Exhibit 99.4


                CERTIFICATION PURSUANT TO 18 U.S.C. SECTION 1350
                    AS ADOPTED PURSUANT TO SECTION 906 OF THE
                           SARBANES-OXLEY ACT OF 2002



In connection with the Quarterly Report of Liz Claiborne, Inc. (the "Company") on Form 10-Q for the period ending June 29, 2002 as filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission on the date hereof (the "Report"), I, Michael Scarpa, Senior Vice President, Chief Financial Officer of the Company, certify, pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350, as adopted pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, that:

     1. The Report fully complies with the requirements of Section 13(a) or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934; and

     2. The information contained in the Report fairly presents, in all material respects, the financial condition and results of operations of the Company.


/s/ Michael Scarpa
-----------------------
Michael Scarpa
Senior Vice President, Chief Financial Officer
August 13, 2002