not
independently verified the accuracy and completeness of this information.
Insituform®, the Insituform® logo, InsituMain™, United Pipeline Systems®, Bayou Companies™, Corrpro®, Insituform
Blue® and our other trademarks referenced herein are the registered and unregistered trademarks of Insituform
Technologies, Inc. and its affiliates.

GLOBAL PIPELINE PROTECTION™
Ø GLOBAL
 v We have operations spanning six continents
 v We are the only company of our kind with the
 comprehensive capabilities and experience needed to
 serve the world’s pipeline infrastructure
Ø PIPELINE
 v Pipelines are the core of what we do
 v We tackle the myriad of challenges facing corrosion
 prevention and pipeline repair for sewer, water, oil,
 gas and mining pipelines
Ø PROTECTION
 v Internal corrosion is just one of the many threats facing
 pipelines
 v We address a complete spectrum of pipeline
 protection needs - our goal is to safeguard pipes -
 inside and out, onshore and offshore - before, during
 and after installation

The Future is NOW!
Our Vision

Ø SEWER REHABILITATION
 § North America - Continue profitability improvements through optimization of project management and execution
 capabilities (both manufacturing and contracting businesses); building out a return driven water services platform to create
 leverage from our sewer business
 § Europe - Focus on improving profitability through optimizing and right-sizing installation businesses, expanding third party
 tube sales throughout Europe, and selectively targeting new lining products and services
 § Asia-Pacific - Growth in India, Hong Kong, Singapore and Australia, expansion of third party tube sales through
 development of certified installer program throughout Asia
Ø WATER REHABILITATION
 § Focus on successful implementation of InsituMain™
 § Development of broader water platform to capitalize on growing water infrastructure needs globally with particular
 emphasis on leveraging our North American platform
Ø ENERGY AND MINING
 § Expand service offering selectively through joint ventures and partnerships - specialty linings, insulation coatings, double
 joint welding, etc.
 § Focus on selective geographic expansion (Asia, Middle East) coordinated with current Insituform theatre management
 § Continue investment in building business development opportunities for comprehensive service platform
 § Well-positioned in key spend areas - Gulf of Mexico, Canadian Oil Sands

Financial Performance
LTM 9/30
Income from
Continuing
Operations
up 48% from
2009
While Contracting
remains largest line of
business, strategy and
focus has been to
increase emphasis on
higher margin products
and services

Financial Condition
Company has a strong history of
solid cash flow
Total cash (unrestricted) at
September 30, 2010 was $98.2
million
Conservative capital structure,
coupled with strong cash flow will
enable Company to pursue
strategic opportunities for
profitable growth

Growth Prospects
NAR backlog remains strong,
while production capacity
increased to capture growth in
the market
Within Energy and Mining
group, United Pipeline
Systems’ backlog was $52.9
million at September 30, 2010,
a near record for this division
(record at December 2009 of
$57.3 million).
Asia-Pacific backlog increased
$24.1 million since year end
with significant growth from
Hong Kong and Singapore.

North American Sewer Rehabilitation (NAR)

 PERFORMANCE
 § 10.4% growth in revenue on 9/30 LTM basis from 2009 resulting from stronger market conditions, partially due to federal stimulus
 program
 § Growth in operating income over last couple of years has been primarily attributable to the following factors - manufacturing
 profitability through optimized internal transfer pricing arrangements and increased third party tube sales, improving project
 management capability, and lower operating costs
 § Win rate by $ has increased as we focus on larger projects
 § Contract backlog of $185.1 million at September 30, 2010, up 2% from $180.9 million at December 31, 2009 and 0.7% from $183.8
 million at September 30, 2009, despite drop-off in stimulus funding and deployment of 8 additional crews in late 2009 and 2010
 OUTLOOK
 § Market conditions continue to be solid as municipal budgets recover
 § Continue to optimize market share and win rate - focus on large projects and improving bidding discipline
 § Continuous improvement in project management capability
 § Increase operating expense efficiency - LEVERAGE GROWTH
 § Grow third party tube sales business through increased market penetration
(1) See financial reconciliation on page A-3

European Sewer Rehabilitation

 PERFORMANCE
 § Gross margin trends very positive - 27.2% for the last 12 months, versus 26.5% for 2009 and 22.3% for 2008, despite weak market conditions
 prevailing in many parts of market (UK, France, Eastern Europe)
 § Quality improvements - large improvement on project execution (fewer project write-downs)
 § In December 2009, reorganized the European business, exiting certain unprofitable contracting markets, along with realignment of various
 functions and responsibilities throughout Europe, thereby reducing administrative overhead costs - took restructuring charge of $4.6 million in
 fourth quarter 2009 - anticipated annualized cost savings of approximately $3.2 million with virtually all realizable in 2010
 § In conjunction with reorganization, acquired remaining 25% minority interest in CIPP tube manufacturing operation in UK - will unlock
 opportunities for growing third-party tube sales throughout Europe - expanding product capabilities to include structural glass liners
 § German JV - improving market conditions and improved management structure and partner cooperation, while profits impacted by lack of
 manufacturing (wetout) volume resulting from market weakness in surrounding countries (Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia)
 OUTLOOK
 § Improved profitability in 2010 from a variety of factors - exit from loss-producing contracting markets, improved manufacturing profitability
 resulting from growth in third party tube sales and more optimized transfer pricing, and lower operating costs
 § Expansion of higher margin profile product and service capabilities through selective partnering and distribution arrangements
 § Introduction of InsituMain™ into select European markets
(1) See financial reconciliation on page A-3
(2) See financial reconciliation on page A-4

Asia-Pacific Sewer Rehabilitation

 PERFORMANCE
 § Grew revenues from $10.1 million in 2008 to $43.7 million on a 9/30/10 LTM basis - 331.5% growth.
 § Early 2010 results impacted by one-time project write-down in India of approximately $3 million (relating to customer driven resin
 specification change)
 § Creating a capable execution organization on a market-specific basis - contracting focus on large-diameter pipes and product sale focus
 on small-diameter pipes
 § India - strong relationship with joint venture partner, SPML Infra Limited, increasing operational capabilities, opening new regional markets
 § Large Sydney Water project awarded, which will grow share in Australian market
 § Singapore - acquired licensee in January 2010, approximately $20 million in backlog at 9/30/10
 § Certified installer program to promote tube sales in small-diameter markets (Singapore, Malaysia, China)
 § Backlog at September 30, 2010 of $81.5 million versus $57.4 million at December 31, 2009, an increase of 42%
 OUTLOOK
 § Growth from strong backlog positions in Australia, Hong Kong and Singapore
 § Indian market should return to normal market conditions, with tenders coming in late 2010 / early 2011
 § Opening manufacturing facility in Asia (anticipated Q1 2011) - will reduce costs, thereby further enabling growth of tube sales in region
(1) See financial reconciliation on page A-3

Water Rehabilitation

 PERFORMANCE
 § Introduced InsituMain™ in March 2009 -
 - Fully structural CIPP water product
 - Current capability - diameters from 6” to 36”, operating pressures up to 150 psi and any type of host pipe material - very important as it
 should allow us to address 70% of market issues
 § Pilot testing throughout 2009 and 2010 has been successful
 § Key to success and growth - getting cost profile below dig and replace methods.
 OUTLOOK
 § 2010 has been a pivotal year for business segment as it transitions from pilot phase into fully commercial contracting business
 § Expect to continue expanding product and service capabilities in 2011
 § Strategically pursuing broader product/service opportunities to complement execution capabilities and geographic footprint / customer
 relationships

Energy and Mining

 PERFORMANCE
 § Strong rebound of oil, gas and mining commodity markets in 2010 have bolstered business across all business lines - linings, coatings and
 cathodic protection
 § Both UPS and Corrpro on pace to have record profits in 2010
 § Bayou performance significantly increased in 2010 resulting from large coating projects driven primarily from US shale plays (natural gas)
 and Canadian Oil Sands pipeline development
 § Platform sales momentum created by 2009 Mexican project awards
 OUTLOOK
 § Backlog at a high level of $156.3 million at September 30, 2010 versus $180.2 million at December 31, 2009
 § Potential gap between anticipated reduction in on-shore large diameter projects and ramp up of off-shore investment in Gulf of Mexico
 § Bayou’s Canadian pipe coating and insulation operation (51% owned joint venture) exceeding 2010 expectations and we expect solid
 growth in 2011
 § UPS should continue momentum of 2010 with record year in 2011, maintaining strong backlog and gaining momentum in new international
 markets (e.g. Asia and Middle East)
 § Corrpro backlog remains strong; re-entered Middle East market in 2010 and are exploring Asian platform opportunities
(1) See financial reconciliation on page A-3
(2) See financial reconciliation on page A-4

Focus on Water and Energy for Future Growth

Ø We are continuing to review opportunities to expand
 capability:
 v Broader linings capabilities and insulation products in high spend
 geographies - Gulf of Mexico, Canadian Oil Sands
 v Expand Water platform focused on inspection / leak detection and
 broader product capability
 v Break-through in India to create a growing bid table reflective of need
 v Continue to broaden Asia-Pacific platform positioning our
 product/services to take advantage of theatre growth

The Future is NOW!

Ø We have expanded our vision and we
 have opened up much larger
 addressable markets to sustain higher
 growth rates in the future
Ø We have momentum in each of our
 business segments for growth in
 revenue and profitability
Ø Annual earnings per share guidance for
 2010 of $1.50 - $1.55 (LTM 9/30/10
 EPS at $1.48)

Appendix

Insituform is a leading global provider of proprietary technologies and
services for rehabilitating and maintaining sewer, water and energy and
mining piping systems and the corrosion protection of industrial pipelines

Financial Reconciliation
(GAAP to Non-GAAP Information)
The following is a reconciliation of Insituform's financial information as shown in presentation (GAAP to Non-GAAP) on
page 5:

Financial Reconciliation
(GAAP to Non-GAAP Information)
The following is a reconciliation of Insituform's financial information as shown in presentation (GAAP to Non-GAAP)

Financial Reconciliation
(GAAP to Non-GAAP Information)
The following is a reconciliation of Insituform's financial information as shown in presentation (GAAP to Non-GAAP)