Exhibit 99

                   Family Dollar Reports June Sales

    MATTHEWS, N.C.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--July 6, 2006--Family Dollar Stores, Inc. (NYSE:FDO) reported that net sales for the five weeks ended July 1, 2006, increased 9.5% to approximately $620.5 million from $566.9 million for the five weeks ended July 2, 2005. Comparable store sales for the five-week period increased approximately 3.6%. The Company had 6,095 stores as of July 1, 2006, including 26 new stores opened in the fiscal June period.


                                                   Comparable Stores
                                     Comparable   Hardline   Softline
                Sales    Total Sales  Store Sales  Sales       Sales
              (millions)    Change     Change    % Change    % Change
              ----------------------------------- --------------------
June 2006        $620.5      9.5%       3.6%        4.0%        2.4%
Year-to-date   $5,437.2      9.6%       3.4%        4.7%       -1.4%


    The Company expects that comparable store sales in the four-week period ending July 29, 2006, will increase 5% to 7% from the similar period in the prior fiscal year.

    Cautionary Statements

    Certain statements contained in this press release, including those set forth under the caption "Outlook," are forward-looking statements made pursuant to the safe harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements address the Company's plans, activities or events which the Company expects will or may occur in the future. Various risks, uncertainties and other factors could cause actual results to differ materially from those expressed in any forward-looking statement. Such risks, uncertainties and other factors include, but are not limited to:

    --  competitive factors and pricing pressures, including energy
        prices,

    --  changes in economic conditions,

    --  the impact of acts of war or terrorism,

    --  changes in consumer demand and product mix,

    --  unusual weather or natural disasters that may impact sales and
        or operations,

    --  the impact of inflation,

    --  merchandise supply and pricing constraints,

    --  success of merchandising and marketing programs,

    --  the Company's ability to successfully execute its ongoing
        operational functions,

    --  general transportation or distribution delays or
        interruptions,

    --  dependence on imports,

    --  changes in currency exchange rates, trade restrictions,
        tariffs, quotas, and freight rates,

    --  success of new store opening programs,

    --  costs and delays associated with building, opening and
        operating new distribution facilities and stores,

    --  costs, potential problems and achievement of results
        associated with the implementation of programs, systems and technology, including supply chain systems, store technology, cooler installations and related food programs, Urban
        Initiative programs, and real estate expansion goals,

    --  changes in food and energy prices and their impact on consumer
        spending and the Company's costs,

    --  adverse impacts associated with legal proceedings and claims,

    --  changes in shrinkage,

    --  changes in health care and other insurance costs,

    --  the Company's ability to attract and retain employees,

    --  changes in interpretations or applications of accounting
        principles, or

    --  changes in state or federal laws or regulations, including the
        effects of legislation and regulations on wage levels and
        entitlement programs.

    Consequently, all of the forward-looking statements made by the Company in this and other documents or statements are qualified by these and other factors, risks and uncertainties, including those set forth under "Cautionary Statement Regarding Forward-Looking Statements" in "Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition" in the Company's Annual Report on Form 10-K and Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q. Readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date of this release. The Company does not undertake to publicly update or revise its forward-looking statements even if experience or future changes make it clear that projected results expressed or implied in such statements will not be realized.

    About Family Dollar Stores, Inc.

    With more than 6,000 stores in a 44-state area ranging as far northwest as Idaho, northeast to Maine, southeast to Florida, and southwest to Arizona, Family Dollar is one of the fastest growing discount store chains in the United States. Family Dollar has provided value-conscious consumers with competitive prices at neighborhood stores for more than forty-six years. Offering a consistent selection of name-brand and good quality merchandise in an attractive and convenient shopping environment, the Company is focused on continuing to meet the needs of shoppers looking for excellent value.

    CONTACT: Family Dollar Stores, Inc.
             Kiley F. Rawlins, CFA, 704-849-7496
             Divisional Vice President
             http://www.familydollar.com