[OPTICARE HEALTH SYSTEMS, INC. LOGO]

                                                                    Exhibit 99.1

                               Contact: Christopher J. Walls, Chief
                                  Administrative Officer and General Counsel
                               OptiCare Health Systems, Inc.
                               (203) 596-2236

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

                   OPTICARE HEALTH SYSTEMS ANNOUNCES DEPARTURE
                    OF PRESIDENT AND CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER

WATERBURY, Conn., October 22, 2004 -- OptiCare Health Systems, Inc. (Amex: OPT)
today announced the departure of Lance A. Wilkes as President and Chief
Operating Officer of the Company. Wilkes will pursue opportunities in a
specialty health care business in the hearing care industry and will consult
with the Company on its Managed Care business. Mr. Wilkes' duties will be
assumed by Christopher J. Walls, who will become President, Chief Administrative
Officer and General Counsel.

About OptiCare Health Systems, Inc.

OptiCare Health Systems, Inc. is an integrated eye care services company focused
on vision benefits management, the distribution of OptiCare products to eye care
professionals, and consumer vision services, including medical, surgical and
optometric services and optical retail.

Forward-looking statements (statements which are not historical facts) in this
release are made pursuant to the safe harbor provisions of the Private
Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. OptiCare Health Systems' actual
results could differ materially from those expressed or indicated by forward-
looking statements. Factors that could cause or contribute to such differences
include, but are not limited to, the impact of current and future governmental
regulations, risks related to the eye care industry, the Company's ability to
successfully and profitably manage its operations, the risks related to managed
care contracting, the ability of the Company to successfully raise capital on
commercially reasonable terms and other factors. Investors are cautioned that
all forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties, including those
risks and uncertainties detailed in the Company's filings with the Securities
and Exchange Commission, including its Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal
year ending December 31, 2003.

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