AMBER RESOURCES COMPANY
                         _________________________

                            1996 INCENTIVE PLAN
                         _________________________


1.   Purpose of the Plan

     This Amber Resources Company ("Amber") 1996 Incentive Plan is intended to promote the interests of the Company by providing the employees of the Company and others, who are largely responsible for the management, growth and protection of the business of the Company, with incentives and rewards to encourage them to continue to provide their services to the Company.

2.   Definitions

     As used in the Plan, the following definitions apply to the
terms indicated below:

          (a)  "Board of Directors" shall mean the Board of
     Directors of Amber.

          (b) "Cause," when used in connection with the termination of a Participant's employment with the Company, shall mean the termination of the Participant's employment by the Company on account of (i) the willful and continued failure by the Participant substantially to perform his duties and obligations (other than any such failure resulting from his incapacity due to physical or mental illness) or (ii) the willful engaging by the Participant in misconduct which could reasonably be expected to cause substantial injury to the Company. For purposes of this
     Section 2(b), no act, or
     failure to act, on a Participant's part shall be considered "willful" unless done, or omitted to be done, by the Participant in bad faith and without reasonable belief that his action or omission was in the best interests of the Company.

          (c)  "Cash Bonus" shall mean an award of a bonus
     payable in cash pursuant to Section 13 hereof.

          (d)  "Change in Control" shall mean:

               (i)  a change in control of Amber of a nature that
          would be required to be reported in response to Item
          6(e) of Schedule 14A of Regulation 14A promulgated
          under the Exchange Act; or

               (ii) the occurrence of any of the following
          events:
                    (1)  any Person (or persons acting as a
               group) not presently owning such amount is
               or becomes the "beneficial owner" (as defined
               in Rule 13d-3 promulgated under the Exchange Act), directly or indirectly, of securities of Amber representing 35% or more of the combined voting power of Amber's then outstanding securities;

                    (2)  a majority of individuals who are
               nominated by the Board of Directors for election to the Board of Directors on any date, fail to be elected to the Board of Directors as a direct or indirect result of any proxy fight or contested election for positions on the Board of Directors; or

                    (3)  the Board of Directors determines in its
               sole and absolute discretion that there has been a
               change in control of Amber.

          (e)  "Code" shall mean the Internal Revenue Code of
               1986,  as amended, superseded, or replaced from
               time to time.

          (f)  "Committee" shall mean the Incentive Plan
               Committee of the Board of Directors or such other
               committee as the Board of Directors shall appoint
               from time to time to administer the Plan.

          (g)  "Common Stock" shall mean Amber's common stock,
               $.01 par value per share.

          (h) "Company" or "Participating Company" shall mean Amber Petroleum Corporation, a Colorado corporation, and each of its subsidiaries and affiliates whose participation in the
               Plan has been approved by the Company and such affiliate's or subsidiary's Board of Directors.

          (i) "Disability" shall mean a Participant's inability to engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can be expected to result in death or which has lasted or can be
               expected to last for a continuous period of not less than twelve (12) months.

          (j)  "Exchange Act" shall mean the Securities Exchange
               Act of 1934, as amended.

          (k) the "Fair Market Value" of a share of Common Stock with respect to any day shall be (i) the closing sales price on the immediately preceding business day of a share of Common Stock as reported on the principal securities exchange on which shares of Common Stock are then listed or admitted to trading or (ii) if not so reported, the average of the closing bid and ask prices on the immediately preceding business day as reported on the National Association of Securities Dealers Automated Quotation System or (iii) if not so reported, as furnished by any member of the National Association of Securities Dealers, Inc. selected by the Committee. In the event that the price of a share of Common Stock shall not be so reported, the Fair Market Value of Common Stock shall be determined by the Committee in its absolute discretion.

          (l)  "Incentive Award" shall mean an Option, LSAR,
               Tandem SAR, Stand-Alone SAR, share of Phantom
               Stock, Stock Bonus or Cash Bonus granted pursuant
               to the terms of the Plan.

          (m) "Incentive Stock Option" shall mean an Option which is an "incentive stock option" within the meaning of Section 422 of the Code and which is identified as an Incentive Stock Option in the agreement by which it is evidenced.

          (n) "Issue Date" shall mean the date established by the Committee on which certificates representing shares of Restricted Stock shall be issued by Amber pursuant to the terms of Section 10(d) hereof.

          (o) "LSAR" shall mean a limited stock appreciation right which is granted pursuant to the provisions of Section 8 hereof and which relates to an Option. Each LSAR shall be exercisable only upon the occurrence of a Change in Control
               and only in the alternative to the exercise of its
               related Option.

          (p)  "Non-Qualified Stock Option" shall mean an Option
               which is not an Incentive Stock Option and which
               is identified as a Non-Qualified Stock Option in
               the agreement by which it is evidenced.

          (q)  "Nonemployee Director" means any person who is
               elected or appointed to the Board of Directors of
               the Company and who is not an employee of the
               Company.

          (r) "Option" shall mean an option to purchase shares of Common Stock of Amber granted pursuant to
                Section 6 hereof. Each Option shall be identified as either an Incentive Stock Option or a Non-Qualified Stock Option in the agreement by which it is evidenced.

          (s)  "Participant" shall mean a person who is eligible
               to participate in the Plan and to whom an
               Incentive Award is granted pursuant to the Plan,
               and, upon his death, his successors, heirs,
               executors and administrators, as the case
               may be.

          (t)  "Person" shall mean a "person," as such term is
               used in Sections 13(d) and 14(d) of the Exchange
               Act.

          (u) "Phantom Stock" shall mean the right to receive in cash the Fair Market Value of a share of Common Stock of the Company, which right is granted pursuant to Section 11 hereof and subject to the terms and conditions contained therein.

          (v)  "Plan" shall mean the Amber Resources Company 1996
                Incentive Plan, as it may be amended from time to
                time.

          (w) "Restricted Stock" shall mean a share of Common Stock which is granted pursuant to the terms of
               Section 10 hereof and which is subject to the restrictions set forth in Section 10(c) hereof for so long as such restrictions continue to apply to such share.

          (x)  "Securities Act" shall mean the Securities Act of
               1933, as amended.

          (y)  "Stand-Alone SAR" shall mean a stock appreciation
               right granted pursuant to Section 9 hereof which
               is not related to any Option.

          (z)  "Stock Bonus" shall mean a grant of a bonus
               payable in shares of Common Stock pursuant to
               Section 12 hereof.

          (aa) "Subsidiary" shall mean any corporation in which at the time of reference Amber owns, directly or indirectly, stock comprising more than fifty percent of the total combined voting power of all classes of stock of such corporation.

          (bb) "Tandem SAR" shall mean a stock appreciation right granted pursuant to Section 8 hereof which is related to an Option. Each Tandem SAR shall be exercisable only to the extent its related Option is exercisable and only in the alternative to the exercise of its related Option.

          (cc) "Amber" shall mean Amber Resources Company, a
     Delaware corporation, and its successors.

          (dd) "Vesting Date" shall mean the date established by
     the Committee on which a share of Restricted Stock or
     Phantom Stock may vest.

3.   Stock Subject to the Plan

     Under the Plan, the Committee may grant to Participants (i)
Options, (ii) LSARs, (iii) Tandem SARs, (iv) Stand-Alone SARs,
(v) shares of Restricted Stock, (vi) shares of Phantom Stock,
(vii) Stock Bonuses and (viii) Cash Bonuses.

     Subject to adjustment as provided in Section 14 hereof, the Committee may grant Options, Stand-Alone SARs, shares of Restricted Stock, shares of Phantom Stock and Stock Bonuses under the Plan with respect to a number of shares of Common Stock that in the aggregate does not exceed shares representing, in aggregate, 20.0% of the Company's outstanding Common Stock (on a fully-diluted basis) at the time of the grant of the incentive award. The grant of an LSAR, Tandem SAR or Cash Bonus shall not reduce the number of shares of Common Stock with respect to which Options, Stand-Alone SARs, shares of Restricted Stock, shares of Phantom Stock or Stock Bonuses may be granted pursuant to the Plan.

     In the event that any outstanding Option or Stand-Alone SAR expires, terminates has been exercised or is canceled for any reason (other than pursuant to Paragraphs 7(b)(2) or 8(b)(3) hereof), the shares of Common Stock subject to the unexercised portion of such Option or Stand-Alone SAR shall again be available for grants under the Plan. In the event that an outstanding Option is canceled pursuant to Paragraphs 7(b)(2) or 8(b)(3) hereof by reason of the exercise of an LSAR or a Tandem SAR, the shares of Common Stock subject to the canceled portion of such Option shall not again be available for grants under the Plan. In the event that any shares of Restricted Stock or Phantom Stock, or any shares of Common Stock granted in a Stock Bonus are forfeited or canceled for any reason, such shares shall again be available for grants under the Plan.

     Shares of Common Stock issued under the Plan may be either newly issued shares or treasury shares, at the discretion of the Committee, and the Company hereby reserves shares representing, in aggregate, 20.0% of the Company's Common Stock at any time (on a fully-diluted basis) for issuance pursuant to the Plan.

4.   Administration of the Plan

     The Plan shall be administered as to all persons covered thereby, except Nonemployee Directors, by a Committee of the Board of Directors consisting of two or more Nonemployee Directors, each of whom shall be a "disinterested person" within the meaning of Rule 16b-3 promulgated under Section 16 of the Exchange Act. The Plan shall be administered as to Nonemployee Directors of the Board of Directors. The Committee shall from time to time designate the persons who shall be granted Incentive Awards and the amount and type of such Incentive Awards.

     The Committee shall have full authority to administer the Plan, including authority to interpret and construe any provision of the Plan and the terms of any Incentive Award issued under it and to adopt such rules and regulations for administering the Plan as it may deem necessary. Decisions of the Committee shall be final and binding on all parties.

     The Committee may, in its absolute discretion (i) accelerate the date on which any Option or Stand-Alone SAR granted under the Plan becomes exercisable, (ii) accelerate the Vesting Date or Issue Date, or waive any condition imposed pursuant to Section 10(b) hereof, with respect to any share of Restricted Stock granted under the Plan and (iii) accelerate the Vesting Date or waive any condition imposed pursuant to Section 11 hereof, with respect to any share of Phantom Stock granted under the Plan.

     In addition, the Committee may, in its absolute discretion, grant Incentive Awards to Participants on the condition that such Participants surrender to the Committee for cancellation such other Incentive Awards (including, without limitation, Incentive Awards with higher exercise prices) as the Committee specifies. Notwithstanding Section 3 herein, prior to the surrender of such other Incentive Awards, Incentive Awards granted pursuant to the preceding sentence of this Section 4 shall not count against the limits set forth in such Section 3.

     Whether an authorized leave of absence, or absence in
military or government service, shall constitute termination of
employment shall be determined by the Committee.

     No member of the Committee shall be liable for any action, omission, or determination relating to the Plan, and Amber shall indemnify and hold harmless each member of the Committee and each other director or employee of the Company to whom any duty or power relating to the administration or interpretation of the Plan has been delegated against any cost or expense (including counsel fees) or liability (including any sum paid in settlement of a claim with the approval of the Committee) arising out of any action, omission or determination relating to the Plan, unless, in either case, such action, omission or determination was taken or made by such member, director or employee in bad faith and without reasonable belief that it was in the best interests of the Company.

5.   Eligibility

     The persons who shall be eligible to receive Incentive Awards pursuant to the Plan shall be such persons, including employees and officers of the Company (whether or not such officers are also directors of the Company), consultants and advisors to the Company ("Non-Employee Participants"), who are largely responsible for the management, growth and protection of the business of the Company, as the Committee shall select from time to time. Directors who are not employees ("Nonemployee Directors") of the Company may only participate in the Plan pursuant to Section 25 hereof.

6.   Options

     The Committee may grant Options pursuant to the Plan, which Options shall be evidenced by agreements in such form as the Committee shall from time to time approve. Options shall comply with and be subject to the following terms and conditions:

     (a)  Identification of Options

          All Options granted under the Plan shall be clearly identified in the agreement evidencing such Options as either Incentive Stock Options or as Non-Qualified Stock Options. In the even, the options are not so identified they will be deemed to be Non-Qualified Stock Options.

     (b)  Exercise Price

          The exercise price of any Non-Qualified Stock Option granted under the Plan shall be such price as the Committee shall determine on the date on which such Non-Qualified Stock Option is granted; provided, that such price may not be less than the minimum price required by applicable law. The exercise price of any Incentive Stock Option granted under the Plan shall be not less than 100% of the Fair Market Value of a share of Common Stock on the date on which such Incentive Stock Option is granted.

     (c)  Term and Exercise of Option

               (1) Each Option shall be exercisable on such date or dates, during such period and for such number of shares of Common Stock as shall be determined by the Committee on the day on which such Option is granted and set forth in the Option agreement with respect to such Option; provided, however, that no Option shall be exercisable after the expiration of ten years from the date such Option was granted; and, provided, further, that each Option shall be subject to earlier termination, expiration or cancellation as provided in the Plan.

               (2) Each Option shall be exercisable in whole or in part; provided, that no partial exercise of an Option shall be for an aggregate exercise price of less than $1,000. The partial exercise of an Option shall not cause the expiration, termination or cancellation of the remaining portion thereof. Upon the partial exercise of an Option, the agreements evidencing such Option and any related LSARs and Tandem SARs shall be returned to the Participant exercising such Option together with the delivery of the certificates described in Section 6(c)(4) hereof.

               (3)  An Option shall be exercised by delivering
          notice to Amber's principal office, to the attention of
          its Secretary, no less than three business days in
          advance of the effective date of the proposed exercise.
          Such notice shall be accompanied by the agreements evidencing the Option and any related LSARs and Tandem
          SARs, shall specify the number of shares of Common
          Stock with respect to which the Option is being
          exercised and the effective date of the proposed
          exercise and shall be signed by the Participant. The Participant may withdraw such notice at any time prior
          to the close of business on the business day
          immediately preceding the effective date
          of the proposed exercise, in which case such agreements shall be returned to him. Payment for shares of Common Stock purchased upon the exercise of an Option shall be
          made on the effective date of such exercise either (i)
          in cash, by certified check, bank cashier's check or
          wire transfer or (ii) in shares of Common Stock owned
          by the Participant and valued at their Fair Market
          Value on the effective date of such exercise, or partly
          in shares of Common Stock with the balance in cash, by certified check, bank cashier's check or wire transfer. Any payment in shares of Common Stock shall be effected by
          the delivery of such shares to the Secretary of Amber,
          duly endorsed in blank or accompanied by stock powers
          duly executed in blank, together with any other
          documents and evidences as the Secretary of
          Amber shall require from time to time.

               (4) Any Option granted under the Plan may be exercised by a broker-dealer acting on behalf of a Participant if (i) the broker-dealer has received from the Participant or the Company a fully-and-duly-endorsed
          agreement evidencing such Option and instructions signed by the Participant requesting Amber to deliver the shares of Common Stock subject to such Option to the broker-dealer on behalf of the Participant and specifying the account into which such shares should be deposited, (ii) adequate provision has been made with respect to the payment of any withholding taxes due upon such exercise and (iii) the broker-dealer and the Participant have otherwise complied with Section 220.3(e)(4) of Regulation T, 12 CFR Part 220.

               (5)  Certificates for shares of Common Stock
          purchased upon the exercise of an Option shall be issued in the name of the Participant and delivered to the Participant as soon as practicable following the effective date on which the Option is exercised.

               (6) Options shall be assignable and transferable provided, however, that the Company shall not be under an obligation as provided in 6(c) (7) below to include the shares underlying such transferred or assigned options in any registration statement except upon death or pursuant to a qualified domestic relations order.

               (7) The Company, at the Company's expense, shall file and maintain a registration statement on the appropriate form with the Securities and Exchange Commission covering shares underlying all options granted hereunder. The expiration date of any option expiring prior to the effective date of a registration statement covering said option shall be extended until a date ninety (90) days following the effective date of said registration statement.

     (d)  Limitations on Grant of Incentive Stock Options

               (1) The aggregate Fair Market Value of shares of Common Stock with respect to which "incentive stock options" (within the meaning of Section 422 of the
          Code) are exercisable for the first time by a Participant during any calendar year under the Plan and any other stock option plan of the Company (or any "subsidiary" of Amber as such term is defined in
          Section 425 of the Code) shall not exceed $100,000. Such Fair Market Value shall be determined as of the date on which each such incentive stock option is granted. In the event that the aggregate
          Fair Market Value of shares of Common Stock with respect to such incentive stock options exceeds $100,000, then Incentive Stock Options granted hereunder to such
          Participant shall, to the extent and in the order required by Regulations promulgated under the Code (or any other authority having the force of Regulations), automatically be deemed to be Non-Qualified Stock Options, but all other terms and provisions of such Incentive Stock Options shall remain unchanged. In the absence of such Regulations (and authority), or in the event such Regulations (or authority) require or permit a designation of the options which shall cease to constitute incentive stock options, Incentive Stock Options shall, to the extent of such excess and in the order in which they were granted, automatically be deemed to be Non-Qualified Stock Options, but all other terms and provisions of such Incentive Stock Options shall remain unchanged.

               (2) No Incentive Stock Option may be granted to an individual if, at the time of the proposed grant, such individual owns stock possessing more than ten percent of the total combined voting power of all classes of stock of Amber or any of its "subsidiaries" (within the meaning of Section 425 of the Code), unless

          (i) the exercise price of such Incentive Stock Option is at least one hundred and ten percent of the Fair Market Value of a share of Common Stock at the time such Incentive Stock Option is granted and (ii) such Incentive Stock Option is not exercisable after the expiration of five years from the date such Incentive Stock Option is granted.

     (e)  Effect of Termination of Employment

               (1)  In the event that the employment of a
          Participant with the Company shall terminate for any reason Options granted to such Participant, to the extent that they were exercisable at the time of such termination, shall remain exercisable until the expiration of their terms.

               (2)  As to Non-Employee Participants, all options
          shall remain outstanding according to their initial
          terms as granted regardless of whether such
          Non-Employee Participant has ceased to provide service
          to the Company.

     (f)  Acceleration of Exercise Date Upon Change in Control

          Upon the occurrence of a Change in Control, each Option
     granted under the Plan and outstanding at such time shall
     become fully and immediately exercisable and shall remain
     exercisable until its expiration, termination or
     cancellation pursuant to the terms of the Plan.

7.   Limited Stock Appreciation Rights

     The Committee may grant in connection with any Option granted hereunder one or more LSARs relating to a number of shares of Common Stock equal to or less than the number of shares of Common Stock subject to the related Option. An LSAR may be granted at the same time as, or subsequent to the time that, its related Option is granted. Each LSAR shall be evidenced by an agreement in such form as the Committee shall from time to time approve. Each LSAR granted hereunder shall be subject to the following terms and conditions:

     (a)  Benefit Upon Exercise

               (1) The exercise of an LSAR relating to a Non-Qualified Stock Option with respect to any number of shares of Common Stock shall entitle the Participant to a cash payment, for each such share, equal to the excess of (i) the greater of (A) the highest price per share of Common Stock paid in the Change
          in Control in connection with which such LSAR became exercisable and (B) the Fair Market Value of a share of Common Stock on the date of such Change in Control over
          (ii) the exercise price of the related Option. Such payment shall be paid as soon as practical, but in no event later than the expiration of five business days, after the effective date of such exercise.

               (2)  The exercise of an LSAR relating to an
          Incentive Stock Option with respect to any number of shares of Common Stock shall entitle the Participant to a cash payment, for each such share, equal to the excess of (i) the Fair Market Value of a share of Common Stock on the effective date of such exercise over (ii) the exercise price of the related Option. Such payment shall be paid as soon as practical, but in no event later than the expiration of five business days, after the effective date of such exercise.

     (b)  Term and Exercise of LSARs

               (1) An LSAR shall be exercisable only during the period commencing on the first day following the occurrence of a Change in Control and terminating on the expiration of sixty days after such date. Notwithstanding the preceding sentence of this Section 7(b), in the event that an LSAR held by any Participant who is or may be subject to the provisions of Section 16(b) of the Exchange Act becomes exercisable prior to the expiration of six months following the date on which it is granted, then the LSAR shall also be exercisable during the period commencing on the first day immediately following the expiration of such six month period and terminating on the expiration of sixty days following such date. Notwithstanding anything else herein, an LSAR relating to an Incentive Stock Option may be exercised with respect to a share of Common Stock only if the Fair Market Value of such share on the effective date of such exercise exceeds the exercise price relating to such
          share. Notwithstanding anything else herein, an LSAR may be exercised only if and to the extent that the Option to which it relates is exercisable.

               (2) The exercise of an LSAR with respect to a number of shares of Common Stock shall cause the immediate and automatic cancellation of the Option to which it relates with respect to an equal number of shares. The exercise of an Option, or the cancellation, termination or expiration of an Option (other than pursuant to this Paragraph (2)), with respect to a number of shares of Common Stock, shall cause the cancellation of the LSAR related to it with respect to an equal number of shares.

               (3) Each LSAR shall be exercisable in whole or in part; provided, that no partial exercise of an LSAR shall be for an aggregate exercise price of less than $1,000. The partial exercise of an LSAR shall not cause the expiration, termination or cancellation of the remaining portion thereof. Upon the partial exercise of an LSAR, the agreements evidencing the LSAR, the related Option and any Tandem SARs related to such Option shall be returned to the Participant exercising such LSAR together with the payment described in Paragraph 7(a)(1) or (2)
          hereof, as applicable.

               (4)  Each LSAR granted shall be assignable and
          transferable together with its related Option.

               (5) An LSAR shall be exercised by delivering notice to Amber's principal office, to the attention of its Secretary, no less than three business days in advance of the effective date of the proposed exercise. Such notice shall be accompanied by the applicable agreements evidencing the LSAR, the related Option and any Tandem SARs relating to such Option, shall specify the number of shares of Common Stock with respect to which the LSAR is being exercised and the effective date of the proposed
          exercise and shall be signed by the Participant. The Participant may withdraw such notice at any time prior to the close of business on the business day immediately preceding the effective date of the proposed exercise, in which case such agreements shall be returned to him.

8.   Tandem Stock Appreciation Rights

     The Committee may grant in connection with any Option granted hereunder one or more Tandem SARs relating to a number of shares of Common Stock equal to or less than the number of shares of Common Stock subject to the related Option. A Tandem SAR may be granted at the same time as, or subsequent to the time that, its related Option is granted. Each Tandem SAR shall be evidenced by an agreement in such form as the Committee shall from time to time approve. Tandem SARs shall comply with and be subject to the following terms and conditions:

     (a)  Benefit Upon Exercise

          The exercise of a Tandem SAR with respect to any number of shares of Common Stock shall entitle a Participant to a cash payment, for each such share, equal to the excess of
     (i) the Fair Market Value of a share of Common Stock on the effective date of such exercise over (ii) the exercise price of the related Option. Such payment shall be paid as soon as practical, but in no event later than the expiration of five business days, after the effective date of such exercise.

     (b)  Term and Exercise of Tandem SAR

               (1) A Tandem SAR shall be exercisable at the same time and to the same extent (on a proportional basis, with any fractional amount being rounded down to the immediately preceding whole number) as its related Option. Notwithstanding the first sentence of this Paragraph 8(b)(1), (i) a Tandem SAR shall not be exercisable at any time that an LSAR related to the Option to which the Tandem SAR is related is exercisable and (ii) a Tandem SAR relating to an Incentive Stock Option may be exercised with respect to a share of Common Stock only if the Fair Market Value of such share on the effective date of such exercise exceeds the exercise price relating to such share.

               (2)  Notwithstanding the first sentence of
          Paragraph 8(b)(1) hereof, the Committee may, in its absolute discretion, grant one or more Tandem SARs which shall not become exercisable unless and until the Participant to whom such Tandem SAR is granted is, in the determination of the Committee, subject to Section 16(b) of the Exchange Act and which shall cease to be exercisable if and at the time that the Participant ceases, in the determination of the Committee, to be subject to such Section 16(b).

               (3) The exercise of a Tandem SAR with respect to a number of shares of Common Stock shall cause the immediate and automatic cancellation of its related Option with respect to an equal number of shares. The exercise of an Option, or the cancellation, termination or expiration of an Option (other than pursuant to this Paragraph (3)), with respect to a number of shares of Common Stock shall cause the automatic and immediate cancellation of its related Tandem SARs to the extent that the number of shares of Common Stock subject to such Option after such exercise, cancellation, termination or expiration is less than the number of shares subject to such Tandem SARs. Such Tandem SARs shall be canceled in the order in which they became exercisable.

               (4) Each Tandem SAR shall be exercisable in whole or in part; provided, that no partial exercise of a Tandem SAR shall be for an aggregate exercise price of less than $1,000. The partial exercise of a Tandem SAR shall not cause the expiration, termination or cancellation of the remaining portion thereof. Upon the partial exercise of a Tandem SAR, the agreements evidencing such Tandem SAR, its related Option and LSARs relating to such Option shall be returned to the Participant exercising such Tandem SAR together with the payment described in Section 8(a) hereof.

               (5)  Each Tandem SAR granted shall be assignable
          and transferable together with its related Option.

               (6) A Tandem SAR shall be exercised by delivering notice to Amber's principal office, to the attention of its Secretary, no less than three business days in advance of the effective date of the proposed exercise. Such notice shall be accompanied by the applicable agreements evidencing the Tandem SAR, its related Option and any LSARs related to such Option, shall specify the number of shares of Common Stock with respect to which the Tandem SAR is being exercised and the effective date of the proposed exercise and shall be signed by the Participant. The Participant may withdraw such notice at any time prior to the close of business on the business
          day immediately preceding the effective date of the proposed exercise, in which case such agreements shall be returned to him.

9.   Stand-Alone Stock Appreciation Rights

     The Committee may grant Stand-Alone SARs pursuant to the
Plan, which Stand-Alone SARs shall be evidenced by agreements in
such form as the Committee shall from time to time approve.
Stand-Alone SARs shall comply with and be subject to the
following terms and conditions:

     (a)  Exercise Price

          The exercise price of any Stand-Alone SAR granted under
     the Plan shall be determined by the Committee at the time of
     the grant of such Stand-Alone SAR.

     (b)  Benefit Upon Exercise

          The exercise of a Stand-Alone SAR with respect to any number of shares of Common Stock prior to the occurrence of a Change in Control shall entitle a Participant to a cash payment, for each such share, equal to the excess of (i) the Fair Market Value of a share of Common Stock on the exercise date over (ii) the exercise price of the Stand-Alone SAR. The exercise of a Stand-Alone SAR with respect to any number of shares of Common Stock upon or after the occurrence of a Change in Control shall entitle a Participant to a cash payment, for each such share, equal to the excess of (i) the greater of (A) the highest price per share of Common Stock paid in connection with such Change in Control and (B) the Fair Market Value of a share of Common Stock on the date of such Change in Control over (ii) the exercise price of the Stand-Alone SAR. Such payments shall be paid as soon as practical, but in no event later than five business days, after the effective date of the exercise.

     (c)  Term and Exercise of Stand-Alone SARs

               (1) Each Stand-Alone SAR shall be exercisable on such date or dates, during such period and for such number of shares of Common Stock as shall be determined by the Committee and set forth in the Stand-Alone SAR agreement with respect to such Stand-Alone SAR; provided, however, that no Stand-Alone SAR shall be exercisable after the expiration of ten years from the date such Stand-Alone SAR was granted; and, provided, further, that each Stand-Alone SAR shall be subject to earlier termination, expiration or cancellation as provided in the Plan.

               (2) Each Stand-Alone SAR may be exercised in whole or in part; provided, that no partial exercise of a Stand-Alone SAR shall be for an aggregate exercise price of less than $1,000. The partial exercise of a Stand-Alone SAR shall not cause the expiration, termination or cancellation of the remaining portion thereof. Upon the partial exercise of a Stand-Alone SAR, the agreement evidencing such Stand-Alone SAR shall be returned to the Participant exercising such Stand-Alone SAR together with
          the payment described in Section 9(b) hereof.

               (3)  A Stand-Alone SAR shall be exercised by
          delivering notice to Amber's principal office, to the attention of its Secretary, no less than three business days in advance of the effective date of the proposed exercise. Such notice shall be accompanied by the applicable agreement evidencing the Stand-Alone SAR, shall specify the number of shares of Common Stock with respect to which the Stand-Alone SAR is being exercised and the effective date of the proposed exercise and shall be signed by the Participant. The Participant may withdraw such notice at any time prior to the close of business on the business day immediately preceding the effective date of the proposed exercise, in which case the agreement evidencing the Stand-Alone SAR shall be returned to him.

               (4)  Each Stand-Alone SAR granted shall be
          assignable and transferable.

     (d)  Effect of Termination of Employment

               (1)  In the event that the employment of a
          Participant with the Company shall terminate for any reason Stand-Alone SARs granted to such Participant, to the extent that they were exercisable at the time of such termination, shall remain exercisable until the expiration of their term.

               (2) As to Non-Employee Participants, all Stand Alone SAR's shall remain outstanding according to their initial terms as granted regardless of whether such Non-Employee Participant has ceased to provide services to the Company.

     (e)  Acceleration of Exercise Date Upon Change in Control

          Upon the occurrence of a Change in Control, each Stand-Alone SAR granted under the Plan and outstanding at such time shall become fully and immediately exercisable and shall remain exercisable until its expiration, termination or cancellation pursuant to the terms of the Plan.

10.  Restricted Stock

     The Committee may grant shares of Restricted Stock pursuant to the Plan. Each grant of shares of Restricted Stock shall be evidenced by an agreement in such form as the Committee shall from time to time approve. Each grant of shares of Restricted Stock shall comply with and be subject to the following terms and conditions:

     (a)  Issue Date and Vesting Date

          At the time of the grant of shares of Restricted Stock, the Committee shall establish an Issue Date or Issue Dates and a Vesting Date or Vesting Dates with respect to such shares. The Committee may divide such shares into classes and assign a different Issue Date and/or Vesting Date for each class. Except as provided in Sections 10(c) and 10(f) hereof, upon the occurrence of the Issue Date with respect to a share of Restricted Stock, a share of Restricted Stock shall be issued in accordance with the provisions of Section 10(d) hereof. Provided that all conditions to the vesting of a share of Restricted Stock imposed pursuant to Section 10(b) hereof are satisfied, and except as provided in Sections 10(c) and 10(f) hereof, upon the occurrence of the Vesting Date with respect to a share of Restricted Stock, such share shall vest and the restrictions of Section 10(c) hereof shall cease to apply to such share.

     (b)  Conditions to Vesting

          At the time of the grant of shares of Restricted Stock, the Committee may impose such restrictions or conditions, not inconsistent with the provisions hereof, to the vesting of such shares as it, in its absolute discretion deems appropriate. By way of example and not by way of limitation, the Committee may require, as a condition to the vesting of any class or classes of shares of Restricted Stock, that the Participant or the Company achieve certain performance criteria, such criteria to be specified by the Committee at the time of the grant of such shares.

     (c)  Restrictions on Transfer Prior to Vesting

          Prior to the vesting of a share of Restricted Stock, no transfer of a Participant's rights with respect to such shares, whether voluntary or involuntary, by operation of law or otherwise, shall vest the transferee with any interest or right in or with respect to such share, but immediately upon any attempt to transfer such rights, such share, and all of the rights related thereto, shall be forfeited by the Participant and the transfer shall be of no force or effect.

     (d)  Issuance of Certificates

               (1) Except as provided in Sections 10(c) or 10(f) hereof, reasonably promptly after the Issue Date with respect to shares of Restricted Stock, Amber shall cause to be issued a stock certificate, registered in the name of the Participant to whom such shares were granted, evidencing such shares; provided, that Amber shall not cause to be issued such a stock certificate unless it has received a stock power duly endorsed in blank with respect to such shares. Each such stock certificate shall bear the following legend:

               The transferability of this certificate and the shares of stock represented hereby are subject to the restrictions, terms and conditions (including forfeiture and restrictions against transfer) contained in the Amber Resources Company 1996 Incentive Plan and an Agreement entered into between the registered owner of such shares and Amber Resources Company. A copy of the Plan and Agreement is on file in the office of the Secretary of Amber Resources Company.

          Such legend shall not be removed from the certificate
          evidencing such shares until such shares vest pursuant
          to the terms hereof.

               (2) Each certificate issued pursuant to Paragraph (10(d)(1) hereof, together with the stock powers relating to the shares of Restricted Stock evidenced by such certificate, shall be deposited by the Company with a custodian designated by the Company. The Company shall cause such custodian to issue to the Participant a receipt evidencing the certificates held by it which are registered in the name of the Participant.

     (e)  Consequences Upon Vesting

          Upon the vesting of a share of Restricted Stock pursuant to the terms hereof, the restrictions of Section 10(c) hereof shall cease to apply to such share. Reasonably promptly after a share of Restricted Stock vests pursuant to the terms hereof, Amber shall cause to be issued and delivered to the Participant to whom such shares were granted, a certificate evidencing such share, free of the legend set forth in Paragraph 10(d)(1) hereof, together with any other property of the Participant held by the custodian pursuant to Section 14(b) hereof.

     (f)  Effect of Termination of Employment

          In the event that the employment of a Participant with the Company shall terminate for any reason prior to the vesting of shares of Restricted Stock granted to such Participant, a proportion (up to 100%) of such shares, to the extent not forfeited or canceled on or prior to such termination pursuant to any provision hereof, shall vest on the date of such termination. The proportion referred to in the preceding sentence shall be determined by the Committee at the time of the grant of such shares of Restricted Stock and may be based on the achievement of any conditions imposed by the Committee with respect to such shares pursuant to Section 10(b). Such proportion may be equal to zero.

     (g)  Effect of Change in Control

          Upon the occurrence of a Change in Control, all shares
     of Restricted Stock which have not theretofore vested
     (including those with respect to which the Issue Date has
     not yet occurred), or been canceled or forfeited pursuant to
     any provision hereof, shall immediately vest.

     (h)  Registration of Restricted Stock

          The Company, at the Company's expense, shall file and maintain a registration statement on the appropriate form with the Securities and Exchange Commission covering the restricted stock granted hereunder after it has vested.

11.  Phantom Stock

     The Committee may grant shares of Phantom Stock pursuant to the Plan. Each grant of shares of Phantom Stock shall be evidenced by an agreement in such form as the Committee shall from time to time approve. Each grant of shares of Phantom Stock shall comply with and be subject to the following terms and conditions:

     (a)  Vesting Date

          At the time of the grant of shares of Phantom Stock, the Committee shall establish a Vesting Date or Vesting Dates with respect to such shares. The Committee may divide such shares into classes and assign a different Vesting Date for each class. Provided that all conditions to the vesting of a share of Phantom Stock imposed pursuant to Section 11(c) hereof
          are satisfied, and except as provided in Section 11(d) hereof, upon the occurrence of the Vesting Date with respect to a share of Phantom Stock, such share shall vest.

     (b)  Benefit Upon Vesting

          Upon the vesting of a share of Phantom Stock, a Participant shall be entitled to receive in cash, within 30 days of the date on which such share vests, an amount in cash in a lump sum equal to the sum of (i) the Fair Market Value of a share of Common Stock of the Company on the date on which
          such share of Phantom Stock vests and (ii) the aggregate amount of cash dividends paid with respect to a share of Common Stock of the Company during the period commencing on the date on which the share of Phantom Stock was granted and
          terminating on the date on which such share vests.

     (c)  Conditions to Vesting

          At the time of the grant of shares of Phantom Stock, the Committee may impose such restrictions or conditions, not inconsistent with the provisions hereof, to the vesting of such shares as it, in its absolute discretion deems appropriate. By way of example and not by way of limitation, the Committee may require, as a condition to the vesting of any class or classes of shares of Phantom Stock, that the Participant or the Company achieve certain performance criteria, such criteria to be specified by the Committee at the time of the grant of such shares.

     (d)  Effect of Termination of Employment

          In the event that the employment of a Participant with the Company shall terminate for any reason prior to the vesting of shares of Phantom Stock granted to such Participant, a proportion (up to 100%) of such shares, to the extent not forfeited or canceled on or prior to such termination pursuant to any provision hereof, shall vest on the date of such termination. The proportion referred to in the preceding sentence shall be determined by the Committee at the time of the grant of such shares of Phantom Stock and may be based on the achievement of any conditions imposed by the Committee with respect to such shares pursuant to
     Section 11(c).  Such proportion may be equal to zero.

     (e)  Effect of Change in Control

          Upon the occurrence of a Change in Control, all shares
     of Phantom Stock which have not theretofore vested, or been
     canceled or forfeited pursuant to any provision hereof,
     shall immediately vest.

12.  Stock Bonuses

     The Committee shall grant Stock Bonuses in such amounts as it shall determine from time to time. A Stock Bonus shall be paid at such time and subject to such conditions as the Committee shall determine at the time of the grant of such Stock Bonus. Certificates for shares of Common Stock granted as a Stock Bonus shall be issued in the name of the Participant to whom such grant was made and delivered to such Participant as soon as practicable after the date on which such Stock Bonus is required to be paid.

13.  Cash Bonuses

     The Committee may, in its absolute discretion, grant, in connection with any grant of Restricted Stock or Stock Bonus or at any time thereafter, a cash bonus, payable promptly after the date on which the Participant is required to recognize income for federal income tax purposes in connection with such Restricted Stock or Stock Bonus, in such amounts as the Committee shall determine from time to time; provided however, that in no event shall the amount of a Cash Bonus exceed the Fair Market Value of the related shares of Restricted Stock or Stock Bonus on such date. A Cash Bonus shall be subject to such conditions as the Committee shall determine at the time of the grant of such Cash Bonus.

14.  Adjustment Upon Changes in Common Stock

     (a)  Shares Available for Grants

          In the event of any change in the number of shares of Common Stock outstanding by reason of any stock dividend or split, recapitalization, merger, consolidation, combination or exchange of shares or similar corporate change, the maximum aggregate number of shares of Common Stock with respect to which the Committee may grant Options, Stand-Alone SARs, shares of Restricted Stock, shares of Phantom Stock and Stock Bonuses shall be appropriately adjusted by the Committee. In the event of any change in the number of shares of Common Stock outstanding by reason of any other event or transaction, the Committee may, but need not, make such adjustments in the number and class of shares of Common Stock with respect to
     which Options, Stand-Alone SARs, shares of Restricted Stock, shares of Phantom Stock and Stock Bonuses may be granted as the Committee may deem appropriate.

     (b)  Outstanding Restricted Stock and Phantom Stock

          Unless the Committee in its absolute discretion otherwise determines, any securities or other property (including dividends paid in cash) received by a Participant with respect to a share of Restricted Stock, the Issue Date with respect to which occurs prior to such event, but which has not vested as of the date of such event, as result of any dividend, stock split, recapitalization, merger, consolidation, combination, exchange of shares or otherwise will not vest until such share of Restricted Stock vests, and shall be promptly deposited
     with the custodian designated pursuant to Paragraph 10(d)(2)
     hereof.

          The Committee may, in its absolute discretion, adjust any grant of shares of Restricted Stock, the Issue Date with respect to which has not occurred as of the date of the occurrence of any of the following events, or any grant of shares of Phantom Stock, to reflect any dividend, stock split, recapitalization, merger, consolidation, combination, exchange of shares or similar corporate change as the Committee may deem appropriate to prevent the enlargement or dilution of rights of Participants under the grant.

     (c)  Outstanding Options, LSARs, Tandem SARs and Stand-Alone
          SARs--Increase or Decrease in Issued Shares Without
          Consideration

     Subject to any required action by the shareholders of
     Amber, in the event of any increase or decrease in the

     number of issued shares of Common Stock resulting from
     a subdivision or consolidation of shares of Common
     Stock or the payment of a stock dividend (but only on
     the shares of Common Stock), or any other increase or decrease in the number of such shares effected without receipt of consideration by Amber, the Committee shall proportionally adjust the number of shares of Common Stock subject to each outstanding Option, LSAR, Tandem SAR and Stand-Alone SAR, and the exercise price per share of Common Stock of each such
     Option, LSAR, Tandem SAR and Stand-Alone SAR.

     (d)  Outstanding Options, LSARs, Tandem SARs and Stand-Alone
          SARs--Certain Mergers

          Subject to any required action by the shareholders of Amber, in the event that Amber shall be the surviving corporation in any merger or consolidation (except a merger or consolidation as a result of which the holders of shares of Common Stock receive securities of another corporation), each Option, LSAR, Tandem SAR and Stand-Alone SAR outstanding on the date of such merger or consolidation shall pertain to and apply to the securities which a holder of the number of shares of Common Stock subject to such Option, LSAR, Tandem SAR or Stand-Alone SAR would have received in such merger or consolidation.

     (e)  Outstanding Options, LSARs, Tandem SARs and Stand-Alone
          SARs--Certain Other Transactions

          In the event of (i) a dissolution or liquidation of Amber, (ii) a sale of all or substantially all of Amber's assets, (iii) a merger or consolidation involving Amber in which Amber is not the surviving corporation or (iv) a merger or consolidation involving Amber in which Amber is the surviving corporation but the holders of shares of Common Stock receive securities of another corporation and/or other property, including cash, the Committee shall, in its absolute discretion, have the power to:

               (i) cancel, effective immediately prior to the occurrence of such event, each Option (including each LSAR and Tandem SAR related thereto) and Stand-Alone SAR outstanding immediately prior to such event (whether or not then exercisable), and, in full consideration of such cancellation, pay to the Participant to whom such Option or Stand-Alone SAR was granted an amount in cash, for
          each share of Common Stock subject to such Option or Stand-Alone SAR, respectively, equal to the excess of
          (A) the value, as determined by the Committee in its absolute discretion, of the property (including cash) received by the holder of a share of Common Stock as a result of such event over (B) the exercise price of such Option or Stand-Alone SAR; or

               (ii) provide for the exchange of each Option
          (including any related LSAR or Tandem SAR) and Stand-Alone SAR outstanding immediately prior to such event (whether or not then exercisable) for an option on or stock appreciation right with respect to, as appropriate, some or all of the property for which such Option or Stand-Alone SAR is exchanged and, incident thereto, make an equitable adjustment as determined by the Committee in its absolute discretion in the exercise price of the
          option or stock appreciation right, or the number of shares or amount of property subject to the option or stock appreciation right or, if appropriate, provide for a cash payment to the Participant to whom such Option or Stand-Alone SAR was granted in partial consideration for the exchange of the Option or Stand-Alone SAR.

     (f)  Outstanding Options, LSARs, Tandem SARs and Stand-Alone
          SARs--Other Changes

          In the event of any change in the capitalization of Amber or corporate change other than those specifically referred to in Section 14(c), (d) or (e) hereof, the Committee may, in its absolute discretion, make such adjustments in the number and
     class of shares subject to Options, LSARs, Tandem SARs or Stand-Alone SARs outstanding on the date on which such change occurs and in the per share exercise price of each such Option, LSAR, Tandem SAR and Stand-Alone SAR as the Committee may consider appropriate to prevent dilution or enlargement of rights.

     (g)  No Other Rights

          Except as expressly provided in the Plan, no
     Participant shall have any rights by reason of any subdivision or consolidation of shares of stock of any class, the payment of any dividend, any increase or decrease in the number of shares of stock of any class or any dissolution, liquidation, merger or consolidation of Amber or any other corporation. Except as expressly provided in the Plan, no issuance by Amber of shares of stock of any class, or securities convertible, into shares
     of stock of any class, shall affect, and no adjustment by reason thereof shall be made with respect to the number of shares of Common Stock subject to an Incentive Award or the exercise price of any Option, LSAR, Tandem SAR or Stand-Alone SAR.

15.  Rights as a Stockholder

     No person shall have any rights as a stockholder with respect to any shares of Common Stock covered by or relating to any Incentive Award granted pursuant to this Plan until the date of the issuance of a stock certificate with respect to such shares. Except as otherwise expressly provided in Section 14 hereof, no adjustment to any Incentive Award shall be made for dividends or other rights for which the record date occurs prior to the date such stock certificate is issued.

16.  No Special Employment Rights; No Right to Incentive Award

     Nothing contained in the Plan or any Incentive Award shall confer upon any Participant any right with respect to the continuation of his employment by the Company or interfere in any way with the right of the Company, subject to the terms of any separate employment agreement to the contrary, at any time to terminate such employment or to increase or decrease the compensation of the Participant from the rate in existence at the time of the grant of an Incentive Award.

     No person shall have any claim or right to receive an Incentive Award hereunder. The Committee's granting of an Incentive Award to a Participant at any time shall neither require the Committee to grant an Incentive Award to such Participant or any other Participant or other person at any time nor preclude the Committee from making subsequent grants to such Participant or any other Participant or other person.

17.  Securities Matters

          (a) Notwithstanding anything herein to the contrary, the Company shall not be obligated to cause to be issued or delivered any certificates evidencing shares of Common Stock pursuant to the Plan unless and until the Company is advised by its counsel that the issuance and delivery of such certificates is in compliance with all applicable laws, regulations of governmental authority and the requirements of any securities exchange on which shares of Common Stock are traded. The Committee may require, as a condition of the issuance and delivery of certificates evidencing shares of Common Stock pursuant to the terms hereof, that the recipient of such shares make such covenants, agreements and representations, and that such certificates bear such legends, as the Committee, in its sole discretion, deems necessary or desirable.

          (b) The exercise of any Option granted hereunder shall only be effective at such time as counsel to the Company shall have determined that the issuance and delivery of shares of Common Stock pursuant to such exercise is in compliance with all applicable laws, regulations of governmental authority and the requirements of any securities exchange on which shares of Common Stock are traded. The Company may, in its sole
     discretion, defer the effectiveness of any exercise of an Option granted hereunder in order to allow the issuance of shares of Common stock pursuant thereto to be made pursuant to registration or an exemption from the registration or other methods for compliance available under federal or state securities laws. The Company shall inform the Participant in writing of its decision to defer the effectiveness of the exercise of an Option granted
      hereunder.  During the period
     that the effectiveness of the exercise of an Option has been deferred, the Participant may, by written notice, withdraw such exercise and obtain the refund of any amount paid with respect thereto.

          (c) With respect to persons subject to Section 16 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, transactions under this Plan are intended to comply with all applicable conditions of Rule 16b-3 or its successors under the Exchange Act. To the extent any provision of the Plan or action by the Committee fails to so comply, it shall be deemed null and void, to the extent permitted by law and deemed advisable by the Committee.

18.  Withholding Taxes

     (a)  Cash Remittance

          Whenever shares of Common Stock are to be issued upon the exercise of an Option, the occurrence of the Issue Date or Vesting Date with respect to a share of Restricted Stock or the payment of a Stock Bonus, the Company shall have the right to require the Participant to remit to the Company in cash an amount sufficient to satisfy federal, state and local withholding tax requirements, if any, attributable to such exercise, occurrence or payment prior to the delivery of any certificate or certificates for such shares. In addition, upon the exercise of an LSAR, Tandem SAR or Stand-Alone SAR, the grant of a Cash Bonus or the making of a payment with respect to a share of Phantom Stock, the Company shall have the right to withhold from any cash payment required to be made pursuant thereto an amount sufficient to satisfy the federal, state and local withholding tax requirements.

     (b)  Stock Remittance

          At the election of the Participant, subject to the approval of the Committee, when shares of Common Stock are to be issued upon the exercise of an Option, the occurrence of the Issue Date or the Vesting Date with respect to a share of Restricted Stock or the grant of a Stock Bonus, in lieu of the remittance required by Section 18(a) hereof, the Participant may tender to the Company a number of shares of Common Stock determined by such Participant, the Fair Market Value of which at the tender date the Committee determines to be sufficient to satisfy the federal, state and local withholding tax requirements, if any, attributable to such exercise, occurrence or grant and not greater than the Participant's estimated total federal, state and local tax obligations associated with such exercise, occurrence or grant.

     (c)  Stock Withholding

          At the election of the Participant, subject to the approval of the Committee, when shares of Common Stock are to be issued upon the exercise of an Option, the occurrence of the Issue Date or the Vesting Date with respect to a share of Restricted Stock or the grant of a Stock Bonus, in lieu of the remittance required by Section 18(a) hereof, the Company shall withhold a number of such shares determined by such Participant, the Fair Market Value of which at the exercise date the Committee determines to be sufficient to satisfy the federal, state and local withholding tax requirements, if any, attributable to such exercise, occurrence or grant and is not greater than the Participant's estimated total federal, state
     and local tax obligations associated with such exercise,
     occurrence or grant.

     (d)  Timing and Method of Elections

          Notwithstanding any other provisions of the Plan, a Participant who is subject to Section 16(b) of the Exchange Act may not make either of the elections described in Sections 18(b) and (c) hereof prior to the expiration of six months after the date on which the applicable Option, share of Restricted Stock or Stock Bonus was granted, except in the event of the death or Disability of the Participant, unless the Company is advised by its counsel that such election(s) may be permitted pursuant to Section 16 of the Exchange Act or any rule or interpretation of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission thereunder.

19.  Amendment of the Plan

     The Board of Directors may at any time suspend or terminate
the Plan or revise or amend it in any respect whatsoever provided
that such action does not diminish rights pursuant to instruments
or securities already granted under the Plan.

20.  No Obligation to Exercise

     The grant to a Participant of an Option, LSAR, Tandem SAR or
Stand-Alone SAR shall impose no obligation upon such Participant
to exercise such Option, LSAR, Tandem SAR or Stand-Alone SAR.

21.  Transfers Upon Death or Pursuant to a Qualified Domestic
Relations Order

     Upon the death of a Participant or pursuant to a qualified domestic relations order, outstanding Incentive Awards granted to such Participant may be exercised by the executors or administrators of the Participant's estate or by any person or persons who shall have acquired such right to exercise by will, the laws of descent and distribution, or pursuant to a qualified domestic relations order. No transfer by will, the laws of descent and distribution, or pursuant to a qualified domestic relations order, of any Incentive Award, or the right to exercise any Incentive Award, shall be effective to bind the Company unless the Committee shall have been furnished with (a) written notice thereof and with a copy of the will, order, and/or such evidence as the Committee may deem necessary to establish the validity of the transfer and (b) an agreement by the transferee to comply with all the terms and conditions of the Incentive Award that are or would have been applicable to the Participant and to be bound by the acknowledgements made by the Participant in connection with the grant of the Incentive Award.

22.  Expenses and Receipts

     The expenses of the Plan shall be paid by the Company.  Any
proceeds received by the Company in connection with any Incentive
Award will be used for general corporate purposes.

23.  Participant's Failure to Comply

     In addition to the remedies of the Company elsewhere provided for herein, failure by a Participant to comply with any of the terms and conditions of the Plan or the agreement executed by such Participant evidencing an Incentive Award, unless such failure is remedied by such Participant within ten days after having been notified of such failure by the Committee, shall be grounds for the cancellation and forfeiture of such Incentive Award, in whole or in part, as the Committee, in its absolute discretion, may determine.

24.  Effective Date and Term of Plan

     This Plan shall be effective as of November 21, 1996.  The
Plan shall terminate on November 21, 2006 unless earlier
terminated pursuant to Section 19.  No grants may be made under
the Plan after November 21, 2006.

25.  Participation in the Plan by Nonemployee Directors

     (a)  The Plan will be administered as to Nonemployee
Directors by the Board of Directors.

     (b)  All Nonemployee Directors shall participate in the
Plan, subject to the conditions and limitations of the Plan, so
long as they remain eligible to participate in the Plan.

     (c) No Nonemployee Director shall be eligible for an Incentive Award if, at the time said Incentive Award would otherwise be granted, such Nonemployee Director (i) is
directly or indirectly the beneficial owner of five percent
or more of any class of equity security of the Company which is registered pursuant to Section 12 of the Exchange Act or of
any security convertible into or exercisable for such class
of equity security (excluding shares covered by the Plan); or
(ii) is an officer, director, 10% or greater shareholder, employee or agent of a person or entity which is directly or indirectly the beneficial owners of more than five percent
of any class of equity security of the Company which is registered pursuant to Section 12 of the Exchange Act or of
any security convertible into or exercisable for such class
of equity security (excluding shares covered by the Plan). Incentive Award grants, if any, to any such non-eligible Nonemployee Directors shall be determined by the Board.

     (d)  Unless the Board of Directors shall otherwise direct
the Options shall automatically be granted to Nonemployee
Directors according to the following formula:

          (i) Options shall be determined for all eligible Nonemployee Directors of the Company in each calendar year during the term of the Plan on December 31. Non Stock Options may be changed after it has been so determined, except pursuant to the Plan. No Nonemployee Director shall be entitled to receive more than one Stock Option per year pursuant to the Plan even if such Nonemployee Director serves as a director for more than one Participating Company. The Stock Option shall be granted to each Participant by the Company or, if the Participant is not a Nonemployee Director of the Company, by the Participating Company for which a Nonemployee Director serves as a director.

          (ii) Options shall be granted pursuant to the Plan to
          eligible Participants as follows:

               (aa) Each Participant shall be granted an option for 7,500 shares of common stock, or, if a director for less than the prior 12 months, a pro rata portion of 7,500 shares of common stock based upon the number of months such Participant was a Nonemployee Director of the Company.

          The exercise price of the Stock Options to be granted to Nonemployee Directors pursuant to the Plan shall be 50% of
the Market Price as determined at the date of grant.  The
"Market Price" of a share of common stock under the Plan shall be the average of the "Fair Market Value" of the common stock for all trading days during the twelve months preceding the date on which the stock option is determined. The "Fair Market
Value" of a share of common stock with respect to any day shall be (i) the closing sales price of a share of common stock as reported on the principal securities exchange on which
shares of common stock are then listed or admitted to trading; or
(ii) if not so reported, the last sale price as reported by
the NASDAQ Stock Market; or (iii) if not so reported, the
average of the closing bid and ask prices as reported on the NASDAQ Stock Market; or (iv) if not so reported, as
furnished by any member of the National Association of Securities Dealers, Inc. selected by the Committee. Each Stock Option
shall be exercisable for a ten year period commencing on the
date of grant and shall expire ten years after the date of
grant. Certificates evidencing the Stock Options shall be registered in the respective names of the Participants and
shall be issued to each Participant as soon as practicable following the date of grant.