Population Health Investment Co., Inc. (CIK 1825724)
Form 10-Q
period 2022-09-30
filed 2022-11-10

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
12b-2
of the Exchange Act).    Yes  ☒    No  ☐
As of November 10, 2022, 17,250,000 shares of Class A ordinary shares, par value $0.0001 per share, and 4,312,500 shares of Class B ordinary shares, par value $0.0001 per share, were issued and outstanding.

Population Health Investment Co., Inc.

Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q

PART
I-FINANCIAL
INFORMATION
Item 1. Condensed Financial Statements.
POPULATION HEALTH INVESTMENT CO., INC.
CONDENSED BALANCE SHEETS

	September 30, 2022	December 31, 2021
	(Unaudited)
Assets
Current assets:
Cash	$35,998	$247,444
Prepaid expenses	73,216	400,482

Total current assets	109,214	647,926
Investments held in Trust Account	173,633,865	172,536,317

Total Assets	$173,743,079	$173,184,243

Liabilities, Class A Ordinary Shares Subject to Possible Redemption and Shareholders’ Deficit
Current liabilities:
Accounts payable	$—	$29,583
Accrued expenses	645,725	513,360
Note payable - related party	300,000	300,000

Total current liabilities	945,725	842,943
Deferred underwriting commissions	6,037,500	6,037,500
Derivative warrant liabilities	281,500	4,879,330
Due to related party	289,943	246,938

Total liabilities	7,554,668	12,006,711
Commitments and Contingencies
Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption, $0.0001 par value; 17,250,000 shares at $10.06 and $10.00 per share redemption value at September 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021	173,533,865	172,500,000
Shareholders’ Deficit
Preference shares, $0.0001 par value; 1,000,000 shares authorized; none issued or outstanding at September 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021	—	—
Class A ordinary shares, $0.0001 par value; 300,000,000 shares authorized; no non-redeemable shares issued or outstanding at September 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021	—	—
Class B ordinary shares, $0.0001 par value; 30,000,000 shares authorized; 4,312,500 shares issued and outstanding at September 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021	431	431
Additional paid-in capital	—	—
Accumulated deficit	(7,345,885)	(11,322,899)

Total shareholders’ deficit	(7,345,454)	(11,322,468)

Total Liabilities, Class A Ordinary Shares Subject to Possible Redemption and Shareholders’ Deficit	$173,743,079	$173,184,243

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these unaudited condensed financial statements.

POPULATION HEALTH INVESTMENT CO., INC.
UNAUDITED CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS

	For The Three Months Ended September 30,		For The Nine Months Ended September 30,
	2022	2021	2022	2021
General and administrative expenses	$211,418	$525,460	$684,499	$1,239,868

Loss from operations	(211,418)	(525,460)	(684,499)	(1,239,868)
Other income
Change in fair value of derivative warrant liabilities	844,500	3,753,330	4,597,830	5,196,670
Net gain from investments held in Trust Account	818,948	15,148	1,097,548	21,527

Net income	$1,452,030	$3,243,018	$5,010,879	$3,978,329

Weighted average shares outstanding of Class A ordinary shares, basic and diluted	17,250,000	17,250,000	17,250,000	17,250,000

Basic and diluted net income per share, Class A ordinary shares	$0.07	$0.15	$0.23	$0.18

Weighted average shares outstanding of Class B ordinary shares, basic and diluted	4,312,500	4,312,500	4,312,500	4,312,500

Basic and diluted net income per share, Class B ordinary shares	$0.07	$0.15	$0.23	$0.18

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these unaudited condensed financial statements.

POPULATION HEALTH INVESTMENT CO., INC.
UNAUDITED CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF CHANGES IN SHAREHOLDERS’ DEFICIT
For The Three and Nine Months Ended September 30, 2022

	Ordinary Shares				Additional Paid-in Capital	Accumulated Deficit	Total Shareholders’ Deficit
	Class A		Class B
	Shares	Amount	Shares	Amount
Balance - December 31, 2021	—	$—	4,312,500	$431	$—	$(11,322,899)	$(11,322,468)
Net income	—	—	—	—	—	1,886,512	1,886,512

Balance - March 31, 2022 (Unaudited)	—	—	4,312,500	431	—	(9,436,387)	(9,435,956)
Increase in redemption value of Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption	—	—	—	—	—	(214,917)	(214,917)
Net income	—	—	—	—	—	1,672,337	1,672,337

Balance - June 30, 2022 (Unaudited)	—	—	4,312,500	431	—	(7,978,967)	(7,978,536)
Increase in redemption value of Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption	—	—	—	—	—	(818,948)	(818,948)
Net income	—	—	—	—	—	1,452,030	1,452,030

Balance - September 30, 2022 (Unaudited)	—	$—	4,312,500	$431	$—	$(7,345,885)	$(7,345,454)

For The Three and Nine Months Ended September 30, 2021

	Ordinary Shares				Additional Paid-in Capital	Accumulated Deficit	Total Shareholders’ Deficit
	Class A		Class B
	Shares	Amount	Shares	Amount
Balance - December 31, 2020	—	$—	4,312,500	$431	$—	$(17,178,261)	$(17,177,830)
Net income	—	—	—	—	—	1,785,072	1,785,072

Balance - March 31, 2021 (Unaudited)	—	—	4,312,500	431	—	(15,393,189)	(15,392,758)
Net loss	—	—	—	—	—	(1,049,761)	(1,049,761)

Balance - June 30, 2021 (Unaudited)	—	—	4,312,500	431	—	(16,442,950)	(16,442,519)
Net income	—	—	—	—	—	3,243,018	3,243,018

Balance - September 30, 2021 (Unaudited)	—	$—	4,312,500	$431	$—	$(13,199,932)	$(13,199,501)

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these unaudited condensed financial statements.

POPULATION HEALTH INVESTMENT CO., INC.
UNAUDITED CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS

	For The Nine Months Ended September 30,
	2022	2021
Cash Flows from Operating Activities:
Net income	$5,010,879	$3,978,329
Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash used in operating activities:
Net gain from investments held in Trust Account	(1,097,548)	(21,527)
Change in fair value of derivative warrant liabilities	(4,597,830)	(5,196,670)
Changes in operating assets and liabilities:
Prepaid expenses	327,266	341,590
Accounts payable	(29,583)	(68,216)
Accrued expenses	132,365	411,000
Due to related party	43,005	246,938

Net cash used in operating activities	(211,446)	(308,556)

Net change in cash	(211,446)	(308,556)
Cash - beginning of the period	247,444	681,243

Cash - end of the period	$35,998	$372,687

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
Liquidity and Going Concern
As of September 30, 2022, the Company had approximately $36,000 in its operating bank accounts and a working capital deficit of approximately $837,000.
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
The
fair value of warrants issued in connection with the Company’s Initial Public Offering and Private Placement was initially measured at fair value using a Monte Carlo simulation model. The fair value of warrants issued in connection with the Company’s Initial Public Offering has subsequently been measured based on the quoted market price of such warrants. As of September 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021, the Company determined the fair value of the Private Placement Warrants by reference to the Public Warrants listed trading price. As the transfer of Private Placement Warrants to anyone who is not a permitted transferee would result in the Private Placement Warrants having substantially the same terms as the Public Warrant, the Company determined that the fair of each Private Placement Warrants is equivalent to that of each Public Warrant. The determination of the fair value of the warrant liability may be subject to change as more current information becomes available and accordingly the actual results could differ significantly. Derivative warrant liabilities are classified as
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

The Company is considered an exempted Cayman Islands company and is presently not subject to income taxes or income tax filing requirements in the Cayman Islands or the United States. As such, the Company’s tax provision was zero for the periods presented. The Company’s management does not expect that the total amount of unrecognized
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

	For The Three Months Ended September 30,				For The Nine Months Ended September 30,
	2022		2021		2022		2021
	Class A	Class B	Class A	Class B	Class A	Class B	Class A	Class B
Basic and diluted net income per ordinary share:
Numerator:
Allocation of net income	1,161,624	290,406	2,594,414	648,604	4,008,703	1,002,176	3,182,663	795,666
Denominator:
Basic and diluted weighted average ordinary shares outstanding	17,250,000	4,312,500	17,250,000	4,312,500	17,250,000	4,312,500	17,250,000	4,312,500

Basic and diluted net income per ordinary share	$0.07	$0.07	$0.15	$0.15	$0.23	$0.23	$0.18	$0.18

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
NOTE 4. RELATED PARTY TRANSACTIONS
Founder Shares

POPULATION HEALTH INVESTMENT CO., INC.
NOTES TO UNAUDITED CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

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
Due to Related Party
As of September 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021, the Sponsor incurred approximately $290,000 and $247,000, respectively, in advisory services on behalf of the Company’s search for a prospective Business Combination, as presented as due to related party on the accompanying condensed balance sheets. Pursuant to letter agreements between the Company and the Sponsor, the amount is payable within 30 days of the initial Business Combination. If the Company does not consummate a Business Combination on or prior to November 19, 2022, the Company will not be required to pay.

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
NOTE 6. DERIVATIVE WARRANT LIABILITIES
As of September 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021, the Company has 5,750,000 and 3,633,333 of Public Warrants and Private Placement Warrants, respectively, outstanding.

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
The Company’s Class A ordinary shares feature certain redemption rights that are considered to be outside of the Company’s control and subject to the occurrence of future events. The Company is authorized to issue 300,000,000 ordinary shares with a par value of $0.0001 per share. Holders of the Company’s Class A ordinary shares are entitled to one vote for each share. As of September 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021, there were 17,250,000 Class A ordinary shares outstanding, all of which were subject to possible redemption.
Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption reflected on the condensed balance sheets are reconciled on the following table:

Gross proceeds	$172,500,000
Less:
Fair value of Public Warrants at issuance	(6,531,260)
Offering costs allocated to Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption	(9,769,025)
Plus:
Accretion on Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption amount	16,300,285

Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption, December 31, 2021	172,500,000
Increase in redemption value of Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption amount	1,033,865

Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption, September 30, 2022	$173,533,865

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
Class
 A Ordinary Shares
-The Company is authorized to issue 300,000,000 Class A ordinary shares with a par value of $0.0001 per share. As of September 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021, there were 17,250,000 Class A ordinary shares issued and outstanding, all of which were subject to possible redemption and classified as temporary equity (see Note 7).
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
one-to-one.
NOTE 9. FAIR VALUE MEASUREMENTS
The following tables present information about the Company’s assets and liabilities that are measured at fair value on a recurring basis and indicate the fair value hierarchy of the valuation techniques that the Company utilized to determine such fair value:
September 30, 2022

Description	Quoted Prices in Active Markets (Level 1)	Significant Other Observable Inputs (Level 2)	Significant Other Unobservable Inputs (Level 3)
Assets:
Investments held in Trust Account-Money Market Fund	$2,394	$—	$—
Investments held in Trust Account-U.S. Treasury Securities	$173,631,471	$—	$—
Liabilities:
Derivative warrant liabilities-Public	$—	$172,500	$—
Derivative warrant liabilities-Private	$—	$109,000	$—

POPULATION HEALTH INVESTMENT CO., INC.
NOTES TO UNAUDITED CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

December 31, 2021

Description	Quoted Prices in Active Markets (Level 1)	Significant Other Observable Inputs (Level 2)	Significant Other Unobservable Inputs (Level 3)
Assets:
Investments held in Trust Account-U.S. Treasury Securities (1)	$172,535,823	$—	$—
Liabilities:
Derivative warrant liabilities-Public	$2,990,000	$—	$—
Derivative warrant liabilities-Private	$—	$1,889,330	$—
(1) Excludes $494 of cash balance held within the Trust Account.
Transfers to/from Levels 1, 2, and 3 are recognized at the beginning of the reporting period. The estimated fair value of the Public Warrants transferred from a Level 3 measurement to a Level 1 fair value measurement in January 2021, when the Public Warrants were separately listed and traded. The estimated fair value of Public Warrants was transferred from a Level 1 measurement to a Level 2 measurement due to lack of trading activity as of June 30, 2022 and September 30, 2022. There were no other transfers between levels during the nine months ended September 30, 2022 and 2021.
Level 1 assets instruments include investments in U.S. Treasury Bills and money market funds invested in government securities. The Company uses inputs such as actual trade data, benchmark yields, quoted market prices from dealers or brokers, and other similar sources to determine the fair value of these investments.
The fair value of the Public Warrants issued in connection with the Public Offering and Private Placement Warrants were initially measured at fair value using a Monte Carlo simulation model. The fair value of Public Warrants issued in connection with the Company’s Initial Public Offering has subsequently been measured based on the quoted market price of such warrants since January 2021. As of September 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021, the fair value of the Private Placement Warrants has been estimated by reference to the listed trading price of the Public Warrants price, a Level 2 measurement. As the transfer of Private Placement Warrants to anyone who is not a permitted transferee would result in the Private Placement Warrants having substantially the same terms as the Public Warrant, the Company determined that the fair of each Private Placement Warrants is equivalent to that of each Public Warrant.
For the three months ended September 30, 2022 and 2021, the Company recognized income of approximately $845,000 and $3.8 million, respectively, resulting from a decrease in the fair value of the warrant liabilities, presented as change in fair value of derivative warrant liabilities on the accompanying unaudited condensed statements of operations. For the nine months ended September 30, 2022 and 2021, the Company recognized income of approximately $4.6 million and $5.2 million, respectively, resulting from a decrease in the fair value of the warrant liabilities, presented as change in fair value of derivative warrant liabilities on the accompanying unaudited condensed statements of operations.
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

If we have not completed a Business Combination within 24 months from the closing of the Initial Public Offering, or November 20, 2022 (the “Combination Period”), we will (i) cease all operations except for the purpose of winding up; (ii) as promptly as reasonably possible but not more than ten business days thereafter, redeem the Public Shares, at a per-share price, payable in cash, equal to the aggregate amount then on deposit in the Trust Account, including interest earned on the funds held in the Trust Account and not previously released to the Company to pay its income taxes, if any (less up to $100,000 of interest to pay dissolution expenses), divided by the number of the then-outstanding Public Shares, which redemption will completely extinguish Public Shareholders’ rights as shareholders (including the right to receive further liquidation distributions, if any); and (iii) as promptly as reasonably possible following such redemption, subject to the approval of the remaining shareholders and the board of directors, liquidate and dissolve, subject in the case of clauses (ii) and (iii) to the Company’s obligations under Cayman Islands law to provide for claims of creditors and the requirements of other applicable law. As of November 10, 2022, we are not in any discussions with any party with respect to a potential initial business combination. As a result, we currently believe that we will likely redeem our Public Shares and liquidate and dissolve as discussed above.

Liquidity and Going Concern

As of September 30, 2022, we had approximately $36,000 in our operating bank accounts and working capital deficit of approximately $837,000.

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

In connection with the Company’s assessment of going concern considerations in accordance with FASB Accounting Standards Update (“ASU”) 2014-15, “Disclosure of Uncertainties about an Entity’s Ability to Continue as a Going Concern,” management has determined that the liquidity condition, the date of the mandatory liquidation and subsequent dissolution as well as a working deficit raises substantial doubt about the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern. No adjustments have been made to the carrying amounts of assets or liabilities should the Company be required to liquidate after November 20, 2022. Management continues to seek to complete a Business Combination prior to the mandatory liquidation date. As of November 10, 2022, we are not in any discussions with any party with respect to a potential initial business combination. As a result, we currently believe that we will likely redeem our Public Shares and liquidate and dissolve.

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

Results of Operations

Our entire activity from inception up to September 30, 2022 was in preparation for our formation and the preparation of our Initial Public Offering, and since the closing of our Initial Public Offering, the search for a prospective initial Business Combination. We will not be generating any operating revenues until the closing and completion of our initial Business Combination, at the earliest.

For the three months ended September 30, 2022, we had net income of approximately $1.5 million, which consisted of approximately $845,000 in change in fair value of derivative warrant liabilities, and approximately $819,000 in net gain from investments held in Trust Account, partially offset by approximately $211,000 in general and administrative expenses.

For the three months ended September 30, 2021, we had net income of approximately $3.2 million, which consisted of approximately $3.8 million in change in fair value of derivative warrant liabilities, approximately $15,000 in net gain from investments held in Trust Account, partially offset by approximately $525,000 in general and administrative expenses.

For the nine months ended September 30, 2022, we had net income of approximately $5.0 million, which consisted of approximately $4.6 million in change in fair value of derivative warrant liabilities, and approximately $1.1 million in net gain from investments held in Trust Account, partially offset by approximately $684,000 in general and administrative expenses.

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

The preparation of financial statements in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America requires management to make estimates and judgments that affect the reported amounts of assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses. A summary of our significant accounting policies is included in Note 2 to our condensed financial statements in Part I, Item 1 of this Quarterly Report. Certain of our accounting policies are considered critical, as these policies are the most important to the depiction of our condensed financial statements and require significant, difficult or complex judgments, often employing the use of estimates about the effects of matters that are inherently uncertain. Such policies are summarized in the Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations section in our 2021 Annual Report on Form 10-K filed with the SEC on March 30, 2022. There have been no significant changes in the application of our critical accounting policies during the nine months ended September 30, 2022.

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

Under the supervision and with the participation of our management, including our principal executive officer and principal financial officer, we conducted an evaluation of the effectiveness of our disclosure controls and procedures as of the end of the fiscal quarter ended September 30, 2022, as such term is defined in Rules 13a-15(e) and 15d-15(e) under the Exchange Act. Based on this evaluation, our principal executive officer and principal financial officer has concluded that during the period covered by this Quarterly Report, our disclosure controls and procedures were effective as of September 30, 2022.

Changes in Internal Control over Financial Reporting

There was no change in our internal control over financial reporting that occurred during the fiscal quarter ended September 30, 2022, covered by this Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q that has materially affected, or is reasonably likely to materially affect, our internal control over financial reporting.

PART II-OTHER INFORMATION

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

As of November 10, 2022, we are not in any discussions with any party with respect to a potential initial business combination. As a result, we currently believe that we will likely redeem our Public Shares and liquidate and dissolve.

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

Date: November 10, 2022

POPULATION HEALTH INVESTMENT CO., INC.

By:	/s/ Chris Visioli
Name:	Chris Visioli
Title:	Chief Financial Officer
(Principal Financial and Accounting Officer)