Exhibit 99.1

Mesa-Royalty-Trust

Mesa Royalty Trust Announces Trust Income for October 2009

MESA ROYALTY TRUST

The Bank of New York Mellon Trust Company, N.A., Trustee

NEWS
RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

AUSTIN, TEXAS October 22, 2009 — Mesa Royalty Trust (NYSE symbol-MTR) announced the Trust income distribution for the month of October 2009. Unitholders of record on October 31, 2009 will receive distributions amounting to $451,787 or $0.242428379 per unit payable on January 29, 2010. The Trust received $249,769 and $28,096 from the New Mexico and Colorado portions of the San Juan Basin Properties. Royalty income from the Hugoton Properties totaled $183,317.

Contact:	Mesa Royalty Trust
The Bank of New York Mellon Trust Company, N.A., as Trustee
Mike Ulrich
1(800) 852-1422

www.businesswire.com/cnn/mtr.htm

919 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701