ELECTRO RENT CORP (CIK 32166)
Form 10-Q
period 2006-02-28
filed 2006-03-31

                     SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                           WASHINGTON, D.C. 20549
                                 FORM 10-Q

       (Mark One)

        [X] Quarterly Report pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of the
Securities Exchange Act of 1934

        For the quarterly period ended February 28, 2006 or

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

  Yes  _   No X

The number of shares outstanding of the registrant's common stock as of March
17, 2006 was 25,530,518.

                       ELECTRO RENT CORPORATION
                                FORM 10-Q
                           FEBRUARY 28, 2006

TABLE OF CONTENTS                                                   Page

Part I: FINANCIAL INFORMATION                                          3

Item 1. Financial Statements                                           3

Condensed Consolidated Statements of Income for the Three
  and Nine Month Periods Ended February 28, 2006 and 2005
  (Unaudited)                                                          3

Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets at February 28, 2006 and
  May 31, 2005 (Unaudited)                                             4

Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows for the
  Nine Months Ended February 28, 2006 and 2005 (Unaudited)             5

Notes to Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements
  (Unaudited)                                                          6

Item 2. Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial
  Condition and Results of Operations                                 12

Item 3. Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures About
  Market Risk                                                         22

Item 4. Controls and Procedures                                       22

Part II: OTHER INFORMATION                                            23

SIGNATURES                                                            25

Part I.  FINANCIAL INFORMATION
--------------------------------
Item 1. Financial Statements

                              ELECTRO RENT CORPORATION

                   CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF INCOME
                   (Unaudited) (000's omitted, except per share data)

                                 Three Months Ended    Nine Months Ended
                                     February 28,          February 28,
                                   2006       2005       2006       2005
                                 ---------- ---------- ---------- ----------

Revenues:
  Rentals and leases             $  22,093  $  18,846  $  65,254  $  59,485
  Sales of equipment
    and other revenues               7,184      9,936     18,574     22,413
                                 ---------- ---------- ---------- ----------
    Total revenues                  29,277     28,782     83,828     81,898
                                 ---------- ---------- ---------- ----------
Operating expenses:
  Depreciation of rental
    and lease equipment              8,666      7,961     25,782     24,452
  Costs of revenues other
    than depreciation of
    rental and lease equipment       4,668      3,732     10,399     10,127
  Selling, general and
    administrative expenses          8,260      7,466     24,207     22,022
                                 ---------- ---------- ---------- ----------
    Total operating expenses        21,594     19,159     60,388     56,601
                                 ---------- ---------- ---------- ----------
Operating profit                     7,683      9,623     23,440     25,297
Interest and investment
  income, net                          750        385      1,906        947
Income from litigation
  settlement                            -          -          -       1,758
                                 ---------- ---------- ---------- ----------
Income before income taxes           8,433     10,008     25,346     28,002

Income taxes                         2,517      3,063      8,826      9,204
                                 ---------- ---------- ---------- ----------
Net income                       $   5,916  $   6,945  $  16,520  $  18,798
                                 ========== ========== ========== ==========
Earnings per share:
  Basic                              $0.23      $0.28      $0.65      $0.75
  Diluted                            $0.23      $0.27      $0.64      $0.74

Shares used in per
  share calculation:
  Basic                             25,451     25,011     25,279     24,943
  Diluted                           25,883     25,547     25,694     25,317

                              See accompanying notes to
                    condensed consolidated financial statements.

                                    Page 3

                              ELECTRO RENT CORPORATION

                        CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
                    (Unaudited)(000's omitted, except share data)

                                       ASSETS

                                                      February 28   May 31,
                                                          2006       2005
                                                       ---------- ----------

Cash and cash equivalents                              $  55,165  $  31,997
Marketable securities                                     22,700     48,800
Accounts receivable, net of allowance for
   doubtful accounts of $760 and $839                     14,694     10,548
Rental and lease equipment, net of accumulated
   depreciation of $133,285 and $133,170                 131,435    122,798
Other property, net of accumulated depreciation and
   amortization of $12,556 and $12,131                    16,352     15,722
Goodwill                                                   2,642        -
Other                                                      4,589      3,357
                                                       ---------- ----------
                                                       $ 247,577  $ 233,222
                                                       ========== ==========

                        LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY

Liabilities:
  Accounts payable                                     $   6,526  $  13,983
  Accrued expenses                                         8,315      8,700
  Deferred revenue                                         3,121      2,768
  Deferred tax liability                                  13,471     12,754
                                                       ---------- ----------
    Total liabilities                                     31,433     38,205
                                                       ---------- ----------
Shareholders' equity:
  Preferred stock, $1 par - shares authorized 1,000,000;
    none issued
  Common stock, no par - shares authorized 40,000,000;
    issued and outstanding February 28, 2006 - 25,525,797;
    May 31, 2005 - 25,100,132                             26,318     21,638
  Retained earnings                                      189,826    173,379
                                                       ---------- ----------
    Total shareholders' equity                           216,144    195,017
                                                       ---------- ----------
                                                       $ 247,577  $ 233,222
                                                       ========== ==========

                              See accompanying notes to
                    condensed consolidated financial statements.

                                    Page 4

                              ELECTRO RENT CORPORATION

                   CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                              (Unaudited) (000's omitted)

                                                       Nine Months Ended
                                                          February 28,
                                                         2006       2005
                                                       ---------- ----------

Cash flows from operating activities:
  Net income                                           $  16,520  $  18,798
  Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash
  provided by operating activities:
    Depreciation and amortization                         26,520     25,135
    Provision for (recapture of) losses
      on accounts receivable                                  48       (193)
    Gain on sale of rental and lease equipment            (6,929)    (9,131)
    Income from litigation settlement                         -      (1,758)
    Deferred tax liability                                   717      6,237
    Tax benefit for stock options exercised                1,073        180
    Change in operating assets and liabilities:
      Accounts receivable                                 (2,497)    (2,136)
      Other assets                                          (900)       164
      Accounts payable                                      (558)      (889)
      Accrued expenses                                    (1,464)    (1,431)
      Deferred revenue                                       353        527
                                                       ---------- ----------
      Net cash provided by operating activities           32,883     35,503
                                                       ---------- ----------
Cash flows from investing activities:
  Proceeds from sale of rental and lease equipment        15,600     17,307
  Cash paid for acquisition, net of cash acquired         (9,608)       -
  Payments for purchase of rental and lease equipment    (44,937)   (53,864)
  Net sales (purchases) of marketable securities          26,100     (6,525)
  Payments for purchase of other property                   (404)      (232)
                                                       ---------- ----------
      Net cash used in investing activities              (13,249)   (43,314)
                                                       ---------- ----------
Cash flows from financing activities:
  Proceeds from issuance of common stock                   3,616      1,357
  Payment for repurchase of common stock                     (82)        -
                                                       ---------- ----------
      Net cash provided by
        financing activities                               3,534      1,357
                                                       ---------- ----------
Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents      23,168     (6,454)
Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period          31,997     29,692
                                                       ---------- ----------
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period             $  55,165  $  23,238
                                                       ========== ==========

                              See accompanying notes to
                    condensed consolidated financial statements.

                                    Page 5

                    ELECTRO RENT CORPORATION
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

In May 2005, the FASB issued Statement No. 154, Accounting Changes and Error
Corrections - a replacement of APB Opinion No. 20 and FASB Statement No. 3.
This Statement replaces APB Opinion No. 20, Accounting Changes, and Statement
No. 3, Reporting Accounting Changes in Interim Financial Statements, and
changes the requirements for the accounting and reporting of a change in
accounting principle.  This Statement requires changes in accounting
principles to be retrospectively applied to the prior periods presented in
the financial statements, unless it is impracticable to determine either the
period-specific effects or the cumulative effect of the change.  This
Statement applies to all voluntary changes in accounting principles and also
applies to changes required by an accounting pronouncement in the unusual
instance that the pronouncement does not include specific transition
provisions.  This Statement also carries forward, without substantive change,
the provisions for the correction of an error from APB Opinion No. 20.
Statement No. 154 is effective for accounting changes and corrections of
errors made after December 31, 2005.  We do not expect the application of
this statement to have a significant effect on our consolidated financial
statements.

Note 2: Acquisition

On January 31, 2006, we completed the acquisition, pursuant to a Stock
Purchase Agreement, of Rush Computer Rentals, Inc. ("Rush"), in order to
facilitate the growth of our data products business.  Headquartered in
Wallingford, Connecticut, Rush is similar to our existing data products
business, and is one of the leading providers of personal computers and
related equipment for rent or sale in the Northeast United States.  Before
taking into account Rush's cash balance, an aggregate purchase price of
$9,708 was paid in cash and included the payoff of $2,835 of bank borrowings,
subject to our final adjustments to the sellers' closing date balance sheet.
In addition, up to $1,000 of contingent consideration may be paid to the
shareholders of Rush based upon the achievement of certain revenue objectives
through February 2008.

The acquisition was accounted for using the purchase method of accounting.
Under the purchase method of accounting, the total purchase price was
allocated to assets purchased and liabilities assumed based upon their fair
values as of the date of the transaction, with the excess recorded as
goodwill.  The allocation of purchase price is not complete.  A final
determination of fair values of identifiable tangible and intangible assets
acquired and liabilities assumed may change the allocation of the purchase
price.  The allocation of the preliminary purchase price, based on
management's valuation estimate, is as follows:

Cash                                          $   100
Rental and lease equipment                      5,810
Accounts receivable                             1,697
Other property                                    340
Other                                             369
Goodwill                                        2,642
                                              --------
Total assets acquired                          10,958
Accounts payable                                 (171)
Accrued expenses and other                     (1,079)
                                              --------
Net assets acquired                           $ 9,708
                                              ========

Supplemental pro forma information reflecting the acquisition of Rush as if
it occurred on June 1, 2004 has not been provided due to the fact that this
is not a material transaction.

The results of operations of Rush have been included in our statements of
income from the date of the acquisition.

Note 3: Stock-Based Compensation

At February 28, 2006, we had five stock option plans, four of which are
referenced in Note 12 in our 2005 Annual Report on Form 10-K and the fifth,
the 2005 Equity Incentive Plan.  We apply the intrinsic-value-based method
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
been reduced to the pro forma amounts indicated below for the periods
presented:

                                  Three Months        Nine Months
                                      Ended               Ended
                                  February 28,        February 28,
                                ----------------------------------------
                                   2006       2005      2006       2005
                                 --------  --------   --------  --------
Net income, as reported           $5,916    $6,945    $16,520   $18,798
Deduct: Total stock-based
  employee compensation
  expense determined
  under the fair value
  based method for all
  awards, net of
  related tax effects               (190)     (284)      (571)     (848)
                                 --------  --------   --------  --------
Pro forma net income              $5,726    $6,661    $15,949   $17,950
                                 ========  ========   ========  ========
Earnings per share:
  Basic, as reported              $0.23      $0.28     $0.65      $0.75
  Basic, pro forma                $0.22      $0.27     $0.63      $0.72

  Diluted, as reported            $0.23      $0.27     $0.64      $0.74
  Diluted, pro forma              $0.22      $0.26     $0.62      $0.71

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
transitional reporting alternatives described.  We will adopt SFAS 123R in
the first quarter of fiscal 2007 using the modified prospective application
method.

Note 4: Impairment of Assets

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
nine months ended February 28, 2006 and February 28, 2005.

Note 5: Noncash Investing and Financing Activities

We had accounts payable and other accruals related to acquired equipment
totaling $5,248 and $12,318 as of February 28, 2006 and May 31, 2005,
respectively, and $6,205 and $14,703 as of February 28, 2005 and May 31,
2004, respectively, which amounts have previously been paid, or will be paid
in the following periods.

Note 6: Sales-type Leases

We had certain customer leases providing bargain purchase options, which are
accounted for as sales-type leases.  Interest income is recognized over the
life of the lease using the effective interest method.  The minimum lease
payments receivable and the net investment included in other assets for such
leases are as follows at:

                                                     Feb. 28,     May 31,
                                                       2006        2005
                                                      -------     -------
Gross minimum lease payments receivable               $ 502       $ 586
Less - unearned interest                                (33)        (29)
                                                      -------     -------
Net investment in sales-type lease receivables        $ 469       $ 557
                                                      =======     =======

Note 7: Segment Reporting and Related Disclosures

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
equipment pool, based on acquisition cost, comprised $221,813 of T&M
equipment and $42,907 of DP equipment at February 28, 2006, and $217,725 of
T&M equipment and $38,243 of DP equipment at May 31, 2005.

Revenues for these product groups were as follows for the three months ended
February 28:

                                         T&M           DP          Total
                                       --------     --------      --------
2006
----
Rentals and leases                      $17,710       $4,383       $22,093
Sales of equipment and other
  Revenues                                6,516          668         7,184
                                       --------     --------      --------
                                        $24,226       $5,051       $29,277
                                       ========     ========      ========
2005
----
Rentals and leases                      $15,171       $3,675       $18,846
Sales of equipment and other
  Revenues                                6,999        2,937         9,936
                                       --------     --------      --------
                                        $22,170       $6,612       $28,782
                                       ========     ========      ========

Revenues for these product groups were as follows for the nine months ended
February 28:

                                         T&M           DP          Total
                                       --------     --------      --------
2006
----
Rentals and leases                      $52,522      $12,732       $65,254
Sales of equipment and other
  Revenues                               16,542        2,032        18,574
                                       --------     --------      --------
                                        $69,064      $14,764       $83,828
                                       ========     ========      ========
2005
----
Rentals and leases                      $45,907      $13,578       $59,485
Sales of equipment and other
  Revenues                               18,910        3,503        22,413
                                       --------     --------      --------
                                        $64,817      $17,081       $81,898
                                       ========     ========      ========

No single customer accounted for more than 10% of total revenues during the
third quarter and first nine months of fiscal 2006 or fiscal 2005.

Selected country information is presented below:

                     Three Months Ended       Nine Months Ended
                        February 28,            February 28,
                      -------------------     -------------------
Revenues: (1)         2006        2005        2006        2005
-------------        --------    --------    --------    --------
U.S.                  $26,311     $24,364     $74,987     $71,755
Other (2)               2,966       4,418       8,841      10,143
                     --------    --------    --------    --------
Total                 $29,277     $28,782     $83,828     $81,898
                     ========    ========    ========    ========

                                                    As of
                                             --------------------
                                              Feb. 28      May 31
Net Long-Lived Assets: (3)                     2006        2005
--------------------------                   --------    --------
U.S.                                         $138,739    $127,106
Other (2)                                      11,690      11,414
                                             --------    --------
Total                                        $150,429    $138,520
                                             ========    ========

(1) Revenues by country are based on the location of shipping destination,
    whether the order originates in the U.S. parent or a foreign subsidiary.

(2) Other consists of other foreign countries that each individually account
    for less that 10% of the total revenues or assets.

(3) Net long-lived assets include rental and lease equipment, other
    property, net of accumulated depreciation, and goodwill.

Note 8: Computation of Earnings Per Share

Following is a reconciliation of the denominator used in the computation of
basic and diluted EPS for the periods ended February 28, 2006 and February
28, 2005:

                                    Three Months Ended      Nine Months Ended
                                    ------------------     ------------------
                                   Feb. 28,   Feb. 28,    Feb. 28,  Feb. 28,
                                     2006       2005        2006      2005
                                    --------  --------    --------   --------
Denominator:
  Denominator for basic
    earnings per
    share-weighted average
    common shares outstanding         25,451    25,011      25,279     24,943
  Effect of dilutive
    Securities-options                   432       536         415        374
                                    --------  --------    --------   --------
                                      25,883    25,547      25,694     25,317
                                    ========  ========    ========   ========
Net income                            $5,916    $6,945     $16,520    $18,798
Earnings per share:
  Basic                                $0.23     $0.28       $0.65      $0.75
  Diluted                              $0.23     $0.27       $0.64      $0.74

Note 9: Income Taxes

Electro Rent Corporation regularly evaluates its tax risks as required by
Financial Accounting Standards Board Statement of Financial Accounting
Standards No. 5.  The three and nine month periods ended February 28, 2006
and 2005 include reductions in the accrued liability for income taxes as
follows, reflecting the expiration of specific risks related to closed tax
audit years:
                                     Feb. 28,  Feb. 28,
                                       2006      2005
                                     --------   --------
Three months ended                    $  797    $  699
Nine months ended                      1,001     1,354

Item 2.  Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and
Results of Operations

The following discussion addresses our financial condition as of February 28,
2006 and May 31, 2005 and the results of operations for the three and nine
months ended February 28, 2006 and 2005, and cash flows for the nine-month
period ended February 28, 2006 and 2005.  This discussion should be read in
conjunction with the Management's Discussion and Analysis section included in
our 2005 Annual Report on Form 10-K (pages 10-16) to which the reader is
directed for additional information and the Risk Factors set forth in Exhibit
99 to that Report.

Overview

We generate revenues through the rental, lease and sale of electronic
equipment, primarily test and measurement (T&M) and personal computer-related
(DP) equipment.

For the first nine months of fiscal 2006, 80.5% of our rental and lease
revenues were derived from T&M equipment.  This percentage has been
increasing over the last three fiscal years due to the steady erosion of DP
rental and lease revenues related to declines in product purchase prices and
unit volume and increasing T&M activity in telecommunications, aerospace and
defense markets.  However, it appears that DP revenues are beginning to
stabilize.  In addition, on January 31, 2006, we acquired Rush Computer
Rentals, Inc., which is being merged with Electro Rent Corporation effective
on the acquisition date, and its revenues should add to our base of DP
revenues.

For the first nine months of fiscal 2006, rental revenues comprised 79.5% of
our rental and lease revenue.  That percentage has also been increasing over
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

The profitability of our business depends in part on controlling the timing,
pricing and mix of purchases and sales of equipment.  We seek to acquire new
and used equipment at attractive prices for the purpose of deriving a profit
from a combination of renting and/or selling such equipment.  The sale of
equipment, either after acquisition or after it has been rented, can comprise
a significant portion of our revenues and operating profit.  To maximize our
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
product launches.  Our strategic equipment decisions are generally based on
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

If we do not accurately predict market trends, or if demand for the equipment
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
than normal gross margins on equipment sales of 53% in fiscal 2005.  We
intend to maintain our equipment management strategy, and, accordingly, we
believe that gross margins on sales have returned to normal historical levels
of 40% to 45% as older and previously impaired equipment constitute a smaller
percentage of sales.  Gross margins on sales were 44% for the first nine
months of fiscal 2006.

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
the pool of equipment available for lease by us, which would adversely affect
future utilization unless we can rent, lease or sell that equipment to
another party.

We generally measure our overall level of profitability with the following
metrics:

-   Net income per diluted common share (EPS);

-   Net income as a percentage of average assets; and

-   Net income as a percentage of average equity.

Strategic Growth Plans

In recent periods, we have seen some recovery of our business from its
significant contraction during the early part of this decade.  Although we
reduced our expenses to maintain profitability during the contraction, we
believe that our resources and financial infrastructure remains capable of
handling a significantly greater volume of business activity without a
proportionate increase in expenses.  Based on this belief and our assessment
of the improving climate in recent periods, we have been seeking ways to
increase revenues to leverage that infrastructure.  These strategies include:

Internal Growth Strategies.  We intend to continue internal growth by
building upon our vendor and customer relationships and expanding the types
of services and equipment we provide.  Thus, for example,

-   We have been purchasing significantly more environmental test equipment
to expand our presence in this market.

-   We were recently able to persuade a key vendor to increase its sales
force compensation for test equipment lease transactions referred to us.

-   We recently began marketing a flexible leasing program that allows
customers to build equity that can be applied against the future purchase of
the test equipment.

-   We have implemented an expanded customer communication program to
identify used equipment re-marketing opportunities.

Geographic Expansion Strategies.  Until recently, our activity was largely
limited to North America, except for some limited rentals to North American
companies operating in other geographical areas.  We intend to exploit
opportunities for expanding our rental and leasing services globally.  As
part of that strategy, we have recently entered two of the largest world
markets: Europe and China.

-   Our wholly owned subsidiary in Tianjin, China, commenced operations in
June 2005 after we received what we believe to be one of the first licenses
for a wholly foreign-owned equipment rental business in China.

-   On October 3, 2005, we announced that we acquired a T&M equipment rental
company based in Belgium, from which we are beginning to service the European
market.

Acquisition Growth Strategies.  We are also seeking to grow through
acquisitions.  Acquisitions can permit us to rapidly add revenues, as well as
to expand into new geographical areas and/or markets.  In addition to the
acquisition of the Belgium company mentioned above,

-   On January 31, 2006, we announced that we have completed the acquisition
of Rush Computer Rentals, Inc., a private company headquartered in
Wallingford, Connecticut, with annual revenue of approximately $10 million
from the rental and sale of a wide range of personal computers and related
equipment to customers located primarily in the Northeast United States.

Of course, none of these growth strategies may be successful, and each
entails risks that could impact our continuing business results.  In addition
to the risks associated with our core operations, there are special risks
associated with international operations and with acquisitions, as well as
with growth in general.  For a more detailed summary of some of the risks
associated with these and other factors, please see the Risk Factors set
forth in Exhibit 99 to our 2005 Annual Report on Form 10-K.

PROFITABILITY AND KEY BUSINESS TRENDS

For the first nine months of fiscal 2006, revenues rose by 2.3% to $83,828
from the prior year period, operating profit declined by 7.3% to $23,440, and
net income declined by 12.1% to $16,520.  The prior year period benefited
from several large non-recurring items, including fees of $1,741 related to
an early lease termination, gains on two buyouts totaling $1,010, a
litigation settlement of $1,758, and a tax accrual reduction of $1,354.
Excluding these transactions from the prior year, revenue growth is
consistent with the economic environment for the first nine months of fiscal
2006, while operating profit reflects the cost of developing our operations
in China and higher depreciation expense related to a larger and newer
equipment pool.

Our profitability measurements are presented in the table below for the nine
months ended February 28, 2006 and 2005:

                                                       2006        2005
                                                     --------    --------
Net income per diluted common share (EPS)              $0.64       $0.74
Net income as a percentage of average assets            9.2%       11.7%
Net income as a percentage of average equity           10.8%       14.0%

T&M rental and lease activity increased from the first nine months of 2005 to
the first nine months of fiscal 2006, reflecting the strengthening global
economy and telecommunications segment.  DP rental and lease activity also
increased for the same period, reflecting increasing demand and the
acquisition of Rush Computer Rentals on January 31, 2006.

The amount of equipment on rent, based on acquisition cost, increased from
$105.1 million at February 28, 2005, to $118.2 million at February 28, 2006.
Acquisition cost of equipment on lease increased from $35.6 million at
February 28, 2005, to $41.2 million at February 28, 2006.  Utilization for
our T&M equipment pool, again based on acquisition cost, increased from 61.5%
at February 28, 2005, to 62.5% at February 28, 2006.  These increases in
utilization generally reflect strengthening demand for rental and lease
equipment.  Over the same period, utilization of our DP equipment pool
increased from 50.6% to 52.8%.

During the same nine-month periods, monthly rental rates compared to
acquisition cost for T&M and DP equipment increased by 4.6%, while monthly
T&M lease rates compared to acquisition cost declined 3.3% and monthly DP
lease rates compared to acquisition cost increased by 5.7%.  We did not
record any impairment losses during either of the nine months ended February
28, 2006 or February 28, 2005.

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
last five quarters (in thousands):

                                          Three Months Ended
                                          -------------------
                           Feb. 28,  Nov. 30,   Aug. 31,   May 31,   Feb. 28,
                             2006       2005      2005       2005      2005
                           --------  --------   --------  --------   --------
Rentals and leases          $22,093   $22,005    $21,156   $20,772    $18,846
Sales of equipment
  and other revenues          7,184     5,996      5,394     4,946      9,936
Operating profit              7,683     8,266      7,491     6,588      9,623

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

Results of Operations

Comparison of Three Months Ended February 28, 2006 and February 28, 2005

Revenues

Total revenues for the three months ended February 28, 2006 rose $0.5
million, or 1.7%, to $29.3 million, compared to $28.8 million in the same
period in the prior year.  The increase in total revenues was due to a 17.2%
increase in rental and lease revenues which was offset by a 27.7% decrease in
sales of equipment and other revenues.

Rental and lease revenues in the third quarter of fiscal 2006 increased 17.2%
to $22.1 million from $18.8 million in the same period of the prior year.
This increase reflects higher demand and rental rates for T&M and DP
equipment in our major market segments, which we believe stems from the
general economic expansion.

Sales of equipment and other revenues decreased 27.7% to $7.2 million in the
third quarter of fiscal 2006, from $9.9 million in the third quarter of
fiscal 2005.  The prior year period benefited from several large non-
recurring items, including an early lease termination and two buyouts,
totaling $3.7 million.

We sell used equipment as a normal part of our rental business.  However,
these sales can fluctuate from quarter to quarter and year to year depending
on equipment availability and customer requirements and funding.  Gross
margin on sales decreased to $2.2 million in the third quarter of fiscal 2006
as compared to $4.1 million a year ago, and the gross margin percentage also
decreased to 35.2% from 59.4% over the same periods.  The declines in gross
margin and gross margin percentage primarily reflect two large non-recurring
buyout transactions in last year's third quarter with high gross margins.
The decline in the gross margin percentage in the current year quarter also
reflects a return to historic levels, as older and previously impaired
equipment now constitutes a smaller percentage of equipment sold than during
the last two years.

Operating Expenses

Depreciation of rental and lease equipment increased to $8.7 million, or
39.2% of rental and lease revenues, in the third quarter of fiscal 2006, from
$8.0 million, or 42.2% of rental and lease revenues, in the third quarter of
fiscal 2005.  The increased depreciation expense reflects higher expenditures
for new rental and lease equipment during fiscal 2005 and fiscal 2006, while
the lower ratio reflects higher equipment utilization and increased revenues
in the current period.

Costs of revenues other than depreciation increased 25.1% to $4.7 million in
the third quarter of fiscal 2006, from $3.7 million in the third quarter of
fiscal 2005.  Costs of revenues other than depreciation primarily includes
the cost of equipment sales, which increased to 64.8% of equipment sales in
the third quarter of fiscal 2006, from 40.6% of equipment sales in the third
quarter of fiscal 2005.  The increase in this percentage reflects the
customer buyout transactions described above and also reflects the expected
return to historical levels from lower cost ratios in the previous year, as
older and previously impaired equipment constitute a smaller percentage of
equipment sold.

Selling, general and administrative expenses increased 10.6% to $8.3 million
in the third quarter of fiscal 2006, as compared to $7.5 million in the third
quarter of fiscal 2005.  This increase primarily reflects the overall
increase in business activity and certain expenses associated with the
development of our new operations in China and Europe.  SG&A expenses as a
percentage of total revenues increased to 28.2% in the third quarter of
fiscal 2006 from 25.9% in the third quarter of fiscal 2005.

Interest and Investment Income, Net

Net interest and investment income of $0.8 million for the third quarter of
fiscal 2006 was about twice the $0.4 million recorded in the third quarter of
fiscal 2005.  This primarily reflects increases in prevailing money-market
interest rates and to a lesser degree increased cash balances.

Income Taxes

Our effective tax rate was 29.8% in the third quarter of fiscal 2006,
compared to 30.6% for the same period in fiscal 2005.  The current quarter
and the corresponding period last year include reductions in the accrued
liability for income taxes of $0.8 million and $0.7 million, respectively,
reflecting the expiration of specific risks related to closed tax audit
years.

Comparison of Nine Months Ended February 28, 2006 and February 28, 2005

Revenues

Total revenues for the nine months ended February 28, 2006 rose $1.9 million,
or 2.4%, to $83.8 million, compared to $81.9 million in the same period in
the prior year.  The increase in total revenues was due to a 9.7% increase in
rental and lease revenues which was partly offset by a 17.1% decrease in
sales of equipment and other revenues.

Rental and lease revenues in the first nine months of fiscal 2006 increased
9.7% to $65.3 million from $59.5 million in the same period of the prior
year.  This increase reflects higher demand and rental rates for T&M
equipment in our major market segments, which we believe reflects the general
economic expansion.

Sales of equipment and other revenues decreased 17.1% to $18.6 million in the
first nine months of fiscal 2006, from $22.4 million in the first nine months
of fiscal 2005.  The prior year period benefited from several large non-
recurring items, including an early lease termination and two buyouts,
totaling $3.7 million.

We sell used equipment as a normal part of our rental business.  However,
these sales can fluctuate from quarter to quarter and year to year depending
on equipment availability and customer requirements and funding.  Gross
margin on sales decreased to $6.9 million in the first nine months of fiscal
2006 from $9.1 million a year ago, while the gross margin percentage
decreased to 44.4% from 52.8% over the same periods.  The declines in gross
margin and gross margin percentage reflect two large non-recurring buyout
transactions in last year's third quarter with high gross margins.

The decline in gross margin percentage in the current year nine month period
also reflects a return to historic levels, as older and previously impaired
equipment constitute a smaller percentage of equipment sold than during the
last two years.

Operating Expenses

Depreciation of rental and lease equipment increased to $25.8 million, or
39.5% of rental and lease revenues, in the first nine months of fiscal 2006,
from $24.5 million, or 41.1% of rental and lease revenues, in the first nine
months of fiscal 2005.  The increased depreciation expense reflects higher
expenditures for new rental and lease equipment during fiscal 2005 and fiscal
2006, while the lower ratio reflects higher equipment utilization and
increased revenues in the current period.

Costs of revenues other than depreciation increased 2.7% to $10.4 million in
the first nine months of fiscal 2006, from $10.1 million in the first nine
months of fiscal 2005.  Costs of revenues other than depreciation primarily
includes the cost of equipment sales, which increased to 55.6% of equipment
sales in the first nine months of fiscal 2006, from 47.2% of equipment sales
in the first nine months of fiscal 2005.  The increase in this percentage
reflects the customer buyout transactions described above and also reflects
the expected return to historical levels from lower cost ratios in the
previous year, as older and previously impaired equipment constitute a
smaller percentage of equipment sold.

Selling, general and administrative expenses increased 9.9% to $24.2 million
in the first nine months of fiscal 2006 million, as compared to $22.0 million
in the first nine months of fiscal 2005.  This increase primarily reflects
the overall increase in business activity and certain expenses associated
with the development of our new operations in China and Europe.  SG&A
expenses as a percentage of total revenues increased to 28.9% in the first
nine months of fiscal 2006 from 26.9% in the first nine months of fiscal
2005.

Interest and Investment Income, Net

Net interest and investment income of $1.9 million for the first nine months
of fiscal 2006 was about twice the $0.9 million recorded in the first nine
months of fiscal 2005.  This primarily reflects increases in prevailing
money-market interest rates and to a lesser degree increased cash balances.

Income from Litigation Settlement

In the first nine months of fiscal 2005, the Company recognized as other
income $1.8 million related to funds received from a class action lawsuit
when all contingencies expired.  There was no comparable income in the
current year period.

Income Taxes

Our effective tax rate was 34.8% in the first nine months of fiscal 2006,
compared to 32.9% for the same period in fiscal 2005.  The current nine-month
period and the corresponding period last year include reductions in the
accrued liability for income taxes of $1.0 million and $1.4 million,
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
payments for the purchase of $44.9 million of rental and lease equipment
during the first nine months of fiscal 2006.  This amount was 16.6% lower
than the $53.9 million in the prior year.  In the same period of the current
fiscal year we paid $9.6 million for the acquisition of Rush, as described in
Note 2 to the Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements.

On January 14, 2004, we paid a special distribution of $4.00 per outstanding
common share, which totaled $99.5 million.  Following this distribution
through February 28, 2006, cash, cash equivalents and marketable securities
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

During fiscal year 2001, our Board of Directors authorized management to
implement a limited stock repurchase program in the amount of 1,500,000
shares. As of May 31, 2005, we had bought back and retired 318,000 common
shares for $3.0 million, or $9.37 per share. The only shares repurchased
since fiscal 2001 have been in connection with the stock-for-stock exercise
of employee options. Shares acquired are retired.

During the first nine months of fiscal 2006 and fiscal 2005 net cash provided
by operating activities was $31.9 million and $35.5 million, respectively.
This decrease is largely the result of a decline in net income in the current
year and an increase in deferred tax liabilities in the prior year related to
bonus depreciation.

During the nine months ended February 28, 2006 net cash used in investing
activities was $13.2 million, compared to $43.3 million in the same period of
fiscal 2005.  This decrease is attributable to lower payments for the
purchase of rental and lease equipment combined with net redemption of
marketable securities in the current year compared to purchases in the prior
year.

Net cash flows from financing activities were higher in the first nine months
of fiscal 2006 as compared the same period last year, due to a greater amount
of stock options that were exercised in the current year.

We have a $10.0 million revolving line of credit with an institutional
lender, subject to certain restrictions, to meet equipment acquisition needs
as well as working capital and general corporate requirements.  We had no
bank borrowings outstanding at February 28, 2006.

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
similar expressions identify forward-looking statements.  These forward-
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
financial instruments.

As of February 28, 2006 and May 31, 2005, cash and cash equivalents included
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

Item 4. Controls and Procedures

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

None.

Item 6.  Exhibits

(a) (* Indicates compensation plan, contract or arrangement)

Exhibit#    Description
--------    -----------
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
1994 is incorporated by reference to the Annual Report (Form 10-
K) for the fiscal year ended May 31, 1995.  A copy of the
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

DATED:  March 30, 2006

/s/ Craig R. Jones
Craig R. Jones
Vice President and Chief Financial Officer