Investor Update - November 2009
Energy & Mining
Wastewater
Sustainable Pipeline Solutions

Forward-Looking Statements
 The Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 provides a “safe harbor” for forward-looking
 statements. The Company makes forward-looking statements in this document that represent the
 Company’s beliefs or expectations about future events or financial performance. These forward-looking
 statements are based on information currently available to the Company and on management’s beliefs,
 assumptions, estimates and projections and are not guarantees of future events or results. When used in
 this document, the words “anticipate,” “estimate,” “believe,” “plan,” “intend,” “may,” “will” and similar
 expressions are intended to identify forward-looking statements, but are not the exclusive means of
 identifying such statements. Such statements are subject to known and unknown risks, uncertainties
 and assumptions, including those referred to in the “Risk Factors” section of the Company’s Annual
 Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2008, as filed with the Securities and Exchange
 Commission on March 2, 2009. In light of these risks, uncertainties and assumptions, the forward-
 looking events discussed may not occur. In addition, our actual results may vary materially from those
 anticipated, estimated, suggested or projected. Except as required by law, we do not assume a duty to
 update forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.
 Investors should, however, review additional disclosures made by the Company from time to time in its
 periodic filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Please use caution and do not place
 reliance on forward-looking statements. All forward-looking statements made by the Company in this
 document are qualified by these cautionary statements.
 In addition, some of the market and industry data and forecasts included in this Investor Presentation
 are based upon independent industry sources. Although we believe that these independent sources are
 reliable we have not independently verified the accuracy and completeness of this information.
 Insituform®, the Insituform® logo, Insitumain™, United Pipeline Systems®, Bayou Companies™,
 Corrpro®, Insituform Blue® and our other trademarks referenced herein are the registered and
 unregistered trademarks of Insituform Technologies, Inc. and its affiliates.

Insituform is a leading global provider of proprietary
technologies and services for rehabilitating and maintaining
sewer, water and energy and mining piping systems and the
corrosion protection of industrial pipelines

§ Sewer Rehabilitation
 § Europe - Focus on improving profitability through right-sizing installation businesses, expanding third party tube
 sales, optimizing German joint venture and lowering fixed operating expenses
 § Asia/Pacific - Growth in India, Hong Kong and Australia, expansion into Singapore and China, growth of third
 party tube sales through development of certified installer program throughout Asia
§ Water Rehabilitation
 § Focus on successful implementation of Insitumain®
 § Development of broader water platform to capitalize on growing water infrastructure needs globally
§ Energy and Mining
 § Continued integration of recent acquisitions of Bayou and Corrpro under common platform leadership group
 § Investing in building business development opportunities for comprehensive service platform
 § Focus on selective geographic expansion (Asia, Middle East) coordinated with current Insituform theatre
 management
Our Vision

Financial Snapshot
NOTE: LTM 2009 as of September 30, excluding Acquisition-
Related Transaction and Severance Costs
Ø LTM revenue growth of 21% and
 operating income growth of 54% with
 margin increasing from 6.3% to 8.0%
Ø Significant revenue growth expected
 in near term:
 • Economic recovery in NA Market
 • Stimulus funding
 • Insitumain™ momentum
 • Increasing Asia / Pacific
 infrastructure
 • Oil and Gas pricing recovery
 • Geographic expansion across
 service segments
Ø Growth increases earnings potential
Ø Geographic expansion and expanded
 Energy and Mining platform
 dramatically increased addressable
 market size / organic growth
 opportunities
Ø Additional cost synergies as
 companies integrate / achieve
 additional scale

Financial Snapshot (Continued)
NOTE: LTM 2009 as of September 30, excluding Acquisition-
Related Transaction and Severance Costs

 PERFORMANCE
 § Gross margin % increased to 24.6% (LTM Sept 2009) from 22.2% in 2008, primarily resulting from:
 - Cost of quality reductions
 - Crew efficiency / Manufacturing efficiency
 - Implementation of improved installation techniques (IPlus® Infusion (steam cure small diameter technique))
 - Lower fuel / resin prices
 - Lower fixed costs for equipment
 § Win rate by $ increasing as we focus on large projects:
 - Win rate increased to 55% for first nine months of 2009, from 45% for full year of 2008
 - Won 7 of 9 projects over $6 million in 2009
 § Market pricing for CIPP tube contributing to increased margin - dollars and margin %
 § Contract backlog $183.8 million at September, up 3% from $178.5 million in Sept 2008
 OUTLOOK
 § Continue to optimize market share
 § Capture of stimulus work in 2010-2011
 § Continuous improvement in project management capability
 § Increase operating expense efficiency
 § Grow third party tube sales business
NOTE: LTM 2009 as of September 30
North American Sewer Rehabilitation

 PERFORMANCE
 § Gross margin trends very positive - 27.2%¹ (LTM Sept 2009) versus 22.3% for 2008
 § Quality improvements - large improvement on project execution (fewer project write-
 downs)
 § Backlog growing - $40.7 million at September 2009 versus $30.7 million at September
 2008, a 32.6% improvement
 § German JV performance improving - Insituform’s equity earnings improved to $1.0
 million (LTM Sept 2009) versus $0.8 million in 2008, a 29% improvement
¹ Excludes fourth quarter 2008 one-time gain from litigation settlement of $8 million recorded as revenues
NOTE: LTM 2009 as of September 30
European Sewer Rehabilitation

 PERFORMANCE / OUTLOOK
 § Creating a capable execution organization on a market specific basis
 § India - strong relationship with SPML, opening new regional markets
 § Using recent Sydney award to grow share in Australian market
 § Certified installer program to promote tube sales in small diameter
 markets (Singapore, China)
NOTE: LTM 2009 as of September 30
Asia-Pacific Sewer Rehabilitation

 § Cities over 1 million people - 56
 § Structure - 50.5% owned JV with SPML
 Overview / Outlook:
 § Established solid base of operations in Delhi
 § Recently successfully expanded outside of Delhi
 with contract win in Uttar Pradesh
 § Actively marketing to other major cities - Mumbai,
 Hyderabad
 § Chennai efforts important as they will establish
 operations outside of monsoon belt
1
3
Current
capability
India

 Overview / Outlook:
 § Hong Kong is the springboard into China
 § Acquired remaining 50% of joint venture with
 VSL in June
 § Significant recent project wins direct with the
 client will enable operational efficiencies
 § Currently identifying potential CIPP installers in
 China to become certified Insituform installers in
 greater Guangzhou, Shanghai, Beijing, Wuhan
 and Chongqing areas
1
Hong Kong / China

 § Estimated Addressable Market Size - $US195 million
 § Cities over 1 million people - 4
 § Overview / Outlook:
 § Sydney represents largest trenchless rehabilitation market in Australia
 § Focus on scaling up to establish fully-functional business platform
 throughout Australia (specialized roles, crew productivity, etc.)
 § During 2010 will establish service platform in Victoria
 § During 2011 will establish service platform in Queensland
Current
capability
Planned
Expansion
Water
Opportunities
Australia

 § Estimated Addressable Market - $110 M (per annum)
 Overview / Outlook
 § Insituform purchasing former licensee to have execution capability
 § Plan to bid on large diameter projects and institute a certified installer
 program to sell tube and technical services for small diameter projects
 (one already agreed upon)
 § Opportunity - Approximately $300 million in sewer rehabilitation projects
 to be tendered over next three years
Singapore

 CONSIDERATIONS
 § Introduced Insitumain in March 2009 -
 - Fully Structural CIPP water product
 - Current capability - diameters from 6” to 12”, operating pressures up to 150 psi (working on
 developing capability up to 24”), and any type of host pipe material - very important as it can
 addresses 65-70% of market issues
 - Epoxy resin system allows adhesive seal of connections (versus mechanical seal)
 § Began pilot testing in the 3rd quarter with success
 § Will continue pilot tests in the 4th quarter
 § Already secured approximately $2 million in project awards, with more pending
NOTE: LTM 2009 as of September 30
Water Rehabilitation

 PERFORMANCE
 § Integration completed with run rate savings > $6.5M (2010)
 § Corrpro has performed as planned
 § Bayou has performed well despite depressed natural gas pricing
 - >30% drop in ancillary businesses (CCSI, BWW, Baton Rouge Coating JV)
 - Virtually no work in small diameter gas market in 2009
 - Oil market rebounding, leading to increased quote activity late in the year
 § UPS downturn related to lower copper and gas pricing - significant backlog growth in second half of
 2009
 § Platform sales momentum created by recent Mexican project awards (see next slide)
 STRATEGIC OUTLOOK
 § Strengthening bid table as commodity pricing recovers - Chile,
 Australia, Canada, Middle East
 § Target capital “light:” geographic expansions - Garneau (Canada)
 § Platform momentum creates value added opportunities in key markets -
 Oil Sands, Gulf of Mexico
 § Concrete / Insulation expansion
NOTE: LTM 2009 as of September 30, excluding Acquisition-Related Transaction and Severance Costs
Energy and Mining

§ First significant cross E&M platform sale - total value $13 million
§ Scope - oil and water line replacement, which includes elements for
 TiteLiner®, CCSI, Corrpro, Bayou Welding Works
§ Direct relationship with Petróleos Mexicanos (“Pemex”) (versus
 contractors)
§ Creates future opportunities for work with Pemex and well field
 developers (Schlumberger, etc.)
§ Robust bid table:
 § Mexico - >$100 million in first half 2010
 § Canadian Oil Sands
 § North Sea
Project Summary - Poza Rico, Mexico

§ Will look for opportunities to expand capability:
 Ø Pipeline inspection / leak detection - complementary
 Corrpro capabilities on industrial side
 Ø Front-end development of maintenance programs -
 complement our execution capability
 Ø Flexible pipe opportunities to access markets where dig
 and replace will remain dominant
 Ø Pipeline integrity services
Focus on Water for Future Growth

Technology Innovator
Premier Brand / Long
Standing Customer
Relationships
Experience with Complex
Regulatory Environment
Project Management and
Execution Capability
Leader in Large and
Growing Markets
Energy & Mining
Wastewater
Our Business

Appendix

§ The following is a reconciliation of Insituform's income from continuing operations to EBITDA:
(1) 9/30/09 Pro Forma EBITDA excludes all acquisition transaction costs incurred by Insituform, Bayou and Corrpro
EBITDA Reconciliation