Day One Biopharmaceuticals, Inc. (CIK 1845337)
Form 10-Q
period 2021-09-30
filed 2021-11-08

UNITED STATES

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20549

FORM 10-Q

(Mark One)

☒ QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the quarterly period ended September 30, 2021

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

(650) 484-0899

(Registrant’s telephone number, including area code)

N/A

(Former name, former address and former fiscal year, if changed since last report)

Securities registered pursuant to Section 12(b) of the Act:

Title of each class	Trading Symbol	Name of each exchange on which registered
Common Stock, par value $0.0001 per share	DAWN	Nasdaq Global Select Market

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant (1) has filed all reports required to be filed by Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to file such reports), and (2) has been subject to such filing requirements for the past 90 days. Yes ☒ No ☐

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

As of October 31, the registrant had 61,928,939 shares of common stock, $0.0001 par value per share, outstanding.

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

PART I-FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets

(in thousands, except share amounts)

(unaudited)

	September 30, 2021	December 31, 2020
Assets
Current assets:
Cash and cash equivalents	$297,160	$43,728
Prepaid expenses and other current assets	6,151	1,343
Total current assets	303,311	45,071
Property and equipment, net	62	77
Operating lease right-of-use asset	273	406
Deposits and other long-term assets	137	107
Total assets	303,783	45,661
Liabilities, redeemable convertible preferred shares, redeemable convertible noncontrolling interest and stockholders’ equity/members’ (deficit)
Current liabilities:
Accounts payable	$683	$202
Accrued expenses and other current liabilities	5,161	1,596
Current portion of operating lease liabilities	202	198
Total current liabilities	6,046	1,996
Operating lease liabilities, long-term	65	204
Total liabilities	6,111	2,200
Commitments and contingencies (Note 8)
Redeemable convertible preferred shares, no par value; no shares authorized, issued and outstanding at September 30, 2021; 22,851,257 shares authorized, issued and outstanding at December 31, 2020	—	91,964
Redeemable convertible noncontrolling interest	—	5,702
Stockholders’ equity/members’ (deficit)
Preferred stock, 10,000,000 shares authorized, $0.0001 par value, no shares issued and outstanding at September 30, 2021; No shares authorized, issued, and outstanding at December 31, 2020	—	—
Common shares, no par value; no shares authorized, issued and outstanding at September 30, 2021; 28,887,127 shares authorized and 6,035,869 shares at December 31st, 2020	—	2,000
Common stock, 500,000,000 shares authorized, $0.0001 par value, 61,928,939 shares issued and outstanding at September 30, 2021; No shares authorized, issued, and outstanding at December 31, 2020	6	—
Additional paid-in-capital	403,214	—
Incentive shares, no par value; no shares authorized, issued and outstanding at September 30, 2021; 4,312,540 shares authorized and 4,112,012 shares issued and outstanding at December 31, 2020	—	637
Accumulated deficit	(105,548)	(56,842)
Total stockholders’ equity/members’ (deficit)	297,672	(54,205)
Total liabilities, redeemable convertible preferred shares, redeemable convertible noncontrolling interest and Stockholders' equity/members' (deficit)	$303,783	$45,661

See accompanying notes to the condensed consolidated financial statements.

Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations and Comprehensive Loss

(in thousands, except share and per share amounts)

(unaudited)

	Three Months Ended September 30,		Nine Months Ended September 30,
	2021	2020	2021	2020
Operating expenses:
Research and development	$9,849	$2,537	$32,395	$4,935
General and administrative	9,392	1,024	18,373	2,703
Total operating expenses	19,241	3,561	50,768	7,638
Loss from operations	(19,241)	(3,561)	(50,768)	(7,638)
Interest expense	(6)	(9)	(19)	(22)
Other expense	7	(1)	(29)	(5)
Changes in fair value of derivative tranche liability	—	(271)	—	(578)
Net loss and comprehensive loss	(19,240)	(3,842)	(50,816)	(8,243)
Net loss attributable to redeemable convertible noncontrolling interests	—	(1,018)	(2,109)	(2,113)
Exchange of redeemable noncontrolling interest shares – deemed dividend	—	—	(99,994)	—
Net loss attributable to common share members/common stockholders	$(19,240)	$(2,824)	$(148,701)	$(6,130)
Net loss per share, basic and diluted	$(0.33)	$(0.50)	$(4.98)	$(1.12)
Weighted-average number of common shares used in computing net loss per share, basic and diluted	57,514,218	5,601,511	29,859,883	5,456,733

See accompanying notes to the condensed consolidated financial statements.

Condensed Consolidated Statements of Redeemable Convertible Preferred Shares, Redeemable Noncontrolling Interest and
Stockholders’ Equity/ Members’ (Deficit)

(in thousands, except share amounts)

(unaudited)

	Redeemable Convertible Preferred Shares		Redeemable Noncontrolling	Common Stock		Common Shares		Incentive Shares		Additional Paid-In	Accumulated	Stockholders' Equity/Members'
	Shares	Amount	Interest	Shares	Amount	Shares	Amount	Shares	Amount	Capital	Deficit	(Deficit)
Balance at December 31, 2020	22,851,257	$91,964	$5,702	—	$—	6,035,869	$2,000	4,112,012	$637	$—	$(56,842)	$(54,205)
Issuance of Series B redeemable convertible preferred shares for cash, net of issuance costs of $243	9,638,141	129,757	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—
Share-based compensation expenses	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	538	—	—	538
Issuance of incentive shares	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	874,335	—	—	—	—
Net loss attributable to redeemable noncontrolling interest	—	—	(919)	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—
Net loss attributable to Day One Biopharmaceuticals Holding Company, LLC members	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	(15,182)	(15,182)
Balance at March 31, 2021	32,489,398	$221,721	$4,783	—	$—	6,035,869	$2,000	4,986,352	$1,175	$—	$(72,024)	$(68,849)
Issuance of incentive shares	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	2,085,460	—	—	—	—
Cancellations of incentive shares	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	(265,596)	—	—	—	—
Net loss attributable to Day One Biopharmaceuticals Holding Company, LLC members	—	—	(1,191)	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—
Conversion of redeemable convertible preferred, common, and incentive shares into common stock	(32,489,398)	(221,721)	—	43,958,557	4	(6,035,869)	(2,000)	(6,806,216)	(1,175)	224,892	—	221,721
Conversion of redeemable noncontrolling interest to common stock	—	—	(3,592)	6,470,382	1	—	—	—	—	3,592	—	3,592
Common stock issued in IPO, net of issuance costs of $16,995	—	—	—	11,500,000	1	—	—	—	—	167,044	—	167,045
Share-based compensation expenses	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	2,537	—	2,537
Net loss attributable to common members/stockholders	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	(14,284)	(14,284)
Balance at June 30, 2021	—	$—	$—	61,928,939	$6	—	$—	—	$—	$398,065	$(86,308)	$311,763
Share-based compensation expenses	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	5,149	—	5,149
Net loss attributable to common members/stockholders	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	(19,240)	(19,240)
Balance at September 30, 2021	—	$—	$—	61,928,939	$6	—	$—	—	$—	$403,214	$(105,548)	$297,672

	Redeemable Convertible Preferred Shares		Redeemable Noncontrolling	Common Shares		Incentive Shares		Additional Paid-In	Accumulated	Stockholders' Equity/Members'
	Shares	Amount	Interest	Shares	Amount	Shares	Amount	Capital	Deficit	(Deficit)
Balance at December 31, 2019	12,502,752	$30,504	$5,487	6,035,869	$2,000	1,488,421	$111	$—	$(12,784)	$(10,673)
Issuance of incentive shares	—	—	—	—	—	528,211	—	—	—	—
Cancellations of incentive shares	—	—	—	—	—	(477,582)	—	—	—	—
Share-based compensation expense	—	—	—	—	—	—	59	—	—	59
Net loss attributable to redeemable convertible noncontrolling interest	—	—	(457)	—	—	—	—	—	—	—
Net loss attributable to Day One Biopharmaceuticals Holding Company, LLC members	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	(1,535)	(1,535)
Balance at March 31, 2020	12,502,752	$30,504	$5,030	6,035,869	$2,000	1,539,050	$170	$—	$(14,319)	$(12,149)
Issuance of incentive shares	—	—	—	—	—	21,419	—	—	—	—
Share-based compensation expenses	—	—	—	—	—	—	57	—	—	57
Net loss attributable to noncontrolling interests	—	—	(649)	—	—	—	—	—	—	—
Net loss attributable to common members/ stockholders	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	(1,760)	(1,760)
Balance at June 30, 2020	12,502,752	$30,504	$4,381	6,035,869	$2,000	1,560,469	$227	$—	$(16,079)	$(13,852)
Issuance of incentive shares	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—
Share-based compensation expenses	—	—	—	—	—	—	60	—	—	60
Net loss attributable to noncontrolling interests	—	—	(1,018)	—	—	—	—	—	—	—
Net loss attributable to common members/ stockholders	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	—	(2,824)	(2,824)
Balance at September 30, 2020	12,502,752	$30,504	$3,363	6,035,869	$2,000	1,560,469	$287	$—	$(18,903)	$(16,616)

See accompanying notes to the condensed consolidated financial statements.

Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows

(in thousands)

(unaudited)

	Nine Months Ended September 30,
	2021	2020
Cash flows from operating activities
Net loss	$(50,816)	$(8,243)
Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net cash used in operating activities:
Acquired in-process research and development assets	8,000	—
Share-based compensation expense	8,224	176
Depreciation and amortization expense	15	10
Amortization of operating right-of-use assets	133	96
Non-cash interest expense	19	22
Changes in derivative tranche liabilities	—	578
Changes in operating assets and liabilities:
Prepaid expenses and other current assets	(4,808)	(615)
Deposits and other long-term assets	(31)	(71)
Accounts payable	483	303
Accrued expenses and other current liabilities	3,565	316
Operating lease liabilities	(154)	(123)
Net cash used in operating activities	(35,370)	(7,551)
Cash flows from investing activities
Purchases of property and equipment	—	(93)
Cash paid for acquired in-process research and development assets	(8,000)	—
Cash used in investing activities	(8,000)	(93)
Cash flows from financing activities
Proceeds from issuance of Series B redeemable convertible preferred shares, net of issuance costs	129,757	—
Proceeds from issuance of common stock, net	167,045	—
Net cash provided by financing activities	296,802	—
Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents	253,432	(7,644)
Cash and cash equivalents, beginning of period	43,728	27,332
Cash and cash equivalents, end of period	$297,160	$19,688
Supplemental disclosures of noncash activities
Exchange of 45,331,483 preferred, common, and incentive shares in connection with the Conversion (Note 1)	$224,892	$—
Exchange of redeemable convertible noncontrolling interest to 6,470,382 shares of common stock (Note 13)	$3,592	$—
Right of use asset capitalization	—	545

See accompanying notes to the condensed consolidated financial statements.

Notes to the Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements

1.
DESCRIPTION OF BUSINESS, ORGANIZATION AND LIQUIDITY

Organization and Business

Day One Biopharmaceuticals, Inc. (the “Company”), a successor to Day One Biopharmaceuticals Holding Company, LLC ("Day One Holding LLC)" is a clinical-stage biopharmaceutical company dedicated to developing and commercializing targeted therapies for patients of all ages with genomically-defined cancers. The Company’s lead product candidate, DAY101, has the potential to be a first-in-class, oral, brain-penetrant, highly-selective type II pan-RAF kinase inhibitor.

The Company started its operations in November 2018 under the name Hero Therapeutics Holding Company, LLC, a limited liability company under the laws of the State of Delaware. Subsequently, it changed its name to Day One Therapeutics Holding Company, LLC in December 2018 and to Day One Biopharmaceuticals Holding Company, LLC in March 2020. On May 26, 2021, the Company completed the conversion by filing a certificate of conversion with the Secretary of State of the State of Delaware and changed its name to Day One Biopharmaceuticals, Inc. As of September 30, 2021, the Company has two wholly owned subsidiaries: DOT Therapeutics-2, Inc. (“DOT-2”) (formerly Hero Therapeutics Inc. and Day One Biopharmaceuticals, Inc.), incorporated in Delaware in November 2018, and DOT Therapeutics-1, Inc. (“DOT-1”), incorporated in Delaware in December 2019.

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


holders of Series A redeemable convertible preferred shares of Day One Holding LLC received one share of Series A redeemable convertible preferred stock of the Company for each Series A redeemable convertible preferred share held immediately prior to the Conversion;

holders of Series B redeemable convertible preferred shares of Day One Holding LLC received one share of Series B redeemable convertible preferred stock of the Company for each Series B redeemable convertible preferred share held immediately prior to the Conversion;

holders of common shares of Day One Holding LLC received one share of common stock of the Company for each common share held immediately prior to the Conversion;

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

In connection with the IPO and the Conversion, pursuant to the terms of the Millennium Stock Exchange Agreement and the Plan of Conversion, (“The Millennium Stock Exchange Agreement”) Millennium Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (“Takeda”) exchanged the 9,857,143 shares of Series A redeemable convertible preferred stock of DOT-1, a subsidiary of Day One Holding LLC, for 6,470,382 shares of common stock of the Company (the “Exchange”).

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

Notes to the Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements

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

Liquidity

The Company has incurred significant operating losses since inception and has relied primarily on public and private equity to fund its operations. On September 30, 2021, the Company had an accumulated deficit of $105.5 million. The Company expects to continue to incur substantial losses, and its ability to achieve and sustain profitability will depend on the successful development, approval, and commercialization of product candidates and on the achievement of sufficient revenues to support its cost structure. The Company may never achieve profitability, and until then, the Company will need to continue to raise additional capital. As of September 30, 2021, the Company had cash and cash equivalents of $297.2 million. Based on current plans, the Company believes this will be sufficient to enable funding operations into 2023. Future requirements will depend on many factors and may prove to be wrong as available capital resources could be exhausted sooner than expected.

Risks and Uncertainties Related to COVID-19

We are subject to risks related to public health crises such as the global pandemic associated with COVID-19. In December 2019, a novel strain of coronavirus, COVID-19, was first identified. The global spread of COVID-19 resulted in the World Health Organization declaring the outbreak a “pandemic,” or a worldwide spread of a new disease, in early 2020. This virus eventually spread worldwide, and to all 50 states within the United States. In response, most countries around the world, imposed quarantines and restrictions on travel and mass gatherings to contain the spread of the virus. Employers worldwide were also required to increase the capacity and arrangement for employees to work remotely. More recently, many of the restrictions and travel bans have been eased as global society as a whole works to return to pre-pandemic business and personal practices. We continue to monitor the situation as the landscape of lockdowns and restrictions can change rapidly and as the rise in variants continues. Although to date, these restrictions or variant cases have not materially impacted our operations, the effect on our business, from the spread of COVID-19 and the actions implemented by the governments of the United States and across the globe, may worsen over time and we are unable to predict the potential impact on our business.

Any outbreak of contagious diseases, or other adverse public health developments, could have a material and adverse effect on our business operations. These could include disruptions or restrictions on our ability to travel, pursue partnerships and other business transactions, receive shipments of biologic materials, as well as be impacted by the temporary closure of the facilities of suppliers. The spread of an infectious disease, including COVID-19 or, its variants may also result in the inability of our suppliers to deliver supplies and services to us on a timely basis. In addition, health professionals may reduce staffing and reduce or postpone meetings with clients in response to the spread of an infectious disease. Though we have not yet experienced such events, if they would occur, they could result in a period of business disruption, and in reduced operations, any of which could materially affect our business, financial condition and results of operations. However, as of the date of this Form 10-Q, we have not experienced a material adverse effect on our business nor the need for reduction in our work force; and, currently, we do not expect any material impact on our long-term activity. The extent to which COVID-19 impacts our business will depend on future developments which are highly uncertain and cannot be predicted, including, but not limited to, new information which may emerge concerning the increased severity of the COVID-19 virus, the actions to contain COVID-19, or treat its impact.

2.
SUMMARY OF SIGNIFICANT ACCOUNTING POLICIES

There have been no changes to the significant accounting policies as disclosed in Note 2 to the Company’s annual consolidated financial statements for the years ended December 31, 2020 and 2019 included elsewhere in the Company’s final prospectus for its IPO filed pursuant to Rule 424(b)(4) under the Securities Act with the SEC on May 27, 2021, except as noted below.

Notes to the Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements

Basis of Presentation

The accompanying unaudited condensed consolidated financial statements have been prepared in conformity with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America (“U.S. GAAP”), and follow the requirements of the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”) for interim reporting. As permitted under those rules, certain notes and other financial information that are normally required by U.S. GAAP can be condensed or omitted. These unaudited condensed consolidated financial statements have been prepared on the same basis as the Company’s annual consolidated financial statements and, in the opinion of management, reflect all adjustments, consisting only of normal recurring adjustments that are necessary for a fair statement of the Company’s financial information. The condensed consolidated balance sheet as of December 31, 2020 has been derived from audited consolidated financial statements as of that date but does not include all of the financial information required by U.S. GAAP for complete financial statements. Operating results for the nine months ended September 30, 2021 are not necessarily indicative of the results that may be expected for the year ending December 31, 2021.

Any reference in these notes to applicable guidance is meant to refer to the authoritative GAAP as found in the Accounting Standards Codification (“ASC”) and Accounting Standards Updates (“ASU”) of the Financial Accounting Standards Board (“FASB”).

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

Cash and Cash Equivalents

The Company considers all highly liquid investments purchased with original maturities of three months or less from the purchase date to be cash equivalents. As of September 30, 2021, cash equivalents include investments in money market funds. As of December 31, 2020, the Company did not have any cash equivalents, and cash was held in checking accounts.

Deferred Finance Issuance Costs

Deferred finance issuance costs, consisting of legal, accounting, audit and filing fees relating to in-process equity financings, including the Company’s IPO, are capitalized. Deferred issuance costs are offset against offering proceeds. As of September 30, 2021, the Company did not have any deferred finance issuance costs capitalized related to the IPO. As of December 31, 2020, the Company had capitalized $36,000 in deferred issuance costs related to its Series B redeemable convertible preferred share private financing.

Share/Stock-Based Compensation

Prior to the IPO, the Company recognized share-based compensation expense based on the estimated fair value of all share-based awards, incentive shares and restricted common share shares, on the date of grant using the option-pricing model. The option-pricing model requires the input of subjective assumptions, including the fair value of the underlying common shares, the expected term of the award, the expected volatility, risk-free interest rates, and the dividend yield. In determining the fair value of common shares, the methodologies used to estimate the enterprise value were performed using methodologies, approaches, and assumptions consistent with the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants Accounting and Valuation Guide, Valuation of Privately-Held-Company Equity Securities Issued as Compensation. The participation threshold amounts are determined by the board of directors (the “Board”), at the time of grant. The expected life of the awards granted during the period was determined based on an expected time to the liquidation event. The Company applied the risk-free interest rate based on the U.S. Treasury yield in effect at the time of the grant consistent with the life of the award. The expected volatility is based on a peer group in the industry in which the Company does business consistent with the expected time to liquidity. The dividend yield was set at zero as the underlying security does not and is not expected to pay a dividend.

Subsequent to closing of the IPO, the Company uses the Black-Scholes valuation model to estimate the fair value of options granted to employees and non-employees, intrinsic value to estimate the fair value of restricted stock award, and fair value of the Company’s common stock at the grant date for restricted stock units.

Notes to the Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements

The Black-Scholes option-pricing model, used to estimate fair value of stock options awards, requires the use of the following assumptions:


Fair Value of Common Stock—The Company’s closing price on the Nasdaq market at the grant date.

Expected Term—The expected term represents the period that the stock-based awards are expected to be outstanding. The expected term for stock options is calculated using simplified method, as the weighted-average vesting term of the award and the award’s contract period.

Expected Volatility—Since the Company does not have sufficient trading history for its common stock, the expected volatility is estimated based on the average historical volatilities of common stock of comparable publicly traded entities over a period equal to the expected term of the stock option grants. The comparable companies are chosen based on their size, stage in the life cycle or area of specialty. The Company will continue to apply this process until sufficient historical information regarding the volatility of the common stock price becomes available.

Risk-Free Interest Rate—The risk-free interest rate is based on the U.S. Treasury yield in effect at the time of grant for zero-coupon U.S. Treasury notes with maturities approximately equal to the expected term of the awards.

Expected Dividend Yield—The Company has never paid dividends on the common stock and has no plans to pay dividends on its common stock. Therefore, the expected dividend yield use is zero.

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

Notes to the Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements

3.
FAIR VALUE MEASUREMENTS

The financial instruments of the Company measured at fair value on a recurring basis are included in cash and cash equivalents. U.S. government money market funds were valued by the Company based on quoted market prices, which represent a Level 1 measurement within the fair value hierarchy.

Financial Assets and Liabilities Measured on a Recurring Basis

The following table sets forth the Company’s financial instruments as of September 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, which are measured at fair value on a recurring basis by level within the fair value hierarchy. These are classified based on the lowest level of input that is significant to the fair value measurement (in thousands):

	September 30, 2021
	Total	Level 1	Level 2	Level 3
Money market funds, included in cash and cash equivalents	$124,040	$124,040	$—	$—

As of December 31, 2020, the Company did not have any money market funds.

There were no transfers between Level 1, Level 2 or Level 3 categories in the nine months ended September 30, 2021 or 2020.

4.
PREPAID EXPENSES AND OTHER CURRENT ASSETS

Prepaid and other current assets consisted of the following (in thousands):

	September 30, 2021	December 31, 2020
Prepaid insurance	$3,332	$41
Prepaid research and development expenses	2,646	1,259
Other prepaid expenses and other assets	173	43
Total prepaid expenses and other current assets	$6,151	$1,343

5.
PROPERTY AND EQUIPMENT, NET

Property and equipment, net, consisted of the following (in thousands):

	September 30, 2021	December 31, 2020
Furniture and fixtures	$78	$78
Leasehold improvements	15	15
Less: accumulated depreciation and amortization	(31)	(16)
Property and equipment, net	$62	$77

Depreciation and amortization expense was immaterial for the three and nine months ended September 30, 2021 and 2020.

6.
ACCRUED EXPENSES AND OTHER CURRENT LIABILITIES

Accrued expenses and other current liabilities consisted of the following (in thousands):

	September 30, 2021	December 31, 2020
Accrued research and development expenses	$2,331	$554
Accrued payroll related expenses	1,894	298
Accrued professional service expenses	751	717
Other	185	27
Total accrued expenses and other current liabilities	$5,161	$1,596

Notes to the Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements

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

In consideration for the rights granted under the MRKDG License Agreement and clinical supplies, the Company made an upfront payment of $8.0 million, which was recorded as research and development expenses, as the technology does not have an alternative future use and supplies are used for research activities. The Company may also be required to make additional payments of up to $367.0 million based upon the achievement of specified development, regulatory, and commercial milestones, as well a high, single-digit royalty percentage on future net sales of licensed products, if any. Milestones and royalties are contingent upon future events and will be recorded when the milestones are achieved and when payments are due. No milestones were achieved and due as of September 30, 2021.

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

In consideration for the sale and assignment of assets and the grant of the license under the Takeda Asset Agreement, DOT-1 made an upfront payment of $1.0 million in cash and issued 9,857,143 shares of Series A redeemable convertible preferred stock in DOT-1. The fair value of issued shares was estimated as $9.9 million, based on the price paid by other investors for issued shares in the Series A financing of DOT-1 Therapeutics, Inc. Based on the terms of the Millennium Stock Exchange Agreement, Takeda exchanged the 9,857,143 shares of Series A redeemable convertible preferred stock of DOT-1, Inc. for 6,470,382 shares of the Company’s common stock upon the effectiveness of the Conversion (refer to Note 1). During the nine months ended, September 30, 2021, the Company recorded a total of $10.9 million consideration for license and clinical supplies as research and development expenses.

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

Notes to the Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements

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

DOT-1 paid $2.0 million upfront in cash to Viracta, which was recorded as research and development expenses. DOT-1 made a milestone payment of $3.0 million to Viracta in February 2021, which is recorded as research and development expense when the milestone was achieved in April 2021. DOT-1 is also required to make additional milestone payments of up to $54 million upon achievement of specified development and regulatory milestones for each licensed product in two indications, with milestones payable for the second indication to achieve a specified milestone event being lower than milestones payable for the first indication. Additionally, if DOT-1 obtains a priority review voucher with respect to a licensed product and sell such priority review voucher to a third party or use such priority review voucher, DOT-1 is obligated to pay Viracta a specified percentage in the mid-teen digits of all net consideration received from any such sale or of the value of such used priority review voucher, as applicable. Commencing on the first commercial sale of a licensed product in a country, DOT-1 is obligated to pay tiered royalties ranging in the mid-single-digit percentages on net sales of licensed products, if any. The obligation to pay royalties will end on a country-by-country and licensed product-by-licensed product basis commencing on the first commercial sale in a country and continuing until the later of: (i) the expiration of the last valid claim of the Viracta licensed patents, jointly owned collaboration patents or specified patents owned by the Company covering the use or sale of such product in such country, (ii) the expiration of the last statutory exclusivity pertaining to such product in such country or (iii) the tenth anniversary of the first commercial sale of such product in such country. No other milestones, except as discussed above, were achieved and due as of September 30, 2021.

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

The Company determined the lease incremental borrowing rate (“IBR”) based on the information available at the applicable lease commencement date as the Company’s lease did provide an implicit rate. The IBR is determined by using the rate of interest that the Company would pay to borrow on a collateralized basis an amount equal to the lease payments for a similar term and in a similar economic environment where the asset is located. The Company determined the amounts of its lease liabilities using an IBR of 8%. As of September 30, 2021, the remaining lease term was 1.42 years.

The Company’s lease does not require any contingent rental payments, impose financial restrictions, or contain any residual value guarantees.

Amortization of right-of-use assets is recognized on a straight-line basis over the applicable lease term. Amortization was $133,000 and $96,000 for the nine months ended September 30, 2021 and 2020, respectively. Cash paid for amounts included in the measurement of operating lease liabilities was $154,000 and $123,000 for the nine months ended September 30, 2021 and 2020, respectively. Variable payments expensed during the nine months ended September 30, 2021 and 2020 were immaterial.

Notes to the Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements

As of September 30, 2021, the future lease obligations were as follows (in thousands):

Remaining three months in 2021	$51
2022	212
2023	18
Total future minimum lease payments	281
Less: Imputed interest	(14)
Present value of operating lease liabilities	$267

Research and Development Agreements

The Company enters into contracts in the normal course of business with clinical research organizations for clinical trials, with contract manufacturing organizations for clinical supplies manufacturing and with other vendors for preclinical studies, supplies and other services and products for operating purposes. These contracts generally provide for termination on notice, with the exception of one vendor with a potential termination fee if a purchase order is cancelled within a specified time and of another vendor where labor costs are non-cancellable after the approval of the project plan. As of September 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, there were no amounts accrued related to termination and cancellation charges as these are not probable.

License Agreements

The Company entered into the license agreements, as disclosed in Note 7, pursuant to which the Company is required to pay milestones contingent upon meeting of specific events. The first milestone related to the Viracta License Agreement was achieved and recorded to research and development expense during the nine months ended September 30, 2021. The Company may be required to pay royalties on sales of products developed under these agreements. All products are in development as of September 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, and no such royalties were due.

Legal Proceedings

The Company, from time to time, may be party to litigation arising in the ordinary course of business. The Company is not subject to any material legal proceedings, and to the best of its knowledge, no material legal proceedings are currently pending or threatened.

Indemnification Agreements

In the normal course of business, the Company enters into contracts and agreements that contain a variety of representations and warranties and provide for indemnification for certain liabilities. The exposure under these agreements is unknown because it involves claims that may be made against it in the future but have not yet been made. To date, the Company has not paid any claims or been required to defend any action related to its indemnification obligations. However, the Company may record charges in the future as a result of these indemnification obligations. The Company also has indemnification obligations to its directors and executive officers for specified events or occurrences, subject to some limits, while they are serving at its request in such capacities. There have been no claims, to date and the Company believes the fair value of these indemnification agreements is minimal. Accordingly, the Company had not recorded any liabilities for these agreements as of September 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020.

9.
REDEEMABLE CONVERTIBLE PREFERRED SHARES

In June 2021, the Company completed its IPO, selling an aggregate of 11,500,000 shares of common stock. All outstanding redeemable convertible preferred shares were converted into 32,489,398 shares of common stock upon the completion of the IPO, June 1, 2021. As of September 30, 2021, the Company did not have any outstanding shares of redeemable convertible preferred shares.

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

Notes to the Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements

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

10.
COMMON STOCK

Upon completion of the IPO, the Company is authorized to issue 500.0 million shares of common stock at a par value $0.0001. As of September 30, 2021, 61,928,939 shares of common stock were issued and outstanding.

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

In November 2018, the Company entered into common shares purchase agreements with two founders of the Company. The individuals purchased a total of 2,790,000 common shares for a total purchase price of $300. Shares vest monthly for two and four years, respectively. Vesting for a certain number of shares was accelerated upon the Company’s closing of its Series A redeemable convertible preferred share financing. The Company also has an option for a period of ninety days after the individual’s employment is terminated either voluntarily or involuntarily to repurchase the unvested common shares at a price that is the lower of the original price per share paid by the founder for such stock or the fair value as of the date of such repurchase. As of December 31, 2020, there were 193,766 shares unvested. The founders’ shares were converted to common stock in the Conversion. As of September 30, 2021, all founders’ common stock were vested.

The Company has reserved shares of common stock for future issuances as follows:

September 30, 2021
Common stock options issued and outstanding	4,888,996
Restricted stock units issued and outstanding	66,420
Common stock available for future grants	1,413,584
Common stock available for ESPP	603,000
Total	6,972,000

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

Notes to the Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements

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

The fair value of the incentive shares was estimated using an option pricing model with the following assumptions:

	Nine Months Ended September 30,
	2021	2020
Common share fair value	$ 6.36 - 8.89	$ 0.81 - 0.89
Participating threshold	$ 6.36 - 7.51	$0.27
Risk free rate	0.14%	0.18 - 0.3%
Volatility	72.90%	78 - 80%
Time to liquidity (in years)	0.20 - 1.80	3.03 - 3.30
Grant date fair value	$ 4.24 - 4.52	$ 0.71 - 0.74

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

Fair Value of Common Share

Prior to the IPO, management’s approach to estimate the fair value of the common share is consistent with the methods outlined in the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants’ Practice Aid, Valuation of Privately-Held-Company Equity Securities Issued as Compensation (the “Practice Aid”), considering a number of objective and subjective factors including: valuations of common shares performed with the assistance of independent third-party valuation specialists; the Company’s stage of development and business strategy, including the status of research and development efforts, and the material risks related to the business and industry; the Company’s results of operations and financial position, including levels of available capital resources; the valuation of publicly traded companies in the life sciences and biotechnology sectors, as well as recently completed mergers and acquisitions of peer companies; the lack of marketability of the common shares; the prices of redeemable convertible preferred shares sold to investors in arm’s length transactions and the rights, preferences, and privileges of the Company’s redeemable convertible preferred shares relative to those of common shares; the likelihood of achieving a liquidity event for the holders of the common and redeemable convertible preferred shares, such as an initial public offering or a sale, given prevailing market conditions. The fair value of the common shares was approved by the Board until such time as the Company shares are listed on an established stock exchange or national market system.

The incentive shares have been classified as equity awards and share-based compensation expense was based on the grant date fair value of the award.

The following table provides a summary of the incentive shares activity:

	Number of Shares	Weighted Average Grant Date Fair Value
Outstanding as of December 31, 2020	4,112,017	$1.26
Granted	2,959,795	$4.32
Forfeited	(265,596)	$1.67
Converted to unvested common stock	(6,806,216)	$2.58
Outstanding as of September 30, 2021	—	—

Notes to the Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements

2021 Equity Incentive Plan

Immediately prior to consummation of the IPO, all of the outstanding incentive shares were converted into 5,433,290 shares of common stock, of which 4,719,605 were unvested common stock. The following table provides a summary of the unvested common stock grant activity during the nine months ended September 30, 2021.

	Number of Shares	Weighted Average Grant Date Fair Value
Unvested restricted stock as of December 31, 2020	—	$—
Conversion of incentive shares	4,719,605	$16.00
Vested	(638,389)	$16.00
Unvested restricted stock as of September 30, 2021	4,081,216	$16.00

In May 2021, in connection with the IPO, the Board of Directors and stockholders approved the 2021 Equity Incentive Plan (the “2021 Plan”), which became effective on the day before the date of the effectiveness of the IPO. The 2021 Plan provides for the grant of incentive stock options, non-statutory stock options, stock appreciation rights, awards of restricted stock, restricted stock units and other stock-based awards. The number of shares of common stock reserved for issuance under the 2021 Plan is equal to the sum of: (1) 6,369,000; plus (2) 4,719,605 shares of common stock issued in respect of the Conversion of incentive shares that were subject to vesting immediately prior to the effectiveness of the registration statement for the IPO that expire, terminate or are otherwise surrendered, canceled, forfeited or repurchased by us at their original issuance price pursuant to a contractual repurchase right. The number of shares available for grant and issuance under the 2021 Plan will be automatically increased on January 1 of each of 2022 through 2031, by the lesser of (a) 5% of the number of shares of all classes of the Company’s common stock, plus the total number of shares of Company common stock issuable upon conversion of any preferred stock or exercise of any warrants to acquire shares of Company common stock for a nominal exercise price issued and outstanding on each December 31 immediately prior to the date of increase or (b) such number of shares determined by the Board of Directors.

The following table provides a summary of stock option activity under the 2021 Plan during the nine months ended September 30, 2021.

	Number of Shares	Weighted Average Grant Date Fair Value
Outstanding at December 31, 2020	—	$—
Granted	4,888,996	$16.75
Outstanding at September 30, 2021	4,888,996	$16.75
Exercisable at September 30, 2021	37,447	$16.31

2021 Employee Stock Purchase Plan

In May 2021, the Board of Directors adopted and the stockholders approved the 2021 Employee Stock Purchase Plan, (“the ESPP”), which became effective on May 26, 2021. A total of 603,000 shares of common stock were reserved for issuance under the ESPP. The number of shares of the common stock reserved for issuance under the ESPP will automatically increase on the first day of each fiscal year, beginning with the fiscal year commencing on January 1, 2021 and continuing for each fiscal year until, and including, the fiscal year commencing on January 1, 2031, by the lesser of: a) 1% of the total number of outstanding shares of common stock of the Company (on an as converted basis outstanding on the immediately preceding December 31 (rounded down to the nearest whole share); b) an amount determined by the Board of Directors. No shares have been issued under the ESPP as of September 30, 2021. The Company recognized $0.1 million compensation expense related to the ESPP plan for the three and nine months ending September 30, 2021.

Share/Stock-based compensation

The Company uses intrinsic value to value its unvested common stock and stock options, which is the difference between the Company’s common stock market value and the exercise price of a share and recognizes expense over the vesting term of

Notes to the Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements

the award. The Company uses the Black-Scholes option pricing model to estimate the fair value of stock option granted with the following assumption for awards granted in May 2021:

	Three Months Ended September 30,	Nine Months Ended September 30,
Expected term (in years)	5.77 - 6.08	5.28 - 6.08
Expected volatility	64.88% - 65.38%	64.88% - 66.51%
Risk-free interest rate	0.82% - 0.99%	0.82% - 1.00%
Expected dividend yield	—	—

Share/stock-based compensation expense recorded in the accompanying Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations and Comprehensive Loss is as follows (in thousands):

	Three Months Ended September 30,		Nine Months Ended September 30,
	2021	2020	2021	2020
Research and development expense	$1,489	$58	$2,321	$127
General and administrative expense	3,660	2	5,903	49
Total share-based compensation expense	$5,149	$60	$8,224	$176

As of September 30, 2021, there was $58.4 million of unrecognized compensation cost related to unvested restricted stock, unvested RSUs and stock options that is expected to be recognized over a weighted-average period of approximately 2.8 years. The Company did not recognize incremental share-based compensation expense related to the conversion of the incentive shares to unvested common stock in accordance with the Conversion, as such exchange was at fair value.

12.
NET LOSS PER SHARE

Net Loss Per Share

Basic and diluted net loss per share attributable to common shareholders/stockholders after the Conversion is calculated as follows (in thousands except share and per share amounts):

	Three Months Ended September 30,		Nine Months Ended September 30,
	2021	2020	2021	2020
Net loss and comprehensive loss	$(19,240)	$(3,842)	$(50,816)	$(8,243)
Net loss attributable to redeemable convertible noncontrolling interests	—	(1,018)	(2,109)	(2,113)
Exchange of redeemable noncontrolling interest shares – deemed dividend (refer to Note 13)	—	—	(99,994)	—
Net loss attributable to common share members/common stockholders	(19,240)	(2,824)	(148,701)	(6,130)
Net loss per share, basic and diluted	$(0.33)	$(0.50)	$(4.98)	$(1.12)
Weighted-average number of common shares used in computing net loss per share, basic and diluted	57,514,218	5,601,511	29,859,883	5,456,733

Notes to the Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements

The following outstanding potentially dilutive securities have been excluded from the calculation of diluted net loss per share, as their effect is anti-dilutive:

	As of September 30,
	2021	2020
Stock options	4,888,996	—
Unvested common shares	4,081,216	339,083
RSUs	66,420	—
Convertible preferred shares	—	5,377,528
Incentive Shares	—	683,379
	9,036,632	6,399,990

13.
REDEEMABLE NONCONTROLLING INTEREST

DOT-1, the Company’s subsidiary, issued Series A redeemable convertible preferred shares to Takeda in accordance with the Takeda Asset Agreement (Note 7). The Company concluded that it represented a redeemable noncontrolling interest.

The Company adjusted the carrying value of redeemable noncontrolling interest to allocate net losses of the subsidiary to Takeda. Transfers to and from the redeemable noncontrolling interest represented changes in ownership and the allocation of Series A redeemable convertible preferred shares issuance costs issued by the subsidiary.

On May 26, 2021, pursuant to the pursuant to the terms of the Millennium Stock Exchange Agreement, Takeda exchanged its 9,857,143 shares of Series A redeemable convertible preferred stock in DOT-1, for 6,470,382 shares of common stock of the Company. Prior to the Exchange, the Company accounted for the redeemable noncontrolling interest as discussed in the paragraph above and allocated $2.1 million and $0.9 million of net losses for the period from January 1 to May 26, 2021 and from April 1 to May 26, 2021, respectively, to Takeda. The Exchange resulted in DOT-1 becoming a wholly owned subsidiary of the Company and was recorded for accounting purposes as an extinguishment of the redeemable noncontrolling interest. As such, the Company also recognized an extinguishment loss of $100.0 million to additional paid in capital, which was calculated as a difference between the fair value of common stock issued to Takeda in the conversion and the carrying value of redeemable noncontrolling interest at the conversion date. The all-stock exchange was treated as a deemed dividend in the calculation of net loss attributable to common stockholders and net loss and per share.

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

We are a clinical-stage biopharmaceutical company dedicated to developing and commercializing targeted therapies for patients of all ages with genomically-defined cancers. Initially, we focus our clinical development efforts on pediatric patients living with cancer, a vulnerable population that has been underserved in the recent revolution in targeted therapeutics and immuno-oncology. Our lead product candidate, DAY101, is an oral, brain-penetrant, highly-selective type II pan-rapidly accelerated fibrosarcoma, or pan-RAF, kinase inhibitor. DAY101 has been studied in over 250 patients and has been shown to be well-tolerated as a monotherapy. DAY101 has demonstrated encouraging anti-tumor activity in pediatric and adult populations with specific genetic alterations that result in the over-activation of the RAS/mitogen- activated protein kinase, or MAPK, pathway leading to uncontrolled cell growth. We have initiated a pivotal Phase 2 trial (FIREFLY-1) of DAY101 for pediatric patients with relapsed or progressive low-grade glioma, or pLGG, the most common brain tumor diagnosed in children, for which there are no approved therapies or standard of care. We dosed the first patient in this trial in the second quarter of 2021, and we expect to report initial data from this trial in the first half of 2022. DAY101 has been granted Breakthrough Therapy designation by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, or FDA, for the treatment of pLGG based on initial results from a Phase 1 trial which showed evidence of rapid anti-tumor activity, a greater than 50% monotherapy response rate and durable responses in pLGG patients. We received Orphan Drug Designation for the treatment of malignant melanoma from the FDA in September 2020 and from the EU Commission for the treatment of glioma on May 2021. Additionally, the FDA granted Rare Pediatric Designation to DAY101 for treatment of low-grade gliomas (LGGs) harboring an activating RAF alteration in July 2021. We also plan to study DAY101 alone or in combination with other agents that target key signaling nodes in the MAPK pathway in patient populations where various genetic alterations are believed to play an important role in driving disease, including in our Phase 2 adult solid tumor trial, which we initiated as part of our FIRELIGHT-1 master protocol, in the third quarter of 2021.

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

The following table summarizes our product candidate pipeline.

FIRELIGHT-1 is a master protocol design

* Includes patients  12 years of age

1 Pivotal Phase 2 trial expected to support registration

2 DAY101 adult monotherapy Phase 1 dose escalation and expansion trial previously completed

3 Pimasertib Phase 1 dose escalation and expansion trial previously completed

Since our inception in November 2018, we have devoted substantially all of our resources to identifying, acquiring and developing our product candidates and building our pipeline, organizing and staffing our company, business planning, establishing and maintaining our intellectual property portfolio, establishing arrangements with third parties for the manufacture of our product candidates, raising capital and providing general and administrative support for these operations. We do not have any products approved for commercial sale and have not generated any revenues from product sales or any other source and have incurred net losses since commencement of our operations. For the three months ended September 30, 2021 and 2020, we reported a net loss and comprehensive loss of $19.2 million and $3.8 million, respectively. For the nine months ended September 30, 2021 and 2020, we reported a net loss and comprehensive loss $50.8 million and $8.2 million, respectively. We had an accumulated deficit of $105.5 million as of September 30, 2021. We expect a significant increase in expenses and substantial losses for the foreseeable future as we continue our development of, and seek regulatory approvals for our product candidates and commercialize any approved products, seek to expand our product pipeline and invest in our organization. In addition, we expect to continue to incur additional costs associated with operating as a public company, including significant legal, audit, accounting, regulatory, tax-related, director and officer insurance, investor relations and other expenses that we did not incur as a private company.

To date, we have funded our operations through the sale of our redeemable convertible preferred shares, convertible notes and sale of common stock in the IPO.

Cash and cash equivalents totaled $297.2 million as of September 30, 2021. Based on Day One’s current operating plan, management believes it has sufficient capital resources to fund anticipated operations into the second half of 2023. Because of the numerous risks and uncertainties associated with product development, we may never achieve profitability, and unless and until then, we will need to continue to raise additional capital. There are no assurances that we will be successful in obtaining an adequate level of financing to support our business plans. If we are unable to raise capital as and when needed or on attractive terms, we may have to significantly delay, reduce or discontinue the development and commercialization of our product candidates or scale back or terminate our pursuit of new in-licenses and acquisitions.

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

In consideration for the sale and assignment of assets and the grant of the license under the Takeda Asset Agreement, DOT-1 made an upfront payment of $1.0 million in cash and issued 9,857,143 shares of Series A redeemable convertible preferred stock in DOT-1. The fair value of issued shares was estimated as $9.9 million, based on the price paid by other investors for issued shares in the Series A financing of DOT-1 Therapeutics, Inc. Pursuant to the terms of the Millennium Stock Exchange Agreement, Takeda agreed to exchange the 9,857,143 shares of Series A redeemable convertible preferred stock of DOT-1, Inc. for 6,470,382 shares of the Company’s common stock pursuant to and contingent upon the effectiveness of the Conversion (refer to Note 1). During the nine months ended, September 30, 2021, the Company recorded a total of $10.9 million consideration for license and clinical supplies as research and development expenses.

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


costs associated with acquiring technology and intellectual property licenses that have no alternative future uses;

costs incurred under agreements with third-party contract research organizations, or CROs, CMOs and other third parties that conduct clinical trials on our behalf; and

other costs associated with our research and development programs, including laboratory materials and supplies.

Internal expenses include:


employee-related costs, including salaries, benefits and share-based compensation expense, for our research and development personnel; and

facilities and other overhead expenses, including expenses for rent and facilities maintenance, and amortization.

We expense research and development expenses as incurred. We track external costs by program, which currently consist of expenses for our DAY101 program and our pimasertib program. Our pimasertib product candidate was licensed from Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany in February 2021, and we did not have significant external costs for pimasertib during the three months ended September 30, 2021. In the future, external expenses for any additional clinical programs will separately be broken out. However, we do not track indirect costs on a program specific basis because these costs are deployed across multiple programs and, as such, are not separately classified.

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


the scope, rate of progress, expense and results of preclinical development activities, as well as of any future clinical trials of our product candidates, and other research and development activities we may conduct;

uncertainties in clinical trial design;


per patient trial costs;

the number of trials required for approval;

the number of sites included in the trials;

the number of patients that participate in the trials;

the countries in which the trials are conducted;

the length of time required to enroll eligible patients;

the drop-out or discontinuation rates of patients, particularly in light of the COVID-19 pandemic environment;

the safety and efficacy profiles of our product candidates;

The timing, receipt and terms of any approvals from applicable regulatory authorities, including the FDA, European Medicines Agency, Health Canada or other regulatory agencies of the investigational NDAs, clinical trial applications or other regulatory filings for DAY101 and future product candidates;

obtaining and maintaining intellectual property protection and regulatory exclusivity for our product candidates;

establishing clinical and commercial manufacturing capabilities or making arrangements with third-party manufacturers in order to ensure that we or our third-party manufacturers are able to make product successfully;

retention and expansion of a workforce of experienced scientists and others to continue research and development of our product candidates;

maintaining a continued acceptable safety profile of the products following any marketing approvals.

significant and changing government regulation and regulatory guidance;

the impact of any business interruptions to our operations or to those of the third parties with whom we work, particularly considering the COVID-19 pandemic environment; and

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

Results of operations

Comparison of three months ended September 30, 2021 and 2020

The following table summarizes our results of operations for the three months ended September 30, 2021 and 2020 (unaudited):

	Three Months Ended September 30,
	2021	2020	$ Change	% Change
Operating Expenses:
Research and development	$9,849	$2,537	$7,312	288%
General and administrative	9,392	1,024	8,368	817%
Total operating expenses	19,241	3,561	15,680	440%
Loss from operations	(19,241)	(3,561)	(15,680)	440%
Interest expense	(6)	(9)	3	-33%
Other expense	7	(1)	8	*
Changes in fair value of derivative tranche liability	—	(271)	271	*
Net loss and comprehensive loss	(19,240)	(3,842)	(15,398)	401%
Net loss attributable to redeemable convertible noncontrolling interests	—	(1,018)	1,018	*
Net loss attributable to common share members / common stockholders	$(19,240)	$(2,824)	$(16,416)	581%

Research and development expenses

Research and development expenses for the three months ended September 30, 2021 were $9.8 million, compared to $2.5 million for the three months ended September 30, 2020. Third-party expenses increased by $4.5 million in the three months ended September 30, 2021 as compared to September 30, 2020, due primarily to an increase in clinical trial, manufacturing, and other product development expenses. Our personnel related expenses increased by $2.7 million resulting from additional headcount, and stock-based compensation expense recognized in the three months ended September 30, 2021 compared to the same period in 2020. We expect that our research and development expenses will continue to increase to support our clinical development and licensing of new product candidates and hiring and expanding our internal research and developments operations.

The following table summarizes our external and internal research and development expenses for the three months ended September 30, 2021 and 2020:

	Three Months Ended September 30,
	2021	2020
	(in thousands)
External costs:
Third-party CRO, CMO and other third-party clinical trial costs (1)	$6,391	$1,845
Other research and development costs, including laboratory materials and supplies	36	3
Internal costs:
Employee related expenses	3,422	689
Total research and development expenses	$9,849	$2,537

(1)
Third-party CRO, CMO and other third-party clinical trial costs for DAY 101 program and pimasertib program were $6.2 million and $0.2 million for three months ended September 30, 2021. For the three months ended September 30, 2020, third-party CRO, CMO and other third-party clinical trial costs were attributable to the DAY101 program.

General and administrative expenses

General and administrative expenses increased $8.4 million, from $1.0 million for the three months ended September 30, 2020 to $9.4 million for the three months ended September 30, 2021. The increase in general and administrative expenses was primarily due to $5.1 million in employee compensation costs driven by headcount growth, approximately $3.0 million in legal and professional services driven by operational support and the cost of operating as a public company, and $0.3 million in facilities costs and other expenses.

Changes in fair value of derivative tranche liability

During three months ended September 30, 2020, we recorded $0.3 million expense relating to changes in the fair value of the derivative tranche liability which resulted from milestone closings of our Series A redeemable convertible preferred shares financing. As of December 31, 2020, the derivative tranche liability was settled and no expense recognized during the three months ended September 30, 2021.

Comparison of nine months ended September 30, 2021 and 2020

The following table summarizes our results of operations for the nine months ended September 30, 2021 and 2020 (unaudited):

	Nine Months Ended September 30,
	2021	2020	$ Change	% Change
Operating Expenses:
Research and development	$32,395	$4,935	$27,460	556.4%
General and administrative	18,373	2,703	15,670	579.7%
Total operating expenses	50,768	7,638	43,130	564.7%
Loss from operations	(50,768)	(7,638)	(43,130)	564.7%
Interest expense	(19)	(22)	3	-13.6%
Other expense	(29)	(5)	(24)	*
Changes in fair value of derivative tranche liability	—	(578)	578	-100.0%
Net loss and comprehensive loss	(50,816)	(8,243)	(42,573)	516.5%
Net loss attributable to redeemable convertible noncontrolling interests	(2,109)	(2,113)	4	-0.2%
Exchange of redeemable noncontrolling interest shares – deemed dividend	(99,994)		(99,994)	-100.0%
Net loss attributable to common share members /common stockholders	$(148,701)	$(6,130)	$(142,571)	2325.8%

Research and development expenses

Research and development expenses for the nine months ended September 30, 2021 were $32.4 million, compared to $4.9 million for the nine months ended September 30, 2020. We recorded $11.0 million in expenses related to the licensing agreements for DAY101 and pimasertib. Third-party expenses increased by $11.7 million in the nine months ended September 30, 2021 as compared to the nine months ended September 30, 2020, due primarily to an increase in clinical trial and product development expenses. Our personnel related expenses increased by $4.7 million resulting from additional headcount and stock-based compensation expenses. We expect that our research and development expenses will continue to increase as we ramp our clinical development activities, look to license new product candidates and hire additional talent for our expanding in research and developments operations.

The following table summarizes our external and internal research and development expenses for the nine months ended September 30, 2021 and 2020 (unaudited):

	Nine Months Ended September 30,
	2021	2020
	(in thousands)
External costs:
Research and development related to the MRKDG License Agreement	$8,000	$—
Third-party CRO, CMO and other third-party clinical trial costs	14,555	2,774
Milestone payment related to the Viracta License Agreement	3,000	—
Other research and development costs, including laboratory materials and supplies	55	60
Internal costs:
Employee related expenses	6,785	2,101
Total research and development expenses	$32,395	$4,935

(1)
Third-party CRO, CMO and other third-party clinical trial costs for DAY 101 program and pimasertib program were $13.9 million and $0.7 million for nine months ended September 30, 2021. For the nine months ended September 30, 2020, third-party CRO, CMO and other third-party clinical trial costs were attributable to the DAY101 program.

General and administrative expenses

General and administrative expenses increased $15.7 million, from $2.7 million for the nine months ended September 30, 2020 compared to $18.4 million for the nine months ended September 30, 2021. The increase in general and administrative expenses is primarily due to $9.0 million in employee compensation costs driven by headcount growth, $6.0 million in legal and professional services driven by operational support and the cost of operating as a public company, and $0.5 million in facilities costs and other expenses.

Changes in fair value of derivative tranche liability

During nine months ended September 30, 2020, we recognized $0.6 million expense for changes in fair value of derivative tranche liability related to the milestone-based closing of the Series A redeemable convertible preferred shares financing. As of December 31, 2020, the derivative tranche liability was settled and there was no such expense recognized during the nine months ended September 30, 2021.

Exchange of redeemable noncontrolling interest shares – deemed dividend

In May 2021, we exchanged Takeda’s redeemable noncontrolling interest shares in our subsidiary, DOT-1 Therapeutics Inc., for common stock of Day One Biopharmaceuticals, Inc. which resulted in accounting for the transaction as a deemed dividend. As such, we recognized a $100.0 million, non-cash, extinguishment loss to additional paid-in capital, which was calculated as a difference between the fair value of common stock issued to Takeda in the Conversion and the carrying value of the redeemable noncontrolling interest at the conversion date. This was disclosed below net loss on the income statement as a deemed dividend, and included in the net loss per share calculation for the nine months ended September 30, 2021. There was no such loss recognized during the nine months ended September 30, 2020.

Liquidity and capital resources

Sources of liquidity

On June 1, 2021, we completed our IPO and sold an aggregate of 11,500,000 shares of common stock at a price to the public of $16.00 per share, which included 1,500,000 shares issued upon the full exercise by the underwriters in May 2021 of their option to purchase additional shares of common stock. We received aggregate net proceeds from the IPO of $167.0 million, after deducting underwriting discounts, commissions, and offering costs of $17.0. Prior to our IPO, we had funded our operations through the sale of our redeemable convertible preferred shares and convertible notes. We had previously raised approximately $192.0 million in gross proceeds from the sale and issuance of our Series A and Series B redeemable convertible preferred shares and convertible notes. As of September 30, 2021, we had an accumulated deficit of $105.5 million and $297.2 million in cash and cash equivalents.

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

Cash flows

The following table summarizes our sources and uses of cash for the periods presented:

	Nine Months Ended September 30,
	2021	2020
Net cash used in operating activities	(35,370)	(7,551)
Cash used in investing activities	(8,000)	(93)
Net cash provided by financing activities	296,802	—
Net increase in cash	$253,432	$(7,644)

Operating activities

Net cash used in operating activities for the nine months ended September 30, 2021 was $35.4 million, consisting of our net loss of $50.8 million, net decrease of $0.9 million in net operating assets and liabilities, partially offset by non-cash charges of $16.4 million. Changes in operating assets and liabilities were primarily related to an increase in prepaid expenses and other current assets of $4.8 million, which includes $3.0 million prepayment of the Viracta license milestone, partially offset by an increase in accrued expenses and other current liabilities of $3.6 million. Our non-cash charges primarily consisted $8.2 million in share-based compensation expense. We also paid $8.0 million related to the MRKDG License Agreement, which was recognized as research and development expenses and presented in investing activities in our condensed consolidated cash flows.

Net cash used in operating activities for the nine months ended September 30, 2020 was $7.6 million, consisting of our net loss of $8.2 million, net decrease of $0.2 in net operating assets and liabilities, partially offset by an increase of $0.9 million in non-cash charges. Our non-cash charges primarily consisted of $0.6 million in expense as it relates to changes in fair value of derivative tranche liability and $0.2 million in share-based compensation expense.

Investing activities

Net cash used in investing activities for the nine months ended September 30, 2021 was $8.0 million, attributable to the payment under the MRKDG License Agreement.

Net cash used in investing activities for the nine months ended September 30, 2020 was $0.1 million, attributable to the purchases of property and equipment.

Financing activities

Net cash provided by financing activities for the nine months ended September 30, 2021 was $296.8 million, attributable to $167.0 million related to the net proceeds from the issuance of common stock in connection with the IPO, and $129.8 million related to the net proceeds from the sale and issuance of Series B redeemable convertible preferred shares. We had no net cash provided by financing activities for the nine months ended September 30, 2020.

Funding requirements

Since our inception, we have incurred significant operating losses. We expect to continue to incur significant expenses and increasing operating losses for the foreseeable future in connection with our ongoing activities.

Specifically, we anticipate that our expenses will increase substantially if and as we:


advance the clinical development of DAY101 and pimasertib;

pursue the clinical development of other potential research programs and product candidates;

in-license or acquire the rights to other products, product candidates or technologies;

seek regulatory and marketing approval for any product candidates that successfully complete clinical trials;


expand, maintain and protect our intellectual property portfolio;

increase our clinical, regulatory and scientific personnel; and

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


the progress, costs and results of our clinical trials for DAY101 and any future clinical development of DAY101;

the progress, costs and results of our clinical trials for product candidates containing and comprising pimasertib, including any combination trials of DAY101 and pimasertib;

the progress, costs and results of preclinical and clinical development for our future potential product candidates and development programs;

the costs, timing and outcome of regulatory review of DAY101, pimasertib and our other potential product candidates;

the costs and timing of future commercialization activities, including product manufacturing, marketing, sales and distribution, for DAY101, pimasertib and any of our potential product candidates for which we receive marketing approval;

the extent to which we pursue in-license or acquire rights to other products, product candidates or technologies;

our headcount growth and associated costs as we expand our business operations and research and development activities;

the costs and timing of preparing, filing and prosecuting patent applications, maintaining and protecting our intellectual property rights and defending any intellectual property-related claims;

our ability to establish collaboration arrangements to develop or commercialize our product candidates; and

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

Contractual obligations and commitments

There have been no other material changes in our contractual obligations and commitments during the three months ended September 30, 2021 from those described under the heading “Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations—Contractual Obligations and Commitments” in our final prospectus for our IPO filed pursuant to Rule 424(b)(4) under the Securities Act with the SEC on May 27, 2021.

We enter into contracts in the normal course of business with CROs for clinical trials, with CMOs for clinical supplies manufacturing and with other vendors for preclinical studies, supplies and other services and products for operating purposes. These contracts generally provide for termination on notice and may have a termination fees and non-cancellable commitments. As of September 30, 2021, there were no amounts accrued related to termination and cancellation charges as these are not probable and our non-cancelable obligations under these agreements were not material.

We entered into licensing agreements, which require us to pay milestones contingent upon meeting of specific events. In April 2021, we achieved a milestone related to Viracta License Agreement of $3.0 million. No other milestones were achieved, due or payable as of September 30, 2021. We are required to pay royalties on sales of products developed under these agreements. All our products are in development as of September 30, 2021 and no such royalties are due.

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

As of September 30, 2021, management, with the participation of our Principal Executive Officer and Principal Financial and Accounting Officer, performed an evaluation of the effectiveness of our disclosure controls and procedures as defined in Rules 13a-15(e) and 15d-15(e) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, or the Exchange Act. Our disclosure controls and procedures are designed to ensure that information required to be disclosed in the reports we file or submit under the Exchange Act is recorded, processed, summarized, and reported within the time periods specified in the SEC’s rules and forms, and that such information is accumulated and communicated to our management, including the Principal Executive Officer and the Principal Financial and Accounting Officer, to allow timely decisions regarding required disclosures. Any controls and procedures, no matter how well designed and operated, can provide only reasonable assurance of achieving the desired control objective and management necessarily applies its judgment in evaluating the cost-benefit relationship of possible controls and procedures. Based on this evaluation, our Principal Executive Officer and Principal Financial and Accounting Officer concluded that, as of September 30, 2021, our disclosure controls and procedures were effective at a reasonable assurance level.

Changes in Internal Control over Financial Reporting

There were no changes in our internal control over financial reporting that occurred during the quarter ended September 30, 2021 that have materially affected, or are reasonably likely to materially affect, our internal control over financial reporting.

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


We have a limited operating history, have not completed any clinical trials beyond Phase 1, have no products approved for commercial sale and have not generated any revenue, which may make it difficult for investors to evaluate our current business and likelihood of success and viability.

We have incurred significant net losses since our inception and have not generated any revenue. We expect to incur continued losses for the foreseeable future and may never achieve or maintain profitability.

Our ability to generate revenue and achieve profitability depends significantly on our ability to achieve several objectives relating to the discovery or identification, development and commercialization of our product candidates.

We will require substantial additional capital to finance our operations and achieve our goals. If we are unable to raise capital when needed or on terms acceptable to us, we may be forced to delay, reduce or eliminate our research or product development programs, any future commercialization efforts or other operations.

We are substantially dependent on the success of our lead product candidate, DAY101, which is currently in clinical development and which has not completed a pivotal trial.

Clinical trials are very expensive, time-consuming and difficult to design and implement, and involve uncertain outcomes. Furthermore, results of earlier preclinical studies and clinical trials may not be predictive of results of future preclinical studies or clinical trials. Our product candidates may not have favorable results in later clinical trials, if any, or receive regulatory approval.

We expect to rely on data from an investigator-initiated trial Phase 1 clinical trial in our regulatory filings and we do not control the trial operations or reporting of the results.

If we fail to demonstrate safety and efficacy to our stakeholders, our reputation may be harmed and our business will suffer.

The COVID-19 pandemic could adversely impact our business, including our clinical trials and clinical trial operations.

The development and commercialization of pharmaceutical products are subject to extensive regulation, and we may not obtain regulatory approvals for DAY101, pimasertib or any future product candidates, on a timely basis or at all.

The manufacture of our product candidates is complex. Our third-party manufacturers may encounter difficulties in production, which could delay or entirely halt their ability to supply our product candidates for clinical trials or, if approved, for commercial sale.

Our future success depends on our ability to retain our executive officers and key employees and to attract, retain and motivate qualified personnel and manage our human capital.


We will need to grow the size and capabilities of our organization, and we may experience difficulties in managing this growth.

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

Since our inception, we have focused substantially all of our efforts and financial resources on the clinical development of our lead product candidate, DAY101, initially for relapsed or progressive low-grade gliomas, or pLGGs, and our other current product candidate, pimasertib, an orally available small molecule inhibitor of MEK kinase, which we intend to use in combination with DAY101 for the treatment of RAS and RAF- dependent tumors. To date, we have financed our operations primarily through the sale and issuance of redeemable convertible preferred shares, convertible notes, and the completion of our initial public offering, or IPO.

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

We have incurred significant net losses in each reporting period since our inception, have not generated any revenue to date and have financed our operations principally through private placements of our redeemable convertible preferred shares, our convertible notes and the completion of our IPO. For the nine months ended September 30, 2021 and the year ended December 31, 2020, we reported a net loss and comprehensive loss of $50.8 million and $43.8 million, respectively. We had an accumulated deficit of $105.5 million as of September 30, 2021. We expect to incur increasing levels of operating losses for the foreseeable future, particularly as we advance DAY101 and pimasertib through clinical development. Our prior losses, combined with expected future losses, have had, and will continue to have, an adverse effect on our stockholders’ equity and working capital. We expect our research and development expenses to significantly increase in connection with our additional planned clinical trials for our lead product candidate and other product candidates, including our ongoing pivotal Phase 2 clinical trial for DAY101 (FIREFLY-1), our planned Phase 3 clinical trial of DAY101 as a potential frontline therapy in pLGG, our planned Phase 2 clinical trial of DAY101 in adult RAS/RAF-altered solid tumors and our planned Phase 1b/2 trial for DAY101 and pimasertib, and development of and subsequent Investigational New Drug Applications, or INDs, for any future product candidates we may choose to pursue. In addition, if we obtain marketing approval for DAY101, pimasertib, or another product candidate, we will incur significant sales, marketing and outsourced manufacturing expenses in connection with the commercialization of DAY101, pimasertib, or such other product candidate, respectively. We have also incurred, and will continue to incur, additional costs associated with operating as a public company.

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

Our business depends entirely on the successful discovery or identification, development and commercialization of product candidates. We have no products approved for commercial sale and do not anticipate generating any revenue from product sales for the next several years, if ever. We do not expect to generate significant revenue unless and until we obtain marketing approval for, and begin to sell, DAY101, pimasertib, or another product candidate. Our ability to generate revenue and achieve profitability depends on several factors, including, but not limited to, our ability to:


complete a successful pivotal Phase 2 trial with DAY101 that achieves a competitive, clinically meaningful target product profile;

initiate and complete a successful Phase 1b/2 trial of DAY101 as monotherapy and in combination with pimasertib in patients 12 years and older with tumors having activated RAF signaling;

initiate and successfully complete all safety, pharmacokinetic and other studies required to obtain U.S. and foreign marketing approval for DAY101 as a treatment for patients with pLGGs;

initiate and complete successful later-stage clinical trials that meet their clinical endpoints;

obtain favorable results from our clinical trials and apply for and obtain marketing approval for DAY101 and pimasertib from applicable regulatory authorities, including New Drug Applications, or NDAs, from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, or the FDA, and maintaining such approvals;

establish licenses, collaborations or strategic partnerships that may increase the value of our programs;

establish and maintain viable supply and manufacturing relationships with third parties that can provide adequate, in both amount and quality, products and services to support clinical development and meet the market demand for our product candidates, if approved;

successfully commercialize DAY101, pimasertib, and any future product candidates we may develop, if approved, by building a sales force or entering into collaborations with third parties;

satisfy any required post-marketing approval commitments to applicable regulatory authorities;

maintain a continued acceptable safety profile following any marketing approval of our product candidates;

identify, assess and develop new product candidates;

establish and maintain patent and trade secret protection or regulatory exclusivity for our product candidates; maintain an acceptable safety profile of our products, including pimasertib;

obtain, maintain, protect and defend our intellectual property portfolio;

address any competing therapies and technological and market developments;

achieve market acceptance of DAY101 or pimasertib and our other successful product candidates , if any, with patients, the medical community and third-party payors; and

attract, hire and retain qualified personnel.

To become and remain profitable, we must succeed in designing, developing and eventually commercializing products that generate significant revenue. This will require us to be successful in a range of challenging activities, including completing clinical trials for our product candidates, designing and/or acquiring additional product candidates, establishing arrangements with third parties for the manufacture of clinical supplies of our product candidates, obtaining marketing approval for our product candidates and manufacturing, or marketing and selling any products for which we may obtain marketing approval, if any. We are in the earlier stages of most of these activities. We may never succeed in these activities and, even if we do, may never generate revenues that are significant enough to achieve profitability.

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

Developing pharmaceutical products, including conducting preclinical studies and clinical trials, is a very time-consuming, expensive and uncertain process that takes years to complete. Our operations have consumed substantial amounts of cash since inception, and we expect our expenses to increase substantially in connection with our ongoing activities, particularly as we advance our lead product candidate, DAY101, pimasertib, and any future product candidates through clinical development. We expect increased expenses as we continue our research and development, initiate additional clinical trials seek to expand our product pipeline, seek marketing approval for our lead programs and future product candidates, if any and invest in our organization. In addition, if we obtain marketing approval for any of our product candidates, we expect to incur significant commercialization expenses related to product manufacturing, marketing, sales and distribution. Furthermore, we have incurred and will continue to incur additional costs associated with operating as a public company, such as acquiring and retaining experienced personnel, developing new information technology systems, and other costs associated with being a public company In addition, we expect to experience ongoing and additional costs related to preparing and filing patent applications, maintaining our intellectual property and potentially expanding our office facilities. Accordingly, we will need to obtain substantial additional funding in connection with our continuing operations.

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

We had $297.2 million in cash and cash equivalents as of September 30, 2021. We believe that our existing cash, and cash equivalents, will enable us to fund our operating expenses, and capital expenditure requirements into 2023. We have based this estimate on assumptions that may prove to be wrong, and we could use our capital resources sooner than we currently expect. Changes beyond our control may occur that would cause us to use our available capital before that time, including changes in and progress of our drug development activities and changes in regulation. Our future capital requirements will depend on many factors, including:


the progress, timing and results of preclinical studies and clinical trials for our current or any future product candidates;

the extent to which we develop, in-license or acquire other pipeline product candidates or technologies;

the number and development requirements of future product candidates that we may pursue, and other indications for our current product candidates that we may pursue;

the costs, timing and outcome of obtaining regulatory approvals of our current or future product candidates and any companion diagnostics we may pursue;

the scope and costs of making arrangements with third-party manufacturers, or establishing manufacturing capabilities, for both clinical and commercial supplies of our current or future product candidates;

the costs involved in growing our organization to the size needed to allow for the research, development and potential commercialization of our current or future product candidates;

to the extent we pursue strategic collaborations, including collaborations to commercialize DAY101, pimasertib, or any of our future pipeline product candidates, in any, our ability to establish and maintain collaborations on favorable terms, if at all, as well as the timing and amount of any milestone or royalty payments we are required to make or are eligible to receive under such collaborations or our current licenses;

the cost associated with commercializing any approved product candidates, including establishing sales, marketing, market access and distribution capabilities;


the cost associated with completing any post-marketing studies or trials required by the FDA or other regulatory authorities;

the revenue, if any, received from commercial sales of DAY101, pimasertib or any of our future product candidates if any are approved, or any future pipeline product candidates that receive marketing approval;

the costs of preparing, filing and prosecuting patent applications, maintaining and enforcing our intellectual property rights and defending intellectual property-related claims that we may become subject to, including any litigation costs and the outcome of such litigation; and

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

Our future success is highly dependent on our ability to timely complete successful clinical trials, obtain regulatory approval for, and then successfully commercialize, our product candidates. We are early in our development efforts and our lead product candidate, DAY101, is currently in a pivotal Phase 2 clinical trial. Our other current product candidate, pimasertib, is in an earlier stage of development. We currently have no products that are approved for sale in any jurisdiction. There can be no assurance that DAY101, pimasertib or any future product candidates we develop, if any, will achieve success in their clinical trials or obtain regulatory approval.

Our ability to generate product revenue, which we do not expect will occur for many years, if ever, will depend heavily on the successful development and eventual commercialization of our lead product candidate, DAY101. The success of DAY101, will depend on several factors, including the following:


successful and timely completion of current and future clinical trials resulting in attractive, competitive target product profiles;

acceptance of NDAs by the FDA or other similar clinical trial applications from foreign regulatory authorities for our future clinical trials for our pipeline product candidates;

timely and successful enrollment of patients in, and completion of, clinical trials with favorable results;

demonstration of safety, efficacy and acceptable risk-benefit profiles of our product candidates to the satisfaction of the FDA and foreign regulatory agencies and attractive to physicians, patients, advocates, payers and caregivers;


our ability, or that of our collaborators, to develop and obtain clearance or approval of companion diagnostics, on a timely basis, or at all, and an adequate supply of these companion diagnostics and access to these companion diagnostics that outpaces demand;

receipt and related terms of marketing approvals from applicable regulatory authorities, including the completion of any required post-marketing studies or trials and available funding to perform any post-marketing commitments;

raising additional funds necessary to complete clinical development of and commercialize our product candidates;

obtaining and maintaining patent, trade secret and other intellectual property protection and regulatory exclusivity for our product candidates;

making arrangements with third-party manufacturers, or establishing manufacturing capabilities, for both clinical and commercial supplies of our product candidates and ensuring a resilient, effective supply chain that produces supply that outpaces demand;

developing and implementing marketing and reimbursement strategies, as well as adequate demand forecasts for supply and sales planning;

establishing sales, marketing and distribution capabilities and launching commercial sales of our products, if and when approved, whether alone or in collaboration with others in a market where promotional sales approaches are rapidly moving to digital platforms and rep access to major institutions remains uncertain;

acceptance of our products, if and when approved, by patients, the medical community and third-party payors underpinned by adequate health economic data and a meaningful value proposition;

effectively competing with other therapies, including those that have not yet entered the market;

obtaining and maintaining third-party payor coverage and adequate reimbursement in both public and private payor spaces across multiple countries;

obtaining appropriate support from patient advocacy organizations;

effectively shaping the market in the early years following launch to help providers understand a new way of thinking about treating these patients;

addressing any delays in our clinical trials resulting from factors related to the COVID-19 pandemic or other major natural disaster or significant political event;

protecting and enforcing our rights in our intellectual property portfolio; and

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


failure of our product candidates in clinical trials to demonstrate safety and efficacy;

failure of our product candidates in clinical trials to demonstrate important functional, quality, or patient-reported outcomes;

receipt of feedback from regulatory authorities that requires us to modify the design of our clinical trials;

negative or inconclusive clinical trial results that may require us to conduct additional clinical trials or abandon certain research and/or drug development programs;

the number of patients required for clinical trials being larger than anticipated, enrollment in these clinical trials being slower than anticipated or participants dropping out of these clinical trials at a higher rate than anticipated;

third-party contractors failing to comply with regulatory requirements or meet their contractual obligations to us in a timely manner, or at all;

the suspension or termination of our clinical trials for various reasons, including non-compliance with regulatory requirements or a finding that our product candidates have undesirable side effects or other unexpected characteristics or risks;


the cost of clinical trials of our product candidates being greater than anticipated;

the supply or quality of our product candidates or other materials necessary to conduct clinical trials of our product candidates being insufficient or inadequate; and

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


be delayed in obtaining marketing approval, if at all;

obtain approval for indications or patient populations that are not as broad as intended or desired or may have restricted duration expectations or guidance;

obtain approval with labeling that includes significant use or distribution restrictions or safety warnings;

be subject to additional post-marketing testing requirements;

be required to perform additional clinical trials to support approval or be subject to additional post-marketing testing requirements;

have regulatory authorities withdraw, or suspend, their approval of the drug or impose restrictions on its distribution in the form of a modified risk evaluation and mitigation strategy, or REMS;

be subject to the addition of labeling statements, such as warnings or contraindications;

be subject to civil or criminal investigations and litigation; or

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


severity of the disease under investigation;

our ability to recruit clinical trial investigators of appropriate competencies and experience;

the incidence and prevalence of our target indications;

clinicians’ and patients’ awareness of, and perceptions as to the potential advantages and risks of our product candidates in relation to other available therapies, including any new drugs that may be approved for the indications we are investigating;

competing studies or trials with similar eligibility criteria;

invasive procedures required to enroll patients and to obtain evidence of the product candidate’s performance during the clinical trial;

availability and efficacy of approved medications for the disease under investigation;

eligibility criteria defined in the protocol for the trial in question;

the size and nature of the patient population required for analysis of the trial’s primary endpoints;

efforts to facilitate timely enrollment in clinical trials;

whether we are subject to a partial or full clinical hold on any of our clinical trials;

reluctance of physicians or patient advocacy organizations to encourage patient participation in clinical trials;

the ability to monitor patients adequately during and after treatment;

our ability to obtain and maintain patient consents; and

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

We expect to face competition from existing products and products in development for each of our programs. Drug discovery efforts focused on V600 mutations have led to clinical success in some cancers. Three BRAF inhibitors have been approved by the FDA for the treatment of tumors containing V600E or V600K mutations. These first-generation BRAF inhibitors, known more generally as Type I RAF inhibitors, are vemurafenib, marketed as Zelboraf® by Genentech; dabrafenib, marketed as Tafinlar® by Novartis; and encorafenib, marketed as Braftovi® by Pfizer. Dabrafinib, in combination with trametinib, is being evaluated in a Novartis-sponsored randomized Phase 2 clinical trial in newly-diagnosed patients with BRAF V600 mutant pLGG.

Four MEK inhibitors have been approved by the FDA. Three have been approved for the treatment of tumors containing BRAF V600E or V600K mutations, including cobimetinib, marketed as Cotellic® by Genentech; trametinib, marketed as Tafinlar® by Novartis; and binimetinib, marketed as Mektovi® by Pfizer. A fourth MEK inhibitor—selumetinib, marketed as Koselugo® by AstraZeneca, has been approved for the treatment of pediatric patients, 2 years of age and older, with neurofibromatosis type 1, or NF1, who have symptomatic, inoperable plexiform neurofibromas.

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


delays or difficulties in screening, enrolling and maintaining patients in our clinical trials;

delays or difficulties in clinical site initiation, including difficulties in recruiting clinical site investigators and clinical site staff;

diversion of healthcare resources away from the conduct of clinical trials, including the diversion of hospitals serving as our clinical trial sites and hospital staff supporting the conduct of our clinical trials as they prioritize resources towards addressing the COVID-19 pandemic;

inability or unwillingness of subjects to travel to the clinical trial sites;

delays, difficulties, or incompleteness in data collection and analysis and other related activities;

decreased implementation of protocol required clinical trial activities and quality of source data verification at clinical trial sites;

interruption of key clinical trial activities, such as clinical trial site monitoring, due to limitations on travel imposed or recommended by federal or state governments, employers and others;

limitations in employee resources that would otherwise be focused on the conduct of our clinical trials and our other research and development activities, including because of sickness of employees or their families or mitigation measures such as lock-downs and social distancing;

interruptions, difficulties or delays arising in our existing operations and company culture as a result of all of our employees working remotely, including those hired during the COVID-19 pandemic;

delays due to production shortages resulting from any events affecting supply or manufacturing capabilities domestically and abroad;

delays in receiving approval from local regulatory authorities to initiate our planned clinical trials;

delays in clinical sites receiving the supplies and materials needed to conduct our clinical trials;


interruption in global and domestic shipping that may affect the transport of clinical trial materials, such as investigational drug products used in our clinical trials;

changes in local regulations as part of a response to the COVID-19 pandemic, including as a result of the emergence and spread of variants of the COVID-19 virus, which may require us to change the ways in which our clinical trials are conducted, which may result in unexpected costs, delays, or to discontinue the clinical trials altogether;

delays in necessary interactions with local regulators, ethics committees and other important agencies and contractors due to limitations in employee resources or forced furlough of government employees;

refusal of regulatory authorities such as FDA to accept data from clinical trials in affected geographies; and

adverse impacts on global economic conditions which could have an adverse effect on our business and financial condition, including impairing our ability to raise capital when needed.

Such disruptions could impede, delay, limit or prevent completion of our ongoing clinical trials and future preclinical studies or commencement of new clinical trials and ultimately lead to the delay or denial of regulatory approval of our product candidates, which would seriously harm our operations and financial condition and increase our costs and expenses. We are in close contact with our contract research organizations, or CROs, contract manufacturing organizations, or CMOs, and clinical sites as we seek to mitigate the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on our studies and current timelines. Measures we have taken in response to the COVID-19 pandemic include, where feasible, conducting remote clinical trial site activations and data monitoring, and limiting on-site patient visits by adjusting patient assessments and protocol. While we have taken these and other measures to limit the impact of COVID-19 on our operations, we have experienced delays in trial site initiations, patient participation and patient enrollment in some of our clinical trials and we may continue to experience some delays in our clinical trials and preclinical studies and delays in data collection and analysis, and the measures we have taken in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, may themselves negatively impact our operations. These delays so far have had a limited impact, but this may change as the COVID-19 pandemic and the response to such COVID-19 pandemic continues to evolve, and could have an adverse impact on our timelines and our business. The COVID-19 pandemic could also affect the business of the FDA or other health authorities, which could result in delays in meetings related to planned or completed clinical trials and ultimately of reviews and approvals of our product candidates.

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

As is the case with pharmaceuticals generally, we have observed side effects and adverse events associated with our lead product candidate, DAY101 and our other product candidates. These side effects included acneiform rash, anemia, headache, muscle pain nausea and fatigue.

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


regulatory authorities may withdraw approval of the drug;

we may be required to recall a product or change the way the drug is administered to patients;

regulatory authorities may require additional warnings in the labeling, such as a contraindication or a boxed warning, or issue safety alerts, Dear Healthcare Provider letters, press releases or other communications containing warnings or other safety information about the product

we may be required to implement a REMS or create a medication guide outlining the risks of such side effects for distribution to patients;

additional restrictions may be imposed on the marketing or promotion of the particular product or the manufacturing processes for the product or any component thereof;

we could be sued and held liable for harm caused to patients;

we may be subject to regulatory investigations and government enforcement actions;

the drug could become less competitive; and

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


the efficacy, durability and safety profile as demonstrated in clinical trials compared to alternative treatments, in addition to functional, quality, or patient-reported outcomes;

the timing of market introduction of the product candidate as well as competitive products;

the clinical indications for which a product candidate is approved;

restrictions on the use of product candidates in the labeling approved by regulatory authorities, such as boxed warnings or contraindications in labeling, or a REMS, if any, which may not be required of alternative treatments and competitor products;

the potential and perceived advantages of our product candidates over alternative treatments;

the cost of treatment in relation to alternative treatments and the cost/benefit ratios of each;

the availability of coverage and adequate reimbursement by third-party payors, including government authorities, and timing of relevant formulary decision-making resulting in this coverage and reimbursement;

the availability of an approved product candidate for use as a combination therapy;

relative convenience and ease of administration in relation to competition;

the willingness of the target patient population (which may include willingness of our pediatric patients’ parents) to try new therapies and undergo required diagnostic screening to determine treatment eligibility and of physicians to prescribe these therapies and diagnostic tests;

the effectiveness of sales, marketing efforts and market access;

unfavorable publicity relating to our product candidates; and

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


may not deem our product candidate to be safe and effective;

determines that the product candidate does not have an acceptable benefit-risk profile;

determines in the case of an NDA seeking accelerated approval that the NDA does not provide evidence that the product candidate represents a meaningful advantage over available therapies;

determines that the ORR and duration of response are not clinically meaningful;

may not agree that the data collected from preclinical studies and clinical trials are acceptable or sufficient to support the submission of an NDA or other submission or to obtain regulatory approval, and may impose requirements for additional preclinical studies or clinical trials;

may determine that adverse events experienced by participants in our clinical trials represent an unacceptable level of risk;


may determine that the population studied in the clinical trial may not be sufficiently broad or representative to assure safety in the full population for which we seek approval;

may not accept clinical data from trials, which are conducted at clinical facilities or in countries where the standard of care is potentially different from that of the United States;

may disagree regarding the formulation, labeling and/or the specifications;

may not approve the manufacturing processes associated with our product candidate or may determine that a manufacturing facility does not have an acceptable compliance status;

may change approval policies or adopt new regulations; or

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


the trial or trials required to verify the predicted clinical benefit of our product candidate fail to verify such benefit or do not demonstrate sufficient clinical benefit to justify the risks associated with the drug;

other evidence demonstrates that our product candidate is not shown to be safe or effective under the conditions of use;

we fail to conduct any required post-approval trial of our product candidate with due diligence; or

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


litigation involving patients taking our products;

restrictions on such products, manufacturers or manufacturing processes;

restrictions on the labeling or marketing of a product;

restrictions on product distribution or use;

requirements to conduct post-marketing studies or clinical trials;

warning or untitled letters;

withdrawal of the products from the market;

refusal to approve pending applications or supplements to approved applications that we submit;

recall of products;

fines, restitution or disgorgement of profits or revenues;

suspension or withdrawal of marketing approvals;

damage to relationships with any potential collaborators;

unfavorable press coverage and damage to our reputation;

refusal to permit the import or export of our products;

product seizure; or

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


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

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


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

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

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

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


annual fees and taxes on manufacturers of certain branded prescription drugs;

an annual, nondeductible fee on any entity that manufactures or imports specified branded prescription drugs and biologic products;


a Medicare Part D coverage gap discount program, in which manufacturers must now agree to offer 70% point-of-sale discounts off negotiated prices of applicable brand drugs to eligible beneficiaries during their coverage gap period, as a condition for the manufacturer’s outpatient drugs to be covered under Medicare Part D;

a new methodology by which rebates owed by manufacturers under the Medicaid Drug Rebate Program are calculated for drugs that are inhaled, infused, instilled, implanted or injected;

an increase in the statutory minimum rebates a manufacturer must pay under the Medicaid Drug Rebate Program and extended the rebate program to individuals enrolled in Medicaid managed care organizations;

expansion of healthcare fraud and abuse laws, including the False Claims Act and the federal Anti-Kickback Statute, new government investigative powers, and enhanced penalties for noncompliance;

extension of manufacturers’ Medicaid rebate liability;

expansion of eligibility criteria for Medicaid programs;

expansion of the entities eligible for discounts under the Public Health Service pharmaceutical pricing program;

requirements to report financial arrangements with physicians, as defined by such law, and teaching hospitals;

a requirement to annually report drug samples that manufacturers and distributors provide to physicians; and

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

We do not have the ability to independently conduct all aspects of our clinical trials ourselves. As a result, we are dependent on third parties to conduct our ongoing and planned clinical trials of DAY101 and pimasertib, and any preclinical studies and clinical trials of any future product candidates. The timing of the initiation and completion of these trials will therefore be partially controlled by such third parties and may result in delays to our development programs. Specifically, we expect CROs, independent clinical investigators and consultants to play a significant role in the conduct of these trials and the subsequent collection and analysis of data. For example, in addition to the Phase 1 clinical trial run by Dana Farber Cancer Institute in collaboration with PNOC, the Children’s Oncology Group, a National Cancer Institute-supported clinical trials group and the world’s largest organization devoted exclusively to childhood and adolescent cancer research, is developing a group-wide clinical trial of DAY101 in relapsed Langerhans cell histiocytosis. However, these investigators, CROs and other third parties are not our employees, and we will not be able to control all aspects of their activities. Nevertheless, we are responsible for ensuring that each clinical trial is conducted in accordance with the applicable protocol and legal, regulatory and scientific standards, and our reliance on the investigators, CROs and other third parties does not relieve us of our regulatory responsibilities. We and our CROs are required to comply with GCP requirements, which are regulations and guidelines enforced by the FDA for product candidates in clinical development. Regulatory authorities enforce these GCP requirements through periodic inspections of trial sponsors, clinical trial investigators and clinical trial sites. If we or any of our

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


reliance on the third-party for regulatory, compliance and quality assurance;

reliance on the third-party for product development, analytical testing, and data generation to support regulatory applications;

operations of our third-party manufacturers or suppliers could be disrupted by conditions unrelated to our business or operations, including the bankruptcy of the manufacturer or supplier, the issuance of an FDA Form 483 notice or warning letter, or other enforcement action by FDA or other regulatory authority;

the possible breach of the manufacturing agreement by the third-party;

the possible misappropriation of our proprietary information, including our trade secrets and know-how;

the possible termination or nonrenewal of the agreement by the third-party at a time that is costly or inconvenient for us;

the possible termination or nonrenewal of the agreement by the third-party at a time that is costly or inconvenient for us;

carrier disruptions or increased costs that are beyond our control; and

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


collaborators have significant discretion in determining the efforts and resources that they will apply to these collaborations and may not perform their obligations as expected;

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

collaborators may delay clinical trials, provide insufficient funding for a clinical trial program, stop a clinical trial or abandon a product candidate, repeat or conduct new clinical trials or require a new formulation of a product candidate for clinical testing;

collaborators could independently develop, or develop with third parties, products that compete directly or indirectly with our products or product candidates if the collaborators believe that competitive products are more likely to be successfully developed or can be commercialized under terms that are more economically attractive than ours;

a collaborator with marketing and distribution rights to multiple products may not commit sufficient resources to the marketing and distribution of our product relative to other products;

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

disputes may arise between the collaborators and us that result in the delay or termination of the research, development or commercialization of our products or product candidates or that result in costly litigation or arbitration that diverts management attention and resources;

collaborations may be terminated and, if terminated, may result in a need for additional capital to pursue further development or commercialization of the applicable product candidates;


collaboration agreements may not lead to development or commercialization of product candidates in the most efficient manner or at all; and

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

We had 42 full-time employees as of September 30, 2021. We expect significant growth in the number of our employees and the scope of our operations, particularly in the areas of clinical development, clinical operations, manufacturing, regulatory affairs and, if any of our product candidates receives marketing approval, sales, marketing and distribution. To manage our anticipated future growth, we must continue to implement and improve our managerial, operational and financial systems, expand our facilities and continue to recruit and train additional qualified personnel. Due to our limited financial resources and the limited experience of our management team in managing a company with such anticipated growth and with developing sales, marketing and distribution infrastructure, we may not be able to effectively manage the expansion of our operations or recruit and train additional qualified personnel. The expansion of our operations may lead to significant costs and may divert our management and business development resources.

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


exposure to unknown liabilities;

disruption of our business and diversion of our management’s time and attention in order to develop acquired products, product candidates or technologies;

incurrence of substantial debt or dilutive issuances of equity securities to pay for acquisitions;

higher than expected acquisition and integration costs;

write-downs of assets or goodwill or impairment charges;

increased amortization expenses;

difficulty and cost in combining the operations, systems and personnel of any acquired businesses with our operations, systems and personnel;

impairment of relationships with key suppliers or customers of any acquired businesses due to changes in management and ownership; and

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


others may be able to develop products that are similar to our product candidates but that are not covered by the claims of the patents that we own or license;

we or our licensors or collaborators might not have been the first to make the inventions covered by the issued patents or patent application that we own or license;

we or our licensors or collaborators might not have been the first to file patent applications covering certain of our inventions;

others may independently develop similar or alternative technologies or duplicate any of our technologies without infringing our intellectual property rights;

it is possible that the pending patent applications we own or license will not lead to issued patents;

issued patents that we own or license may be held invalid or unenforceable, as a result of legal challenges by our competitors;

our competitors might conduct research and development activities in countries where we do not have patent rights and then use the information learned from such activities to develop competitive products for sale in our major commercial markets;

we may not develop additional proprietary technologies that are patentable;

the patents of others may have an adverse effect on our business;


we may fail to adequately protect and police our trademarks and trade secrets; and

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


result in costly litigation that may cause negative publicity;

divert the time and attention of our technical personnel and management;

cause development delays;

prevent us from commercializing any of our product candidates until the asserted patent expires or is held finally invalid or not infringed in a court of law;

require us to develop non-infringing technology, which may not be possible on a cost-effective basis;


subject us to significant liability to third parties; or

require us to enter into royalty or licensing agreements, which may not be available on commercially reasonable terms, or at all, or which might be non-exclusive, which could result in our competitors gaining access to the same technology.

Although no third-party has asserted a claim of patent infringement against us as of September 30,2021, others may hold proprietary rights that could prevent our product candidates from being marketed. It is possible that a third-party may assert a claim of patent infringement directed at any of our product candidates. Any patent-related legal action against us claiming damages and seeking to enjoin commercial activities relating to our product candidates, treatment indications, or processes could subject us to significant liability for damages, including treble damages if we were determined to willfully infringe, and require us to obtain a license to manufacture or market our product candidates. Defense of these claims, regardless of their merit, would involve substantial litigation expense and would be a substantial diversion of employee resources from our business. We cannot predict whether we would prevail in any such actions or that any license required under any of these patents would be made available on commercially acceptable terms, if at all. Moreover, even if we or our current and/or future strategic partners were able to obtain a license, the rights may be nonexclusive, which could result in our competitors gaining access to the same intellectual property. In addition, we cannot be certain that we could redesign our product candidates, treatment indications, or processes to avoid infringement, if necessary. Accordingly, an adverse determination in a judicial or administrative proceeding, or the failure to obtain necessary licenses, could prevent us from developing and commercializing our product candidates, which could harm our business, financial condition and operating results. In addition, intellectual property litigation, regardless of its outcome, may cause negative publicity and could prohibit us from marketing or otherwise commercializing our product candidates and technology.

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


lose our rights to develop and market our current product candidates;

lose patent or trade secret protection for our current product candidates;

experience significant delays in the development or commercialization of our current product candidates;

not be able to obtain any other licenses on acceptable terms, if at all; or

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


the scope of rights granted under the license agreement and other interpretation-related issues;

whether and the extent to which our technology and processes infringe on intellectual property of the licensor that is not subject to the licensing agreement;

our right to sublicense patent and other intellectual property rights to third parties under collaborative development relationships;

our diligence obligations with respect to the use of the licensed technology in relation to our development and commercialization of our product candidates, and what activities satisfy those diligence obligations;

the priority of invention of patented technology;

the ownership of inventions and know-how resulting from the joint creation or use of intellectual property by our licensors and us and our partners; and

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


variations in the level of expense related to the planned and ongoing development of our product candidates or future development programs, including scale-up CMC expenses;

our execution of any collaboration, licensing or similar arrangements, and the timing of payments we may make or receive under existing or future arrangements or the termination or modification of any such existing or future arrangements;

any intellectual property infringement lawsuit or opposition, interference or cancellation proceeding in which we may become involved;

additions and departures of key personnel;

strategic decisions by us or our competitors, such as acquisitions, divestitures, spin-offs, joint ventures, strategic investments or changes in business strategy;

if any of our product candidates receives regulatory approval, the terms of such approval and market acceptance and demand for such product candidates;

regulatory developments affecting our product candidates or those of our competitors; and

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


results of preclinical studies or clinical trials by us or those of our competitors or by existing or future collaborators or licensing partners;

the timing and enrollment status of our clinical trials;

changes in the development status of our product candidates, including variations in the level of expense related to the development of our programs or funding support by us or by existing or future collaborators or licensing partners;

regulatory or legal developments in the United States and other countries, especially changes in laws or regulations applicable to our business;

the success of competitive products or technologies;

introductions and announcements of new product candidates by us, our future collaboration partners, or our competitors, and the timing of these introductions or announcements;

actions taken by regulatory agencies with respect to our product candidates, clinical studies, manufacturing process or sales and marketing terms;

our execution of any collaboration, licensing or similar arrangements, and the timing of payments we may make or receive under existing or future arrangements or the termination or modification of any such existing or future arrangements;

actual or anticipated variations in our financial results or those of companies that are perceived to be similar to us;

the success of our efforts to acquire or in-license additional technologies or product candidates;

announced or completed significant acquisitions, strategic collaborations, joint ventures or capital commitments by us or our competitors;

developments or disputes concerning our intellectual property and proprietary rights;

the recruitment or departure of key personnel;

changes in the structure of healthcare payment systems;

actual or anticipated changes in earnings estimates or changes in stock market analyst recommendations regarding our common stock, other comparable companies or our industry generally;

our failure or the failure of our competitors to meet analysts’ projections or guidance that we or our competitors may give to the market;

speculation in the press or investment community;

share price and fluctuations of trading volume of our common stock;

fluctuations in the valuation of companies perceived by investors to be comparable to us;

sales of shares of our common stock by us, insiders or our stockholders;

our ability or inability to raise additional capital and the terms on which we raise it;

the concentrated ownership of our common stock;

changes in accounting principles;

natural disasters, terrorist acts, acts of war and other calamities; and

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


timing and variations in the level of expense related to the current or future development of our programs;

timing and status of enrollment for our clinical trials;

impacts from the COVID-19 pandemic on us or third parties with which we engage;

results of clinical trials, or the addition or termination of clinical trials or funding support by us or potential future partners;

our execution of any collaboration, licensing or similar arrangements, and the timing of payments we may make or receive under potential future arrangements or the termination or modification of any such potential future arrangements;

any intellectual property infringement, misappropriation or violation lawsuit or opposition, interference or cancellation proceeding in which we may become involved;

additions and departures of key personnel;

strategic decisions by us or our competitors, such as acquisitions, divestitures, spin-offs, joint ventures, strategic investments or changes in business strategy;

if any product candidate we may develop receive regulatory approval, the timing and terms of such approval and market acceptance and demand for such product candidates;

the timing and cost to establish a sales, marketing and distribution infrastructure to commercialize any products for which we may obtain marketing approval and intend to commercialize on our own or jointly with future collaborators;

regulatory developments affecting current or future product candidates or those of our competitors;

the amount of expense or gain associated with the change in value of the success payments and contingent consideration; and

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

Based on the beneficial ownership of our common stock as of October 31, 2021, our executive officers, directors, holders of 5% or more of our capital stock and their respective affiliates beneficially owned 73% of our voting stock. The voting power of this group may increase to the extent they convert shares of non-voting common stock they hold into common stock. As a result, these stockholders, if acting together, will continue to have significant influence over the outcome of corporate actions requiring stockholder approval, including the election of directors, amendment of our organizational documents, any merger, consolidation or sale of all or substantially all of our assets and any other significant corporate transaction. The interests of these stockholders may not be the same as or may even conflict with your interests. For example, these stockholders could delay or prevent a change of control of our company, even if such a change of control would benefit our other stockholders, which could deprive our stockholders of an opportunity to receive a premium for their common stock as part of a sale of our company or our assets and might affect the prevailing market price of our common stock.

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

We could be an emerging growth company for up to five fiscal years following the completion of the IPO; provided, however, certain circumstances could cause us to lose that status earlier, including if we are deemed to be a “large accelerated filer,” which occurs when the market value of our common stock that is held by non-affiliates equals or exceeds $700 million, if we have total annual gross revenue of $1.07 billion or more, or if we issue more than $1.0 billion in non-convertible debt during any three-year period before that time.

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


establish a classified board of directors so that not all members of our board are elected at one time;

permit only the board of directors to establish the number of directors and fill vacancies on the board;

provide that directors may only be removed “for cause” and only with the approval of two-thirds of our stockholders;

require super-majority voting to amend some provisions in our restated certificate of incorporation and restated bylaws;

authorize the issuance of “blank check” preferred stock that our board could use to implement a stockholder rights plan;

eliminate the ability of our stockholders to call special meetings of stockholders;

prohibit stockholder action by written consent, which requires all stockholder actions to be taken at a meeting of our stockholders;

prohibit cumulative voting; and

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

DAY ONE BIOPHARMACEUTICALS, INC.

Date: November 8, 2021	By:	/s/ Jeremy Bender, Ph.D., M.B.A.
Jeremy Bender, Ph.D., M.B.A.
Chief Executive Officer and President Principal Executive Officer

Date: November 8, 2021	By:	/s/ Charles N. York II, M.B.A.
Charles N. York II, M.B.A.
Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer Principal Executive Officer