EXHIBIT 99

           Provident Financial Group Announces Strategic Repositioning
Continuing to Lower Risk Profile While Sharpening Focus on Core Midwest Franchise

Cincinnati,  July 10, 2003 - Provident  Financial  Group,  Inc.  (Nasdaq:  PFGI)
announced  today a number of strategic  actions taken late in the second quarter
to further align its core businesses with its corporate operating strategy.  The
company  further  reduced its risk  profile  through the sale of $471 million of
subprime  residential  mortgage  loans,  and  also  sold its  Merchant  Services
business,  a payment  solutions  provider  for credit and debit card  acceptance
programs.  The  company has also  agreed to sell its  Florida  franchise  to RBC
Centura Bank, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Royal Bank of Canada (NYSE, TSE: RY).
Under the agreement,  Provident will sell its 13 branches to RBC Centura,  which
includes  approximately  $750 million in deposits and $350 million in loans. The
transaction,  which is subject to regulatory approvals,  is expected to close in
the third quarter of this year.

Provident  sold the subprime  residential  mortgage loans at a $40.0 million net
discount, and will realize a gain of $19.0 million from the sale of its Merchant
Services  business.  The company  will also  realize a gain from the sale of its
Florida franchise of approximately $70.0 million after offsets from goodwill and
transaction  costs.  The aggregate impact of these actions will result in a gain
of  approximately  $49.0 million and the aggregate  dilutive  impact to earnings
going  forward  will be no more than one percent.  The chart below  outlines the
estimated pre-tax and after-tax impact of these transactions to second and third
quarter earnings.

                                              Pre-Tax            After-Tax
                                            -----------    ---------------------
                                            Gain/(Loss)    (Gain/(Loss)    EPS
                                            -----------    ------------  -------
Second Quarter 2003 Transactions
  Sale of $471 million subprime
   residential mortgage loans               $    (40.0)*   $     (26.8)  $(0.53)
  Sale of Merchant Services Business              19.0            12.7     0.25
                                            ----------     -----------   ------
Impact to Second Quarter 2003 Earnings           (21.0)          (14.1)   (0.28)
                                            ----------     -----------   ------
Third Quarter 2003 Transaction
  Sale of Florida Franchise                       70.0            47.0     0.93
                                            ----------     -----------   ------
Impact to Third Quarter 2003 Earnings             70.0            47.0     0.93
                                            ----------     -----------   ------
Aggregate Impact to Earnings                $     49.0     $      32.9   $ 0.65
                                            ==========     ===========   ======
* net of $16 million of allowance utilization

Robert L. Hoverson, Provident's President and Chief Executive Officer commented,
"These  actions will further  reduce  credit risk and  earnings  volatility  and
improve  capital while  allowing us to focus more on our core Midwest retail and
commercial  banking  franchise.  Removing these subprime mortgage loans from our
balance  sheet  significantly  improves our credit  quality  metrics,  including
lowering the level of  non-performing  assets.  These subprime  mortgages  loans
represented  approximately  five  percent  of  our  total  loan  portfolio,  and
approximately  $53  million,  or 26 percent of  non-performing  assets.  We will
continue to pursue opportunities to reduce risk exposures and reposition or exit
businesses that are not in line with our corporate operating strategy."

                                      -1-

UBS  Investment  Bank acted as the Advisor to Provident for the sale of both the
Merchant Service business and the Florida franchise.

Second Quarter 2003 Earnings and Further Discussion of Today's News Release
Provident  expects  to  release  second  quarter  2003  financial  results  next
Wednesday, July 16, 2003, prior to market opening. A conference call and webcast
is also scheduled for next Wednesday, July 16, 2003, at 2:00 p.m (ET) to discuss
earnings. The contents of today's news release, including further details on the
impact of these  transactions,  will also be discussed on next week's conference
call.

Forward-Looking Statements
This news release contains certain  forward-looking  statements that are subject
to  numerous  assumptions,  risks  or  uncertainties.   The  Private  Securities
Litigation  Reform  Act of  1995  provides  a safe  harbor  for  forward-looking
statements.  Actual results could differ  materially  from those contained in or
implied by such  forward-looking  statements for a variety of factors including:
sharp  and/or  rapid  changes  in  interest  rates;  significant  changes in the
anticipated  economic scenario which could materially change  anticipated credit
quality  trends;  the ability to generate  loans and leases;  significant  cost,
delay in,  or  inability  to  execute  strategic  initiatives  designed  to grow
revenues  and/or  manage   expenses;   consummation   of  significant   business
combinations or  divestitures;  and significant  changes in accounting,  tax, or
regulatory  practices  or  requirements  and factors  noted in  connection  with
forward-looking statements.  Additionally,  borrowers could suffer unanticipated
losses without regard to general  economic  conditions.  The result of these and
other  factors  could  cause  differences  from  expectations  in the  level  of
defaults,  changes in the risk  characteristics of the loan and lease portfolio,
and  changes  in the  provision  for  loan  and  lease  losses.  Forward-looking
statements speak only as of the date made.  Provident  undertakes no obligations
to update any  forward-looking  statements  to reflect  events or  circumstances
arising after the date on which they are made.

About Provident Financial Group, Inc.
Provident Financial Group, Inc. is a bank holding company located in Cincinnati,
Ohio.  Its main  subsidiary,  The  Provident  Bank,  provides a diverse  line of
banking and financial  products,  services and solutions  through retail banking
offices located in Southwestern  Ohio,  Northern  Kentucky and the West Coast of
Florida,  and through  commercial  lending offices  located  throughout Ohio and
surrounding  states.  Customers have access to banking  services  24-hours a day
through Provident's  extensive network of ATMs,  Telebank,  a telephone customer
service center, and the internet at www.providentbank.com.  Provident has served
the  financial  needs  of its  customers  for 100  years,  and  currently  3,400
associates serve approximately  500,000 customers.  At March 31, 2003, Provident
Financial  Group  had  $9.2  billion  in loans  outstanding,  $10.7  billion  in
deposits, and assets of $17.7 billion.  Provident Financial Group's common stock
trades on the Nasdaq Stock Market under the symbol PFGI.

For further information, please contact:
Christopher J. Carey
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
1-513-639-4644 / 1-800-851-9521
e-mail: IR@provident-financial.com