CONFORMED COPY






                        CERTIFICATE OF DESIGNATION

                                    OF

                    DONALDSON, LUFKIN & JENRETTE, INC.

                  3,500,000 SHARES FIXED/ADJUSTABLE RATE
                   CUMULATIVE PREFERRED STOCK, SERIES B





                     Pursuant to Section 151(g) of the
               General Company Law of the State of Delaware



















January 8, 1998

                             TABLE OF CONTENTS

                               ------------
                                                                 Page
       Section 1.  Number of Shares and Designation.............  1
       Section 2.  Ranking......................................  1
       Section 3.  Dividends....................................  1
       Section 4.  Liquidation Preference.......................  8
       Section 5.  Voting Rights................................  8
       Section 6.  Redemption...................................  9


                        CERTIFICATE OF DESIGNATION
               OF 3,500,000 SHARES OF FIXED/ADJUSTABLE RATE
                   CUMULATIVE PREFERRED STOCK, SERIES B
                   OF DONALDSON, LUFKIN & JENRETTE, INC.


               The undersigned, Charles J. Hendrickson and Marjorie S. White, being respectively a Senior Vice President and the Secretary of Donaldson, Lufkin & Jenrette, Inc., a corporation organized and existing under the General Company Law of the State of Delaware (the "Company"), certify that, pursuant to the authority expressly granted to and vested in the Board of Directors of the Company (the "Board of Directors") by the Restated Certificate of Incorporation of the Company, which authorizes the issuance, by the Company, of up to 25,000,000 shares of preferred stock, par value $.01 per share, which authority was delegated to the Pricing Committee of the Board of Directors pursuant to a resolution adopted by the Board of Directors in accordance with Section 141 of the General Company Law of the State of Delaware on November 19, 1997, the Pricing Committee of the Board of Directors on January 6, 1998 duly adopted resolutions creating and providing for the issuance of a series of preferred stock of the Company with the following terms and conditions:

               Section 1. Number of Shares and Designation. Three million five hundred thousand (3,500,000) shares of the 25,000,000 authorized shares of preferred stock, par value $.01 per share of the Company are hereby constituted as a series of preferred stock, par value $.01 per share, designated as "Fixed/Adjustable Rate Cumulative Preferred Stock, Series B" (hereinafter called the "Preferred Stock").

               Section 2. Ranking. The Preferred Stock will, on the date of original issuance, rank on a parity as to payment of dividends and distribution of assets upon dissolution, liquidation or winding up of the Company with each other outstanding series of preferred stock of the Company. The Preferred Stock, together with each other series of preferred stock of the Company, will rank prior to the Common Stock of the Company as to the payment of dividends and distribution of assets upon dissolution, liquidation or winding up of the Company.

               Section 3. Dividends. (i) General. Cumulative cash dividends will be payable on each share of Preferred Stock when, as, and if declared by the Board of Directors or a duly authorized committee thereof, out of funds legally available therefor.

               The initial dividend for the dividend period commencing on January 9, 1998 to (but excluding) April 15, 1998, will be $.7067 per share and will be payable on April 15, 1998. Thereafter, dividends on the Preferred Stock will be payable quarterly, as, if and when declared by the Board of Directors of the Company on January 15, April 15, July 15 and October 15 of each year (each a "Dividend Payment Date") at the annual rate of 5.30% or $2.65 per share through January 15, 2003. After January 15, 2003, dividends on the Preferred Stock will be payable on each Dividend Payment Date, as, if and when declared by the Board of Directors of the Company at the Applicable Rate from time to time in effect. The Applicable Rate per annum for each dividend period beginning on or after January 15, 2003 will be equal to 0.40% plus the highest of the Treasury Bill Rate, the Ten Year Constant Maturity Rate or the Thirty Year Constant Maturity Rate (each as defined below), as determined in advance of such dividend period, however, the Applicable Rate per annum for each dividend period beginning January 15, 2003 will not be
less than 5.70% nor greater than 11.30% (without taking into account any adjustments as described below).

               If a Dividend Payment Date is not a business day, dividends (if declared) on the Preferred Stock will be paid on the next business day, without interest. A dividend period with respect to a Dividend Payment Date is the period commencing on the preceding Dividend Payment Date and ending on the day immediately prior to the next Dividend Payment Date. Dividends will be
payable to holders of record as they appear on the stock books of the Company on the record date fixed by the Board of Directors of the Company which will not be more than 60 days nor less than 10 days preceding the payment date thereof.

               Dividends on the Preferred Stock will be cumulative and rights will accrue to the holders of the Preferred Stock if the Company fails to declare one or more dividends on the Preferred Stock in any amount, whether or not the earnings or financial condition of the Company were sufficient to pay such dividends in whole or in part.

               (ii) Adjustable Rate Dividends. The "Applicable Rate" per annum for each dividend period beginning January 15, 2003 will be equal to 0.40% plus the Effective Rate (as defined below) for such dividend period, but not less than 5.70% nor greater than 11.30% except as provided below in this paragraph. The "Effective Rate" for each dividend period beginning January
15, 2003 will be equal to the highest of the Treasury Bill Rate, the Ten Year Constant Maturity Rate and the Thirty Year Constant Maturity Rate (each as defined below) for such dividend period. In the event that the Company determines in good faith that for any reason: (A) any one of the Treasury Bill Rate, the Ten Year Constant Maturity Rate or the Thirty Year Constant Maturity Rate cannot be determined for any dividend period, then the Effective Rate for such dividend period will be equal to the higher of whichever two of such
rates can be so determined; (B) only one of the Treasury Bill Rate, the Ten Year Constant Maturity Rate or the Thirty Year Constant Maturity Rate can be determined for any dividend period, then the Effective Rate for such dividend period will be equal to whichever such rate can be so determined; or (C) none of the Treasury Bill Rate, the Ten Year Constant Maturity Rate or the Thirty Year Constant Maturity Rate can be determined for any dividend period, then
the Effective Rate for the preceding dividend period will be continued for the succeeding dividend period.

               The "Treasury Bill Rate" will be the arithmetic average of the two most recent weekly per annum market discount rates (or the one weekly per annum market discount rate, if only one such rate is published during the relevant Calendar Period (as defined below)) for three-month U.S. Treasury bills, as published weekly by the Federal Reserve Board (as defined below) during the Calendar Period immediately preceding the last ten calendar days preceding the dividend period for which the dividend rate on the Preferred Stock is being determined, except as described below in this paragraph. In the event that the Federal Reserve Board does not publish such a weekly per annum market discount rate during any such Calendar Period, then the Treasury Bill Rate for such dividend period will be the arithmetic average of the two most recent weekly per annum market discount rates (or the one weekly per annum market discount rate, if only one such rate is published during the relevant Calendar Period) for three-month U.S. Treasury bills, as published weekly during such Calendar Period by any Federal Reserve Bank or by any U.S. Government department or agency selected by the Company. In the event that a per annum market discount rate for three-month U.S. Treasury bills is not published by the Federal Reserve Board or by any Federal Reserve Bank or by
any U.S. Government department or agency during such Calendar Period, then the Treasury Bill Rate for such dividend period will be the arithmetic average of the two most recent weekly per annum market discount rates (or the one weekly per annum market discount rate, if only one such rate is published during the relevant Calendar Period) for all of the U.S. Treasury bills then having remaining maturities of not less than 80 nor more than 100 days, as published during such Calendar Period by the Federal Reserve Board or, if the Federal Reserve Board does not publish such rates, by any Federal Reserve Bank or by any U.S. Government department or agency selected by the Company. In the
event that the Company determines in good faith that for any reason no such U.S. Treasury Bill Rates are published as provided above during such Calendar Period, then the Treasury Bill Rate for such dividend period will be the arithmetic average of the per annum market discount rates based upon the closing bids during such Calendar Period for each of the issues of marketable non-interest-bearing U.S. Treasury securities with a remaining maturity of not less than 80 nor more than 100 days from the date of each such quotation, as chosen and quoted daily for each business day in New York City (or less frequently if daily quotations are not generally available) to the Company by at least three recognized dealers in U.S. Government securities selected by
the Company. In the event that the Company determines in good faith that for any reason the Company cannot determine the Treasury Bill Rate for any
dividend period as provided above in this paragraph, the Treasury Bill Rate
for such dividend period will be the arithmetic average of the per annum
market discount rates based upon the closing bids during such Calendar Period for each of the issues of marketable interest-bearing U.S. Treasury securities with a remaining maturity of not less than 80 nor more than 100 days, as
chosen and quoted daily for each business day in New York City (or less frequently if daily quotations are not generally available) to the Company by at least three recognized dealers in U.S. Government securities selected by
the Company.

               The "Ten Year Constant Maturity Rate" will be the arithmetic average of the two most recent weekly per annum Ten Year Average Yields (as defined below) (or the one weekly per annum Ten Year Average Yield, if only one such yield is published during the relevant Calendar Period), as published weekly by the Federal Reserve Board during the Calendar Period immediately preceding the last ten calendar days preceding the dividend period for which the dividend rate on the Preferred Stock is being determined, except as described below in this paragraph. In the event that the Federal Reserve Board does not publish such a weekly per annum Ten Year Average Yield during such Calendar Period, then the Ten Year Constant Maturity Rate for such dividend period will be the arithmetic average of the two most recent weekly per annum Ten Year Average Yields (or the one weekly per annum Ten Year Average Yield, if only one such yield is published during the relevant Calendar Period), as published weekly during such Calendar Period by any Federal Reserve Bank or by any U.S. Government department or agency selected by the Company. In the event that a per annum Ten Year Average Yield is not published by the Federal Reserve Board or by any Federal Reserve Bank or by any U.S. Government department or agency during such Calendar Period, then the Ten Year Constant Maturity Rate for such dividend period will be the arithmetic average of the two most recent weekly per annum average yields to maturity (or the one weekly per annum average yield to maturity, if only one such yield is published during the relevant Calendar Period) for all of the actively traded marketable U.S. Treasury fixed interest rate securities (other than Special Securities (as defined below)) then having remaining maturities of not less than eight nor more than twelve years, as published during such Calendar Period by the Federal Reserve Board or, if the Federal Reserve Board does not publish such yields, by any Federal Reserve Bank or by any U.S. Government department or agency selected by the Company. In the event that the Company determines in good faith that for any reason the Company cannot determine the Ten Year Constant Maturity Rate for any dividend period as provided above in this paragraph, then the Ten Year Constant Maturity Rate for such dividend period will be the arithmetic average of the per annum average yields to maturity based upon the closing bids during such Calendar Period for each of the issues of actively traded marketable U.S. Treasury fixed interest rate securities (other than Special Securities) with a final maturity date not less than eight nor more than twelve years from the date of each such quotation, as chosen and quoted daily for each business day in New York City (or less frequently if daily quotations are not generally available) to the Company by at least three recognized dealers in U.S. Government securities selected by the Company.

               The "Thirty Year Constant Maturity Rate" will be the arithmetic average of the two most recent weekly per annum Thirty Year Average Yields (as defined below) (or the one weekly per annum Thirty Year Average Yield, if only one such yield is published during the relevant Calendar Period), as published weekly by the Federal Reserve Board during the Calendar Period immediately preceding the last ten calendar days preceding the dividend period for which the dividend rate on the Preferred Stock is being determined except as described below in this paragraph. In the event that the Federal Reserve Board does not publish such a weekly per annum Thirty Year Average Yield during such Calendar Period, then the Thirty Year Constant Maturity Rate
for such dividend period will be the arithmetic average of the two most
recent weekly per annum Thirty Year Average Yields (or the one weekly per annum Thirty Year Average Yield, if only one such yield is published during the relevant Calendar Period), as published weekly during such Calendar
Period by any Federal Reserve Bank or by any U.S. Government department or agency selected by the Company. In the event that a per annum Thirty Year Average Yield is not published by the Federal Reserve Board or by any
Federal Reserve Bank or by any U.S. Government department or agency during such Calendar Period, then the Thirty Year Constant Maturity Rate for such dividend period will be the arithmetic average of the two most recent
weekly per annum average yields to maturity (or the one weekly per annum average yield to maturity, if only one such yield is published during the relevant Calendar Period) for all of the actively traded marketable U.S. Treasury fixed interest rate securities (other than Special Securities)
then having remaining maturities of not less than twenty-eight nor more
than thirty years, as published during such Calendar Period by the Federal Reserve Board or, if the Federal Reserve Board does not publish such
yields, by any Federal Reserve Bank or by any U.S.  Government department
or agency selected by the Company.  In the event that the Company
determines in good faith that for any reason the Company cannot determine
the Thirty Year Constant Maturity Rate for any applicable dividend period
as provided above in this paragraph, then the Thirty Year Constant Maturity Rate for such dividend period will be the arithmetic average of the per
annum average yields to maturity based upon the closing bids during such Calendar Period for each of the issues of actively traded marketable U.S. Treasury fixed interest rate securities (other than Special Securities)
with a final maturity date not less than twenty-eight nor more than thirty years from the date of each such quotation, as chosen and quoted daily for each business day in New York City (or less frequently if daily quotations
are not generally available) to the Company by at least three recognized dealers in U.S. Government securities selected by the Company.

               The Treasury Bill Rate, the Ten Year Constant Maturity Rate and the Thirty Year Constant Maturity Rate will each be rounded to the nearest five hundredths of a percent.

               The Applicable Rate with respect to each dividend period beginning January 15, 2003 will be calculated as promptly as practicable by the Company according to the appropriate method described above. The Company will cause notice of the Applicable Rate for the next dividend period to be
enclosed with the dividend payment check mailed to the holders of Preferred
Stock.

               As used above, the term "Calendar Period" means a period of fourteen calendar days; the term "Federal Reserve Board" means the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System; the term "Special Securities" means securities which can, at the option of the holder, be surrendered at face value in payment of any Federal estate tax or which provide tax benefits to the holder and are priced to reflect such tax benefits or which were originally issued at a deep or substantial discount; the term "Ten Year Average Yield" means the average yield to maturity for actively traded marketable U.S. Treasury fixed interest rate securities (adjusted to constant maturities of ten years); and the term "Thirty Year Average Yield" means the average yield to maturity for actively traded marketable U.S. Treasury fixed interest rate securities (adjusted to constant maturities of thirty years).

               (iii) Changes in the Dividends Received Percentage. If, prior to 18 months after the original issuance of the Preferred Stock, one or more amendments to the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended (the "Code"), are enacted which change the percentage of the dividends received deduction as specified in Section 243(a)(1) of the Code or any successor provision (the "Dividends Received Percentage"), the amount of each dividend on each share
of the Preferred Stock for dividend payments made on or after the date of enactment of such change will be adjusted by multiplying the amount of the dividend payable determined as described above (before adjustment) by a factor, which will be the number determined in accordance with the following formula (the "DRD Formula"), and rounding the result to the nearest cent:


                             1-[.35 (1 - .70)]
                             -----------------
                             1-[.35 (1 - DRP)]

               For the purposes of the DRD Formula, "DRP" means the new Dividends Received Percentage applicable to the dividend in question; provided however, that if the Dividends Received Percentage applicable to the dividend in question shall be less than 50%, then the DRP shall equal .50. No amendment to the Code, other than a change in the percentage of the dividends received deduction set forth in Section 243(a)(1) of the Code or any successor provision, will give rise to an adjustment. Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions, in the event that, with respect to any such amendment, the Company shall receive either an unqualified opinion of nationally recognized independent tax counsel selected by the Company or a private letter ruling or similar form of authorization from the Internal Revenue Service to the effect that such an amendment does not apply to dividends payable on the Preferred Stock, then any such amendment shall not result in the adjustment provided for pursuant to the DRD Formula. The opinion referenced in the previous sentence will be based upon a specific exception in the legislation amending the DRP or upon a published pronouncement of the Internal Revenue Service addressing such legislation. Unless the context otherwise requires, references to dividends herein shall mean dividends as adjusted by the DRD Formula. The Company's calculation of the dividends payable as so adjusted and as certified accurate as to calculation and reasonable as to method by the independent certified public accountants then regularly engaged by the Company, shall be final and not subject to review.

               If any amendment to the Code which reduces the Dividends Received Percentage is enacted after a record date and before the next Dividend Payment Date, the amount of dividend payable on such Dividend Payment Date
will not be increased, but instead, an amount equal to the excess of (x) the product of the dividends paid by the Company on such Dividend Payment Date and the DRD Formula (where the DRP used in the DRD Formula would be equal to the greater of the Dividends Received Percentage applicable to the dividend in question and .50) over (y) the dividends paid by the Company on such Dividend Payment Date, will be payable (if declared) to holders of record on the next succeeding Dividend Payment Date in addition to any other amounts payable on such date.

               In addition, if any such amendment to the Code is enacted that reduces the Dividends Received Percentage and such reduction retroactively applies to a Dividend Payment Date as to which the Company previously paid dividends on the Preferred Stock (each an "Affected Dividend Payment Date"), the Company will pay (if declared), additional dividends (the "Additional Dividends") on the next succeeding Dividend Payment Date (or if such amendment is enacted after the dividend payable on such Dividend Payment Date has been declared, on the second succeeding Dividend Payment Date following the date of enactment) to holders of record on such succeeding Dividend Payment Date in an amount equal to the excess of (x) the product of the dividends paid by the Company on each Affected Dividend Payment Date and the DRD Formula (where the DRP used in the DRD Formula would be equal to the greater of the Dividends Received Percentage and .50 applied to each Affected Dividend Payment Date) over (y) the dividends paid by the Company on each Affected Dividend Payment Date.

               Notwithstanding the foregoing, Additional Dividends will not be paid as a result of the enactment of any amendment to the Code 18 months or more after the date of original issuance of the Preferred Stock which retroactively reduces the Dividends Received Percentage, or if such amendment would not result in an adjustment due to the Company having received either an opinion of counsel or tax ruling referred to in the third preceding paragraph. The Company will make only one payment of Additional Dividends.

               In the event that the amount of dividend payable per share of the Preferred Stock will be adjusted pursuant to the DRD Formula and/or Additional Dividends are to be paid, the Company will cause notice of each
such adjustment and, if applicable, any Additional Dividends, to be sent to the holders of the Preferred Stock with the payment of dividends on the next Dividend Payment Date after the date of such adjustment.

               Section 4. Liquidation Preference. In the event of any voluntary or involuntary liquidation, dissolution or winding up of the Company, the holders of shares of Preferred Stock will be entitled to receive out of the assets of the Company available for distribution to stockholders, before any distribution of assets is made on the Company's Common Stock or any other class or series of stock of the Company ranking junior to the Preferred Stock upon liquidation, liquidating distributions in the amount of $50 per share, plus an amount equal to the sum of all accrued and unpaid dividends including any increase in dividends payable due to changes in the Dividends Received Percentage and Additional Dividends (whether or not earned or declared) for the then current dividend period and all dividend periods prior thereto.

               Section 5. Voting Rights. The holders of shares of Preferred Stock will not be entitled to vote, except as set forth below or as expressly required by applicable law.

               If the equivalent of six quarterly dividends payable on the Preferred Stock or any other class or series of preferred stock are in default, the number of directors of the Company will be increased by two (without duplication of any increase made pursuant to the terms of any other series of preferred stock of the Company), and the holders of the Preferred Stock, voting as a single class with the holders of shares of any other class of the Company's preferred stock ranking on a parity with the Preferred Stock either as to dividends or distribution of assets and upon which like voting rights have been conferred and are exercisable, will be entitled to elect such two directors to fill such newly-created directorships. Such right shall continue until full cumulative dividends for all past dividend periods on all preferred shares of the Company, including any shares of the Preferred Stock, have been paid or declared and set apart for payment. Any such elected directors shall serve until the Company's next annual meeting of stockholders (notwithstanding that prior to the end of such term the dividend default shall cease to exist) or until their respective successors shall be elected and qualify.

               The affirmative vote or consent of the holders of at least 66-2/3% of the outstanding shares of the Preferred Stock will be required for any amendment of the articles of incorporation of the Company (or any certificate supplemental thereto) which will adversely affect the powers, preferences, privileges or rights of the Preferred Stock. The affirmative vote or consent of the holders of at least 66-2/3% of the outstanding shares of the Preferred Stock and any other series of the Company's preferred stock ranking on a parity with the Preferred Stock either as to dividends or upon liquidation, voting as a single class without regard to series, will be required to issue, authorize or increase the authorized amount of, or issue or authorize any obligation or security convertible into or evidencing a right to purchase, any additional class or series of stock ranking prior to the Preferred Stock as to dividends or upon liquidation, or to reclassify any authorized stock of the Company into such prior shares, but such vote will not be required for the Company to take any such actions with respect to any stock ranking on a parity with or junior to the Preferred Stock.

               Section 6. Redemption. Prior to January 15, 2003, the Preferred Stock is not redeemable. On or after such date, each share of Preferred Stock will be redeemable, in whole or in part at the option of the Company at any time and from time to time upon not less than thirty nor more than sixty days' notice, out of funds legally available therefor, at a redemption price of $50 per share, together in each case with accrued and unpaid dividends (whether or not declared) to the date fixed for redemption including any increase in dividends payable due to changes in the Dividends Received Percentage and Additional Dividends. If fewer than all the outstanding shares of Preferred Stock are to be redeemed, the Company will select those to be redeemed by lot or pro rata or by any other method as may be determined by the Board of Directors to be equitable.

               In addition, if the holders of the shares of the Preferred Stock are entitled to vote upon or consent to a merger or consolidation of the Company, and if the Company offers to purchase all of the outstanding shares of the Preferred Stock (the "Offer"), then each holder of Preferred Stock who does not sell their shares of Preferred Stock pursuant to the Offer shall be deemed irrevocably to have voted or consented all shares of Preferred Stock owned by such holder in favor of the merger or consolidation of the Company without any further action by the holder. The Offer shall be at a price of $50 per share, together with accrued and unpaid dividends, if any, to the date fixed for redemption, including any increase in dividends payable due to increases in the Dividends Received Percentage and Additional Dividends. The Offer must remain open for acceptance for a period of at least 30 days.

               Holders of Preferred Stock will have no right to require redemption of the Preferred Stock.

               The Preferred Stock is not subject to any mandatory redemption, sinking fund or other similar provisions.

                  IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Company has caused this Certificate of Designation to be signed by one of its Vice Presidents and attested to by its Secretary, as of the 8th day of January, 1998.


                                 DONALDSON, LUFKIN & JENRETTE, INC.




                                 By: /s/ Charles J. Hendrickson
                                     ------------------------------
                                     Name:  Charles J. Hendrickson
                                     Title: Senior Vice President
                                            and Treasurer






Attest  /s/ Marjorie S. White
        ------------------------------
        Name:  Marjorie S. White
        Title: Secretary