REAL ESTATE ASSOCIATES LTD II (CIK 314237)
Form 10-Q
period 2009-06-30
filed 2009-08-13

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

PART I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION

ITEM 1.     FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

REAL ESTATE ASSOCIATES LIMITED II

BALANCE SHEETS

 (in thousands)

	June 30,	December 31,
	2009	2008
	(Unaudited)	(Note)
ASSETS

Cash and cash equivalents	$ 1,040	$ 1,091
Investments in Local Limited Partnerships (Note 2)	--	--
Other receivables (Note 2)	16	8
Total assets	$ 1,056	$ 1,099

LIABILITIES AND PARTNERS' (DEFICIENCY) CAPITAL

Liabilities:
Accounts payable and accrued expenses	$ 17	$ 24

Contingencies (Note 5)

Partners' (deficiency) capital:
General partners	(188)	(188)
Limited partners	1,227	1,263
	1,039	1,075
Total liabilities and partners’ (deficiency)
capital	$ 1,056	$ 1,099

Note: The balance sheet at December 31, 2008 has been derived from the audited financial statements at that date but does not include all the information and footnotes required by generally accepted accounting principles for complete financial statements.

See Accompanying Notes to Financial Statements

REAL ESTATE ASSOCIATES LIMITED II

STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS

(Unaudited)

(in thousands, except per interest data)

	Three Months Ended		Six Months Ended
	June 30,		June 30,
	2009	2008	2009	2008
Revenues:
Interest income	$ --	$ 8	$ 1	$ 26

Operating expenses :
Management fees – partners
(Note 3)	15	15	30	30
Administrative	3	3	7	8
Legal and accounting	12	12	23	22
Total operating expenses	30	30	60	60

Loss from Partnership operations	(30)	(22)	(59)	(34)
Distributions in excess of
investment in Local Limited
Partnerships (Note 2)	11	27	23	27

Net (loss) income	$ (19)	$ 5	$ (36)	$ (7)

Net (loss) income allocated to
general partners (1%)	$ --	$ --	$ --	$ --
Net (loss) income allocated to
limited partners (99%)	(19)	5	(36)	(7)

	$ (19)	$ 5	$ (36)	$ (7)
Net (loss) income per limited
partnership interest (Note 1)	$ (1.79)	$ 0.47	$ (3.39)	$ (0.66)

See Accompanying Notes to Financial Statements

REAL ESTATE ASSOCIATES LIMITED II

STATEMENT OF CHANGES IN PARTNERS' (DEFICIENCY) CAPITAL

(Unaudited)

(in thousands, except interest data)

	General	Limited
	Partners	Partners	Total

Partnership interests (A)		10,626

Partners' (deficiency) capital
at December 31, 2008	$ (188)	$ 1,263	$ 1,075

Net loss for the six months
ended June 30, 2009	--	(36)	(36)

Partners' (deficiency) capital
at June 30, 2009	$ (188)	$ 1,227	$ 1,039

(A)   Consists of 10,626 partnership interests at June 30, 2009 and December 31, 2008.

See Accompanying Notes to Financial Statements

REAL ESTATE ASSOCIATES LIMITED II

STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS

(Unaudited)

(in thousands)

	Six Months Ended
	June 30,
	2009	2008
Cash flows from operating activities:
Net loss	$ (36)	$ (7)
Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net cash
used in operating activities:
Changes in accounts:
Other receivables	(4)	(8)
Accounts payable and accrued expenses	(7)	(284)
Net cash used in operating activities	(47)	(299)

Cash flows used in investing activities:
Advances to Local Limited Partnership	(4)	(7)

Net decrease in cash and cash equivalents	(51)	(306)
Cash and cash equivalents, beginning of period	1,091	1,832

Cash and cash equivalents, end of period	$ 1,040	$ 1,526

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

In the opinion of the Partnership’s management, the accompanying unaudited financial statements contain all adjustments (consisting primarily of normal recurring accruals) necessary to present fairly the financial position as of June 30, 2009 and the results of operations and changes in cash flows for the six months ended June 30, 2009 and 2008, respectively.

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

The Partnership’s management evaluated for subsequent events through the time this Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q was filed on August 13, 2009.

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

At June 30, 2009 and December 31, 2008, the Partnership holds variable interests in nine VIEs for which the Partnership is not the primary beneficiary.  Those nine VIEs consist of Local Limited Partnerships in which the Partnership acquired an interest prior to the adoption of FIN 46 that are directly engaged in the ownership and management of nine apartment properties with a total of 515 units.  The Partnership is involved with these VIEs as a non-controlling limited partner equity holder.  The Partnership’s maximum exposure to loss as a result of its involvement with the unconsolidated VIEs is limited to the Partnership’s recorded investments in and receivables from those VIEs, which were $11,000 at June 30, 2009 and $7,000 at December 31, 2008.  The Partnership may be subject to additional losses to the extent of any financial support that the Partnership voluntarily provides in the future.

Recent Accounting Pronouncements

In June 2009, the Financial Accounting Standards Board (“FASB”) issued Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No. 167, Amendments to FASB Interpretation No. 46(R), or SFAS No. 167, which is effective for fiscal years beginning after November 15, 2009 and introduces a more qualitative approach to evaluating VIEs for consolidation.  SFAS No. 167 requires a company to perform an analysis to determine whether its variable interests gives it a controlling financial interest in a VIE.  This analysis identifies the primary beneficiary of a VIE as the entity that has (a) the power to direct the activities of the VIE that most significantly impact the VIE’s economic performance, and (b) the obligation to absorb losses or the right to receive benefits that could potentially be significant to the VIE.  In determining whether it has the power to direct the activities of the VIE that most significantly affect the VIE’s performance, SFAS No. 167 requires a company to assess whether it has an implicit financial responsibility to ensure that a VIE operates as designed.  SFAS No. 167 requires continuous reassessment of primary beneficiary status rather than periodic, event-driven assessments as previously required, and incorporates expanded disclosure requirements. The Partnership has not yet determined the effect that SFAS No. 167 will have on its financial statements.

In June 2009, the FASB issued Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No. 168, The FASB Accounting Standards Codification and the Hierarchy of Generally Accepted Accounting Principles—a replacement of FASB Statement No. 162, or SFAS No. 168, which is effective for financial statements issued for interim and annual periods ending after September 15, 2009.  Upon the effective date of SFAS No. 168, the FASB Accounting Standards Codification, or the Codification, will become the single source of authoritative GAAP recognized by the FASB to be applied by nongovernmental entities. Rules and interpretive releases of the Securities and Exchange Commission, or SEC, under authority of federal securities laws are also sources of authoritative GAAP for SEC registrants. The Codification will supersede all then-existing non-SEC accounting and reporting standards. All other non-grandfathered non-SEC accounting literature not included in the Codification will become non-authoritative.  Following SFAS No. 168, the FASB will issue Accounting Standards Updates that serve to update the Codification. The Partnership does not anticipate that SFAS No. 168 will have a significant effect on its financial statements.

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

The individual investments are carried at cost plus the Partnership’s share of the Local Limited Partnership’s profits less the Partnership’s share of the Local Limited Partnership’s losses, distributions and impairment charges. The Partnership is not legally liable for the obligations of the Local Limited Partnerships and is not otherwise committed to provide additional support to them. Therefore, it does not recognize losses once its investment in each of the Local Limited Partnerships reaches zero. Distributions from the Local Limited Partnerships are accounted for as a reduction of the investment balance until the investment balance is reduced to zero. When the investment balance has been reduced to zero, subsequent distributions received are recognized as income in the accompanying unaudited statements of operations. Operating distributions from the Local Limited Partnerships in which the Partnership’s investment in the Local Limited Partnerships has been reduced to zero were approximately $23,000 and $27,000 for the six months ended June 30, 2009 and 2008, respectively.

During the six months ended June 30, 2009 and 2008, the Partnership advanced approximately $4,000 and $7,000, respectively, to one Local Limited Partnership to fund tax payments, which is included in other receivables. The Partnership expects to receive repayment of these advances during 2009.

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

	Three Months Ended		Six Months Ended
	June 30,		June 30,
	2009	2008	2009	2008
Revenues
Rental and other	$ 1,073	$ 1,016	$ 2,196	$ 2,118

Expenses
Depreciation	107	111	214	222
Interest	175	190	350	380
Operating	669	730	1,333	1,377

	951	1,031	1,897	1,979

Net income (loss)	$ 122	$ (15)	$ 299	$ 139

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

Under the terms of the Restated Certificate and Agreement of Limited Partnership, the Partnership is liable to NAPICO for an annual management fee equal to 0.4 percent of the Partnership’s original remaining invested assets of the Local Limited Partnerships and is calculated at the beginning of each year.  Invested assets are defined as the costs of acquiring project interests, including the proportionate amount of the mortgage loans related to the Partnership’s interests in the capital accounts of the respective partnerships. For each of the six months ended June 30, 2009 and 2008, the fee was approximately $30,000.

Note 4 – Fair Value of Financial Instruments

SFAS No. 107, "Disclosures about Fair Value of Financial Instruments" requires disclosure of fair value information about financial instruments, whether or not recognized in the balance sheet, for which it is practicable to estimate fair value. Fair value is defined in the SFAS as the amount at which the instruments could be exchanged in a current transaction between willing parties, other than in a forced or liquidation sale.  The Partnership believes that the carrying amount of other assets and liabilities reported on the balance sheet at June 30, 2009 that require such disclosure approximated their fair value.

Note 5 - Contingencies

The Corporate General Partner is involved in various lawsuits arising from transactions in the ordinary course of business. In the opinion of management and the Corporate General Partner, the claims will not result in any material liability to the Partnership.

ITEM 2.     MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS

The Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 provides a “safe harbor” for forward-looking statements in certain circumstances. Certain information included in this Quarterly Report contains or may contain information that is forward-looking, including, without limitation, statements regarding the Partnership’s future financial performance and the effect of government regulations. Actual results may differ materially from those described in these forward-looking statements and , in addition, will be affected by a variety of risks and factors some of which are beyond the Partnership’s control including, without limitation: financing risks, including the availability and cost of financing and the risk that the Partnership’s cash flows from operations may be insufficient to meet required payments of principal and interest;  national and local economic conditions; the general level of interest rates; the terms of governmental regulations that affect the Partnership and its investment in limited partnerships and interpretations of those regulations; the competitive environment in which the Partnership operates; real estate risks, including fluctuations in real estate values and the general economic climate in local markets and competition for tenants in such markets;  litigation, including costs associated with prosecuting or defending claims and any adverse outcomes; and possible environmental liabilities, including costs, fines or penalties that may be incurred due to necessary remediation of contamination of properties presently owned or previously owned by the limited partnerships in which the Partnership has invested. Readers should carefully review the Partnership’s financial statements and the notes thereto, as well as the other documents the Partnership files from time to time with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

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

Distributions received from Local Limited Partnerships are recognized as return of capital until the investment balance has been reduced to zero. Subsequent distributions received are recognized as income. Operating distributions from the Local Limited Partnerships in which the Partnership’s investment in the Local Limited Partnerships has been reduced to zero were approximately $23,000 and $27,000 for the six months ended June 30, 2009 and 2008, respectively.

As of June 30, 2009 and December 31, 2008, the Partnership had cash and cash equivalents of approximately $1,040,000 and $1,091,000, respectively. Cash and cash equivalents are on deposit with a financial institution earning interest at market rates. The amount of interest income varies with market rates available on deposits and with the amount of funds available for investment.  Cash equivalents can be converted to cash to meet obligations of the Partnership as they arise.  The Partnership intends to continue investing available funds in this manner.

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

Operating distributions from the Local Limited Partnerships in which the Partnership’s investment in the Local Limited Partnerships has been reduced to zero were approximately $23,000 and $27,000 for the six months ended June 30, 2009 and 2008, respectively. These amounts were recognized as income on the statements of operations included in “Item 1. Financial Statements”, in accordance with the equity method of accounting.

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

A recurring partnership expense is the annual management fee.  The fee is payable to the Corporate General Partner and is calculated at 0.4 percent of the Partnership's original remaining invested assets at the beginning of each year.  The management fee is paid to the Corporate General Partner for its continuing management of Partnership affairs.  Management fees were approximately $30,000 for each of the six months ended June 30, 2009 and 2008.

Operating expenses, other than management fees, consist of legal and accounting fees for services rendered to the Partnership and administrative expenses. Legal and accounting fees were approximately $23,000 and $22,000 for the six months ended June 30, 2009 and 2008, respectively, and approximately $12,000 for each of the three months ended June 30, 2009 and 2008.

Administrative expenses were approximately $7,000 and $8,000 for the six months ended June 30, 2009 and 2008, respectively, and approximately $3,000 for each of the three months ended June 30, 2009 and 2008.

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

Other

In addition to its indirect ownership of the general partnership interest in the Partnership, AIMCO and its affiliates owned 1,740 limited partnership interests in the Partnership representing 16.37% of the outstanding limited partnership interests at June 30, 2009. It is possible that AIMCO or its affiliates will acquire additional limited partnership interests in exchange for cash or a combination of cash and units in AIMCO Properties, L.P., the operating partnership of AIMCO. Pursuant to the Partnership Agreement, unitholders holding a majority of the limited partnership interests are entitled to take action with respect to a variety of matters that include, but are not limited to, voting on certain amendments to the Partnership Agreement and voting to remove the Corporate General Partner. Although the Corporate General Partner owes fiduciary duties to the limited partners of the Partnership, the Corporate General Partner also owes fiduciary duties to AIMCO as its sole stockholder. As a result, the duties of the Corporate General Partner, as corporate general partner, to the Partnership and its limited partners may come into conflict with the duties of the Corporate General Partner to AIMCO as its sole stockholder.

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

At June 30, 2009 and December 31, 2008, the Partnership holds variable interests in nine VIEs for which the Partnership is not the primary beneficiary.  Those nine VIEs consist of Local Limited Partnerships in which the Partnership acquired an interest prior to the adoption of FIN 46 that are directly engaged in the ownership and management of nine apartment properties with a total of 515 units.  The Partnership is involved with these VIEs as a non-controlling limited partner equity holder.  The Partnership’s maximum exposure to loss as a result of its involvement with unconsolidated VIEs is limited to the Partnership’s recorded investments in and receivables from those VIEs, which were $11,000 at June 30, 2009 and $7,000 at December 31, 2008.  The Partnership may be subject to additional losses to the extent of any financial support that the Partnership voluntarily provides in the future.

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

PART II - OTHER INFORMATION

ITEM 6.     EXHIBITS

See Exhibit Index.

The agreements included as exhibits to this Form 10-Q contain representations and warranties by each of the parties to the applicable agreement. These representations and warranties have been made solely for the benefit of the other parties to the applicable agreement and:

  should not in all instances be treated as categorical statements of fact, but rather as a way of allocating the risk to one of the parties if those statements prove to be inaccurate;

  have been qualified by disclosures that were made to the other party in connection with the negotiation of the applicable agreement, which disclosures are not necessarily reflected in the agreement;

  may apply standards of materiality in a way that is different from what may be viewed as material to an investor; and

  were made only as of the date of the applicable agreement or such other date or dates as may be specified in the agreement and are subject to more recent developments.

Accordingly, these representations and warranties may not describe the actual state of affairs as of the date they were made or at any other time. The Partnership acknowledges that, notwithstanding the inclusion of the foregoing cautionary statements, it is responsible for considering whether additional specific disclosures of material information regarding material contractual provisions are required to make the statements in this Form 10-Q not misleading. Additional information about the Partnership may be found elsewhere in this Form 10-Q and the Partnership’s other public filings, which are available without charge through the SEC’s website at http://www.sec.gov.

SIGNATURES

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned thereunto duly authorized.

REAL ESTATE ASSOCIATES LIMITED II

By: National Partnership Investments Corp.
Corporate General Partner

Date: August 13, 2009	By: /s/Steven D. Cordes
Steven D. Cordes
Senior Vice President

Date: August 13, 2009	By: /s/Stephen B. Waters
Stephen B. Waters
Senior Director

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