Exhibit 99.1

Statement

Media Contacts:	David Caouette	Investor Contacts:	Alex Kelly
	(908) 423-3461 Steven Campanini (908) 423-4291		(908) 423-5185 Joe Romanelli (908) 423-5088

Merck Statement on Remicade and Simponi Arbitration

WHITEHOUSE STATION, N.J., Oct. 14, 2010 – Merck & Co., Inc. (NYSE: MRK) provided the following statement in response to questions about the Remicade and Simponi arbitration.

“Merck’s subsidiary, Schering-Plough (Ireland) Company and Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc., a Johnson & Johnson subsidiary, have concluded the previously disclosed hearing. Under an agreement with the arbitration panel, the parties will file post-hearing briefs and present arguments to the arbitration panel in late December. The Company anticipates a decision in 2011.”

About Merck

Today’s Merck is a global healthcare leader working to help the world be well. Merck is known as MSD outside the United States and Canada. Through our prescription medicines, vaccines, biologic therapies, and consumer care and animal health products, we work with customers and operate in more than 140 countries to deliver innovative health solutions. We also demonstrate our commitment to increasing access to healthcare through far-reaching policies, programs and partnerships. For more information, visit www.merck.com.

Forward-Looking Statement

This statement includes “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the safe harbor provisions of the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Such statements may include, but are not limited to, statements about the benefits of the merger between Merck and Schering-Plough, including future financial and operating results, the combined company’s plans, objectives, expectations and intentions and other statements that are not historical facts. Such statements are based upon the current beliefs and expectations of Merck’s management and are subject to significant risks and uncertainties. Actual results may differ from those set forth in the forward-looking statements.

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The following factors, among others, could cause actual results to differ from those set forth in the forward-looking statements: the possibility that the expected synergies from the merger of Merck and Schering-Plough will not be realized, or will not be realized within the expected time period; the impact of pharmaceutical industry regulation and health care legislation; the risk that the businesses will not be integrated successfully; disruption from the merger making it more difficult to maintain business and operational relationships; Merck’s ability to accurately predict future market conditions; dependence on the effectiveness of Merck’s patents and other protections for innovative products; the risk of new and changing regulation and health policies in the U.S. and internationally and the exposure to litigation and/or regulatory actions.

Merck undertakes no obligation to publicly update any forward-looking statement, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise. Additional factors that could cause results to differ materially from those described in the forward-looking statements can be found in Merck’s 2009 Annual Report on Form 10-K and the company’s other filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) available at the SEC’s Internet site (www.sec.gov).

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