EXHIBIT 99

NEWS RELEASE
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FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE         Contact:  John W. Conlon, Chief Financial Officer
August 12, 1999                        (740) 373-3155


                PEOPLES BANCORP ANNOUNCES THIRD QUARTER DIVIDEND
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        MARIETTA, Ohio - The Board of Directors of Peoples Bancorp Inc.
(Nasdaq: PEBO) today declared a quarterly dividend of $0.14 per share. The dividend payout of approximately $863,000 on 6.17 million shares is payable October 1, 1999, to shareholders of record on September 15, 1999.
        Peoples Bancorp Inc. is a diversified financial services holding company headquartered in Marietta, Ohio, with over $1 billion in assets. Peoples Bancorp, which is Y2K ready, operates 36 financial service locations in the states of Ohio, West Virginia, and Kentucky. Peoples Bancorp's banking subsidiaries include The Peoples Banking and Trust Company with offices in Ohio and West Virginia; The First National Bank of Southeastern Ohio with three Ohio offices; and Peoples Bank FSB, with four Kentucky offices. Through its
subsidiaries, Peoples Bancorp offers complete banking services and makes available other financial services, such as trust services, and investment and insurance products. Peoples Bancorp's common stock is traded through the Nasdaq National Market System under the symbol "PEBO". Learn more about Peoples Bancorp at www.peoplesbancorp.com.


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