News From

Buena, NJ 08310

Release Date: June 2, 2006	Exhibit 99.1

Contact:	Frank Gerardi
Chairman & Chief Executive Officer
IGI, Inc.
856-697-1441 ext. 102
www.askigi.com

IGI, Inc. Appoints Sunil Pai to its Board of Directors

BUENA, NJ June 2, 2006 - IGI, INC. (AMEX: IG) a technology company focused on the development of custom products using the patented Novasome® delivery technology today announces the addition of Sunil K. Pai, CPA, CFA to its Board of Directors.

Sunil Pai is presently Director, Corporate Development, Mergers and Acquisitions at Capital One Financial Corporation. Mr. Pai is a seasoned professional with 18+ years of progressively senior roles in Corporate Development, Financial Analysis and Investment Management at major financial institutions.

Sunil Pai, a former Senior Auditor with Ernst and Young will also serve on IGI's audit committee.

"Management of IGI is pleased that Mr. Pai has agreed to join our Board. The addition of Mr. Pai will allow us to further enhance our efforts in corporate development and complying with Sarbanes Oxley," stated Frank Gerardi, Chairman, CEO.

IGI is a company committed to growth by applying proprietary technologies to achieve cost-effective solutions for varied customer needs. IGI offers the patented Novasome® lipid vesicle encapsulation technology which contributes value-added qualities to cosmetics, skin care products, dermatological formulations and other consumer products, providing improved dermal absorption, low potential for irritations, controlled and sustained release as well as improved stability. IGI has licensed Novasome® lipid vesicle encapsulation technology to leading global dermatological and skin care companies including Johnson & Johnson Consumer Products, Inc., Estee Lauder Companies, Chattem Inc., Genesis Pharmaceutical, Inc. and Apollo Pharmaceutical, Inc. IGI sub-licensed the rights to obtain FDA approval for and market IGI's PTH (1-34) compound using Novasome® lipid vesicle encapsulation technology for psoriasis, which is being reformulated for Phase II clinical trials, to Manhattan Pharmaceuticals, Inc. IGI is also exploring the licensing of the topical PTH (7-34) compound for the prevention/treatment of chemotherapy induced-alopecia in patients undergoing chemotherapy.

This report contains forward-looking statements relating to IGI's hopes and expectations for the future. For this purpose, any statements contained herein that are not statements of historical fact may be deemed to be forward-looking statements. Without limiting the foregoing, words such as "will," "possible," "one time," "provides an opportunity," "continue" and similar expressions are intended to identify forward-looking statements. Such statements involve a number of risks and uncertainties and actual future events and results could differ materially from those indicated by such forward-looking statements due to general economic conditions, and the risk factors detailed in IGI's periodic reports and registration statements filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

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