Houston Energy Financial Forum
November 19, 2008
Investor Presentation

Forward-Looking Statements
u This presentation contains forward-looking statements.
u Forward-looking statements are based on management
 assumptions and analyses.
u Actual experience may differ and such differences may be
 material.
u Backlog consists of written orders and estimates for our services
 which we believe to be firm. In many instances contracts are
 cancelable by customers so we may never realize some or all of
 our backlog, which may lead to lower than expected financial
 performance.
u Forward-looking statements are subject to uncertainties and
 risks which are disclosed in Geokinetics’ Annual Report on Form
 10-K and Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q.

Corporate Information
Market Data (at 11/13/2008)
• Exchange/Ticker:  NYSE Alternext/GOK
• Market Capitalization:  $49.7MM
• Enterprise Value $220.9MM*
Trading Data (at 11/13/2008)
• Common Shares Out. 10.5 MM
• Average Volume 32,555 shares/day
• Institutional Ownership 57%
Key Financial Data (at 9/30/2008)
• Cash    $17.3MM
• Debt   $94.0MM
• Debt to Total Cap 29.2%
* Debt, Preferred Equity and Cash as of 9/30/08

About Geokinetics
u Large North America footprint
u Strong presence in profitable U.S. land seismic market
u Technology leader in Canada
u Significant international experience and diversity
u Industry leader in international transition zone
u Extensive recent investments in new multi-component
 recording systems, both land and shallow water
u Strong and diverse customer base
u Recent expansion into Africa and emerging OBC market

Industry Dynamics
u Global energy demand growth driving commodity prices
u Improved E&P economics = larger exploration budgets
u Technical advances are bringing new activity in regions
 with known hydrocarbon systems
u U.S. shale plays
u Large discoveries are increasingly international and offshore
u Increasing demand for seabed seismic data acquisition
 (Transition Zone, Ocean Bottom Cable and 4D)
Source: Lehman Brothers The Original E&P Spending Survey - Midyear Update
International Exploration and Production Expenditures ($B)

E&P Project Cycle
 Exploit
Seismic Data Acquisition and Processing
Needed at All Stages of the E&P Cycle
¿ Increase drilling success rates
¿ Reduce finding and development costs

The Value of Seismic Technology
“With 3-D seismic, we can understand the detailed geology much better than before. And
that translates to opportunities to drill new wells to bolster production in mature fields.”
- ExxonMobil, The Lamp (2007 - Number 4)
OBC
Streamer

Global Seismic Crew Count
Chart Source: IHS Energy.

International Seismic Market
Chart Source: Baker Hughes, World Geophysical News, Bloomberg.
*Source: Barclays The Original Oil Service & Drilling Monthly, October 2008

U.S. Seismic Market
Chart Source: Baker Hughes, World Geophysical News, Bloomberg.
*Source: Barclays The Original Oil Service & Drilling Monthly, October 2008

Geophysical Market Overview
Company	Data Acquisition				M-C Data Library	Data Proc & Interp	Eqpmt.	Land Seismic Crews
	Marine Streamer	Land	TZ	OBC				Intl	US
Geokinetics									
Dawson									
Tidelands									
PGS									
BGP								
CGGVeritas (Sercel)									
WesternGeco (Schlumberger)								
Mitcham							
ION Geophysical							
Bolt Technologies							
OYO Geospace							

Competitive Advantage
u Significant base in profitable U.S. land seismic market
u Significant international exposure
u Specialized expertise in transition zone niche
u Ability to operate in difficult, frontier environments
u Early entrant into emerging ocean bottom cable market
u Complementary data processing and interpretation
 capabilities
u Proven track record in health, safety and environment

Choice of Leading Operators

Growth Strategy
Grow Customer Base
& Expand into New
Markets
Strengthen
Complementary
Service Offerings
¿ Leverage competitive advantage and expertise in
 difficult land environments and offshore shallow
 water zones to maximize profitability.
¿ Better assist customers with full range of
 seismic services, from acquisition and
 processing to interpretation and management.
¿ Presence in 20 of 194 countries worldwide.
 Further expand geographic presence and
 services offered.
¿ Continue to monitor opportunities for prudent
 expansion.
Capture New Market
Opportunities
¿ Leverage operational expertise to pursue
 opportunities in complementary markets such
 as OBC.
Continue to Leverage
Competitive Advantage
Pursue Strategic
Acquisitions / Alliances
As Appropriate

Strategic Growth Plan

Lower	Higher
Business Strength
u Reinvest cash flows generated from North American land seismic
u Penetrate fast-growing international land markets
u Look for TZ and OBC opportunities in international markets

Growth Focus
u Channel growth drives increases in revenue
105% CAGR
(Revenue)

International Revenue Rising
u Penetrating High-Growth Markets via TZ and OBC

Global Operations Map

U.S. Operations

There’s No “Average” Job

Leader in Transition Zone

Emerging OBC Market
u Launched OBC operations Q4 2007
u Sole provider of Sercel SeaRay (2 Systems)
u Offshore capabilities up to 500 ft. water depth
u Expanding OBC capabilities near-term
 § Enhancing operating efficiency
 § Expanding operations
 § One active crew, potential to split

Processing & Interpretation
Capabilities
u Full suite of onshore and offshore proprietary seismic data processing services
 and interpretation products
 § Geophysical processing
 § Interpretation / well log analysis (existing database)
 § Software
 § Consulting Services
u Advanced Technologies for processing new data and reprocessing
 old data with new methods
 § AVO, pre-stack time and depth imaging
 § Multi-component and 4D
u Global Reach
 § Offices in US and UK
 § P&I services stretch to all regions of the globe
u Complements data acquisition services
 § GROWTH OPPORTUNITY for follow on work to Company field crews;
 currently less than 5%

Financial Highlights

Capitalization
	12/31/2006	12/31/2007	9/30/2008
Cash, equivalents and restricted cash (1)	$ 22,059	$ 16,843	$ 17,321
Long-term debt and capital leases (including current portion):
Credit facility	0	40,537	40,935
Floating rate notes	110,000	0	0
Other debt	7,169	39,375	53,061
Total debt	117,169	79,912	93,996
Debt as % capitalization	58.1%	29.4%	29.2%

Convertible preferred stock	56,077	60,926	94,557(2)
Stockholders’ equity	28,595	130,965	133,809
Total capitalization	$201,841	$271,803	$322,362
(1) Includes $1.7 million, $1.3 million and $2.9 million of restricted cash at 12/31/06, 12/31/07 and 9/30/08, respectively.
(2) Completed the sale of 120,000 additional shares of convertible preferred stock and 240,000 warrants for gross proceeds of $30.0 million on July 28, 2008.

Adjusted Revenue and
EBITDA Growth
Note: Adjusted EBITDA reflects $727k of Grant’s Abandoned IPO expenses and $12.9 million of expenses related to the Grant Acquisition consisting primarily of investment
advisor and professional fees, payout under phantom stock plan and completion bonuses which are added back in 2006 as well as $3.2 million of one-time severance costs
in 2007.

Quarterly Results
Note: Adjusted EBITDA reflects $727k of Grant’s Abandoned IPO expenses and $12.9 million of expenses related to the Grant Acquisition consisting primarily of investment advisor
and professional fees, payout under phantom stock plan and completion bonuses which are added back in 3Q06 as well as $3.2 million of one-time severance costs in 3Q07.
Pro Forma Quarterly Revenue ($MM)
Pro Forma Adjusted EBITDA ($MM)

Rising Backlog
u Record quarterly
 seismic data
 acquisition and data
 processing backlog
 of $509 million as of
 Sept. 30, 2008
u Remainder of 2008
 covered by current
 backlog, remainder
 to be completed in
 2009 and 2010
*Includes a $59 million job in Argentina which has been removed from current backlog due to continued delays
and uncertainty.
412
417
411
381
321

Investing for Growth
$69.6 MM
YTD
Spending
$80.0
$94.7
$158.0
$24.5

30
Capital Investments
u Invested $95 million in 2007:
 § New state-of-the-art equipment
 (67% received in second half of year)
 § Upgraded U.S. crews
 § Expanded recording capacity
 § Entered OBC market
u 2008 capital expenditure budget
 of $80 million, $70 million invested through 9/30/08
 § Focus on increasing international channel
 count and seabed acquisition capacity
u Maintenance CAPEX averages 3% to 4%
 of revenues
u Capital investment decisions historically based
 on an average expected payback of
 less than three years EBITDA
Sercel SeaRay

31
Why Buy GOK?
u Robust backlog provides visible growth through 2008 and into 2009
u Strong presence in profitable North American land seismic market
u High degree of international exposure
u Leader in high-value transition zone
u Penetrating strategic growth markets with long-term visibility
u Improving data acquisition operating margins
u Integration of acquired companies substantially complete
u Recent investments of $165 million in crew upgrades
 and additional revenue-generating capacity