Comerica Incorporated Goldman Sachs Financial Services ConferenceDecember 6, 2016 Pete GuilfoileExecutive Vice President and Chief Credit Officer Ralph W. Babb, Jr.Chairman and Chief Executive OfficerDavid DupreyExecutive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Safe Harbor Statement Any statements in this presentation that are not historical facts are forward-looking statements as defined in the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Words such as “anticipates,” “believes,” “contemplates,” “feels,” “expects,” “estimates,” “seeks,” “strives,” “plans,” “intends,” “outlook,” “forecast,” “position,” “target,” “mission,” “assume,” “achievable,” “potential,” “strategy,” “goal,” “aspiration,” “opportunity,” “initiative,” “outcome,” “continue,” “remain,” “maintain,” “on course,” “trend,” “objective,” “looks forward,” “projects,” “models” and variations of such words and similar expressions, or future or conditional verbs such as “will,” “would,” “should,” “could,” “might,” “can,” “may” or similar expressions, as they relate to Comerica or its management, are intended to identify forward-looking statements. These forward-looking statements are predicated on the beliefs and assumptions of Comerica's management based on information known to Comerica's management as of the date of this presentation and do not purport to speak as of any other date. Forward-looking statements may include descriptions of plans and objectives of Comerica's management for future or past operations, products or services, including the GEAR Up initiative, and forecasts of Comerica's revenue, earnings or other measures of economic performance, including statements of profitability, business segments and subsidiaries as well as estimates of the economic benefits of the GEAR Up initiative, estimates of credit trends and global stability. Such statements reflect the view of Comerica's management as of this date with respect to future events and are subject to risks and uncertainties. Should one or more of these risks materialize or should underlying beliefs or assumptions prove incorrect, Comerica's actual results could differ materially from those discussed. Factors that could cause or contribute to such differences are changes in general economic, political or industry conditions; changes in monetary and fiscal policies, including changes in interest rates; changes in regulation or oversight; Comerica's ability to maintain adequate sources of funding and liquidity; the effects of more stringent capital or liquidity requirements; declines or other changes in the businesses or industries of Comerica's customers, in particular the energy industry; unfavorable developments concerning credit quality; operational difficulties, failure of technology infrastructure or information security incidents; reliance on other companies to provide certain key components of business infrastructure; factors impacting noninterest expenses which are beyond Comerica's control; changes in the financial markets, including fluctuations in interest rates and their impact on deposit pricing; reductions in Comerica's credit rating; whether Comerica may achieve opportunities for revenue enhancements and efficiency improvements under the GEAR Up initiative, or changes in the scope or assumptions underlying the GEAR Up initiative; the interdependence of financial service companies; the implementation of Comerica's strategies and business initiatives; damage to Comerica's reputation; Comerica's ability to utilize technology to efficiently and effectively develop, market and deliver new products and services; competitive product and pricing pressures among financial institutions within Comerica's markets; changes in customer behavior; any future strategic acquisitions or divestitures; management's ability to maintain and expand customer relationships; management's ability to retain key officers and employees; the impact of legal and regulatory proceedings or determinations; the effectiveness of methods of reducing risk exposures; the effects of terrorist activities and other hostilities; the effects of catastrophic events including, but not limited to, hurricanes, tornadoes, earthquakes, fires, droughts and floods; changes in accounting standards and the critical nature of Comerica's accounting policies. Comerica cautions that the foregoing list of factors is not exclusive. For discussion of factors that may cause actual results to differ from expectations, please refer to our filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. In particular, please refer to “Item 1A. Risk Factors” beginning on page 12 of the Corporation's Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2015 and “Item 1A. Risk Factors” beginning on page 62 of the Corporation’s Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2016. Forward-looking statements speak only as of the date they are made. Comerica does not undertake to update forward-looking statements to reflect facts, circumstances, assumptions or events that occur after the date the forward-looking statements are made. For any forward-looking statements made in this presentation or in any documents, Comerica claims the protection of the safe harbor for forward-looking statements contained in the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. 2

Comerica: A Brief Overview 9/30/16 ● 1Consists of Other Markets ($8.2B) & Finance/ Other ($0.4B) Michigan$12.5 25% California$17.6 36% Texas$10.6 22% Other Markets$8.5 17% Michigan$21.9 38% California$17.7 30% Texas$9.9 17% Other$8.6 15% Loans $49.2 Deposits $58.1 3 1 LONG HISTORY NIMBLE SIZE$74B IN ASSETS ATTRACTIVE FOOTPRINT PRIMARILY A BUSINESS BANK RELATIONSHIP BANKING STRATEGY CONSERVATIVE Diverse Geography($ in billons; 3Q16 average)LONG HISTORY Founded 167 years ago NIMBLE SIZE$74B IN ASSETS Products & services of a large bank with the culture of a community bank ATTRACTIVE FOOTPRINT Strong presence in Texas, California, & Michigan PRIMARILY A BUSINESS BANK Complemented by Retail Bank and Wealth Management Trusted Advisor approach CONSERVATIVE Strong capital position,Prudent credit underwriting RELATIONSHIP BANKING STRATEGY GEAR Up: Growth in Efficiency and Revenue ~$270MM additional annual pre-tax income in FY18 4 9/30/16 ● Pre-tax $ ● Estimates & outlook as of 12/5/16 ● For illustrative purposes; not drawn to scale Double-digitROE FY18 Return on Equity Low 60%Range FY17 Revenue Enhancements Expense Reductions ≤60% FY18 ~$200MM ~$70MM ~$150MMEfficiency Ratio Business growth, net of investments Growth inline with GDP Continued investment Normal credit ~30-40bps Buyback same as 2016/17 25–50 bps rate riseGEAR Up ~$30MM

GEAR Up: Growth in Efficiency And RevenueExpense opportunities 9/30/16 ● 1Count of total U.S. banking centers after consolidation of 15 banking centers starting in November 2016 ● 2Includes Pension, Postretirement & Retirement Account Plan costs; Projected 2016 expense decreased from ~$26MM to ~$19MM as a result of the newly redesigned retirement program (announced 10/18/16) ● Estimates & outlook as of 12/5/16 9,035 8,948 8,876 8,880 ~8,200 ~8,000 2012 2013 2014 2015 Proj 2016 Proj 2017 Workforce Reductions(# of employees – full time equivalent) 489 482 480 476 457 438 2012 2013 2014 2015 Proj 2016 Proj 2017 Carefully Pruning Branch Network1 88 95 50 58 ~19 ~(16) 2012 2013 2014 2015 Proj 2016 Proj 2017 Retirement Plan Expense2 ($ in millions) 5,545 5,423 5,350 5,184 ~5,000 2012 2013 2014 2015 Proj 2016 Reducing Real Estate (Sq ft in thousands) 5 Average Deposits($ in billions) Fourth Quarter UpdateLoan growth began to rebound in November while deposits continue to grow 4Q16 average balances though 11/30/16 are preliminary and subject to change ● 1Comparisons to 3Q16, through 11/30 ● 2Interest costs on interest-bearing deposits Average Loans($ in billions) October & November Trends1 48.5 48.4 49.5 49.2 48.8 3.24 3.38 3.31 3.33 4Q15 1Q16 2Q16 3Q16 4Q16 Thru11/30 Loan Yields 59.7 56.7 56.5 58.1 59.3 0.14 0.14 0.14 0.14 4Q15 1Q16 2Q16 3Q16 4Q16 Thru11/30/16 Deposit Rates 2 6 Average loans stable  Energy decreased, as expected  Mortgage Banker declined in conjunction with home sales (seasonal) & refinance activity  Environmental Services declined  National Dealer Services increased as 2017 models arrive Average deposits increase $1.2B  Driven by noninterest-bearing deposits  Growth in nearly every business line, with largest increases in Energy & Corporate Banking

893 1,244 1,833 1,552 1,473 0.00 3.34 5.34 4.40 0.96 3Q15 4Q15 1Q16 2Q16 3Q16 Total Criticized $ in millionsNCO % Annualized Credit Metrics Energy Line of Business Credit Quality Improved in 3Q16Granular, contracting portfolio 9/30/16 ● 1Criticized loans are consistent with regulatory defined Special Mention, Substandard, Doubtful & Loss loan classifications ● 2Net credit-related charge-offs to avg. loans ● 3As of 11/30/16 ● 4Bank's entire allowance is available to cover any & all losses. Allocation of allowance for energy loans reflects our robust allowance methodology which contains quantitative and qualitative components ● 5Source: U.S. Energy Information Administration ● 6Source: Baker Hughes, available at www.bakerhughes.com 481 479 509 467 353 407 513 480 426 363 332 320 2,249 2,111 2,162 1,911 1,772 1,769 3,243 3,070 3,097 2,741 2,457 2,496 3Q15 4Q15 1Q16 2Q16 3Q16 11/30/16 Midstream Services Exploration & Production Energy Line of Business Loans ($ in millions; Period-end) Mixed18%  Maintain granular portfolio: ~200 customers  E&P companies3  Fall redeterminations 73% complete  Borrowing bases increased ~12% on average  96% of nonaccrual loans current on interest as of 11/30/16  Reserve for energy loans >8%4 7 45 46 42 37 32 30 38 41 47 49 45 45 45 50 46 300 500 700 900 Sep -15 Oct -15 Nov -15 Dec -15 Jan -16 Feb -16 Mar -16 Apr -16 May -16 Jun -16 Jul- 16 Aug -16 Sep -16 Oct -16 Nov -16 WTI PriceTotal U.S. Rig Count 5 Oil Price & Rig Count ($ per bbl) 6 1 2 CRE by Property Type1($ in millions; Period-end) Multifamily47% Retail12% Commercial11% Office7% Single Family7% Multi use4% Land Carry5% Other7% 24% 31% 45% Other Texas California CRE by Market1($ in millions; Period-end, based on location of property) Commercial Real Estate Line of BusinessLong history of working with well established, proven developers 9/30/16 ● 1Excludes CRE line of business loans not secured by real estate ● 2Includes CRE line of business loans not secured by real estate ● 3Criticized loans are consistent with regulatory defined Special Mention, Substandard, Doubtful & Loss loan classifications 8 4.5 4.6 5.1 5.5 5.4 5.4 3Q15 4Q15 1Q16 2Q16 3Q16 11/30/16 CRE Period-end2($ in billions) Total$4,567 Total Loans$4,567 Texas Market $1,445Dallas 38%Houston 24%Austin 24%Other 14% 17 17 8 8 8 126 109 99 84 48 2.8 2.4 1.9 1.5 0.9 3Q15 4Q15 1Q16 2Q16 3Q16 NALs Criticized as a % of Total Loans Criticized Loans3($ in millions)

369 244 224 212 204 191 190 186 180 138 63 48 ZIO N RF MTB FITB FHN ST I BBT KEY HBA N CMA BOK F CFR Interest Rate SensitivityBalance sheet well positioned for rising rates 9/30/16 ● 1Source: SNL Financial ● 23Q16 interest expense on borrowings divided by average borrowings (average interest-bearing liabilities less average interest-bearing deposits) 27% 28% 30% 31% 32% 34% 35% 37% 41% 41% 45% 54% FHN ST I HBA N KEY BBT MTB FITB R F CFR BOK F ZIO N CMA Highest Noninterest-Bearing as aPercent of Total Deposits1(Period-end) Low Cost of Borrowings vs. Peers1,2(In basis points) 9 Faster Loan Re-pricing/Maturity Date1 0% 20% 40% 60% 80% 100% CMA CFR FHN KE Y FITB ST I RF MTB BOK F HBA N ZIO N BBT Less Than 3 Months Greater Than 3 Months 11% 14% 14% 17% 18% 20% 21% 22% 24% 2 9% 30% 42% MTB FHN ST I CMA ZIO N RF FITB BB T KEY BOK F HBA N CFR Securities to Assets Ratio1(Period-end) 9/30/16 ● 1Estimated outlook as of 12/5/16 based on calculations derived from sensitivity results shown in slide 15 ● 2Reflects impacts of swaps ● 3The interest rate resets every four weeks, based on the Federal Home Loan Bank auction rate, with a reset date of each note scheduled at one-week intervals ● 4Maturity date 11/16 Interest Rate Sensitivity Significant upside from rate increase 10 Additional Annual Net Interest Income1Estimated Increase From Movement in Fed Rates Deposit Beta ($ in millions) 0% 25% 50% 75% +25 bps ~$85 ~$70 ~$55 ~$40 +50 bps ~175 ~140 ~110 ~80 +100 bps ~345 ~285 ~220 ~155 Subordinated notes $1.7 Medium-term notes$1.0 FHLB advances$2.8 Fixed-rate subordinated notes4$0.4 Wholesale Funding2($ in billions, Period-end) Total$5.96-mo LIBOR 1-mo FHLB auction rate3 Fixed Rate~10% 30-day LIBOR ~60% 60-day+ LIBOR~10% Prime-Based~20% Loan Portfolio ($ in billions, Average) Total $49.2 LIBOR Increases(Average monthly rates in percentage points) 0.43 0.45 0.53 0.560.62 0.65 0.85 0.910.86 0.94 1.25 1.27 30-Day LIBOR 90-Day LIBOR 6-Month LIBOR

Active Capital ManagementContinued to return excess capital to shareholders 9/30/16 ● 1Shares & warrants repurchased under equity repurchase program ● 2Diluted EPS calculation includes options & warrants ● 3LTM = last twelve months; based on actual dividends declared in 1Q16, 2Q16, 3Q16 & most recent dividend declared of $0.23/share payable January 1, 2017 2016 CCAR Capital Plan  Equity repurchases up to $440 million (3Q16-2Q17)  Pace of buyback linked to capital position, financial performance & market conditions4Q16 Equity repurchases1  1.5MM shares for $81MM through 12/1, on track to reach 4Q16 plan of ~$99MM  Warrants & employee options exercised impact share count2 $34.79 $36.86 $39.22 $41.35 $43.03 $44.91 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 3Q16 Book Value Per Share Dividends Per Share Growth 0.40 0.55 0.68 0.79 0.83 0.89 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 LTM4Q16 3 11 59 59 65 42 65 97 37 37 37 37 38 40 96 96 102 79 103 137 2Q15 3Q15 4Q15 1Q16 2Q16 3Q16 Equity RepurchasesDividends Shareholder Payout($ in millions) Strong, Diverse & Independent Board of Directors Two new Directors recently added Ralph W. Babb, Jr.• Chairman and CEO• 45 years in industry, 21 years at Comerica• Industry, Operational and Leadership Expertise Richard G. Lindner (Lead Facilitating Director)• Former SEVP and CFO of AT&T• Finance, Accounting, Leadership and Operational Expertise Roger A. Cregg• President and CEO of AV Homes• Former director of Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, Detroit Branch• Finance and Operational Expertise Nina G. Vaca• Chairman and CEO of Pinnacle Technical Resources• Director, Kohl’s & Cinemark Holdings• IT, HR, Vendor Management, Operational and Leadership Expertise Robert S. Taubman• Chairman of Taubman Center• Director, Sotheby’s Holdings• Real Estate, Operational, Leadership and Geographic Expertise Reginald M. Turner, Jr. • Attorney with Clark Hill PLC• Director, Masco Corporation• Legal, Risk Management and Community Affairs Expertise Alfred A. Piergallini• Consultant, Desert Trail Consulting• Former Chairman, Wisconsin Cheese Group, Inc.• Marketing, Sales, Branding and Leadership Expertise T. Kevin DeNicola• Former CFO of KIOR, Inc• Former CFO of KBR, Inc.• Finance, Accounting and Operational Expertise Jacqueline P. Kane• Former EVP, HR and Corporate Affairs at The Clorox Company• 22 years in HR roles in financial services industry• HR, Compensation and Finance Expertise Michael E. Collins• Former EVP, Supervision and Regulation, Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia• Risk management, Regulatory and Leadership Expertise Michael Van de Ven• COO of Southwest Airlines• Financial planning, Accounting and Operational Expertise 12

Intensely Focused on Enhancing Shareholder Value 13 GROWING REVENUE Positioned in faster growing markets & industriesFocused on building long-term relationships REDUCING EXPENSES Executing GEAR Up initiative to increase efficiencyContinued investment in technology MANAGING RISK Strong, conservative credit culture leads tosolid credit metrics CAPITAL MANAGEMENT Solid Capital base; CET1 Capital ratio of 10.69% Continued share buyback & increased dividend POSITIONED FOR RISING RATES Fed’s 25 bps December 2015 rate increase expected to increase 2016 net interest income by ~$90MM 9/30/16 ● Outlook as of 12/5/16 Appendix

Interest Rate SensitivityRemain well positioned for rising rates 9/30/16 ● For methodology see the Company’s Form 10-Q, as filed with the SEC. Estimates are based on simulation modeling analysis. Estimated Net Interest Income: Annual (12 month) SensitivitiesBased on Various AssumptionsAdditional Scenarios are Relative to 3Q16 Standard Model($ in millions) ~100 ~165 ~185 ~195 ~210 ~250 ~310 Up 100bps Addl.$3BDepositDecline Addl.20%Increasein Beta Addl.$1BDepositDecline StandardModel Addl.~3%LoanGrowth Up 300bps 0.1 Interest Rates 200 bps gradual, non-parallel rise Loan Balances Modest increase Deposit Balances Moderate decrease Deposit Pricing (Beta) Historical price movements with short-term rates Securities Portfolio Held flat with prepayment reinvestment Loan Spreads Held at current levels MBS Prepayments Third-party projections and historical experience Hedging (Swaps) No additions modeled Standard Model Assumptions 15 Financial Summary 3Q16 2Q16 3Q15 Diluted income per common share $0.84 $0.58 $0.74 Net interest income $450 $445 $422 Net interest margin 2.66% 2.74% 2.54% Provision for credit losses 16 49 26 Net credit-related charge-offs to average loans 0.13% 0.38% 0.19% Noninterest income 272 268 260 Noninterest expenses 493 518 457 Restructuring expenses 20 53 - Net income 149 104 136 Average loans $49,206 $49,469 $48,972 Average deposits 58,065 56,521 59,140 Basel III common equity Tier 1 capital ratio 10.69% 10.49% 10.51% Average diluted shares (millions) 176 177 181 $ in millions, except per share data 16

Third Quarter 2016 Results $ in millions, except per share data ● 3Q16 compared to 2Q16 ● 1Included restructuring charges of $20MM in 3Q16 & $53MMin 2Q16 ● 2EPS based on diluted income per share ● 3See Supplemental Financial Data slides for a reconciliation of non-GAAP financial measures ● 43Q16 repurchases under the equity repurchase program 3Q16 Change From2Q16 3Q15Average loans $49,206 ($263) $234 Average deposits 58,065 1,544 (1,075) Net interest income 450 5 28 Provision for credit losses 16 (33) (10) Net credit-related charge-offs 16 (31) (7) Noninterest income 272 4 12 Noninterest expenses1 493 (25) 36 Net income 149 45 13 Earnings per share (EPS)2 0.84 0.26 0.10 Book Value Per Share 44.91 0.67 1.89 Tangible Book Value Per Share3 41.15 0.63 1.79 Equity repurchases4 2.1MM shares or $97MM Key QoQ Performance Drivers  Loans impacted by reducing Energy portfolio & normal seasonality  Strong deposit growth driven by increase in noninterest-bearing deposits  Net interest income reflects increase in LIBOR, one more day & excess balances at the Federal Reserve  Provision & net charge-offs reflect general improvement in Energy portfolio  Noninterest income increased 2%  Expenses included $33MM decline in restructuring charges partially offset by smaller gain on disposal of fixed assets & increased outside processing  Dividend raised 4.5% to $0.23 per share 17 Loans Relatively Stable, as Expected Typical seasonality & Energy portfolio reduction 3Q16 compared to 2Q16 ● 1Utilization of commercial commitments as a percentage of total commercial commitments at period-end Total Loans($ in billions) 49.0 48.5 48.4 49.5 49.2 50.4 49.3 3.17 3.24 3.38 3.31 3.33 3Q15 4Q15 1Q16 2Q16 3Q16 2Q16 3Q16 Loan Yields Average Balances Period-end Average loans decreased $263MM - Energy- National Dealer Services- Technology & Life Sciences+ Mortgage Banker Finance+ Commercial Real Estate Loan yields +2 bps + Increase in LIBOR+ 2Q16 lease residual value adjustment- Nonaccrual activity Commitments $53.0B  Declined $719MM (-$340MM Energy)  Line utilization1 declined to 51% Loan pipeline remains strong 18

3Q16 compared to 2Q16 ● 1Interest costs on interest-bearing deposits ● 2At 9/30/16 Average Balances Period-end Total Deposits($ in billions) 59.1 59.7 56.7 56.5 58.1 56.4 59.3 0.14 0.14 0.14 0.14 0.14 3Q15 4Q15 1Q16 2Q16 3Q16 2Q16 3Q16 Deposit Rates 1 19 Average deposits increased $1.5B + General Middle Market+ Commercial Real Estate+ Corporate Banking + Mortgage Banker+ Small Business- Private Banking  Noninterest-bearing grew $2.1B  Interest-bearing declined $534MM Loan to Deposit Ratio2 of 83% Strong Deposit GrowthDriven by increased noninterest-bearing deposits Securities Portfolio($ in billions) 20 Securities Portfolio StableModest pressure on yield 9.1 9.2 9.4 9.3 9.4 9.5 9.5 10.2 10.9 12.4 12.3 12.4 12.5 12.5 2.11 2.11 2.05 2.03 2.01 3Q15 4Q15 1Q16 2Q16 3Q16 2Q16 3Q16 Treasury Securities & OtherMortgage-backed Securities (MBS)Securities Yields Average Balances Period-end Securities portfolio  Duration of 3.1 years1• Extends to 3.9 years under a 200 bps instantaneous rate increase1  Net unrealized pre-tax gain of $168MM2  Net unamortized premium of $31M3  GNMA ~46% of MBS portfolio 9/30/16 ● 1Estimated as of 9/30/16. Excludes auction rate securities (ARS). ● 2Net unrealized pre-tax gain on the available-for-sale (AFS) portfolio ● 3Net unamortized premium on the MBS portfolio

Net Interest Income($ in millions) Net Interest Income Increased $5MMNIM decreased 8 bps with increase in liquidity 3Q16 compared to 2Q16 422 433 447 445 450 2.54 2.58 2.81 2.74 2.66 3Q15 4Q15 1Q16 2Q16 3Q16 NIM Net Interest Income and Rate NIM $445MM 2Q16 2.74% +5MM Loan impacts:+ $4MM increase in LIBOR+ $4MM one more day+ $2MM 2Q16 lease residual value adj.- $2MM lower volume- $1MM nonaccrual impact- $1MM fees in the margin - $1MM other portfolio dynamics +0.01 -2MM Higher wholesale funding cost -0.01 -1MM Securities portfolio lower yields 0.00 +3MM $2.3B increase in Fed balances -0.08 $450MM 3Q16 2.66% 21 357 367 681 605 631 2,898 3,193 3,928 3,551 3,261 5.9 6.5 8.0 7.0 6.6 3Q15 4Q15 1Q16 2Q16 3Q16 NALsCriticized as a % of Total Loans Criticized Loans2($ in millions) Credit Quality StrongEnergy business line reserve allocation1 remains >8% 9/30/16 ●1Bank's entire allowance is available to cover any & all losses. Allocation of allowance for energy loans reflects ourrobust allowance methodology which contains quantitative and qualitative components ● 2Criticized loans are consistent withregulatory defined Special Mention, Substandard, Doubtful & Loss loan classifications ● 3Net credit-related charge-offs Allowance for Credit Losses($ in millions) 670 679 770 772 772 1.27 1.29 1.47 1.45 1.48 3Q15 4Q15 1Q16 2Q16 3Q16 Allowance for Loan Losses as a % of Total Loans $ in millions Ex-Energy TotalTotal loans $46,817 $49,274% of total 95% 100% Criticized2 1,788 3,261Ratio 3.8% 6.6%Q/Q change (211) (290) Nonaccrual 253 631Ratio 0.5% 1.3%Q/Q change (6) 26 Net charge-offs3 10 16Ratio 0.08% 0.13% $ in millions Loans Criticized NAL 3Q16 NCO3 E&P $1,772 $1,173 $343 $6 Midstream 353 58 8 - Services 332 242 27 - Total Energy $2,457 $1,473 $378 $6 Q/Q change (284) (79) 32 (26) Energy Credit Metrics Portfolio Credit Metrics 22

Noninterest Income Increased 2%Customer-driven fees increased $3MM 3Q16 compared to 2Q16 260 266 244 268 272 3Q15 4Q15 1Q16 2Q16 3Q16 Noninterest Income ($ in millions) 23 Noninterest income increased $4MM + $ 4MM Commercial lending fees+ $ 2MM Investment Banking (Other noninterest income)- $ 2MM Fiduciary + $ 3MM Bank-owned life insurance- $ 3MM Deferred comp (Other noninterest income; offset in noninterest expense) Noninterest Expenses Well-ControlledIncludes restructuring costs of $20MM 3Q16 compared to 2Q16 Noninterest expenses down $25MM - $33MM Restructuring charge + $ 6MM 2Q16 gain on sale of leased assets (other expenses)+ $ 3MM Outside processing fees + $-0-MM Salaries+ one more day+ 2Q16 stock forfeiture+ seasonal increase in staff insurance- reduction in workforce- deferred comp (offset in noninterest income) 53 20457 482 458 518 493 3Q15 4Q15 1Q16 2Q16 3Q16 Restructuring Noninterest Expenses($ in millions) 24

Loans by Business and Market Average $ in billions ● 1Other Markets includes Florida, Arizona, the International Finance Division and businesses that have a significant presence outside of the three primary geographic markets  Middle Market: Serving companies with revenues generally between $20-$500MM  Corporate Banking: Serving companies (and their U.S. based subsidiaries) with revenues generally over $500MM  Small Business: Serving companies with revenues generally under $20MM By Line of Business 3Q16 2Q16 3Q15 Middle MarketGeneralEnergyNational Dealer ServicesEntertainmentTech. & Life SciencesEnvironmental Services $12.62.66.30.73.10.9 $12.72.96.50.73.30.9 $13.33.36.00.73.30.9 Total Middle Market $26.2 $27.0 $27.5 Corporate BankingUS BankingInternational 2.31.8 2.41.8 2.41.7 Mortgage Banker Finance 2.5 2.1 2.1 Commercial Real Estate 5.4 5.3 4.4 BUSINESS BANK $38.2 $38.6 $38.1 Small Business 3.9 3.9 4.0 Retail Banking 2.0 2.0 1.9 RETAIL BANK $5.9 $5.9 $5.9 Private Banking 5.1 5.0 5.0 WEALTH MANAGEMENT 5.1 5.0 $5.0 TOTAL $49.2 $49.5 $49.0 By Market 3Q16 2Q16 3Q15 Michigan $12.5 $12.7 $13.2 California 17.6 17.7 16.8 Texas 10.6 10.8 11.0 Other Markets1 8.5 8.3 8.0 TOTAL $49.2 $49.5 $49.0 25 Deposits by Business and Market Average $ in billions ● 1Other Markets includes Florida, Arizona, the International Finance Division and businesses that have a significant presence outside of the three primary geographic markets ● 2Finance/ Other includes items not directly associated with the geographic markets or the three major business segments  Middle Market: Serving companies with revenues generally between $20-$500MM  Corporate Banking: Serving companies (and their U.S. based subsidiaries) with revenues generally over $500MM  Small Business: Serving companies with revenues generally under $20MM By Line of Business 3Q16 2Q16 3Q15 Middle MarketGeneralEnergyNational Dealer ServicesEntertainmentTech. & Life SciencesEnvironmental Services $15.40.60.30.16.20.1 $14.50.60.30.16.20.1 $16.20.60.20.16.70.2 Total Middle Market $22.7 $21.8 $24.0 Corporate BankingUS BankingInternational $2.12.3 $2.12.0 2.72.2 Mortgage Banker Finance 0.8 0.7 0.7 Commercial Real Estate 2.1 1.8 1.8 BUSINESS BANK $30.0 $28.4 $31.4 Small Business 3.3 3.2 3.1 Retail Banking 20.4 20.4 20.0 RETAIL BANK $23.7 $23.6 $23.1 Private Banking 4.0 4.2 4.2 WEALTH MANAGEMENT $4.0 $4.2 $4.2 Finance/ Other2 0.4 0.3 0.4 TOTAL $58.1 $56.5 $59.1 By Market 3Q16 2Q16 3Q15 Michigan $21.9 $21.6 $21.9 California 17.7 16.9 18.4 Texas 9.9 10.1 10.8 Other Markets1 8.2 7.6 7.6 Finance/ Other2 0.4 0.3 0.4 TOTAL $58.1 $56.5 $59.1 26

9/30/16 ● 1Source: Mortgage Bankers Association (MBA) Mortgage Finance Forecast as of 11/16/16 ● 2$ in billions 923 1,53 5 1,48 3 1,50 7 1,99 6 2,09 4 1,73 7 1,81 5 1,60 5 1,10 9 886 1, 319 1,59 5 1,39 7 1,39 9 2,0 89 2,13 6 1,74 2 1,67 4 2,14 5 2,55 4 200300 400500 600700 800900 3Q1 1 4Q1 1 1Q1 2 2Q1 2 3Q1 2 4Q1 2 1Q1 3 2Q1 3 3Q1 3 4Q1 3 1Q1 4 2Q1 4 3Q1 4 4Q1 4 1Q1 5 2Q1 5 3Q1 5 4Q1 5 1Q1 6 2Q1 6 3Q1 6 Actual MBAMortgageOriginationVolumes Average Loans($ in millions) Mortgage Banker Finance50 Years experience with reputation for consistent, reliable approach MBA Mortgage Originations Forecast1($ in billions) 561 470 365 430 437 352 345 445 443 3Q16Actual 4Q16 1Q17 2Q17 3Q17 4Q17 1Q18 2Q18 3Q18 Purchase Refinance 1,2  Provide warehouse financing: bridge from residential mortgage origination to sale to end market  Extensive backroom provides collateral monitoring and customer service  Focus on full banking relationships  Granular portfolio with 100+ relationships  Underlying mortgages are typically related to home purchases as opposed to refinancesAs of 3Q16: • Comerica: ~67% purchase • Industry: 53% purchase1  Strong credit quality• No charge-offs since 2010 27 National Dealer Services65+ years of floor plan lending Toyota/Lexus16% Honda/Acura 14% Ford 10% GM 9% Fiat/Chrysler 10% Mercedes 3% Nissan/ Infiniti 6% Other European 11% Other Asian 12% Other19% Franchise Distribution(Based on period-end loan outstandings) Geographic DispersionCalifornia 63% Texas 7%Michigan 19% Other 11% Average Loans($ in billions)  Top tier strategy  Focus on “Mega Dealer” (five or more dealerships in group)  Strong credit quality  Robust monitoring of company inventory and performance 1.3 1.5 1.9 2.3 2.3 2.5 2.8 3.1 2.9 3.2 3.2 3.5 3.2 3.4 3.5 3.6 3.5 3.7 3.8 4.0 3.8 3.1 3 .4 3.8 4.3 4.3 4.6 4.9 5.1 4.9 5. 3 5.3 5.7 5.5 5.7 5.9 6.0 6.0 6.2 6.2 6.5 6.3 3Q1 1 4Q1 1 1Q1 2 2Q1 2 3Q1 2 4Q1 2 1Q1 3 2Q1 3 3Q1 3 4Q1 3 1Q1 4 2Q1 4 3Q1 4 4Q1 4 1Q1 5 2Q1 5 3Q1 5 4Q1 5 1Q1 6 2Q1 6 3Q1 6 Floor Plan Total $6.3B 9/30/16 ● 1Other includes obligations where a primary franchise is indeterminable (rental car and leasing companies, heavy truck, recreational vehicles, and non-floor plan loans) 28

Early Stage~15% Growth~22%Late Stage~13% Equity Fund Services~45% Leveraged Finance~5% 0.3 0.4 0.6 1.1 1.4 1.4 1.4 1.8 2.0 2.5 3.1 3.3 3.3 3.1 2012 2013 2014 2015 1Q16 2Q16 3Q16 Equity Fund Services Technology and Life Sciences20+ Years experience provides competitive advantage Technology & Life Sciences Avg. Loans($ in billions) Customer Segment Overview(based on period-end loans)  Strong relationships with top-tier investors  Granular portfolio: ~810 customers (including ~220 customers in Equity Fund Services)  Manage concentration to numerous verticals to ensure widely diversified portfolio  Closely monitor cash balances and maintain robust backroom operation Net Charge-off Ratio1(In basis points) Total $3.3B 57 61 89 108 86 45 20 2012 2013 2014 2015 1Q16 2Q16 3Q16 l .1 9/30/16 ● 1TLS net charge-offs to avg. TLS loans 29 Shared National Credit (SNC) Relationships 9/30/16 ● SNCs are not a line of business. The balances shown above are included in the line of business balances. ● SNCs are facilities greater than $20 million shared by three or more federally supervised financial institutions which are reviewed by regulatory authorities at the agent bank level  SNC loans decreased $360MM over 2Q16  SNC relationships included in business line balances  Approximately 760 borrowers  Comerica is agent for approx. 20%  Strategy: Pursue full relationships with ancillary business  Adhere to same credit underwriting standards as rest of loan book Period-end Loans($ in billions) Commercial Real Estate$0.9 9% Corporate Banking$2.3 22% General$2.2 22% National Dealer Services$0.5 5% Energy$2.4 23% Entertainment$0.3 3% Environmental Services$0.2 2% Tech. & Life Sciences$0.99% Mortgage Banker$0.5 5% = Total Middle Market (64%) Total$10.2 30

Senior Unsecured/Long-Term Issuer Rating Moody’s S&P Fitch BB&T A2 A- A+ Cullen Frost A3 A- -- M&T Bank A3 A- A Comerica A3 BBB+ A BOK Financial Corporation A3 BBB+ A Huntington Baa1 BBB A- Fifth Third Baa1 BBB+ A KeyCorp Baa1 BBB+ A- SunTrust Baa1 BBB+ A- Regions Financial Baa2 BBB BBB First Horizon National Corp Baa3 BB+ BBB- Zions Bancorporation Ba1 BBB- BBB- U.S. Bancorp A1 A+ AA Wells Fargo & Company A2 A AA- PNC Financial Services Group A3 A- A+ JP Morgan A3 A- A+ Bank of America Baa1 BBB+ A Holding Company Debt Rating As of 12/1/16 ● Source: SNL Financial ● Debt Ratings are not a recommendation to buy, sell, or hold securities Pee r Ba nks Larg e Ba nks 31 The tangible common equity ratio removes preferred stock and the effect of intangible assets from capital and the effect of intangible assets from total assets. Tangible common equity per share of common stock removes the effect of intangible assets from common shareholders equity per share of common stock.● The Corporation believes these measurements are meaningful measures of capital adequacy used by investors, regulators, management and others to evaluate the adequacy of common equity and to compare against other companies in the industry. Supplemental Financial DataReconciliation of non-GAAP financial measures with financial measures defined by GAAP ($ in millions) 9/30/16 6/30/16 12/31/15 09/30/15 12/31/14 12/31/13 12/31/12 12/31/11Common shareholders’ equityLess: GoodwillLess: Other intangible assets $7,72763511 $7,69463512 $7,56063514 $7,62263514 $7,40263515 $7,15063517 $6,93963522 $6,86563532 Tangible common equity $7,081 $7,047 $6,911 $6,973 $6,752 $6,498 $6,282 $6,198 Total assetsLess: GoodwillLess: Other intangible assets $74,12463511 $71,28063512 $71,87763514 $71,01263514 $69,18663515 $65,22463517 $65,06663522 $61,00563532 Tangible assets $73,478 $70,633 $71,228 $70,363 $68,536 $64,572 $64,409 $60,338Common equity ratio 10.42% 10.79% 10.52% 10.73% 10.70% 10.97% 10.67% 11.26%Tangible common equity ratio 9.64 9.98 9.70 9.91 9.85 10.07 9.76 10.27 Common shareholders’ equity $7,727 $7,694 $7,560 $7,622 $7,402 $7,150 $6,939 $6,865Tangible common equity 7,081 7,047 6,911 6,973 6,752 6,498 6,282 6,198Shares of common stock outstanding (in millions) 172 174 176 177 179 182 188 197Common shareholders’ equity per share of common stock $44.91 $44.24 $43.03 $43.02 $41.35 $39.22 $36.86 $34.79Tangible common equity per share of common stock 40.15 40.52 39.33 39.36 37.72 35.64 33.36 31.40 32