Exhibit 99.1



        Statement Of DePuy Orthopaedics, Inc., Regarding
              Agreement With U.S. Attorney's Office

Warsaw, IN (September 27, 2007) - As part of an
industry-wide settlement affecting the five major
orthopaedics manufacturers, DePuy Orthopaedics, Inc.,
has entered into an agreement with the United States
Attorney's Office that resolves a previously reported
government investigation into sales practices in the
orthopaedics industry.  Terms of the agreement were
announced today by the U.S. Attorney's Office, District
of New Jersey.

The agreement contains no admission of fault or
wrongdoing by DePuy Orthopaedics.  Further, the
government makes no claim that patient care was
impacted by any of the sales practices that were the
subject of the investigation.

The agreement signed by DePuy Orthopaedics and the U.S.
Attorney's Office notes that the company had
"undertaken extensive actions and reforms in
furtherance of its commitment to exemplary corporate
citizenship" and "voluntarily exhibited a commitment to
the continual refinement and improvement of its
policies and procedures" with regard to relationships
with surgeon consultants.

Surgeon consultants are important sources of innovation
for medical technology manufacturers, and they are
integral to the training of peers on the use of new
technology.

Even before the investigation was announced, DePuy
Orthopaedics had implemented processes for the
framework and disclosure of relationships with
physicians, and supports this agreement and the
government's efforts to further positive change
throughout the industry.

The terms of the DePuy Orthopaedics agreement call for
a deferral of all criminal charges for a period of 18
months, during which an external monitor will be
assigned to DePuy Orthopaedics.  DePuy Orthopaedics
will also pay $84.7 million and will enter into a
Corporate Integrity Agreement for a period of five
years.

DePuy Orthopaedics believes that the collaboration
between government and industry will result in greater
transparency in relationships between industry and
surgeon consultants.  DePuy Orthopaedics will work
closely with the external monitor and the government to
advance processes that bring greater clarity to the
marketplace for the benefit of customers and patients.

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