EXHIBIT 99.1

SG Cowen
4th Annual Consumer
Conference
January 10, 2006

Eric M. Specter
Chief Financial Officer and
Executive Vice President

Steven R. Wishner
Sr. Vice President
Finance, Strategy and
Business Development

Gayle M. Coolick
Director of Investor Relations

Forward-Looking Statements
This presentation contains certain forward-looking statements concerning the Company's operations, performance, and financial condition. Such forward-looking statements are subject to various risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from those indicated. Such risks and uncertainties may include, but are not limited to: failure to implement the Company's business plan for entry into the outlet store distribution channel, failure to successfully integrate the operations of Crosstown Traders, Inc. with Charming Shoppes, Inc., the failure to implement the Company's business plan for increased profitability and growth in the plus-size women's apparel business, the failure to successfully implement the Company's business plan for Crosstown Traders, Inc., changes in or miscalculation of fashion trends, extreme or unseasonable weather conditions, economic downturns, a weakness in overall consumer demand, failure to find suitable store locations, the ability to hire and train associates, trade restrictions and political or financial instability in countries where goods are manufactured, the interruption of merchandise flow from its centralized distribution facilities, competitive pressures, and the adverse effects of acts or threats of war, terrorism, or other armed conflict on the United States and international economies. These, and other risks and uncertainties, are detailed in the Company's filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including the Company's Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 29, 2005 and other Company filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Charming Shoppes assumes no duty to update or revise its forward-looking statements even if experience or future changes make it clear that any projected results expressed or implied therein will not be realized.

A Multi-Channel Retailer
America’s Leading Plus-Size Women’s Specialty
Apparel Retailer, With Approximately 40%
Market Share
The 3rd Largest Women’s Specialty Apparel
Retailer, With 2,265 Lane Bryant, Fashion Bug
And Catherines Plus Sizes Retail Stores
A Leading U.S. Apparel And Specialty Catalog
Retailer, Through Crosstown Traders
$2.7 Billion In Projected Annual Sales For The
Fiscal Year Ending January 28, 2006

Our Retail Store Brands

•
A Leading Direct Marketer of Women’s
Apparel And Gifts
–
Acquired June 2, 2005
–
Approximately $460 Million In Revenue In 2004
–
11 Catalog Titles, Including Apparel, Footwear,
Accessories and Gifts
–
40% Of Apparel Sales From Plus Apparel
–
Active Customer Base Of Nearly 4 MM
Households
Crosstown Traders

Selected Catalog Titles

A Multi-
Channel
Retailer
Bricks And
Mortar
Catalog
E-Commerce
Outlet

Single Channel
Customer
e-Com First Customers
Are Worth Almost
3x More Than A Single
Channel Shopper
Retail First Customers
Are Worth 4x More
Than A Single Channel
Shopper After 3 Years
*Source: Forrester Research (WSJ 09/03/04) and Charming Shoppes Research
Multi-channel Customers
Have A Higher Annual Spend Than
Single-channel Customers

Long-Term Growth Strategy
•
Grow By Leveraging Our Leading
Position As A Women’s Multi-channel
Specialty Retailer Through:
–
Growth In Catalog And Other Direct-to-
Consumer Businesses
–
Accelerated Growth In E-Commerce
–
Expansion Of Our Retail Store Base
–
Entry Into The Outlet Store Channel

•
The Catalog Channel Is The Second Largest
Apparel Channel
•
Multi-Channel Customers Have A Greater
Annual Spend
•
Direct-to-Consumer Channels, Including
Catalogs, Are Disproportionately Important To
The Plus-Size Customer
–
Accounts For Approximately 7% Of Large Size
Women’s Apparel Sales, Compared To 4% Of
Misses Size Apparel Sales
The Catalog Channel

•
Lane Bryant® Catalog
•
Leverage Our Extensive Customer
Database To Drive Sales
•
Catalog Expansion
–
Catherines Shoes
–
Home, Etc.
Growth In Catalog

Prior To Charming Shoppes’ 2001
Acquisition Of Lane Bryant, “Lane Bryant”
Catalog Naming Rights Were Licensed To
A Third Party
Today, The Lane Bryant Catalog,
Operated By A Third Party, Produces
Annual Revenues Of More Than $300
Million*
In October 2007, The Trademark For The
Lane Bryant Catalog Reverts To Lane
Bryant
The Lane Bryant Catalog
* Charming Shoppes’ Management Estimate

61mm
CHRS
22mm
CXT
75mm
Net Customers
+
=
Database Synergies
•
Charming’s Customer Database Provides:
–
Cross-Selling Opportunities For Crosstown Traders
–
A Vehicle To Drive Increased Sales Through
Existing And Future Catalog Titles
•
Crosstown’s Customer File Further
Enhances Charming Shoppes’
Impressive Customer
Database

Catalog Expansion Opportunities
We Are Developing New Catalogs,
Employing The Strong Infrastructure
Gained Through Crosstown Traders

•
Momentum In Growth From The Multi-
Channel Structure
•
Crosstown Expertise And Infrastructure
Platforms Support A More Profitable
E-Commerce Sales Model
Accelerate Growth In
E-Commerce

Our E-Commerce Brands

•
Grow Lane Bryant Full-Line Stores
From 760 To 1,000
–
Primarily Strip and Lifestyle Based
Growth
•
Lower Occupancy Rates
•
Higher Comp Performance
•
More Convenient Than Malls
Expansion Of Our Retail
Store Base

Strip Center Lane Bryant

In Addition, We Are Testing
New, Exciting Store
Concepts At Lane Bryant
For Increased Productivity
New Store Concepts

Cacique Side By Side
Garland, Texas

Cacique Side By Side
Pembroke Pines, Florida

•
Allows Charming Shoppes To Immediately
Increase Our Market Position In Plus-Sizes
•
The Outlet Channel Presents An Additional Growth
Vehicle For Charming Shoppes
–
Projected Expansion To 150 Stores
–
Outlet Growth Is In Addition To Our 1,000 Lane
Bryant Full-Line Store Goal
•
Our Initial Outlet Strategy Includes The
Assumption Of Approximately 75 Store Leases,
Previously Operated By Casual Corner Outlet,
Effective April 1, 2006
Entry Into The Outlet Channel

•
Our Flagship Chain Gains A Significant Presence
In Many Of The Country's Leading Outlet Centers
•
Outlet Provides An Additional Venue To Service
And Expand Our Lane Bryant Customer Base
•
Merchandise
–
The Outlet Stores Will Be Anchored With Product
Developed Exclusively For The Outlet Stores
–
Look And Styling Of Product Will Be Consistent With
Full-Line Stores
–
Brand Consistency Is Key
Lane Bryant® Outlet

Financial Review

•
Highlights:
•
12% Revenue Growth; Includes $143 MM From Crosstown
•
130 bps Expansion In The Gross Margin
•
120 bps Expansion In The Pretax Margin, On Top Of 300 bps
Improvement A Year Ago
•
34% Year Over Year Growth In Net Income
Nine Months Performance

•
Highlights:
•
17% Revenue Growth
•
30 bps Expansion In The Gross Margin
•
70 bps Leverage in SG&A
•
Approximately 50% Year over Year Growth In Net Income, On Top Of
A 70% Increase Last Year
•
2 Year CAGR Of 59% In Net Income
Projected Financial Performance
(Fiscal Year Ending January 28, 2006)

*   Please Refer To http://www.charmingshoppes.com/investors/earnings/index.aspFor A Reconciliation Of
    GAAP To Non-GAAP Financial Measures.
2005 Financial Metrics
(Fiscal Year Ending January 28, 2006)
•
Capital Expenditures Projected
At Approximately $100 Million(e)
•
70 New Stores Opened
•
Free Cash Flow* Projected At
Approximately $65 Million
•
Depreciation And Amortization
Of $80 - $85 Million(e)

•
Highlights:
•
$100 Million In Cash Utilized For The Purchase Of Crosstown
Traders During June 2005
•
Additional Debt Of $110 Million Associated With Purchase Of
Crosstown Traders
Selected Balance Sheet Data
($ in Millions)                   10/30/04              10/29/05
Cash and                    $205                    $173
Investments
Debt                           $226                    $310
Total Assets            $1,314                 $1,663

*   Please Refer To http://www.charmingshoppes.com/investors/earnings/index.aspFor A Reconciliation Of
    GAAP To Non-GAAP Financial Measures.
Financial Goals
•
EBIT* Margins – Drive Our EBIT Margins Up To
The 7% - 8% Range Over The Next Few Years,
On A Higher Revenue Base
–
Increase Sales and Gross Margin in All Brands
And Channels
•
Deliver On Synergistic Opportunities To Drive
Earnings Performance
•
Maintain Strong Liquidity From Internally
Generated Free Cash Flow and Bank Credit
Line

SG Cowen
4th Annual Consumer
Conference
January 10, 2006

SG Cowen
4th Annual Consumer
Conference
January 10, 2006

SG Cowen
4th Annual Consumer
Conference
January 10, 2006

Addendum

Our
Differentiated
Retail Store
Brands

Our Retail Store Brands

Classic
Fashion
Low-moderate
Moderate/
Mainstream
Better
The Leader In Specialty
Plus-Sizes

Our Retail Store Brands

Our Retail Stores

www.lanebryant.com
She Is 20-45 Years Old
She Loves Fashion
She Is A Contemporary
Woman Of Many Lifestyles
– Work, Casual, Active
Key Differentiators:
Fashion and Lifestyle

•
Lane Bryant Is The Nation’s Leading Brand In
Plus-Size Fashion Apparel
•
Lane Bryant Is The Most Recognized Name In
Women’s Plus-Size Clothing
•
The Lane Bryant Brand Is 100 Years Strong
•
Lane Bryant Caters To 62%* Of The Female
Population
•
Lane Bryant, In The Mind Of The Consumer,
“Means” Plus-Sizes
*Source: AOA Overweight Prevalence

She Is Mainstream, 20-54
She Is Value-Minded
She Often Has A Blue-Collar Job
She LOVES Selection
She is Fashion Right
Key Differentiators:
Value and Fashion
www.fashionbug.com

www.catherines.com
She’s Our Baby-Boomer, 40-65
She Considers FIT Critical
She is a Career Woman
Her Fashion Tastes Tend Toward
Classic Apparel
Offering Plus-Sizes, Petite Plus-
Sizes, and Extended Plus-Sizes
Key Differentiators:
Fit and Special Sizes

*Source: Derived from NPD Research
Leading Market Share In Denim
•
We Hold The #1 Market Share In Specialty
Plus-Size Denim
•
Lane Bryant’s Venezia® Private Label Is The
Leading Jean In Specialty Plus-Sizes
•
Our Overall Share of Women’s Plus-Denim Is
Approximately 15%*
•
We Plan To Continue To Grow Our Share
Through The Offering Of Private Label And
National Brand Premium Jeans At Each Of Our
Brands

Denim Brands

#1 Market Share In Specialty Plus-Size Intimate
Apparel
Lane Bryant’s Cacique® Intimate Apparel Brand Is
The Leading Brand in Specialty Plus-Sizes
Our Overall Share of Women’s Plus-Intimates Is
Approximately 10%*
We Plan To Continue To Grow Our Share
Through The Expansion Of Intimate Apparel At
Each Of Our Brands
*Source: Derived from NPD Research
Leading Market Share In Plus
Intimate Apparel

Intimate Apparel Private Labels

Crosstown Traders’ Operations
•
Steve Lightman, President, Has Been With The Company For
Over 23 Years
•
Headquartered In Tucson, AZ, With Offices In Phoenix, AZ,
Greenwich, CT; Carlsbad, CA, Wilmington, NC, And Several
Sites In Central Wisconsin
•
Crosstown Traders Offers Proprietary Credit Products To Its
Customer Base, And Direct-to-Consumer Shopping Channels
Of Both Catalog And E-commerce
•
3 Distribution Centers And 850 Call Center Seats
•
1,400 Full Time And 2,000 Seasonal Employees

The Apparel Group’s
Largest Catalog
“Head-to-Toe” Focus
Sportswear, Ready to Wear,
Intimate Apparel, Shoes
and Accessories
Large Selection of Styles,
Sizes, and Colors
Traditional, Comfortable,
Easy-Care Styles
oldpueblotraders.com

Sleepwear, Shapewear,
Loungewear, Active Wear,
and Special Needs Items
Designed to Expand Intimate
Apparel Selections in
Other Publications
Targets Conservative Customer
Offers Quality, Comfort, and
Traditional Styling
Sizes for the Average to Full Figure
intimateappeal.com

Ethnic Appeal
Working Blue Collar
Sportswear, Ready to Wear,
Intimate Apparel, Shoes,and
Accessories
Specialty Catalog That Offers
Customers Ease in Finding
Larger Sizes That Are  Difficult to
Find in Other Catalogs
regaliaonline.com

Current Looks Without
Being Fashion Forward
Mainly Private Label
Targeted to the Value
Conscious Customer
Office and Multi-purpose
Clothing in Easy Care
Fabrics with an Easy Fit
bedfordfair.com

Price-Conscious Customers
“Clothes That Do
More For Less”
Staple Items with
Classic Styling For
the Polished, Mature Lady
willowridgecatalog.com

Targets Moderate Income Women
Who Want to be Noticed and
Are Attuned to Current Fashion
Maximum Attitude and Sexy
Traditional Catalog Categories:
Suits, Dresses, and Sportswear
“Runway Fashions at Runaway Prices”
Offers an Array of Leather,
Suede, and Outerwear
(including Furs)
All Size Ranges and Larger Misses
lew-magram.com

Targets the Higher Income,
Comfortably Retired,
Suburban Woman
Wide Range of Daytime and
Evening Looks Plus
Loungewear, Shoes, and
Accessories
Head-to-Toe Coordination
Is Key
All Size Ranges and Larger Misses
brownstone-studio.com

Classic Styling
Unique Sophisticated Details
Flattering and Feminine
Rich Colors and Texture
Casual and Versatile
shopthebay.com

Casual and Dressy Footwear
Traditional and Contemporary Styles
Designed to Expand Footwear
Selection in Other Publications
Some Accessory Items
Hats and Handbags
All Sizes and Widths
4-13, N, M, W to WWWW
cowardshoe.com

Casual and Dressy Footwear
Traditional and Contemporary
Styles
bedfordfair.com

Specializing In Exquisite
Holiday Fare
Special Gift Assortments,
Collectible Treasures,
Exclusive And
Personalized Items.
Gift-giving Convenience
figis.com

Intellifit

SG Cowen
4th Annual Consumer
Conference
January 10, 2006

SG Cowen
4th Annual Consumer
Conference
January 10, 2006

SG Cowen
4th Annual Consumer
Conference
January 10, 2006