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                                                                   EXHIBIT 99

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                 Contact: Donald J. Radkoski (614) 492-4901
May 9, 2006                                or Tammy Roberts Myers (614) 492-4954

                BOB EVANS FARMS ANNOUNCES APRIL SAME-STORE SALES;
                       COMMENTS ON FOURTH-QUARTER TRENDS

         COLUMBUS, Ohio -- Bob Evans Farms, Inc. (Nasdaq: BOBE) today announced that same-store sales at Bob Evans Restaurants for the fiscal 2006 month of April (the five weeks ended April 28) decreased 0.6 percent from the same period a year ago. Average menu prices for the fiscal month were up approximately 3.2 percent.

         Mimi's Cafe same-store sales for the fiscal 2006 month of April increased 1.8 percent from the same period a year ago. Average menu prices for the month were up approximately 2.4 percent.

         Same-store sales are calculated using the 469 Bob Evans Restaurants and 70 Mimi's Cafes that were open at the end of the month and for the full 12 months in both fiscal 2004 and 2005.

         Chief Executive Officer Steve Davis said, "Same-store sales continue to be a challenge at Bob Evans Restaurants and certainly a key focus as I begin working with the team at Bob Evans. Sales trends at the end of the fiscal month were significantly weaker and in fact this trend has continued in early May. However, margins continued to improve during the fourth quarter. Restaurant margins improved due to reductions in both food and labor costs at Bob Evans Restaurants. In the food products segment, margins benefited from lower raw material costs and continued strong sales momentum."

         The company will release fourth-quarter and fiscal year-end results on June 5, 2006, followed by a conference call on June 6, 2006, at 10 a.m. ET. Details for the call will be forthcoming on the company's Web site.

         Bob Evans Farms, Inc. owns and operates 587 full-service, family restaurants in 19 states primarily in the Midwest, mid-Atlantic and Southeast regions of the United States. In addition, the company operates 103 Mimi's Cafe casual restaurants located in 17 states, primarily in California and other western states. Bob Evans Farms, Inc. is also a leading producer and distributor of pork sausage and a variety of complementary homestyle convenience food items under the Bob Evans and Owens brand names. For more information about Bob Evans Farms, Inc., visit the company's Web site at www.bobevans.com.



Safe Harbor Statement Under the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995

Statements in this report that are not historical facts are forward-looking statements and are based on current expectations. Forward-looking statements involve various important assumptions, risks and uncertainties. Actual results may differ materially from those predicted by the forward-looking statements because of various factors and possible events, including, without limitation:

     o    Changing business and/or economic conditions, including energy costs

     o    Competition in the restaurant and food products industries

     o Ability to control restaurant operating costs, which are impacted by market changes in the cost or availability of labor and food, minimum wage and other employment laws, fuel and utility costs and general inflation

     o    Changes in the cost or availability of acceptable new restaurant sites


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     o    Adverse weather conditions in locations where the company operates its
          restaurants

     o Consumer acceptance of changes in menu, price, atmosphere and/or service procedures

     o Consumer acceptance of the company's restaurant concepts in new geographic areas

     o    Changes in hog and other commodity costs.

There is also the risk that the company may incorrectly analyze these risks or that the strategies developed by the company to address them will be unsuccessful.

Additional discussion of these factors is included in the company's periodic filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Forward-looking statements speak only as of the date on which they are made, and the company undertakes no obligation to update any forward-looking statement to reflect circumstances or events that occur after the date on which the statement is made to reflect unanticipated events. All subsequent written and oral forward-looking statements attributable to the company or any person acting on behalf of the company are qualified by the cautionary statements in this section.