Exhibit 99.1

                                         EXECUTION COPY


        THE CONNECTICUT LIGHT AND POWER COMPANY


          FIRST AND REFUNDING MORTGAGE BONDS


                UNDERWRITING AGREEMENT

                                     September 13, 2004

The Connecticut Light and Power Company
107 Selden Street
Berlin, Connecticut 06037

     1.   Purchase and Sale. On the basis of the
representations and warranties, and subject to the
terms and conditions set forth in this agreement (this
"Agreement"), the Underwriters (defined below) shall
purchase from The Connecticut Light and Power Company
(the "Company"), severally and not jointly, and the
Company shall sell to the Underwriters, the principal
amount of the Company's 4.80% First and Refunding
Mortgage Bonds, 2004 Series A, Due 2014 (the "Series A
Bonds") and the Company's 5.75% First and Refunding
Mortgage Bonds, 2004 Series B, Due 2034 (the "Series B
Bonds"), set forth opposite the name of the
Underwriters in Schedule I hereto at the price
specified in Schedule II hereto (the aggregate
principal amount of the bonds described in Schedule II
hereto are hereinafter referred to as the "Bonds").

     2.   Underwriters. The term "Underwriters", as used
herein, shall be deemed to mean Barclays Capital Inc.
and J.P. Morgan Securities Inc. (together, the
"Representatives") and the other several persons, firms
or corporations named in Schedule I hereto (including
all substituted Underwriters under the provisions of
Section 10 hereof).  All obligations of the
Underwriters hereunder are several and not joint.

     3.   Representations and Warranties. The Company
represents and warrants to and agrees with the
Underwriters that:

          (a)  The Company meets the requirements for
     the use of Form S-3 under the Securities Act of
     1933, as amended (the "Securities Act") and has
     filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission
     (the "Commission") a registration statement
     (Registration Statement No. 333-118276), including
     a prospectus, relating to $880,000,000 principal
     amount of first and refunding mortgage bonds,
     including the Bonds, and has filed with, or
     transmitted for filing to, or shall promptly
     hereafter file with or transmit for filing to, the
     Commission a prospectus supplement (the
     "Prospectus Supplement") specifically relating to
     the Bonds pursuant to Rule 424 under the
     Securities Act.  The term "Registration Statement"
     means the registration statement, including the
     exhibits thereto, as amended to the date of this
     Agreement.  The term "Base Prospectus" means the
     prospectus included in the Registration Statement.
     The term "Prospectus" means the Base Prospectus
     together with the Prospectus Supplement. The term
     "preliminary prospectus" means the preliminary
     prospectus supplement, dated September 13, 2004,
     relating to the Bonds, together with the Base
     Prospectus.  As used herein, the terms "Base
     Prospectus," "Prospectus" and "preliminary
     prospectus" shall include in each case the
     documents, if any, incorporated by reference
     therein. The terms "supplement," "amendment" and
     "amend" as used herein shall include all documents
     deemed to be incorporated by reference in the
     Prospectus that are filed subsequent to the date
     of the Prospectus by the Company with the
     Commission pursuant to the Securities Exchange Act
     of 1934, as amended (the "Exchange Act").

          (b)  The Registration Statement has become
     effective; no stop order suspending the
     effectiveness of the Registration Statement is in
     effect, no order directed to the adequacy of any
     document incorporated by reference in the
     Prospectus has been issued by the Commission and
     no proceedings for either such purpose are pending
     before or threatened by the Commission.

          (c)  (i) Each document filed or to be filed
     pursuant to the Exchange Act and incorporated by
     reference in the preliminary prospectus or
     Prospectus complied or will comply when so filed
     in all material respects with the Exchange Act and
     the applicable rules and regulations of the
     Commission thereunder, (ii) each part of the
     Registration Statement, when such part became
     effective, did not contain, and each such part, as
     amended or supplemented, if applicable, will not
     contain any untrue statement of a material fact or
     omit to state a material fact required to be
     stated therein or necessary to make the statements
     therein not misleading, (iii) the Registration
     Statement and the Prospectus comply, and, as
     amended or supplemented, if applicable, will
     comply, in all material respects with the
     Securities Act and the applicable rules and
     regulations of the Commission thereunder and (iv)
     the preliminary prospectus as of its date did not,
     and the Prospectus does not, contain, and, as
     amended or supplemented, if applicable, will not
     contain, any untrue statement of a material fact
     or omit to state a material fact necessary to make
     the statements therein, in the light of the
     circumstances under which they were made, not
     misleading, except that the representations and
     warranties set forth in this paragraph do not
     apply (A) to that part of the Registration
     Statement that constitutes the Statement of
     Eligibility and Qualification on Form T-1 (the
     "Form T-1") under the Trust Indenture Act of 1939,
     as amended (the "Trust Indenture Act"), of
     Deutsche Bank Trust Company Americas or (B)
     statements or omissions made in reliance upon and
     in conformity with information furnished in
     writing by or on behalf of any Underwriter
     expressly for use in connection with the
     preparation of the Registration Statement,
     preliminary prospectus or Prospectus.

          (d)  The Company has been duly formed, is
     validly existing as a Connecticut corporation in
     good standing under the laws of Connecticut, has
     the power and authority to own its property and to
     conduct its business as described in the
     Prospectus and is duly qualified to transact
     business and is in good standing in each
     jurisdiction in which the conduct of its business
     or its ownership or leasing of property requires
     such qualification, except to the extent that the
     failure to be so qualified or be in good standing
     would not have a material adverse effect on the
     Company.  The Company possesses such material
     certificates, authorizations, franchises or
     permits issued by the appropriate state or federal
     regulatory authorities or bodies as are necessary
     to conduct its business as currently conducted.

          (e)  The Company has no "significant
     subsidiaries" (as such term is defined in
     Regulation S-X under the Exchange Act) other than
     CL&P Receivables Corp. and CL&P Funding LLC.  CL&P
     Receivables Corp. and CL&P Funding LLC each
     possess such material certificates,
     authorizations, franchises or permits issued by
     the appropriate state or federal regulatory
     authorities or bodies as are necessary to conduct
     its business as currently conducted.

          (f)  This Agreement has been duly authorized,
     executed and delivered by the Company.

          (g)  The Indenture of Mortgage and Deed of
     Trust dated as of May 1, 1921, as amended, between
     the Company and Deutsche Bank Trust Company
     Americas, as successor trustee (the "Trustee"), as
     supplemented and previously amended by various
     supplemental indentures and as to be supplemented
     by the Supplemental Indenture, to be dated as of
     September 1, 2004, establishing the terms of the
     Series A Bonds, and the Supplemental Indenture, to
     be dated as of September 1, 2004, establishing the
     terms of the Series B Bonds (the "Indenture") has
     been duly qualified under the Trust Indenture Act
     and has been duly authorized, executed and
     delivered by the Company and is a valid and
     binding agreement of the Company, enforceable in
     accordance with its terms, subject to applicable
     bankruptcy, insolvency or similar laws affecting
     creditors' rights generally and general principles
     of equity and except as may be limited by the laws
     of Connecticut, where the property covered by the
     Indenture is located, affecting the lien of the
     Indenture on after-acquired real property and
     affecting the remedies for the enforcement of the
     security provided for therein, which laws do not
     make inadequate the remedies necessary for the
     realization of the benefits of such security.

          (h)  The Bonds have been duly authorized and,
     when executed and authenticated in accordance with
     the provisions of the Indenture and delivered to
     and paid for by the Underwriters in accordance
     with the terms of this Agreement, will be entitled
     to the benefits and security of the Indenture,
     equally and ratably with the first and refunding
     mortgage bonds of other series presently secured
     by the Indenture,  and will be valid and binding
     obligations of the Company, in each case
     enforceable in accordance with their respective
     terms, subject to applicable bankruptcy,
     insolvency or similar laws affecting creditors'
     rights generally and general principles of equity.

          (i)  The execution and delivery by the
     Company of, and the performance by the Company of
     its obligations under, this Agreement, the
     Indenture and the Bonds will not contravene any
     provision of applicable law or the Certificate of
     Incorporation or By-laws of the Company or any
     agreement or other instrument binding upon the
     Company that is material to the Company, or any
     judgment, order or decree of any governmental
     body, agency or court having jurisdiction over the
     Company, and no consent, approval, authorization
     or order of, or qualification with, any
     governmental body or agency is required for the
     performance by the Company of its obligations
     under this Agreement, the Indenture or the Bonds,
     except for  (i) the order of the Department of
     Public Utility Control of the State of
     Connecticut, dated June 25, 2004, (the "DPUC
     Order") and (ii) the post-closing filing on Form U-
     6B-2 required to be made with the Commission
     pursuant to the Public Utility Holding Company Act
     of 1935 (the "1935 Act Filing") such as have been
     obtained under the Securities Act and such as may
     be required by the securities or Blue Sky laws of
     the various states in connection with the offer
     and sale of the Bonds.  The DPUC Order is in full
     force and effect and is sufficient to authorize
     the Company to issue the Bonds and to perform its
     obligations under the Bonds, the Indenture, and
     this Agreement and is final and not subject to
     rehearing or appeal.  The 1935 Act Filing, when
     made, will comply with the applicable rules and
     regulations of the Commission.

          (j)  There has not occurred any material
     adverse change, or any development involving a
     prospective material adverse change, in the
     condition, financial or otherwise, or in the
     earnings, business or operations of the Company,
     from that set forth in the Prospectus (exclusive
     of any amendments or supplements thereto
     subsequent to the date of this Agreement).

          (k)  There are no legal or governmental
     proceedings pending or threatened to which the
     Company is a party or to which any of the
     properties of the Company is subject that are
     required to be described in the Registration
     Statement or the Prospectus and are not so
     described or any statutes, regulations, contracts
     or other documents that are required to be
     described in the Registration Statement or the
     Prospectus or to be filed or incorporated by
     reference as exhibits to the Registration
     Statement that are not described, filed or
     incorporated as required.

          (l)  Each preliminary prospectus filed as
     part of the registration statement as originally
     filed or as part of any amendment thereto, or
     filed pursuant to Rule 424 under the Securities
     Act, complied when so filed in all material
     respects with the Securities Act and the
     applicable rules and regulations of the Commission
     thereunder.

          (m)  The Company is not and, after giving
     effect to the offering and sale of the Bonds and
     the application of the proceeds thereof as
     described in the Prospectus, will not be an
     "investment company" as such term is defined in
     the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended.

          (n)  Except as disclosed in the Prospectus
     (exclusive of any amendments or supplements
     thereto subsequent to the date of this Agreement),
     there are no costs or liabilities associated with
     any and all applicable foreign, federal, state and
     local laws and regulations relating to the
     protection of human health and safety, the
     environment or hazardous or toxic substances or
     wastes, pollutants or contaminants ("Environmental
     Laws") (including, without limitation, any capital
     or operating expenditures required for clean-up,
     closure of properties or compliance with
     Environmental Laws or any permit, license or
     approval, any related constraints on operating
     activities and any potential liabilities to third
     parties) which would, singly or in the aggregate,
     have a material adverse effect on the Company.

          (o)  The Company maintains systems of
     internal accounting controls and processes
     sufficient to provide reasonable assurance that
     (i) transactions are executed in accordance with
     management's general or specific authorizations;
     (ii) transactions are recorded as necessary to
     permit preparation of financial statements in
     conformity with generally accepted accounting
     principles; and (iii) assets are safeguarded from
     loss or unauthorized use. The Company evaluated
     the design and operation of their disclosure
     controls and procedures to determine whether they
     are effective in ensuring that the disclosure of
     required information is timely made in accordance
     with the Exchange Act and the rules and forms of
     the Commission. These evaluations were made under
     the supervision and with the participation of
     management, including the principal executive
     officer and principal financial officer of the
     Company, within the 90-day period prior to the
     filing of the most recent Quarterly Report on Form
     10-Q. The principal executive officer and
     principal financial officer have concluded, based
     on their review, that the disclosure controls and
     procedures, as defined by Exchange Act Rules 13a-
     14(c) and 15(d)-14(c), are effective to ensure
     that information required to be disclosed by the
     Company in reports that it files under the
     Exchange Act is recorded, processed, summarized,
     and reported within the time periods specified in
     Commission rules and forms. No significant changes
     were made to the Company's internal controls or
     other factors that could significantly affect
     these controls subsequent to the date of their
     evaluation.

          (p)  The financial statements and the related
     notes thereto incorporated by reference in the
     Registration Statement and the Prospectus comply
     in all material respects with the applicable
     requirements of the Securities Act and the
     Exchange Act, as applicable, and present fairly
     the financial position of the Company and its
     subsidiaries as of the dates indicated and the
     results of their operations and the changes in
     their cash flows for the periods specified; such
     financial statements have been prepared in
     conformity with generally accepted accounting
     principles applied on a consistent basis
     throughout the periods covered thereby, and the
     supporting schedules included or incorporated by
     reference in the Registration Statement present
     fairly the information required to be stated
     therein; and the other financial information
     included or incorporated by reference in the
     Registration Statement and the Prospectus has been
     derived from the accounting records of the Company
     and its subsidiaries and presents fairly the
     information shown thereby.

          (q)  Deloitte and Touche LLP, who have
     certified certain financial statements of the
     Company and its subsidiaries, are independent
     public accountants with respect to the Company and
     its subsidiaries as required by the Securities
     Act.

          (r)  The Indenture constitutes a direct and
     valid first mortgage lien, subject only to liens
     permitted by the Indenture, including liens and
     encumbrances existing at the time of acquisition
     by the Company, upon the interests of the Company
     in the properties and franchises now owned by the
     Company and located in Connecticut and under
     existing law will, subject only to such permitted
     liens ("Permitted Exceptions") and subject to the
     provisions of the Federal Bankruptcy Code,
     constitute a similar lien at the time of
     acquisition on all properties and assets of the
     Company acquired after the date of this Agreement
     located within the State of Connecticut and
     required by the Indenture to be subjected to the
     lien thereof, other than properties and assets of
     the character excluded, excepted or released from
     the lien thereof; and the Indenture, and/or an
     appropriate certificate or financing statement
     with respect thereto, has been or will be duly
     recorded or filed for recordation in all places
     within the State of Connecticut, in which such
     recording is required to protect and preserve the
     lien of the Indenture on the properties and assets
     located in Connecticut, which are presently
     subject thereto, and all Connecticut, taxes and
     fees required to be paid with respect to the
     execution and recording of the Indenture and the
     issuance of the Bonds have been paid.

          (s)  The major electric transmission lines
     and distribution facilities owned by the Company
     are in the main on land owned in fee by the
     Company or over which the Company has adequate
     easements.  The Company has title good and
     sufficient for the purposes for which such
     properties or easements are held by the Company,
     subject only to Permitted Exceptions, to minor
     defects in title that are curable by the exercise
     of the Company's right of eminent domain and to
     additional liens of record, in the aggregate not
     material to the financial condition of the
     Company, which liens are capable of being
     satisfied if necessary by the payment of money.

          (t)  The manner in which the Mortgaged
     Property and the Trust Estate (each as defined
     below) and the Company's properties and assets are
     described in the granting clauses of the Indenture
     is adequate for the purpose of creating the lien
     of the Indenture.

     Any certificate signed by any officer of the
Company and delivered to the Representatives or counsel
for the Underwriters in connection with the offering of
the Bonds shall be deemed a representation and warranty
by the Company, as to matters covered thereby, to each
Underwriter.

     4.   Terms of Public Offering. The Company is advised
by the Underwriters that they propose to make a public
offering of the Bonds as soon after this Agreement has
been entered into as in the judgment of the
Representatives is advisable.  The terms of the public
offering of the Bonds are set forth in the Prospectus.

     5.   Payment and Delivery.  Except as otherwise
provided in this Section 5, payment for the Bonds shall
be made to the Company in Federal or other funds
immediately available at the time (the "Closing Date")
and place set forth in Schedule II hereto, upon
delivery to the Representatives of the Bonds, in fully
registered global form registered in the name of Cede &
Co., for the respective accounts of the several
Underwriters of the Bonds registered in such names and
in such denominations as the Representatives shall
request in writing not less than the business day
immediately preceding the date of delivery, with any
transfer taxes payable in connection with the transfer
of the Bonds to the Underwriters duly paid.  Delivery
of the Bonds shall be made through the facilities of
The Depository Trust Company unless the Representatives
shall otherwise instruct.

     6.   Conditions to the Underwriters' Obligations.  The
obligations of the Underwriters are subject to the
following conditions:

        (a)  Subsequent to the execution and delivery
     of this Agreement and prior to the Closing Date:

             (i)  there shall not have occurred any
          downgrading or withdrawal, nor shall any
          notice have been given of any intended or
          potential downgrading or withdrawal or of any
          review for a possible change that does not
          indicate the direction of the possible
          change, in the rating accorded any of the
          Company's securities by any "nationally
          recognized statistical rating organization,"
          as such term is defined for purposes of Rule
          436(g)(2) under the Securities Act;

              (ii)   no stop order suspending
          the effectiveness of the Registration
          Statement has been issued and no proceedings
          for that purpose have been instituted or, to
          the Company's knowledge, threatened; and

             (iii)  there shall not have occurred any
          change, or any development involving a
          prospective change, in the condition,
          financial or otherwise, or in the earnings,
          business or operations of the Company, from
          that set forth in the Prospectus (exclusive
          of any amendments or supplements thereto
          subsequent to the date of this Agreement)
          that, in the judgment of the Representatives,
          is material and adverse and that makes it, in
          the judgment of the Representatives,
          impracticable or inadvisable to proceed with
          the offer, sale or delivery of the Bonds on
          the terms and in the manner contemplated in
          the Prospectus.

          (b)  The Underwriters shall have received on
     the Closing Date a certificate, dated the Closing
     Date and signed by an executive officer of the
     Company, to the effect set forth in Section 6(a)
     above and to the effect that the representations
     and warranties of the Company contained in this
     Agreement are true and correct as of the Closing
     Date and that the Company has complied with all of
     the agreements and satisfied all of the conditions
     on its part to be performed or satisfied hereunder
     on or before the Closing Date.  The officer
     signing and delivering such certificate may rely
     upon the best of his or her knowledge as to
     proceedings threatened.

          (c)     At the Closing Date, the Bonds shall
     be rated at least A- by S&P, A2 by Moody's and A-
     by Fitch, and the Company shall have delivered to
     the Underwriters a letter, dated the Closing Date,
     from each such rating agency, or other evidence
     reasonably satisfactory to the Underwriters,
     confirming that the Bonds have been assigned such
     ratings;

          (d)  The Underwriters shall have received on
     the Closing Date a legal opinion or legal opinions
     from Jeffrey C. Miller, Esq., Assistant General
     Counsel of Northeast Utilities Service Company,
     counsel to the Company, or other counsel
     reasonably acceptable to the Underwriters, dated
     the Closing Date, to the effect that:

             (i)  the Company has been duly formed, is
          validly existing as a Connecticut corporation
          in good standing under the laws of
          Connecticut, has the power and authority to
          own its property and to conduct its business
          as described in the Prospectus and is duly
          qualified to transact business and is in good
          standing in each jurisdiction in which the
          conduct of its business or its ownership or
          leasing of property requires such
          qualification, except to the extent that the
          failure to be so qualified or be in good
          standing would not have a material adverse
          effect on the Company; the Company possesses
          such material certificates, authorizations,
          franchises or permits issued by the
          appropriate state or federal regulatory
          authorities or bodies as are necessary to
          conduct its business as currently conducted;

             (ii)  this Agreement has been duly
          authorized, executed and delivered by the
          Company;

             (iii)  the Indenture has been duly qualified
          under the Trust Indenture Act and has been
          duly authorized, executed and delivered by
          the Company and is a valid and binding
          agreement of the Company, enforceable in
          accordance with its terms, subject to
          applicable bankruptcy, insolvency or similar
          laws affecting creditors' rights generally
          and general principles of equity and except
          as may be limited by the laws of Connecticut,
          where the property covered by the Indenture
          is located, affecting the lien of the
          Indenture on after-acquired real property and
          affecting the remedies for the enforcement of
          the security provided for therein, which laws
          do not make inadequate the remedies necessary
          for the realization of the benefits of such
          security;

             (iv)  the Bonds have been duly authorized
          and, when executed and authenticated in
          accordance with the provisions of the
          Indenture and delivered to and paid for by
          the Underwriters in accordance with the terms
          of this Agreement, will be entitled to the
          benefits and security of the Indenture,
          equally and ratably with the first and
          refunding mortgage bonds of other series
          presently secured by the Indenture, and will
          be valid and binding obligations of the
          Company, in each case enforceable in
          accordance with their respective terms,
          subject to applicable bankruptcy, insolvency
          or similar laws affecting creditors' rights
          generally and general principles of equity;

             (v)  (A) the execution and delivery by the
          Company of, and the performance by the
          Company of its obligations under, this
          Agreement, the Indenture and the Bonds will
          not contravene any provision of applicable
          law or the Certificate of Incorporation or By-
          laws of the Company or, to the best of such
          counsel's knowledge, any agreement or other
          instrument binding upon the Company that is
          material to the Company, or, to the best of
          such counsel's knowledge, any judgment, order
          or decree of any governmental body, agency or
          court having jurisdiction over the Company,
          and (B) no consent, approval, authorization
          or order of, or qualification with, any
          governmental body or agency is required for
          the performance by the Company of its
          obligations under this Agreement, the
          Indenture and the Bonds, except for the DPUC
          Order, such as have been obtained under the
          Securities Act and such as may be required by
          the securities or Blue Sky laws of the
          various states in connection with the offer
          and sale of the Bonds.  The DPUC Order is in
          full force and effect and is sufficient to
          authorize the Company to issue the Bonds and
          to perform its obligations under the Bonds,
          the Indenture, and this Agreement and is
          final and not subject to rehearing or appeal;

             (vi)  the statements (A) in the Prospectus
          under the captions "Description of the
          Bonds", "Underwriting" and "Description of
          the New Bonds," (B) in the Registration
          Statement under Item 15, (C) in "Item 3 -
          Legal Proceedings" of the Company's most
          recent annual report on Form 10-K
          incorporated by reference in the Prospectus
          and (D) in "Item 1 - Legal Proceedings" of
          Part II of the Company's quarterly reports on
          Form 10-Q, if any, filed since such annual
          report, in each case insofar as such
          statements constitute summaries of the legal
          matters, documents or proceedings referred to
          therein, fairly present the information
          called for with respect to such legal
          matters, documents and proceedings as of the
          dates of such reports and fairly summarize
          the matters referred to therein as of the
          dates of such reports;

             (vii)  after due inquiry, such counsel does
          not know of any legal or governmental
          proceedings pending or threatened to which
          the Company is a party or to which any of the
          properties of the Company is subject that are
          required to be described in the Registration
          Statement or the Prospectus and are not so
          described or of any statutes, regulations,
          contracts or other documents that are
          required to be described in the Registration
          Statement or the Prospectus or to be filed or
          incorporated by reference as exhibits to the
          Registration Statement that are not
          described, filed or incorporated as required;

             (viii)  the Company is not and, after giving
          effect to the offering and sale of the Bonds
          and the application of the proceeds thereof
          as described in the Prospectus, will not be
          an "investment company" as such term is
          defined in the Investment Company Act of
          1940, as amended;

             (ix)  except as disclosed in the
          Prospectus, the Company  (A) is in compliance
          with any and all applicable Environmental
          Laws, (B) has received all permits, licenses
          or other approvals required of it under
          applicable Environmental Laws to conduct its
          business and (C) is in compliance with all
          terms and conditions of any such permit,
          license or approval, except where such
          noncompliance with Environmental Laws,
          failure to receive required permits, licenses
          or other approvals or failure to comply with
          the terms and conditions of such permits,
          licenses or approvals would not, singly or in
          the aggregate, have a material adverse effect
          on the Company;

             (x)  the Registration Statement has become
          effective; no stop order suspending the
          effectiveness of the Registration Statement
          is in effect, no order directed to the
          adequacy of any document incorporated by
          reference in the Prospectus has been issued
          by the Commission and no proceedings for
          either such purpose are pending before or
          threatened by the Commission;

              (xi)  such counsel (A) is of the opinion
          that each document, if any, filed pursuant to
          the Exchange Act and incorporated by
          reference in the Prospectus and any amendment
          to the Prospectus (except for financial
          statements, schedules and other financial or
          statistical data contained or incorporated by
          reference in the Registration Statement or
          Prospectus or any amendment to the
          Prospectus, as to which such counsel need not
          express any opinion) complied when so filed
          as to form in all material respects with the
          Exchange Act and the applicable rules and
          regulations of the Commission thereunder, (B)
          has no reason to believe that (except for
          financial statements, schedules and other
          financial or statistical data contained or
          incorporated by reference in the Registration
          Statement or Prospectus or any amendment or
          supplement to the Prospectus, as to which
          such counsel need not express any belief and
          except for that part of the Registration
          Statement that constitutes the Form T-1
          heretofore referred to) each part of the
          Registration Statement, when such part became
          effective, contained and, as of the date such
          opinion is delivered, contains any untrue
          statement of a material fact or omitted or
          omits to state a material fact required to be
          stated therein or necessary to make the
          statements therein not misleading, (C) is of
          the opinion that the Registration Statement
          and Prospectus as they may be amended or
          supplemented (except for financial
          statements, schedules and other financial or
          statistical data contained or incorporated by
          reference in the Registration Statement or
          Prospectus or any amendment or supplement to
          the Prospectus, as to which such counsel need
          not express any opinion) comply as to form in
          all material respects with the Securities Act
          and the applicable rules and regulations of
          the Commission thereunder and (D) has no
          reason to believe that (except for financial
          statements, schedules and other financial or
          statistical data contained or incorporated by
          reference in the Registration Statement or
          Prospectus or any amendment or supplement to
          the Prospectus, as to which such counsel need
          not express any belief) the Prospectus as it
          may be amended or supplemented, as of its
          date and as of the date such opinion is
          delivered contain any untrue statement of a
          material fact or omit to state a material
          fact necessary in order to make the
          statements therein, in the light of the
          circumstances under which they were made, not
          misleading;

             (xii) the property specifically described
          as the mortgaged property (the "Mortgaged
          Property") and as the trust estate (the
          "Trust Estate") in the Indenture located in
          Connecticut constitutes all of the utility
          franchises held by the Company and all of the
          Company's principal properties and
          substantially all of the property used by the
          Company in its business other than the
          exceptions explicitly stated in the
          Indenture;

             (xiii)   The Indenture constitutes a
          direct and valid first mortgage lien,
          subject only to liens permitted by the
          Indenture, including liens and encumbrances
          existing at the time of acquisition by the
          Company upon the interests of the Company in
          the properties and franchises now owned by
          the Company and located in Connecticut and
          under existing law will, subject only to such
          Permitted Exceptions and subject to the
          provisions of the Federal Bankruptcy Code,
          constitute a similar lien at the time of
          acquisition on all properties and assets of
          the Company acquired after the date of such
          opinion located within the State of
          Connecticut and required by the Indenture to
          be subjected to the lien thereof, other than
          properties and assets of the character
          excluded, excepted or released from the lien
          thereof; and the Indenture, and/or an
          appropriate certificate or financing
          statement with respect thereto, has been or
          will be duly recorded or filed for
          recordation in all places within the State of
          Connecticut, in which such recording is
          required to protect and preserve the lien of
          the Indenture on the properties and assets
          located in Connecticut, which are presently
          subject thereto, and all Connecticut, taxes
          and fees required to be paid with respect to
          the execution and recording of the Indenture
          and the issuance of the Bonds have been paid;

             (xiv) The major electric transmission lines
          and distribution facilities owned by the
          Company are in the main on land owned in fee
          by the Company or over which the Company has
          adequate easements.  The Company has title
          good and sufficient for the purposes for
          which such properties or easements are held
          by the Company, subject only to Permitted
          Exceptions, to minor defects in title that
          are curable by the exercise of the Company's
          right of eminent domain and to additional
          liens of record, in the aggregate not
          material to the financial condition of the
          Company, which liens are capable of being
          satisfied if necessary by the payment of
          money. and

             (xv)    The manner in which the
          Mortgaged Property and the Trust Estate and
          the Company's properties and assets are
          described in the granting clauses of the
          Indenture is adequate for the purpose of
          creating the lien of the Indenture.

          In rendering the opinion set forth in
     Section 6(d)(xiv) above, counsel may note that the
     lien of the Indenture could be subject or
     subordinated to Connecticut General Statutes
     Section 22a-452a, as amended, providing for a lien
     on behalf of the State of Connecticut for expenses
     incurred in containing, removing or mitigating
     hazardous waste.

          Insofar as Mr. Miller's opinion relates to
     matters governed by the law of the State of
     Connecticut, he may rely on the opinion of even
     date therewith of Day, Berry & Howard LLP, counsel
     for the Company as addressed to him.  The
     foregoing opinion shall be addressed to or shall
     allow the Underwriters to rely on such opinion as
     if they were an addressee thereto.

          (e)    The Underwriters shall have received from
     Pillsbury Winthrop LLP, special counsel for the
     Underwriters, an opinion dated the Closing Date
     and addressed to the Underwriters, with respect to
     the issuance and sale of the Bonds, the Indenture,
     the Registration Statement, the Prospectus
     (together with any supplement thereto) and other
     related matters as the Representatives may
     reasonably require, and the Company shall have
     furnished to such counsel such documents as they
     request for the purpose of enabling them to pass
     upon such matters.

          Such counsel shall also state that it has no
     reason to believe that (except for financial
     statements, schedules and other financial or
     statistical data contained or incorporated by
     reference in the Registration Statement or
     Prospectus, as to which such counsel need not
     express any belief) the Prospectus as of the date
     such opinion is delivered contains any untrue
     statement of a material fact or omits to state a
     material fact necessary in order to make the
     statements therein, in the light of the
     circumstances under which they were made, not
     misleading.  Such counsel (and counsel to the
     Company with respect to Section 6(d)(xi)(D) above)
     may state that its belief is based upon their
     participation in the preparation of the
     Registration Statement and Prospectus and any
     amendments or supplements thereto and documents
     incorporated therein by reference and review and
     discussion of the contents thereof, but are
     without independent check or verification, except
     as specified.

          The opinion(s) of Counsel described in
     Section 6(d) above shall be rendered to the
     Underwriters at the request of the Company and
     shall so state therein.

          (f)  The Underwriters shall have received on
     the date hereof and on the Closing Date, letters,
     the first dated the date hereof and the second
     dated the Closing Date, each in form and substance
     satisfactory to the Underwriters, from Deloitte &
     Touche LLP, containing statements and information
     of the type ordinarily included in accountants'
     "comfort letters" to underwriters with respect to
     the financial statements and certain financial
     information contained in or incorporated by
     reference into the Prospectus.

     If any of the conditions specified in this
Section 6 shall not have been fulfilled when and as
provided in this Agreement, or if any of the opinions
and certificates mentioned above or elsewhere in this
Agreement shall not be reasonably satisfactory in form
and substance to the Representatives and counsel for
the Underwriters, this Agreement and all obligations of
the Underwriters hereunder may be canceled at, or at
any time prior to, the Closing Date by the
Representatives.  Notice of such cancellation shall be
given to the Company in writing or by telephone or
facsimile confirmed in writing.

     7.   Covenants of the Company.  In further
consideration of the agreements of the Underwriters
herein contained, the Company covenants with each
Underwriter as follows:

        (a)  To furnish the Representatives, without
     charge, one (1) signed copy of the Registration
     Statement (including exhibits thereto) and, for
     delivery to each other Underwriter, a conformed
     copy of the Registration Statement (without
     exhibits thereto) and to furnish the
     Representatives in New York City, without charge,
     prior to 10:00 a.m. New York City time on the
     business day next succeeding the date of this
     Agreement and during the period mentioned in
     Section 7(c) below, as many copies of the
     preliminary prospectus, Prospectus, any documents
     incorporated by reference therein and any
     supplements and amendments thereto or to the
     Registration Statement as the Representatives may
     reasonably request.

        (b)  Before amending or supplementing the
     Registration Statement, preliminary prospectus or
     the Prospectus with respect to the Bonds, to
     furnish to the Representatives a copy of each such
     proposed amendment or supplement and not to file
     any such proposed amendment or supplement to which
     the Representatives reasonably objects.

        (c)  If, during such period after the first
     date of the public offering of the Bonds as in the
     opinion of counsel for the Underwriters the
     Prospectus is required by law to be delivered in
     connection with sales by an Underwriter or dealer,
     any event shall occur or condition exist as a
     result of which it is necessary to amend or
     supplement the Prospectus in order to make the
     statements therein, in the light of the
     circumstances when the Prospectus is delivered to
     a purchaser, not misleading, or if, in the opinion
     of counsel for the Underwriters, it is necessary
     to amend or supplement the Prospectus to comply
     with applicable law, forthwith to prepare, file
     with the Commission and furnish, at its own
     expense, to the Underwriters and to the dealers
     (whose names and addresses the Representatives
     will furnish to the Company) to which Bonds may
     have been sold by the Representatives on behalf of
     the Underwriters and to any other dealers upon
     request, either amendments or supplements to the
     Prospectus so that the statements in the
     Prospectus as so amended or supplemented will not,
     in the light of the circumstances when the
     Prospectus is delivered to a purchaser, be
     misleading or so that the Prospectus, as amended
     or supplemented, will comply with law.

        (d)  To endeavor to qualify the Bonds for offer
     and sale under the securities or Blue Sky laws of
     such jurisdictions as the Representatives shall
     reasonably request; provided, however, that the
     Company shall not be required to qualify as a
     foreign corporation or to file a consent to
     service of process or to file annual reports or to
     comply with any other requirements deemed by the
     Company in its reasonable judgment to be unduly
     burdensome.

        (e)  To make generally available to the
     Company's security holders and to each of the
     Underwriters as soon as practicable an earning
     statement covering a twelve month period beginning
     on the first day of the first full fiscal quarter
     after the date of this Agreement, which earning
     statement shall satisfy the provisions of Section
     11(a) of the Securities Act and the rules and
     regulations of the Commission thereunder
     (including, but not limited to, Rule 158 under the
     Securities Act). If such fiscal quarter is the
     last fiscal quarter of the Company's fiscal year,
     such earning statement shall be made available not
     later than 90 days after the close of the period
     covered thereby and in all other cases shall be
     made available not later than 45 days after the
     close of the period covered thereby.

        (f)  During the period beginning on the date of
     this Agreement and continuing to and including the
     Closing Date, not to offer, sell, contract to sell
     or otherwise dispose of, directly or indirectly,
     any debt securities of the Company or warrants to
     purchase debt securities of the Company
     substantially similar to the Bonds (other than (i)
     the Bonds and (ii) commercial paper issued in the
     ordinary course of business), without the prior
     written consent of the Representatives.

        (g)  Whether or not the transactions
     contemplated in this Agreement are consummated or
     this Agreement is terminated, to pay or cause to
     be paid all expenses incident to the performance
     of its obligations under this Agreement,
     including: (i) the fees, disbursements and
     expenses of the Company's counsel and the
     Company's accountants in connection with the
     registration and delivery of the Bonds under the
     Securities Act and all other fees or expenses in
     connection with the preparation and filing of the
     Registration Statement, any preliminary
     prospectus, the Prospectus and amendments and
     supplements to any of the foregoing, including all
     printing costs associated therewith, and the
     mailing and delivering of copies thereof to the
     Underwriters and dealers, in the quantities
     hereinabove specified, (ii) all costs and expenses
     related to the transfer and delivery of the Bonds
     to the Underwriters, including any transfer or
     other taxes payable thereon, (iii) the cost of
     printing or producing any Blue Sky or legal
     investment memorandum in connection with the offer
     and sale of the Bonds under state law and all
     expenses in connection with the qualification of
     the Bonds for offer and sale under state law as
     provided in Section 7(d) hereof, including filing
     fees and the reasonable fees and disbursements of
     counsel for the Underwriters not to exceed $10,000
     in connection with such qualification and in
     connection with the Blue Sky or legal investment
     memorandum, (iv) the fees and disbursements of the
     Company's accountants and the Trustee and its
     counsel, (v) all filing fees and the reasonable
     fees and disbursements of counsel to the
     Underwriters incurred in connection with any
     review and qualification of the offering of the
     Bonds by the National Association of Securities
     Dealers, Inc., (vi) any fees charged by the rating
     agencies for the rating of the Bonds and (vii) all
     other costs and expenses incident to the
     performance of the obligations of the Company
     hereunder for which provision is not otherwise
     made in this Section.  It is understood, however,
     that except as provided in this Section, Section 8
     entitled "Indemnity and Contribution", and the
     clause (b) of Section 10 entitled "Defaulting
     Underwriters" below, the Underwriters will pay all
     of their costs and expenses, including fees and
     disbursements of their counsel, and any
     advertising expenses connected with any offers
     they may make.

          (h)  The Company will comply with all
     applicable securities and other applicable laws,
     rules and regulations, including, without
     limitation, the Sarbanes Oxley Act, and will use
     its best efforts to cause the Company's directors
     and officers, in their capacities as such, to
     comply with such laws, rules and regulations,
     including, without limitation, the provisions of
     the Sarbanes Oxley Act.

          (i) The Company will not take, directly or
     indirectly, any action designed to or that would
     constitute or that might reasonably be expected to
     cause or result in, under the Exchange Act or
     otherwise, stabilization or manipulation of the
     price of any security of the Company to facilitate
     the sale or resale of the Bonds.

          (j)  If the supplemental indenture
     establishing the terms of the Series A Bonds and
     the supplemental indenture establishing the terms
     of the Series B Bonds (together, the "Supplemental
     Indentures") are not recorded prior to the Closing
     Date, then (1) within 10 days after the Closing
     Date, the Company shall deliver each Supplemental
     Indenture in recordable form to the appropriate
     real estate recording office in all jurisdictions
     specified in each such Supplemental Indenture for
     recording and deliver to the office of the
     Secretary of State of the State of Connecticut a
     UCC-1 financing statement relating to each such
     Supplemental Indenture for filing in such office
     and (2) within 25 days after the Closing Date, the
     Company shall deliver to counsel to the
     Underwriters a certificate signed by an officer of
     the Company certifying that the actions required
     by the foregoing clause (1) have been taken.  The
     Company shall further provide counsel to the
     Underwriters, as soon as it is available, a copy
     of each of the related opinions of counsel
     contemplated by Section 6.10(b) of the Indenture.
     To the extent not covered in the opinions
     described in the previous sentence, the Company
     shall also provide counsel to the Underwriters,
     concurrently with the furnishing of such opinions,
     a list of the recording information for all such
     filings

     8. Indemnity and Contribution. (a) The Company agrees to indemnify and hold harmless each Underwriter and
each person, if any, who controls any Underwriter
within the meaning of either Section 15 of the
Securities Act or Section 20 of the Exchange Act from
and against any and all losses, claims, damages and liabilities when and as incurred by them (including,
without limitation, any legal or other expenses
reasonably incurred in connection with defending or investigating any such action or claim) caused by any
untrue statement or alleged untrue statement of a
material fact contained in the Registration Statement
or any amendment thereof, any preliminary prospectus or
the Prospectus (as amended or supplemented if the
Company shall have furnished any amendments or
supplements thereto), or caused by any omission or
alleged omission to state therein a material fact
required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading, except insofar as
such losses, claims, damages or liabilities are caused
by any such untrue statement or omission or alleged
untrue statement or omission based upon information
relating to any Underwriter furnished to the Company in writing by such Underwriter through the Representatives expressly for use therein.

   (b)  Each Underwriter agrees, severally and not
jointly, to indemnify and hold harmless the Company,
its directors, its officers who sign the Registration
Statement and each person, if any, who controls the
Company within the meaning of either Section 15 of the
Securities Act or Section 20 of the Exchange Act to the
same extent as the foregoing indemnity from the Company
to such Underwriter, but only with reference to
information relating to such Underwriter furnished to
the Company in writing by such Underwriter through the
Representatives expressly for use in the Registration
Statement, any preliminary prospectus, the Prospectus
or any amendments or supplements thereto.

   (c)  In case any proceeding (including any
governmental investigation) shall be instituted
involving any person in respect of which indemnity may
be sought pursuant to either Section 8(a) or 8(b), such
person (the "indemnified party") shall promptly notify
the person against whom such indemnity may be sought
(the "indemnifying party") in writing (but the omission
so to notify the indemnifying party under this
subsection shall not relieve it from any liability
which it otherwise might have to an indemnified party
otherwise than under this subsection) and the
indemnifying party, upon request of the indemnified
party, shall retain counsel reasonably satisfactory to
the indemnified party to represent the indemnified
party and any others the indemnifying party may
designate in such proceeding and shall pay the fees and
disbursements of such counsel related to such
proceeding. In any such proceeding, any indemnified
party shall have the right to retain its own counsel,
but the fees and expenses of such counsel shall be at
the expense of such indemnified party unless (i) the
indemnifying party and the indemnified party shall have
mutually agreed to the retention of such counsel or
(ii) the named parties to any such proceeding
(including any impleaded parties) include both the
indemnifying party and the indemnified party and
representation of both parties by the same counsel
would be inappropriate due to actual or potential
differing interests between them or (iii) the
indemnifying party has not retained counsel within a
reasonable period of time after the request by the
indemnified party to do so. It is understood that the
indemnifying party shall not, in respect of the legal
expenses of any indemnified party in connection with
any proceeding or related proceedings in the same
jurisdiction, be liable for the fees and expenses of
more than one separate firm (in addition to any local
counsel) for all such indemnified parties and that all
such fees and expenses shall be reimbursed as they are
incurred. Such firm shall be designated in writing by
the Representatives, in the case of parties indemnified
pursuant to Section 8(a) above, and by the Company, in
the case of parties indemnified pursuant to Section
8(b) above. The indemnifying party shall not be liable
for any settlement of any proceeding effected without
its written consent, but if settled with such consent
or if there be a final judgment for the plaintiff, the
indemnifying party agrees to indemnify the indemnified
party from and against any loss or liability by reason
of such settlement or judgment.  No indemnifying party
shall, without the prior written consent of the
indemnified party, effect any settlement of any pending
or threatened proceeding in respect of which any
indemnified party is or could have been a party and
indemnity could have been sought hereunder by such
indemnified party, unless such settlement includes an
unconditional release of such indemnified party from
all liability on claims that are the subject matter of
such proceeding.

   (d)  To the extent the indemnification provided for
in Section 8(a) or 8(b) is unavailable to an
indemnified party or insufficient in respect of any
losses, claims, damages or liabilities referred to
therein, then each indemnifying party under such
paragraph, in lieu of indemnifying such indemnified
party thereunder, shall contribute to the amount paid
or payable by such indemnified party as a result of
such losses, claims, damages or liabilities (i) in such
proportion as is appropriate to reflect the relative
benefits received by the Company on the one hand and
the Underwriters on the other hand from the offering of
the Bonds or (ii) if the allocation provided by clause
8(d)(i) above is not permitted by applicable law, in
such proportion as is appropriate to reflect not only
the relative benefits referred to in clause 8(d)(i)
above but also the relative fault of each indemnifying
party on the one hand and each indemnified party on the
other hand in connection with the statements or
omissions that resulted in such losses, claims, damages
or liabilities, as well as any other relevant equitable
considerations.  The relative benefits received by the
Company on the one hand and the Underwriters on the
other hand in connection with the offering of the Bonds
shall be deemed to be in the same respective
proportions as the net proceeds from the offering of
such Bonds (before deducting expenses) received by the
Company and the total underwriting discounts and
commissions received by the Underwriters, in each case
as set forth in the table on the cover of the
Prospectus Supplement, bear to the aggregate public
offering price of the Bonds.  The relative fault of
each indemnifying party on the one hand and each
indemnified party on the other hand shall be determined
by reference to, among other things, whether the untrue
or alleged untrue statement of a material fact or the
omission or alleged omission to state a material fact
relates to information supplied by such indemnifying
party or by such indemnified party and the parties'
relative intent, knowledge, access to information and
opportunity to correct or prevent such statement or
omission.  The Underwriters' respective obligations to
contribute pursuant to this Section 8 are several in
proportion to the respective principal amounts of Bonds
they have purchased hereunder, and not joint.

   (e)  The Company and the Underwriters agree that it
would not be just or equitable if contribution pursuant
to this Section 8 were determined by pro rata
allocation (even if the Underwriters were treated as
one entity for such purpose) or by any other method of
allocation that does not take account of the equitable
considerations referred to in Section 8(d).  The amount
paid or payable by an indemnified party as a result of
the losses, claims, damages and liabilities referred to
in the immediately preceding paragraph shall be deemed
to include, subject to the limitations set forth above,
any legal or other expenses reasonably incurred by such
indemnified party in connection with investigating or
defending any such action or claim. Notwithstanding the
provisions of this Section 8, no Underwriter shall be
required to contribute any amount in excess of the
amount by which the total price at which the Bonds
underwritten by it and distributed to the public were
offered to the public exceeds the amount of any damages
that such Underwriter has otherwise been required to
pay by reason of such untrue or alleged untrue
statement or omission or alleged omission.  No person
guilty of fraudulent misrepresentation (within the
meaning of Section 11(f) of the Securities Act) shall
be entitled to contribution from any person who was not
guilty of such fraudulent misrepresentation. The
remedies provided for in this Section 8 are not
exclusive and shall not limit any rights or remedies
which may otherwise be available to any indemnified
party at law or in equity.

   (f)  The indemnity and contribution provisions
contained in this Section 8 and the representations,
warranties and other statements of the Company
contained in this Agreement shall remain operative and
in full force and effect regardless of (i) any
termination of this Agreement, (ii) any investigation
made by or on behalf of any Underwriter or any person
controlling any Underwriter or the Company, its
officers or directors or any person controlling the
Company and (iii) acceptance of and payment for any of
the Bonds.

     9.   Termination. This Agreement shall be subject to
termination by notice given by the Representatives to
the Company, if (a) after the execution and delivery of
this Agreement and on or prior to the Closing Date (i)
trading generally shall have been suspended or
materially limited on or by, as the case may be, any of
the New York Stock Exchange, the American Stock
Exchange, the National Association of Securities
Dealers, Inc., the Chicago Board of Options Exchange,
the Chicago Mercantile Exchange or the Chicago Board of
Trade or there shall have been established by any of
such exchanges or by the Commission or by any federal
or state agency or by the decision of any court, any
general limitation on prices for such trading or any
general restrictions on the distribution of securities,
(ii) trading of any securities of the Company or
Northeast Utilities shall have been suspended on any
exchange or in any over-the-counter market, (iii) a
general moratorium on commercial banking activities in
New York shall have been declared by either Federal or
New York State authorities, (iv) there shall have
occurred any (A) outbreak of hostilities affecting the
United States, or (B) other national or international
calamity or crisis, or any material adverse change in
financial, political or economic conditions affecting
the United States, including, but not limited to, an
escalation of hostilities that existed prior to the
date of this Agreement, or (v) there shall have
occurred any material disruption in commercial banking
securities settlement or clearance services and (b) in
the case of any of the events specified in clauses
9(a)(i) through 9(a)(v), such event, singly or together
with any other such event, makes it impracticable or
inadvisable, in the judgment of the Representatives, to
proceed with the offer, sale or delivery of the Bonds
on the terms and in the manner contemplated in the
Prospectus.

     10.  Defaulting Underwriters.(a) If, on the Closing
Date, any one or more of the Underwriters shall fail or
refuse to purchase the Bonds set forth opposite the
name of such Underwriter or Underwriters in Schedule I
hereto that it has or they have agreed to purchase
hereunder on such date, and the aggregate amount of
such Bonds which such defaulting Underwriter or
Underwriters agreed but failed or refused to purchase
is not more than one-tenth of the aggregate amount of
the Bonds of such Underwriter or Underwriters to be
purchased on such date, the other Underwriters shall be
obligated severally in the proportions that the amount
of such Bonds set forth opposite their respective names
in Schedule I hereto bears to the aggregate amount of
such Bonds set forth opposite the names of all such non-
defaulting Underwriters, or in such other proportions
as the Representatives may specify, to purchase the
Bonds which such defaulting Underwriter or Underwriters
agreed but failed or refused to purchase on such date;
provided that in no event shall the amount of the Bonds
that any Underwriter has agreed to purchase pursuant to
this Agreement be increased pursuant to this Section 10
by an amount in excess of one-ninth of such amount of
such Bonds without the written consent of such
Underwriter. If, on the Closing Date, any Underwriter
or Underwriters shall fail or refuse to purchase such
Bonds and the aggregate amount of such Bonds with
respect to which such default occurs is more than one-
tenth of the aggregate amount of such Bonds to be
purchased on such date, and arrangements satisfactory
to the Representatives and the Company for the purchase
of such Bonds are not made within 36 hours after such
default, this Agreement shall terminate without
liability on the part of any non-defaulting Underwriter
or the Company. In any such case either the
Representatives or the Company shall have the right to
postpone the Closing Date, but in no event for longer
than seven days, in order that the required changes, if
any, in the Registration Statement and in the
Prospectus or in any other documents or arrangements
may be effected. Any action taken under this paragraph
shall not relieve any defaulting Underwriter from
liability in respect of any default of such Underwriter
under this Agreement.

     (b) If this Agreement shall be terminated by the
Underwriters because any condition to the obligation of
the Underwriters set forth in Section 6 hereof is not
satisfied, because of any termination pursuant to
Section 9 hereof or because of any failure or refusal
on the part of the Company to comply with the terms or
to fulfill any of the conditions of this Agreement, or
if for any reason the Company shall be unable to
perform its obligations under this Agreement, the
Company will reimburse the Underwriters for all out of
pocket expenses (including the fees and disbursements
of their counsel) reasonably incurred by the
Underwriters in connection with this Agreement or the
offering contemplated hereunder.

     11.  Representations and Indemnities to Survive. The
respective agreements, representations, warranties,
indemnities and other statements of the Company or its
officers and of the Underwriters set forth in or made
pursuant to this Agreement will remain in full force
and effect, regardless of any investigation made by or
on behalf of any Underwriter or the Company or any of
the officers, directors, employees, agents or
controlling persons referred to in Section 8 hereof,
and will survive delivery of and payment for the Bonds.
The provisions of Sections 8 and 10(b) hereof shall
survive the termination or cancellation of this
Agreement

     12. Notices. All communications hereunder will be in writing and effective only on receipt, and, if sent to
the Representatives, will be mailed, delivered or
telefaxed to Barclays Capital Inc., Attention: Fixed
Income Syndicate (212-412-7305) and confirmed to
Barclays Capital Inc., at 200 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10166, Attention: Fixed Income Syndicate and to J.P.
Morgan Securities Inc., Attention: High Grade Syndicate Desk, 8th Floor (212-834-6081) and confirmed to J.P.
Morgan Securities Inc., 270 Park Avenue, New York, NY, 10017, Attention: High Grade Syndicate Desk, 8th Floor;
or, if sent to the Company, will be mailed, delivered
or telefaxed to The Connecticut Light and Power
Company, Attention: Treasurer (860-665-3258) and
confirmed to it at The Connecticut Light and Power
Company,  107 Selden Street, Berlin, Connecticut
06037, Attention: Treasurer.

     13.  Counterparts. This Agreement may be signed in two
or more counterparts, each of which shall be an
original, with the same effect as if the signatures
thereto and hereto were upon the same instrument.

     14.  Applicable Law. This Agreement shall be governed
by and construed in accordance with the internal laws
of the State of New York.

     15.  Headings. The headings of the sections of this
Agreement have been inserted for convenience of
reference only and shall not be deemed a part of this
Agreement.

Please confirm your agreement by having an authorized
officer sign a copy of this Agreement in the space set
forth below.

                    Very truly yours,

                    BARCLAYS CAPITAL INC.
                    J.P. MORGAN SECURITIES INC.
                    BANC OF AMERICA SECURITIES LLC
                    BNY CAPITAL MARKETS, INC.
                    WACHOVIA CAPITAL MARKETS, LLC
                    WEDBUSH MORGAN SECURITIES INC.

                    BARCLAYS CAPITAL INC.



                    By:  /s/ Pamela Kendall
                         Name:     Pamela Kendall
                         Title:    Director


                    J.P. MORGAN SECURITIES INC.


                    By:  /s/ Robert Bottamedi
                         Name:     Robert Bottamedi
                         Title:    Vice President

                    As representatives of the Several
                    Underwriters

Accepted and agreed:

THE CONNECTICUT LIGHT
AND POWER COMPANY


By:     /s/ Randy A. Shoop
   Name:                 Randy A. Shoop
   Title:                Treasurer

                         SCHEDULE I

                    Principal Amount of  Principal Amount of
Underwriters             Series A Bonds       Series B Bonds

Barclays Capital           $ 60,000,000      $    52,000,000
Inc.

J.P. Morgan                  60,000,000           52,000,000
Securities Inc.

Banc of America               7,500,000            6,500,000
Securities LLC

BNY Capital                   7,500,000            6,500,000
Markets, Inc.

Wachovia Capital              7,500,000            6,500,000
Markets, LLC

Wedbush Morgan                7,500,000            6,500,000
Securities Inc.


TOTAL                     $ 150,000,000      $   130,000,000

                      SCHEDULE II

Underwriting Agreement dated September 13, 2004

Registration Statement No. 333-118276

Lead Underwriters and Address:

     Barclays Capital Inc.              J.P. Morgan Securities Inc.
     200 Park Avenue                    270 Park Avenue
     New York, New York 10166           New York, NY 10017

Closing Date and
Location:

     September 17, 2004
     Pillsbury Winthrop LLP
     1540 Broadway
     New York, New York 10036

                    SERIES A BONDS

Designation:          4.80% First and Refunding
                      Mortgage Bonds, 2004 Series
                      A, Due 2014

Principal Amount:     $150,000,000

Date of Maturity:     September 15, 2014

Interest Rate:        4.80%

Interest Payment      March 15 and September 15 of
Dates:                each year, commencing March
                      15, 2005

Record Dates:         March 1 and September 1 of
                      each year

Purchase Price:       99.154% of the principal
                      amount thereof

Public Offering       99.804% of the principal
Price:                amount thereof, plus accrued
                      interest, if any, from the
                      date of original issuance
                      thereof




                    SERIES B BONDS

Designation:          5.75% First and Refunding
                      Mortgage Bonds, 2004 Series
                      B, Due 2034

Principal Amount:     $130,000,000

Date of Maturity:     September 15, 2034

Interest Rate:        5.75%

Interest Payment      March 15 and September 15 of
Dates:                each year, commencing March
                      15, 2005

Record Dates:         March 1 and September 1 of
                      each year

Purchase Price:       98.404% of the principal
                      amount thereof

Public Offering       99.279% of the principal
Price:                amount thereof, plus accrued
                      interest, if any, from the
                      date of original issuance
                      thereof