CITICASTERS INC (CIK 317833)
Form 10-Q
period 1995-09-01
filed 1995-11-22

     SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
           Washington, D.C. 20549


                 FORM 10-Q


Quarterly Report Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of
    The Securities Exchange Act of 1934


For the quarterly period ended September 30, 1995

         Commission File No. 1-8283


              Citicasters Inc.

   Incorporated under the laws of Florida

 IRS Employer Identification No. 59-2054850

One East Fourth Street, Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

           Phone: (513) 562-8000



     Indicate by check mark whether the registrant (1) has filed all reports required to be filed by Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 during the preceding 12 months and (2) has been subject to such filing requirements for the past 90 days. Yes X No


     Indicate by check mark whether the registrant has filed all
documents and reports required to be filed by Section 12, 13, or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 subsequent to the distribution of securities under a plan confirmed by a court. Yes X No


     As of November 1, 1995, there were 13,330,808 shares of Common Stock outstanding.


           EXHIBIT INDEX Page 14

                   CITICASTERS INC. - 10-Q
                            PART I
                    FINANCIAL INFORMATION

              CITICASTERS INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                        BALANCE SHEET
                    (Dollars in Thousands)

                                                      September 30,      December 31,
                                                          1995               1994

   ASSETS
Current assets:
  Cash and short-term investments                      $ 7,072          $ 46,258
  Trade receivables, less allowance for
    doubtful accounts of $1,709 and $1,244              30,508            31,851
  Broadcast program rights                               5,742             5,488
  Prepaid and other current assets                       1,755             2,635

     Total current assets                               45,077            86,232

Broadcast program rights, less current portion           4,196             4,466
Property and equipment, net                             35,300            25,083
Contracts, broadcasting licenses and other
  intangibles, less accumulated amortization
  of $15,198 and $8,932                                313,048           274,695
Deferred charges and other assets                       14,535            13,016

                                                      $412,156          $403,492

   LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY
Current liabilities:
  Accounts payable, accrued expenses and
    other current liabilities                          $15,776          $ 33,673
  Broadcast program rights fees payable                  5,426             5,041
     Total current liabilities                          21,202            38,714

Broadcast program rights fees payable,
  less current portion                                   3,689             3,666
Long-term debt                                         128,432           122,291
Deferred income taxes                                   44,486            44,486
Other liabilities                                       53,714            43,398
     Total liabilities                                 251,523           252,555

Shareholders' equity:
  Common Stock, $.01 par value, including additional
    paid-in capital; 500,000,000 shares authorized;
    13,468,808 and 13,468,832 shares outstanding        87,725            87,831
  Retained earnings from January 1, 1994                72,908            63,106
  Total shareholders' equity                           160,633           150,937

                                                      $412,156          $403,492


See notes to financial statements.


                    CITICASTERS INC. - 10-Q

              CITICASTERS INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                   STATEMENT OF OPERATIONS
            (In Thousands, Except Per Share Amounts)

                                          Three months ended        Nine months ended
                                             September 30,            September 30,
                                             1995     1994            1995      1994

Net Revenues:
  Television broadcasting                  $14,040   $33,583       $ 44,555   $110,487
  Radio broadcasting                        20,086    17,325         55,502     49,293

                                            34,126    50,908        100,057    159,780

Costs and expenses:
  Operating expenses                         9,670    16,231         28,043     51,291
  Selling, general and administrative       10,711    14,303         33,033     46,148
  Corporate general and administrative       1,085     1,187          3,246      3,649
  Depreciation and amortization              3,750     5,801         10,513     19,792

                                            25,216    37,522         74,835    120,880

Operating income                             8,910    13,386         25,222     38,900

Other income (expense):
  Interest expense                          (3,411)   (8,598)       (10,296)   (28,012)
  Investment income                             67       186          1,134        400
  Miscellaneous, net                          (184)   70,077            (58)    69,572

                                            (3,528)   61,665         (9,220)    41,960

Earnings before income taxes                 5,382    75,051         16,002     80,860

Income taxes                                 2,100    30,200          6,200     32,600

NET EARNINGS                               $ 3,282   $44,851       $  9,802   $ 48,260


SHARE DATA:
  Primary and Fully Diluted:
    Net earnings                              $.23     $2.62           $.70      $2.82
    Average common shares                   14,168    17,106         14,050     17,111


See notes to financial statements.

                    CITICASTERS INC. - 10-Q

               CITICASTERS INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
          STATEMENT OF CHANGES IN SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY
                         (In Thousands)



                                                      Nine months ended
                                                        September 30,
                                                     1995           1994
Common Stock, including additional
    paid-in capital:
  Beginning balance                                $ 87,831       $138,588

Common Stock issued:
  Exercise of stock options                             235           -
  Stock bonus awarded                                  -               297

Common Stock repurchased
    and retired                                        (341)       (16,833)

Balance at end of period                             87,725        122,052


Retained earnings:
  Beginning balance                                  63,106           -
  Net earnings                                        9,802         48,260

                                                   $ 72,908       $ 48,260


TOTAL SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY                         $160,633       $170,312


See notes to financial statements.


                    CITICASTERS INC. - 10-Q

               CITICASTERS INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                    STATEMENT OF CASH FLOWS
                         (In Thousands)

                                                                  Nine months ended
                                                                    September 30,
                                                                  1995         1994

OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
  Net earnings                                                   $ 9,802    $ 48,260
  Adjustments:
    Depreciation and amortization                                 10,513      19,792
    Non-cash interest expense                                        141         152
    Realized gains on investing activities                          -        (42,120)
    Decrease in trade receivables                                  1,343       1,826
    Decrease (increase) in broadcast program
      rights, net of fees payable                                    424        (147)
    Decrease in accounts payable, accrued
      expenses and other liabilities                              (7,537)     (2,663)
    Decrease in deferred income taxes                               -         (1,002)
    Other                                                            778       4,417

                                                                  15,464      28,515

INVESTING ACTIVITIES:
  Purchases of:
    Broadcast stations                                           (50,500)    (16,380)
    Real estate, property and equipment                           (9,378)     (4,689)
  Sales of broadcast stations                                       -        287,499
  Other                                                             (666)        699

                                                                 (60,544)    267,129

FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
  Retirements and refinancing of long-term debt                     -       (432,568)
  Additional long-term borrowings                                  6,000     195,350
  Common shares repurchased                                         (341)    (16,833)
  Other                                                              235         297

                                                                   5,894    (253,754)


NET INCREASE (DECREASE) IN CASH AND SHORT-TERM INVESTMENTS       (39,186)     41,890

Cash and short-term investments at beginning of period            46,258       4,789

Cash and short-term investments at end of period                 $ 7,072    $ 46,679


See notes to financial statements.


          CITICASTERS INC. - 10-Q

       NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS


A. ACCOUNTING POLICIES

   BASIS OF PRESENTATION The accompanying financial statements for Citicasters Inc. are unaudited, but Citicasters believes that all adjustments (consisting only of normal recurring accruals, unless otherwise disclosed herein) necessary for fair presentation have been made. The results of operations for interim periods are not necessarily indicative of results to be expected for the year. The financial statements have been prepared in accordance with the instructions to Form 10-Q and therefore do not include all information and footnotes necessary to be in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles. Significant intercompany balances and transactions have been eliminated. Certain reclassifications have been made to conform to the current year's presentation.

   On December 28, 1993, the Company completed its comprehensive financial restructuring through a prepackaged plan of reorganization under chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code. As of December 31, 1993, the Company adopted fresh-start reporting as required by AICPA Statement of Position No. 90-7 entitled "Financial Reporting by Entities in Reorganization under the Bankruptcy Code." Pursuant to the adoption of fresh-start reporting the Company adjusted its assets and liabilities to their estimated fair values and restated retained earnings to zero.

   All acquisitions have been treated as purchases. The accounts and results of operations of companies since their formation or
   acquisition are included in the consolidated financial statements.

   American Financial Group, Inc. and its Subsidiaries ("American
   Financial") owned 5,044,593 shares (37.8%) of Citicasters'
   outstanding Common Stock at November 1, 1995.  At that date,
   American Financial's Chairman, Carl H. Lindner, owned an additional 2,319,796 shares (17.4%) of Citicasters' outstanding Common Stock.

   BROADCAST PROGRAM RIGHTS  The rights to broadcast non-network
   programs on Citicasters' television stations are stated at cost, less accumulated amortization. These costs are charged to
   operations on a straight-line basis over the contract period or on a per showing basis, whichever results in the greater aggregate
   amortization.

   PROPERTY AND EQUIPMENT Property and equipment are based on cost and depreciation is calculated primarily using the straight-line method. Depreciable lives are: land improvements, 8-20 years; buildings and improvements, 8-20 years; operating and other equipment, 3-20 years; and leasehold improvements, over the life of the lease.

   CONTRACTS, BROADCASTING LICENSES AND OTHER INTANGIBLES Contracts, broadcasting licenses and other intangibles represent the excess of the value of the broadcast stations over the values of their net tangible assets, and is attributable to FCC licenses, network affiliation agreements and other contractual or market related factors. Reorganization value in excess of amounts allocable to identifiable assets represents the excess of the estimated fair value of the Company at the time of the reorganization over the estimated fair value allocated to its net identifiable assets. Intangible assets are being amortized on a straight-line basis over an average of 35 years. On an ongoing basis, Citicasters reviews the carrying value of its intangible assets. If this review indicates that intangible assets will not be recoverable, as determined based on undiscounted cash flows of the Company's broadcast stations over the remaining amortization period, Citicasters' carrying values of intangible assets are reduced by the amount of the estimated shortfall of cash flows.

   DEBT DISCOUNT Debt discount is being amortized over the life of the related debt obligations by the interest method.

   INCOME TAXES Citicasters files a consolidated Federal income tax return which includes all 80% or more owned subsidiaries. Deferred income tax assets and liabilities are determined based on differences between financial reporting and tax bases and are measured using enacted tax rates. Deferred tax assets are recognized if it is more likely than not that a benefit will be realized.

   EARNINGS PER SHARE Primary and fully diluted earnings per share are based upon the weighted average number of common shares and gives effect to common equivalent shares (dilutive options) outstanding during the respective periods. The effect of the options was to increase average shares outstanding by 701 and 582 shares for the three and nine months ended September 30, 1995.

   STATEMENT OF CASH FLOWS For cash flow purposes, "investing activities" are defined as making and collecting loans and acquiring and disposing of debt or equity instruments and property and equipment. "Financing activities" include obtaining resources from owners and providing them with a return on their investments, borrowing money and repaying amounts borrowed. All other activities are considered "operating." Short-term investments for purposes of the Financial Statements are those which had a maturity of three months or less when acquired.

B. ACQUISITIONS AND DISPOSITIONS During June 1995, Citicasters acquired its second FM station in Portland (KKCW) for $30 million. During August 1995, Citicasters acquired a second FM radio station in Tampa (WTBT) for $5.5 million. The purchase price for WTBT-FM could increase to $8 million depending on the satisfaction of certain conditions. Citicasters began operating WTBT-FM during March 1995.

   During 1994, Citicasters sold one AM and three FM radio stations and acquired or commenced the operation of two FM radio stations. The following table sets forth certain information regarding these radio station transactions:

                              Date Operations         Date of        Acquisition Price/
                              Commenced/Ceased        Closing           Sales Price
   Acquisitions:
     Sacramento (KRXQ-FM)     January 1, 1994     May 27, 1994          $16 million
     Cincinnati (WWNK-FM)     April 25, 1994      April 21, 1995        $15 million

   Dispositions:
     Detroit (WRIF-FM)        January 23, 1994    September 23, 1994    $11.5 million
     Milwaukee (WLZR-FM&AM)   April 14, 1994      April 14, 1994        $7 million
     Denver (KBPI-FM)         April 19, 1994      August 5, 1994        $8 million

   In the aggregate, the purchases and sales of radio stations
   completed in 1994 and 1995 will not have a material effect on
   Citicasters' results.

   During September and October 1994, Citicasters sold four of its network affiliated television stations to entities affiliated with New World Communications Group Incorporated ("New World"). The stations sold included KSAZ in Phoenix, WDAF in Kansas City, WBRC in Birmingham and WGHP in Greensboro/Highpoint. Citicasters received $355.5 million in cash and a warrant expiring in September 1999 to purchase, 5,000,000 shares of New World Common Stock at $15 per share. The warrant was valued at $10 million and is included in the balance sheet caption "Deferred charges and other assets." Citicasters recorded a pretax gain of $95.3 million ($50.1 million after tax) on these sales. Proceeds from the sales were used to retire long-term debt and to repurchase shares of the Company's Common Stock.

   The following proforma financial information is based on the
   historical financial statements of Citicasters, adjusted to reflect the television station sales, retirement of long-term debt and the February 1994 refinancing of subordinated debt (in thousands except per share data):

                                                   Three months    Nine months
                                                       ended          ended
                                                   September 30,  September 30,
                                                       1994            1994

      Net revenues                                   $31,730          $92,055

      Operating income                               $ 7,638          $18,335

      Net earnings                                   $ 2,635          $ 4,749

      Net earnings per share                         $   .15          $   .28


C. LONG-TERM DEBT  Long-term debt consisted of the following (in thousands):

                                                    September 30,    December 31,
                                                        1995            1994

Citicasters:
  9-3/4% Senior Subordinated Notes
    due February 2004, less unamortized
    discount of $2,568 and $2,709
    (imputed interest rate 10.13%)                     $122,432       $122,291

Subsidiaries:
  Bank credit facility                                    6,000           -

                                                       $128,432       $122,291


   As of September 30, 1995, Citicasters had $119 million of bank credit available under a $125 million acquisition facility and all $25 million of bank credit available under a working capital facility. During the second quarter of 1995, Citicasters borrowed $6 million using the acquisition facility to partially fund the purchase of its second FM station in Portland. No additional funds have been drawn under either of these facilities as of November 1, 1995.


D. SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY Citicasters is authorized to issue 500 million shares of Class A Common Stock, $.01 par value, 125 million shares of Class B Common Stock, $.01 par value and 9.5 million shares of Serial Preferred Stock, $.01 par value. The preferred stock may have such preferences and other rights and limitations as the Board of Directors may designate with respect to each series.

   On April 19, 1995, Citicasters' Board of Directors declared a three for two stock split of its outstanding Common Stock. The stock split was effective for holders of record at the close of business on May 4, 1995 with a distribution made on May 18, 1995 and resulted in the issuance of 4,488,418 additional common shares. All share and per share data have been restated to reflect the stock split.

   Citicasters' bank credit agreement permits it to acquire up to $65 million of its common stock. During the last four months of 1994, Citicasters acquired 3,518,212 shares of its common stock for $51.1 million from several unaffiliated institutions. During the first quarter of 1995, Citicasters completed an odd lot tender pursuant to which it acquired an additional 16,457 shares at a cost of $20 per share from holders of fewer than 100 shares.

E. SUBSEQUENT EVENT On November 1, 1995, Citicasters' Board of Directors declared a three for two stock split of its outstanding Common Stock. The stock split will be effective for holders of record at the close of business on November 16, 1995 with a distribution expected to be made two weeks later. Prior to the split Citicasters had 13,330,808 shares of its Common Stock outstanding. The split will increase this number to approximately 20 million shares.

           CITICASTERS INC.  10-Q

                   ITEM 2

    Management's Discussion and Analysis
of Financial Condition and Results of Operations



GENERAL

The following is a discussion of Citicasters' liquidity and capital resources and certain factors affecting Citicasters' results of
operations for the three and nine month periods ended September 30,
1995.   This discussion should be read in conjunction with Citicasters'
Financial Statements.

LIQUIDITY AND CAPITAL RESOURCES

Citicasters is a holding company and depends on advances, dividends and tax allocation payments from its operating subsidiary, Citicasters Co., to meet its expenditures for administrative expenses and debt service obligations. Based upon current levels of Citicasters Co.'s operations and anticipated growth, it is expected that operating cash flow will be sufficient to meet expenditures for operations (including capital expenditures), administrative expenses and debt service. Citicasters' credit agreement provides two credit facilities: an acquisition facility of $125 million and a working capital facility of $25 million. Citicasters Co. is permitted to advance funds or pay dividends to Citicasters Inc. for administrative expenses, borrowing costs and payment of dividends. During 1995, Citicasters used $44.5 million of cash-on-hand and borrowed $6 million from the acquisition facility to fund the purchases of three FM stations. No additional funds have been drawn under either of these facilities as of November 1, 1995 and it is anticipated that excess operating cash flow will be utilized to repay the $6 million outstanding balance during the fourth quarter of 1995.

Anticipated capital expenditures for 1995 include two major projects; a building renovation for the three Cincinnati stations expected to cost $4.7 million and the construction of a FM tower in Tampa expected to cost $3 million. At September 30, 1995, approximately $3.9 million had been spent for the Cincinnati project and approximately $2.5 million had been spent on the Tampa project.

Citicasters expects to use its excess operating cash flow and the acquisition facility to fund future acquisitions of radio stations. Citicasters expects to pursue the acquisition of additional stations in its present markets and stations in markets where it does not currently own stations.

RESULTS OF OPERATIONS

The financial results of Citicasters' business are seasonal. Broadcast revenues are generally higher in the second and fourth calendar quarters than in the first and third quarters.

The amount of broadcast advertising time available for sale by Citicasters' stations is relatively fixed, and by its nature cannot be stockpiled for later sale. Therefore, the primary variables affecting revenue levels are the demand for advertising time, the viewing or listening audience of the station and the entry of new stations in the marketplace. The major variable costs of operation are programming (news, sports and entertainment), sales costs related to revenues and promotional costs. The success of the programming determines the audience levels and therefore affects revenue.

Citicasters' management believes that operating income before depreciation and amortization is helpful in understanding cash flow generated from its broadcasting operations that is available for debt service, capital expenditures and taxes, and in comparing operating performance of Citicasters' broadcast stations to other broadcast stations. Operating income before depreciation and amortization should not be considered an alternative to net income as an indicator of Citicasters' overall performance.

Net revenues and operating income are shown below (in thousands):

                                      Three months ended      Nine months ended
                                          September 30,         September 30,
                                         1995      1994        1995       1994
Net revenues:

Television broadcasting:
  Local                                 $ 6,893   $17,033    $ 22,633   $ 57,698
  National                                6,499    14,787      19,781     47,299
  Other                                     648     1,763       2,141      5,490

    Total                                14,040    33,583      44,555    110,487

Radio broadcasting:
  Local                                  16,391    13,852      45,075     40,572
  National                                3,552     3,278       9,945      8,234
  Other                                     143       195         482        487

    Total                                20,086    17,325      55,502     49,293

  Total net revenues                     34,126    50,908     100,057    159,780

Operating, selling, general
  and administrative expenses           (20,381)  (30,534)    (61,076)   (97,439)

Corporate general and
  administrative expenses                (1,085)   (1,187)     (3,246)    (3,649)

  Operating income before
    depreciation and
    amortization                         12,660    19,187      35,735     58,692

Depreciation and amortization            (3,750)   (5,801)    (10,513)   (19,792)

  Operating income                      $ 8,910   $13,386    $ 25,222   $ 38,900


Net revenues and operating income adjusted to remove the operating results of the four television stations sold, are shown below (in
thousands):

                                  Three months ended       Nine months ended
                                     September 30,           September 30,
                                   1995        1994         1995        1994
Net revenues:
Television broadcasting           $14,040    $14,405      $ 44,555    $42,762
Radio broadcasting                 20,086     17,325        55,502     49,293

  Total net revenues               34,126     31,730       100,057     92,055

Operating, selling, general
  and administrative expenses     (20,381)   (19,887)      (61,076)   (60,149)

Corporate general and
  administrative expenses          (1,085)    (1,187)       (3,246)    (3,649)

  Operating income before
    depreciation and
    amortization                   12,660     10,656        35,735     28,257

Depreciation and amortization      (3,750)    (3,018)      (10,513)    (9,922)

  Operating income                $ 8,910    $ 7,638      $ 25,222    $18,335


Three and nine months ended September 30, 1995 compared to September 30,
1994
The decrease in television net revenues for the three and nine months ended September 30, 1995 is primarily attributable to the sale of four television stations in September and October 1994. Excluding the results of the stations sold, television net revenues decreased 3% in the quarter and increased 4% during the nine months ended September 30, 1995 compared to the same period a year ago. Net revenues at the Tampa TV station have been adversely affected by the switch in network affiliations that took place in the market. Viewing patterns were disrupted and ratings declined in the spring rating period. This trend was reversed in the summer rating period. In addition, 1994 television revenues for the quarter included approximately $700,000 from political advertising, relating to the biannual elections. Radio net revenues increased by 16% and 13% for the three and nine months, respectively, due to the expanding economy, sales efforts, improved ratings at several of the stations, and the acquisition of an additional FM station in late June, 1995.

Costs and expenses including depreciation and amortization decreased as a result of the sale of the television stations. Excluding the
operating expenses of the television stations that were sold, operating expense increases were less than 3% and 2%, respectively, due to cost controls.

Operating income declined as a result of the sale of the four television stations in September and October 1994. Excluding the results of the stations sold, operating income increased 17% and 38% respectively, during the quarter and nine months ended September 30, 1995 compared to the same periods in 1994 due to the increases in net revenue and expense controls.

Operating Outlook - three months ended December 31, 1995 compared to December 31, 1994
The fourth quarter of 1994 included over $2.4 million of net revenues attributable to the biannual elections which represented approximately 7% of fourth quarter net revenues. Given the absence of federal elections in 1995, the Company does not expect significant percentage increases in net revenue or operating income before depreciation and amortization in the fourth quarter of 1995.


Other Income (Expense) Information
Interest expense decreased $5.2 million (60%) and $17.7 million (63%) during the quarter and nine months ended September 30, 1995,
respectively, compared to the same periods in 1994 due primarily to reduced debt levels resulting from the sale of four television stations in September and October 1994.

           CITICASTERS INC. 10-Q

                  PART II

             OTHER INFORMATION




                   ITEM 6

      Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K



a) Exhibits:      27   Financial Data Schedule


b) Reports on Form 8-K:   None

           CITICASTERS INC. 10-Q




                 SIGNATURES


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned thereunto duly authorized.


   CITICASTERS INC.




November 10, 1995                        BY: GREGORY C. THOMAS
                                             Gregory C. Thomas
                                             Executive Vice President and
                                               Chief Financial Officer