Exhibit 99.2

                     SUPPLEMENTAL INDENTURE

                  Dated as of September 1, 2004

                               TO

             Indenture of Mortgage and Deed of Trust

                     Dated as of May 1, 1921


                           ___________


             THE CONNECTICUT LIGHT AND POWER COMPANY

                               TO

              DEUTSCHE BANK TRUST COMPANY AMERICAS
                 (f/k/a BANKERS TRUST COMPANY),
                             Trustee


                           ___________


           2004 Series A Bonds, Due September 15, 2014

      SUPPLEMENTAL INDENTURE, dated as of the first day
of  September, 2004 between THE CONNECTICUT  LIGHT  AND
POWER  COMPANY,  a corporation organized  and  existing
under   the   laws   of   the  State   of   Connecticut
(hereinafter  called  "Company"),  and  DEUTSCHE   BANK
TRUST  COMPANY AMERICAS (f/k/a BANKERS TRUST  COMPANY),
a  corporation organized and existing under the laws of
the State of New York (hereinafter called "Trustee").

      WHEREAS,  the  Company heretofore duly  executed,
acknowledged  and  delivered to the Trustee  a  certain
Indenture  of Mortgage and Deed of Trust  dated  as  of
May   1,  1921,  and  seventy  Supplemental  Indentures
thereto  dated respectively as of May 1, 1921, February
1,  1924,  July 1, 1926, June 20, 1928, June  1,  1932,
July  1, 1932, July 1, 1935, September 1, 1936, October
20,  1936,  December 1, 1936, December 1, 1938,  August
31,  1944,  September 1, 1944, May 1, 1945, October  1,
1945,  November 1, 1949, December 1, 1952, December  1,
1955,  January  1,  1958, February 1,  1960,  April  1,
1961,  September 1, 1963, April 1, 1967, May  1,  1967,
January  1,  1968, October 1, 1968, December  1,  1969,
January  1,  1970, October 1, 1970, December  1,  1971,
August  1, 1972, April 1, 1973, March 1, 1974, February
1,  1975,  September 1, 1975, May  1,  1977,  March  1,
1978,  September  1, 1980, October 1,  1981,  June  30,
1982,  October 1, 1982, July 1, 1983, January 1,  1984,
October  1,  1985, September 1, 1986,  April  1,  1987,
October  1,  1987,  November 1, 1987,  April  1,  1988,
November  1,  1988,  June 1, 1989, September  1,  1989,
December 1, 1989, April 1, 1992, July 1, 1992,  October
1,  1992, July 1, 1993, July 1, 1993, December 1, 1993,
February  1,  1994,  February 1, 1994,  June  1,  1994,
October 1, 1994, June 1, 1996, January 1, 1997, May  1,
1997,  June 1, 1997, June 1, 1997, May 1, 1998 and  May
1,  1998 (said Indenture of Mortgage and Deed of  Trust
(i)  as heretofore amended, being hereinafter generally
called  the  "Mortgage Indenture,"  and  (ii)  together
with   said  Supplemental  Indentures  thereto,   being
hereinafter  generally called the "Mortgage"),  all  of
which  have been duly recorded as required by law,  for
the   purpose  of  securing  its  First  and  Refunding
Mortgage   Bonds   (of  which  $201,845,000   aggregate
principal  amount are outstanding at the date  of  this
Supplemental Indenture) in an unlimited amount,  issued
and  to  be  issued for the purposes and in the  manner
therein  provided, of which Mortgage this  Supplemental
Indenture  is intended to be made a part, as  fully  as
if therein recited at length;

       WHEREAS,   the   Company  by   appropriate   and
sufficient  corporate  action in  conformity  with  the
provisions  of  the  Mortgage has  duly  determined  to
create a further series of bonds under the Mortgage  to
be  designated  "First  and Refunding  Mortgage  4-4/5%
Bonds,  2004 Series A" (hereinafter generally  referred
to  as  the  "bonds of 2004 Series A"), to  consist  of
fully  registered bonds containing terms and provisions
duly fixed and determined by the Board of Directors  of
the   Company   and  expressed  in  this   Supplemental
Indenture,   such  fully  registered  bonds   and   the
Trustee's certificate of its authentication thereof  to
be  substantially in the forms thereof respectively set
forth  in  Schedule A appended hereto and made  a  part
hereof; and

      WHEREAS,  the  execution  and  delivery  of  this
Supplemental Indenture and the issue of not  in  excess
of   One  Hundred  Fifty Million Dollars ($150,000,000)
in  aggregate principal amount of bonds of 2004  Series
A   and   other  necessary  actions  have   been   duly
authorized  by the Board of Directors of  the  Company;
and

      WHEREAS,  the  Company proposes  to  execute  and
deliver this Supplemental Indenture to provide for  the
issue of the bonds of 2004 Series A and to confirm  the
lien  of  the  Mortgage  on the  property  referred  to
below,  all  as  permitted  by  Section  14.01  of  the
Mortgage Indenture; and

       WHEREAS,  all  acts  and  things  necessary   to
constitute   this  Supplemental  Indenture   a   valid,
binding  and legal instrument and to make the bonds  of
2004  Series  A,  when  executed  by  the  Company  and
authenticated by the Trustee valid, binding  and  legal
obligations  of  the Company have been  authorized  and
performed;

      NOW,  THEREFORE, THIS SUPPLEMENTAL  INDENTURE  OF
MORTGAGE AND DEED OF TRUST WITNESSETH:

      That  in  order  to  secure the  payment  of  the
principal  of and interest on all bonds issued  and  to
be  issued under the Mortgage, according to their tenor
and  effect, and according to the terms of the Mortgage
and  this  Supplemental Indenture, and  to  secure  the
performance  of the covenants and obligations  in  said
bonds   and  in  the  Mortgage  and  this  Supplemental
Indenture  respectively contained, and for  the  better
assuring   and   confirming  unto  the   Trustee,   its
successor or successors and its or their assigns,  upon
the  trusts  and  for  the purposes  expressed  in  the
Mortgage  and  this  Supplemental  Indenture,  all  and
singular  the  hereditaments,  premises,  estates   and
property  of  the Company thereby conveyed or  assigned
or  intended  so  to  be,  or  which  the  Company  may
thereafter  have become bound to convey  or  assign  to
the  Trustee,  as security for said bonds (except  such
hereditaments, premises, estates and property as  shall
have  been  disposed of or released or  withdrawn  from
the   lien   of  the  Mortgage  and  this  Supplemental
Indenture,  in  accordance with the provisions  thereof
and  subject to alterations, modifications and  changes
in  said  hereditaments, premises, estates and property
as   permitted  under  the  provisions  thereof),   the
Company,  for and in consideration of the premises  and
the  sum  of One Dollar ($1.00) to it in hand  paid  by
the    Trustee,   the   receipt   whereof   is   hereby
acknowledged,  and  of  other valuable  considerations,
has  granted,  bargained,  sold,  assigned,  mortgaged,
pledged,  transferred,  set over,  aliened,  enfeoffed,
released,   conveyed  and  confirmed,  and   by   these
presents  does grant, bargain, sell, assign,  mortgage,
pledge,  transfer,  set over, alien, enfeoff,  release,
convey  and  confirm  unto  said  Deutsche  Bank  Trust
Company  Americas  (f/k/a Bankers  Trust  Company),  as
Trustee, and its successor or successors in the  trusts
created   by   the   Mortgage  and  this   Supplemental
Indenture,  and  its  and their assigns,  all  of  said
hereditaments,  premises, estates and property  (except
and   subject  as  aforesaid),  as  fully   as   though
described   at   length  herein,   including,   without
limitation  of the foregoing, the property, rights  and
privileges of the Company described or referred  to  in
Schedule B hereto.

      Together  with all plants, buildings, structures,
improvements  and  machinery  located  upon  said  real
estate   or  any  portion  thereof,  and  all   rights,
privileges  and  easements of  every  kind  and  nature
appurtenant   thereto,  and  all   and   singular   the
tenements,  hereditaments and  appurtenances  belonging
to  the  real  estate or any part thereof described  or
referred to in Schedule B or intended so to be,  or  in
any  wise  appertaining thereto,  and  the  reversions,
remainders,  rents,  issues and  profits  thereof,  and
also  all the estate, right, title, interest, property,
possession,  claim and demand whatsoever,  as  well  in
law  as  in equity, of the Company, of, in and  to  the
same   and  any  and  every  part  thereof,  with   the
appurtenances; except and subject as aforesaid.

       TO  HAVE  AND  TO  HOLD  all  and  singular  the
property,  rights  and  privileges  hereby  granted  or
mentioned or intended so to be, together with  all  and
singular  the reversions, remainders, rents,  revenues,
income,    issues    and   profits,   privileges    and
appurtenances,  now or hereafter belonging  or  in  any
way  appertaining  thereto, unto the  Trustee  and  its
successor  or  successors in the trust created  by  the
Mortgage and this Supplemental Indenture, and  its  and
their assigns, forever, and with like effect as if  the
above  described  property, rights and  privileges  had
been  specifically described at length in the  Mortgage
and this Supplemental Indenture.

      Subject, however, to permitted liens, as  defined
in the Mortgage Indenture.

      IN TRUST, NEVERTHELESS, upon the terms and trusts
of  the  Mortgage and this Supplemental  Indenture  for
those  who shall hold the bonds and coupons issued  and
to  be  issued  thereunder, or  any  of  them,  without
preference, priority or distinction as to lien  of  any
of  said  bonds and coupons over any others thereof  by
reason  of  priority  in  the  time  of  the  issue  or
negotiation  thereof, or otherwise howsoever,  subject,
however,  to  the provisions in reference to  extended,
transferred or pledged coupons and claims for  interest
set   forth  in  the  Mortgage  and  this  Supplemental
Indenture  (and subject to any sinking  fund  that  may
heretofore  have been or hereafter be created  for  the
benefit of any particular series).

      And  it is hereby covenanted that all such  bonds
of  2004  Series A are to be issued, authenticated  and
delivered, and that the mortgaged premises  are  to  be
held  by  the Trustee, upon and subject to the  trusts,
covenants, provisions and conditions and for  the  uses
and  purposes  set  forth  in  the  Mortgage  and  this
Supplemental  Indenture and upon  and  subject  to  the
further  covenants, provisions and conditions  and  for
the  uses  and  purposes  hereinafter  set  forth,   as
follows, to wit:

                     ARTICLE 1.

     FORM AND PROVISIONS OF BONDS OF 2004 SERIES A

      SECTION 1.01.  Designation; Amount.  The bonds of
2004  Series A shall be designated "First and Refunding
Mortgage  4-4/5% Bonds, 2004 Series A" and, subject  to
Section  2.08  of  the  Mortgage Indenture,  shall  not
exceed    One    Hundred    Fifty    Million    Dollars
($150,000,000)  in aggregate principal  amount  at  any
one  time outstanding.  The initial issue of the  bonds
of  2004 Series A may be effected upon compliance  with
the applicable provisions of the Mortgage Indenture.

      SECTION  1.02.  Form of Bonds of 2004  Series  A.
The  bonds  of  2004 Series A shall be issued  only  in
fully  registered form without coupons in denominations
of   One   Thousand  Dollars  ($1,000)  and   multiples
thereof.

      The bonds of 2004 Series A and the certificate of
the  Trustee upon said bonds shall be substantially  in
the forms thereof respectively set forth in Schedule  A
appended hereto.

      SECTION 1.03.  Provisions of Bonds of 2004 Series
A;  Interest Accrual.  The bonds of 2004 Series A shall
mature  on September 15, 2014, and shall bear interest,
payable semiannually on the fifteenth day of March  and
September  of each year, commencing March 15,  2005  at
the  rate specified in their title, until the Company's
obligation  in  respect of the principal thereof  shall
be   discharged;  and  shall  be  payable  both  as  to
principal and interest at the office or agency  of  the
Company  in  the Borough of Manhattan,  New  York,  New
York,  in any coin or currency of the United States  of
America  which at the time of payment is  legal  tender
for  the  payment  of  public and private  debts.   The
interest  on  the bonds of 2004 Series  A,  whether  in
temporary or definitive form, shall be payable  without
presentation  of such bonds; and only to  or  upon  the
written  order  of  the registered holders  thereof  of
record  at  the applicable record date.  The  bonds  of
2004  Series  A  shall be callable  for  redemption  in
whole  or in part according to the terms and provisions
herein in Article 2.

      Each  bond of 2004 Series A shall be dated as  of
September  17,  2004  and shall bear  interest  on  the
principal  amount  thereof from  the  interest  payment
date  next preceding the date of authentication thereof
by  the Trustee to which interest has been paid on  the
bonds   of   2004  Series  A,  or  if   the   date   of
authentication  thereof is prior  to  March  15,  2005,
then  from  September  17, 2004,  or  if  the  date  of
authentication thereof be an interest payment  date  to
which  interest  is being paid or a  date  between  the
record  date  for  any such interest payment  date  and
such  interest  payment date, then from  such  interest
payment  date.  Interest on the bonds of 2004 Series  A
shall  be  computed  on the basis  of  a  360-day  year
consisting  of twelve 30-day months, and  with  respect
to  any period less than a full month, on the basis  of
the actual number of days elapsed in such period.

      The  person in whose name any bond of 2004 Series
A  is registered at the close of business on any record
date  (as  hereinafter defined)  with  respect  to  any
interest payment date shall be entitled to receive  the
interest   payable  on  such  interest   payment   date
notwithstanding the cancellation of such bond upon  any
registration   of   transfer   or   exchange    thereof
subsequent  to  the  record  date  and  prior  to  such
interest  payment  date, except  that  if  and  to  the
extent the Company shall default in the payment of  the
interest  due on such interest payment date, then  such
defaulted  interest  shall be paid  to  the  person  in
whose  name  such  bond is registered on  a  subsequent
record  date  for the payment of defaulted interest  if
one   shall   have  been  established  as   hereinafter
provided and otherwise on the date of payment  of  such
defaulted  interest.  A subsequent record date  may  be
established  by  the Company by notice  mailed  to  the
owners  of  bonds of 2004 Series A not  less  than  ten
(10)  days  preceding such record  date,  which  record
date  shall not be more than thirty (30) days prior  to
the  subsequent interest payment date. The term "record
date"  as  used  in this Section with  respect  to  any
regular  interest payment (i.e., March 15 or  September
15)  shall mean the March 1 or September 1, as the case
may  be, next preceding such interest payment date,  or
if  such  March  1  or September 1  shall  be  a  legal
holiday or a day on which banking institutions  in  the
Borough   of   Manhattan,  New  York,  New   York   are
authorized  by  law  to close, the next  preceding  day
which  shall not be a legal holiday or a day  on  which
such institutions are so authorized to close.

      SECTION 1.04.  Transfer and Exchange of Bonds  of
2004  Series  A.   The bonds of 2004 Series  A  may  be
surrendered  for registration of transfer  as  provided
in  Section  2.06  of  the Mortgage  Indenture  at  the
office  or  agency  of the Company in  the  Borough  of
Manhattan,  New York, New York, and may be  surrendered
at  said  office  for  exchange for  a  like  aggregate
principal  amount of bonds of 2004 Series  A  of  other
authorized    denominations.     Notwithstanding    the
provisions  of Section 2.06 of the Mortgage  Indenture,
no  charge,  except  for  taxes or  other  governmental
charges,  shall  be  made  by  the  Company   for   any
registration of transfer of bonds of 2004 Series  A  or
for  the  exchange of any bonds of 2004  Series  A  for
bonds of other authorized denominations.

       SECTION  1.05.   Amendment  and  Restatement  of
Mortgage  Indenture.  Each holder of  a  bond  of  2004
Series  A, solely by virtue of its acquisition thereof,
including   as  an  owner  of  a  book-entry   interest
therein,  shall  have and be deemed to have  consented,
without  the need for any further action or consent  by
such  holder, to the amendment and restatement  of  the
Mortgage Indenture in substantially the form set  forth
in  Schedule  C appended hereto and made a part  hereof
(the  "Amended  and  Restated  Indenture"),  with  such
additions,  deletions, and other changes made  to  such
form   prior   to  the  time  of  such  amendment   and
restatement  ("Future Changes") (1)  that  add  to  the
covenants  of  the Company in the Amended and  Restated
Indenture,  or  surrender  rights  or  powers  of   the
Company therein, for the benefit of the holders of  the
outstanding bonds issued under the Mortgage  Indenture,
(2)  as  shall  be  requested by the  Trustee  and  its
counsel,  (3)  as  may be requested by the  Connecticut
Department   of   Public  Utility  Control   or   other
regulatory  authority  having  jurisdiction  over   the
Company, or (4) otherwise, as shall be proposed by  the
Company  after the date of the execution  and  delivery
of  this Supplemental Indenture, provided that  (a)  in
the  case of any Future Change described in clause (4),
such  Future Change is not, in the reasonable  judgment
of  the  Company,  inconsistent  with  the  fundamental
structure  and  terms  of  the  Amended  and   Restated
Indenture,  and  (b) in the case of any  Future  Change
described  in  clause (3) or (4),  such  Future  Change
does  not adversely affect in any material respect  the
interests of the holders of the bonds issued under  the
Mortgage Indenture.

                    ARTICLE 2.

        REDEMPTION OF BONDS OF 2004 SERIES A

      The  bonds  of  2004  Series  A  are  subject  to
redemption  prior to maturity, as a whole at  any  time
or  in  part from time to time, in accordance with  the
provisions  of the Mortgage, upon not less than  thirty
(30)  days  and  not more than sixty  (60)  days  prior
notice  (which  notice  may  be  made  subject  to  the
deposit  of  redemption moneys with the Trustee  before
the  date  fixed  for  redemption)  given  by  mail  as
provided  in  the  Mortgage,  at  the  option  of   the
Company, at a redemption price equal to the greater  of
(i)  100%  of  the principal amount of the bonds  being
redeemed or (ii) the sum of the present values  of  the
remaining scheduled payments of principal and  interest
thereon  discounted  to the date  of  redemption  on  a
semiannual  basis (assuming a 360-day  year  consisting
of  twelve  30-day  months) at the Treasury Rate,  plus
10  basis  points,  plus,  in each  case,  accrued  and
unpaid  interest on the principal amount of  the  bonds
being   redeemed   to  the  date  of  redemption   (the
"Redemption Date").

       "Treasury  Rate"  means,  with  respect  to  any
Redemption  Date,  (i)  the yield,  under  the  heading
which   represents  the  average  for  the  immediately
preceding   week,  appearing  in  the   most   recently
published  statistical  release designated  "H.15(519)"
or  any successor publication which is published weekly
by  the  Board  of  Governors of  the  Federal  Reserve
System  and which establishes yields on actively traded
U.S.  Treasury securities adjusted to constant maturity
under  the caption "Treasury Constant Maturities,"  for
the  maturity corresponding to the Comparable  Treasury
Issue (if no maturity is within three months before  or
after  the  remaining life (as defined  below),  yields
for   the   two   published  maturities  most   closely
corresponding to the Comparable Treasury Issue will  be
determined  and the Treasury Rate will be  interpolated
or  extrapolated  from such yields on a  straight  line
basis,  rounding  to the nearest month);  or  (ii)   if
such   release  (or  any  successor  release)  is   not
published  during  the week preceding  the  calculation
date  or  does  not contain such yields, the  rate  per
annum  equal  to  the  semiannual equivalent  yield  to
maturity  of the Comparable Treasury Issue,  calculated
using   a  price  for  the  Comparable  Treasury  Issue
(expressed  as  a  percentage of its principal  amount)
equal  to  the  comparable  treasury  price  for   such
Redemption  Date. The Treasury Rate will be  calculated
on  the third business day preceding the date fixed for
redemption.

      "Comparable  Treasury  Issue"  means  the  United
State  Treasury  security selected  by  an  Independent
Investment  Banker as having a maturity  comparable  to
the  remaining term ("remaining life") of the bonds  to
be  redeemed  that would be utilized, at  the  time  of
selection  and  in accordance with customary  financial
practice,  in  pricing  new issues  of  corporate  debt
securities  of  comparable maturity  to  the  remaining
term of such bonds.

       "Comparable  Treasury  Price"  means  (i)    the
average  of  five Reference Treasury Dealer  Quotations
for  such Redemption Date, after excluding the  highest
and  lowest  Reference Treasury Dealer  Quotations,  or
(ii)  if  the  Independent  Investment  Banker  obtains
fewer   than   four  such  Reference  Treasury   Dealer
Quotations, the average of all such quotations.

       "Independent   Investment   Banker"   means   an
independent investment banking institution of  national
standing appointed by the Company.

       "Reference  Treasury  Dealer"  means  any   five
Primary Treasury Dealers selected by the Company  after
consultation  with  the Independent Investment  Banker,
provided,  however, that if any of the foregoing  shall
cease  to  be  a  primary  U.S.  Government  securities
dealer  in New York City (a "Primary Treasury Dealer"),
the  Company shall substitute therefor another  Primary
Treasury Dealer.

      "Reference  Treasury  Dealer  Quotations"  means,
with respect to each Reference Treasury Dealer and  any
Redemption  Date,  the average, as  determined  by  the
Independent  Investment Banker, of the  bid  and  asked
prices for the Comparable Treasury Issue (expressed  in
each  case  as  a  percentage of its principal  amount)
quoted  in writing to the Independent Investment Banker
at  5:00  p.m.,  New  York  City  time,  on  the  third
business day preceding such Redemption Date.

      So  long as the bonds are registered in the  name
of   The   Depository  Trust  Company,  as   depositary
("DTC"), its nominee or a successor depositary, if  the
Company  elects to redeem less than all of  the  bonds,
DTC's  practice is to determine by lot  the  amount  of
the  interest of each direct participant, in the  bonds
of  such  series to be redeemed.  At all  other  times,
the  Trustee  shall draw by lot, in such manner  as  it
deems  appropriate, the particular bonds,  or  portions
of them, to be redeemed.

      Notice  of redemption shall be given by  mail  to
the  holders of bonds, which, as long as the bonds  are
held  in  the book-entry only system, will be DTC,  its
nominee  or a successor depositary.  On and  after  the
date  fixed for redemption (unless the Company defaults
in  the  payment of the redemption price  and  interest
accrued  thereon to such date), interest on  the  bonds
of  such series, or the portions of them so called  for
redemption, shall cease to accrue.

      The  bonds  of  2004 Series A are  not  otherwise
subject to redemption.

                           ARTICLE 3.

                         MISCELLANEOUS.

      SECTION 3.01.  Benefits of Supplemental Indenture
and   Bonds  of  2004  Series  A.   Nothing   in   this
Supplemental Indenture, or in the bonds of 2004  Series
A,  expressed or implied, is intended to  or  shall  be
construed  to  give to any person or corporation  other
than  the Company, the Trustee and the holders  of  the
bonds  and interest obligations secured by the Mortgage
and   this   Supplemental  Indenture,  any   legal   or
equitable  right, remedy or claim under or  in  respect
of  this  Supplemental Indenture or  of  any  covenant,
condition  or  provision  herein  contained.   All  the
covenants,  conditions and provisions  hereof  are  and
shall  be  for  the sole and exclusive benefit  of  the
Company, the Trustee and the holders of the bonds   and
interest  obligations secured by the Mortgage and  this
Supplemental Indenture.

      SECTION  3.02.  Effect of Table of  Contents  and
Headings.   The  table of contents and the  description
headings of the several Articles and Sections  of  this
Supplemental Indenture are inserted for convenience  of
reference only and are not to be taken to be  any  part
of  this Supplemental Indenture or to control or affect
the meaning, construction or effect of the same.

      SECTION 3.03.  Counterparts.  For the purpose  of
facilitating  the  recording hereof, this  Supplemental
Indenture   may   be   executed  in   any   number   of
counterparts,  each  of which shall  be  and  shall  be
taken  to be an original and all collectively  but  one
instrument.

      IN  WITNESS  WHEREOF, The Connecticut  Light  and
Power  Company has caused these presents to be executed
by  its  Vice  President-Accounting and Controller  and
its   corporate  seal  to  be  hereunto  affixed,  duly
attested  by  its  Secretary, and Deutsche  Bank  Trust
Company  Americas  has  caused  these  presents  to  be
executed by a Vice President and its corporate seal  to
be   hereunto  affixed,  duly  attested   by   a   Vice
President, as of the day and year first above written.








                              THE CONNECTICUT LIGHT AND
                              POWER COMPANY
Attest:

/s/ O. Kay Comendul           By: /s/ John P. Stack
Name:     O. Kay Comendul         Name: John P. Stack
Title:  Secretary                 Title: Vice President-Accounting
                                         and Controller

               (SEAL)             Signed, sealed and delivered
                                    in the presence of:

                                  /s/  Jane Seidl
                                  Jane Seidl

                                  /s/ Eileen Kearney
                                  Eileen Kearney

STATE OF CONNECTICUT     )
                         ) ss.: Berlin
COUNTY OF HARTFORD       )

     On this 13th day of September, 2004 before me,
Lisa Barlow, the undersigned officer,  personally
appeared John P. Stack and O. Kay Comendul, who
acknowledged themselves to be Vice President-
Accounting and Controller and  Secretary,
respectively, of THE CONNECTICUT LIGHT AND POWER
COMPANY, a corporation, and that they, as such Vice
President-Accounting and Controller and Secretary,
being authorized so to do, executed the foregoing
instrument for the purpose therein contained, by
signing the name of the corporation by themselves as
Vice President-Accounting and Controller and
Secretary, and as their free act and deed.

      IN  WITNESS WHEREOF, I hereunto set my  hand  and
official seal.


                    /s/ Lisa Barlow
                    Lisa Barlow
                    Notary Public
                    My commission expires March 31, 2006
    (SEAL)




                              DEUTSCHE BANK TRUST
                              COMPANY AMERICAS
                              f/k/a BANKERS TRUST
                              COMPANY, TRUSTEE
Attest:

/s/ Dorothy Robinson          By: /s/  Susan Johnson
Dorothy    Robinson              Name: Susan Johnson
Vice President                   Title: Vice President

         (SEAL)               Signed, sealed and delivered
                                in the presence of:

                               /s/  David J. Rocco
                               David J. Rocco


                                /s/ Victor Carneiro
                                Victor Carneiro
STATE OF NEW YORK       )
                        ) ss.:    New York
COUNTY OF NEW YORK      )

    On this 9th day of September ,  before me, Annie
Jaghatspanyan, the undersigned officer, personally
appeared  Susan Johnson and   Dorothy Robinson who
acknowledged themselves to be a  Vice President and a
Vice President, respectively, of DEUTSCHE BANK TRUST
COMPANY AMERICAS f/k/a BANKERS TRUST COMPANY, a
corporation, and that they, as such Susan Johnson and
such Dorothy Robinson, being authorized so to do,
executed the foregoing instrument for the purposes
therein contained, by signing the name of the
corporation by themselves as Vice President and Vice
President, and as their free act and deed.

     IN  WITNESS  WHEREOF, I hereunto set my  hand  and
official seal.

                   /s/  Anne Jaghatspanyan
                   Notary Public
                   My commission expires July 30, 2005
                   Anne Jaghatspanyan
                   Notary Public, State of New York
                   No. 01JA6062022
                   Qualified in New York County
(SEAL)


Exhibit 99.3
                       SCHEDULE A

                 [FORM OF BOND OF 2004 SERIES A]

No. $

     THIS  SECURITY  IS  A GLOBAL SECURITY  WITHIN  THE
MEANING OF THE MORTGAGE HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AND  IS
REGISTERED IN THE NAME OF A DEPOSITARY OR A NOMINEE  OF
A   DEPOSITARY.   THIS  SECURITY  IS  EXCHANGEABLE  FOR
SECURITIES  REGISTERED IN THE NAME OF  A  PERSON  OTHER
THAN  THE DEPOSITARY OR ITS NOMINEE ONLY IN THE LIMITED
CIRCUMSTANCES  DESCRIBED IN THE  MORTGAGE  AND  HEREIN,
AND  NO  TRANSFER  OF  THIS  SECURITY  (OTHER  THAN   A
TRANSFER  OF THIS SECURITY AS A WHOLE BY THE DEPOSITARY
TO  A NOMINEE OF THE DEPOSITARY OR BY A NOMINEE OF  THE
DEPOSITARY TO THE DEPOSITARY OR ANOTHER NOMINEE OF  THE
DEPOSITARY)  MAY  BE  REGISTERED  EXCEPT   IN   LIMITED
CIRCUMSTANCES.

     Unless  this  Global Security is presented  by  an
authorized  representative  of  The  Depository   Trust
Company,  a  New  York  corporation  ("DTC"),  to   The
Connecticut  Light and Power Company or its  agent  for
registration  of  transfer, exchange, or  payment,  and
any  certificate issued is registered in  the  name  of
Cede & Co. or in such other name as is requested by  an
authorized  representative of DTC (and any  payment  is
made  to  Cede  &  Co. or to such other  entity  as  is
requested by an authorized representative of DTC),  ANY
TRANSFER,  PLEDGE,  OR OTHER USE HEREOF  FOR  VALUE  OR
OTHERWISE  BY OR TO ANY PERSON IS WRONGFUL inasmuch  as
the  registered  owner  hereof,  Cede  &  Co.,  has  an
interest herein.

             THE CONNECTICUT LIGHT AND POWER COMPANY

           Incorporated under the Laws of the State of
                           Connecticut

     FIRST AND REFUNDING MORTGAGE  4-4/5% BOND, 2004 SERIES
                                A

                PRINCIPAL DUE SEPTEMBER 15, 2014

     FOR  VALUE  RECEIVED,  THE CONNECTICUT  LIGHT  AND
POWER  COMPANY,  a corporation organized  and  existing
under   the   laws   of   the  State   of   Connecticut
(hereinafter  called the Company), hereby  promises  to
pay  to _______________________, or registered assigns,
the principal sum of _____________________ dollars,  on
the  fifteenth  day  of  September,  2014  and  to  pay
interest,  including  overdue interest,  on  said  sum,
semiannually  on  the  fifteenth  days  of  March   and
September  in  each  year, commencing  March  15,  2005
until  the  Company's obligation with respect  to  said
principal  sum  shall be discharged, at  the  rate  per
annum  specified  in the title of this  bond  from  the
interest  payment  date  next  preceding  the  date  of
authentication hereof to which interest has  been  paid
on  the  bonds  of  this series,  or  if  the  date  of
authentication  hereof  is prior  to  March  15,  2005,
then  from  September  17, 2004,  or  if  the  date  of
authentication  hereof is an interest payment  date  to
which  interest  is being paid or a  date  between  the
record  date  for  any such interest payment  date  and
such  interest  payment date, then from  such  interest
payment  date.   Both principal and interest  shall  be
payable at the office or agency of the Company  in  the
Borough of Manhattan, New York, New York, in such  coin
or  currency of the United States of America as at  the
time  of  payment is legal tender for  the  payment  of
public and private debts.

     Interest  on the bonds of 2004 Series A  shall  be
computed  on the basis of a 360-day year consisting  of
twelve  30-day months, and with respect to  any  period
less  than  a  full month, on the basis of  the  actual
number of days elapsed for such period.

     Each  installment of interest hereon  (other  than
overdue  interest) shall be payable to the  person  who
shall  be  the  registered owner of this  bond  at  the
close  of  business on the record date, which shall  be
the  March 1 or September 1, as the case may  be,  next
preceding the interest payment date, or, if such  March
1  or September 1 shall be a legal holiday or a day  on
which   banking   institutions  in   the   Borough   of
Manhattan,  New York, New York, are authorized  by  law
to  close, the next preceding day which shall not be  a
legal  holiday or a day on which such institutions  are
so authorized to close.

     Reference is hereby made to the further provisions
of   this   bond  set  forth  on  the  reverse  hereof,
including  without limitation provisions in  regard  to
the  call  and  redemption  and  the  registration   of
transfer  and  exchangeability of this bond,  and  such
further  provisions  shall for all  purposes  have  the
same effect as though fully set forth in this place.

      This  bond  shall  not  become  or  be  valid  or
obligatory  until  the  certificate  of  authentication
hereon  shall have been signed by Deutsche  Bank  Trust
Company  Americas  (f/k/a  Bankers  Trust  Company  and
hereinafter  with  its successors  as  defined  in  the
Mortgage hereinafter referred to, generally called  the
Trustee), or by such a successor.

     IN  WITNESS  WHEREOF,  The Connecticut  Light  and
Power  Company has caused this bond to be  executed  in
its   corporate   name  and  on  its  behalf   by   its
________________  by  his  signature  or  a   facsimile
thereof,  and  its  corporate seal  to  be  affixed  or
imprinted   hereon  and  attested  by  the  manual   or
facsimile signature of its ________________.

Dated September  17, 2004.

                         THE CONNECTICUT LIGHT AND POWER
                         COMPANY


                         By:_____________________________
                            Name:
                            Title:


                         Attest:

                         __________________________________
                         Name:
                         Title:

                 [FORM OF TRUSTEE'S CERTIFICATE]

      Deutsche  Bank  Trust  Company  Americas   hereby
certifies  that this bond is one of the bonds described
in the within mentioned Mortgage.

                   DEUTSCHE BANK TRUST COMPANY
                   AMERICAS f/k/a BANKERS TRUST
                   COMPANY, TRUSTEE



                   By:__________________________________
                         Name:
                         Title: Authorized Officer
Dated __________, 20__

                         [FORM OF BOND]

                            [REVERSE]

             THE CONNECTICUT LIGHT AND POWER COMPANY

     FIRST AND REFUNDING MORTGAGE  4-4/5% BOND, 2004 SERIES
                                A


     This  bond  is  one of an issue of  bonds  of  the
Company,  of an unlimited authorized amount  of  coupon
bonds  or  registered bonds without coupons,  or  both,
known  as  its First and Refunding Mortgage Bonds,  all
issued  or to be issued in one or more series,  and  is
one  of  a  series of said bonds limited  in  principal
amount   to   One   Hundred   Fifty   Million   Dollars
($150,000,000),  consisting only  of  registered  bonds
without  coupons  and designated "First  and  Refunding
Mortgage  4-4/5% Bonds, 2004 Series A,"  all  of  which
bonds  are  issued  or  are to  be  issued  under,  and
equally and ratably secured by, a certain Indenture  of
Mortgage  and Deed and Trust dated as of May  1,  1921,
and   by  seventy-one  Supplemental  Indentures   dated
respectively as of May 1, 1921, February 1, 1924,  July
1,  1926,  June 20, 1928, June 1, 1932, July  1,  1932,
July  1,  1935,  September 1, 1936, October  20,  1936,
December  1, 1936, December 1, 1938, August  31,  1944,
September  1,  1944,  May  1, 1945,  October  1,  1945,
November  1, 1949, December 1, 1952, December 1,  1955,
January  1,  1958,  February 1, 1960,  April  1,  1961,
September 1, 1963, April 1, 1967, May 1, 1967,  January
1,  1968, October 1, 1968, December 1, 1969, January 1,
1970,  October  1, 1970, December 1,  1971,  August  1,
1972,  April 1, 1973, March 1, 1974, February 1,  1975,
September  1,  1975,  May  1,  1977,  March  1,   1978,
September  1,  1980, October 1, 1981,  June  30,  1982,
October  1,  1982,  July  1,  1983,  January  1,  1984,
October  1,  1985, September 1, 1986,  April  1,  1987,
October  1,  1987,  November 1, 1987,  April  1,  1988,
November  1,  1988,  June 1, 1989, September  1,  1989,
December 1, 1989, April 1, 1992, July 1, 1992,  October
1,  1992, July 1, 1993, July 1, 1993, December 1, 1993,
February  1,  1994,  February 1, 1994,  June  1,  1994,
October 1, 1994, June 1, 1996, January 1, 1997, May  1,
1997,  June 1, 1997, June 1, 1997, May 1, 1998, May  1,
1998  and September 1, 2004 (said Indenture of Mortgage
and  Deed  of  Trust and Supplemental Indentures  being
collectively  referred to herein  as  the  "Mortgage"),
all  executed  by  the Company to Deutsche  Bank  Trust
Company  Americas  f/k/a  Bankers  Trust  Company,   as
Trustee,  all  as  provided in the  Mortgage  to  which
reference  is  made  for a statement  of  the  property
mortgaged  and  pledged, the nature and extent  of  the
security,  the rights of the holders of  the  bonds  in
respect  thereof  and  the terms  and  conditions  upon
which  the  bonds  may be issued and are  secured;  but
neither  the  foregoing reference to the  Mortgage  nor
any  provision  of this bond or of the  Mortgage  shall
affect  or impair the obligation of the Company,  which
is  absolute, unconditional and unalterable, to pay  at
the  maturities  herein provided the principal  of  and
interest   on  this  bond  as  herein  provided.    The
principal  of this bond may be declared or  may  become
due  on  the conditions, in the manner and at the  time
set  forth  in the Mortgage, upon the happening  of  an
event of default as in the Mortgage provided.

     This bond is transferable by the registered holder
hereof  in person or by attorney upon surrender  hereof
at  the  office or agency of the Company in the Borough
of  Manhattan,  New  York, New York,  together  with  a
written  instrument  of  transfer  in  approved   form,
signed  by the holder, and a new bond or bonds of  this
series  for  a  like  principal  amount  in  authorized
denominations  will  be  issued  in  exchange,  all  as
provided  in  the  Mortgage.  Prior to due  presentment
for  registration of transfer of this bond the  Company
and  the  Trustee  may  deem and treat  the  registered
owner  hereof as the absolute owner hereof, whether  or
not  this bond be overdue, for the purpose of receiving
payment  and  for all other purposes, and  neither  the
Company  nor  the  Trustee shall  be  affected  by  any
notice to the contrary.

     This  bond  is exchangeable at the option  of  the
registered holder hereof upon surrender hereof, at  the
office  or  agency  of the Company in  the  Borough  of
Manhattan,  New York, New York, for an equal  principal
amount  of  bonds  of this series of  other  authorized
denominations, in the manner and on the terms  provided
in the Mortgage.

     Bonds  of  this series are to be issued  initially
under   a   book-entry  only  system  and,  except   as
hereinafter  provided, registered in the  name  of  The
Depository  Trust Company, New York, New  York  ("DTC")
or  its  nominee, which shall be considered to  be  the
holder of all bonds of this series for all purposes  of
the  Mortgage,  including, without limitation,  payment
by  the  Company of principal of and interest  on  such
bonds  of  this  series  and  receipt  of  notices  and
exercise  of  rights of holders of such bonds  of  this
series.   There shall be a single bond of  this  series
which  shall be immobilized in the custody of DTC  with
the  owners  of book-entry interests in bonds  of  this
series  ("Book-Entry Interests")  having  no  right  to
receive  bonds of this series in the form  of  physical
securities  or  certificates.  Ownership of  Book-Entry
Interests  shall be shown by book-entry on  the  system
maintained  and operated by DTC, its participants  (the
"Participants") and certain persons acting through  the
Participants.   Transfers  of ownership  of  Book-Entry
Interests  are  to  be  made  only  by  DTC   and   the
Participants  by  that book-entry system,  the  Company
and  the  Trustee having no responsibility therefor  so
long  as  bonds  of this series are registered  in  the
name  of  DTC  or  its  nominee.  DTC  is  to  maintain
records  of positions of Participants in bonds of  this
series,   and  the  Participants  and  persons   acting
through  Participants are to maintain  records  of  the
purchasers and owners of Book-Entry Interests.  If  DTC
or  its nominee determines not to continue to act as  a
depository  for the bonds of this series in  connection
with  a book-entry only system, another depository,  if
available, may act instead and the single bond of  this
series will be transferred into the name of such  other
depository  or  its nominee, in which  case  the  above
provisions   will  continue  to  apply   to   the   new
depository.   If the book-entry only system  for  bonds
of  this  series is discontinued for any  reason,  upon
surrender and cancellation of the single bond  of  this
series  registered in the name of the  then  depository
or  its  nominee, new registered bonds of  this  series
will  be  issued  in  authorized denominations  to  the
holders  of  Book-Entry Interests in principal  amounts
coinciding  with  the  amounts of Book-Entry  Interests
shown  on  the book-entry system immediately  prior  to
the  discontinuance thereof.  Neither the  Trustee  nor
the  Company  shall be responsible for the accuracy  of
the interests shown on that system.

      The  bonds  of  2004  Series  A  are  subject  to
redemption  prior to maturity, as a whole at  any  time
or  in  part from time to time, in accordance with  the
provisions  of the Mortgage, upon not less than  thirty
(30)  days  and  not more than sixty  (60)  days  prior
notice  (which  notice  may  be  made  subject  to  the
deposit  of  redemption moneys with the Trustee  before
the  date  fixed  for  redemption)  given  by  mail  as
provided  in  the  Mortgage,  at  the  option  of   the
Company, at a redemption price equal to the greater  of
(i)  100%  of  the principal amount of the bonds  being
redeemed or (ii) the sum of the present values  of  the
remaining scheduled payments of principal and  interest
thereon  discounted  to the date  of  redemption  on  a
semiannual  basis (assuming a 360-day  year  consisting
of  twelve  30-day  months) at the Treasury Rate,  plus
10  basis  points,  plus,  in each  case,  accrued  and
unpaid  interest on the principal amount of  the  bonds
being   redeemed   to  the  date  of  redemption   (the
"Redemption Date").

       "Treasury  Rate"  means,  with  respect  to  any
Redemption  Date,  (i)  the yield,  under  the  heading
which   represents  the  average  for  the  immediately
preceding   week,  appearing  in  the   most   recently
published  statistical  release designated  "H.15(519)"
or  any successor publication which is published weekly
by  the  Board  of  Governors of  the  Federal  Reserve
System  and which establishes yields on actively traded
U.S.  Treasury securities adjusted to constant maturity
under  the caption "Treasury Constant Maturities,"  for
the  maturity corresponding to the Comparable  Treasury
Issue (if no maturity is within three months before  or
after  the  remaining life (as defined  below),  yields
for   the   two   published  maturities  most   closely
corresponding to the Comparable Treasury Issue will  be
determined  and the Treasury Rate will be  interpolated
or  extrapolated  from such yields on a  straight  line
basis,  rounding  to the nearest month);  or  (ii)   if
such   release  (or  any  successor  release)  is   not
published  during  the week preceding  the  calculation
date  or  does  not contain such yields, the  rate  per
annum  equal  to  the  semiannual equivalent  yield  to
maturity  of the Comparable Treasury Issue,  calculated
using   a  price  for  the  Comparable  Treasury  Issue
(expressed  as  a  percentage of its principal  amount)
equal  to  the  comparable  treasury  price  for   such
Redemption  Date. The Treasury Rate will be  calculated
on  the third business day preceding the date fixed for
redemption.

      "Comparable  Treasury  Issue"  means  the  United
State  Treasury  security selected  by  an  Independent
Investment  Banker as having a maturity  comparable  to
the  remaining term ("remaining life") of the bonds  to
be  redeemed  that would be utilized, at  the  time  of
selection  and  in accordance with customary  financial
practice,  in  pricing  new issues  of  corporate  debt
securities  of  comparable maturity  to  the  remaining
term of such bonds.

       "Comparable  Treasury  Price"  means  (i)    the
average  of  five Reference Treasury Dealer  Quotations
for  such Redemption Date, after excluding the  highest
and  lowest  Reference Treasury Dealer  Quotations,  or
(ii)  if  the  Independent  Investment  Banker  obtains
fewer   than   four  such  Reference  Treasury   Dealer
Quotations, the average of all such quotations.

       "Independent   Investment   Banker"   means   an
independent investment banking institution of  national
standing appointed by the Company.

       "Reference  Treasury  Dealer"  means  any   five
Primary Treasury Dealers selected by the Company  after
consultation  with  the Independent Investment  Banker,
provided,  however, that if any of the foregoing  shall
cease  to  be  a  primary  U.S.  Government  securities
dealer  in New York City (a "Primary Treasury Dealer"),
the  Company shall substitute therefor another  Primary
Treasury Dealer.

      "Reference  Treasury  Dealer  Quotations"  means,
with respect to each Reference Treasury Dealer and  any
Redemption  Date,  the average, as  determined  by  the
Independent  Investment Banker, of the  bid  and  asked
prices for the Comparable Treasury Issue (expressed  in
each  case  as  a  percentage of its principal  amount)
quoted  in writing to the Independent Investment Banker
at  5:00  p.m.,  New  York  City  time,  on  the  third
business day preceding such Redemption Date.

      So  long as the bonds are registered in the  name
of   The   Depository  Trust  Company,  as   depositary
("DTC"), its nominee or a successor depositary, if  the
Company  elects to redeem less than all of  the  bonds,
DTC's  practice is to determine by lot  the  amount  of
the  interest of each direct participant, in the  bonds
of  such  series to be redeemed.  At all  other  times,
the  Trustee  shall draw by lot, in such manner  as  it
deems  appropriate, the particular bonds,  or  portions
of them, to be redeemed.

      Notice  of redemption shall be given by  mail  to
the  holders of bonds, which, as long as the bonds  are
held  in  the book-entry only system, will be DTC,  its
nominee  or a successor depositary.  On and  after  the
date  fixed for redemption (unless the Company defaults
in  the  payment of the redemption price  and  interest
accrued  thereon to such date), interest on  the  bonds
of  such series, or the portions of them so called  for
redemption, shall cease to accrue.

     The  Mortgage  provides that the Company  and  the
Trustee,  with consent of the holders of not less  than
66-2/3%  in aggregate principal amount of the bonds  at
the  time  outstanding which would be affected  by  the
action  proposed  to  be  taken,  may  by  supplemental
indenture  add any provisions to or change or eliminate
any  of  the  provisions of the Mortgage or modify  the
rights  of the holders of the bonds and coupons  issued
thereunder;   provided,  however,  that   without   the
consent  of  the  holder hereof  no  such  supplemental
indenture  shall  affect the terms of  payment  of  the
principal  of or interest or premium on this  bond,  or
reduce  the  aforesaid  percentage  of  the  bonds  the
holders  of  which are required to consent  to  such  a
supplemental indenture, or permit the creation  by  the
Company  of  any  mortgage or pledge  or  lien  in  the
nature thereof ranking prior to or equal with the  lien
of  the  Mortgage or deprive the holder hereof  of  the
lien  of  the Mortgage on any of the property which  is
subject to the lien thereof.

      As   set  forth  in  the  Supplemental  Indenture
establishing the terms and series of the bonds of  this
series, each holder of a bond, solely by virtue of  its
acquisition thereof, including as an owner of  a  book-
entry  interest therein, shall have and  be  deemed  to
have  consented,  without  the  need  for  any  further
action or consent by such holder, to the amendment  and
restatement of the Mortgage in substantially  the  form
set  forth  in Schedule C appended to such Supplemental
Indenture  and  made a part thereof (the  "Amended  and
Restated  Indenture"), with such additions,  deletions,
and  other changes made to such form prior to the  time
of  such  amendment and restatement ("Future  Changes")
(1)  that  add to the covenants of the Company  in  the
Amended and Restated Indenture, or surrender rights  or
powers  of the Company therein, for the benefit of  the
holders  of  the  outstanding bonds  issued  under  the
Mortgage, (2) as shall be requested by the Trustee  and
its   counsel,   (3)  as  may  be  requested   by   the
Connecticut  Department of Public  Utility  Control  or
other  regulatory  authority having  jurisdiction  over
the Company, or (4) otherwise, as shall be proposed  by
the  Company  after  the  date  of  the  execution  and
delivery of such Supplemental Indenture, provided  that
(a)  in  the  case  of any Future Change  described  in
clause   (4),  such  Future  Change  is  not,  in   the
reasonable  judgment of the Company, inconsistent  with
the  fundamental structure and terms of the Amended and
Restated  Indenture, and (b) in the case of any  Future
Change  described  in clause (3) or  (4),  such  Future
Change  does  not  adversely  affect  in  any  material
respect  the  interests of the  holders  of  the  bonds
issued under the Mortgage.

     No  recourse shall be had for the payment  of  the
principal of or the interest on this bond, or any  part
thereof,  or  for any claim based thereon or  otherwise
in  respect thereof, to any incorporator, or any  past,
present  or future stockholder, officer or director  of
the  Company, either directly or indirectly, by  virtue
of  any statute or by enforcement of any assessment  or
otherwise,  and  any  and all  liability  of  the  said
incorporators, stockholders, officers or  directors  of
the   Company  in  respect  to  this  bond  is   hereby
expressly waived and released by every holder hereof.

Exhibit 99.4

                            SCHEDULE C



      COMPOSITE (INCLUDING ALL AMENDMENTS TO ______________)

         ________________________________________________





              Indenture of Mortgage and Deed of Trust

                     Dated as of May 1, 1921.

                        __________________



              THE CONNECTICUT LIGHT AND POWER COMPANY

                                TO

               DEUTSCHE BANK TRUST COMPANY AMERICAS
               F/K/A BANKERS TRUST COMPANY, TRUSTEE


                        __________________



       As Amended by ________________ Supplemental Mortgages

        (to and including Supplemental Mortgage dated as of

                      ____________________.)

         ________________________________________________

     THIS INDENTURE, dated as of the first day of May, 1921, between THE CONNECTICUT LIGHT AND POWER COMPANY, a corporation of the State of Connecticut (hereinafter called "Company"), party of the first part, and DEUTSCHE BANK TRUST COMPANY AMERICAS, f/k/a BANKERS TRUST COMPANY, as Trustee, a corporation organized and existing under the laws of the State of New York (hereinafter called "Trustee"), party of the second part, Witnesseth:

         (Recitals omitted, but remain applicable hereto.)

     Now, Therefore, This Indenture Witnesseth, that the Company, for and in consideration of the premises and the sum of $1.00 to it in hand paid by the Trustee, the receipt whereof is hereby acknowledged, and of other valuable considerations, in order to secure the payment of the principal and interest of all said bonds according to their tenor, and the faithful performance of the covenants herein contained, has granted, bargained, sold, assigned, mortgaged, pledged, transferred, set over, aliened, enfeoffed, released, conveyed and confirmed, and by these presents does grant, bargain, sell, assign, mortgage, pledge, transfer, set over, alien, enfeoff, release, convey and confirm unto the Deutsche Bank Trust Company Americas, Trustee, f/k/a Bankers Trust Company, as Trustee, and its successor or successors in the trust hereby created, and its and their assigns, all the following described property, rights, privileges, and franchises of the Company, viz:

     (All descriptions of real estate, rights, privileges and
easements and all references to prior encumbrances have been
omitted herein, but remain applicable hereto.)

     TOGETHER with all plants, buildings, structures, improvements and machinery located upon said real estate or any portion thereof, and all rights, privileges and easements of every kind and nature appurtenant thereto, and all and singular the tenements, hereditaments and appurtenances belonging to the real estate or any part thereof hereinbefore described or referred to or intended so to be, or in any wise appertaining thereto, and the reversions, remainders, rents, issues and profits thereof; also all the estate, right, title, interest, property, possession, claim and demand whatsoever, as well in law as in equity, of the Company, of, in and to the same and any and every part thereof, with the appurtenances.

     TOGETHER with the following electrical transmission lines and distributing systems:

     (All descriptions of electrical transmission lines and
distributing systems have been omitted herein, but remain
applicable hereto.)

     Also all real estate, easements, rights-of-way, water rights, riparian rights, flowage rights, dams, ponds, lakes, reservoirs, canals, water-ways, gas plants and systems, substations, transformer houses, tunnels, subways, bridges, viaducts, locks, ware-houses, store-houses, tool houses, dwelling houses, out-houses, buildings, structures, plants, machinery and apparatus, gates, valves, piping, pumps, furnaces, boilers, engines, steam engines, gas engines, rotary converters, transformers, switches, switch-boards, appliances, equipment, tools, fixtures, electric transmission lines and systems, telephone lines and systems, gas distribution lines and systems, telephone lines and systems, towers, poles, cross-arms, insulators, cables, wires, conduits, ducts, man-holes, devices, motors, meters, lamps, shops, trucks, automobiles, wagons, vehicles, instruments, and, except as herein otherwise provided, all property, real and personal of whatsoever character, and wherever situated, and all rights, privileges, and franchises, now or at any time hereafter acquired, owned, held or possessed by the Company.

     Expressly excepting and excluding, however, from the Lien of this Mortgage all right, title and interest of the Company in and to the following property, whether now owned or hereafter acquired (herein prior to the Second Effective Date sometimes called "Excepted Property"); provided, however, that on and after the Second Effective Date the term Excepted Property shall mean the property specified in Section 1601(b), and the remainder of this paragraph shall automatically cease to be of any further force or effect:

     (a)  all stocks, bonds or other obligations of persons other
than corporations, and all other securities, unless the same shall be deposited by the Company with the Trustee as provided in the
Mortgage;

     (b) all rights and claims (other than with respect to the Mortgaged Property), patents, patent rights and other similar rights, agreements, contracts, accounts receivable, notes and bills receivable, judgments and other evidences of indebtedness not specifically assigned to and pledged with the Trustee hereunder;

     (c) electricity, gas, water, electric and gas appliances, stock in trade, materials, supplies and other products generated, manufactured, produced, purchased, or otherwise acquired for the purpose of sale and/or resale, transmission, distribution, storage or use in the usual course of business or the operation of any of the properties of the Company;

     (d)  coal, natural gas, timber, lumber, crops, minerals,
mineral rights and other products of land owned by the Company, in each case not in the ground;

     (e)  office furniture and equipment, small tools and
equipment and machinery of portable size, and vehicles and vessels of every sort, together with all equipment and supplies necessary
to the operation and maintenance of such vehicles and vessels;

     (f) all rents, tolls, earnings, profits, revenues, dividends and income then or thereafter arising from any property, other
than the Mortgaged Property, then or thereafter owned, leased or
operated by the Company;

     (g) all leasehold interests, permits, licenses and similar rights, whether then owned or thereafter acquired by the Company, which are intended to be hereby conveyed, transferred or assigned and which may not be legally so conveyed, transferred or assigned, or which cannot be so conveyed, transferred or assigned without the consent of other parties whose consent is not secured or without subjecting the Trustee to a liability not otherwise contemplated by the provisions of the Mortgage or which otherwise may not be hereby lawfully and/or effectively granted, conveyed, mortgaged, transferred and assigned by the Company; and

     (h)  the last day of the term of each leasehold estate (oral
or written, or any agreement therefor) then owned or thereafter
acquired by the Company;

provided, however, that at any time prior to the Second Effective Date, but not thereafter (i) if upon the occurrence of any Event of Default the Trustee or any receiver or trustee or any governmental subdivision, body or agency appointed or acting pursuant to statutory provision or order of court shall have entered into possession of the Mortgaged Property or a substantial part thereof (other than securities and cash forming a part of the Mortgaged Property), the property hereinabove released from the lien hereof shall immediately become subject to the lien hereof to the extent permitted by law; (ii) whenever all Events of Default shall have been cured and the possession of the Mortgaged Property (other than securities and cash forming a part thereof) shall have been restored to the Company, any property of the character described in this paragraph so restored to the Company shall again be excepted and excluded from the Lien of the Mortgage to the extent hereinabove set forth; and (iii) to the extent not prohibited by any other provision of the Mortgage, nothing contained in the release herein provided for shall prevent the Company, prior to any such entry, from selling, assigning, transferring, pledging or otherwise disposing of property of the character thereby released from the Lien hereof by this provision and in any such case the title, possession or other rights of the purchaser, assignee or transferee thereof shall be free and clear of such Lien as would otherwise attach under the Mortgage in the event of such entry.

     It is the intention and it is hereby agreed that all property of the kind hereinbefore described acquired by the Company after the date hereof, shall, except as otherwise provided herein, be as fully embraced within the provisions of this indenture, and subject to the lien hereby created, as if the said property were now owned by the Company, and were specifically described herein and conveyed hereby.

     TO HAVE AND TO HOLD all and singular the property, rights, privileges and franchises hereby granted or mentioned or intended so to be, together with all and singular the reversions, remainders, rents, revenues, incomes, issues and profits, privileges and appurtenances, now or hereafter belonging or in anywise appertaining thereto, unto the Trustee and its successors in the trust hereby created and its and their assigns, forever.

     But in trust, nevertheless, for the equal and proportionate benefit and security of all present and future holders of the bonds and coupons issued and to be issued hereunder and secured by this indenture, and to secure the payments of such bonds and the interest thereon when payable in accordance with the provisions thereof or hereof, and to secure the performance of and compliance with the covenants and conditions of this indenture without preference, priority or distinction as to lien or otherwise of any one bond over any other bond by reason of priority in the issue or negotiation thereof, and under and subject to the provisions and conditions and for the uses and purposes hereinafter set forth.

     And it is hereby covenanted that all such bonds, with the
coupons for the interest thereon, are to be issued, authenticated
and delivered, and that the mortgaged premises are to be held by
the Trustee upon and subject to the following covenants,
provisions and conditions and for the uses and purposes
hereinafter set forth, as follows, to wit:

     IT IS HEREBY COVENANTED AND AGREED by and between the Company and the Trustee that all the Securities are to be authenticated and delivered, and that the Mortgaged Property is to be held, subject to the further covenants, conditions and trusts hereinafter set forth, and the Company hereby covenants and agrees to and with the Trustee, for the equal and ratable benefit of all holders of the Securities, as follows:

                            ARTICLE ONE

      DEFINITIONS AND OTHER PROVISIONS OF GENERAL APPLICATION

     SECTION 101.   DEFINITIONS.

     For all purposes of this Mortgage, except as otherwise
expressly provided or unless the context otherwise requires:

     (a)  the terms defined in this Article have the meanings
assigned to them in this Article and include the plural as well as
the singular;

     (b)  all terms used herein without definition which are
defined in the Trust Indenture Act, either directly or by
reference therein, have the meanings assigned to them therein;

     (c)  all terms used herein without definition which are
defined in the Uniform Commercial Code of Connecticut as in effect on the First Effective Date shall have the meanings assigned to
them therein;

     (d) all accounting terms not otherwise defined herein have the meanings assigned to them in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles in the United States, and, except as otherwise herein expressly provided, the term "generally accepted accounting principles" with respect to any computation required or permitted hereunder shall mean such accounting principles as are generally accepted in the United States at the date of such computation or, at the election of the Company from time to time, at the First Effective Date; provided, however, that in determining generally accepted accounting principles applicable to the Company, effect shall be given, to the extent required, to any order, rule or regulation of any administrative agency, regulatory authority or other governmental body having jurisdiction over the Company; and provided, further, that to the extent the Company elects to use a computation that is not based on accounting principles that are generally accepted in the United States on the date of such computation, the Company shall so state and shall certify that such principles were in effect at the First Effective Date;

     (e)  the table of contents and headings are for reference
purposes only and shall not in any way affect the meaning or
interpretation of this Mortgage.

     (f) The terms and provisions hereof that have no force or effect before the Second Effective Date shall not in any way affect the meaning or interpretation of any provisions hereof that shall be in effect on and after the First Effective Date and, correspondingly, the terms and provisions hereof that have no force and effect after the Second Effective Date shall not in any way affect the meaning or interpretation of any provisions hereof that shall be in effect on and after the Second Effective Date;

     (g)  any reference to an "Article" or a "Section" refers to
an Article or a Section, as the case may be, of this Mortgage; and

     (h)  the words "herein", "hereof" and "hereunder" and other
words of similar import refer to this Mortgage as a whole and not
to any particular Article, Section or other subdivision.

     "ACCOUNTANT" means a person engaged in the accounting profession or otherwise qualified to pass on accounting matters (including, but not limited to, a Person certified or licensed as a public accountant, whether or not then engaged in the public accounting profession), which Person, unless required to be Independent, may be an employee or Affiliate of the Company.

     "ACT", when used with respect to any Holder of a Security,
has the meaning specified in Section 105.

     "AFFILIATE" of any specified Person means any other Person directly or indirectly controlling or controlled by or under direct or indirect common control with such specified Person. For the purposes of this definition, "CONTROL" when used with respect to any specified Person means the power to direct generally the management and policies of such Person, directly or indirectly, whether through the ownership of voting securities, by contract or otherwise; and the terms "CONTROLLING" and "CONTROLLED" have meanings correlative to the foregoing.

     "AUTHENTICATING AGENT" means any Person or Persons (other
than the Company or an Affiliate of the Company) authorized by the Trustee to act on behalf of the Trustee to authenticate the
Securities of one or more series.

     "AUTHORIZED OFFICER" means the Chairman of the Board, the Vice Chairman, the President, any Vice President, the Treasurer, any Assistant Treasurer, or any other officer, manager or agent of the Company duly authorized pursuant to a Board Resolution to act in respect of matters relating to this Mortgage.

     "AVAILABLE CASH", at any time, shall mean all cash then held
by, or deposited with, the Trustee other than cash so held or
deposited pursuant to Section 307 or Article Eight.

     "BOARD OF DIRECTORS" means either the board of directors,
board of managers or similar governing body of the Company or any
committee thereof duly authorized to act in respect of matters
relating to this Mortgage.

     "BOARD RESOLUTION" means a copy of a resolution certified by
the Secretary, an Assistant Secretary or an Authorized Officer of
the Company to have been duly adopted by the Board of Directors
and to be in full force and effect on the date of such
certification, and delivered to the Trustee.

     "BUSINESS DAY", when used with respect to a Place of Payment or any other particular location specified in the Securities or this Mortgage, means any day, other than a Saturday or Sunday, which is not a day on which banking institutions or trust companies in such Place of Payment or other location, or in the place in which the Corporate Trust Office is located, are generally authorized or required by law, regulation or executive order to remain closed, except as may be otherwise specified as contemplated by Section 301.

     "CAPITALIZED LEASE LIABILITIES" means, with respect to any Person, the amount, if any, shown as liabilities on such Person's unconsolidated balance sheet for capitalized leases of electric transmission and distribution property not owned by such Person, which amount shall be determined in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles and practices applicable to the type of business in which such Person is engaged.

     "COMMISSION" means the Securities and Exchange Commission, as from time to time constituted, created under the Exchange Act, or, if at any time after the First Effective Date such Commission is not existing and performing the duties now assigned to it under the Trust Indenture Act, then the body, if any, performing such duties at such time.

     "COMPANY" means the Person named as the "Company" in the first paragraph of this Mortgage until a successor Person shall have become such pursuant to the applicable provisions of this Mortgage, and thereafter "Company" shall mean such successor Person.

     "COMPANY ORDER" or "COMPANY REQUEST" mean, respectively, a
written order or request, as the case may be, signed in the name
of the Company by an Authorized Officer and delivered to the
Trustee.

     "CORPORATE TRUST OFFICE" means the office of the Trustee at which at any particular time its corporate trust business shall be principally administered, which office at the First Effective Date is located at 60 Wall Street, 27th Floor, New York, New York 10005-2858.

     "CORPORATION" means a corporation, association, company, limited liability company, partnership, limited partnership, joint stock company or business trust, and references to "corporate" and other derivations of "corporation" herein shall be deemed to include appropriate derivations of such entities.

     "COST" with respect to Property Additions has the meaning
specified in Section 102.

     "DEBT", with respect to any Person, means, without duplication, (A) indebtedness of such Person for borrowed money evidenced by a bond, debenture, note or other written instrument or agreement by which such Person is obligated to repay such borrowed money, (B) any guaranty by such Person of any such indebtedness of another Person, and (C) any Capitalized Lease Liabilities of such Person. "Debt" does not include, among other things, (v) indebtedness of such person under any installment sale or conditional sale agreement or any other agreement relating to indebtedness for the deferred purchase price of property or services, (w) any trade obligation (including obligations under power or other commodity purchase agreements and any hedges or derivatives associated therewith), or other obligations of such Person in the ordinary course of business, (x) obligations of such Person under any lease agreement that are not Capitalized Lease Liabilities, (y) any Liens securing indebtedness, neither assumed nor guaranteed by such Person nor on which it customarily pays interest, existing upon real estate or rights in or relating to real estate acquired by such Person for substation, transmission line, transportation line, distribution line or right of way purposes or (z) any Rate Reduction Bonds or other obligations which are non-recourse to such Person.

     "DEFAULTED INTEREST" has the meaning specified in Section
307.

     "DISCOUNT SECURITY" means any Security which provides for an amount less than the principal amount thereof to be due and payable upon a declaration of acceleration of the Maturity thereof pursuant to Section 902. "Interest" with respect to a Discount Security means interest, if any, borne by such Security at a Stated Interest Rate.

     "DOLLAR" or "$" means a dollar or other equivalent unit in
such coin or currency of the United States of America as at the
time shall be legal tender for the payment of public and private
debts.

     "ELECTRIC UTILITY PROPERTY" means any facilities, machinery, equipment and fixtures for the transmission and distribution of electric energy, including switchyards, towers, substations, transformers, poles, lines, cable, conduits, ducts, conductors, meters, regulators and all other property of the Company, real or personal, or improvements, extensions, additions, renewals or replacements of the foregoing, in each case used or useful or to be used in or in connection with the business of transmitting and distributing electric energy of the character described in the Granting Clauses of this Mortgage, whether owned by the Company at the First Effective Date or hereafter acquired (other than Excepted Property with respect to all of the property described in this definition).

     "ELIGIBLE OBLIGATIONS" means:

     (a)  with respect to Securities denominated in Dollars,
Government Obligations or, if specified pursuant to Section 301
with respect to any Securities, other Investment Securities; or

     (b)  with respect to Securities denominated in a currency
other than Dollars or in a composite currency, such other
obligations or instruments as shall be specified with respect to
such Securities, as contemplated by Section 301.

     "EVENT OF DEFAULT" has the meaning specified in Section 901.

     "EXCEPTED PROPERTY",

     (A) at any time prior to compliance by the Company with the requirements of Section 1601(b), the term "Excepted Property" has the meaning specified in the granting clauses of this Mortgage; provided, however, that on and after such compliance with Section 1601(b), the term "Excepted Property" shall have the meaning set forth in clause (B) below, and the definition of "Excepted Property" set forth in this clause (A) shall automatically cease to be of any further force or effect;

     (B) at any time after compliance by the Company with the requirements set forth in Section 1601(b), the term "Excepted Property" shall mean the property described below in this clause
(B); provided, however, that until such compliance with Section 1601(b), the definition of the term "Excepted Property" set forth in this clause (B) shall be of no force or effect but shall automatically become and be in full force and effect upon such compliance with Section 1601(b):

          (i) all cash on hand or in banks or other financial institutions, deposit accounts, securities accounts, shares of stock, interests in business trusts or general or limited partnerships or limited liability companies, bonds, notes, mortgages, other evidences of indebtedness and other securities, security entitlements and investment property, of whatsoever kind and nature, not hereafter paid or delivered to, deposited with or held by the Trustee hereunder or required so to be;

          (ii) all rights, contracts, leases, operating agreements and other agreements of whatsoever kind and nature; all contract rights, bills, notes and other instruments and chattel paper (except to the extent that any of the same constitute securities, security entitlements or investment property, in which case they are separately excepted from the Lien of this Mortgage under clause (i) above); all revenues, income and earnings, all accounts, accounts receivable, rights to payment, payment intangibles and unbilled revenues, transition property, and all rents, tolls, earnings, issues, product and profits, revenues, dividends, income, claims, credits, demands and judgments; all governmental and other licenses, permits, franchises, consents and allowances; and all patents, patent licenses and other patent rights, patent applications, trade names, trademarks, copyrights and other intellectual property; and all claims, credits, choses in action, commercial tort claims and other intangible property and general intangibles including, but not limited to, computer software;

          (iii) all automobiles, buses, trucks, truck cranes, tractors, trailers and similar vehicles and movable equipment; all rolling stock, rail cars and other railroad equipment; all vessels, boats, barges, and other marine equipment; all airplanes, helicopters, aircraft engines and other flight equipment; all parts, accessories and supplies used in connection with any of the foregoing; and all personal property of such character that the perfection of a security interest therein or other Lien thereon is not governed by the Uniform Commercial Code as in effect in the jurisdiction in which such property is located;

          (iv) all goods, stock in trade, wares, merchandise and inventory held for the purpose of sale or lease in the ordinary course of business; all materials, supplies, inventory and other items of personal property which are consumable (otherwise than by ordinary wear and tear) in their use in the operation of the Mortgaged Property; all fuel, including nuclear fuel, whether or not any such fuel is in a form consumable in the operation of the Mortgaged Property, including separate components of any fuel in the forms in which such components exist at any time before, during or after the period of the use thereof as fuel; all hand and other portable tools and equipment; all furniture and furnishings; and computers and data processing, data storage, data transmission, telecommunications and other facilities, equipment and apparatus, which, in any case, are used primarily for administrative or clerical purposes or are otherwise not necessary for the operation or maintenance of the facilities, machinery, equipment or fixtures described or referred to in the Granting Clauses of this Mortgage;

          (v) all coal, lignite, ore, gas, oil and other minerals and all timber, and all rights and interests in any of the foregoing, whether or not such minerals or timber shall have been mined or extracted or otherwise separated from the land; and all electric energy and capacity, gas (natural or artificial), steam, water and other products generated, produced, manufactured, purchased or otherwise acquired by the Company;

          (vi) all real property, leaseholds, gas rights, wells,
gathering, tap or other pipe lines, or facilities, equipment or
apparatus, in any case used or to be used primarily for the
production or gathering of natural gas;

          (vii) all property which is the subject of a lease agreement designating the Company as lessee and all right, title and interest of the Company in and to such property and in, to and under such lease agreement, whether or not such lease agreement is intended as security;

          (viii) all property, real, personal and mixed, which
prior to the Second Effective Date has been released from the Lien of the Mortgage;

          (ix) all property, real, personal and mixed, which subsequent to the Second Effective Date, has been released from the Lien of this Mortgage, and any improvements, extensions and additions to such properties and renewals, replacements and substitutions of or for any parts thereof;

          (x) all leasehold interests, permits, licenses and similar rights, whether now owned or hereafter acquired by the Company, which are intended to be hereby conveyed, transferred or assigned and which may not be legally so conveyed, transferred or assigned, or which cannot be so conveyed, transferred or assigned without the consent of other parties whose consent is not secured or without subjecting the Trustee to a liability not otherwise contemplated by the provisions of the Mortgage or which otherwise may not be hereby lawfully and/or effectively granted, conveyed, mortgaged, transferred and assigned by the Company;

          (xi) the last day of the term of each leasehold estate
(oral or written, or any agreement therefor) then owned or
thereafter acquired by the Company;

          (xii) any and all property and plants used by the
Company in the generation of electricity; and

          (xiii) all property not acquired or constructed by
the Company for use in its electric transmission and distribution
business;

provided, however, that, at any time on and after the Second Effective Date, subject to the provisions of Section 1203, (A) if, at any time after the occurrence of an Event of Default, the Trustee, or any separate trustee or co-trustee appointed under
Section 1014 or any receiver appointed pursuant to Section 917 or otherwise, shall have entered into possession of all or substantially all the Mortgaged Property, to the extent permitted by law, all the Excepted Property described or referred to in the foregoing clauses (iii) and (v) then owned or held or thereafter acquired by the Company, to the extent that the same is used in connection with, or otherwise relates or is attributable to, the Mortgaged Property, shall immediately, and, in the case of any Excepted Property described or referred to in clause (vii), to the extent that the same is used in connection with, or otherwise relates or is attributable to, the Mortgaged Property, become subject to the Lien of this Mortgage, junior and subordinate to any Liens at that time existing on such Excepted Property, and the Trustee or such other trustee or receiver may, to the extent permitted by law or by the terms of any such other Lien (and subject to the rights of the holders of all such other Liens), at the same time likewise take possession thereof, (B) whenever all Events of Default shall have been cured and the possession of all or substantially all of the Mortgaged Property shall have been restored to the Company, such Excepted Property shall again be excepted and excluded from the Lien hereof to the extent set forth above; it being understood that the Company may, however, pursuant to any future amendment to this Mortgage subject any Excepted Property to the Lien of this Mortgage whereupon the same shall cease to be Excepted Property, and (C) to the extent not prohibited by any other provision of the Mortgage, nothing contained in the release herein provided for shall prevent the Company, prior to any such entering into possession, from selling, assigning, transferring, pledging or otherwise disposing of property of the character thereby released from the lien hereof by this paragraph and in any such case the title, possession or other rights of the purchaser, assignee or transferee thereof shall be free and clear of such lien as would otherwise attach under the Mortgage in the event of such entering into possession.

     "EXCHANGE ACT" means the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as
amended.

     "EXPERT" means a Person which is an engineer, appraiser or other expert and which, with respect to any certificate to be signed by such Person and delivered to the Trustee, is qualified to pass upon the matters set forth in such certificate. For purposes of this definition, (a) "engineer" means a Person engaged in the engineering profession or otherwise qualified to pass upon engineering matters (including, but not limited to, a Person licensed as a professional engineer, whether or not then engaged in the engineering profession) and (b) "appraiser" means a Person engaged in the business of appraising property or otherwise qualified to pass upon the Fair Value or fair market value of property.

     "EXPERTS' CERTIFICATE" means a certificate signed by an Authorized Officer, by an Accountant and by an Expert (which Accountant and Expert (a) shall be selected either by the Board of Directors or by an Authorized Officer, the execution of such certificate by such Authorized Officer to be conclusive evidence of such selection, and (b) except as otherwise required in Sections 401 and 1610, may be an employee or Affiliate of the Company) and delivered to the Trustee. The amount stated in any Experts' Certificate as to the Cost, Fair Value or fair market value of property shall be conclusive and binding upon the Company, the Trustee and the Holders of the Securities.

     "FAIR VALUE", with respect to property, means the fair value of such property as determined in the reasonable judgment of the Expert certifying to such value, such determination to be based on any one or more factors deemed relevant by such Expert including, without limitation, (a) the amount which would be likely to be obtained in an arm's-length transaction with respect to such property between an informed and willing buyer and an informed and willing seller, under no compulsion, respectively, to buy or sell,
(b) the amount of investment with respect to such property which, together with a reasonable return thereon, would be likely to be recovered through ordinary business operations or otherwise, (c) the Cost, accumulated depreciation, and replacement cost with respect to such property and/or (d) any other relevant factors; provided, however, that (x) the Fair Value of property shall be determined without deduction for any Liens on such property prior to the Lien of this Mortgage (except as otherwise provided in
Section 1603) and (y) the Fair Value to the Company of Property Additions may be of less value to a Person which is not the owner or operator of the Mortgaged Property or any portion thereof than to a Person which is such owner or operator. Fair Value may be determined, without physical inspection, by the use of accounting and engineering records and other data maintained by the Company or otherwise available to the Expert certifying the same.

     "FIRST EFFECTIVE DATE" means the date [__________].

     "GOVERNMENTAL AUTHORITY" means the government of the United
States or of any State or Territory thereof or of the District of
Columbia or of any county, municipality or other political
subdivision of any thereof, or any department, agency, authority
or other instrumentality of any of the foregoing.

     "GOVERNMENT OBLIGATIONS" means securities which are (a) (i) direct obligations of the United States where the payment or payments thereunder are supported by the full faith and credit of the United States or (ii) obligations of a Person controlled or supervised by and acting as an agency or instrumentality of the United States where the timely payment or payments thereunder are unconditionally guaranteed as a full faith and credit obligation by the United States or (b) depository receipts issued by a bank (as defined in Section 3(a)(2) of the Securities Act, which may include the Trustee or any Authenticating Agent or Paying Agent) as custodian with respect to any such Government Obligation or a specific payment of interest on or principal of or other amount with respect to any such Government Obligation held by such custodian for the account of the holder of a depository receipt, provided that (except as required by law) such custodian is not authorized to make any deduction from the amount payable to the holder of such depository receipt from any amount received by the custodian in respect of the Government Obligation or the specific payment of interest on or principal of or other amount with respect to the Government Obligation evidenced by such depository receipt.

     "HOLDER" means a Person in whose name a Security is
registered in the Security Register.

     "INDEPENDENT", when applied to any Accountant or Expert, means such a Person who (a) is in fact independent, (b) does not have any direct material financial interest in the Company or in any other obligor upon the Securities or in any Affiliate of the Company or of such other obligor, (c) is not connected with the Company or such other obligor as an officer, employee, promoter, underwriter, trustee, partner, director or any person performing similar functions and (d) shall be acceptable to the Trustee.

     "INDEPENDENT EXPERTS' CERTIFICATE" means a certificate signed by an Expert who is Independent and delivered to the Trustee.

     "INTEREST" with respect to a Discount Security means
interest, if any, borne by such Security at a Stated Interest Rate rather than interest calculated at any imputed rate.

     "INTEREST PAYMENT DATE", when used with respect to any
Security, means the Stated Maturity of an installment of interest
on such Security.

     "INVESTMENT SECURITIES" means any of the following obligations or securities on which neither the Company, any other obligor on the Securities nor any Affiliate of either is the obligor: (a) Government Obligations; (b) interest bearing deposit accounts (which may be represented by certificates of deposit) in any national or state bank (which may include the Trustee or any Authenticating Agent or Paying Agent) or savings and loan association whose outstanding securities (or securities of the bank holding company owning all of the capital stock of such bank or savings and loan association) are rated by a nationally recognized rating organization in either of the two highest rating categories (without regard to modifiers) for short-term securities or in any of the three highest rating categories (without regard to modifiers) for long-term securities; (c) bankers' acceptances drawn on and accepted by any commercial bank (which may include the Trustee or any Authenticating Agent or Paying Agent) whose outstanding securities (or securities of the bank holding company owning all of the capital stock of such commercial bank) are rated by a nationally recognized rating organization in either of the two highest rating categories (without regard to modifiers) for short-term securities or in any of the three highest rating categories (without regard to modifiers) for long-term securities;
(d) direct obligations of, or obligations the principal of and interest on which are unconditionally guaranteed by, any State or Territory of the United States or the District of Columbia, or any political subdivision of any of the foregoing, which are rated by a nationally recognized rating organization in either of the two highest rating categories (without regard to modifiers) for short-term securities or in any of the three highest rating categories (without regard to modifiers) for long-term securities; (e) bonds or other obligations of any agency or instrumentality of the United States; (f) corporate debt securities which are rated by a nationally recognized rating organization in either of the two highest rating categories (without regard to modifiers) for short-term securities or in any of the three highest rating categories (without regard to modifiers) for long-term securities; (g) repurchase agreements with respect to any of the foregoing obligations or securities with any banking or financial institution (which may include the Trustee or any Authenticating Agent or Paying Agent) whose outstanding securities (or securities of the bank holding company owning all of the capital stock of such bank or financial institution) are rated by a nationally recognized rating organization in either of the two highest rating categories (without regard to modifiers) for short-term securities or in any of the three highest rating categories (without regard to modifiers) for long-term securities; (h) securities issued by any regulated investment company (including any investment company for which the Trustee or any Authenticating Agent or Paying Agent is the advisor), as defined in Section 851 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, or any successor section of such Code or successor federal statute, provided that the portfolio of such investment company is limited to obligations or securities of the character and investment quality contemplated in clauses (a) through (f) above and repurchase agreements which are fully collateralized by any of such obligations or securities; and (i) any other obligations or securities which may lawfully be purchased by the Trustee in its capacity as such.

     "LIEN" means any mortgage, deed of trust, pledge, security interest, encumbrance, easement, lease, reservation, restriction, servitude, charge or similar right and any other lien of any kind, including, without limitation, any conditional sale or other title retention agreement, any lease in the nature thereof, and any defect, irregularity, exception or limitation in record title.

     "MATURITY", when used with respect to any Security, means the date on which the principal of such Security or an installment of principal becomes due and payable as provided in such Security or in this Mortgage, whether at the Stated Maturity, by declaration of acceleration, upon call for redemption or otherwise.

     "MORTGAGE" means this instrument as originally executed and as it may from time to time be supplemented or amended by one or more Mortgages supplemental hereto entered into pursuant to the applicable provisions hereof, including, for all purposes of this instrument and any such supplemental Mortgage, the provisions of the Trust Indenture Act that are deemed to be a part of and govern this Mortgage and any such supplemental Mortgage, respectively. The term "Mortgage" shall also include the provisions or terms of particular series of Securities established in any Officers' Certificate, Board Resolution or Company Order delivered pursuant to Sections 201, 301, 303 and 1307.

     "MORTGAGED PROPERTY" means, as of any particular time, all
property which at such time is subject to the Lien of this
Mortgage.

     "NOTICE OF DEFAULT" means a written notice of the kind
specified in Section 901(c).

     "OFFICERS' CERTIFICATE" means a certificate signed by any two Authorized Officers of the Company and delivered to the Trustee.

     "OPINION OF COUNSEL" means a written opinion of counsel, who
may be counsel for the Company.

     "OUTSTANDING", when used with respect to Securities, means,
as of the date of determination, all Securities theretofore
authenticated and delivered under this Mortgage, except:

     (a)  Securities theretofore canceled or delivered to the
Security Registrar for cancellation;

     (b)  Securities deemed to have been paid for all purposes of
this Mortgage in accordance with Section 801 (whether or not the
Company's indebtedness in respect thereof shall be satisfied and
discharged for any other purpose); and

     (c) Securities, the principal, premium, if any, and interest, if any, which have been fully paid pursuant to the third paragraph of Section 306 or in exchange for or in lieu of which other Securities have been authenticated and delivered pursuant to this Mortgage, other than any such Securities in respect of which there shall have been presented to the Trustee proof satisfactory to it and the Company that such Securities are held by a bona fide purchaser or purchasers in whose hands such Securities are valid obligations of the Company;

provided, however, that in determining whether or not the Holders of the requisite principal amount of the Securities Outstanding under this Mortgage, or the Securities Outstanding of any series or Tranche, have given any request, demand, authorization, direction, notice, consent or waiver hereunder or whether or not a quorum is present at a meeting of Holders of Securities,

     (x) Securities owned by the Company or any other obligor upon the Securities or any Affiliate of the Company or of such other obligor (unless the Company, such Affiliate or such obligor owns all Securities Outstanding under this Mortgage, or (except for the purposes of actions to be taken by Holders of more than one series or more than one Tranche, as the case may be, voting as a class under Section 1302) all Securities Outstanding of each such series and each such Tranche, as the case may be, determined without regard to this clause (x)) shall be disregarded and deemed not to be Outstanding, except that, in determining whether the Trustee shall be protected in relying upon any such request, demand, authorization, direction, notice, consent or waiver or upon any such determination as to the presence of a quorum, only Securities which the Responsible Officer of the Trustee actually knows to be so owned shall be so disregarded; provided, however, that Securities so owned which have been pledged in good faith may be regarded as Outstanding if it is established to the reasonable satisfaction of the Trustee that the pledgee, and not the Company, or any such other obligor or Affiliate of either thereof, has the right so to act with respect to such Securities and that the pledgee is not the Company or any other obligor upon the Securities or any Affiliate of the Company or of such other obligor; and provided, further, that in no event shall any Security which shall have been delivered to evidence or secure, in whole or in part, the Company's obligations in respect of other indebtedness be deemed to be owned by the Company if the principal of such Security is payable, whether at Stated Maturity or upon mandatory redemption, at the same time as the principal of such other indebtedness is payable, whether at Stated Maturity or upon mandatory redemption or acceleration, but only to the extent of such portion of the principal amount of such Security as does not exceed the principal amount of such other indebtedness, and

     (y) the principal amount of a Discount Security that shall be deemed to be Outstanding for such purposes shall be the amount of the principal thereof that would be due and payable as of the date of such determination upon a declaration of acceleration of the Maturity thereof pursuant to Section 902; and

     (z) the principal amount of any Security which is denominated in a currency other than Dollars or in a composite currency that shall be deemed to be Outstanding for such purposes shall be the amount of Dollars which could have been purchased by the principal amount (or, in the case of a Discount Security, the Dollar equivalent on the date determined as set forth below of the amount determined as provided in (y) above) of such currency or composite currency evidenced by such Security, in each such case certified to the Trustee in an Officers' Certificate, based (i) on the average of the mean of the buying and selling spot rates quoted by three banks which are members of the New York Clearing House Association selected by the Company in effect at 11:00 A.M. (New York time) in The City of New York on the fifth Business Day preceding any such determination or (ii) if on such fifth Business Day it shall not be possible or practicable to obtain such quotations from such three banks, on such other quotations or alternative methods of determination which shall be as consistent as practicable with the method set forth in (i) above;

provided, further, that in the case of any Security the principal of which is payable from time to time without presentment or surrender, the principal amount of such Security that shall be deemed to be Outstanding at any time for all purposes of this Mortgage shall be the original principal amount thereof less the aggregate amount of principal thereof theretofore paid.

     "OUTSTANDING", when used with respect to Secured Debt, means, as of the date of determination, all Secured Debt authenticated and delivered by the trustee or other holder of the Prior Lien securing the same or, if there be no such trustee or other holder, theretofore made and delivered or incurred by the Company, except:

     (a)  Secured Debt theretofore cancelled or delivered to the
trustee or other holder of any such Prior Lien for cancellation;

     (b)  Secured Debt which has been fully paid or deemed to have
been fully paid;

     (c)  Secured Debt held by the Trustee subject to the
provisions of Section 1608 hereof;

     (d) Secured Debt held by the trustee or other holder of a Prior Lien upon the same property as that mortgaged or pledged to secure the Secured Debt so held (under conditions such that no transfer of ownership or possession of such Secured Debt by the trustee or other holder of such Prior Lien is permissible otherwise than to the Trustee to be held subject to the provisions of Section 1608 hereof, or to the trustee or other holder of some other Prior Lien upon the same property for cancellation or to be held uncancelled under the terms of such other Prior Lien under like conditions);

     (e)  Secured Debt secured by a Prepaid Lien; and

     (f)  lost, stolen or destroyed Secured Debt in lieu of or in
substitution for which other Secured Debt shall have been
authenticated and delivered.

     "PAYING AGENT" means any Person, including the Company,
authorized by the Company to pay the principal of, and premium, if any, or interest, if any, on any Securities on behalf of the
Company.

     "PERIODIC OFFERING" means an offering of Securities of a series from time to time any or all of the specific terms of which Securities, including without limitation the rate or rates of interest, if any, thereon, the Stated Maturity or Maturities thereof and the redemption provisions, if any, with respect thereto, are to be determined by the Company or its agents from time to time subsequent to the initial request for the authentication and delivery of such Securities by the Trustee, as contemplated in Section 301 and clause (b) of Section 303.

     "PERMITTED LIENS"

     (A) at any time prior to the Second Effective Date, the term "Permitted Liens" shall, with respect to Mortgaged Property, mean any of the following; provided, however that on and after the Second Effective Date, the term "Permitted Liens" shall have the meaning set forth in clause (B) below and the definition of Permitted Liens set forth in this clause (A) shall automatically cease to be of any further force or effect:

          (a) any Liens or other encumbrances created by others than the Company and any renewal or extension of any such Lien or other encumbrance, which at the particular time in question are Liens upon lands not owned by the Company over which easements or rights-of-way for towers, poles, wires, conduits, mains, pipe lines, transmission lines, distribution lines, metering stations or other facilities or purposes are held by the Company, securing bonds or other indebtedness which have not been assumed or guaranteed by the Company and on which the Company does not customarily pay interest charges;

          (b)  undetermined Liens and charges incidental to
     construction;

          (c) any valid right under any provision of statutory or common law to purchase, condemn, appropriate or recapture, or to designate a purchaser of, any of the Mortgaged Property;

          (d)  the Lien of taxes and assessments not at the time
     due and delinquent;

          (e)  the Lien of specified taxes and assessments which
     are delinquent but the validity of which is being contested
     at the time by the Company in good faith;

          (f)  the Lien reserved in leases for rent and other
     payments in the nature of rent and for compliance with the
     terms of the leases in the case of leasehold estates;

          (g)  minor defects and irregularities in the titles to
     any property which do not materially impair the use of such
     property for the purposes for which it is held by the
     Company;

          (h) easements, rights, exceptions or reservations in any property of the Company, granted or reserved or created by law for the purpose of towers, poles, conduits, mains, pipe lines, transmission lines, distribution lines, metering stations, roads, streets, alleys, highways, railroad tracks, docks, water or air rights, wells and other like facilities or purposes, or for the joint or common use of real property, facilities and equipment, which do not materially impair the use of such property for the purposes for which it is held by the Company;

          (i) rights reserved to or vested in any municipality or public authority to control or regulate any property of the
     Company or to use any such property in any manner which does
     not materially impair the use of such property for the
     purposes for which it is held by the Company;

          (j)  any obligations or duties, affecting the property
     of the Company, to any municipality or public authority with
     respect to any franchise, grant, license or permit; and

          (k) any irregularities in or deficiencies of title to any rights-of-way for electric transmission lines, electric distribution lines, pipe lines, telephone lines, power lines, water lines and/or appurtenances thereto or other improvements thereon, and to any real estate used or to be used primarily for right-of-way purposes, provided that in the opinion of counsel the Company shall have obtained from the apparent owner of the lands or estates therein covered by any such right-of-way a sufficient right, by the terms of the instrument granting such right-of-way, to the use thereof for the construction, operation or maintenance of such lines, appurtenances or improvements for which the same are used or are to be used, or provided that in the opinion of counsel the Company has power under its charter or by statute, by the exercise of eminent domain or a similar right or power, to remove such irregularities or deficiencies.

     (B) at any time on and after the Second Effective Date, the term "Permitted Lien" shall, with respect to the Mortgaged Property, mean any of the following; provided, however, that the definition of Permitted Liens set forth in this Clause (B) shall be of no force or effect until the Second Effective Date, but shall automatically become and be in full force and effect on and after the Second Effective Date:

          (a)  Liens existing as of the Second Effective Date;

          (b)  as to property acquired by the Company after the
     Second Effective Date, Liens existing or placed thereon at
     the time of the acquisition thereof (including, but not
     limited to, any Prior Lien);

          (c) Liens for taxes, assessments and other governmental charges or requirements which are not delinquent or which are being contested in good faith by appropriate proceedings;

          (d) mechanics', workmen's, repairmen's, materialmen's, warehousemen's, and carriers' Liens, other Liens incident to construction, Liens or privileges of any employees of the Company for salary or wages earned, but not yet payable, and other Liens, including without limitation Liens for worker's compensation awards, arising in the ordinary course of business for charges or requirements which are not delinquent or which are being contested in good faith and by appropriate proceedings;

          (e) Liens in respect of attachments, judgments or awards arising out of judicial or administrative proceedings
     (i) in an amount not exceeding the greater of (A) $10,000,000 and (B) 3% of the aggregate principal amount of all Securities and Secured Debt then Outstanding or (ii) with respect to which the Company shall (X) in good faith be prosecuting an appeal or other proceeding for review and with respect to which the Company shall have secured a stay of execution pending such appeal or other proceeding or (Y) have the right to prosecute an appeal or other proceeding for review;

          (f) easements, leases, reservations or other rights of others in, on, over and/or across, and laws, regulations and restrictions affecting, and defects, irregularities, exceptions and limitations in title to, the Mortgaged Property or any part thereof; provided, however, that such easements, leases, reservations, rights, laws, regulations, restrictions, defects, irregularities, exceptions and limitations do not in the aggregate materially impair the use by the Company of the Mortgaged Property considered as a whole for the purposes for which it is held by the Company;

          (g) defects, irregularities, exceptions and limitations in title to real property subject to rights-of-way in favor of the Company or otherwise or used or to be used by the Company primarily for right-of-way purposes or real property held under lease, easement, license or similar right; provided, however, that (i) the Company shall have obtained from the apparent owner or owners of such real property a sufficient right, by the terms of the instrument granting such right-of-way, lease, easement, license or similar right, to the use thereof for the purposes for which the Company acquired the same; or (ii) the Company has power under eminent domain or similar statutes to remove such defects, irregularities, exceptions or limitations; or (iii) such defects, irregularities, exceptions and limitations may be otherwise remedied without undue effort or expense; and defects, irregularities, exceptions and limitations in title to reclaimed lands, flood lands, flooding rights and/or water rights;

          (h) Liens securing indebtedness or other obligations neither created, assumed nor guaranteed by the Company nor on account of which it customarily pays interest upon real property or rights in or relating to real property acquired by the Company for the purpose of the transmission or distribution of electric energy, gas or water, for the purpose of telephonic, telegraphic, radio, wireless or other electronic communication or otherwise for the purpose of obtaining rights-of-way or for any other purposes;

          (i) leases existing as of the Second Effective Date affecting properties owned by the Company at said date and renewals and extensions thereof; and leases affecting such properties entered into after such date or affecting properties acquired by the Company after such date which, in either case, (i) have respective terms of not more than 10 years (including extensions or renewals at the option of the tenant) or (ii) do not materially impair the use by the Company of such properties for the respective purposes for which they are held by the Company;

          (j) Liens vested in lessors, licensors, franchisors or permitters for rent or other amounts to become due or for other obligations or acts to be performed, the payment of which rent or the performance of which other obligations or acts is required under leases, subleases, licenses, franchises or permits, so long as the payment of such rent or other amounts or the performance of such other obligations or acts is not delinquent or is being contested in good faith and by appropriate proceedings;

          (k) controls, restrictions, obligations, duties and/or other burdens imposed by federal, state, municipal or other law, or by rules, regulations or orders of Governmental Authorities, upon the Mortgaged Property or any part thereof or the operation or use thereof or upon the Company with respect to the Mortgaged Property or any part thereof or the operation or use thereof or with respect to any franchise, grant, license, permit or public purpose requirement, or any rights reserved to or otherwise vested in Governmental Authorities to impose any such controls, restrictions, obligations, duties and/or other burdens;

          (l) rights which Governmental Authorities may have by virtue of franchises, grants, licenses, permits or contracts, or by virtue of law, to take, condemn, appropriate, occupy, purchase, recapture or designate a purchaser of or order the sale of the Mortgaged Property or any part thereof, to terminate franchises, grants, licenses, permits, contracts or other rights or to regulate the property and business of the Company; and any and all obligations of the Company correlative to any such rights;

          (m)  Liens required by law or governmental regulations
     (i) as a condition to the transaction of any business or the exercise of any privilege or license, (ii) to enable the Company to maintain self-insurance or to participate in any funds established to cover any insurance risks, (iii) in connection with workmen's compensation, unemployment insurance, social security, any pension or welfare benefit plan or (iv) to share in the privileges or benefits required for companies participating in one or more of the arrangements described in clauses (ii) and (iii) above;

          (n) Liens on the Mortgaged Property or any part thereof which are granted by the Company to secure duties or public
     or statutory obligations or to secure, or serve in lieu of,
     surety, stay or appeal bonds;

          (o) rights reserved to or vested in others to take or receive any part of any coal, ore, gas, oil and other minerals, any timber and/or any electric capacity or energy, gas, water, steam and any other products, developed, produced, manufactured, generated, purchased or otherwise acquired by the Company or by others on property of the Company;

          (p) (i) rights and interests of Persons other than the Company arising out of contracts, agreements and other instruments to which the Company is a party and which relate to the common ownership or joint use of property; and (ii) all Liens on the interests of Persons other than the Company in property owned in common by such Persons and the Company;

          (q)  any restrictions on assignment and/or requirements
     of any assignee to qualify as a permitted assignee and/or
     public utility or public service corporation;

          (r)  Liens, if any, which may be deemed to exist with
     respect to property leased by the Company pursuant to leases
     which are treated under generally accepted accounting
     principles as capital leases;

          (s)  any Liens which have been bonded for the full
     amount in dispute or for the payment of which other adequate
     security arrangements have been made;

          (t)  rights and interests granted pursuant to Section
     1602(c);

          (u)  Prepaid Liens;

          (v)  any Liens, claims, encumbrances, rights, or
     interests of Persons claiming such rights, interests, etc. as descendants of American Indians or as Indian Tribes, whether
     pursuant to the Non-Intercourse Act of 1834 (25 U.S.C.  177)
     or otherwise; and

          (w)  any Lien of the Trustee granted pursuant to Section
     1007.

     "PERSON" means any individual, corporation, joint venture,
limited liability company, trust or unincorporated organization or any Governmental Authority.

     "PLACE OF PAYMENT", when used with respect to the Securities of any series, or Tranche thereof, means the place or places, specified as contemplated by Section 301, at which, subject to
Section 702, principal of and premium, if any, and interest, if any, on the Securities of such series or Tranche are payable.

     "PREDECESSOR SECURITY" of any particular Security means every previous Security evidencing all or a portion of the same debt as that evidenced by such particular Security; and, for the purposes of this definition, any Security authenticated and delivered under
Section 306 in exchange for or in lieu of a mutilated, destroyed, lost or stolen Security shall be deemed to evidence the same debt as the mutilated, destroyed, lost or stolen Security.

     "PREPAID LIENS" means any Lien securing indebtedness for the payment of which money in the necessary amount shall have been irrevocably deposited in trust with the trustee or other holder of such Lien; provided, however, that if such indebtedness is to be redeemed or otherwise prepaid prior to the stated maturity thereof, any notice requisite to such redemption or prepayment shall have been given in accordance with the mortgage or other instrument creating such Lien or irrevocable instructions to give such notice shall have been given to such trustee or other holder.

     "PRIOR LIEN" means any Lien securing Secured Debt.

     "PROPERTY ADDITIONS" has the meaning specified in Section
102.

     "PURCHASE MONEY LIEN" means, with respect to any property
being acquired or disposed of by the Company or being released
from the Lien of this Mortgage, a Lien on such property which

     (a)  is taken or retained by the transferor of such property
to secure all or part of the purchase price thereof;

     (b)  is granted to one or more Persons other than the
transferor which, by making advances or incurring an obligation,
give value to enable the grantor of such Lien to acquire rights in or the use of such property;

     (c) is granted to any other Person in connection with the release of such property from the Lien of this Mortgage on the basis of the deposit with the Trustee or the trustee or other holder of a Lien prior to the Lien of this Mortgage of obligations secured by such Lien on such property (as well as any other property subject thereto);

     (d) is held by a trustee or agent for the benefit of one or more Persons described in clause (a), (b) and/or (c) above, provided that such Lien may be held, in addition, for the benefit of one or more other Persons which shall have theretofore given, or may thereafter give, value to or for the benefit or account of the grantor of such Lien for one or more other purposes; or

     (e) otherwise constitutes a purchase money mortgage or a purchase money security interest under applicable law; and, without limiting the generality of the foregoing, for purposes of this Mortgage, the term Purchase Money Lien shall be deemed to include any Lien described above whether or not such Lien (x) shall permit the issuance or other incurrence of additional indebtedness secured by such Lien on such property, (y) shall permit the subjection to such Lien of additional property and the issuance or other incurrence of additional indebtedness on the basis thereof and/or (z) shall have been granted prior to the acquisition, disposition or release of such property, shall attach to or otherwise cover property other than the property being acquired, disposed of or released and/or shall secure obligations issued prior and/or subsequent to the issuance of the obligations delivered in connection with such acquisition, disposition or release.

     "RATE REDUCTION BOND" means notes or bonds issued on behalf
of the Company that are wholly or partially secured by Rate
Reduction Bond Property or are unsecured and with respect to which no recourse may be had to the Company or its assets for the
payment of principal, premium or interest, except for the Rate
Reduction Bond Property securing such notes or bonds.

     "RATE REDUCTION BOND PROPERTY" means all charges, receivables, similar amounts or any other property of the Company authorized by appropriate Connecticut or other legislation, order, rule, statute, decree or judgment to be collected by the Company or any other party from its customers or any other party as security for, or to assure the payment of principal of, and premium and interest on, Rate Reduction Bonds and obligations relating thereto.

     "REDEMPTION DATE", when used with respect to any Security to
be redeemed, means the date fixed for such redemption by or
pursuant to this Mortgage.

     "REDEMPTION PRICE", when used with respect to any Security to be redeemed, means the price at which it is to be redeemed
pursuant to this Mortgage, exclusive of accrued and unpaid
interest.

     "REGULAR RECORD DATE" for the interest payable on any
Interest Payment Date on the Securities of any series means the
date specified for that purpose as contemplated by Section 301.

     "REQUIRED CURRENCY" has the meaning specified in Section 311.

     "RESPONSIBLE OFFICER", when used with respect to the Trustee, means any officer within the corporate trust administration group of the Trustee (or any successor group of the Trustee) with direct responsibility for the administration of this Mortgage and also means, with respect to a particular corporate trust matter, any other officer to whom such matter is referred because of his knowledge of and familiarity with the particular subject.

     "SALE AND LEASE BACK TRANSACTION" means any arrangement with any Person providing for the leasing to the Company of any Mortgaged Property (except for leases for a term, including any renewal thereof, of not more than forty-eight (48) months), which Mortgaged Property has been or is to be sold or transferred by the Company to such Person.

     "SECOND EFFECTIVE DATE" means the earliest date on which the Holders of all Securities then Outstanding shall have consented (or shall be deemed to have consented) to the amendment of this Mortgage substantially in the form that the Mortgage shall have become effective on the First Effective Date with such changes thereafter as are permitted by the terms hereof; provided, however, that the Holders of all Securities issued after the First Effective Date shall automatically be deemed to have so consented.

     "SECURED DEBT" means Debt, other than Securities, created, issued, incurred or assumed by the Company which is secured by a Lien, other than a Permitted Lien, upon any Mortgaged Property (other than Excepted Property) of the Company prior to or on a parity with the lien of this Mortgage.

     "SECURITIES" means any securities authenticated and delivered under this Mortgage.

     "SECURITIES ACT" means the Securities Act of 1933, as
amended.

     "SECURITY REGISTER" AND "SECURITY REGISTRAR" have the
respective meanings specified in Section 305.

     "SPECIAL RECORD DATE" for the payment of any Defaulted
Interest on the Securities of any series means a date fixed by the Trustee pursuant to Section 307.

     "STATED INTEREST RATE" means a rate (whether fixed or variable) at which an obligation by its terms is stated to bear simple interest. Any calculation or other determination to be made under this Mortgage by reference to the Stated Interest Rate on a Security shall be made without regard to the effective interest cost to the Company of such Security and without regard to the Stated Interest Rate on, or the effective cost to the Company of, any other indebtedness the Company's obligations in respect of which are evidenced or secured in whole or in part by such Security.

     "STATED MATURITY", when used with respect to any Security or any obligation or any installment of principal thereof or interest thereon, means the date on which the principal of such obligation or such installment of principal or interest is stated to be due and payable (without regard to any provisions for redemption, prepayment, acceleration, purchase or extension).

     "SUCCESSOR COMPANY" has the meaning set forth in Section
1201.

     "SUPPLEMENTAL MORTGAGE", "SUPPLEMENTAL INDENTURE" or
"MORTGAGE SUPPLEMENTAL HERETO" means an instrument supplementing
or amending this Mortgage executed and delivered pursuant to
Article Thirteen.

     "TRANCHE" means a group of Securities which (a) are of the
same series and (b) have identical terms except as to principal
amount, date of issuance, interest rate, payment terms and/or
maturity date.

     "TRUSTEE" means the Person named as the "Trustee" in the first paragraph of this Mortgage until a successor Trustee shall have been appointed by the Company pursuant to Section 1010 or otherwise have become such with respect to one or more series of Securities pursuant to the applicable provisions of this Mortgage, and thereafter "Trustee" shall mean or include each Person who is then a Trustee hereunder, and if at any time there is more than one such Person, "Trustee" as used with respect to the Securities of any series shall mean the Trustee with respect to Securities of that series.

     "TRUST INDENTURE ACT" means, as of any time, the Trust
Indenture Act of 1939 as in effect at such time.

     "UNITED STATES" means the United States of America, its
territories, its possessions and other areas subject to its
jurisdiction.

     SECTION 102.   PROPERTY ADDITIONS; COST.

     (a)  "PROPERTY ADDITIONS" means, as of any particular time,
any item, unit or element of property which at such time is owned
by the Company and is Mortgaged Property.

     (b) When the aggregate amount of any Property Additions are calculated for any purpose under the Mortgage, there shall be deducted from the Cost or Fair Value to the Company thereof, as the case may be (as of the date so calculated), an amount equal to all related reserves (estimated, if necessary, as to particular property) for depreciation, depletion, obsolescence or amortization recorded on the books of the Company as of the date so calculated in respect of such Property Additions which have not theretofore been deducted from the Cost or Fair Value of Property Additions theretofore so calculated.

     (c) Except as otherwise provided in Section 1603, the term "COST" with respect to Property Additions shall mean the sum of
(i) any cash delivered in payment therefor or for the acquisition thereof, (ii) an amount equivalent to the fair market value in cash (as of the date of delivery) of any securities or other property delivered in payment therefor or for the acquisition thereof, (iii) the principal amount of any obligations secured by a Prior Lien upon such Property Additions outstanding at the time of the acquisition thereof, (iv) the principal amount of any other obligations incurred or assumed in connection with the payment for such Property Additions or for the acquisition thereof and (v) any other amounts which, in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles, are properly charged or chargeable to the plant or other property accounts of the Company with respect to such Property Additions as part of the cost of construction or acquisition thereof, including, but not limited to, any allowance for funds used during construction or any similar or analogous amount; provided, however, that, notwithstanding any other provision of this Mortgage,

          (i) with respect to Property Additions owned by a successor corporation immediately prior to the time it shall have become such by consolidation or merger or acquired by a successor corporation in or as a result of a consolidation or merger (excluding, in any case, Property Additions owned by the Company immediately prior to such time), Cost shall mean the amount or amounts at which such Property Additions are recorded in the plant or other property accounts of such successor corporation, or the predecessor corporation from which such Property Additions are acquired, as the case may be, immediately prior to such consolidation or merger;

          (ii) with respect to Property Additions which shall have been acquired (otherwise than by construction) by the Company without any consideration consisting of cash, securities or other property or the incurring or assumption of indebtedness, no determination of Cost shall be required, and, wherever in this Mortgage provision is made for Cost or Fair Value, Cost with respect to such Property Additions shall mean an amount equal to the Fair Value to the Company thereof or, if greater, the aggregate amount reflected in the Company's books of account with respect thereto upon the acquisition thereof; and

          (iii)  in no event shall the Cost of Property
Additions be required to reflect any adjustment to the amount or
amounts at which such Property Additions are recorded in plant or
other property accounts due to the non-recoverability of
investment or otherwise.

If any Property Additions are shown by the Experts' Certificate provided for in Section 401(b)(ii) to include property which has been used or operated by others than the Company in a business similar to that in which it has been or is to be used or operated by the Company, the Cost thereof need not be reduced by any amount in respect of any goodwill, going concern value, franchises, contracts, operating agreements and other rights and/or intangible property simultaneously acquired for which no separate or distinct consideration shall have been paid or apportioned, and in such case the term Property Additions as defined herein may include such goodwill, going concern value rights and intangible property.

     SECTION 103.   COMPLIANCE CERTIFICATES AND OPINIONS.

     Except as otherwise expressly provided in this Mortgage, upon any application or request by the Company to the Trustee to take any action under any provision of this Mortgage, the Company shall furnish to the Trustee an Officers' Certificate stating that in the opinion of the Authorized Officers executing such Officers' Certificate all conditions precedent, if any, provided for in this Mortgage relating to the proposed action (including any covenants compliance with which constitutes a condition precedent) have been complied with and an Opinion of Counsel stating that in the opinion of such counsel all such conditions precedent, if any, have been complied with, except that in the case of any such application or request as to which the furnishing of such documents is specifically required by any provision of this Mortgage relating to such particular application or request, no additional certificate or opinion need be furnished.

     Every certificate or opinion with respect to compliance with
a condition or covenant provided for in this Mortgage shall
include:

          (a) a statement that each Person signing such certificate or opinion has read such covenant or condition and the definitions
herein relating thereto;

          (b) a brief statement as to the nature and scope of the examination or investigation upon which the statements or opinions contained in such certificate or opinion are based;

          (c) a statement that, in the opinion of each such Person, such Person has made such examination or investigation as is necessary to enable such Person to express an informed opinion as to whether
or not such covenant or condition has been complied with; and
(d)  a statement as to whether, in the opinion of each such
Person, such condition or covenant has been complied with.

     SECTION 104.   FORM OF DOCUMENTS DELIVERED TO TRUSTEE.

          (a) Any Officers' Certificate may be based (without further examination or investigation), insofar as it relates to or is dependent upon legal matters, upon an opinion of, or
representations by, counsel, and, insofar as it relates to or is dependent upon matters which are subject to verification by Accountants, upon a certificate or opinion of, or representations
by, an Accountant, and insofar as it relates to or is dependent
upon matters which are required in this Mortgage to be covered by
a certificate or opinion of, or representations by, an Expert,
upon the certificate or opinion of, or representations by, an
Expert, unless, in any case, either such officer has actual
knowledge that the certificate or opinion or representations with respect to the matters upon which such Officers' Certificate may
be based as aforesaid are erroneous.

     Any Experts' Certificate may be based (without further examination or investigation), insofar as it relates to or is dependent upon legal matters, upon an opinion of, or representations by, counsel, and insofar as it relates to or is dependent upon factual matters, information with respect to which is in the possession of the Company and which are not subject to verification by Experts, upon a certificate or opinion of, or representations by, an officer or officers of the Company, unless such expert has actual knowledge that the certificate or opinion or representations with respect to the matters upon which his certificate or opinion may be based as aforesaid are erroneous.

     Any certificate of an Accountant may be based (without further examination or investigation), insofar as it relates to or is dependent upon legal matters, upon an opinion of, or representations by, counsel, and in so far as it relates to or is dependent upon factual matters, information with respect to which is in the possession of the Company and which are not subject to verification by Accountants, upon a certificate of, or representations by, an officer or officers of the Company, unless such Accountant has actual knowledge that the certificate or opinion or representations with respect to the matters upon which his certificate or opinion may be based as aforesaid are erroneous.

     Any Opinion of Counsel may be based (without further examination or investigation), insofar as it relates to or is dependent upon factual matters, information with respect to which is in the possession of the Company, upon a certificate of, or representations by, an officer or officers of the Company, and, insofar as it relates to or is dependent upon matters which are subject to verification by Accountants upon a certificate or opinion of, or representations by, an Accountant, and, insofar as it relates to or is dependent upon matters required in this Mortgage to be covered by a certificate or opinion of, or representations by, an Expert, upon the certificate or opinion of, or representations by, an Expert, unless such counsel has actual knowledge that the certificate or opinion or representations with respect to the matters upon which his opinion may be based as aforesaid are erroneous. In addition, any Opinion of Counsel may be based (without further examination or investigation), insofar as it relates to or is dependent upon matters covered in an Opinion of Counsel rendered by other counsel, upon such other Opinion of Counsel, unless such counsel has actual knowledge that the Opinion of Counsel rendered by such other counsel with respect to the matters upon which his Opinion of Counsel may be based as aforesaid are erroneous. Further, any Opinion of Counsel with respect to the status of title to or the sufficiency of descriptions of property, and/or the existence of Liens thereon, and/or the recording or filing of documents, and/or any similar matters, may be based (without further examination or investigation) upon (i) title insurance policies or commitments and reports, abstracts of title, lien search certificates and other similar documents or (ii) certificates of, or representations by, officers, employees, agents and/or other representatives of the Company or (iii) any combination of the documents referred to in (i) and (ii), unless, in any case, such counsel has actual knowledge that the document or documents with respect to the matters upon which his opinion may be based as aforesaid are erroneous. If, in order to render any Opinion of Counsel provided for herein, the signer thereof shall deem it necessary that additional facts or matters be stated in any Officers' Certificate, certificate of an Accountant or Experts' Certificate provided for herein, then such certificate may state all such additional facts or matters as the signer of such Opinion of Counsel may request.

          (b) In any case where several matters are required to be certified by, or covered by an opinion of, any specified Person,
it is not necessary that all such matters be certified by, or covered by the opinion of, only one such Person, or that they be
so certified or covered by only one document, but one such Person may certify or give an opinion with respect to some matters and
one or more other such Persons as to other matters, and any such Person may certify or give an opinion as to such matters in one or several documents. Where (i) any Person is required to make, give or execute two or more applications, requests, consents, certificates, statements, opinions or other instruments under this Mortgage, or (ii) two or more Persons are each required to make, give or execute any such application, request, consent, certificate, statement, opinion or other instrument, any such applications, requests, consents, certificates, statements, opinions or other instruments may, but need not, be consolidated and form one instrument.

          (c) Whenever, subsequent to the receipt by the Trustee of any Board Resolution, Officers' Certificate, Experts' Certificate, Opinion of Counsel or other document or instrument, a clerical, typographical or other inadvertent or unintentional error or omission shall be discovered therein, a new document or instrument may be substituted therefor in corrected form with the same force and effect as if originally filed in the corrected form and, irrespective of the date or dates of the actual execution and/or delivery thereof, such substitute document or instrument shall be deemed to have been executed and/or delivered as of the date or dates required with respect to the document or instrument for
which it is substituted.  Anything in this Mortgage to the
contrary notwithstanding, if any such corrective document or instrument indicates that action has been taken by or at the
request of the Company which could not have been taken had the original document or instrument not contained such error or omission, the action so taken shall not be invalidated or
otherwise rendered ineffective but shall be and remain in full
force and effect, except to the extent that such action was a
result of willful misconduct or bad faith. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, any Securities issued under the authority of such defective document or instrument shall nevertheless be the valid obligations of the Company entitled to
the benefits of this Mortgage equally and ratably with all other Outstanding Securities, except as aforesaid.

     SECTION 105.   ACTS OF HOLDERS.

          (a) Any request, demand, authorization, direction, notice, consent, election, waiver or other action provided by this
Mortgage to be made, given or taken by Holders may be embodied in
and evidenced by one or more instruments of substantially similar tenor signed by such Holders in person or by an agent duly
appointed in writing or, alternatively, may be embodied in and evidenced by the record of Holders voting in favor thereof, either
in person or by proxies duly appointed in writing, at any meeting
of Holders duly called and held in accordance with the provisions
of Article Fourteen, or a combination of such instruments and any such record. Except as herein otherwise expressly provided, such action shall become effective when such instrument or instruments
or record or both are delivered to the Trustee and, where it is hereby expressly required, to the Company. Such instrument or instruments and any such record (and the action embodied therein
and evidenced thereby) are herein sometimes referred to as the
"Act" of the Holders signing such instrument or instruments and so voting at any such meeting. Proof of execution of any such instrument or of a writing appointing any such agent, or of the holding by any Person of a Security, shall be sufficient for any purpose of this Mortgage and (subject to Section 1001) conclusive
in favor of the Trustee and the Company, if made in the manner provided in this Section. The record of any meeting of Holders
shall be proved in the manner provided in Section 1406.

          (b) The fact and date of the execution by any Person of any such instrument or writing may be proved by the affidavit of a witness of such execution or by a certificate of a notary public or other officer authorized by law to take acknowledgments of deeds,
certifying that the individual signing such instrument or writing acknowledged to him the execution thereof or may be proved in any other manner which the Trustee and the Company deem sufficient.
Where such execution is by a signer acting in a capacity other
than his individual capacity, such certificate or affidavit shall
also constitute sufficient proof of his authority.

          (c) The ownership, principal amount (except as otherwise contemplated in clause (y) of the first proviso to the definition
of Outstanding) and serial numbers of Securities held by any
Person, and the date of holding the same, shall be proved by the
Security Register.

          (d) Any request, demand, authorization, direction, notice, consent, election, waiver or other Act of a Holder shall bind
every future Holder of the same Security and the Holder of every Security issued upon the registration of transfer thereof or in exchange therefor or in lieu thereof in respect of anything done, omitted or suffered to be done by the Trustee or the Company in reliance thereon, whether or not notation of such action is made
upon such Security.

          (e) Until such time as written instruments shall have been delivered to the Trustee with respect to the requisite percentage
of principal amount of Securities for the action contemplated by
such instruments, any such instrument executed and delivered by or
on behalf of a Holder may be revoked with respect to any or all of such Securities by written notice by such Holder or any subsequent Holder, proven in the manner in which such instrument was proven.

         (f) Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, authenticated and delivered after any Act of Holders may, and shall if required by the Trustee, bear a notation in form approved by the Trustee as to any action taken by such Act of Holders. If the Company shall so determine, new Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, so modified as to conform, in the opinion of the Trustee and the Company, to such action may be prepared and executed by the Company and authenticated and delivered by the Trustee in exchange for Outstanding Securities of such series or Tranche.

          (g) If the Company shall solicit from Holders any request, demand, authorization, direction, notice, consent, waiver or other Act, the Company may, at its option, fix in advance a record date
for the determination of Holders entitled to give such request, demand, authorization, direction, notice, consent, waiver or other Act, but the Company shall have no obligation to do so. If such a record date is fixed, such request, demand, authorization,
direction, notice, consent, waiver or other Act may be given
before or after such record date, but only the Holders of record
at the close of business on the record date shall be deemed to be Holders for the purposes of determining whether Holders of the requisite proportion of the Outstanding Securities have authorized
or agreed or consented to such request, demand, authorization, direction, notice, consent, waiver or other Act, and for that
purpose the Outstanding Securities shall be computed as of the
record date.

     SECTION 106.   NOTICES, ETC. TO TRUSTEE OR COMPANY.

     Except as otherwise provided herein, any request, demand, authorization, direction, notice, consent, election, waiver or Act of Holders or other document provided or permitted by this Mortgage to be made upon, given or furnished to, or filed with, the Trustee by any Holder or by the Company, or the Company by the Trustee or by any Holder, shall be sufficient for every purpose hereunder (unless otherwise expressly provided herein) if in writing and delivered personally to an officer or other responsible employee of the addressee, or transmitted by facsimile transmission or other direct written electronic means to such telephone number or other electronic communications address set forth for such party below or such other address as the parties hereto shall from time to time designate, or delivered by registered or certified mail or reputable overnight courier, charges prepaid, to the applicable address set forth for such party below or to such other address as either party hereto may from time to time designate:

     If to the Trustee, to:
     Deutsche Bank Trust Company Americas
     Trust Administration & Securities Services
     60 Wall Street, 27th Floor
     New York, New York 10005-2858

     Attention:  Global Debt Services
     Telephone: (212) 250-4525
     Telecopy: (212) 797-8614

     If to the Company, to:

     The Connecticut Light and Power Company
     P.O. Box 270
     Hartford, Connecticut  06141-0270

     Attention:      [_________]
     Telephone:     (860) [_________]
     Telecopy: (860) [_________]

     Any communication contemplated herein shall be deemed to have been made, given, furnished and filed if personally delivered, on the date of delivery, if transmitted by facsimile transmission or other direct written electronic means, on the date of transmission if transmitted during normal business hours and otherwise on the next Business Day, and if transmitted by registered or certified mail or reputable overnight courier, on the date of receipt.

     SECTION 107.   NOTICE TO HOLDERS OF SECURITIES; WAIVER.

     Except as otherwise expressly provided herein, where this Mortgage provides for notice to Holders of any event, such notice shall be sufficiently given, and shall be deemed given, to Holders if in writing and mailed, first-class postage prepaid, to each Holder affected by such event, at the address of such Holder as it appears in the Security Register, not later than the latest date, and not earlier than the earliest date, if any, prescribed for the giving of such Notice.

     In case by reason of the suspension of regular mail service or by reason of any other cause it shall be impracticable to give such notice to Holders by mail, then such notification as shall be made with the approval of the Trustee shall constitute a sufficient notification for every purpose hereunder. In any case where notice to Holders is given by mail, neither the failure to mail such notice, nor any defect in any notice so mailed, to any particular Holder shall affect the sufficiency of such notice with respect to Holders.

     Any notice required by this Mortgage may be waived in writing by the Person entitled to receive such notice, either before or after the event otherwise to be specified therein, and such waiver shall be the equivalent of such notice. Waivers of notice by Holders shall be filed with the Trustee, but such filing shall not be a condition precedent to the validity of any action taken in reliance upon such waiver.

     SECTION 108.   CONFLICT WITH TRUST INDENTURE ACT.

     If any provision of this Mortgage limits, qualifies or conflicts with another provision hereof which is required or deemed to be included in this Mortgage by, or is otherwise governed by, any provision of the Trust Indenture Act, such other provision shall control; and if any provision hereof otherwise conflicts with the Trust Indenture Act, the Trust Indenture Act shall control unless otherwise provided as contemplated by Section 301 with respect to any series of Securities.

     SECTION 109.   EFFECT OF HEADINGS AND TABLE OF CONTENTS.

     The Article and Section headings in this Mortgage and the
Table of Contents are for convenience only and shall not affect
the construction hereof.

     SECTION 110.   SUCCESSORS AND ASSIGNS.

     All covenants and agreements in this Mortgage by the Company
and Trustee shall bind their respective successors and assigns,
whether so expressed or not.

     SECTION 111.   SEPARABILITY CLAUSE.

     In case any provision in this Mortgage or the Securities
shall be held to be invalid, illegal or unenforceable, the
validity, legality and enforceability of the remaining provisions
shall not in any way be affected or impaired thereby.

     SECTION 112.   BENEFITS OF MORTGAGE.

     Nothing in this Mortgage or the Securities, express or
implied, shall give to any Person, other than the parties hereto,
their successors hereunder and the Holders of any Outstanding
Securities, any benefit or any legal or equitable right, remedy or claim under this Mortgage.

     SECTION 113.   GOVERNING LAW.

     This Mortgage and the Securities shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the law of the State of Connecticut, except to the extent that the Trust Indenture Act shall be applicable and except to the extent that the laws of any other state where the Company then owns Mortgaged Property shall govern the Mortgage Lien and related provisions of the Mortgage with respect to property in such state; provided however that the rights and obligations of the Trustee shall be governed by the laws of the state in which the Corporate Trust Office is located.

     SECTION 114.   LEGAL HOLIDAYS.

     In any case where any Interest Payment Date, Redemption Date or Stated Maturity of any Security shall not be a Business Day at any Place of Payment, then (notwithstanding any other provision of this Mortgage or of the Securities other than a provision in Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, or in the Mortgage supplemental hereto, Board Resolution or Officers' Certificate which establishes the terms of the Securities of such series or Tranche, which specifically states that such provision shall apply in lieu of this Section) payment of interest or principal and premium, if any, need not be made at such Place of Payment on such date, but may be made on the next succeeding Business Day at such Place of Payment with the same force and effect as if made on the Interest Payment Date, Redemption Date, or Stated Maturity, and, if such payment is made or duly provided for on such Business Day, no interest shall accrue on the amount so payable for the period from and after such Interest Payment Date, Redemption Date or Stated Maturity, as the case may be, to such Business Day.

     SECTION 115.   INVESTMENT OF CASH HELD BY TRUSTEE.

     Any cash held by the Trustee or any Paying Agent under any provision of this Mortgage shall, except as otherwise provided in
Section 1606 or in Article Eight, at the request of the Company evidenced by Company Order, be invested or reinvested in Investment Securities designated by the Company (such Company Order to contain a representation to the effect that the securities designated therein constitute Investment Securities), any interest on such Investment Securities shall be promptly paid over to the Company as received free and clear of any Lien. Such Investment Securities shall be held subject to the same provisions hereof as the cash used to purchase the same, but upon a like request of the Company shall be sold, in whole or in designated part, and the proceeds of such sale shall be held subject to the same provisions hereof as the cash used to purchase the Investment Securities so sold. If such sale shall produce a net sum less than the cost of the Investment Securities so sold, the Company shall pay to the Trustee or any such Paying Agent, as the case may be, such amount in cash as, together with the net proceeds from such sale, shall equal the cost of the Investment Securities so sold, and if such sale shall produce a net sum greater than the cost of the Investment Securities so sold, the Trustee or any such Paying Agent, as the case may be, shall promptly pay over to the Company an amount in cash equal to such excess, free and clear of any Lien. In no event shall the Trustee be liable for any loss incurred in connection with the sale of any Investment Security pursuant to this Section.

     Notwithstanding the foregoing, if an Event of Default shall have occurred and be continuing, interest on Investment Securities and any gain upon the sale thereof shall be held as part of the Mortgaged Property until such Event of Default shall have been cured or waived, whereupon such interest and gain shall be promptly paid over to the Company free and clear of any Lien.

                            ARTICLE TWO

                          SECURITY FORMS

     SECTION 201.   FORMS GENERALLY.

     The definitive Securities of each series shall be in substantially the form or forms thereof established in the Mortgage supplemental hereto establishing such series or in a Board Resolution establishing such series, or in an Officers' Certificate pursuant to such a Supplemental Mortgage or Board Resolution, in each case with such appropriate insertions, omissions, substitutions and other variations as are required or permitted by this Mortgage, and may have such letters, numbers or other marks of identification and such legends or endorsements placed thereon as may be required to comply with the rules of any securities exchange or as may, consistently herewith, be determined by the officers executing such Securities, as evidenced by their execution thereof. If the form or forms of Securities of any series are established in a Board Resolution or in an Officers' Certificate pursuant to a Supplemental Mortgage or a Board Resolution, such Board Resolution and Officers' Certificate, if any, shall be delivered to the Trustee at or prior to the delivery of the Company Order contemplated by Section 303 for the authentication and delivery of such Securities.

     Unless otherwise specified as contemplated by Section 301, the Securities of each series shall be issuable in registered form without coupons. The definitive Securities shall be produced in such manner as shall be determined by the officers executing such Securities, as evidenced by their execution thereof.

     SECTION 202.   FORM OF TRUSTEE'S CERTIFICATE OF AUTHENTICATION.

     The Trustee's certificate of authentication shall be in
substantially the form set forth below:

     This is one of the Securities of the series designated
therein referred to in the within-mentioned Mortgage.

          Deutsche Bank Trust Company Americas
          f/k/a Bankers Trust Company,
          as Trustee
          By: _____________________________
          Authorized Signatory

                           ARTICLE THREE

                          THE SECURITIES

     SECTION 301.   AMOUNT UNLIMITED; ISSUABLE IN SERIES.

     The aggregate principal amount of Securities which may be
authenticated and delivered under this Mortgage is unlimited.

     The Securities may be issued in one or more series. Subject to the last paragraph of this Section, prior to the authentication and delivery of Securities of any series there shall be established by specification in a supplemental Mortgage or in a Board Resolution or in an Officers' Certificate pursuant to a supplemental Mortgage or a Board Resolution:

          (a) the title of the Securities of such series (which shall distinguish the Securities of such series from Securities of all
other series);

          (b) any limit upon the aggregate principal amount of the Securities of such series which may be authenticated and delivered under this Mortgage (except for Securities authenticated and delivered upon registration of transfer of, or in exchange for, or in lieu of, other Securities of such series pursuant to Section 304, 305, 306, 506 or 1306 and except for any Securities which, pursuant to Section 303, are deemed never to have been authenticated and delivered hereunder);

          (c) the Person or Persons (without specific identification) to whom any interest on Securities of such series, or any Tranche thereof, shall be payable, if other than the Person in whose name
that Security (or one or more Predecessor Securities) is
registered at the close of business on the Regular Record Date for
such interest;

          (d) the date or dates on which the principal of the Securities of such series or any Tranche thereof, is payable or any formulary or other method or other means by which such date or dates shall be determined, by reference to an index or other fact or event ascertainable outside of this Mortgage or otherwise (without
regard to any provisions for redemption, prepayment, acceleration, purchase or extension); and the right, if any, to extend the Maturity of the Securities of such series, or any Tranche thereof, and the duration of any such extension;

          (e) the rate or rates at which the Securities of such series, or any Tranche thereof, shall bear interest, if any (including the rate or rates at which overdue principal shall bear interest after Maturity if different from the rate or rates at which such
Securities shall bear interest prior to Maturity, and, if
applicable, the rate or rates at which overdue premium or interest shall bear interest, if any), or any formulary or other method or other means by which such rate or rates shall be determined by reference to an index or other fact or event ascertainable outside
of this Mortgage or otherwise, the date or dates from which such interest shall accrue; the Interest Payment Dates and the Regular Record Dates, if any, for the interest payable on such Securities
on any Interest Payment Date; and the basis of computation of interest, if other than as provided in Section 310; and the right,
if any, to extend the interest payment periods and the duration of
any such extension;

          (f) the place or places at which and/or methods (if other than as provided elsewhere in this Mortgage) by which (i) the principal of and premium, if any, and interest, if any, on Securities of such series, or any Tranche thereof, shall be payable, (ii)
registration of transfer of Securities of such series, or any
Tranche thereof, may be effected, (iii) exchanges of Securities of
such series, or any Tranche thereof, may be effected and (iv)
notices and demands to or upon the Company in respect of the
Securities of such series, or any Tranche thereof, and this
Mortgage may be served; the Security Registrar and any Paying
Agent or Agents for such series or Tranche; and, if such is the
case, that the principal of such Securities shall be payable
without the presentment or surrender thereof;

         (g) the period or periods within which, or the date or dates on which, the price or prices at which and the terms and conditions upon which the Securities of such series, or any Tranche thereof,
may be redeemed, in whole or in part, at the option of the Company
and any restrictions on such redemptions; including but not
limited to a restriction on a partial redemption by the Company of
the Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, resulting in delisting of such Securities from any national exchange;

          (h) the obligation or obligations, if any, of the Company to redeem or purchase or repay the Securities of such series, or any Tranche thereof, pursuant to any sinking fund or other mandatory redemption provisions or at the option of a Holder thereof and the period or periods within which or the date or dates on which, the
price or prices at which and the terms and conditions upon which
such Securities shall be redeemed or purchased or repaid, in whole
or in part, pursuant to such obligation and applicable exceptions
to the requirements of Section 504 in the case of mandatory
redemption or redemption or repayment at the option of the Holder;

          (i) the denominations in which Securities of such series, or any Tranche thereof, shall be issuable if other than denominations of $1,000 and any integral multiple thereof;

          (j) if the principal of or premium, if any, or interest, if any, on the Securities of such series, or any Tranche thereof, are to be payable, at the election of the Company or a Holder thereof, in
a coin or currency other than that in which the Securities are
stated to be payable, the period or periods within which, and the terms and conditions upon which, such election may be made and the manner in which the amount of such coin or currency payable is to
be determined;

          (k) the currency or currencies, including composite currencies, in which payment of the principal of and premium, if any, and interest, if any, on the Securities of such series, or any Tranche thereof, shall be payable (if other than Dollars) and the manner
in which the equivalent of the principal amount thereof in Dollars
is to be determined for any purpose, including for the purpose of determining the principal amount deemed to be Outstanding at any
time;

          (l) if the principal of or premium, if any, or interest, if any, on the Securities of such series, or any Tranche thereof, are to be payable, or are to be payable at the election of the Company or a Holder thereof, in securities or other property, the type and amount of such securities or other property, or the formulary or other method or other means by which such amount shall be
determined, and the period or periods within which, and the terms
and conditions upon which, any such election may be made;

          (m) if the amount payable in respect of principal of or premium, if any, or interest, if any, on the Securities of such series, or any Tranche thereof, may be determined with reference to an index
or other fact or event ascertainable outside this Mortgage, the
manner in which such amounts shall be determined to the extent not established pursuant to clause (e) of this paragraph;

          (n) if other than the entire principal amount thereof, the portion of the principal amount of Securities of such series, or
any Tranche thereof, which shall be payable upon declaration of
acceleration of the Maturity thereof pursuant to Section 902;

          (o)  any Events of Default, in addition to those specified in
Section 901, or any exceptions to those specified in Section 901,
with respect to the Securities of such series, and any covenants
of the Company for the benefit of the Holders of the Securities of
such series, or any Tranche thereof, in addition to those set
forth in Article Seven, or any exceptions to those set forth in
Article Seven;

          (p) the terms, if any, pursuant to which the Securities of such series, or any Tranche thereof, may be converted into or exchanged for shares of capital stock or other securities of the Company or
any other Person;

          (q) the obligations or instruments, if any, which shall be considered to be Eligible Obligations in respect of the Securities
of such series, or any Tranche thereof, denominated in a currency other than Dollars or in a composite currency, whether Eligible Obligations include Investment Securities with respect to
Securities of such series, and any provisions for satisfaction and discharge of Securities of any series, in addition to those set
forth in Article Eight, or any exceptions to those set forth in
Article Eight;

          (r) if the Securities of such series, or any Tranche thereof, are to be issued in global form, (i) any limitations on the rights of the Holder or Holders of such Securities to transfer or exchange
the same or to obtain the registration of transfer thereof, (ii)
any limitations on the rights of the Holder or Holders thereof to
obtain certificates therefor in definitive form in lieu of global
form and (iii) any other matters incidental to such Securities;

          (s)  if the Securities of such series, or any Tranche
thereof, are to be issuable as bearer securities, any and all matters incidental thereto which are not specifically addressed in a
supplemental Mortgage as contemplated by clause (g) of Section
1301;

          (t) to the extent not established pursuant to clause (r) of this paragraph, any limitations on the rights of the Holders of the Securities of such Series, or any Tranche thereof, to transfer or exchange such Securities or to obtain the registration of transfer thereof; and if a service charge will be made for the registration
of transfer or exchange of Securities of such series, or any
Tranche thereof, the amount or terms thereof;

          (u)  any exceptions to Section 115, or variation in the
definition of Business Day, with respect to the Securities of such series, or any Tranche thereof; and

         (v) any other terms of the Securities of such series, or any Tranche thereof, that the Company may elect to specify.

     With respect to Securities of a series subject to a Periodic Offering, the Mortgage supplemental hereto or the Board Resolution which establishes such series, or the Officers' Certificate pursuant to such supplemental Mortgage or Board Resolution, as the case may be, may provide general terms or parameters for Securities of such series and provide either that the specific terms of Securities of such series, or any Tranche thereof, shall be specified in a Company Order or that such terms shall be determined by the Company or its agents in accordance with procedures specified in a Company Order as contemplated in clause
(b) of Section 303.

     Unless otherwise provided with respect to a series of Securities as contemplated in clause (b) of this Section 301, the aggregate principal amount of a series of Securities may be increased and additional Securities of such series may be issued up to the maximum aggregate principal amount authorized with respect to such series as increased.

     SECTION 302.   DENOMINATIONS.

     Unless otherwise provided as contemplated by Section 301 with respect to any series of Securities, or any Tranche thereof, the
Securities of each series shall be issuable in denominations of
$1,000 and any integral multiple thereof.

     SECTION 303.   EXECUTION, AUTHENTICATION, DELIVERY AND DATING.

     Unless otherwise provided as contemplated by Section 301 with respect to any series of Securities or any Tranche thereof, the Securities shall be executed on behalf of the Company by an Authorized Officer, and may have the corporate seal of the Company affixed thereto or reproduced thereon attested by any other Authorized Officer or by the Secretary or an Assistant Secretary of the Company. The signature of any or all of these officers on the Securities may be manual or facsimile.

     Securities bearing the manual or facsimile signatures of individuals who were at the time of execution Authorized Officers or the Secretary or an Assistant Secretary of the Company shall bind the Company, notwithstanding that such individuals or any of them have ceased to hold such offices prior to the authentication and delivery of such Securities or did not hold such offices at the date of such Securities.

     The Trustee shall authenticate and deliver Securities of a
series for original issue, at one time or from time to time in
accordance with the Company Order referred to below, upon receipt
by the Trustee of:

          (a) the instrument or instruments establishing the form or forms and terms of the Securities of such series, as provided in
Sections 201 and 301;

          (b) a Company Order requesting the authentication and delivery of such Securities and, to the extent that the terms of such Securities shall not have been established in an Mortgage supplemental hereto or in a Board Resolution, or in an Officers' Certificate pursuant to a supplemental Mortgage or Board
Resolution, all as contemplated by Section 301, either (i) establishing such terms or (ii) in the case of Securities of a
series subject to a Periodic Offering, specifying procedures, acceptable to the Trustee, by which such terms are to be
established (which procedures may provide, to the extent
acceptable to the Trustee, for authentication and delivery
pursuant to oral or electronic instructions from the Company or
any agent or agents thereof, which oral instructions are to be promptly confirmed electronically or in writing), in either case
in accordance with the instrument or instruments establishing the terms of the Securities of such series delivered pursuant to
clause (a) above;

          (c) any opinions, certificates, documents and instruments required by Article Four;

          (d) Securities of such series, each executed on behalf of the Company by an Authorized Officer of the Company;

          (e) an Officers' Certificate (i) which shall comply with the requirements of Section 104 of this Mortgage and (ii) which states
that no Event of Default under this Mortgage has occurred or is
occurring;

          (f)  an Opinion of Counsel which shall comply with the
requirements of Section 104 of this Mortgage and that states that:

               (i) the form or forms of such Securities have been duly authorized by the Company and have been established in conformity
with the provisions of this Mortgage;

               (ii) the terms of such Securities have been duly
authorized by the Company and have been established in conformity with the provisions of this Mortgage; and

               (iii) when such Securities shall have been authenticated and delivered by the Trustee and issued and delivered by the Company
in the manner and subject to any conditions specified in such
Opinion of Counsel, such Securities will have been duly issued
under this Mortgage, and will constitute valid and legally binding obligations of the Company, entitled to the benefits provided by
this Mortgage, and enforceable in accordance with their terms,
subject, as to enforcement, to environmental "super lien" laws and
laws relating to or affecting generally the enforcement of
mortgagees' and other creditors' rights, including, without
limitation, bankruptcy, insolvency, reorganization, receivership, moratorium and other laws affecting the rights and remedies of creditors and mortgagees generally, general principles of equity (regardless of whether such enforceability is considered in a proceeding in equity or at law) and an implied covenant of good
faith, fair dealing and reasonableness.

provided, however, that, with respect to Securities of a series subject to a Periodic Offering, the Trustee shall be entitled to receive such Opinion of Counsel only once at or prior to the time of the first authentication and delivery of Securities of such series and that in lieu of the opinions described in clauses (ii) and (iii) above such Opinion of Counsel may, alternatively, state, respectively,

     (x) that, when the terms of such Securities shall have been established pursuant to a Company Order or Orders, or pursuant to such procedures as may be specified from time to time by a Company Order or Orders, all as contemplated by and in accordance with the instrument or instruments delivered pursuant to clause (a) above, such terms will have been duly authorized by the Company and will have been established in conformity with the provisions of this Mortgage; and

     (y)  that such Securities, when (1) executed by the Company,
(2) authenticated and delivered by the Trustee in accordance with this Mortgage, (3) issued and delivered by the Company and (4) paid for, all as contemplated by and in accordance with the aforesaid Company Order or Orders, as the case may be, will have been duly issued under this Mortgage and will constitute valid and legally binding obligations of the Company, entitled to the benefits provided by the Mortgage, and enforceable in accordance with their terms, subject, as to enforcement, to laws relating to or affecting generally the enforcement of mortgagees' and other creditors' rights, including, without limitation, bankruptcy, insolvency, reorganization, receivership, moratorium and other laws affecting the rights and remedies of creditors and mortgagees generally, general principles of equity (regardless of whether such enforceability is considered in a proceeding in equity or at
law) and an implied covenant of good faith, fair dealing and
reasonableness.

     With respect to Securities of a series subject to a Periodic Offering, the Trustee may conclusively rely, as to the authorization by the Company of any of such Securities, the forms and terms thereof and the legality, validity, binding effect and enforceability thereof, and compliance of the authentication and delivery thereof with the terms and conditions of this Mortgage, upon the Opinion of Counsel and other documents delivered pursuant to Sections 201 and 301 and this Section, as applicable, at or prior to the time of the first authentication of Securities of such series, unless and until such opinion or other documents have been superseded or revoked or expire by their terms. In connection with the authentication and delivery of Securities of a series, pursuant to a Periodic Offering, the Trustee shall be entitled to assume that the Company's instructions to authenticate and deliver such Securities do not violate any applicable law or any applicable rule, regulation or order of any Governmental Authority having jurisdiction over the Company.

     If the forms or terms of the Securities of any series have been established by or pursuant to a Board Resolution or an Officers' Certificate as permitted by Sections 201 or 301, the Trustee shall not be required to authenticate such Securities if the issuance of such Securities pursuant to this Mortgage will materially and adversely affect the Trustee's own rights, duties or immunities under the Securities and this Mortgage or otherwise in a manner which is not reasonably acceptable to the Trustee.

     Except as otherwise specified as contemplated by Section 301
with respect to any series of Securities, or any Tranche thereof,
each Security shall be dated the date of its authentication.

     Except as otherwise specified as contemplated by Section 301 with respect to any series of Securities, or any Tranche thereof, no Security shall be entitled to any benefit under this Mortgage or be valid or obligatory for any purpose unless there appears on such Security a certificate of authentication substantially in the form provided for herein executed by the Trustee or its agent by manual signature of an authorized officer thereof, and such certificate upon any Security shall be conclusive evidence, and the only evidence, that such Security has been duly authenticated and delivered hereunder and is entitled to the benefits of this Mortgage. Notwithstanding the foregoing, if any Security shall have been authenticated and delivered hereunder to the Company, or any Person acting on its behalf, but shall never have been issued and sold by the Company, and the Company shall deliver such Security to the Trustee for cancellation as provided in Section 309 together with a written statement (which need not comply with
Section 104 and need not be accompanied by an Opinion of Counsel) stating that such Security has never been issued and sold by the Company, for all purposes of this Mortgage such Security shall be deemed never to have been authenticated and delivered hereunder and shall never be entitled to the benefits hereof.

     SECTION 304.   TEMPORARY SECURITIES.

     Pending the preparation of definitive Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, the Company may execute, and upon Company Order the Trustee shall authenticate and deliver, temporary Securities which are printed, lithographed, typewritten, mimeographed or otherwise produced, in any authorized denomination, substantially of the tenor of the definitive Securities in lieu of which they are issued, with such appropriate insertions, omissions, substitutions and other variations as any officer executing such Securities may determine, as evidenced by such officer's execution of such Securities; provided, however, that temporary Securities need not recite specific redemption, sinking fund, conversion or exchange provisions.

     Unless otherwise specified as contemplated by Section 301 with respect to the Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, after the preparation of definitive Securities of such series or Tranche, the temporary Securities of such series or Tranche shall be exchangeable, without charge to the Holder thereof, for definitive Securities of such series or Tranche upon surrender of such temporary Securities at the office or agency of the Company maintained pursuant to Section 702 in a Place of Payment for such Securities. Upon such surrender of temporary Securities for such exchange, the Company shall, except as aforesaid, execute and the Trustee shall authenticate and deliver in exchange therefor definitive Securities of the same series and Tranche of authorized denominations and of like tenor and aggregate principal amount.

     Until exchanged in full as hereinabove provided, temporary
Securities shall in all respects be entitled to the same benefits
under this Mortgage as definitive Securities of the same series
and Tranche and of like tenor authenticated and delivered
hereunder.

     SECTION 305.   REGISTRATION, REGISTRATION OF TRANSFER AND
EXCHANGE.

     The Company shall cause to be kept in each office designated pursuant to Section 702, with respect to the Securities of each series, a register (all registers kept in accordance with this Section being collectively referred to as the "Security Register") in which, subject to such reasonable regulations as it may prescribe, the Company shall provide for the registration of Securities of such series, or any Tranche thereof, and the registration of transfer thereof. The Company shall designate one Person to maintain the Security Register for the Securities of each series on a consolidated basis, and such Person is referred to herein, with respect to such series, as the "Security Registrar." Anything herein to the contrary notwithstanding, the Company may designate one or more of its offices as an office in which a register with respect to the Securities of one or more series shall be maintained, and the Company may designate itself the Security Registrar with respect to one or more of such series. The Security Register shall be open for inspection by the Trustee and the Company at all reasonable times.

     Except as otherwise specified as contemplated by Section 301 with respect to the Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, upon surrender for registration of transfer of any Security of such series or Tranche at the office or agency of the Company maintained pursuant to Section 702 in a Place of Payment for such series or Tranche, the Company shall execute, and the Trustee shall authenticate and deliver, in the name of the designated transferee or transferees, one or more new Securities of the same series and Tranche, of authorized denominations and of like tenor and aggregate principal amount.

     Except as otherwise specified as contemplated by Section 301 with respect to the Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, any Security of such series or Tranche may be exchanged at the option of the Holder for one or more new Securities of the same series and Tranche, of authorized denominations and of like tenor and aggregate principal amount, upon surrender of the Securities to be exchanged at any such office or agency. Whenever any Securities are so surrendered for exchange, the Company shall execute, and the Trustee shall authenticate and deliver, the Securities, which the Holder making the exchange is entitled to receive.

     All Securities delivered upon any registration of transfer or exchange of Securities shall be valid obligations of the Company, evidencing the same obligation, and entitled to the same benefits under this Mortgage, as the Securities surrendered upon such registration of transfer or exchange.

     Every Security presented or surrendered for registration of transfer or for exchange shall (if so required by the Company, the Trustee or the Security Registrar) be duly endorsed or shall be accompanied by a written instrument of transfer in form satisfactory to the Company, the Trustee or the Security Registrar, as the case may be, duly executed by the Holder thereof or his attorney duly authorized in writing.

     Unless otherwise specified as contemplated by Section 301, with respect to Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, no service charge shall be made for any registration of transfer or exchange of Securities, but the Company may require payment of a sum sufficient to cover any tax or other governmental charge that may be imposed in connection with any registration of transfer or exchange of Securities, other than exchanges pursuant to Section 304, 506 or 1306 not involving any transfer.

     The Company shall not be required to execute or to provide for the registration of transfer of or the exchange of (a) Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, during a period of 15 days immediately preceding the date notice is to be given identifying the serial numbers of the Securities of such series or Tranche called for redemption or (b) any Security so selected for redemption in whole or in part, except the unredeemed portion of any Security being redeemed in part.

     SECTION 306.   MUTILATED, DESTROYED, LOST AND STOLEN SECURITIES.

     If any mutilated Security is surrendered to the Trustee, the Company shall execute and the Trustee shall authenticate and deliver in exchange therefor a new Security of the same series and Tranche, and of like tenor and principal amount, bearing a number not contemporaneously outstanding.

     If there shall be delivered to the Company and the Trustee
(a) evidence to their satisfaction of the ownership of and the destruction, loss or theft of any Security and (b) such security or indemnity as may be reasonably required by them to save each of them and any agent of any of them harmless, then, in the absence of notice to the Company or the Trustee that such Security has been acquired by a bona fide purchaser, the Company shall execute and the Trustee shall authenticate and deliver, in lieu of any such destroyed, lost or stolen Security, a new Security of the same series and Tranche, and of like tenor and principal amount, bearing a number not contemporaneously outstanding.

     Notwithstanding the foregoing, in case any such mutilated,
destroyed, lost or stolen Security has become or is about to
become due and payable, the Company in its discretion may, instead of issuing a new Security, pay such Security.

     Upon the issuance of any new Security under this Section, the Company may require the payment of a sum sufficient to cover any tax or other governmental charge that may be imposed in relation thereto and any other reasonable expenses (including the fees and expenses of the Trustee) in connection therewith.

     Every new Security of any series issued pursuant to this
Section in lieu of any destroyed, lost or stolen Security shall constitute an original additional contractual obligation of the Company, whether or not the destroyed, lost or stolen Security shall be at any time enforceable by anyone other than the Holder of such new Security, and any such new Security shall be entitled to all the benefits of this Mortgage equally and proportionately with any and all other Securities of such series duly issued hereunder.

     The provisions of this Section are exclusive and shall
preclude (to the extent lawful) all other rights and remedies with respect to the replacement or payment of mutilated, destroyed,
lost or stolen Securities.

     SECTION 307.   PAYMENT OF INTEREST; INTEREST RIGHTS PRESERVED.

     Unless otherwise specified as contemplated by Section 301 with respect to the Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, interest on any Security which is payable, and is punctually paid or duly provided for, on any Interest Payment Date shall be paid to the Person in whose name that Security (or one or more Predecessor Securities) is registered at the close of business on the Regular Record Date for such interest.

     Any interest on any Security of any series which is payable, but is not punctually paid or duly provided for, on any Interest Payment Date (herein called "Defaulted Interest") shall forthwith cease to be payable to the Holder on the related Regular Record Date by virtue of having been such Holder, and such Defaulted Interest may be paid by the Company, at its election, as provided in clause (a) or (b) below:

          (a) The Company may elect to make payment of any Defaulted Interest to the Persons in whose names the Securities of such
series (or their respective Predecessor Securities) are registered
at the close of business on a date (a "Special Record Date") for
the payment of such Defaulted Interest, which shall be fixed in
the following manner. The Company shall notify the Trustee in writing of the amount of Defaulted Interest proposed to be paid on each Security of such series and the date of the proposed payment, and at the same time the Company shall deposit with the Trustee an amount of money equal to the aggregate amount proposed to be paid
in respect of such Defaulted Interest or shall make arrangements satisfactory to the Trustee for such deposit prior to the date of
the proposed payment, such money when deposited to be held in
trust for the benefit of the Persons entitled to such Defaulted Interest as in this clause provided. Thereupon the Trustee shall
fix a Special Record Date for the payment of such Defaulted
Interest which shall be not more than 15 days and not less than 10 days prior to the date of the proposed payment and not less than
10 days after the receipt by the Trustee of the notice of the proposed payment. The Trustee shall promptly notify the Company
of such Special Record Date and, in the name and at the expense of the Company shall promptly cause notice of the proposed payment of such Defaulted Interest and the Special Record Date therefor to be mailed, first-class postage prepaid, to each Holder of Securities
of such series at the address of such Holder as it appears in the Security Register, not less than 10 days prior to such Special
Record Date. Notice of the proposed payment of such Defaulted Interest and the Special Record Date therefor having been so
mailed, such Defaulted Interest shall be paid to the Persons in
whose names the Securities of such series (or their respective Predecessor Securities) are registered at the close of business on such Special Record Date. No interest, other than said Defaulted Interest, shall be payable to such holders with respect to any
such amounts so deposited by the Company with the Trustee.

          (b) The Company may make payment of any Defaulted Interest on the Securities of any series in any other lawful manner not inconsistent with the requirements of any securities exchange on which such Securities may be listed, and upon such notice as may
be required by such exchange, if, after notice given by the
Company to the Trustee of the proposed payment pursuant to this clause, such manner of payment shall be deemed practicable by the Trustee.

     Subject to the foregoing provisions of this Section and
Section 305, each Security delivered under this Mortgage upon registration of transfer of or in exchange for or in lieu of any other Security shall carry the rights to interest accrued and unpaid, and to accrue, which were carried by such other Security.

     SECTION 308.   PERSONS DEEMED OWNERS.

     Prior to due presentment of a Security for registration of transfer, the Company, the Trustee and any agent of the Company or the Trustee may treat the Person in whose name such Security is registered as the absolute owner of such Security for the purpose of receiving payment of principal of and premium, if any, and (subject to Sections 305 and 307) interest, if any, on such Security and for all other purposes whatsoever, whether or not such Security be overdue, and none of the Company, the Trustee or any agent of the Company or the Trustee shall be affected by notice to the contrary.

     SECTION 309.   CANCELLATION.

     All Securities surrendered for payment, redemption, registration of transfer or exchange or for credit against any sinking fund payment shall, if surrendered to any Person other than the Security Registrar, be delivered to the Security Registrar and, if not theretofore canceled, shall be promptly canceled by the Security Registrar. The Company may at any time deliver to the Security Registrar for cancellation any Securities previously authenticated and delivered hereunder which the Company may have acquired in any manner whatsoever or which the Company shall not have issued and sold, and all Securities so delivered shall be promptly canceled by the Security Registrar. No Securities shall be authenticated in lieu of or in exchange for any Securities canceled as provided in this Section, except as expressly permitted by this Mortgage. All canceled Securities held by the Security Registrar shall be disposed of in accordance with the customary practices of the Security Registrar at the time in effect, and the Security Registrar shall not be required to destroy any such certificates. The Security Registrar shall promptly deliver a certificate of disposition to the Trustee and the Company unless, by a Company Order, similarly delivered, the Company shall direct that canceled Securities be returned to it. The Security Registrar shall promptly deliver evidence of any cancellation of a Security in accordance with this Section 309 to the Trustee and the Company.

     SECTION 310.   COMPUTATION OF INTEREST.

     Except as otherwise specified as contemplated by Section 301 for Securities of any series, or Tranche thereof, interest on the Securities of each series shall be computed on the basis of a 360-day year consisting of 12 30-day months, and with respect to any period less than a full month, on the basis of the actual number of days elapsed during such period. For example, the interest for a period running from the 15th day of one month to the 15th day of the next month would be calculated on the basis of one 30-day month.

     SECTION 311.   PAYMENT TO BE IN PROPER CURRENCY.

     In the case of any Security denominated in any currency other than Dollars or in a composite currency (the "Required Currency"), except as otherwise specified with respect to such Security as contemplated by Section 301, the obligation of the Company to make any payment of the principal thereof, or the premium or interest thereon, shall not be discharged or satisfied by any tender by the Company, or recovery by the Trustee, in any currency other than the Required Currency, except to the extent that such tender or recovery shall result in the Trustee timely holding the full amount of the Required Currency then due and payable. If any such tender or recovery is in a currency other than the Required Currency, the Trustee may take such actions as it considers appropriate to exchange such currency for the Required Currency. The costs and risks of any such exchange, including without limitation the risks of delay and exchange rate fluctuation, shall be borne by the Company, the Company shall remain fully liable for any shortfall or delinquency in the full amount of Required Currency then due and payable, and in no circumstances shall the Trustee be liable therefor except in the case of its negligence or willful misconduct.

     SECTION 312.   EXTENSION OF INTEREST PAYMENT.

     The Company shall have the right at any time, to extend interest payment periods on all the Securities of any series hereunder, if so specified as contemplated by Section 301 with respect to such Securities and upon such terms as may be specified as contemplated by Section 301 with respect to such Securities.

     SECTION 313.   CUSIP NUMBERS.

     The Company in issuing the Securities may use "CUSIP" or "ISIN" or other similar numbers (if then generally in use), and, if so, the Company, the Trustee or the Security Registrar may use "CUSIP" or "ISIN" or such other numbers in notices or redemption as a convenience to Holders; provided that any such notice may state that no representation is made as to the correctness of such numbers either as printed on the Securities or as contained in any notice of a redemption and that reliance may be placed only the other identification numbers printed on the Securities, in which case none of the Company or, as the case may be, the Trustee or the Security Registrar, or any agent of any of them, shall have any liability in respect of any CUSIP or "ISIN" or other number used on any such notice, and any such redemption shall not be affected by any defect in or omission of such numbers.

                           ARTICLE FOUR

                      ISSUANCE OF SECURITIES

     SECTION 401.   ISSUANCE OF SECURITIES.

          (a) Securities of any one or more series may be authenticated and delivered in any aggregate principal amount so long as, after immediately giving effect thereto, to the concurrent redemption or payment of Securities or Secured Debt and any other transactions contemplated therewith, the aggregate principal amount of all Securities and Secured Debt, in each case then Outstanding, will not exceed 75% of the sum of (i) the then Cost or Fair Value, whichever is less, of all Property Additions (after making any deductions pursuant to Section 102(b)) and (ii) all Available Cash then held by, or deposited with, the Trustee.

         (b)  Securities of any series shall be authenticated and
delivered by the Trustee upon receipt by the Trustee of:

               (i) the documents with respect to the Securities of such series specified in Section 303;

               (ii) an Experts' Certificate dated as of a date not more than 90 days prior to the first day of the month in which the Company Order referring to it is delivered to the Trustee,

                    (1) setting forth the aggregate amount of Property Additions then owned by the Company, such amount to be computed by reference to the Company's financial statements, on a Dollar basis,
and stating the Cost of such Property Additions;

                    (2) stating that all such property reflected in clause (1) above constitutes Property Additions;

                    (3)  stating that such Property Additions are
desirable for use in the conduct of the business, or one of the
businesses, of the Company;

                    (4) stating what part, if any, of such Property Additions includes property which had not been included in a previous Experts' Certificate and which within six months prior to the date
of acquisition thereof by the Company had been used or operated by others than the Company in a business similar to that in which it
has been or is to be used or operated by the Company and stating whether or not, in the judgment of the signers, the Fair Value of such Property Additions to the Company, as of the date of such certificate, is more than $25,000 and more than 1% of the
aggregate principal amount of Securities then Outstanding;

                    (5) stating, in the judgment of the signers, the Fair Value to the Company, as of the date of such certificate, of such Property Additions, except any thereof with respect to the Fair Value to the Company of which a statement is to be made in an Independent
Experts' Certificate pursuant to clause (iii) below;

                    (6) stating the lower of the Cost or the Fair Value to the Company of such Property Additions;

                    (7) stating the aggregate principal amount of Securities and the aggregate principal amount of Secured Debt, in each case to be Outstanding immediately prior to the issuance of the
Securities to be then authenticated and delivered;

                    (8) stating the principal amount of Securities to be then authenticated and delivered;

                    (9) stating that, immediately after giving effect to the issuance of the Securities to be then authenticated and delivered, to the concurrent redemption or payment of Securities or Secured Debt and any other transactions contemplated therewith, the aggregate principal amount of all Securities and Secured Debt, in each case then Outstanding, will not exceed 75% of the sum of (i) the amount set forth in clause (6) above, and (ii) all Available Cash;

               (iii)  in case any Property Additions are shown by
the Experts' Certificate provided for in clause (ii) above to include property which had not been included in a previous Experts' Certificate and which, within six months prior to the date of acquisition thereof by the Company, had been used or operated by others than the
Company in a business similar to that in which it has been or is
to be used or operated by the Company and such certificate does
not show the Fair Value thereof to the Company, as of the date of
such certificate, to be less than $25,000 or less than 1% of the aggregate principal amount of Securities then Outstanding, an Independent Experts' Certificate stating, in the judgment of the signer, the Fair Value to the Company, as of the date of such Independent Experts' Certificate, of (X) such Property Additions
which have been so used or operated and (at the option of the
Company) as to any other Property Additions included in the
Experts' Certificate provided for in clause (ii) above and (Y) in
case such Independent Experts' Certificate is being delivered in connection with the authentication and delivery of Securities, any property so used or operated which has been subjected to the Lien
of this Mortgage since the commencement of the then current
calendar year and as to which an Independent Experts' Certificate
has not previously been furnished to the Trustee;

               (iv) in case any Property Additions are shown by the Experts' Certificate provided for in clause (ii) above to have not been included in a previous Experts' Certificate and to have been
acquired, made or constructed in whole or in part through the
delivery of securities or other property, an Experts' Certificate stating, in the judgment of the signers, the fair market value in
cash of such securities or other property at the time of delivery thereof in payment for or for the acquisition of such Property Additions;
               (v)  an Opinion of Counsel to the effect that:

                    (1)  this Mortgage constitutes, or, upon the
delivery of, and/or the filing and/or recording in the proper places and manner of, the instruments of conveyance, assignment or transfer, if any, specified in said opinion, will constitute, a direct first mortgage lien, subject only to Permitted Liens, environmental
"super lien" laws and specified Prior Liens, upon the interest of
the Company in the Property Additions; provided, however, that on
and after the Second Effective Date, said opinion may also contain
an exception for all Prior Liens; and

                    (2) the Company has corporate authority to operate such Property Additions; and

               (vi) copies of the instruments of conveyance, assignment and transfer, if any, specified in the Opinion of Counsel provided for in clause (v) above.

                           ARTICLE FIVE

                     REDEMPTION OF SECURITIES

     SECTION 501.   APPLICABILITY OF ARTICLE.

     Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, which are redeemable before their Stated Maturity shall be redeemable in accordance with their terms and (except as otherwise specified as contemplated by Section 301 for Securities of such series or Tranche) in accordance with this Article.

     SECTION 502.   ELECTION TO REDEEM; NOTICE TO TRUSTEE.

     The election of the Company to redeem any Securities shall be evidenced by a Board Resolution or an Officers' Certificate. The Company shall, at least 40 days prior to the Redemption Date fixed by the Company (unless a shorter notice shall be satisfactory to the Trustee), notify the Trustee in writing of such Redemption Date and of the principal amount of such Securities to be redeemed. In the case of any redemption of Securities (a) prior to the expiration of any restriction on such redemption provided in the terms of such Securities or elsewhere in this Mortgage or
(b) pursuant to an election of the Company which is subject to a condition specified in the terms of such Securities, the Company shall furnish the Trustee with an Officers' Certificate evidencing compliance with such restriction or condition.

     SECTION 503.   SELECTION OF SECURITIES TO BE REDEEMED.

     If less than all the Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, are to be redeemed, the particular Securities to be redeemed shall be selected by the Trustee from the Outstanding Securities of such series or Tranche not previously called for redemption, by such method as shall be provided for such particular series or Tranche, or in the absence of any such provision, by such method of random selection as the Trustee shall deem fair and appropriate and which may, in any case, provide for the selection for redemption of portions (equal to any authorized denomination for Securities of such series or Tranche) of the principal amount of Securities of such series or Tranche of a denomination larger than the minimum authorized denomination for Securities of such series or Tranche; provided, however, that if, as indicated in an Officers' Certificate, the Company shall have offered to purchase all or any principal amount of the Securities then Outstanding of any series, or any Tranche thereof, and less than all of such Securities as to which such offer was made shall have been tendered to the Company for such purchase, the Trustee, if so directed by Company Order, shall select for redemption all or any principal amount of such Securities which have not been so tendered.

     The Trustee shall promptly notify the Company and the Security Registrar in writing of the Securities selected for redemption and, in the case of any Securities selected to be redeemed in part, the principal amount thereof to be redeemed.

     For all purposes of this Mortgage, unless the context otherwise requires, all provisions relating to the redemption of Securities shall relate, in the case of any Securities redeemed or to be redeemed only in part, to the portion of the principal amount of such Securities which has been or is to be redeemed.

     SECTION 504.   NOTICE OF REDEMPTION.

     Except as otherwise specified as contemplated by Section 301 for Securities of any series, notice of redemption shall be given in the manner provided in Section 107 to the Holders of the Securities to be redeemed not less than 30 days prior to the Redemption Date.

     Except as otherwise specified as contemplated by Section 301
for Securities of any series, all notices of redemption shall
state:

          (a)  the Redemption Date,

          (b)  the Redemption Price (if known),

          (c) if less than all the Securities of any series or Tranche are to be redeemed, the identification of the particular Securities to be redeemed and the portion of the principal amount of any
Security to be redeemed in part,

          (d)  that on the Redemption Date the Redemption Price,
together with accrued interest, if any, to the Redemption Date, will become due and payable upon each such Security to be redeemed and, if applicable, that interest thereon will cease to accrue on and
after said date,

          (e) the place or places where such Securities are to be surrendered for payment of the Redemption Price and accrued
interest, if any, unless it shall have been specified as
contemplated by Section 301 with respect to such Securities that
such surrender shall not be required,

          (f) that the redemption is for a sinking or other fund, if such is the case,

          (g) the CUSIP, ISIN or other similar numbers, if any, assigned to such Securities; provided, however, that such notice may state
that no representation is made as to the correctness of CUSIP or
ISIN numbers, in which case none of the Company, the Trustee or
any agent of the Company or the Trustee shall have any liability
in respect of the use of any CUSIP or ISIN number or numbers on
such notices, and the redemption of such Securities shall not be
affected by any defect in or omission of such numbers, and

          (h) such other matters as the Company shall deem desirable or appropriate.

     Unless otherwise specified with respect to any Securities in accordance with Section 301, with respect to any notice of redemption of Securities at the election of the Company, unless, upon the giving of such notice, such Securities shall be deemed to have been paid in accordance with Section 801, such notice may state that such redemption shall be conditional upon the receipt by the Paying Agent or Agents for such Securities, on or prior to the date fixed for such redemption, of money sufficient to pay the principal of and premium, if any, and interest, if any, on such Securities and that if such money shall not have been so received such notice shall be of no force or effect and the Company shall not be required to redeem such Securities. In the event that such notice of redemption contains such a condition and such money is not so received, the redemption shall not be made and within a reasonable time thereafter notice shall be given, in the manner in which the notice of redemption was given, that such money was not so received and such redemption was not required to be made. A failure by the Company to provide such moneys or make provision for the payment thereof shall not constitute an Event of Default under this Mortgage and the Paying Agent or Agents for the Securities otherwise to have been redeemed shall promptly return to the Holders thereof any of such Securities which had been surrendered for payment upon such redemption.

     Notice of redemption of Securities to be redeemed at the election of the Company, and any notice of non-satisfaction of a condition for redemption as aforesaid, shall be given by the Company or, at the Company's request, by the Security Registrar in the name and at the expense of the Company. Notice of any mandatory redemption of Securities shall be given by the Security Registrar in the name and at the expense of the Company.

     SECTION 505.   SECURITIES PAYABLE ON REDEMPTION DATE.

     Notice of redemption having been given as aforesaid, and the conditions, if any, set forth in such notice having been satisfied, the Securities or portions thereof so to be redeemed shall, on the Redemption Date, become due and payable at the Redemption Price therein specified, and from and after such date (unless, in the case of an unconditional notice of redemption, the Company shall default in the payment of the Redemption Price and accrued interest, if any) such Securities or portions thereof, if interest-bearing, shall cease to bear interest. Upon surrender of any such Security for redemption in accordance with such notice, such Security or portion thereof shall be paid by the Company at the Redemption Price, together with accrued interest, if any, to the Redemption Date; provided, however, that no such surrender shall be a condition to such payment if so specified as contemplated by Section 301 with respect to such Security; and provided, further, that except as otherwise specified as contemplated by Section 301 with respect to such Security, any installment of interest on any Security the Stated Maturity of which installment is on or prior to the Redemption Date shall be payable to the Holder of such Security, or one or more Predecessor Securities, registered as such at the close of business on the related Regular Record Date according to the terms of such Security and subject to the provisions of Sections 305 and 307.

     SECTION 506.   SECURITIES REDEEMED IN PART.

     Upon the surrender of any Security which is to be redeemed only in part at a Place of Payment therefor (with, if the Company or the Trustee so requires, due endorsement by, or a written instrument of transfer in form satisfactory to the Company and the Trustee duly executed by, the Holder thereof or his attorney duly authorized in writing), the Company shall execute, and the Trustee shall authenticate and deliver to the Holder of such Security, without service charge, a new Security or Securities of the same series and Tranche, of any authorized denomination requested by such Holder and of like tenor and in aggregate principal amount equal to and in exchange for the unredeemed portion of the principal of the Security so surrendered.

                            ARTICLE SIX

                           SINKING FUNDS

     SECTION 601.   APPLICABILITY OF ARTICLE.

     The provisions of this Article shall be applicable to any
sinking fund for the retirement of the Securities of any series,
or any Tranche thereof, except as otherwise specified as
contemplated by Section 301 for Securities of such series or
Tranche.

     The minimum amount of any sinking fund payment provided for by the terms of Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, is herein referred to as a "mandatory sinking fund payment", and any payment in excess of such minimum amount provided for by the terms of Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, is herein referred to as an "optional sinking fund payment". If provided for by the terms of Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, the cash amount of any sinking fund payment may be subject to reduction as provided in Section 602. Each sinking fund payment shall be applied to the redemption of Securities of the series or Tranche in respect of which it was made as provided for by the terms of such Securities.

     SECTION 602.   SATISFACTION OF SINKING FUND PAYMENTS WITH
SECURITIES.

     The Company (a) may deliver to the Trustee Outstanding Securities (other than any previously called for redemption) of a series or Tranche in respect of which a mandatory sinking fund payment is to be made and (b) may apply as a credit Securities of such series or Tranche which have been redeemed either at the election of the Company pursuant to the terms of such Securities, at the election of the Holder thereof if applicable, or through the application of permitted optional sinking fund payments pursuant to the terms of such Securities, in each case in satisfaction of all or any part of such mandatory sinking fund payment with respect to the Securities of such series; provided, however, that no Securities shall be applied in satisfaction of a mandatory sinking fund payment if such Securities shall have been previously so applied. Securities so applied shall be received and credited for such purpose by the Trustee at the Redemption Price specified in such Securities for redemption through operation of the sinking fund and the amount of such mandatory sinking fund payment shall be reduced accordingly.

     SECTION 603.   REDEMPTION OF SECURITIES FOR SINKING FUND.

     Not less than 40 days, or such shorter period as the Trustee shall agree to, prior to each sinking fund payment date for the Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, the Company shall deliver to the Trustee an Officers' Certificate specifying:

          (a) the amount of the next succeeding mandatory sinking fund payment for such series or Tranche;


          (b) the amount, if any, of the optional sinking fund payment to be made together with such mandatory sinking fund payment;

          (c)  the aggregate sinking fund payment; and

          (d) the portion, if any, of such aggregate sinking fund payment which is to be satisfied by the payment of cash;

          (e) the portion, if any, of such aggregate sinking fund payment which is to be satisfied by delivering and crediting Securities of such series or Tranche pursuant to Section 602 and stating the
basis for such credit and that such Securities have not previously
been so credited, and the Company shall also deliver to the
Trustee any Securities to be so delivered.

     If the Company shall not deliver such Officers' Certificate and, to the extent applicable, all such Securities, the next succeeding sinking fund payment for such series or Tranche shall be made entirely in cash in the amount of the mandatory sinking fund payment. Not less than 30 days before each such sinking fund payment date the Trustee shall select the Securities to be redeemed upon such sinking fund payment date in the manner specified in Section 503 and cause notice of the redemption thereof to be given in the name of and at the expense of the Company in the manner provided in Section 504. Such notice having been duly given, the redemption of such Securities shall be made upon the terms and in the manner stated in Sections 505 and 506.

                           ARTICLE SEVEN

                   REPRESENTATIONS AND COVENANTS

     SECTION 701.   PAYMENT OF SECURITIES; LAWFUL POSSESSION.

          (a) The Company shall pay the principal of and premium, if any, and interest, if any, on the Securities of each series in
accordance with the terms of such Securities and this Mortgage.

          (b) The Company is lawfully possessed of the Mortgaged Property and has sufficient right and authority to mortgage and pledge the
Mortgaged Property, as provided in and by this Mortgage.

     SECTION 702.   MAINTENANCE OF OFFICE OR AGENCY.

     The Company shall maintain in each Place of Payment for the Securities of each series, or any Tranche thereof, an office or agency where payment of such Securities shall be made, where the registration of transfer or exchange of such Securities may be effected and where notices and demands to or upon the Company in respect of such Securities and this Mortgage may be served. The Company shall give prompt written notice to the Trustee of the location, and any change in the location, of each such office or agency and prompt notice to the Holders of any such change in the manner specified in Section 107. If at any time the Company shall fail to maintain any such required office or agency or shall fail to furnish the Trustee with the address thereof, then payment of such Securities shall be made, registration of transfer or exchange thereof may be effected and notices and demands in respect of such Securities and this Mortgage may be served at the Corporate Trust Office of the Trustee, and the Company hereby appoints the Trustee as its agent for all such purposes in any such event.

     The Company may also from time to time designate one or more other offices or agencies with respect to the Securities of one or more series, or any Tranche thereof, for any or all of the foregoing purposes and may from time to time rescind such designations; provided, however, that, unless otherwise specified as contemplated by Section 301 with respect to the Securities of such series or Tranche, no such designation or rescission shall in any manner relieve the Company of its obligation to maintain an office or agency for such purposes in each Place of Payment for such Securities in accordance with the requirements set forth above. The Company shall give prompt written notice to the Trustee, and prompt notice to the Holders in the manner specified in Section 107, of any such designation or rescission and of any change in the location of any such other office or agency.

     Anything herein to the contrary notwithstanding, any office or agency required by this Section may be maintained at an office of the Company or an Affiliate of the Company, in which event the Company or such Affiliate shall perform all functions to be performed at such office or agency.

     SECTION 703.   MONEY FOR SECURITIES PAYMENTS TO BE HELD IN TRUST.

     If the Company shall at any time act as its own Paying Agent with respect to the Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, it shall, on or before each due date of the principal of and premium, if any, and interest, if any, on any of such Securities, segregate and hold in trust for the benefit of the Persons entitled thereto a sum sufficient to pay the principal and premium or interest so becoming due until such sums shall be paid to such Persons or otherwise disposed of as herein provided. The Company shall promptly notify the Trustee of any failure by the Company (or any other obligor on such Securities) to make any payment of principal of or premium, if any, or interest, if any, on such Securities.

     Whenever the Company shall have one or more Paying Agents for the Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, it shall, on or before each due date of the principal of and premium, if any, and interest, if any, on such Securities, deposit with such Paying Agents sums sufficient (without duplication) to pay the principal and premium or interest so becoming due, such sums to be held in trust for the benefit of the Persons entitled to such principal, premium or interest, and (unless such Paying Agent is the Trustee) the Company shall promptly notify the Trustee of any failure by it so to act.

     The Company shall cause each Paying Agent for the Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, other than the Company or the Trustee, to execute and deliver to the Trustee an instrument in which such Paying Agent shall agree with the Trustee, subject to the provisions of this Section, that such Paying Agent shall:

          (a) hold all sums held by it for the payment of the principal of and premium, if any, or interest, if any, on such Securities in trust for the benefit of the Persons entitled thereto until such sums shall be paid to such Persons or otherwise disposed of as herein provided;

          (b) give the Trustee notice of any failure by the Company (or any other obligor upon such Securities) to make any payment of principal of or premium, if any, or interest, if any, on such
Securities; and

          (c) at any time during the continuance of any such failure, upon the written request of the Trustee, forthwith pay to the Trustee all sums so held in trust by such Paying Agent and furnish to the Trustee such information as it possesses regarding the names and addresses of the Persons entitled to such sums.

     The Company may at any time pay, or by Company Order direct any Paying Agent to pay, to the Trustee all sums held in trust by the Company or such Paying Agent, such sums to be held by the Trustee upon the same trusts as those upon which such sums were held by the Company or such Paying Agent and, if so stated in a Company Order delivered to the Trustee, in accordance with the provisions of Article Eight; and, upon such payment by any Paying Agent to the Trustee, such Paying Agent shall be released from all further liability with respect to such money.

     Any money deposited with the Trustee or any Paying Agent, or then held by the Company, in trust for the payment of the principal of and premium, if any, or interest, if any, on any Security and remaining unclaimed for two years after such principal and premium, if any, or interest, if any, has become due and payable shall to the extent permitted by law be paid to the Company on Company Request, or, if then held by the Company, shall be discharged from such trust; and, upon such payment or discharge, the Holder of such Security shall, as an unsecured general creditor and not as the Holder of an Outstanding Security, look only to the Company for payment of the amount so due and payable and remaining unpaid unless the applicable law provides otherwise, and all liability of the Trustee or such Paying Agent with respect to such trust money, and all liability of the Company as trustee thereof, shall thereupon cease; provided, however, that the Trustee or such Paying Agent, before being required to make any such payment to the Company, may at the expense of the Company cause to be mailed, on one occasion only, notice to such Holder that such money remains unclaimed and that, after a date specified therein, which shall not be less than 30 days from the date of such mailing, any unclaimed balance of such money then remaining will be paid to the Company.

     SECTION 704.   CORPORATE EXISTENCE.

     Subject to the rights of the Company under Article Twelve,
the Company shall do or cause to be done all things necessary to
preserve and keep in full force and effect its legal existence as
a corporation.

     SECTION 705.   ANNUAL OFFICERS' CERTIFICATE AS TO COMPLIANCE.

     Not later than June 1 in each year, commencing [_________], the Company shall deliver to the Trustee an Officers' Certificate which need not comply with the requirements of Section 103, executed by the principal executive officer, the principal financial officer or the principal accounting officer of the Company and by any other Authorized Officer, as to (i) such officers' knowledge of the Company's compliance with all conditions and covenants under this Mortgage, such compliance to be determined without regard to any period of grace or requirement of notice under this Mortgage, and making any other statements as may be required by the Trust Indenture Act; and (ii) stating the aggregate principal amount of Secured Debt outstanding as of March 31 in such year.

     SECTION 706.   WAIVER OF CERTAIN COVENANTS.

     The Company may omit in any particular instance to comply with any term, provision or condition set forth in (a) Section 702 or any additional covenant or restriction specified with respect to the Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, as contemplated by Section 301, if before the time for such compliance the Holders of a majority in aggregate principal amount of the Outstanding Securities of all series and Tranches with respect to which compliance with Section 702 or such additional covenant or restriction is to be omitted, considered as one class, shall, by Act of such Holders, either waive such compliance in such instance or generally waive compliance with such term, provision or condition and (b) Section 704 or Article Twelve if before the time for such compliance the Holders of a majority in principal amount of Securities Outstanding under this Mortgage shall, by Act of such Holders, either waive such compliance in such instance or generally waive compliance with such term, provision or condition; but, in the case of (a) or (b), no such waiver shall extend to or affect such term, provision or condition except to the extent so expressly waived, and, until such waiver shall become effective, the obligations of the Company and the duties of the Trustee in respect of any such term, provision or condition shall remain in full force and effect.

     SECTION 707.   ISSUANCE OF SECURED DEBT

     The Company shall not issue any Secured Debt unless, after giving effect thereto, to the concurrent redemption or payment of Securities or Secured Debt and any other transactions contemplated thereby, the Company would be permitted by the provisions of
Section 401(a) to have authenticated and delivered at least $1.00 of additional Securities.

     SECTION 708.   SALE AND LEASEBACK

     Nothing in this Mortgage is intended to prevent the Company
from entering into any Sale and Leaseback Transaction so long as
the Company otherwise complies with the requirements of this
Mortgage.

                           ARTICLE EIGHT

                    SATISFACTION AND DISCHARGE

     SECTION 801.   SATISFACTION AND DISCHARGE OF SECURITIES.

     Any Security or Securities (provided, however, that prior to the Second Effective Date this Section shall be applicable only to Securities issued after January 1, 2004), or any portion of the principal amount thereof, shall be deemed to have been paid and no longer Outstanding for all purposes of this Mortgage, and the entire indebtedness of the Company in respect thereof shall be deemed to have been satisfied and discharged, if there shall have been irrevocably deposited with the Trustee or any Paying Agent (other than the Company), in trust:

          (a)  money in an amount which shall be sufficient, or

          (b) in the case of a deposit made prior to the Maturity of such Securities or portions thereof, Eligible Obligations, which shall not contain provisions permitting the redemption or other
prepayment thereof at the option of the issuer thereof, the
principal of and the interest on which when due, without any
regard to reinvestment thereof, will provide moneys which,
together with the money, if any, deposited with or held by the
Trustee or such Paying Agent, shall be sufficient, or

          (c) a combination of (a) or (b) which shall be sufficient to pay when due the principal of and premium, if any, and interest, if any, due and to become due on such Securities or portions thereof
on or prior to Maturity;

provided, however, that in the case of the provision for payment or redemption of less than all the Securities of any series or Tranche, such Securities or portions thereof shall have been selected by the Trustee as provided herein and, in the case of a redemption, the notice requisite to the validity of such redemption shall have been given or irrevocable authority shall have been given by the Company to the Trustee to give such notice, under arrangements satisfactory to the Trustee; and provided, further, that the Company shall have delivered to the Trustee and such Paying Agent:

     (x) if such deposit shall have been made prior to the Maturity of such Securities, a Company Order stating that the money and Eligible Obligations deposited in accordance with this Section shall be held in trust, as provided in Section 803;

     (y) if Eligible Obligations shall have been deposited, an Opinion of Counsel to the effect that such obligations constitute Eligible Obligations and do not contain provisions permitting the redemption or other prepayment thereof at the option of the issuer thereof, and a report of an independent public accountant of nationally recognized standing, selected by the Company, to the effect that the other requirements set forth in clause (b) and (c) above have been satisfied; and

     (z) if such deposit shall have been made prior to the Maturity of such Securities, an Officers' Certificate stating the Company's intention that, upon delivery of such Officers' Certificate, its indebtedness in respect of such Securities or portions thereof will have been satisfied and discharged as contemplated in this Section.

     Upon the deposit of money or Eligible Obligations, or both, in accordance with this Section, together with the documents required by clauses (x), (y) and (z) above, the Trustee shall, upon receipt of a Company Request, acknowledge in writing that the Security or Securities or portions thereof with respect to which such deposit was made are deemed to have been paid for all purposes of this Mortgage and that the entire indebtedness of the Company in respect thereof has been satisfied and discharged as contemplated in this Section. In the event that all of the conditions set forth in the preceding paragraph shall have been satisfied in respect of any Securities or portions thereof except that, for any reason, the Officers' Certificate specified in clause (z) shall not have been delivered, such Securities or portions thereof shall nevertheless be deemed to have been paid for all purposes of this Mortgage, and the Holders of such Securities or portions thereof shall nevertheless be no longer entitled to the benefits provided by this Mortgage or of any of the covenants of the Company under Article Seven (except the covenants contained in Sections 702 and 703) or any other covenants made in respect of such Securities or portions thereof as contemplated by Section 301 or Section 1301(b), but the indebtedness of the Company in respect of such Securities or portions thereof shall not be deemed to have been satisfied and discharged prior to Maturity for any other purpose and the Holders of such Securities or portions thereof shall continue to be entitled to look to the Company for payment of the indebtedness represented thereby; and, upon Company Request, the Trustee shall acknowledge in writing that such Securities or portions thereof are deemed to have been paid for all purposes of this Mortgage.

     If payment at Stated Maturity of less than all of the Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, is to be provided for in the manner and with the effect provided in this Section, the Trustee shall select such Securities, or portions of principal amount thereof, in the manner specified by Section 503 for selection for redemption of less than all the Securities of a series or Tranche.

     In the event that Securities which shall be deemed to have been paid for purposes of this Mortgage, and, if such is the case, in respect of which the Company's indebtedness shall have been satisfied and discharged, all as provided in this Section, do not mature and are not to be redeemed within the 60-day period commencing with the date of the deposit of moneys or Eligible Obligations, as aforesaid, the Company shall, as promptly as practicable, give a notice, in the same manner as a notice of redemption with respect to such Securities, to the Holders of such Securities to the effect that such deposit has been made and the effect thereof.

     Notwithstanding that any Securities shall be deemed to have been paid for purposes of this Mortgage, as aforesaid, the obligations of the Company and the Trustee in respect of such Securities under Sections 304, 305, 306, 504, 702, 703, 1007 and
1015 and this Article shall survive.

     The Company shall pay, and shall indemnify the Trustee or any Paying Agent with which Eligible Obligations shall have been deposited as provided in this Section against, any tax, fee or other charge imposed on or assessed against such Eligible Obligations or the principal or interest received in respect of such Eligible Obligations, including, but not limited to, any such tax payable by any entity deemed, for tax purposes, to have been created as a result of such deposit.

     Anything herein to the contrary notwithstanding, (a) if, at any time after a Security would be deemed to have been paid for purposes of this Mortgage, and, if such is the case, the Company's indebtedness in respect thereof would be deemed to have been satisfied and discharged, pursuant to this Section (without regard to the provisions of this paragraph), the Trustee or any Paying Agent, as the case may be, (i) shall be required to return the money or Eligible Obligations, or combination thereof, deposited with it as aforesaid to the Company or its representative under any applicable Federal or State bankruptcy, insolvency or other similar law, or (ii) is unable to apply any money in accordance with this Article with respect to any Securities by reason of any order or judgment of any court or governmental authority enjoining, restraining or otherwise prohibiting such application, such Security shall thereupon be deemed retroactively not to have been paid and any satisfaction and discharge of the Company's indebtedness in respect thereof shall retroactively be deemed not to have been effected, and such Security shall be deemed to remain Outstanding and (b) any satisfaction and discharge of the Company's indebtedness in respect of any Security shall be subject to the provisions of the last paragraph of Section 703.

     SECTION 802.   EFFECTIVE TIME; SATISFACTION AND DISCHARGE OF
MORTGAGE.

     (a)  Subsection (b) of this Section 802 shall be of no force
or effect until the Second Effective Date, but shall automatically become and be in full force and effect on and after the Second
Effective Date.

     (b) This Mortgage shall upon Company Request cease to be of further effect (except as hereinafter expressly provided), and the Trustee, at the expense of the Company, shall execute such instruments as the Company shall reasonably request to evidence and acknowledge the satisfaction and discharge of this Mortgage, when:

          (i)  no Securities remain Outstanding hereunder; and

          (ii) the Company has paid or caused to be paid all other sums payable hereunder by the Company;

provided, however, that if, in accordance with the last paragraph of Section 801, any Security, previously deemed to have been paid for purposes of this Mortgage, shall be deemed retroactively not to have been so paid, this Mortgage shall thereupon be deemed retroactively not to have been satisfied and discharged, as aforesaid, and to remain in full force and effect, and the Company shall execute and deliver such instruments as the Trustee shall reasonably request to evidence and acknowledge the same.

     Notwithstanding the satisfaction and discharge of this
Mortgage as aforesaid, the obligations of the Company and the
Trustee under Sections 304, 305, 306, 504, 702, 703, 1007 and 1015
and this Article shall survive.

     Upon satisfaction and discharge of this Mortgage as provided in this Section, the Trustee shall assign, transfer and turn over to the Company, subject to the lien provided by Section 1007, any and all money, securities and other property then held by the Trustee for the benefit of the Holders of the Securities (other than money and Eligible Obligations held by the Trustee pursuant to Section 803) and shall execute and deliver to the Company such instruments as, in the judgment of the Company, shall be necessary, desirable or appropriate to effect or evidence the satisfaction and discharge of this Mortgage.

     SECTION 803.   APPLICATION OF TRUST MONEY.

     Neither the Eligible Obligations nor the money deposited pursuant to Section 801, nor the principal or interest payments on any such Eligible Obligations, shall be withdrawn or used for any purpose other than, and shall be held in trust for, the payment of the principal of and premium, if any, and interest, if any, on the Securities or portions of principal amount thereof in respect of which such deposit was made, all subject, however, to the provisions of Section 703; provided, however, that so long as there shall not have occurred and be continuing an Event of Default, any cash received from such principal or interest payments on such Eligible Obligations, if not then needed for such purpose, shall, to the extent practicable and upon Company Request and delivery to the Trustee of the documents referred to in clause
(y) in the first paragraph of Section 801, be invested in Eligible Obligations of the type described in clause (b) in the first paragraph of Section 801 maturing at such times and in such amounts as shall be sufficient, together with any other moneys and the proceeds of any other Eligible Obligations then held by the Trustee, to pay when due the principal of and premium, if any, and interest, if any, due and to become due on such Securities or portions thereof on and prior to the Maturity thereof, and interest earned from such reinvestment shall be paid over to the Company as received, free and clear of any trust, lien or pledge under this Mortgage (except the lien provided by Section 1007); and provided, further, that, so long as there shall not have occurred and be continuing an Event of Default, any moneys held in accordance with this Section on the Maturity of all such Securities in excess of the amount required to pay the principal of and premium, if any, and interest, if any, then due on such Securities shall be paid over to the Company free and clear of any trust, lien or pledge under this Mortgage (except the lien provided by Section 1007); and provided, further, that if an Event of Default shall have occurred and be continuing, moneys to be paid over to the Company pursuant to this Section shall be held until such Event of Default shall have been waived or cured.

                           ARTICLE NINE

                    EVENTS OF DEFAULT; REMEDIES

     SECTION 901.   EVENTS OF DEFAULT.

     "Event of Default", wherever used herein with respect to
Securities, means any one of the following events:

          (a) Failure to pay any interest on any Security when it becomes due and payable and continuance of such default for a period
of 90 days; provided, however, that no such default shall constitute an "Event of Default" if the Company has made a valid extension of
the interest payment period with respect to the Securities of such series, of which such Security is a part, if so provided as contemplated by Section 301; or

          (b) Failure to pay the principal of or premium, if any, on any Security when it becomes due and payable; provided, however, that no such default shall constitute an "Event of Default" if the
Company has made a valid extension of the Maturity of the
Securities of the series, of which such Security is a part, if so
provided as contemplated by Section 301; or

          (c) Failure to perform or breach of, any covenant or warranty of the Company in this Mortgage (other than a covenant or warranty a default in the performance of which or breach of which is elsewhere in this Section specifically addressed) and continuance
of such default or breach for a period of 90 days after there has been given, by registered or certified mail, to the Company by the Trustee, or to the Company and the Trustee by the Holders of at least 33% in aggregate principal amount of the Outstanding Securities, a written notice specifying such default or breach and requiring it to be remedied and stating that such notice is a "Notice of Default" hereunder, unless the Trustee, or the Trustee and the Holders of a principal amount of Securities not less than the principal amount of Securities the Holders of which gave such notice, as the case may be, shall agree in writing to an extension of such period prior to its expiration; provided, however, that
the Trustee, or the Trustee and the Holders of such principal
amount of Securities, as the case may be, shall be deemed to have agreed to an extension of such period if corrective action is initiated by the Company within such period and is being
diligently pursued; or

          (d) The entry by a court having jurisdiction in the premises of (1) a decree or order for relief in respect of the Company in an involuntary case or proceeding under any applicable Federal or State bankruptcy, insolvency, reorganization or other similar law
or (2) a decree or order adjudging the Company a bankrupt or insolvent, or approving as properly filed a petition by one or
more Persons other than the Company seeking reorganization, arrangement, adjustment or composition of or in respect of the
Company under any applicable Federal or State bankruptcy,
insolvency or similar law, or appointing a custodian, receiver, liquidator, assignee, trustee, sequestrator or other similar
official for the Company or for any substantial part of its
property, or ordering the winding up or liquidation of its
affairs, and any such decree or order for relief or any such other decree or order shall have remained unstayed and in effect for a period of 90 consecutive days; or

          (e) The commencement by the Company of a voluntary case or proceeding under any applicable Federal or State bankruptcy, insolvency, reorganization or other similar law or of any other
case or proceeding to be adjudicated a bankrupt or insolvent, or
the consent by the Company to the entry of a decree or order for relief in respect of the Company in a case or proceeding under any applicable Federal or State bankruptcy, insolvency, reorganization
or other similar law or to the commencement of any bankruptcy or insolvency case or proceeding against the Company, or the filing
by the Company of a petition or answer or consent seeking reorganization or relief under any applicable Federal or State bankruptcy, insolvency, reorganization or similar law, or the
consent by the Company to the filing of such petition or to the appointment of or taking possession by a custodian, receiver, liquidator, assignee, trustee, sequestrator or similar official of the Company or of any substantial part of its property, or the
making by the Company of an assignment for the benefit of
creditors, or the admission by the Company in writing of its inability to pay its debts generally as they become due, or the authorization of such action by the Board of Directors of the Company; or

          (f) any other Event of Default with respect to Securities of such series as shall have been specified in the terms thereof as contemplated by Section 301(o).

     SECTION 902.   ACCELERATION OF MATURITY; RESCISSION AND ANNULMENT.

     If an Event of Default shall have occurred and be continuing, then in every such case the Trustee or the Holders of not less than a majority in principal amount of the Outstanding Securities may declare the principal amount (or, if any of the Securities of such series are Discount Securities, such portion of the principal amount of such Securities as may be specified in the terms thereof as contemplated by Section 301) of all of the Securities to be due and payable immediately, by a notice in writing to the Company (and to the Trustee if given by Holders), and upon receipt by the Company of notice of such declaration such principal amount (or specified amount) together with premium, if any, and accrued and unpaid interest shall become immediately due and payable.

     At any time after such a declaration of acceleration of the maturity of the Securities then Outstanding shall have been made, but before any sale of any of the Mortgaged Property has been made and before a judgment or decree for payment of the money due shall have been obtained by the Trustee as provided in this Article, the Event or Events of Default giving rise to such declaration of acceleration shall, without further act, be deemed to have been cured, and such declaration and its consequences shall, without further act, be deemed to have been rescinded and annulled, if

          (a) the Company shall have paid or deposited with the Trustee a sum sufficient to pay

               (i) all overdue interest, if any, on all Securities then Outstanding;

               (ii) the principal of and premium, if any, on any
Securities then Outstanding which have become due otherwise than by such declaration of acceleration and interest thereon at the rate or
rates prescribed therefor in such Securities;

                (iii) to the extent that payment of such interest is lawful, interest upon overdue interest at the rate or rates prescribed therefor in such Securities;

                (iv) all amounts due to the Trustee under Section 1007;
and

          (b) all Events of Default, other than the non-payment of the principal of Securities of such series which shall have become due solely by such declaration of acceleration, shall have been cured
or waived as provided in Section 913.

     No such rescission shall affect any subsequent Event of
Default or impair any right consequent thereon.

     SECTION 903.   COLLECTION OF INDEBTEDNESS AND SUITS FOR
ENFORCEMENT BY TRUSTEE.

     If an Event of Default described in clause (a) or (b) of
Section 901 shall have occurred, the Company shall, upon demand of the Trustee, pay to it, for the benefit of the Holders of the Securities with respect to which such Event of Default shall have occurred, the whole amount then due and payable on such Securities for principal and premium, if any, and interest, if any, and, to the extent permitted by law, interest on premium, if any, and on any overdue principal and interest, at the rate or rates prescribed therefor in such Securities, and, in addition thereto, such further amount as shall be sufficient to cover any amounts due to the Trustee under Section 1007.

     If the Company shall fail to pay such amounts forthwith upon such demand, the Trustee, in its own name and as trustee of an express trust, may institute a judicial proceeding for the collection of the sums so due and unpaid, may prosecute such proceeding to judgment or final decree and may enforce the same against the Company or any other obligor upon such Securities and collect the moneys adjudged or decreed to be payable in the manner provided by law out of the property of the Company or any other obligor upon such Securities, wherever situated.

     If an Event of Default shall have occurred and be continuing, the Trustee may in its discretion proceed to protect and enforce its rights and the rights of the Holders of Securities by such appropriate judicial proceedings as the Trustee shall deem most effectual to protect and enforce any such rights, whether for the specific enforcement of any covenant or agreement in this Mortgage or in aid of the exercise of any power granted herein, or to enforce any other proper remedy.

     SECTION 904.   TRUSTEE MAY FILE PROOFS OF CLAIM.

     In case of the pendency of any receivership, insolvency, liquidation, bankruptcy, reorganization, arrangement, adjustment, composition or other judicial proceeding relative to the Company or any other obligor upon the Securities or the property of the Company or of such other obligor or their creditors, the Trustee (irrespective of whether the principal of the Securities shall then be due and payable as therein expressed or by declaration or otherwise and irrespective of whether the Trustee shall have made any demand on the Company for the payment of overdue principal or interest) shall be entitled and empowered, by intervention in such proceeding or otherwise,

          (a) to file and prove a claim for the whole amount of principal, premium, if any, and interest, if any, owing and unpaid in respect of the Securities and to file such other papers or documents as may be necessary or advisable in order to have the claims of the Trustee (including any claim for amounts due to the Trustee under
Section 1007 and any claims of the Trustee as holder of Secured
Debt) and of the Holders allowed in such judicial proceeding, and

          (b) to collect and receive any moneys or other property payable or deliverable on any such claims and to distribute the same; and any custodian, receiver, assignee, trustee, liquidator, sequestrator or other similar official in any such judicial proceeding is hereby authorized by each Holder to make such
payments to the Trustee and, in the event that the Trustee shall consent to the making of such payments directly to the Holders, to pay to the Trustee any amounts due it under Section 1007.

     Nothing herein contained shall be deemed to authorize the Trustee to authorize or consent to or accept or adopt on behalf of any Holder any plan of reorganization, arrangement, adjustment or composition affecting the Securities or the rights of any Holder thereof or to authorize the Trustee to vote in respect of the claim of any Holder in any such proceeding.

     SECTION 905.   TRUSTEE MAY ENFORCE CLAIMS WITHOUT POSSESSION OF
SECURITIES.

     All rights of action and claims under this Mortgage or the Securities may be prosecuted and enforced by the Trustee, without the possession of any of the Securities or the production thereof in any proceeding relating thereto, and any such proceeding instituted by the Trustee shall be brought in its own name as trustee of an express trust, and any recovery of judgment shall, after provision for the payment of the reasonable compensation, expenses, disbursements and advances of the Trustee, its agents and counsel, be for the ratable benefit of the Holders in respect of which such judgment has been recovered.

     SECTION 906.   APPLICATION OF MONEY COLLECTED.

     Any money collected by the Trustee pursuant to this Article shall be applied in the following order, to the extent permitted by law, at the date or dates fixed by the Trustee and, in case of the distribution of such money on account of principal or premium, if any, or interest, if any, upon presentation of the Securities in respect of which or for the benefit of which such money shall have been collected and the notation thereon of the payment if only partially paid and upon surrender thereof if fully paid:

     FIRST: To the payment of all amounts due the Trustee under
Section 1007;

     SECOND: To the payment of the amounts then due and unpaid upon the Securities for principal of and premium, if any, and interest, if any, in respect of which or for the benefit of which such money has been collected, ratably, without preference or priority of any kind, according to the amounts due and payable on such Securities for principal, premium, if any, and interest, if any, respectively; and

     THIRD: To the payment of the remainder, if any, to the
Company or to whomsoever may be lawfully entitled to receive the
same or as a court of competent jurisdiction may direct.

     SECTION 907.   LIMITATION ON SUITS.

     No Holder shall have any right to institute any proceeding,
judicial or otherwise, with respect to this Mortgage, or for the
appointment of a receiver or trustee, or for any other remedy
hereunder, unless:

          (a) such Holder shall have previously given written notice to the Trustee of a continuing Event of Default;

          (b) the Holders of a majority in aggregate principal amount of the Outstanding Securities shall have made written request to the Trustee to institute proceedings in respect of such Event of
Default in its own name as Trustee hereunder;

          (c) such Holder or Holders shall have offered to the Trustee reasonable indemnity against the costs, expenses and liabilities
to be incurred in compliance with such request;

          (d) the Trustee for 60 days after its receipt of such notice, request and offer of indemnity shall have failed to institute any
such proceeding; and

          (e) no direction inconsistent with such written request shall have been given to the Trustee during such 60-day period by the
Holders of a majority in aggregate principal amount of the
Outstanding Securities; it being understood and intended that no
one or more of the Holders of any Securities shall have any right
in any manner whatever by virtue of, or by availing of, any
provision of this Mortgage to affect, disturb or prejudice the
rights of any other Holders or to obtain or to seek to obtain
priority or preference over any other Holders or to enforce any
right under this Mortgage, except in the manner herein provided
and for the equal and ratable benefit of all Holders.

     SECTION 908.   UNCONDITIONAL RIGHT OF HOLDERS TO RECEIVE
PRINCIPAL, PREMIUM AND INTEREST.

     Notwithstanding any other provision in this Mortgage, the Holder of any Security shall have the right, which is absolute and unconditional, to receive payment of the principal of and premium, if any, and (subject to Section 307) interest, if any, on such Security on the Stated Maturity or Maturities expressed in such Security (or, in the case of redemption, subject to Section 504, on the Redemption Date) and to institute suit for the enforcement of any such payment, and such rights shall not be impaired without the consent of such Holder.

     SECTION 909.   RESTORATION OF RIGHTS AND REMEDIES.

     If the Trustee or any Holder has instituted any proceeding to enforce any right or remedy under this Mortgage and such proceeding shall have been discontinued or abandoned for any reason, or shall have been determined adversely to the Trustee or to such Holder, then and in every such case, subject to any determination in such proceeding, the Company, the Trustee and such Holder shall be restored severally and respectively to their former positions hereunder and thereafter all rights and remedies of the Trustee and such Holder shall continue as though no such proceeding had been instituted.

     SECTION 910.   RIGHTS AND REMEDIES CUMULATIVE.

     Except as otherwise provided in the last paragraph of Section 306, no right or remedy herein conferred upon or reserved to the Trustee or to the Holders is intended to be exclusive of any other right or remedy, and every right and remedy shall, to the extent permitted by law, be cumulative and in addition to every other right and remedy given hereunder or now or hereafter existing at law or in equity or otherwise. The assertion or employment of any right or remedy hereunder, or otherwise, shall not prevent the concurrent assertion or employment of any other appropriate right or remedy.

     SECTION 911.   DELAY OR OMISSION NOT WAIVER.

     No delay or omission of the Trustee or of any Holder to exercise any right or remedy accruing upon any Event of Default shall impair any such right or remedy or constitute a waiver of any such Event of Default or an acquiescence therein. Every right and remedy given by this Article or by law to the Trustee or to the Holders may be exercised from time to time, and as often as may be deemed expedient, by the Trustee or by the Holders, as the case may be.

     SECTION 912.   CONTROL BY HOLDERS OF SECURITIES.

     If an Event of Default shall have occurred and be continuing, the Holders of a majority in principal amount of the Outstanding Securities shall have the right to direct the time, method and place of conducting any proceeding for any remedy available to the Trustee, or exercising any trust or power conferred on the Trustee, with respect to such Securities; provided, however, that

          (a) such direction shall not be in conflict with any rule of law or with this Mortgage, and could not involve the Trustee in personal liability in circumstances where indemnity would not, in
the Trustee's sole discretion, be adequate, and

         (b) the Trustee may take any other action deemed proper by the Trustee which is not inconsistent with such direction.

     SECTION 913.   WAIVER OF PAST DEFAULTS.

     The Holders of not less than a majority in principal amount
of the Outstanding Securities may on behalf of the Holders of all
the Securities waive any past default hereunder and its
consequences, except a default:

          (a) in the payment of the principal of or premium, if any, or interest, if any, on any Outstanding Security, or

          (b)  in respect of a covenant or provision hereof which under
Section 1302 cannot be modified or amended without the consent of
the Holder of each Outstanding Security of any series or Tranche
affected.

     Upon any such waiver, such default shall cease to exist, and any and all Events of Default arising therefrom shall be deemed to have been cured, for every purpose of this Mortgage; but no such waiver shall extend to any subsequent or other default or impair any right consequent thereon.

     SECTION 914.   UNDERTAKING FOR COSTS.

     The Company and the Trustee agree, and each Holder by his acceptance thereof shall be deemed to have agreed, that any court may in its discretion require, in any suit for the enforcement of any right or remedy under this Mortgage, or in any suit against the Trustee for any action taken, suffered or omitted by it as Trustee, the filing by any party litigant in such suit of an undertaking to pay the costs of such suit, and that such court may in its discretion assess reasonable costs, including reasonable attorneys' fees, against any party litigant in such suit, having due regard to the merits and good faith of the claims or defenses made by such party litigant but the provisions of this Section shall not apply to any suit instituted by the Company, to any suit instituted by the Trustee, to any suit instituted by any Holder, or group of Holders, holding in the aggregate more than 10% in aggregate principal amount of the Securities then Outstanding, or to any suit instituted by any Holder for the enforcement of the payment of the principal of or premium, if any, or interest, if any, on any Security on or after the Stated Maturity or Maturities expressed in such Security (or in the case of redemption, on or after the Redemption Date).

     SECTION 915.   WAIVER OF USURY, STAY OR EXTENSION LAWS.

     The Company covenants (to the extent that it may lawfully do
so) that it will not at any time insist upon, or plead, or in any manner whatsoever claim or take the benefit or advantage of, any usury, stay or extension law wherever enacted, now or at any time hereafter in force, which may affect the covenants or the performance of this Mortgage; and the Company (to the extent that it may lawfully do so) hereby expressly waives all benefit or advantage of any such law and covenants that it will not hinder, delay or impede the execution of any power herein granted to the Trustee, but will suffer and permit the execution of every such power as though no such law had been enacted.

     SECTION 916.   DEFAULTS UNDER PRIOR LIENS.

     In addition to every other right and remedy provided herein, the Trustee may (but shall not be obligated to) exercise any right or remedy available to the Trustee in its capacity as owner and holder of any Secured Debt which arises as a result of a default or matured event of default under any Prior Lien, whether or not an Event of Default shall then have occurred and be continuing.

     SECTION 917.   RECEIVER AND OTHER REMEDIES.

     If an Event of Default shall have occurred and, during the continuance thereof, the Trustee shall have commenced judicial proceedings to enforce any right under this Mortgage, the Trustee shall, to the extent permitted by law, be entitled, as against the Company, to the appointment of a receiver of the Mortgaged Property and subject to the rights, if any, of others to receive collections from former, present or future customers of the rents, issues, profits, revenues and other income thereof, and whether or not any receiver is appointed, the Trustee shall be entitled to retain possession and control of, and to collect and receive the income from cash, securities and other personal property held by the Trustee hereunder and to all other remedies available to mortgagees and secured parties under the Uniform Commercial Code or any other applicable law.

                            ARTICLE TEN

                            THE TRUSTEE

     SECTION 1001.  CERTAIN DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES.

          (a) The Trustee shall have and be subject to all the duties and responsibilities specified with respect to a Mortgage trustee in the Trust Indenture Act and no implied covenants or obligations
shall be read into this Mortgage against the Trustee.  For
purposes of Sections 315(a) and 315(c) of the Trust Indenture Act,
the term "default" is hereby defined as an Event of Default which
has occurred and is continuing.

          (b) No provision of this Mortgage shall require the Trustee to expend or risk its own funds or otherwise incur any financial liability in the performance of any of its duties hereunder, or in
the exercise of any of its rights or powers, if it shall have reasonable grounds for believing that repayment of such funds or adequate indemnity against such risk or liability is not
reasonably assured to it.

          (c) Notwithstanding anything contained in this Mortgage to the contrary, the duties and responsibilities of the Trustee under this Mortgage shall be subject to the protections, exculpations
and limitations on liability afforded to a Mortgage trustee under
the provisions of the Trust Indenture Act. For the purposes of Sections 315(b) and 315(d)(2) of the Trust Indenture Act, the term "responsible officer" is hereby defined as a Responsible Officer.
(d)  Whether or not therein expressly so provided, every provision
of this Mortgage relating to the conduct or affecting the
liability of or affording protection to the Trustee shall be
subject to the provisions of this Section.

     SECTION 1002.  NOTICE OF DEFAULTS.

     The Trustee shall give notice of any default hereunder known to the Trustee in the manner and to the extent required to do so by the Trust Indenture Act, unless such default shall have been cured or waived; provided, however, that in the case of any default of the character specified in Section 901(c), no such notice to Holders shall be given until at least 60 days after the occurrence thereof. For the purpose of this Section, the term "default" means any event which is, or after notice or lapse of time, or both, would become, an Event of Default.

     SECTION 1003.  CERTAIN RIGHTS OF TRUSTEE.

     Subject to the provisions of Section 1001 and to the
applicable provisions of the Trust Indenture Act:

          (a) the Trustee may conclusively rely and shall be fully protected in acting or refraining from acting upon any resolution, certificate, statement, instrument, opinion, report, notice, request, direction, consent, order, bond, debenture, note, other evidence of indebtedness or other paper or document believed by it to be genuine and to have been signed or presented by the proper party or parties;

          (b) any request or direction of the Company mentioned herein shall be sufficiently evidenced by a Company Request or Company
Order, or as otherwise expressly provided herein, and any
resolution of the Board of Directors may be sufficiently evidenced
by a Board Resolution;

          (c) whenever in the administration of this Mortgage the Trustee shall deem it desirable that a matter be proved or established prior to taking, suffering or omitting any action hereunder, the Trustee (unless other evidence be herein specifically prescribed)
may, in the absence of bad faith on its part, conclusively rely
upon an Officers' Certificate;

          (d) the Trustee may consult with counsel and the written advice of such counsel or any Opinion of Counsel shall be full and complete authorization and protection in respect of any action taken, suffered or omitted by it hereunder in good faith and in reliance thereon;

         (e) the Trustee shall be under no obligation to exercise any of the rights or powers vested in it by this Mortgage at the request or direction of any Holder pursuant to this Mortgage, unless such Holder shall have offered to the Trustee reasonable security or indemnity against the costs, expenses and liabilities which might
be incurred by it in compliance with such request or direction;

         (f) the Trustee shall not be bound to make any investigation into the facts or matters stated in any resolution, certificate, statement, instrument, opinion, report, notice, request,
direction, consent, order, bond, debenture, note, other evidence
of indebtedness or other paper or document, but the Trustee, in
its discretion, may make such further inquiry or investigation
into such facts or matters as it may see fit, and, if the Trustee shall determine to make such further inquiry or investigation, it shall (subject to applicable legal requirements) be entitled to examine, during normal business hours, the books, records and
premises of the Company, personally or by agent or attorney;

          (g) the Trustee may execute any of the trusts or powers hereunder or perform any duties hereunder either directly or by or through agents or attorneys and the Trustee shall not be responsible for any misconduct or negligence on the part of any agent or attorney appointed with due care by it hereunder;

         (h) the Trustee shall not be charged with knowledge of any default (as defined in Section 1002) or Event of Default unless either (1) a Responsible Officer of the Trustee shall have actual knowledge of such default or Event of Default or (2) written
notice of such default or Event of Default shall have been given
to the Trustee by the Company or any other obligor on such Securities, or by any Holder of such Securities.

         (i)  the rights, privileges, protections, immunities and
benefits given to the Trustee, including, without limitation, its right to be indemnified, are extended to, and shall be enforceable by, the Trustee in each of its capacities hereunder; and

         (j) the Trustee shall not be liable for any action taken, suffered or omitted to be taken by it in good faith and reasonably believed by it to be authorized or within the discretion or rights or powers conferred upon it by this Mortgage.

     SECTION 1004.  NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR RECITALS OR ISSUANCE OF
SECURITIES.

     The recitals contained herein and in the Securities (except the Trustee's certificates of authentication) shall be taken as the statements of the Company, and neither the Trustee nor any Authenticating Agent assumes responsibility for their correctness. The Trustee makes no representations as to the value or condition of the Mortgaged Property, the title of the Company to the Mortgaged Property, the security afforded by the Lien of this Mortgage, the validity or genuineness of any securities deposited with the Trustee hereunder, or the validity or sufficiency of this Mortgage or of the Securities. Neither the Trustee nor any Authenticating Agent shall be accountable for the use or application by the Company of Securities or the proceeds thereof or any money paid to the Company hereunder.

     SECTION 1005.  MAY HOLD SECURITIES.

     Each of the Trustee, any Authenticating Agent, any Paying Agent, any Security Registrar or any other agent of the Company, in its individual or any other capacity, may become the owner or pledgee of Securities and, subject to Sections 1008 and 1013, may otherwise deal with the Company with the same rights it would have if it were not the Trustee, Authenticating Agent, Paying Agent, Security Registrar or such other agent.

     SECTION 1006.  MONEY HELD IN TRUST.

     Money held by the Trustee in trust hereunder need not be
segregated from other funds, except to the extent required by law. The Trustee shall be under no liability for interest on or
investment of any money received by it hereunder except as
expressly provided herein or otherwise agreed with, and for the
sole benefit of, the Company.

     SECTION 1007.  COMPENSATION AND REIMBURSEMENT.

     The Company shall

          (a) pay to the Trustee from time to time reasonable compensation for all services rendered by it hereunder (which compensation shall not be limited by any provision of law in regard to the compensation of a trustee of an express trust);

          (b) except as otherwise expressly provided herein, reimburse the Trustee upon its request for all reasonable expenses, disbursements and advances reasonably incurred or made by the Trustee in accordance with any provision of this Mortgage (including the reasonable compensation and the expenses and disbursements of its agents and counsel), except to the extent
that any such expense, disbursement or advance may be attributable to the Trustee's negligence, willful misconduct or bad faith; and

          (c) indemnify the Trustee for, and hold it harmless from and against, any loss, liability or expense reasonably incurred by it arising out of or in connection with the acceptance or
administration of the trust or trusts hereunder or the performance
of its duties hereunder, including the reasonable costs and
expenses of defending itself against any claim or liability in connection with the exercise or performance of any of its powers
or duties hereunder except to the extent any such loss, liability
or expense may be attributable to its negligence, willful
misconduct or bad faith.

     As security for the performance of the obligations of the Company under this Section, the Trustee shall have a lien prior to the Securities upon the Mortgaged Property and all property and funds held or collected by the Trustee as such, other than property and funds held in trust under Section 803 (except moneys payable to the Company as provided in Section 803).

     In addition and without prejudice to the rights provided to the Trustee under any of the provisions of this Mortgage, when the Trustee incurs expenses or renders services in connection with an Event of Default specified in Section 901(d) or Section 901(e), the expenses (including the reasonable charges and expenses of its counsel) and the compensation for the services are intended to constitute expenses of administration under any applicable Federal and State bankruptcy, insolvency or other similar law.

     The Company's obligations under this Section 1007 and the
Lien referred to in this Section 1007 shall survive the
resignation or removal of the Trustee, the discharge of the
Company's obligations under Article Eight of this Mortgage and/or
the termination of this Mortgage.

     "TRUSTEE" for purposes of this Section 1007 shall include any predecessor Trustee; provided, however, that the negligence,
willful misconduct or bad faith of any Trustee hereunder shall not affect the rights of any other Trustee hereunder.

     SECTION 1008.  DISQUALIFICATION; CONFLICTING INTERESTS.

     If the Trustee shall have or acquire any conflicting interest within the meaning of the Trust Indenture Act, it shall either eliminate such conflicting interest or resign to the extent, in the manner and with the effect, and subject to the conditions, provided in the Trust Indenture Act and this Indenture. For purposes of Section 310(b)(1) of the Trust Indenture Act and to the extent permitted thereby, the Trustee, in its capacity as trustee in respect of the Securities of any series, shall not be deemed to have a conflicting interest arising from its capacity as trustee in respect of the Securities of any other series issued under this Mortgage. Nothing herein shall prevent the Company or the Trustee from filing with the Commission an application of the type referred to in clause (ii) of paragraph (1) or in the second to last paragraph of Section 310(b) of the Trust Indenture Act.

     SECTION 1009.  CORPORATE TRUSTEE REQUIRED; ELIGIBILITY.

     There shall at all times be a Trustee hereunder which shall
be

          (a) a corporation organized and doing business under the laws of the United States of America, any State thereof or the District of Columbia, authorized under such laws to exercise corporate trust powers, having a combined capital and surplus of at least
$50,000,000 and subject to supervision or examination by Federal,
State or District of Columbia authority, or

          (b) if and to the extent permitted by the Commission by rule, regulation or order upon application, a corporation or other Person organized and doing business under the laws of a foreign government, authorized under such laws to exercise corporate trust powers, having a combined capital and surplus of at least $50,000,000 or the Dollar equivalent of the applicable foreign currency and subject to supervision or examination by authority of such foreign government or a political subdivision thereof substantially equivalent to supervision or examination applicable to United States institutional trustees, and, in either case, qualified and eligible under this Article and the Trust Indenture Act. If such corporation publishes reports of condition at least annually, pursuant to law or to the requirements of such supervising or examining authority, then for the purposes of this Section, the combined capital and surplus of such corporation shall be deemed to be its combined capital and surplus as set forth in its most recent report of condition so published. If at any time the Trustee shall cease to be eligible in accordance with the provisions of this Section and the Trust Indenture Act, it shall resign immediately in the manner and with the effect hereinafter specified in this Article.

     SECTION 1010.  RESIGNATION AND REMOVAL; APPOINTMENT OF SUCCESSOR.

          (a)  No resignation or removal of the Trustee and no
appointment of a successor Trustee pursuant to this Article shall
become effective until the acceptance of appointment by the successor Trustee in accordance with the applicable requirements of Section
1011.

          (b) The Trustee may resign at any time by giving written notice thereof to the Company. If the instrument of acceptance by a successor Trustee required by Section 1011 shall not have been delivered to the Trustee within 30 days after the giving of such notice of resignation, the resigning Trustee may petition any
court of competent jurisdiction for the appointment of a successor
Trustee.

          c) The Trustee may be removed at any time by Act of the Holders of a majority in principal amount of the Outstanding Securities delivered to the Trustee and the Company.

          (d)  If at any time:

               (i) the Trustee shall fail to comply with Section 1008 after written request therefor by the Company or by any Holder who has been a bona fide Holder for at least 6 months, or

              (ii) the Trustee shall cease to be eligible under Section 1009 or Section 310(a) of the Trust Indenture Act and shall fail to resign after written request therefor by the Company or by any such Holder, or

             (iii) the Trustee shall become incapable of acting or shall be adjudged a bankrupt or insolvent or a receiver of the Trustee or of its property shall be appointed or any public officer shall
take charge or control of the Trustee or of its property or
affairs for the purpose of rehabilitation, conservation or
liquidation,

then, in any such case, (x) the Company by Board Resolutions may remove the Trustee with respect to all Securities or (y) subject to Section 914, any Holder who has been a bona fide Holder for at least six months may, on behalf of himself and all others similarly situated, petition any court of competent jurisdiction for the removal of the Trustee with respect to all Securities and the appointment of a successor Trustee or Trustees.

         (e) If the Trustee shall resign, be removed or become incapable of acting, or if a vacancy shall occur in the office of Trustee for any cause (other than as contemplated by clause (y) in subsection (d) of this Section), the Company, by Board Resolutions, shall promptly appoint a successor Trustee or Trustees and shall comply with the applicable requirements of
Section 1011. If, within one year after such resignation, removal or incapability, or the occurrence of such vacancy, a successor Trustee shall be appointed by Act of the Holders of a majority in principal amount of the Outstanding Securities delivered to the Company and the retiring Trustee, the successor Trustee so appointed shall, forthwith upon its acceptance of such appointment in accordance with the applicable requirements of Section 1011, become the successor Trustee and to that extent supersede the successor Trustee appointed by the Company. If no successor Trustee shall have been so appointed by the Company or the Holders and accepted appointment in the manner required by Section 1011, any Holder who has been a bona fide Holder of a Security of such series for at least 6 months may, on behalf of itself and all others similarly situated, petition any court of competent jurisdiction for the appointment of a successor Trustee.

          (f) So long as no event which is, or after notice or lapse of time, or both, would become, an Event of Default shall have occurred and be continuing, and except with respect to a Trustee appointed by Act of the Holders of a majority in principal amount
of the Outstanding Securities pursuant to subsection (e) of this Section, if the Company shall have delivered to the Trustee (i)
Board Resolutions appointing a successor Trustee, effective as of
a date specified therein, and (ii) an instrument of acceptance of such appointment, effective as of such date, by such successor Trustee in accordance with Section 1011, the Trustee shall be
deemed to have resigned as contemplated in subsection (b) of this Section, the successor Trustee shall be deemed to have been
appointed by the Company pursuant to subsection (e) of this
Section and such appointment shall be deemed to have been accepted
as contemplated in Section 1011, all as of such date, and all
other provisions of this Section and Section 1011 shall be
applicable to such resignation, appointment and acceptance except
to the extent inconsistent with this subsection (f).

          (g) The Company shall give notice of each resignation and each removal of the Trustee and each appointment of a successor Trustee to all Holders of Securities in the manner provided in Section
107.  Each notice shall include the name of the successor Trustee
and the address of its Corporate Trust Office.

     SECTION 1011.  ACCEPTANCE OF APPOINTMENT BY SUCCESSOR.

          (a) In case of the appointment hereunder of a successor Trustee, every such successor Trustee so appointed shall execute, acknowledge and deliver to the Company and to the retiring Trustee an instrument accepting such appointment, and thereupon the resignation or removal of the retiring Trustee shall become effective and such successor Trustee, without any further act, deed or conveyance, shall become vested with all the rights, powers, trusts and duties of the retiring Trustee; but, on the request of the Company or the successor Trustee, such retiring Trustee shall, upon payment of all sums owed to it, execute and deliver an instrument transferring to such successor Trustee all the rights, powers and trusts of the retiring Trustee and shall duly assign, transfer and deliver to such successor Trustee all property and money held by such retiring Trustee hereunder, subject nevertheless to its Lien provided for in Section 1007.

          (b) Upon request of any such successor Trustee, the Company shall execute any instruments for more fully and certainly vesting in and confirming to such successor Trustee all such rights, powers
and trusts referred to in subsection (a) of this Section.

          (c) No successor Trustee shall accept its appointment unless at the time of such acceptance such successor Trustee shall be
qualified and eligible under this Article.

     SECTION 1012.  MERGER, CONVERSION, CONSOLIDATION OR SUCCESSION TO
BUSINESS.

     Any corporation into which the Trustee may be merged or converted or with which it may be consolidated, or any corporation resulting from any merger, conversion or consolidation to which the Trustee shall be a party, or any corporation succeeding to all or substantially all the corporate trust business of the Trustee, shall be the successor of the Trustee hereunder, provided such corporation shall be otherwise qualified and eligible under this Article, without the execution or filing of any paper or any further act on the part of any of the parties hereto. In case any Securities shall have been authenticated, but not delivered, by the Trustee then in office, any successor by merger, conversion or consolidation to such authenticating Trustee may adopt such authentication and deliver the Securities so authenticated with the same effect as if such successor Trustee had itself authenticated such Securities.

     SECTION 1013.  PREFERENTIAL COLLECTION OF CLAIMS AGAINST COMPANY.

     If the Trustee shall be or become a creditor of the Company or any other obligor upon the Securities (other than by reason of a relationship described in Section 311(b) of the Trust Indenture
Act), the Trustee shall be subject to any and all applicable provisions of the Trust Indenture Act regarding the collection of claims against the Company or such other obligor. For purposes of
Section 311(b) of the Trust Indenture Act (a) the term "cash transaction" shall have the meaning provided in Rule 11b-4 under the Trust Indenture Act, and (b) the term "self-liquidating paper" shall have the meaning provided in Rule 11b-6 under the Trust Indenture Act.

     SECTION 1014.  CO-TRUSTEE AND SEPARATE TRUSTEES.

     At any time or times, for the purpose of meeting the legal requirements of any applicable jurisdiction, the Company and the Trustee shall have power to appoint, and, upon the written request of the Trustee or of the Holders of at least 33% in principal amount of the Securities then Outstanding, the Company shall for such purpose join with the Trustee in the execution and delivery of all instruments and agreements necessary or proper to appoint, one or more Persons approved by the Trustee either to act as co-trustee, jointly with the Trustee, or to act as separate trustee, in either case with such powers as may be provided in the instrument of appointment, and to vest in such Person or Persons, in the capacity aforesaid, any property, title, right or power deemed necessary or desirable, subject to the other provisions of this Section. If the Company does not join in such appointment within 15 days after the receipt by it of a request so to do, or if an Event of Default shall have occurred and be continuing, the Trustee alone shall have power to make such appointment.

     Should any written instrument or instruments from the Company be required by any co-trustee or separate trustee to more fully confirm to such co-trustee or separate trustee such property, title, right or power, any and all such instruments shall, on request, be executed, acknowledged and delivered by the Company.

     Every co-trustee or separate trustee shall, to the extent
permitted by law, but to such extent only, be appointed subject to the following conditions:

          (a)  the Securities shall be authenticated and delivered,
and all rights, powers, duties and obligations hereunder in respect
of the custody of securities, cash and other personal property held by, or required to be deposited or pledged with, the Trustee
hereunder, shall be exercised solely, by the Trustee;

          (b) the rights, powers, duties and obligations hereby conferred or imposed upon the Trustee in respect of any property covered by such appointment shall be conferred or imposed upon and exercised or performed either by the Trustee or by the Trustee and such co-trustee or separate trustee jointly, as shall be provided in the instrument appointing such co-trustee or separate trustee, except to the extent that under any law of any jurisdiction in which any particular act is to be performed, the Trustee shall be
incompetent or unqualified to perform such act, in which event
such rights, powers, duties and obligations shall be exercised and performed by such co-trustee or separate trustee.

          (c) the Trustee at any time, by an instrument in writing executed by it, with the concurrence of the Company, may accept the resignation of or remove any co-trustee or separate trustee appointed under this Section, and, if an Event of Default shall have occurred and be continuing, the Trustee shall have power to accept the resignation of, or remove, any such co-trustee or separate trustee without the concurrence of the Company. Upon the written request of the Trustee, the Company shall join with the Trustee in the execution and delivery of all instruments and agreements necessary or proper to effectuate such resignation or removal. A successor to any co-trustee or separate trustee so resigned or removed may be appointed in the manner provided in
this Section;

          (d) no co-trustee or separate trustee hereunder shall be personally liable by reason of any act or omission of the Trustee, or any other such trustee hereunder, and the Trustee shall not be personally liable by reason of any act or omission of any such co-trustee or separate trustee; and

         (e) any Act of Holders delivered to the Trustee shall be deemed to have been delivered to each such co-trustee and separate trustee.

     SECTION 1015.  APPOINTMENT OF AUTHENTICATING AGENT.

     The Trustee may appoint an Authenticating Agent or Agents with respect to the Securities of one or more series, or any Tranche thereof, which shall be authorized to act on behalf of the Trustee to authenticate Securities of such series or Tranche issued upon original issuance, exchange, registration of transfer or partial redemption thereof or pursuant to Section 506, and Securities so authenticated shall be entitled to the benefits of this Mortgage and shall be valid and obligatory for all purposes as if authenticated by the Trustee hereunder. Wherever reference is made in this Mortgage to the authentication and delivery of Securities by the Trustee or the Trustee's certificate of authentication, such reference shall be deemed to include authentication and delivery on behalf of the Trustee by an Authenticating Agent and a certificate of authentication executed on behalf of the Trustee by an Authenticating Agent. Each Authenticating Agent shall be acceptable to the Company and shall at all times be a corporation organized and doing business under the laws of the United States of America, any State or territory thereof or the District of Columbia or the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, authorized under such laws to act as Authenticating Agent, having a combined capital and surplus of not less than $50,000,000 and subject to supervision or examination by Federal or State authority. If such Authenticating Agent publishes reports of condition at least annually, pursuant to law or to the requirements of said supervising or examining authority, then for the purposes of this Section, the combined capital and surplus of such Authenticating Agent shall be deemed to be its combined capital and surplus as set forth in its most recent report of condition so published. If at any time an Authenticating Agent shall cease to be eligible in accordance with the provisions of this Section, such Authenticating Agent shall resign immediately in the manner and with the effect specified in this Section.

     Any corporation into which an Authenticating Agent may be merged or converted or with which it may be consolidated, or any corporation resulting from any merger, conversion or consolidation to which such Authenticating Agent shall be a party, or any corporation succeeding to the corporate agency or corporate trust business of an Authenticating Agent, shall continue to be an Authenticating Agent, provided such corporation shall be otherwise eligible under this Section, without the execution or filing of any paper or any further act on the part of the Trustee or the Authenticating Agent.

     An Authenticating Agent may resign at any time by giving written notice thereof to the Trustee and the Company. The Trustee may at any time terminate the agency of an Authenticating Agent by giving written notice thereof to such Authenticating Agent and the Company. Upon receiving such a notice of resignation or upon such a termination, or in case at any time such Authenticating Agent shall cease to be eligible in accordance with the provisions of this Section, the Trustee may appoint a successor Authenticating Agent which shall be acceptable to the Company. Any successor Authenticating Agent upon acceptance of its appointment hereunder shall become vested with all the rights, powers and duties of its predecessor hereunder, with like effect as if originally named as an Authenticating Agent. No successor Authenticating Agent shall be appointed unless eligible under the provisions of this Section.

     The Company agrees to pay to each Authenticating Agent from
time to time reasonable compensation for its services under this
Section.

     The provisions of Sections 308, 1004 and 1005 shall be
applicable to each Authenticating Agent.

     If an appointment with respect to the Securities of one or more series, or any Tranche thereof, shall be made pursuant to this Section, the Securities of such series or Tranche may have endorsed thereon, in addition to the Trustee's certificate of authentication, an alternate certificate of authentication substantially in the following form:

     This is one of the Securities of the series designated
therein referred to in the within-mentioned Mortgage.

                    Deutsche Bank Trust Company Americas,
                    f/k/a Bankers Trust Company, Trustee,

                    By______________________
                    As Authenticating Agent

                    By______________________
                    Authorized Officer

     If all of the Securities of a series may not be originally issued at one time, and if the Trustee does not have an office capable of authenticating Securities upon original issuance located in a Place of Payment where the Company wishes to have Securities of such series authenticated upon original issuance, the Trustee, if so requested by the Company in writing (which writing need not comply with Section 103 and need not be accompanied by an Opinion of Counsel), shall appoint, in accordance with this Section and in accordance with such procedures as shall be acceptable to the Trustee, an Authenticating Agent having an office in a Place of Payment designated by the Company with respect to such series of Securities.

                          ARTICLE ELEVEN

         HOLDERS' LISTS AND REPORTS BY TRUSTEE AND COMPANY

     SECTION 1101.  LISTS OF HOLDERS.

     Semiannually, not later than June 1 and December 1 in each year, commencing December 1, [____] and at such other times as the Trustee may request in writing, the Company shall furnish or cause to be furnished to the Trustee information as to the names and addresses of the Holders, and the Trustee shall preserve such information and similar information received by it in any other capacity and afford to the Holders access to information so preserved by it, all to such extent, if any, and in such manner as shall be required by the Trust Indenture Act; provided, however, that no such list need be furnished so long as the Trustee shall be the Security Registrar.

     SECTION 1102.  REPORTS BY TRUSTEE AND COMPANY.

     Not later than November 1 in each year, commencing with the year [_____], the Trustee shall transmit to the Holders, the Commission and each securities exchange upon which any Securities are listed, a report, dated as of the next preceding September 15, with respect to any events and other matters described in Section 313(a) of the Trust Indenture Act, in such manner and to the extent required by the Trust Indenture Act. The Trustee shall transmit to the Holders, the Commission and each securities exchange upon which any Securities are listed, and the Company shall file with the Trustee (within 30 days after filing with the Commission in the case of reports which pursuant to the Trust Indenture Act must be filed with the Commission and furnished to the Trustee) and transmit to the Holders, such other information, reports and other documents, if any, at such times and in such manner, as shall be required by the Trust Indenture Act. The Company shall notify the Trustee of the listing of any Securities on any securities exchange.

     Delivery of such reports, information and documents to the Trustee is for informational purposes only, and the Trustee's receipt of such shall not constitute notice or constructive notice of any information contained therein or determinable from information contained therein, including the Company's compliance with any of its covenants hereunder (as to which the Trustee is entitled to rely exclusively on Officers' Certificates).

     The Company shall file with the Trustee (within 30 days after filing with the Commission in the case of reports that pursuant to the Trust Indenture Act must be filed with the Commission and furnished to the Trustee) and transmit to the Holders, such other information, reports and other documents, if any, at such times and in such manner, as shall be required by the Trust Indenture Act.

                          ARTICLE TWELVE

       CONSOLIDATION, MERGER, CONVEYANCE, OR OTHER TRANSFER

     SECTION 1201.  COMPANY MAY CONSOLIDATE, ETC., ONLY ON CERTAIN
TERMS.

     The Company shall not consolidate with or merge into any
other corporation, or convey or otherwise transfer, or lease, as,
or substantially as, an entirety the Company's Electric Utility
Property to any Person, unless:

          (a) the corporation formed by such consolidation or into which the Company is merged or the Person which acquires by conveyance or other transfer, or which leases, as or substantially as an
entirety such Electric Utility Property shall be a corporation
organized and existing under the laws of the United States, any
State or Territory thereof or the District of Columbia (such
corporation being hereinafter sometimes called the "Successor
Company") and shall execute and deliver to the Trustee an Mortgage supplemental hereto, in form recordable and reasonably
satisfactory to the Trustee, which:

               (i) in the case of a consolidation, merger, conveyance or other transfer, or in the case of a lease if the term thereof extends beyond the last Stated Maturity of the Securities then
Outstanding, contains an express assumption by the Successor
Company of the due and punctual payment of the principal of and
premium, if any, and interest, if any, on all the Securities then
Outstanding and the performance and observance of every covenant
and condition of this Mortgage to be performed or observed by the
Company, and

               (ii) in the case of a consolidation, merger, conveyance or other transfer contains a grant, conveyance, transfer and mortgage by the Successor Company, of the same tenor of the Granting Clauses
herein,
          (A)  confirming the Lien of this Mortgage on the
     Mortgaged Property (as constituted immediately prior to the
     time such transaction became effective) and subjecting to the
     Lien of this Mortgage all property, real, personal and mixed, thereafter acquired by the Successor Company which shall
     constitute an improvement, extension or addition to the
     Mortgaged Property (as so constituted) or a renewal,
     replacement or substitution of or for any part thereof, and,

          (B) at the election of the Successor Company, subjecting to the Lien of this Mortgage such property, real, personal or mixed, in addition to the property described in subclause (A) above, then owned or thereafter acquired by the Successor Company as the Successor Company shall, in its sole discretion, specify or describe therein,

     and the Lien confirmed or created by such grant, conveyance, transfer and mortgage shall have force, effect and standing similar to those which the Lien of this Mortgage would have had if the Company had not been a party to such consolidation, merger, conveyance or other transfer and had itself, after the time such transaction became effective, purchased, constructed or otherwise acquired the property subject to such grant, conveyance, transfer and mortgage;

          (b) in the case of a lease, such lease shall be made expressly subject to termination at any time during the continuance of an Event of Default, by (i) the Company or the Trustee and (ii) the purchaser of the property so leased at any sale thereof hereunder, whether such sale be made under the power of sale hereby conferred
or pursuant to judicial proceedings;

          (c) the Company shall have delivered to the Trustee an Officers' Certificate and an Opinion of Counsel each of which shall state that such consolidation, merger, conveyance or other transfer or lease, and such supplemental Mortgage, comply with this Article
and that all conditions precedent herein provided for relating to
such transaction have been complied with; and

          (d) immediately after giving effect to such transaction (and treating any Debt that becomes an obligation of the Successor
Company as a result of such transaction as having been incurred by
the Successor Company at the time of such transaction), no Event
of Default shall have occurred and be continuing.

     As used in this Article and in Section 1610(d), the terms "improvement", "extension" and "addition" shall be limited to (a) with respect to real property subject to the Lien of this Mortgage, any item of personal property which has been so affixed or attached to such real property as to be regarded a part of such real property under applicable law and (b) with respect to personal property subject to the Lien of this Mortgage, any improvement, extension or addition to such personal property which
(i) is made to maintain, renew, repair or improve the function of such personal property and (ii) is physically installed in or affixed to such personal property.

     SECTION 1202.  SUCCESSOR COMPANY SUBSTITUTED.

     Upon any consolidation or merger or any conveyance or other transfer of, as or substantially as an entirety the Company's Electric Utility Property in accordance with Section 1201, the Successor Company shall succeed to, and be substituted for, and may exercise every power and right of, the Company under this Mortgage with the same effect as if such Successor Company had been named as the "Company" herein. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing:

          (a) all property of the Successor Company then subject to the Lien of this Mortgage, of the character described in Section 102,
shall constitute Property Additions;

           (b) the Successor Company may execute and deliver to the Trustee, and thereupon the Trustee shall, subject to the provisions of Article Four, authenticate and deliver, Securities meeting the
requirements of Article Four; and

           (c) the Successor Company may, subject to the applicable provisions of this Mortgage, use Property Additions for any other
purpose under the Mortgage.

All Securities so executed by the Successor Company, and
authenticated and delivered by the Trustee, shall in all respects
be entitled to the benefit of the Lien of this Mortgage equally
and ratably with all Securities executed, authenticated and
delivered prior to the time such consolidation, merger, conveyance or other transfer became effective.

     SECTION 1203.  EXTENT OF LIEN HEREOF ON PROPERTY OF SUCCESSOR
COMPANY.

     Unless, in the case of a consolidation, merger, conveyance or other transfer contemplated by Section 1201, the Mortgage supplemental hereto contemplated in Section 1201 or in Article Thirteen expressly provides otherwise, neither this Mortgage nor such supplemental Mortgage shall become or be, or be required to become or be, a Lien upon any of the properties:

          (a) owned by the Successor Company or any other party to such transaction (other than the Company) immediately prior to the time
of effectiveness of such transaction or

          (b) acquired by the Successor Company at or after the time of effectiveness of such transaction, except, in either case,
properties acquired from the Company in or as a result of such
transaction and improvements, extensions and additions to such
properties and renewals, replacements and substitutions of or for
any part or parts thereof.

     SECTION 1204.  RELEASE OF COMPANY UPON CONVEYANCE OR OTHER
TRANSFER.

     In the case of a conveyance or other transfer to any Person or Persons as contemplated in Section 1201, upon the satisfaction of all the conditions specified in Section 1201 the Company (such term being used in this Section without giving effect to such transaction) shall be released and discharged from all obligations and covenants under this Mortgage and on and under all Securities then Outstanding (unless the Company shall have delivered to the Trustee an instrument in which it shall waive such release and discharge) and, upon request by the Company, the Trustee shall acknowledge in writing that the Company has been so released and discharged.

     SECTION 1205.  MERGER INTO COMPANY; EXTENT OF LIEN HEREOF.

          (a) Nothing in this Mortgage shall be deemed to prevent or restrict any consolidation or merger after the consummation of
which the Company would be the surviving or resulting corporation
or any conveyance or other transfer, or lease, of any part of the Company's Electric Utility Property which does not constitute the entirety or substantially the entirety of its Electric Utility Property.

          (b)  Unless, in the case of a consolidation or merger
described in subsection (a) of this Section, an Mortgage supplemental hereto shall otherwise provide, this Mortgage shall not become or be, or be required to become or be, a Lien upon any of the properties
acquired by the Company in or as a result of such transaction or
any improvements, extensions or additions to such properties or
any renewals, replacements or substitutions of or for any part or
parts thereof.

     SECTION 1206.  TRANSFER OF LESS THAN SUBSTANTIALLY ALL.

     This Article is not intended to limit the Company's
conveyances, transfers or leases of less than the entirety or
substantially the entirety of its Electric Utility Property.

                         ARTICLE THIRTEEN

                      SUPPLEMENTAL MORTGAGES

     SECTION 1301.  SUPPLEMENTAL MORTGAGES WITHOUT CONSENT OF HOLDERS.

     Without the consent of any Holders, the Company and the
Trustee, at any time and from time to time, may enter into one or
more Mortgages supplemental hereto, in form satisfactory to the
Trustee, for any of the following purposes:

          (a) to evidence the succession of another Person to the Company and the assumption by any such successor of the covenants of the Company herein and in the Securities all as provided in Article
Twelve; or

          (b) to add one or more covenants of the Company or other provisions for the benefit of the Holders of all or any series of Securities, or any Tranche, thereof or to surrender any right or power herein conferred upon the Company (and if such covenants are to be for the benefit of less than all series of Securities, stating that such covenants are expressly being included solely
for the benefit of such series); or

         (c) to add any additional Events of Default with respect to all or any series of Securities Outstanding hereunder (and if such additional Events of Default are to be for the benefit of less
than all series of Securities, stating that such additional Events
of Default are expressly being included solely for the benefit of
such series); or

         (d)  to change or eliminate any provision of this Mortgage
or to add any new provision to this Mortgage; provided, however, that if such change, elimination or addition shall adversely affect the
interests of the Holders of Securities of any series or Tranche
Outstanding on the date of such supplemental Mortgage in any
material respect, such change, elimination or addition shall
become effective with respect to such series or Tranche only
pursuant to the provisions of Section 1302 hereof or when no
Security of such series or Tranche remains Outstanding; or

          (e)  to provide additional collateral security for the
Securities of any series; or

          (f) to establish the form or terms of Securities of any series or Tranche as contemplated by Sections 201 and 301; or

           (g) to provide for the authentication and delivery of bearer Securities and coupons appertaining thereto representing interest,
if any, thereon and for the procedures for the registration,
exchange and replacement thereof and for the giving of notice to,
and the solicitation of the vote or consent of, the holders
thereof, and for any and all other matters incidental thereto; or

           (h)  to evidence and provide for the acceptance of
appointment hereunder by a separate or successor Trustee with respect to the Securities of one or more series and to add to or change any of the provisions of this Mortgage as shall be necessary to provide
for or facilitate the administration of the trusts hereunder by
more than one Trustee, pursuant to the requirements of Section
1011(b); or

           (i) to provide for the procedures required to permit the Company to utilize, at its option, a non-certificated system of
registration for all, or any series or Tranche of, the Securities;
or

           (j) to change any place or places where (1) the principal of and premium, if any, and interest, if any, on all or any series of Securities, or any Tranche thereof, shall be payable, (2) all or
any series of Securities, or any Tranche thereof, may be
surrendered for registration of transfer, (3) all or any series of Securities, or any Tranche thereof, may be surrendered for
exchange and (4) notices and demands to or upon the Company in respect of all or any series of Securities, or any Tranche
thereof, and this Mortgage may be served;

           (k)  to amend and restate this Mortgage, as originally
executed and delivered and as it may have been subsequently amended, in its entirety, but with such additions, deletions and other changes as shall not adversely affect the interests of the Holders of the
Securities in any material respect; or

          (l) to cure any ambiguity, to correct or supplement any provision herein which may be defective or inconsistent with any other provision herein, or to make any other changes to the provisions hereof or to add other provisions with respect to matters or
questions arising under this Mortgage, provided that such other changes or additions shall not materially adversely affect the interests of the Holders of Securities of any series or Tranche in
any material respect.

     Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, if the
Trust Indenture Act as in effect at the First Effective Date or at any time thereafter shall be amended and

          (x) if any such amendment shall require one or more changes to any provisions hereof or the inclusion herein of any additional provisions, or shall by operation of law be deemed to effect such changes or incorporate such provisions by reference or otherwise, this Mortgage shall be deemed to have been amended so as to conform to such amendment to the Trust Indenture Act, and the Company and the Trustee may, without the consent of any Holders, enter into an Mortgage supplemental hereto to evidence such amendment hereof; or

          (y) if any such amendment shall permit one or more changes to, or the elimination of, any provisions hereof which, at the First Effective Date or at any time thereafter, are required by the Trust Indenture Act to be contained herein or are contained herein to reflect any provision of the Trust Indenture Act as in effect at such date, this Mortgage shall be deemed to have been amended to effect such changes or elimination, and the Company and the Trustee may, without the consent of any Holders, enter into an Mortgage supplemental hereto to this Mortgage to effect such changes or elimination or evidence such amendment.

     SECTION 1302.  SUPPLEMENTAL MORTGAGES WITH CONSENT OF HOLDERS.

     Subject to the provisions of Section 1301, with the consent of the Holders of not less than 66-2/3% in aggregate principal amount of the Securities of all series then Outstanding under this Mortgage, considered as one class, by Act of said Holders delivered to the Company and the Trustee, the Company, when authorized by a Board Resolution, and the Trustee may enter into a Mortgage or Mortgages supplemental hereto for the purpose of adding any provisions to, or changing in any manner or eliminating any of the provisions of, this Mortgage or modifying in any manner the rights of the Holders of Securities of any series under this Mortgage; provided, however, that on and after the Second Effective Date, any such Mortgage or Mortgages supplemental hereto shall only require the consent of the Holders of not less than a majority (rather than the Holders of not less than 66-2/3%) in aggregate principal amount of the holders the Securities of all series then Outstanding under this Mortgage; and provided, further, that if there shall be Securities of more than one series Outstanding hereunder and if a proposed Mortgage supplemental hereto shall directly affect the rights of the Holders of Securities of one or more, but less than all, of such series, then the consent only of the Holders of not less than 66-2/3% (or, on and after the Second Effective Date, not less than a majority) in aggregate principal amount of the Outstanding Securities of all series so directly affected, considered as one class, shall be required; and provided, further, that if the Securities of any series shall have been issued in more than one Tranche and if the proposed supplemental Mortgage shall directly affect the rights of the Holders of Securities of one or more, but less than all, of such Tranches, then the consent only of the Holders of not less than 66-2/3% (or, on and after the Second Effective Date, not less than a majority) in aggregate principal amount of the Outstanding Securities of all Tranches so directly affected, considered as one class, shall be required; and provided, further, that no such supplemental Mortgage shall, without the consent of the Holder of each Outstanding Security of each series or Tranche so directly affected,

          (a) change the Stated Maturity of the principal of, or any installment of principal of or interest on, any Security (other
than pursuant to the terms thereof), or reduce the principal
amount thereof or the rate of interest thereon (or the amount of
any installment of interest thereon) or change the method of calculating such rate or reduce any premium payable upon the redemption thereof, or reduce the amount of the principal of a Discount Security that would be due and payable upon a declaration
of acceleration of the Maturity thereof pursuant to Section 902,
or change the coin or currency (or other property), in which any Security or any premium or the interest thereon is payable, or
impair the right to institute suit for the enforcement of any such payment on or after the Stated Maturity thereof (or, in the case
of redemption, on or after the Redemption Date);

          (b) except as contemplated by Section 1601(b), deprive such Holder of the benefit of the security of the Lien of this
Mortgage; provided that, on and after the Second Effective Date,
such consent of the Holders of each Outstanding Security of each series or Tranche so directly affected shall not be required with respect to any Mortgage supplemental hereto that releases one or
more properties from the lien of the Mortgage if the lesser of the aggregate Cost or aggregate Fair Value of all properties to be released and theretofore released without the consent of the
Holders pursuant to this Section 1302(b) is not greater than 10%
of the lesser of the aggregate Cost or aggregate Fair Value of the Mortgaged Property as of the end of the calendar year in which the Second Effective Date occurs. Prior to executing any such supplemental indenture, there shall be delivered to the Trustee
(x) an Officers' Certificate stating that, to the knowledge of the signers, no Event of Default has occurred and is continuing and
(y) an Experts' Certificate stating, in the judgment of the
signers, the aggregate Fair Value of the property to be released
and theretofore released without the consent of the Holders
pursuant to this Section 1302(b) since the Second Effective Date
is not greater than 10% of the aggregate Fair Value of the
Mortgaged Property as of the end of the calendar year in which the Second Effective Date occurs;

          (c)  reduce the percentage in principal amount of the
Outstanding Securities of any series or any Tranche thereof, the consent of the Holders of which is required for any such supplemental
Mortgage, or the consent of the Holders of which is required for
any waiver of compliance with any provision of this Mortgage or of
any default hereunder and its consequences, or reduce the
requirements of Section 1404 for quorum or voting;

          (d) modify any of the provisions of this Section, Section 706 or Section 913 with respect to the Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, except to increase the percentages in principal
amount referred to in this Section or such other Sections or to
provide that other provisions of this Mortgage cannot be modified
or waived without the consent of the Holder of each Outstanding Security affected thereby; provided, however, that this clause
shall not be deemed to require the consent of any Holder with
respect to changes in the references to "the Trustee" and
concomitant changes in this Section, or the deletion of this
proviso, in accordance with the requirements of Sections 1011(b),
1014 and 1301(h); or

          (e)  modify the provisions of Section 1612 to permit
the Company to create Prior Liens or suffer Prior Liens to be created on the Mortgaged Property prior to the time that it is permitted to do so thereunder.

A supplemental Mortgage which (x) changes or eliminates any covenant or other provision of this Mortgage which has expressly been included solely for the benefit of the Holders of, or which is to remain in effect only so long as there shall be Outstanding, Securities of one or more particular series, or one or more Tranches thereof, or (y) modifies the rights of the Holders of Securities of such series or Tranches with respect to such covenant or other provision, shall be deemed not to affect the rights under this Mortgage of the Holders of Securities of any other series or Tranche.

     It shall not be necessary for any Act of Holders under this
Section to approve the particular form of any proposed
supplemental Mortgage, but it shall be sufficient if such Act
shall approve the substance thereof.

     Anything in this Mortgage to the contrary notwithstanding, if the Officers' Certificate, supplemental Mortgage or Board Resolution, as the case may be, establishing the Securities of any series or Tranche shall provide that the Company may make certain specified additions, changes or eliminations to or from the Mortgage which shall be specified in such Officers' Certificate, supplemental Mortgage or Board Resolution establishing such series or Tranche, (a) the Holders of Securities of such series or Tranche shall be deemed to have consented to a supplemental Mortgage containing such additions, changes or eliminations to or from the Mortgage which shall be specified in such Officers' Certificate, supplemental Mortgage or Board Resolution establishing such series or Tranche, (b) no Act of such Holders shall be required to evidence such consent and (c) such consent may be counted in the determination of whether or not the Holders of the requisite principal amount of Securities shall have consented to such supplemental Mortgage.

     SECTION 1303.  EXECUTION OF SUPPLEMENTAL MORTGAGES.

     In executing, or accepting the additional trusts created by, any supplemental Mortgage permitted by this Article or the modifications thereby of the trusts created by this Mortgage, the Trustee shall be entitled to receive, and (subject to Section
1001) shall be fully protected in relying upon, an Opinion of Counsel and an Officers' Certificate stating that the execution of such supplemental Mortgage is authorized or permitted by this Mortgage and containing the statements required by Section 103. The Trustee may, but shall not be obligated to, enter into any such supplemental Mortgage which adversely affects the Trustee's own rights, duties, immunities or liabilities under this Mortgage or otherwise.

     SECTION 1304.  EFFECT OF SUPPLEMENTAL MORTGAGES.

     Upon the execution of any supplemental Mortgage under this Article this Mortgage shall be modified in accordance therewith, and such supplemental Mortgage shall form a part of this Mortgage for all purposes; and every Holder of Securities theretofore or thereafter authenticated and delivered hereunder shall be bound thereby. Any supplemental Mortgage permitted by this Article may restate this Mortgage in its entirety, and, upon the execution and delivery thereof, any such restatement shall supersede this Mortgage as theretofore in effect for all purposes.

     SECTION 1305.  CONFORMITY WITH TRUST INDENTURE ACT.

     Every supplemental Mortgage executed pursuant to this Article shall conform to the requirements of the Trust Indenture Act as
then in effect.

     SECTION 1306.  REFERENCE IN SECURITIES TO SUPPLEMENTAL MORTGAGES.

     Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, authenticated and delivered after the execution of any supplemental Mortgage pursuant to this Article may, and shall if required by the Trustee, bear a notation in form approved by the Trustee as to any matter provided for in such supplemental Mortgage. If the Company shall so determine, new Securities of any series, or any Tranche thereof, so modified as to conform, in the opinion of the Trustee and the Company, to any such supplemental Mortgage may be prepared and executed by the Company, and authenticated and delivered by the Trustee in exchange for Outstanding Securities of such series or Tranche.

     SECTION 1307.  MODIFICATION WITHOUT SUPPLEMENTAL MORTGAGE.

     To the extent, if any, that the terms of any particular series of Securities shall have been established in or pursuant to a Board Resolution or an Officers' Certificate pursuant to a supplemental Mortgage or Board Resolution as contemplated by
Section 301, and not in an Mortgage supplemental hereto, additions to, changes in or the elimination of any of such terms may be effected by means of a supplemental Board Resolution or Officers' Certificate pursuant to a Board Resolution or a supplemental Mortgage and complying with the requirements of Section 104, as the case may be, delivered to, and accepted by, the Trustee in writing; provided, however, that such supplemental Board Resolution or Officers' Certificate shall not be accepted by the Trustee or otherwise be effective unless all conditions set forth in this Mortgage which would be required to be satisfied if such additions, changes or elimination were contained in a supplemental Mortgage shall have been appropriately satisfied. Upon the written acceptance thereof by the Trustee, any such supplemental Board Resolution or Officers' Certificate shall be deemed to be effective and constitute part of the Mortgage and a supplemental Mortgage hereunder, including for purposes of Section 1614. Such acceptance shall be conveyed by a written instrument signed by a Responsible Officer of the Trustee.

                         ARTICLE FOURTEEN

            MEETINGS OF HOLDERS; ACTION WITHOUT MEETING

     SECTION 1401.  PURPOSES FOR WHICH MEETINGS MAY BE CALLED.

     A meeting of Holders of Securities of one or more, or all, series, or any Tranche or Tranches thereof, may be called at any time and from time to time pursuant to this Article to make, give or take any request, demand, authorization, direction, notice, consent, waiver or other action provided by this Mortgage to be made, given or taken by Holders of Securities of such series or Tranches.

     SECTION 1402.  CALL, NOTICE AND PLACE OF MEETINGS.

          (a) The Trustee may at any time call a meeting of Holders of Securities of one or more, or all, series, or any Tranche or
Tranches thereof, for any purpose specified in Section 1401, to be
held at such time and at such place as the Trustee shall determine
with the approval of the Company.  Notice of every such meeting,
setting forth the time and the place of such meeting and in
general terms the action proposed to be taken at such meeting,
shall be given, in the manner provided in Section 107, not less
than 21 nor more than 180 days prior to the date fixed for the
meeting.

          (b) If the Trustee shall have been requested to call a meeting of the Holders of Securities of one or more, or all, series,
or any Tranche or Tranches thereof, by the Company or by the Holders of 33% in aggregate principal amount of all of such series and
Tranches, considered as one class, for any purpose specified in
Section 1302, by written request setting forth in reasonable
detail the action proposed to be taken at the meeting, and the
Trustee shall not have given the notice of such meeting within 21
days after receipt of such request or shall not thereafter proceed
to cause the meeting to be held as provided herein, then the
Company or the Holders of Securities of such series and Tranches
in the amount above specified, as the case may be, may determine
the time and the place in the city in which the Corporate Trust
Office is located, or in such other place as shall be determined
or approved by the Company, for such meeting and may call such
meeting for such purposes by giving notice thereof as provided in subsection (a) of this Section.

          (c) Any meeting of Holders of Securities of one or more, or all, series, or any Tranche or Tranches thereof, shall be valid without notice if the Holders of all Outstanding Securities of such series or Tranches are present in person or by proxy and if representatives of the Company and the Trustee are present, or if notice is waived in writing before or after the meeting by the Holders of all Outstanding Securities of such series, or any Tranche or Tranches thereof or by such of them as are not present at the meeting in person or by proxy, and by the Company and the Trustee.

     SECTION 1403.  PERSONS ENTITLED TO VOTE AT MEETINGS.

     To be entitled to vote at any meeting of Holders of Securities of one or more, or all, series, or any Tranche or Tranches thereof, a Person shall be (a) a Holder of one or more Outstanding Securities of such series or Tranches, or (b) a Person appointed by an instrument in writing as proxy for a Holder or Holders of one or more Outstanding Securities of such series or Tranches by such Holder or Holders. The only Persons who shall be entitled to attend any meeting of Holders of Securities of any series or Tranche shall be the Persons entitled to vote at such meeting and their counsel, any representatives of the Trustee and its counsel and any representatives of the Company and its counsel.

     SECTION 1404.  QUORUM; ACTION.

     The Persons entitled to vote a majority in aggregate principal amount of the Outstanding Securities of the series and Tranches with respect to which a meeting shall have been called as hereinbefore provided, considered as one class, shall constitute a quorum for a meeting of Holders of Securities of such series and Tranches; provided, however, that if any action is to be taken at such meeting which this Mortgage expressly provides may be taken by the Holders of a specified percentage, which is less than a majority, in principal amount of the Outstanding Securities of such series and Tranches, considered as one class, the Persons entitled to vote such specified percentage in principal amount of the Outstanding Securities of such series and Tranches, considered as one class, shall constitute a quorum. In the absence of a quorum within one hour of the time appointed for any such meeting, the meeting shall, if convened at the request of Holders of Securities of such series and Tranches, be dissolved. In any other case the meeting may be adjourned for such period as may be determined by the chairman of the meeting prior to the adjournment of such meeting. In the absence of a quorum at any such adjourned meeting, such adjourned meeting may be further adjourned for such period as may be determined by the chairman of the meeting prior to the adjournment of such adjourned meeting. Except as provided by Section 1405(e), notice of the reconvening of any meeting adjourned for more than 30 days shall be given as provided in
Section 1402(a) not less than ten days prior to the date on which the meeting is scheduled to be reconvened. Notice of the reconvening of an adjourned meeting shall state expressly the percentage, as provided above, of the principal amount of the Outstanding Securities of such series and Tranches which shall constitute a quorum.

     Except as limited by Section 1302, any resolution presented to a meeting or adjourned meeting duly reconvened at which a quorum is present as aforesaid may be adopted only by the affirmative vote of the Holders of a majority in aggregate principal amount of the Outstanding Securities of the series and Tranches with respect to which such meeting shall have been called, considered as one class; provided, however, that, except as so limited, any resolution with respect to any action which this Mortgage expressly provides may be taken by the Holders of a specified percentage, which is less than a majority, in principal amount of the Outstanding Securities of such series and Tranches, considered as one class, may be adopted at a meeting or an adjourned meeting duly reconvened and at which a quorum is present as aforesaid by the affirmative vote of the Holders of such specified percentage in principal amount of the Outstanding Securities of such series and Tranches, considered as one class.

     Any resolution passed or decision taken at any meeting of Holders of Securities duly held in accordance with this Section shall be binding on all the Holders of Securities of the series and Tranches with respect to which such meeting shall have been held, whether or not present or represented at the meeting.

     SECTION 1405. ATTENDANCE AT MEETINGS; DETERMINATION OF VOTING RIGHTS; CONDUCT AND ADJOURNMENT OF MEETINGS.

          (a) Attendance at meetings of Holders of Securities may be in person or by proxy; and, to the extent permitted by law, any such
proxy shall remain in effect and be binding upon any future Holder
of the Securities with respect to which it was given unless and
until specifically revoked by the Holder or future Holder of such
Securities before being voted.

          (b) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this Mortgage, the Trustee may make such reasonable regulations as it may deem advisable for any meeting of Holders of Securities in regard to
proof of the holding of such Securities and of the appointment of proxies and in regard to the appointment and duties of inspectors
of votes, the submission and examination of proxies, certificates
and other evidence of the right to vote, and such other matters concerning the conduct of the meeting as it shall deem
appropriate.  Except as otherwise permitted or required by any
such regulations, the holding of Securities shall be proved in the manner specified in Section 105 and the appointment of any proxy shall be proved in the manner specified in Section 105. Such regulations may provide that written instruments appointing
proxies, regular on their face, may be presumed valid and genuine without the proof specified in Section 105 or other proof.

          (c) The Trustee shall, by an instrument in writing, appoint a temporary chairman of the meeting, unless the meeting shall have
been called by the Company or by Holders as provided in Section
1402(b), in which case the Company or the Holders of Securities of
the series and Tranches calling the meeting, as the case may be,
shall in like manner appoint a temporary chairman.  A permanent
chairman and a permanent secretary of the meeting shall be elected
by vote of the Persons entitled to vote a majority in aggregate
principal amount of the Outstanding Securities of all series and
Tranches represented in person or by proxy at the meeting,
considered as one class.

          (d) At any meeting each Holder or proxy shall be entitled to one vote for each $1,000 principal amount of Securities held or represented by him; provided, however, that no vote shall be cast
or counted at any meeting in respect of any Security challenged as not Outstanding and ruled by the chairman of the meeting to be not Outstanding. The chairman of the meeting shall have no right to vote, except as a Holder of a Security or proxy.

          (e) Any meeting duly called pursuant to Section 1402 at which a quorum is present may be adjourned from time to time by Persons entitled to vote a majority in aggregate principal amount of the
Outstanding Securities of all series and Tranches represented at
the meeting, considered as one class; and the meeting may be held
as so adjourned without further notice.

     SECTION 1406.  COUNTING VOTES AND RECORDING ACTION OF MEETINGS.

     The vote upon any resolution submitted to any meeting of Holders shall be by written ballots on which shall be subscribed the signatures of the Holders or of their representatives by proxy and the principal amounts and serial numbers of the Outstanding Securities, of the series and Tranches with respect to which the meeting shall have been called, held or represented by them. The permanent chairman of the meeting shall appoint two inspectors of votes who shall count all votes cast at the meeting for or against any resolution and who shall make and file with the secretary of the meeting their verified written reports of all votes cast at the meeting. A record, in duplicate, of the proceedings of each meeting of Holders shall be prepared by the secretary of the meeting and there shall be attached to said record the original reports of the inspectors of votes on any vote by ballot taken thereat and affidavits by one or more persons having knowledge of the facts setting forth a copy of the notice of the meeting and showing that said notice was given as provided in Section 1402 and, if applicable, Section 1404. Each copy shall be signed and verified by the affidavits of the permanent chairman and secretary of the meeting and one such copy shall be delivered to the Company, and another to the Trustee to be preserved by the Trustee, the latter to have attached thereto the ballots voted at the meeting. Any record so signed and verified shall be conclusive evidence of the matters therein stated.

     SECTION 1407.  ACTION WITHOUT MEETING.

     In lieu of a vote of Holders at a meeting as hereinbefore contemplated in this Article, any request, demand, authorization, direction, notice, consent, waiver or other action may be made, given or taken by Holders by one or more written instruments as provided in Section 105.

                          ARTICLE FIFTEEN

  IMMUNITY OF INCORPORATORS, SHAREHOLDERS, OFFICERS AND DIRECTORS

     SECTION 1501.  LIABILITY SOLELY CORPORATE.

     No recourse shall be had for the payment of the principal of or premium, if any, or interest, if any, on any Securities or any part thereof, or for any claim based thereon or otherwise in respect thereof, or of the indebtedness represented thereby, or upon any obligation, covenant or agreement under this Mortgage, against any incorporator, shareholder, member, limited partner, officer, manager or director, as such, past, present or future of the Company or of any predecessor or successor of the Company (either directly or through the Company or a predecessor or successor of the Company), whether by virtue of any constitutional provision, statute or rule of law, or by the enforcement of any assessment or penalty or otherwise; it being expressly agreed and understood that this Mortgage and all the Securities are solely corporate obligations, and that no personal liability whatsoever shall attach to, or be incurred by, any incorporator, shareholder, member, limited partner, officer, manager or director, past, present or future, of the Company or of any predecessor or successor of the Company, either directly or indirectly through the Company or any predecessor or successor of the Company, because of the indebtedness hereby authorized or under or by reason of any of the obligations, covenants or agreements contained in this Mortgage or in any of the Securities or to be implied herefrom or therefrom, and that any such personal liability is hereby expressly waived and released as a condition of, and as part of the consideration for, the execution of this Mortgage and the issuance of the Securities.

                          ARTICLE SIXTEEN

         POSSESSION, USE AND RELEASE OF MORTGAGED PROPERTY

     SECTION 1601.  QUIET ENJOYMENT; EXCEPTED PROPERTY AFTER SECOND
EFFECTIVE DATE.

     (a) Unless one or more Events of Default shall have occurred and be continuing, the Company shall be permitted to (i) possess, use and enjoy the Mortgaged Property (except, to the extent not herein otherwise provided, such cash and securities as are expressly required to be deposited with the Trustee); (ii) receive and use all tolls, rents, revenues, earnings, interest, dividends, royalties, issues, income and profits thereof; (iii) purchase, transmit, distribute, store, sell and otherwise deal with and use electricity, gas, water, electric and gas appliances and other products; (iv) use and consume stock in trade, materials and supplies; (v) deal with choices in action (other than pledged securities), leases and contracts and exercise, release or amend the rights and powers conferred upon it thereby; and (vi) alter, repair, maintain, replace, reconstruct, relocate, remove and operate any of its buildings, plants, stations, structures, transmission lines, distribution lines, pipe lines, conduits, mains, machinery, equipment, tools, dams, reservoirs and other real property and tangible personal property, except that none of such real property or tangible personal property may be relocated or removed so as to impair the lien of the Mortgage thereon unless such property is sold, abandoned or otherwise disposed of as permitted by this Section or by Section 1602 or released by the Trustee.

     (b) On and after the Second Effective Date, then, unless an Event of Default shall have happened and be continuing, upon application by the Company and receipt of an Officers' Certificate dated the date of said application, stating that, to the knowledge of the signers, no Event of Default has occurred and is continuing, the Trustee shall execute and deliver to the Company appropriate instruments releasing, to the extent not heretofore released and to the extent hereinbelow provided, the interest, if any, of the Trustee in all right, title and interest of the Company then owned or thereafter acquired in and to the property described in clause (B) of the definition of the term "Excepted Property" set forth in Section 101, whereupon the definition of the term "Excepted Property" set forth in such clause (B) shall automatically become and be in full force and effect and the definition of the term "Excepted Property" set forth in clause (A) of such definition shall automatically cease to be of any further force or effect.

     SECTION 1602.  DISPOSITIONS WITHOUT RELEASE.

     Unless an Event of Default shall have occurred and be
continuing, the Company may at any time and from time to time,
without any release or consent by, or report to, the Trustee:

          (a) Sell or otherwise dispose of, free from the Lien of this Mortgage, any machinery, equipment, apparatus, towers,
transformers, poles, lines, cables, conduits, ducts, conductors, meters, regulators, holders, tanks, retorts, purifiers, odorizers, scrubbers, compressors, valves, pumps, mains, pipes, service
pipes, fittings, connections, services, tools, implements, or any
other fixtures or personality, then subject to the Lien hereof,
which shall have become old, inadequate, obsolete, worn out,
unfit, unadapted, unserviceable, undesirable or unnecessary for
use in the operations of the Company upon replacing the same by,
or substituting for the same, similar or analogous property, or
other property performing a similar or analogous function or
otherwise obviating the need therefor, having a Fair Value to the Company at least equal to that of the property sold or otherwise disposed of and subject to the Lien hereof, subject to no Liens
prior hereto except Permitted Liens and any other Liens to which
the property sold or otherwise disposed of was subject;

          (b)  Cancel or make changes or alterations in or
substitutions for any and all easements, servitudes, rights-of-way and similar rights and/or interests;

          (c) Grant, free from the Lien of this Mortgage, easements, ground leases or rights-of-way in, upon, over and/or across the property or rights-of-way of the Company for the purpose of roads, pipe
lines, transmission lines, distribution lines, communication
lines, railways, removal or transportation of coal, lignite, gas,
oil or other minerals or timber, and other like purposes, or for
the joint or common use of real property, rights-of-way,
facilities and/or equipment; provided, however, that such grant
shall not materially impair the use of the property or rights-of-
way for the purposes for which such property or rights-of-way are
held by the Company;

          (d)  Abandon any property, if in the opinion of the
Company (i) the abandonment of such property is desirable in the proper conduct of the business and in the operation of the properties of
the Company or is otherwise in the best interests of the Company,
and (ii) the value and utility generally of all its properties as
an entirety and the security for the bonds will not thereby be
impaired;

          (e) Sell, surrender, release, abandon or otherwise dispose of, either with or without consideration (provided any consideration received by the Company shall, subject to the provisions of
Section 1603, be paid over to the Trustee to be held by it as part
of the Mortgaged Property), any easements, rights-of-way, leases, licenses, authority or permits over private property for towers, poles, wires, cables, conduits, pipe lines or mains, or for transmission line or distribution line purposes, if such towers, poles, wires, cables, conduits, pipe lines or mains, or such transmission or distribution lines, have theretofore been sold by
the Company or removed by the Company to other property or taken
by any municipality or other governmental subdivision by the
exercise of a power of eminent domain or similar right or power,
and if in the opinion of the Company the value and utility
generally of all its properties as an entirety and the security
for the bonds will not thereby be impaired; and

          (f)  Grant, free from the lien of this Mortgage, either
with or without consideration (provided any consideration received
by the Company shall, subject to the provisions of Section 1603, be paid over to the Trustee to be held by it as part of the Mortgaged
Property), easements, rights-of-way, leases, licenses, authority
or permits, for fixed periods of time or in perpetuity, over or
with respect to any of the real property constituting part of the
Mortgaged Property, if in the opinion of the Company (i) the
granting of such easements, rights-of-way, leases, licenses,
authority or permits does not substantially impair the continued
use and enjoyment by the Company of the real property over or in
respect of which such easements, rights-of-way, leases, licenses,
authority or permits are granted for the purpose for which such
property is used by the Company, and (ii) the value and utility
generally of all its properties as an entirety and the security
for the bonds will not thereby be impaired.

     SECTION 1603.  RELEASE OF MORTGAGED PROPERTY.

     Unless an Event of Default shall have occurred and be continuing, the Company may obtain the release of any part of the Mortgaged Property, or any interest therein, other than cash held by the Trustee, and the Trustee shall release all its right, title and interest in and to the same from the Lien hereof, upon receipt by the Trustee of:

          (a) A Company Order requesting the release of such property and transmitting therewith a form of instrument or instruments to
effect such release;

          (b) An Officers' Certificate stating that, to the knowledge of the signers, no Event of Default has occurred and is continuing;

          (c) An Experts' Certificate made and dated not more than 90 days prior to the first day of the month in which such Company Order is delivered to the Trustee:

               (i)  Describing the property to be released;

               (ii) Stating the Fair Value, in the judgment of the signers, of the property to be released;

               (iii) Stating the Cost of the property to be released (or, if the Fair Value to the Company of such property at the time such property was first included in an Experts' Certificate was less
than the Cost thereof, then such Fair Value, in lieu of Cost);

               (iv) Stating that, in the judgment of the signers, such release will not impair the security under this Mortgage in
contravention of the provisions hereof;

               (v) Stating the aggregate principal amount of Securities and the aggregate principal amount of Secured Debt Outstanding on
the date of such Experts' Certificate; and

               (vi) Stating that, after giving effect to the
transactions contemplated thereby, including payment, from the proceeds thereof, of any taxes and expenses incidental to any sale,
exchange, dedication or other disposition of the property to be
released, the Company would be permitted by the provisions of
Section 401(a) to have authenticated and delivered at least $1.00
of additional Securities;

          (d) The amount in cash, if any, then required to be deposited with the Trustee in order to permit the Company to meet the
requirement of clause (c)(vi) above; and

          (e)  An Opinion of Counsel to the effect that:

               (i) this Mortgage constitutes, or, upon the delivery of, and/or the filing and/or recording in the proper places and manner of, the instruments of conveyance, assignment or transfer, if any,
specified in said opinion, will constitute, a direct first
mortgage lien, subject only to Permitted Liens, environmental
"super lien" laws and specified Prior Liens, upon the interest of
the Company in the Property Additions; provided, however, that on
and after the Second Effective Date, said opinion may also contain
an exception for all Prior Liens; and

               (ii) the Company has corporate authority to operate such Property Additions.

     If (a) any property to be released from the Lien of this Mortgage under any provision of this Article (other than Section
1607) is subject to a Lien prior to the Lien hereof and is to be sold, exchanged, dedicated or otherwise disposed of subject to such Prior Lien and (b) after such release, such Prior Lien will not be a Lien on any property subject to the Lien hereof, then the Fair Value of such property to be released shall be deemed, for all purposes of this Mortgage, to be the value thereof unencumbered by such Prior Lien less the principal amount of the indebtedness secured by such Prior Lien.

     Any cash deposited with the Trustee pursuant to the provisions of this Section 1603 shall be held as part of the Mortgaged Property and shall be withdrawn, released, used or applied in the manner, to the extent and for the purposes, and subject to the conditions, provided in Section 1606.

     The right of the Company, under the provisions of Section 1302(b) permitting the release of certain property without the consent of the Holders, shall be separate and apart from, and in addition to, the rights of the Company under this Section and
Section 1605.

     SECTION 1604.  PRESERVATION OF LIEN.

     The Company shall maintain and preserve the Lien of this
Mortgage so long as any Securities shall remain Outstanding,
subject, however, to the provisions of Article Thirteen and
Article Sixteen.

     SECTION 1605.  RELEASE OF MINOR PROPERTIES; EFFECTIVE TIME.

     (a) Subsection (b) of this Section 1605 shall be of no force or effect until the Second Effective Date, but shall automatically become and be in full force and effect on and after the Second
Effective Date;

     (b) Notwithstanding the provisions of Section 1603, unless an Event of Default shall have occurred and be continuing, the Company may obtain the release from the Lien hereof of any part of the Mortgaged Property, or any interest therein, and the Trustee shall whenever from time to time requested by the Company in a Company Order transmitting therewith a form of instrument or instruments to effect such release, and without requiring compliance with any of the provisions of Section 1603, release from the Lien hereof all the right, title and interest of the Trustee in and to the same provided that the lesser of the aggregate Cost or the aggregate Fair Value of the property to be so released on any date in a given calendar year, together with all other property theretofore released pursuant to this Section 1605 in such calendar year, shall not exceed the greater of (A) $10,000,000 and (B) 3% of the sum of the aggregate principal amount of all (i) Securities and (ii) Secured Debt then Outstanding. Prior to the granting of any such release, there shall be delivered to the Trustee (x) an Officers' Certificate stating that, to the knowledge of the signers, no Event of Default has occurred and is continuing and (y) an Experts' Certificate stating, in the judgment of the signers, the Fair Value of the property to be released, the aggregate Fair Value of all other property theretofore released pursuant to this Section in such calendar year, and that, in the judgment of the signers, the release thereof will not impair the security under this Mortgage in contravention of the provisions hereof.

     SECTION 1606.  WITHDRAWAL OR OTHER APPLICATION OF CASH.

     Except as hereafter in this Section provided, unless an Event of Default shall have occurred and be continuing, any Available
Cash held by the Trustee, and any other cash which is required to
be withdrawn, used or applied as provided in this Section,

          (a) May be withdrawn from time to time by the Company upon receipt by the Trustee of: (i) a Company Order requesting the withdrawal, use or application of such cash and transmitting appropriate instructions, (ii) an Officers' Certificate stating
that, to the knowledge of the signer, no Event of Default has occurred or is continuing; (iii) an Experts' Certificate made and dated not more than 90 days prior to the first day of the month in which such Company Order is delivered to the Trustee stating the aggregate principal amount of Securities and the aggregate
principal amount of Secured Debt, in each case Outstanding on the date of such Experts' Certificate, and stating that, after giving effect to the transactions contemplated thereby, (A) the Company would be permitted by the provisions of Section 401(a) to have authenticated and delivered at least $1.00 of additional
Securities or, (B) if Company cannot meet this requirement,
stating the lesser amount of such cash which could be so
withdrawn, used or applied by the Company and still enable the Company to meet the requirements of subsection (A) of this clause
(a) of Section 1606, which lesser amount may be so withdrawn; and
(iv) an Opinion of Counsel to the effect that: (1) this Mortgage constitutes, or, upon the delivery of, and/or the filing and/or recording in the proper places and manner of, the instruments of conveyance, assignment or transfer, if any, specified in said opinion, will constitute, a direct first mortgage lien, subject
only to Permitted Liens, environmental "super lien" laws and specified Prior Liens, upon the interest of the Company in the Property Additions; provided, however, that on and after the
Second Effective Date, said opinion may also contain an exception
for all Prior Liens; and (2) the Company has corporate authority
to operate such Property Additions.

          (b) May, upon the request of the Company, be used by the Trustee for the purchase of Securities in the manner, at the time or times, in the amount or amounts, at the price or prices and
otherwise as directed or approved by the Company, all subject to
the limitations hereafter in this Section set forth; or

          (c) May, upon the request of the Company, be applied by the Trustee to the payment (or provision therefor pursuant to Article Eight) at Stated Maturity of any Securities or to the redemption
(or similar provision therefor) of any Securities which are, by
their terms, redeemable, in each case of such series as may be designated by the Company, any such redemption to be in the manner
and as provided in Article Five, all subject to the limitations hereafter in this Section set forth.

     Notwithstanding the generality of clauses (b) and (c) above, no cash to be applied pursuant to such clauses shall be applied to the payment of an amount in excess of the principal amount of any Securities to be purchased, paid or redeemed except to the extent that the aggregate principal amount of all Securities theretofore, and of all Securities then to be, purchased, paid or redeemed pursuant to such clauses is not less than the aggregate cost for principal of, premium, if any, and accrued interest, if any, on and brokerage commissions, if any, with respect to, such Securities.

     SECTION 1607.  RELEASE OF PROPERTY TAKEN BY EMINENT DOMAIN, ETC.

     Should any of the Mortgaged Property, or any interest therein, be taken by exercise of the power of eminent domain or be sold to an entity possessing the power of eminent domain under a threat to exercise the same, and should the Company elect not to obtain the release of such property pursuant to other provisions of this Article, the Trustee shall, upon request of the Company evidenced by a Company Order transmitting therewith a form of instrument or instruments to effect such release, release from the Lien hereof all its right, title and interest in and to the property so taken or sold (or with respect to an interest in property, subordinate the Lien hereof to such interest), upon receiving (a) an Opinion of Counsel to the effect that such property has been taken by exercise of the power of eminent domain or has been sold to an entity possessing the power of eminent domain under threat of an exercise of such power, (b) an Officers' Certificate stating the amount of net proceeds received or to be received for such property so taken or sold, and the amount so stated shall be deemed to be the Fair Value of such property for the purpose of any notice to the Holders of Securities, (c) an Experts' Certificate stating the Cost thereof (or, if the Fair Value to the Company of such portion of such property at the time the same was first included in an Experts' Certificate was less than the Cost thereof, then such Fair Value, as so certified, in lieu of Cost) and (d) a deposit by the Company of an amount in cash equal to the Cost or Fair Value stated in the Experts' Certificate delivered pursuant to clause (c) above; provided, however, that the amount required to be so deposited shall not exceed the portion of the net proceeds received or to be received for such property so taken or sold which is allocable on a pro-rata or other reasonable basis to such property; and provided, further, that no such deposit shall be required to be made hereunder if the proceeds of such taking or sale shall, as indicated in an Officers' Certificate delivered to the Trustee, have been deposited with the trustee or other holder of a Prior Lien. Any cash deposited with the Trustee under this Section may, contemporaneously or thereafter, be withdrawn, used or applied in the manner, to the extent and for the purposes, and subject to the conditions, provided in Section 1606.

     SECTION 1608.  SECURED DEBT.

          (a) The Company will cause all Secured Debt to be paid in accordance with its terms at or before the maturity thereof, and will duly and punctually perform all the conditions imposed upon
it by any Prior Lien, and will not permit any default under any Prior Lien to occur or continue for the period of grace specified therein.

          (b) Upon the cancellation and discharge of any Prior Lien, or upon the release in any other way of Secured Debt deposited with
the trustee or other holder of any other Prior Lien, the Company
will (subject to the requirements of any mortgage or other lien
securing such Secured Debt) cause any Secured Debt held by the
trustee or other holder of the Prior Lien so cancelled or
discharged or any Secured Debt so released in any other way to be
cancelled, provided that such Secured Debt may be deposited with
the trustee or other holder of some other Prior Lien (upon the
same property as that mortgaged or pledged to secure the Secured
Debt so deposited) if required by the terms thereof.

     The principal of and interest on any such Secured Debt held by the Trustee shall be paid to the Trustee as and when the same become payable. The interest received by the Trustee on any such obligations shall be deemed not to constitute cash and shall be remitted to the Company; provided, however, that if an Event of Default shall have occurred and be continuing, such proceeds shall be held as part of the Mortgaged Property until such Event of Default shall have been cured or waived.

     If any Secured Debt shall be deposited with the Trustee, the Trustee shall have and may exercise all the rights and powers of any owner of such Secured Debt and of all substitutions therefor and, without limiting the generality of the foregoing, may collect and receive all insurance moneys payable to it under any of the provisions thereof and apply the same in accordance with the provisions thereof, may consent to extensions thereof at a higher or lower rate of interest, may join in any plan or plans of voluntary or involuntary reorganization or readjustment or rearrangement and may accept and hold hereunder new obligations, stocks or other securities issued in exchange therefor under any such plan. Any discretionary action which the Trustee may be entitled to take in connection with any such obligations or substitutions therefor shall be taken, so long as no Event of Default shall have occurred and be continuing, in accordance with a Company Order, and, during the continuance of an Event of Default, in its own discretion.

     Anything herein to the contrary notwithstanding, the Company
may irrevocably waive all rights with respect to any Secured Debt
held by the Trustee, and the proceeds of any such obligations, by
delivery to the Trustee of a Company Order:

     (x) Specifying such obligations and stating that the Company thereby waives all rights to the proceeds thereof pursuant to this Section, and any other rights with respect thereto; and

     (y) Directing that the principal of such obligations be applied as provided in clause (c) in the first paragraph of
Section 1606, specifying the Securities to be paid or redeemed or for the payment or redemption of which payment is to be made.

     Following any such waiver, the interest on any such obligations shall be applied to the payment of interest, if any, on the Securities to be paid or redeemed or for the payment or redemption of which provision is to be made, as specified in the aforesaid Company Order, as and when such interest shall become due from time to time, and any excess funds remaining from time to time after such application shall be applied to the payment of interest on any other Securities as and when the same shall become due. Pending any such application, the interest on such obligations shall be invested in Investment Securities as shall be selected by the Company and specified in written instructions delivered to the Trustee. The principal of any such obligations shall be applied solely to the payment of principal of the Securities to be paid or redeemed or for the payment or redemption of which provision is to be made, as specified in the aforesaid Company Order. Pending such application, the principal of such obligations shall be invested in Eligible Obligations as shall be selected by the Company and specified in written instructions delivered to the Trustee. The obligation of the Company to pay the principal of such Securities when the same shall become due at maturity, shall be offset and reduced by the amount of the proceeds of such obligations then held, and to be applied, by the Trustee in accordance with this paragraph.

     SECTION 1609.  DISCLAIMER OR QUITCLAIM.

     In case the Company has sold, exchanged, dedicated or otherwise disposed of, or has agreed or intends to sell, exchange, dedicate or otherwise dispose of, or a Governmental Authority has ordered the Company to divest itself of, any Excepted Property or any other property not subject to the Lien hereof, or the Company desires to disclaim or quitclaim title to property to which the Company does not purport to have title, the Trustee shall, from time to time, disclaim or quitclaim such property upon receipt by the Trustee of the following:

          (a) A Company Order requesting such disclaimer or quitclaim and transmitting therewith a form of instrument to effect such
disclaimer or quitclaim;

          (b) An Officers' Certificate describing the property to be disclaimed or quitclaimed; and

          (c) An Opinion of Counsel stating the signer's opinion that such property is not subject to the Lien hereof or required to be
subject thereto by any of the provisions hereof and complying with
the requirements of Section 103 of this Mortgage.

     SECTION 1610.  MISCELLANEOUS.

          (a) The Experts' Certificate as to the Fair Value of property to be released from the Lien of this Mortgage in accordance with any provision of this Article, and as to the nonimpairment, by reason
of such release, of the security under this Mortgage in
contravention of the provisions hereof, shall be made by an
Independent Expert if the Fair Value of such property and of all
other property released since the commencement of the then current calendar year, as set forth in the certificates required by this Mortgage, is 10% or more of the aggregate principal amount of all Securities then Outstanding; but such Experts' Certificate shall
not be required to be made by an Independent Expert in the case of
any release of property if the Fair Value thereof, as set forth in
the certificates required by this Mortgage, is less than $25,000
or less than 1% of the aggregate principal amount of all
Securities then Outstanding. To the extent that the Fair Value of
any property to be released from the Lien of this Mortgage shall
be stated in an Independent Experts' Certificate, such Fair Value
shall not be required to be stated in any other Experts'
Certificate delivered in connection with such release.

          (b) No release of property from the Lien of this Mortgage effected in accordance with the provisions, and in compliance with the conditions, set forth in this Article and in Sections 103 and 104 shall be deemed to impair the security of this Mortgage in contravention of any provision hereof.

          (c) If the Mortgaged Property shall be in the possession of a receiver or trustee, lawfully appointed, the powers hereinbefore conferred upon the Company with respect to the release of any part
of the Mortgaged Property or any interest therein or the
withdrawal of cash may be exercised, with the approval of the Trustee, by such receiver or trustee, notwithstanding that an
Event of Default may have occurred and be continuing, and any request, certificate, appointment or approval made or signed by
such receiver or trustee for such purposes shall be as effective
as if made by the Company or any of its officers or appointees in
the manner herein provided; and if the Trustee shall be in
possession of the Mortgaged Property under any provision of this Mortgage, then such powers may be exercised by the Trustee in its discretion notwithstanding that an Event of Default may have
occurred and be continuing.

          (d) If the Company shall retain any interest in any property released from the Lien of this Mortgage as provided in Section
1603 or 1605, this Mortgage shall not become or be, or be required
to become or be, a Lien upon such property or such interest
therein or any improvements, extensions or additions to such
property or renewals, replacements or substitutions of or for such property or any part or parts thereof unless the Company shall
execute and deliver to the Trustee an Mortgage supplemental
hereto, in recordable form, containing a grant, conveyance,
transfer and mortgage thereof.  As used in this subsection, the
terms "improvements", "extensions" and "additions" shall be
limited as set forth in Section 1201.

          (e) Notwithstanding the occurrence and continuance of an Event of Default, the Trustee, in its discretion, may release from the Lien hereof any part of the Mortgaged Property or permit the withdrawal of cash, upon compliance with the other conditions specified in
this Article in respect thereof.

          (f) No purchaser or grantee of property purporting to have been released hereunder shall be bound to ascertain the authority of the Trustee to execute the instrument or instruments of release,
or to inquire as to any facts required by the provisions hereof
for the exercise of such authority; nor shall any purchaser or grantee of any property or rights permitted by this Article to be sold, granted, exchanged, dedicated or otherwise disposed of, be under obligation to ascertain or inquire into the authority of the Company to make any such sale, grant, exchange, dedication or
other disposition.

     SECTION 1611.  MAINTENANCE OF PROPERTIES.

     The Company shall cause (or, with respect to property owned in common with others, make reasonable effort to cause) the Mortgaged Property, considered as a whole, to be maintained and kept in good condition, repair and working order and shall cause (or, with respect to property owned in common with others, make reasonable effort to cause) to be made such repairs, renewals, replacements, betterments and improvements thereof, as, in the judgment of the Company, may be necessary in order that the operation of the Mortgaged Property, considered as a whole, may be conducted in accordance with common industry practice; provided, however, that nothing in this Section shall prevent the Company from discontinuing, or causing the discontinuance of, the operation and maintenance of any portion of the Mortgaged Property if such discontinuance is in the judgment of the Company desirable in the conduct of its business; and provided, further, that nothing in this Section shall prevent the Company from selling, transferring or otherwise disposing of, or causing the sale, transfer or other disposition of, any portion of the Mortgaged Property in compliance with the other Articles of this Mortgage.

     SECTION 1612.  PAYMENT OF TAXES; DISCHARGE OF LIENS.

     The Company shall pay all taxes and assessments and other governmental charges lawfully levied or assessed upon the Mortgaged Property, or upon any part thereof, or upon the interest of the Trustee in the Mortgaged Property, before the same shall become delinquent, and shall observe and conform in all material respects to all valid requirements of any Governmental Authority relative to the Mortgaged Property and all covenants, terms and conditions upon or under which any of the Mortgaged Property is held; and the Company shall not voluntarily suffer any Lien to be created upon the Mortgaged Property, or any part thereof, prior to the Lien hereof, other than (a) Permitted Liens and Prior Liens,
(b) in the case of property hereafter acquired, Purchase Money Liens and any other Liens existing or placed thereon at the time of the acquisition thereof (including, but not limited to, the Lien of any Prior Lien); provided, however, that prior to (but not on or after) the Second Effective Date the Company shall not create Prior Liens or suffer Prior Liens to be created on the Mortgaged Property; provided further, however, that nothing in this Section contained shall require the Company (i) to observe or conform to any requirement of Governmental Authority or to cause to be paid or discharged, or to make provision for, any such Lien, or to pay any such tax, assessment or governmental charge so long as the validity thereof shall be contested in good faith and by appropriate legal proceedings, (ii) to pay, discharge or make provisions for any tax, assessment or other governmental charge, the validity of which shall not be so contested if adequate security for the payment of such tax, assessment or other governmental charge and for any penalties or interest which may reasonably be anticipated from failure to pay the same shall be given to the Trustee or (iii) to pay, discharge or make provisions for any Liens existing on the Mortgaged Property at the First Effective Date; and provided, further, that nothing in this Section shall prohibit the issuance or other incurrence of additional indebtedness, or the refunding of outstanding indebtedness, secured by any Lien prior to the Lien hereof which is permitted under this Section to continue to exist.

     SECTION 1613.  INSURANCE.

          (a) The Company shall (i) keep or cause to be kept all the property subject to the Lien of this Mortgage insured against loss
by fire, to the extent that property of similar character is
usually so insured by companies similarly situated and operating
like properties, to a reasonable amount, by reputable insurance companies, the proceeds of such insurance (except as to any loss
of Excepted Property and except as to any particular loss less
than the greater of (A) $10,000,000 and (B) 3% of the aggregate principal amount of all Securities and Secured Debt Outstanding on the date of such particular loss) to be made payable, subject to applicable law, to the Trustee as the interest of the Trustee may appear, to the trustee of a Prior Lien, or to the trustee or other holder of any other Lien prior hereto upon property subject to the Lien hereof, if the terms thereof require such payment or (ii) in lieu of or supplementing such insurance in whole or in part, adopt some other method or plan of protection against loss by fire at
least equal in protection to the method or plan of protection
against loss by fire of companies similarly situated and operating properties subject to similar fire hazards or properties on which
an equal primary fire insurance rate has been set by reputable insurance companies; and if the Company shall adopt such other
method or plan of protection, it shall, subject to applicable law (and except as to any loss of Excepted Property and except as to
any particular loss less than the greater of (x) $10,000,000 and
(y) 3% of the aggregate principal amount of all Securities and Secured Debt Outstanding on the date of such particular loss) pay
to the Trustee on account of any loss covered by such method or
plan an amount in cash equal to the amount of such loss less any amounts otherwise paid to the Trustee in respect of such loss or
paid to the trustee under a Prior Lien or to the trustee or other holder of any other Lien prior hereto upon property subject to the Lien hereof in respect of such loss if the terms thereof require
such payment. Any cash so required to be paid by the Company pursuant to any such method or plan shall for the purposes of this Mortgage be deemed to be proceeds of insurance. In case of the adoption of such other method or plan of protection, the Company shall furnish to the Trustee a certificate of an actuary or other qualified person appointed by the Company with respect to the adequacy of such method or plan.

     Anything herein to the contrary notwithstanding, the Company may have fire insurance policies with (i) a deductible provision in a dollar amount per occurrence not exceeding the greater of (a) $10,000,000 and (b) 3% of the aggregate principal amount of all Securities and Secured Debt Outstanding on the date such policy goes into effect, and/or (ii) co-insurance or self insurance provisions with a dollar amount per occurrence not exceeding 30% of the loss proceeds otherwise payable; provided, however, that the dollar amount described in clause (i) above may be exceeded to the extent such dollar amount per occurrence is below the deductible amount in effect as to fire insurance (x) on property of similar character insured by companies similarly situated and operating like property or (y) on property as to which an equal primary fire insurance rate has been set by reputable insurance companies.

          (b) All moneys paid to the Trustee by the Company in accordance with this Section or received by the Trustee as proceeds of any insurance, in either case on account of a loss on or with respect to Mortgaged Property, shall, subject to the requirements of any
Prior Lien or other Lien prior hereto upon property subject to the Lien hereof, be held by the Trustee and, subject as aforesaid,
shall be paid by it to the Company to reimburse the Company for an equal amount expended or committed for expenditure in the
rebuilding, renewal and/or replacement of or substitution for the property destroyed or damaged, upon receipt by the Trustee of:

               (i)  A Company Request requesting such payment,

               (ii) An Experts' Certificate:

                    (A)  Describing the property so damaged or
               destroyed;

                    (B) Stating the Cost of such property (or, if the Fair Value to the Company of such property was first included in an Experts' Certificate was less than the Cost thereof, then such Fair Value, as so certified, in lieu of Cost) or, if such damage or destruction shall have affected only a portion of such property, stating the allocable portion of such Cost or Fair Value;

                    (C)  Stating the amounts so expended or
               committed for expenditure in the rebuilding,
               renewal, replacement of and/or substitution for
               such property; and

                    (D)  Stating the Fair Value to the Company of
               such property as rebuilt or renewed or as to be
               rebuilt or renewed and/or of the replacement or
               substituted property, and if

                         (I)  Within 6 months prior to the date of
                    acquisition thereof by the Company, such
                    property has been used or operated, by a
                    person or persons other than the Company, in a business similar to that in which it has been or is to be used or operated by the Company, and

                         (II) The Fair Value to the Company of
                    such property as set forth in such Experts'
                    Certificate is not less than $25,000 and not
                    less than 1% of the aggregate principal amount of all Securities then Outstanding,

                    the Expert making the statement required by
                    this clause (D) shall be an Independent
                    Expert, and

               (iii) an Opinion of Counsel stating that, in the
opinion of the signer, the property so rebuilt or renewed or to be rebuilt or renewed, and/or the replacement property, is or will be subject to the Lien hereof.

     Any such moneys not so applied within 36 months after its receipt by the Trustee, or in respect of which notice in writing of intention to apply the same to the work of rebuilding, renewal, replacement or substitution then in progress and uncompleted shall not have been given to the Trustee by the Company within such 36 months, or which the Company shall at any time notify the Trustee is not to be so applied, shall thereafter be withdrawn, used or applied in the manner, to the extent and for the purposes, and subject to the conditions, provided in Section 1606; provided, however, that if the amount of such moneys shall exceed the amount stated pursuant to clause (B) in the Experts' Certificate referred to above, the amount of such excess shall not be subject to
Section 1606 and shall be remitted to or upon the order of the Company upon the withdrawal, use or application of the balance of such moneys pursuant to Section 1606.

          (c) Whenever under the provisions of this Section the Company is required to deliver moneys to the Trustee and at the same time shall have satisfied the conditions set forth herein for payment of moneys by the Trustee to the Company, there shall be paid to or retained by the Trustee or paid to the Company, as the case may
be, only the net amount.

     SECTION 1614.  RECORDING, FILING, ETC.

     The Company shall cause this Mortgage and all Mortgages and instruments supplemental hereto (or notices, memoranda or financing statements as may be recorded or filed to place third parties on notice thereof) to be promptly recorded and filed and re-recorded and re-filed in such manner and in such places, as may be required by law in order fully to preserve and protect the security of the Holders of the Securities and all rights of the Trustee, and shall furnish to the Trustee:

          (a) Promptly after the execution and delivery of this Mortgage and of each Supplemental Mortgage, an Opinion of Counsel either stating that in the opinion of such counsel this Mortgage or such Supplemental Mortgage (or any other instrument, resolution,
certificate, notice, memorandum or financing statement in
connection therewith) has been properly recorded and filed, so as
to make effective the Lien intended to be created hereby or
thereby, and reciting the details of such action, or stating that
in the opinion of such counsel no such action is necessary to make
such Lien effective.  The Company shall be deemed to be in
compliance with this subsection (a) if (i) the Opinion of Counsel
herein required to be delivered to the Trustee shall state that
this Mortgage or such Supplemental Mortgage, (or any other
instrument, resolution, certificate notice, memorandum or
financing statement in connection therewith) has been received for record or filing in each jurisdiction in which it is required to
be recorded or filed and that, in the opinion of such counsel (if
such is the case), such receipt for record or filing makes
effective the Lien intended to be created by this Mortgage or such Supplemental Mortgage, and (ii) such opinion is delivered to the
Trustee within such time, following the date of such Supplemental Mortgage, as shall be practicable having due regard to the number
and distance of the jurisdictions in which this Mortgage or such Supplemental Mortgage (or such other instrument, resolution, certificate, notice, memorandum or financing statement in
connection therewith) is required to be recorded or filed; and

          (b) On or before December 1 of each year, beginning [_____], an Opinion of Counsel stating either (i) that in the opinion of such counsel such action has been taken, since the date of the most
recent Opinion of Counsel furnished pursuant to this subsection
(b) or the first Opinion of Counsel furnished pursuant to
subsection (a) of this Section, with respect to the recording,
filing, re-recording, and re-filing of this Mortgage and of each
Supplemental Mortgage (or any other instrument, resolution,
certificate, notice, memorandum or financing statement in
connection therewith), as is necessary to maintain the
effectiveness of the Lien hereof, and reciting such action, or
(ii) that in the opinion of such counsel no such action is
necessary to maintain the effectiveness of such Lien.

     The Company shall execute and deliver such Supplemental Mortgage or Mortgages and such further instruments and do such further acts as may be necessary or proper to carry out the purposes of this Mortgage and to make subject to the Lien hereof any property hereafter acquired, made or constructed and intended to be subject to the Lien hereof, and to transfer to any new trustee or trustees or co-trustee or co-trustees, the estate, powers, instruments or funds held in trust hereunder.

     SECTION 1615.  EFFECTIVE TIME FOR CERTAIN PROVISIONS

     All provisions hereof shall, unless otherwise specified herein, or except as may be specified in the terms and conditions of any series or Tranche of Securities (in which case such terms and conditions of any such series or Tranche of Securities shall be applicable to such series or Tranche of Securities), be of full force and effect on and after the First Effective Date, except that the provisions of (i) the expanded definitions of Excepted Property and of Permitted Liens contained in Section 101, (ii) Sections 401(b)(v)(1), 1603(e)(i) and 1606(a) permitting the Opinion of Counsel to specify that the Mortgage may be subject to Prior Liens, (iii) Section 801 to the extent that it applies to Securities issued after January 1, 2004, (iv) Section 802(b), (v)
Section 1302 permitting supplemental indentures (a) modifying the Mortgage with the consent of a majority in principal amount of all Securities then Outstanding and (b) permitting the release from the lien of this Mortgage of one or more properties having a value of up to 10% of the lesser of the aggregate Cost or aggregate Fair Value of the Mortgaged Property, (vi) Section 1601(b), (vii)
Section 1605(b), and (viii) Section 1612 permitting the creation of Prior Liens on the Mortgaged Property shall, in each case, be of no force and effect prior to the Second Effective Date but shall automatically become of full force and effect on and after the Second Effective Date, all in accordance with the provisions of such Sections; and the definitions of Excepted Property and of Permitted Liens and the provisions of Sections 401(b)(v)(1), 801, 802(b),1302, 1601(b), 1603(e)(i), 1605(b), 1606(a) and 1612 which
are specified to be in effect only prior to the Second Effective Date shall automatically cease to be of any further force or effect on and after the Second Effective Date.


              * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

     This instrument may be executed in any number of
counterparts, each of which so executed shall be deemed to be an
original, but all such counterparts shall together constitute but
one and the same instrument.

     (The testimonium clause, signatures and acknowledgments to
the original Indenture of Mortgage and Deed of Trust have been
omitted herein, but remain applicable hereto.)