News Release

INVESTOR AND MEDIA CONTACT:

George R. Kirkland

Executive Vice President and CFO

Phone: (229) 873-3830

investorinfo@sgfc.com

For Immediate Release

Southwest Georgia Financial Corporation

Declares Quarterly Cash Dividend

MOULTRIE, GEORGIA, August 28, 2014 -- Southwest Georgia Financial Corporation (NYSE MKT: SGB), the parent company of Southwest Georgia Bank, announced that its Board of Directors at its meeting yesterday, declared a quarterly cash dividend of $0.08 per common share. The dividend is payable September 18, 2014 to shareholders of record on September 8, 2014. The Company has approximately 2.5 million shares of common stock outstanding. Southwest Georgia Financial Corporation or its predecessor, Southwest Georgia Bank, has paid cash dividends for 86 consecutive years.

About Southwest Georgia Financial Corporation

Southwest Georgia Financial Corporation is a state-chartered bank holding company with approximately
$371 million in assets headquartered in Moultrie, Georgia. Its primary subsidiary, Southwest Georgia Bank, offers comprehensive financial services to consumer, business, and governmental customers. The current banking facilities include the main office located in Colquitt County, and branch offices located in Baker County, Thomas County, Worth County, and Lowndes County. In addition to conventional banking services, the bank provides investment planning and management, trust management, mortgage banking, and commercial and individual insurance products. Insurance products and advice are provided by Southwest Georgia Insurance Services which is located in Colquitt County. Mortgage banking for primarily commercial properties is provided by Empire Financial Services, Inc., a mortgage banking services firm.

More information on Southwest Georgia Financial Corp. and Southwest Georgia Bank can be found at its website: www.sgfc.com.

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