Exhibit 99.1
Rover Announces Expiration of Hart-Scott-Rodino Waiting Period

SEATTLE, January 16, 2024 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Rover Group, Inc. (Nasdaq: ROVR) (“Rover” or the “Company”), the world’s largest online marketplace for pet care, today announced that the applicable waiting period under the Hart-Scott-Rodino Antitrust Improvements Act of 1976, as amended (the "HSR Act"), expired at 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on January 12, 2024. The expiration of the waiting period under the HSR Act was one of the conditions to the closing of the pending acquisition of Rover by private equity funds managed by Blackstone Inc. ("Blackstone") (such pending acquisition, collectively with the transactions contemplated by the Merger Agreement, the “Merger”) contemplated by the Agreement and Plan of Merger, dated as of November 29, 2023, between Rover, Biscuit Parent, LLC and Biscuit Merger Sub, LLC (the "Merger Agreement"). The transactions contemplated by the Merger Agreement remain subject to other customary closing conditions, including the adoption of the Merger Agreement and the approval of the Merger by Rover stockholders.
About Rover Group, Inc.
Founded in 2011 and based in Seattle, Rover (Nasdaq: ROVR) is the world’s largest online marketplace for pet care. Rover connects pet parents with pet providers who offer overnight services, including boarding and in-home pet sitting, as well as daytime services, including doggy daycare, dog walking, and drop-in visits. To learn more about Rover, please visit www.rover.com.
Cautionary Statement Regarding Forward-Looking Statements
This communication may contain forward-looking statements, which include all statements that do not relate solely to historical or current facts, such as statements regarding the Merger and the expected timing of the closing of the Merger and other statements that concern the Company’s expectations, intentions or strategies regarding the future. In some cases, you can identify forward-looking statements by the following words: “may,” “will,” “could,” “would,” “should,” “expect,” “intend,” “plan,” “anticipate,” “believe,” “estimate,” “predict,” “project,” “aim,” “potential,” “continue,” “ongoing,” “goal,” “can,” “seek,” “target” or the negative of these terms or other similar expressions, although not all forward-looking statements contain these words. These forward-looking statements are based on the Company’s beliefs, as well as assumptions made by, and information currently available to, the Company. Because such statements are based on expectations as to future financial and operating results and are not statements of fact, actual results may differ materially from those projected and are subject to a number of known and unknown risks and uncertainties, including, but not limited to: (i) the risk that the Merger may not be completed on the anticipated timeline or at all; (ii) the failure to satisfy any of the conditions to the consummation of the Merger, including the receipt of required approval from the Company’s stockholders and required regulatory approval; (iii) the occurrence of any event, change or other circumstance or condition that could give rise to the termination of the Merger Agreement with private equity funds managed by Blackstone, including in circumstances requiring the Company to pay a termination fee; (iv) the effect of the announcement or pendency of the Merger on the Company’s business relationships, operating results and business generally; (v) risks that the Merger disrupts the Company’s current plans and

operations; (vi) the Company’s ability to retain and hire key personnel and maintain relationships with key business partners and customers, and others with whom it does business; (vii) risks related to diverting management’s or employees’ attention during the pendency of the Merger from the Company’s ongoing business operations; (viii) the amount of costs, fees, charges or expenses resulting from the Merger; (ix) potential litigation relating to the Merger; (x) uncertainty as to timing of completion of the Merger and the ability of each party to consummate the Merger; (xi) risks that the benefits of the Merger are not realized when or as expected; (xii) the risk that the price of the Company’s Class A common stock may fluctuate during the pendency of the Merger and may decline significantly if the Merger is not completed; and (xiii) other risks described in the Company’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”), such as the risks and uncertainties described under the headings “Cautionary Note Regarding Forward-Looking Statements,” “Risk Factors,” “Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations” and other sections of the Company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K, the Company’s Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q, and in the Company’s other filings with the SEC. While the list of risks and uncertainties presented here is, and the discussion of risks and uncertainties presented in the preliminary proxy statement on Schedule 14A filed by the Company with the SEC on January 11, 2024 (the "Preliminary Proxy Statement") relating to its special meeting of stockholders are, considered representative, no such list or discussion should be considered a complete statement of all potential risks and uncertainties. Unlisted factors may present significant additional obstacles to the realization of forward-looking statements. Consequences of material differences in results as compared with those anticipated in the forward-looking statements could include, among other things, business disruption, operational problems, financial loss, legal liability to third parties and/or similar risks, any of which could have a material adverse effect on the completion of the Merger and/or the Company’s consolidated financial condition. The forward-looking statements speak only as of the date they are made. Except as required by applicable law or regulation, the Company undertakes no obligation to update any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.
The information that can be accessed through hyperlinks or website addresses included in this communication is deemed not to be incorporated in or part of this communication.
Additional Information and Where to Find It
On January 11, 2024, the Company filed the Preliminary Proxy Statement with the SEC relating to its special meeting of stockholders and may file or furnish other documents with the SEC regarding the Merger. When completed, a definitive proxy statement, together with a proxy card, will be mailed to the Company’s stockholders. STOCKHOLDERS ARE URGED TO CAREFULLY READ THE PROXY STATEMENT REGARDING THE MERGER (INCLUDING ANY AMENDMENTS OR SUPPLEMENTS THERETO AND ANY DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE THEREIN) AND ANY OTHER RELEVANT DOCUMENTS FILED OR FURNISHED WITH THE SEC IN THEIR ENTIRETY WHEN THEY BECOME AVAILABLE BECAUSE THEY WILL CONTAIN IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT THE MERGER. The Company’s stockholders may obtain free copies of the documents the Company files with the SEC from the SEC’s website at

www.sec.gov or through the Company’s website at investors.rover.com under the link “Financials” and then under the link “SEC Filings” or by contacting the Company’s Investor Relations department via e-mail at investorrelations@rover.com.
Participants in the Solicitation
The Company and its directors and executive officers, which consist of Adam Clammer, Jamie Cohen, Venky Ganesan, Greg Gottesman, Kristine Leslie, Scott Jacobson, Erik Prusch, Megan Siegler, who are the non-employee members of the Company’s Board of Directors, Aaron Easterly, the Company’s Chief Executive Officer and Chairperson of the Board of Directors, Brent Turner, the Company’s President and Chief Operating Officer, and Charlie Wickers, the Company’s Chief Financial Officer, are participants in the solicitation of proxies from the Company’s stockholders in connection with the Merger. Information regarding the Company’s directors and executive officers, including a description of their direct or indirect interests, by security holdings or otherwise, can be found under the captions "The Merger—Interests of Rover’s Directors and Executive Officers in the Merger" and “Security Ownership of Certain Beneficial Owners and Management" in the Preliminary Proxy Statement. To the extent that the Company’s directors and executive officers and their respective affiliates have acquired or disposed of security holdings since the applicable “as of” date disclosed in the Preliminary Proxy Statement, such transactions have been or will be reflected on Statements of Change in Ownership on Form 4 or amendments to beneficial ownership reports on Schedules 13D filed with the SEC. Other information regarding the participants in the proxy solicitation and a description of their interests will be contained in the definitive proxy statement and other relevant materials to be filed with the SEC in respect of the Merger when they become available. These documents and the Preliminary Proxy Statement can be obtained free of charge from the sources indicated above.
Contacts

FOR ROVER
Investors
Walter Ruddy
walter.ruddy@rover.com
(206) 715-2369

Media
Kristin Sandberg
pr@rover.com
(360) 510-6365