Exhibit (99.1)

EASTMAN KODAK COMPANY

Media Contact:
Christopher K. Veronda
585-724-2622
christopher.veronda@kodak.com

Cutbacks part of company's worldwide consolidations
X-RAY MANUFACTURING OPERATIONS
AT KODAK INDUSTRIE CHALON PLANT TO BE SHIFTED


     Chalon-sur-Saone, France, June 29 - Eastman Kodak
Company continues to implement a digital growth strategy
that includes managing the decline of the traditional
photographic business and building a highly competitive
digital business model in consumer, commercial, and health
businesses.

     This ongoing strategy reflects the structural and
fundamental changes occurring worldwide in the imaging
industry as digital technology becomes more popular in most
industry segments, especially in developing countries.

     In its latest action responding to the overall decline
in traditional film imaging, Kodak will continue to
progressively withdraw manufacturing activities from the
Chalon site by a job reduction program as announced today to
the Chalon Works Council.

     Kodak will end x-ray film finishing operations at the
site.  The closure will affect about 300 jobs, and the
operations will be transferred to other Kodak plants with
available capacity.

     "We will work to smoothly implement these changes, so
that customers can rely on the same high-quality x-ray film
products they have always received from Kodak," said J.P.
Martel, president of Kodak Industrie.

     Martel emphasized that Kodak has intensified efforts to develop an industrial park, the Burgundy Region Industrial Park, at the Chalon site, helping secure positions for a significant number of employees through divestitures and by attracting new businesses to the site. He pointed to a number of recent successes in that regard and said that the total number of jobs preserved through these developments could reach 700.

     "We continue to work in close collaboration with the
government authorities to develop the industrial park and
recruit a wide variety of companies, building on our growing
pattern of successes," he said.

     "The highly skilled, dedicated and experienced
workforce at our Chalon site is proving to be very
attractive to other companies that are looking at expansion
opportunities in Europe," said Martel.

     Other companies that have already started operations at
the industrial park or are planning to do so include:

        - Tournaire, a manufacturer of specialty plastic
          packaging.

        - Intertek, an analytical services provider.

        - Champion Chemtech Limited, a manufacturer of
          photographic and specialty chemicals.

        - Rave, supplier of internal logistics services to the
          industrial park.

        - Cofathec Gaz de France, operator of the industrial
          park's utilities.

     The decline in traditional imaging, especially in the
consumer segment, has impacted all companies serving this
industry, as reflected by announcements from other
companies, including two that are exiting the photo
business.

     Kodak Industrie said it would fulfill its contractual
commitments to employees and implement a severance program.
This program could include a voluntary retirement and
separation program, other opportunities for employee
relocation within the industrial park and assistance for
employees seeking new jobs. The company said that all
employees would be treated fairly and with respect.

     Kodak is committed to strengthening its leading
position in all segments of the worldwide imaging market by
continuing to offer a full array of high-quality products
and reliable services in the traditional and digital imaging
markets. The company will also continue to maintain a
significant presence to serve customers in France, an
important market.

     Recent examples of Kodak's success in serving the
French market include:

   - In the Consumer Digital Imaging business, Kodak is the worldwide leader in retail imaging kiosks and has installed nearly 2,000 Picture Maker kiosks in France to make it easy for consumers to print digital pictures. For easy digital prints at home, the Kodak EasyShare PP550 printer has been named "best of breed" by leading newsweekly Le Point and consumer computer weekly journal Micro Hebdo. Similarly, Kodak's digital cameras have been hailed for innovation and features. The new EasyShare V570 twin lens camera was acclaimed as "the year's first genuine innovation" by consumer computer monthly journal OVM. Chasseur d'Images called the camera "truly original" and the daily newspaper Metrol labeled it "the camera with two eyes."

   - Kodak's Health Group holds the #1 position in France in almost every category of film-based health imaging. Concurrently, Kodak's presence in the country's digital health-imaging market continues to grow, as evidenced by the Assistance Publique - Hopitaux de Paris project, where Kodak digital medical imaging systems are being installed through 20 main hospitals in Paris. Additional, the world headquarters and global manufacturing for the Trophy Radiologie subsidiary - a world leader in dental digital radiography systems - are based in a suburb of Paris. And the center of research and development for the Health Group's Information Management Solutions business is sited in Toulouse.

   - Kodak's Graphic Communications Group has market-leading status in the supply of pre-press equipment to the French printing industry, encompassing sophisticated workflow and proofing tools, printing plates, and computer-to-plate output devices. Kodak's high-speed digital printing technology is also in daily use by the CNAMTS*, the health branch of the French social security system and the largest producer of mail in France. CNAMTS chose Kodak Versamark equipment for the reliable and cost-effective production of more than 400 million documents a year.

          *Caisse Nationale d'Assurance Maladie des
          Travailleurs Salaries