Exhibit 99.1

The Clorox Company News Release

Clorox Announces Preliminary Financial Information for Q4 and FY’08

OAKLAND, Calif., July 15, 2008 – The Clorox Company (NYSE: CLX) today provided preliminary financial information for its fourth quarter and fiscal year, which ended June 30, 2008. Fourth-quarter sales are expected to be in the range of 10-11 percent, including approximately 3 percentage points of growth from the Burt’s Bees acquisition, which was completed in late calendar year 2007. Fourth quarter diluted earnings per share (EPS) is expected to be in the range of $1.10-$1.13. The company now anticipates fiscal 2008 diluted EPS in the range of $3.22-$3.25, versus previously provided outlook of $3.20 to $3.28.

The company will announce fourth-quarter results and update its fiscal year 2009 outlook on Aug. 1, when it will host a live audio webcast with the investment community. The webcast will begin at 8 a.m. PT (11 a.m. ET), and can be accessed at http://investors.thecloroxcompany.com. A replay of the webcast will be available for one week on the company’s Web site.

The Clorox Company

The Clorox Company is a leading manufacturer and marketer of consumer products with fiscal year 2007 revenues of $4.8 billion. Clorox markets some of consumers’ most trusted and recognized brand names, including its namesake bleach and cleaning products, Green Works™ natural cleaners, Armor All® and STP® auto-care products, Fresh Step® and Scoop Away® cat litter, Kingsford® charcoal, Hidden Valley® and K C Masterpiece® dressings and sauces, Brita® water-filtration systems, Glad® bags, wraps and containers, and Burt’s Bees® natural personal care products. With 8,300 employees worldwide, the company manufactures products in more than two dozen countries and markets them in more than 100 countries. Clorox is committed to making a positive difference in the communities where its employees work and live. Founded in 1980, The Clorox Company Foundation has awarded cash grants totaling more than $69.7 million to nonprofit organizations, schools and colleges. In fiscal 2007 alone, the foundation awarded $3.4 million in cash grants, and Clorox made product donations valued at $5.9 million. For more information about Clorox, visit www.TheCloroxCompany.com.

Forward-looking statements

This press release contains “forward looking statements” within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the Securities Act), and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the Exchange Act), and such forward looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Except for historical information, matters discussed above, including statements about future volume, sales, costs, cost savings, earnings, cash outflows, plans, objectives, expectations, growth, or profitability, are forward looking statements based on management’s estimates, assumptions and projections. Words such as “expects,” “anticipates,” “targets,” “goals,” “projects,” “intends,” “plans,” “believes,” “seeks,” “estimates,” and variations on such words, and similar expressions, are intended to identify such forward looking statements. These forward looking statements are only predictions, subject to risks and uncertainties, and actual results could differ materially from those discussed above. Important factors that could affect performance and cause results to differ materially from management’s expectations are described in the sections entitled “Risk Factors” and “Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations” in the company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended June 30, 2007, as updated from time to time in the company’s SEC filings. These factors include, but are not limited to, the company’s costs, including volatility and increases in commodity costs such as resin, diesel, chlor-alkali, agricultural commodities and other raw materials; increases in energy costs; general economic and marketplace conditions and events, including consumer spending levels, the rate of economic growth, and the rate of inflation; the ability of the company to implement and generate expected savings from its programs to reduce costs, including its supply chain restructuring; consumer and customer reaction to price increases; the success of the company’s previously announced Centennial Strategy; the need for any additional restructuring or asset-impairment charges; the company’s ability to achieve the projected strategic and financial benefits from the Burt’s Bees acquisition; customer-specific ordering patterns and trends; the company’s actual cost performance; changes in the company’s tax rate; any future

supply constraints that may affect key commodities; risks inherent in sole-supplier relationships; risks related to customer concentration; risks arising out of natural disasters; risks related to the handling and/or transportation of hazardous substances, including but not limited to chlorine; risks inherent in litigation; risks relating to international operations, including the risk associated with foreign currencies; the impact of the volatility of the debt markets on the company’s access to funds; risks inherent in maintaining an effective system of internal controls, including the potential impact of acquisitions or the use of third-party service providers; the ability to manage and realize the benefit of joint ventures and other cooperative relationships, including the company’s joint venture regarding the company’s Glad® plastic bags, wraps and containers business, and the agreement relating to the provision of information technology and related services by a third party; the success of new products; risks relating to acquisitions, mergers and divestitures; risks relating to changes in the company’s capital structure; and the ability of the company to successfully manage tax, regulatory, product liability, intellectual property, environmental and other legal matters, including the risk resulting from joint and several liability for environmental contingencies. In addition, the company’s future performance is subject to risks related to its November 2004 share exchange transaction with Henkel KGaA, the tax indemnification obligations and the actual level of debt costs. Declines in cash flow, whether resulting from tax payments, debt payments, share repurchases, interest cost increases greater than management expects, or increases in debt or changes in credit ratings, or otherwise, could adversely affect the company’s earnings.

The company’s forward looking statements in this report are based on management’s current views and assumptions regarding future events and speak only as of their dates. The company undertakes no obligation to publicly update or revise any forward looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise, except as required by the federal securities laws.

Media relations	Investor relations

Dan Staublin (510) 271-1622	Li-Mei Johnson (510) 271-3396