Exhibit 99.1


Press Contacts:     Jeffrey J. Leebaw        Bill Price
                    (732) 524-3350         (732) 524-6623
                    (732) 821-6007 (H)     (732) 668-3735 (M)

Investor Contacts:
     Louise Mehrotra     Stan Panasewicz    Lesley Fishman
     (732) 524-6491      (732) 524-2524     (732) 524-3922

                    FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


          Johnson & Johnson Announces $10 Billion Share
                       Repurchase Program

     New Brunswick, NJ (July 9, 2007) - Johnson &
Johnson today announced that its Board of Directors has
approved a share repurchase program, authorizing the
Company to purchase up to $10 billion of the
corporation's shares of common stock.

     "This share repurchase program is consistent with
our strategy of providing value to our shareholders
while maintaining flexibility to continue to invest in
future growth opportunities," said William C. Weldon,
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer.

     Share repurchases will take place on the open
market from time to time based on market conditions.
The repurchase program has no time limit and may be
suspended for periods or discontinued at any time. Any
shares acquired will be available for general corporate
purposes. The Company had approximately 2,896.6 million
shares of common stock outstanding as of April 29,
2007.

     The Company intends to finance the share
repurchase program through a combination of available
cash and debt.  The Company expects to retain its
triple-A credit rating. Johnson & Johnson will discuss
the share repurchase plan on its second-quarter
earnings conference call on July 17, 2007.

     Johnson & Johnson is the world's most
comprehensive and broadly based manufacturer of health
care products, as well as a provider of related
services, for the consumer, pharmaceutical and medical
devices and diagnostics markets. The more than 250
Johnson & Johnson operating companies employ
approximately 121,000 men and women in 57 countries and
sell products throughout the world.

(This press release contains "forward-looking
statements" as defined in the Private Securities
Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These statements are
based on current expectations of future events. If
underlying assumptions prove inaccurate or unknown
risks or uncertainties materialize, actual results
could vary materially from Johnson & Johnson's
expectations and projections. Risks and uncertainties
include general industry conditions and competition;
economic conditions, such as interest rate and currency
exchange rate fluctuations; technological advances and
patents attained by competitors; challenges inherent in
new product development, including obtaining regulatory
approvals; domestic and foreign health care reforms and
governmental laws and regulations; and trends toward
health care cost containment. A further list and
description of these risks, uncertainties and other
factors can be found in Exhibit 99 of the Company's
Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended
December 31, 2006. Copies of this Form 10-K, as well as
subsequent filings, are available online at
www.sec.gov, www.jnj.com or on request from Johnson &
Johnson. Johnson & Johnson does not undertake to update
any forward-looking statements as a result of new
information or future events or developments.)

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