NEWS FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 17, 2003
                                              For Further Information Contact:

                                              Paul M. LImbert
                                              President & CEO

                                              or

                                              Robert H. Young
                                              Executive VP & CFO

                                              (304) 234-9000

                                              Nasdaq Trading Symbol: WSBC

WesBanco Announces Approval of New Stock Repurchase Program

Wheeling, WV. . . WesBanco, Inc. President & CEO, Paul M. Limbert, today announced the adoption of a new stock repurchase plan, effective immediately, to begin repurchasing up to an additional one million shares of WesBanco common stock representing approximately 4.9% of outstanding shares on the open market. The timing, price and quantity of purchases will be at the discretion of the corporation and the program may be discontinued or suspended at any time. Mr. Limbert indicated that the current stock repurchase program approved by the Board on June 20, 2002 is nearing completion.


The WesBanco Board took the action based on their determination that the stock repurchase program continues to present an attractive opportunity
for the corporation at this time. The shares would be available for general corporate purposes, which may include future acquisitions, the shareholder dividend reinvestment plan and employee benefit plans. WesBanco is a multi-state bank holding company presently operating through 72 banking offices in West Virginia, Pennsylvania and Ohio. Its banking subsidiary
is WesBanco Bank, Inc., headquartered in Wheeling, West Virginia. In addition, WesBanco operates WesBanco Insurance Services, Inc., and a full service broker/dealer, WesBanco Securities, Inc. that also operates Mountaineer Securities, WesBanco's discount brokerage operation.


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