Exhibit 99.1

Brookfield Asset Management Announces Results of

Annual Meeting of Shareholders

NEW YORK, NEWS, May 8, 2026 – Brookfield Asset Management Ltd. (NYSE: BAM, TSX: BAM) today announced that all 12 nominees proposed for election to the board of directors by holders of Class A Limited Voting Shares (“Class A Shares”) and Class B Limited Voting Shares (“Class B Shares”) were elected at the company’s annual and special meeting of shareholders held on May 7, 2026 in New York, NY. Detailed results of the vote for the election of directors are set out below.

Management received the following proxies from holders of each of the Class A Shares and Class B Shares in regard to the election of the 12 directors nominated:

Director Nominee	Votes For	%	Votes Withheld	%
Barry Blattman	1,466,816,702	98.05	29,246,506	1.95
Angela F. Braly	1,494,995,659	99.93	1,067,549	0.07
Marcel R. Coutu	1,492,713,148	99.78	3,350,060	0.22
Scott Cutler	1,492,536,152	99.76	3,527,056	0.24
Bruce Flatt	1,470,142,580	98.27	25,920,628	1.73
Oliva (Liv) Garfield	1,472,271,618	98.41	23,791,590	1.59
Nili Gilbert	1,492,679,497	99.77	3,383,711	0.23
Keith Johnson	1,494,988,309	99.93	1,074,899	0.07
Bruce Karsh	1,469,193,155	98.20	26,870,053	1.80
Brian W. Kingston	1,467,042,784	98.06	29,020,424	1.94
Cyrus Madon	1,464,943,326	97.92	31,119,882	2.08
Diana Noble	1,492,698,060	99.78	3,365,148	0.22

A summary of all votes cast by holders of the Class A and Class B Shares represented at the company’s annual and special meeting of shareholders is available on EDGAR at www.sec.gov/edgar or on SEDAR+ at www.sedarplus.ca.

About Brookfield Asset Management

Brookfield Asset Management Ltd. (NYSE, TSX: BAM) is a leading global alternative asset manager, headquartered in New York, with over $1 trillion of assets under management across infrastructure, energy, private equity, real estate, and credit. We invest client capital for the long-term with a focus on real assets and essential service businesses that form the backbone of the global economy. We offer a range of alternative investment products to investors around the world — including public and private pension plans, endowments and foundations, sovereign wealth funds, financial institutions, insurance companies and private wealth investors. We draw on Brookfield’s heritage as an owner and operator to invest for value and generate strong returns for our clients, across economic cycles.

For more information, please visit our website at www.bam.brookfield.com or contact:

Media: Simon Maine Tel: (332) 298-0447 Email: simon.maine@brookfield.com	Investor Relations: Jason Fooks Tel: (866) 989-0311 Email: jason.fooks@brookfield.com