SANCHEZ O BRIEN 1981-A DRILLING CO (CIK 350212)
Form 10-Q
period 1999-06-30
filed 1999-08-16

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

             SANCHEZ-O'BRIEN 1981-A DRILLING COMPANY
           QUARTERLY REPORT ON FORM 10-Q JUNE 30, 1999


                              INDEX


PART I -  Financial information:

 Item 1. Financial Statements
         Balance Sheets for the periods June 30, 1999 and
            December 31, 1998
         Statements of Operations for the six months ended
            June 30, 1999 and 1998
         Statement of Partners' Equity as of June 30, 1999
         Statements of Cash Flow for the six months ended
            June 30, 1999 and 1998
 Item 2. Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial
           Condition and Results of Operations


PART II - Other information:

 Item 1. Legal Proceedings
 Item 2. Changes in Securities (not applicable)
 Item 3. Defaults upon Senior Securities (not applicable)
 Item 4. Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders
            (not applicable)
 Item 5. Other Information (not applicable)
 Item 6. Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K
         Signatures

                     Part I.  Financial Information

ITEM 1.  FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

                  Sanchez-O'Brien 1981-A Drilling Company
                          (a limited partnership)
                              Balance Sheets
                                (Unaudited)
                                                   June 30,     December 31,
                                                     1999             1998
  ASSETS

Current assets:
  Cash                                           $ 1,810,375        1,011,552
  Accounts receivable                                      0           18,843

       Total current assets                        1,810,375        1,030,395

Oil and natural gas properties (full cost
  method), at cost, pledged (note 2)                       0       31,022,493
Less accumulated depreciation, depletion
  and amortization (note 2)                                0       30,469,924

       Net oil and natural gas properties                  0          552,569

Organization costs, less applicable
  amortization                                             0                0
                                                   1,810,375        1,582,964
LIABILITIES AND PARTNERS' EQUITY

Current liabilities:
  Accounts payable                                   129,117           64,730
  Suspense payable-investors                         180,555          180,555
  Future expenses-Lawsuit                            300,000                0

       Total current liabilities                     609,672          245,285

Partners' equity:
  Limited partners                                 1,188,701        1,324,307
  General partner                                     12,002           13,372

       Total partners' equity                      1,200,703        1,337,679
                                                 $ 1,810,375        1,582,964
See accompanying notes to financial statements.

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<TABLE>
             Sanchez-O'Brien 1981-A Drilling Company
                     (a limited partnership)
                     Statements of Operations
                           (Unaudited)

                                               Six Months Ended
                                                  June 30,
                                              1999          1998
REVENUES:
  Oil and natural gas sales                 $ 20,897      410,729
  Interest income                             14,780        9,609
  Other income                                 6,460            0
  Gain on sale of wells                      161,920            0

                                             204,057      420,338

EXPENSES:
  Operating expenses                          15,609       79,734
  General and administrative                  25,424       30,913
  Future Expenses - Lawsuite                 300,000            0
  Depreciation, depletion
    and amortization (note 2)                      0       79,000

                                             341,033      189,647

    Net (Loss)/Income                      $(136,976)     230,691

See accompanying notes to financial statements.

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<TABLE>

                  Sanchez-O'Brien 1981-A Drilling Company
                          (a limited partnership)
                       Statement of Partners' Equity
                      Six Months Ended June 30, 1999
                                (Unaudited)

                                         Limited       General
                                        Partners       Partner        Total
Balances at December 31, 1998          $1,324,307       13,372      1,337,679

Cash distributions                              0            0              0

Net Loss                                 (135,606)      (1,370)      (136,976)

Balances at June 30, 1999              $1,188,701       12,002      1,200,703

See accompanying notes to financial statements.



         Sanchez-O'Brien 1981-A Drilling Company
                          (a limited partnership)
                         Statements of Cash Flows
                                (Unaudited)
                                                     Six Months Ended
                                                          June 30,
                                                      1999        1998
Cash flows from operating activities:
 Net income                                       $ 163,024        116,210
 Adjustments to reconcile net earnings to net
   cash provided by operating activities:
     Depreciation, depletion and
          amortization                                    0         53,000
 Net gain on sale of wells                         (161,920)             0
     Change in assets and liabilities:
      Accounts receivable                            18,843         12,127
      Accounts payable                               64,387         (4,001)
      Suspense payable                                    0         (2,610)

       Total adjustments                            (78,690)        58,516

        Net cash provided by operating
         activities                                  84,334        174,726

Cash flows from investing activities:
 Cash distributions                                    -              -
 Purchases of property and equipment                      0         27,516
 Proceeds from sale of wells                        714,489              0
       Net cash used in investing
          activities                                714,489         27,516

Cash flows from financing activities:
  Payment of long-term debt                               0              0
  Proceeds from long-term debt                            0              0

        Net cash provided (used) by financing
         activities                                       0              0

Net increase in cash and cash equivalents           798,823        202,242

Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of
 year                                             1,011,552        665,680

Cash and cash equivalents at end of
 quarter                                         $1,810,375        867,922

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

      As of June 30, 1999, forty-three wells have been drilled.
      Of this number, twenty-four were dry holes or have been depleted and abandoned and all remaining wells were sold effective January 1, 1999.

      On May 25, 1999, the ramaining wells in the 1981-A Drilling Partnership were sold to Coastal Oil & Gas Corporation effective January 1, 1999. Sales prices for the wells was $1,219.585 with $714,489 being the Drilling Company's share.

      As of June 30, 1999, each Limited Partner has received $435
      per each $5,000.  Future distributions will be made after
      litigation on the S. W. Escobas (Trevino leases) has been settled.
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

      On July 23, 1999, the Drilling Partnership paid Pennzoil $164,082, with $82,041 being the Drilling Company Share, for the plaintiffs net revenue from May 1, 1987 less the applicable share of well cost thru May 1992. Prior to May 1992, Sanchez did not escrow funds; therefore, cash at
      June 30, 1999 was used.

      On July 29, 1999, the Drilling Partnership paid Pennzoil $520,118, with $260,059 being the Drilling Companys share for the plaintiffs net revenue from June 1992 thru August 1998. Beginning in June 1992, Sanchez started escrowing the amounts in dispute. At June 30, 1999, the total Drilling Partnership funds escrowed were $504,519 with $254,542 escrowed
      for the Drilling Company. Funds not escrowed for the Drilling Company will be paid from available cash at June 30, 1999.

      As of August 13, 1999, several issues need to be settled before lawsuit is over. Amounts paid were based on estimates in order for interest
      not be accrued. An escrow account for $300,000 was set up for future
      legal expenses. Future payments will be made from cash available at June 30, 1999.
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



     Date:  05/14/99   By:  FRANK GUERRA
                            Frank Guerra
                            President




     Date:  05/14/99   By:  JORGE MENDOZA
                            Jorge Mendoza
                            Financial/Revenue Manager


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