Exhibit 99.1

Business Update Barclays Capital 2010 CEO Energy/Power Conference September 14-15, 2010 David E. Meador Executive Vice President and CFOSteven E. Kurmas President & COO, Detroit Edison

Safe Harbor Statement The information contained herein is as of the date of this presentation. Many factors may impact forward-looking statements including, but not limited to, the following: economic conditions resulting in changes in demand, customer conservation and increased thefts of electricity and gas; changes in the economic and financial viability of our customers, suppliers, and trading counterparties, and the continued ability of such parties to perform their obligations to the Company; economic climate and population growth or decline in the geographic areas where we do business; high levels of uncollectible accounts receivable; access to capital markets and capital market conditions and the results of other financing efforts which can be affected by credit agency ratings; instability in capital markets which could impact availability of short and long-term financing; the timing and extent of changes in interest rates; the level of borrowings; the potential for losses on investments, including nuclear decommissioning and benefit plan assets and the related increases in future expense and contributions; the potential for increased costs or delays in completion of significant construction projects; the effects of weather and other natural phenomena on operations and sales to customers, and purchases from suppliers; environmental issues, laws, regulations, and the increasing costs of remediation and compliance, including actual and potential new federal and state requirements that include or could include carbon and more stringent mercury emission controls, a renewable portfolio standard, energy efficiency mandates, a carbon tax or cap and trade structure and ash landfill regulations; nuclear regulations and operations associated with nuclear facilities; impact of electric and gas utility restructuring in Michigan, including legislative amendments and Customer Choice programs; employee relations and the impact of collective bargaining agreements; unplanned outages; changes in the cost and availability of coal and other raw materials, purchased power and natural gas; volatility in the short-term natural gas storage markets impacting third-party storage revenues; cost reduction efforts and the maximization of plant and distribution system performance; the effects of competition; the uncertainties of successful exploration of gas shale resources and challenges in estimating gas reserves with certainty; impact of regulation by the FERC, MPSC, NRC and other applicable governmental proceedings and regulations, including any associated impact on rate structures; changes in and application of federal, state and local tax laws and their interpretations, including the Internal Revenue Code, regulations, rulings, court proceedings and audits; the amount and timing of cost recovery allowed as a result of regulatory proceedings, related appeals or new legislation; the cost of protecting assets against, or damage due to, terrorism or cyber attacks; the availability, cost, coverage and terms of insurance and stability of insurance providers; changes in and application of accounting standards and financial reporting regulations; changes in federal or state laws and their interpretation with respect to regulation, energy policy and other business issues; and binding arbitration, litigation and related appeals. New factors emerge from time to time. We cannot predict what factors may arise or how such factors may cause our results to differ materially from those contained in any forward-looking statement. Any forward-looking statements refer only as of the date on which such statements are made. We undertake no obligation to update any forward- looking statement to reflect events or circumstances after the date on which such statement is made or to reflect the occurrence of unanticipated events. This presentation should also be read in conjunction with the "Forward-Looking Statements" section in each of DTE Energy's and Detroit Edison's 2009 Forms 10-K and 2010 Forms 10-Q (which sections are incorporated herein by reference), and in conjunction with other SEC reports filed by DTE Energy and Detroit Edison.Cautionary Note - The Securities and Exchange Commission permits oil and gas companies, in their filings with the SEC, to disclose only proved reserves that a company has demonstrated by actual production or conclusive formation tests to be economically and legally producible under existing economic and operating conditions. We use certain terms in this presentation such as "probable reserves" that the SEC's guidelines strictly prohibit us from including in filings with the SEC. You are urged to consider closely the disclosure in DTE Energy's 2009 Form 10-K and 2010 Forms 10-Q, File No. 1-11607, available from our offices or from our website at www.dteenergy.com. You can also obtain these Forms from the SEC by calling 1-800-SEC-0330. 2

3 Overview2010 PrioritiesNon-utility GrowthUtility Growth

Gas Storage and Pipelines Power & Industrial Projects Unconventional Gas Production Detroit Edison MichCon DTE Energy is an Integrated Energy Company Complementary Non-Utility Businesses Strong, Stable and Growing Utilities Electric generation and distribution2.1 million customersFully regulated by Michigan Public Service Commission (MPSC) Natural gas distribution1.2 million customersFully regulated by MPSC Energy Trading ~75% of DTE Energy's 2009 Earnings ~25% of DTE Energy's 2009 Earnings 4

Investment Thesis DTE Energy has a robust plan for 5%-6% long-term operating EPS growth combined with an attractive dividend yieldStrong utility growth plan driven by mandated rate base investmentsConstructive regulatory structure and continued cost savings will enable our utilities to earn their authorized returnsComprehensive plans in place to achieve operational excellence and customer satisfaction that are distinctive in our industry, with a focus on customer affordabilityMeaningful, low-risk growth opportunities in non- utility businesses will continue to provide diversity in earnings and geography 5%-6% Average Annual EPS GrowthAttractive Dividend 5

6 Overview2010 PrioritiesNon-utility GrowthUtility Growth

2010 Priorities 7

Priorities are Key to DTE Energy's Continued Success We have a constructive regulatory environmentCritical that we "do our part" to maintain our solid regulatory structureTwo key areas we must focus on are continuous improvement (CI) and customer satisfactionWe have demonstrated ability to drive down costsBringing same focus and intensity to customer satisfactionEmployee engagement helps drive continuous improvement & improved customer satisfaction 8

Priority: Political / Regulatory Build Upon Constructive Relationships in 2010 Received constructive order in MichCon rate case June 201011% allowed ROERevenue decouplingMichCon filed for a $51 million rate increase July 2010Continue to evaluate timing of next Detroit Edison rate filing Continue to Build Constructive Relationships to Maintain our Solid Regulatory Environment and Ensure the Financial Health of our Utilities 9 File & Use Rates6 month self- implementationForward-looking test yearRenewable Portfolio Standard (RPS)/Energy Optimization (EO) with prefundingCertificate of Need for large capital projects 11% allowed ROERevenue decouplingRemoves disincentive for Energy OptimizationAddresses uncertain demandApproved in Detroit Edison rate case Uncollectible tracker at Detroit EdisonComparable to MichCon 80/20 split 2008 Legislation 2009 Detroit Edison Rate Case 2010 Regulatory Actions

Priority: Continuous Improvement CI Improves DTE Competitiveness and Affordability 10 10 * Excludes bad debt expense and Energy Optimization Utility O&M* ($ millions) CostPressures Continuous Improvement Utility O&Mdown over $100 million from 2005 DTE has demonstrated ability to deliver cost reduction through continuous improvementTargeting an additional ~$60 million in cost savings in 2010 to help partially offset increased costs (inflation, benefits, new projects)In 2010, goal is to introduce CI where it is not currently active and substantially deepen it where it is

11 Priority: Financial Performance 2010 Operating Earnings* Guidance (millions, except EPS) 2010 Guidance * Reconciliation to GAAP reported earnings included in the appendix YTD June2010 Actual ? ? ? ? Utilities are on track to meet full year guidanceRevenue Decoupling at Detroit Edison includes weather One-time savings in 2009 at Detroit Edison will not recurFinal MichCon rate order effective for remainder of 2010No base gas sale at MichCon in 2010Non-utilities are on track however mix has changedExpect Power & Industrial earnings to come in higher than full-year 2010 guidanceEnergy Trading earnings will likely be below current guidance range; expect minimal Q3 earnings contribution at Energy Trading Earnings Drivers for Remainder of 2010

12 Leverage* Funds from Operations / Debt* (CHART) 53% 51% 50% (CHART) 23% 24% 24% *Debt excludes securitization, MichCon's short-term debt, and considers the trust preferreds as equity Priority: Financial Performance Balance Sheet Strength A strong balance sheet continues to be a key DTE Energy priorityLeverage and cash flow metrics within targeted ranges (50%- 52% leverage, 22%-24% FFO/debt)Nearly completed 2010 funding requirements:Issued $100 million of equity to pension fund combined with $100 million of cash contributionsIssued ~$60 million of equity to fund DRIP and employee benefit plans through JulyIn March, Detroit Edison agreed to issue and sell $300 million of 4.89% Senior Notes, which will close and fund in Q3 2010In August, Detroit Edison priced a $300 million, 10 year bond offering at a coupon of 3.45%In the second quarter, S&P moved DTE Energy's outlook from Stable to Positive. Continue to target an upgrade from S&PSuccessfully renewed ~$2 billion of bank credit lines in August 2010$1.8 billion of available liquidity at end of Q2 2010

(CHART) Our Dividend is Well Supported 13 Recently increased annualized dividend from $2.12 per share to $2.24 per share; 5.7% increaseDividend yield currently in-line with utility peersOur annualized payout ratio based on the midpoint of 2010 guidance is now 62%, in-line with 60%-70% targetOur dividend remains well supported Dividend Yield (as of September 2010) 4.7%

14 Overview2010 PrioritiesNon-utility GrowthUtility Growth

Gas Storage and Pipelines Growth 15 Michigan's access to the North American pipeline infrastructure enhances the market reach and value of storage providing future growth opportunities Changes in gas flows increase demand and provide for future expansions of Vector and Millennium PipelinesMillennium Pipeline is well positioned to capitalize on boom in Marcellus Shale production Pipeline Growth Storage Growth

EES Coke Battery Industrial Energy Services Utility services at industrial sitesFuel supply and transportation for industrial customers35 projects Detroit, Michigan Own and operate wood-fired power plants and landfill gas projects21 landfill gas sites4 waste wood power plants Woodland Biomass Renewable Energy Woodland, California Industrial sector demand - especially steel - strengtheningOperating earnings guidance up sharply versus 2009 driven by stronger coke demand and steel industry fuels tax credit2010 earnings are likely to come in higher than current guidance due to stronger than expected coke demand and pricing Growth coming from coal-to-wood conversions to meet state Renewable Portfolio requirementsWisconsin plant retrofit nearing completion (operational in 2010)Construction to start on California plant in 2010 (operational in 2013)Opportunities for similar facilities are being considered 16 * Reconciliation to GAAP reported earnings included in the appendix Power & Industrial Projects Growth

Unconventional Gas Overview Near-term capital spend of $25 million / yearDrill 10-15 wells and produce 5 Bcfe net in 2010Develop existing properties to create maximum valueMonetize properties at right time in development cycle and in favorable commodity marketsProvides cash for asset investments elsewhere at DTE Energy (CHART) Gross Producing Wells 169 Reserves (Bcfe) YE2008 156 (CHART) YE2009 YE2008 Probable Proved 265 167 432 255 234 489 Barnett Shale Operating Metrics Future YE2009 17 Plan to Continue Development and Monetization of Unconventional Gas Assets for Premium Returns

18 Overview2010 PrioritiesNon-utility GrowthUtility Growth

19 Priority: Customer Satisfaction Customer Satisfaction is a Key Enabler of Growth Call ~400k customers to solicit feedback on field service qualityClose ~600k inbound calls by asking customer if fully satisfiedUse the ~1 million calls to identify defects, drive CI efforts Call Center Field Operations Communications Much increased focus on communicationHighly targeted messages by segmentSpecial focus on low-income customers Intense focus on improving quality, reliability of serviceMeeting service windows/commitmentsReduced outage frequency/durationAddressing high outage "pockets"CI focused on O&M/capital efficiency

Intense focus on controlling capital investments that pressure affordability Focusing on timing of large capital investmentsIntensifying application of CI to capital work Optimizing our generation portfolio while making mandated investments in our highest value-generating assetsFocusing intensely on customer satisfaction efforts to mitigate the customer affordability pressuresExpect less than 4% average annual rate increase at Detroit Edison 2011-2015 (excluding fuel) Strong Focus on Addressing Customer Affordability as we Execute our Utility Growth Plan 20 Managing revenue requirement pressures The posture / philosophy we are adopting as we respond to these challenges is focused on several key areas

21 Detroit Edison Investment Profile Environmental Energy Efficiency Base Infrastructure Significant investment to meet environmental requirements$500 - $600 million investment 2010-2012 Investments to meet mandated targets and improve customer affordability $100 million investment 2010-2012 Infrastructure investments to ensure the reliability of our generation fleet and distribution systems$2.1 - $2.3 billion investment 2010-2012 Renewable Energy New generation to meet Renewable Portfolio Standard (RPS)$300 - $400 million investment 2010-2012

Selective Catalytic Reduction equipment (SCR) on Monroe units 1,3 and 4; Flue Gas Desulfurization equipment (FGD) on units 3 and 4 FGD equipment at Monroe units 1 & 2. Expected in-service dates before 2015~$600 million expected capital investmentSCR at Monroe unit 2 ~$300 million expected investmentMichigan Mercury Rule drives potential investments in Activated Carbon Injection (ACI) at other unitsAdditional future projects expected as environmental regulations evolve Environmental Capital Driven by Investments at Monroe Power Plant (~3,000 MW) 22 Detroit Edison Coal Fleet Environmental Technologies and Timelines Completed Projects Projects Under Construction Future/Potential Projects

Renewable Energy Program 23 1,200 MWs by 2029 - capital investment of over $2 Billion565 MWs of Detroit Edison-owned wind15 MWs of Detroit Edison-owned solar586 MW third-partyAnnual surcharge revenue in the amount of ~$100M funds renewable programWill pursue co-firing in existing plants up to practical & legislated limits Detroit Edison's Renewable Energy Plan Michigan RPS Requirements 10% of retail sales must come from Michigan- based renewable sources by 2015. Up to 50% owned by utility and at least 50% owned by third parties New capacity requirements -300 MWs by 2013; 600 MWs by 2015

Renewable Energy Plan is Moving Forward 24 Project SummaryLocated in Gratiot County, MI - strong community supportEstimated COD of December 2011Utilizing 1.6MW turbinesPower purchase agreement with an option for Detroit Edison to purchase either 59 or 90 MW ("Build-Transfer Option")Option exercise deadline is December 2010.Counterparty is Invenergy, a privately held national developer of wind facilities with an owned and operated portfolio of ~3,000MWsSubmitted to MPSC in August 2010, seeking approval within 30 days 200MW Wind Energy PPA with Option to Own

ITC's Proposed 345kV Solution Detroit Edison Wind Development in Huron County Detroit Edison has requested interconnection at three 40 kV sites 25 Approximately 78,000 acres of easements under contract by Detroit Edison in Huron CountyInterconnection studies are underwayIn August, ITC received MISO approval for proposed 345 kV transmission lines and three new 345 kV substationsITC has applied to the Michigan Public Service Commission (MPSC) for expedited siting approval of the project

Energy Optimization Program 26 Detroit Edison MichCon (CHART) (CHART) Energy Optimization Requirements:1% annual savings by 2012 at Detroit Edison0.75% savings by 2012 at MichCon Energy Optimization PlanExpanding Energy Optimization (EO) program beyond legislated minimum savings primarily by increasing spend significantly in residential classExpanded EO program helps drive improved customer satisfaction and offset customer rate pressures through additional program offerings and enhanced low income spendDetroit Edison and MichCon each can earn incentives of up to 15% of total annual spend by exceeding reduction targetsProgram is funded via a customer surcharge

Renewable Energy and Energy Optimization Investments Drive Earnings Growth 27 Longer-term, Renewable Energy and EO investments are expected to increase DTE Energy's net income by ~$50 millionThe one-time Detroit Edison rate increase to support renewable investments was implemented in Sept. 2009These investments provide solid support for DTE's projected 5%- 6% average annual long-term growth rate(CHART) Projected Earnings($ millions, after-tax) ~$50 Renewable Energy Energy Optimization

Summary 28 On track to achieve solid 2010 financial resultsConstructive regulatory structure and continued focus on operational excellence and customer satisfaction enables meaningful growth at utilitiesContinue to see attractive/premium return non-utility investment opportunitiesExecuting robust plan to achieve 5% - 6% long-term operating EPS growth

Contact Us DTE Energy Investor Relationswww.dteenergy.com/investors313-235-8030 29

Appendix

Michigan Governor's Race 31 Latest Polling* Overview 53% 26% Venture Capitalist, former President and COO of GatewayEmerged victorious from a 5-way primary campaign with 36% of the voteCourted independent and disaffected Democratic voters during the primary campaignBrian Calley, a State Representative from West Michigan selected as running mate Mayor of Lansing, former State Representative and SenatorSuccessful campaign largely financed by union fundsSounded populist themes during primary campaignBrenda Lawrence, Mayor of Southfield, selected as running mate *Mitchell Research, 600 likely voters, 8/25/2010-8/29/2010 Democratic Nominee Virg Bernero Republican Nominee Rick Snyder

Orjiakor IsioguChairmanAppointed: 9/9/07Term Ends: 7/2/13(Democrat) Monica MartinezCommissionerAppointed: 7/3/05Term Ends: 7/2/11(Democrat) Greg WhiteCommissionerAppointed: 12/4/09Term Ends: 7/2/15(Independent) Source: MPSC website - www.michigan.gov/mpsc - Jan. 2010 The Michigan Public Service Commission is composed of three members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. Commissioners are appointed to serve staggered six-year terms. No more than two Commissioners may represent the same political party. One commissioner is designated as chairman by the Governor. 32 Michigan Public Service Commission (MPSC)

Growth & Value Creation Successfully execute our first major investments in Detroit Edison renewable assetsTightly execute investments on environmental controls at our Monroe Power PlantInvest to exceed our Energy Efficiency targetsExecute non-utility investments focused on premium returns and shareholder value creation 2010 Goals 33 (CHART) Capital Investment ($ billions) $0.7 $0.6 $0.6 - $0.9 $0.4 - $0.5 $3.0 - $3.4 $2.6 $3.9 $4.0 - $4.8 Scale/nature of investments supports 5-6% annual operating EPS growth rate Capital Investment Summary Utility growth over the next three years driven by mandated environmental and renewable investmentNon-Utility investments focus on projects that generate premium returns and create long- term shareholder value

Detroit Edison Generation Portfolio 34

Detroit Edison's Renewable Energy Plan includes two pilot solar programs 35 Approximately 5MW, or approximately 1,500 customers through REC contractsCustomer funds and owns solar photovoltaic system Detroit Edison provides up to $25 million in incentives to make solar more affordable Customer-Owned Detroit Edison-Owned Approximately 15MW of Detroit Edison owned solar assetsLease large rooftops, ground-mounted or on DTE Energy facilities

DTE Energy's Gas Asset Portfolio Is Well Positioned to Take Advantage of Attractive Market Dynamics 36 Fully contracted (7.5 year avg. duration)90 Bcf of storage capacity in Michigan26,200 H.P. of reciprocal compression DTE owns 26.25%Over 80% contracted (15 year avg. duration)182 miles of pipe; 15,000 H.P. of compression DTE owns 40%Fully contracted (7 year avg. duration)348 miles of pipe; 120,000 H.P. of compression at five stations Vector Pipeline Millennium Pipeline DTE Gas Storage

Millennium Well Positioned To Serve Marcellus Production Millennium 37 NE Marcellus core region Thickness of shale in feetBlue 0 - 75 Green 75 - 150 Yellow 150 - 175 Orange 175 - 225 Pink 225 + ** Source: CERA Millennium located near northern core in highly prolific part of formationCurrent drilling primarily in northeast Pennsylvania (Tioga, Bradford & Susquehanna counties)Future production in northeast Pennsylvania expected to increaseFrom 0.2 Bcf/d in 2009 to 2.9 - 3.7 Bcf/d by 2020**

(CHART) Energy Trading Variance Analysis * Reconciliation to GAAP reported earnings included in the appendix ($ millions) Drivers YTD Energy Trading Operating Earnings* Variance YTD June 2009 Operating Earnings Economic Performance Timing One-time 2009 Tax Benefit YTD June 2010 Operating Earnings 38 Decrease in earnings driven mainly by timing, which represents transactions where the accounting income is recognized in future periodsResults impacted by increasing gas prices and negative performance from transmission portfolio in Q2 2010, in addition to a one time tax benefit taken in 2009

(CHART) DTE Energy Trading Reconciliation of Operating Earnings* to Economic Net Income ** Consists of the income statement effect of not recognizing changes in the fair market value of certain non-derivative contracts including physical inventory and capacity contracts for transportation, transmission and storage. These contracts are not marked-to-market, instead are recognized for accounting purposes on an accrual basis. ($ millions) YTD June 2010Economic Net Income Accounting Adjustments** YTD June 2010 Operating Earnings* $12 $19 $31 Economic net income equals economic gross margin*** minus O&M expenses and taxes. DTE Energy management uses economic net income as one of the performance measures for external communications with analysts and investors.Internally, DTE Energy uses economic net income as one of the measures to review performance against financial targets and budget. * Reconciliation to GAAP reported earnings included in the appendix *** Economic gross margin is the change in net fair value of realized and unrealized purchase and sale contracts including certain non-derivative contract costs Energy Trading Operating Earnings* RealizedUnrealizedO&M / Other YTD June2009 YTD June 2010 $27 $21 19 60 (20) (28) ($ millions, after-tax) $67 $12 (CHART) $67 ($13) $54 YTD June 2009 Operating Earnings* YTD June 2009Economic Net Income Accounting Adjustments** 39

40 2010 Capital Expenditures & Cash Flow Guidance Capital Expenditures ($ millions) Cash Flow Summary ($ billions) Equity issued for employee benefit programs is considered non-cash and not included in financing activities: (2009 Actual $0.1; 2010 Guidance $0.2)

41 Use of Operating Earnings Information - DTE Energy management believes that operating earnings provide a more meaningful representation of the company's earnings from ongoing operations and uses operating earnings as the primary performance measurement for external communications with analysts and investors. Internally, DTE Energy uses operating earnings to measure performance against budget and to report to the Board of Directors. Reconciliation of YTD June 30, 2010 Reported to Operating Earnings * Deferral of previously expensed cost to achieve as allowed for in June 3, 2010 MPSC order (case - U-15985)

Reconciliation of 2009 Reported to Operating Earnings Use of Operating Earnings Information - DTE Energy management believes that operating earnings provide a more meaningful representation of the company's earnings from ongoing operations and uses operating earnings as the primary performance measurement for external communications with analysts and investors. Internally, DTE Energy uses operating earnings to measure performance against budget and to report to the Board of Directors. 42

Reconciliation of 2008 Reported to Operating Earnings Use of Operating Earnings Information - DTE Energy management believes that operating earnings provide a more meaningful representation of the company's earnings from ongoing operations and uses operating earnings as the primary performance measurement for external communications with analysts and investors. Internally, DTE Energy uses operating earnings to measure performance against budget and to report to the Board of Directors. 43

Reconciliation of Other Reported to Operating Earnings Use of Operating Earnings Information - DTE Energy management believes that operating earnings provide a more meaningful representation of the company's earnings from ongoing operations and uses operating earnings as the primary performance measurement for external communications with analysts and investors. Internally, DTE Energy uses operating earnings to measure performance against budget and to report to the Board of Directors. In this presentation, DTE Energy provides 2010 guidance for operating earnings. It is likely that certain items that impact the company's 2010 reported results will be excluded from operating results. A reconciliation to the comparable 2010 reported earnings/net income guidance is not provided because it is not possible to provide a reliable forecast of specific line items. These items may fluctuate significantly from period to period and may have a significant impact on reported earnings.Energy TradingOperating earnings were equivalent to reported earnings for Energy Trading YTD June 2009 44