Going Private E-mail Mailbox Responses
FW3 — 2/18/2011
1. When the sale goes through and our shares are sold back to us at the transaction price, what happens to the money that is still in our ASOP account? Will it be returned,
and if so, how?
The last payroll deduction for this accumulation period will be on the payroll check you receive on March 18. The ASOP deductions from this check and all prior ASOP deductions in this accumulation period will be used to buy Jo-Ann stock. After this date, no additional ASOP deductions will occur. Once the transaction is complete, all shares will be sold at the acquisition price and a check will be mailed to you from ComputerShare (ASOP vendor).
2. If the ASOP plan is ending no later than March 31, how will the funds be distributed and what is the timing around it?
The funds in your ASOP will be distributed within approximately two weeks after the close of the acquisition. You will receive a check from ComputerShare for your proceeds.
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Cautionary Statement Regarding Forward-Looking Statements
This release may contain forward-looking statements within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 with respect to Jo-Ann Stores, Inc. (the “Company”), its business and the proposed merger transaction (the “Merger”) among Needle Holdings Inc., Needle Merger Sub Corp. and the Company. These forward-looking statements can be identified by the use of terminology such as “subject to,” “believe,” “expects,” “plan,” “project,” “estimate,” “intend,” “may,” “will,” “should,” “can,” or “anticipates,” or the negative thereof, or variations thereon, or comparable terminology, or by discussions of strategy. Although all of these forward-looking statements are believed to be reasonable, they are inherently uncertain. Factors which may materially affect such forward-looking statements include, but are not limited to general economic conditions, risks in implementing new marketing initiatives, natural disasters and geo-political events, changes in customer demand, changes in trends in the fabric and craft industry, changes in the competitive pricing for products, the impact of competitors’ store openings and closings, our dependence on suppliers, seasonality, disruptions to the transportation system or increases in transportation costs, energy costs, our ability to recruit and retain highly qualified personnel, our ability to manage our inventory, our ability to effectively manage our distribution network, disruptions to our information systems, failure to maintain the security of our electronic and other confidential information, failure to comply with various laws and regulations, failure to successfully implement the store growth strategy, changes in accounting standards and effective tax rates, inadequacy of our insurance coverage, cash and cash equivalents held at financial institutions in excess of federally insured limits, volatility of our stock price, damage to our reputation, and other factors, and uncertainties associated with the proposed Merger, including uncertainties relating to the anticipated timing of filings and approvals relating to the transaction, the expected timing of completion of the transaction and the ability to complete the transaction. Other important factors that may cause actual results to differ materially

from those expressed in the forward-looking statements are discussed in the Company’s Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”) filings.
Readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on forward-looking statements. The Company cannot guarantee future results, trends, events, levels of activity, performance or achievements. The Company does not undertake and specifically declines any obligation to update, republish or revise forward-looking statements to reflect events or circumstances after the date hereof or to reflect the occurrences of unanticipated events. Consequently, such forward-looking statements should be regarded solely as the Company’s current plans, estimates and beliefs.
Additional Information and Where to Find It
In connection with the Merger, on February 17, 2011, the Company filed with the SEC and began mailing to its shareholders a definitive proxy statement regarding the Merger. BEFORE MAKING ANY VOTING DECISION, THE COMPANY’S SHAREHOLDERS ARE URGED TO READ THE DEFINITIVE PROXY STATEMENT REGARDING THE MERGER CAREFULLY AND IN ITS ENTIRETY BECAUSE IT CONTAINS IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT THE PROPOSED MERGER. The Company’s shareholders will be able to obtain, without charge, a copy of the definitive proxy statement and other relevant documents filed with the SEC from the SEC’s website at http://www.sec.gov. The Company’s shareholders will also be able to obtain, without charge, a copy of the definitive proxy statement and other relevant documents (when available) by directing a request by mail or telephone to Jo-Ann Stores, Inc., Attn: Corporate Communications, 5555 Darrow Road, Hudson, Ohio 44236, telephone: (330) 463-6865, or from the investor relations section of the company’s website, http://www.joann.com.
Participants in Solicitation
The Company and its directors and officers may be deemed to be participants in the solicitation of proxies from the Company’s shareholders with respect to the special meeting of shareholders that will be held to consider the Merger. Information about the Company’s directors and executive officers and their ownership of the Company’s common stock is set forth in the proxy statement for the Company’s 2010 Annual Meeting of Shareholders, which was filed with the SEC on April 26, 2010. Shareholders may obtain additional information regarding the interests of the Company and its directors and executive officers in the Merger, which may be different than those of the Company’s shareholders generally, by reading the definitive proxy statement filed with the SEC on February 17, 2011 and other relevant documents regarding the Merger, when filed with the SEC.