Ivanhoe Capital Acquisition Corp. (CIK 1819142)
Form 10-Q
period 2021-03-31
filed 2021-06-14

UNITED STATES

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

Washington, D.C. 20549

FORM 10-Q

☒	QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the quarterly period ended March 31, 2021

OR

☐	TRANSITION REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the transition period from                  to

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.
(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)

Cayman Islands	001-39845	N/A
(State or other jurisdiction of incorporation or organization)	(Commission File Number)	(IRS Employer Identification No.)

1177 Avenue of the Americas, 5th Floor New York, NY	10036
(Address Of Principal Executive Offices)	(Zip Code)

+65 6337 1818
Registrant’s telephone number, including area code

Not Applicable
(Former name or former address, if changed since last report)

Securities registered pursuant to Section 12(b) of the Act:

Title of Each Class:	Trading Symbol:	Name of Each Exchange on Which Registered:
Units, each consisting of one Class A Ordinary Share, 0.0001 par value, and one-third of one redeemable warrant	IVAN.U	The New York Stock Exchange
Class A Ordinary Shares included as part of the units	IVAN	The New York Stock Exchange
Redeemable warrants included as part of the units, each whole warrant exercisable for one Class A Ordinary Share at an exercise price of 11.50	IVAN WS	The New York Stock Exchange

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant (1) has filed all reports required to be filed by Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to file such reports), and (2) has been subject to such filing requirements for the past 90 days. Yes ◻  No ⌧

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant has submitted electronically every Interactive Data File required to be submitted pursuant to Rule 405 of Regulation S-T (§232.405 of this chapter) during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to submit such files). Yes ⌧  No ◻

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is a large accelerated filer, an accelerated filer, a non-accelerated filer, smaller reporting company, or an emerging growth company. See the definitions of “large accelerated filer,” “accelerated filer,” “smaller reporting company,” and “emerging growth company” in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act.

Large accelerated filer	◻	Accelerated filer	◻
Non-accelerated filer	⌧	Smaller reporting company	☒
Emerging growth company	☒

If an emerging growth company, indicate by check mark if the registrant has elected not to use the extended transition period for complying with any new or revised financial accounting standards provided pursuant to Section 13(a) of the Exchange Act. ☐

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is a shell company (as defined in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act). Yes ☒  No ◻

As of  June 14, 2021, 27,600,000 Class A ordinary shares, par value $0.0001 per share, and 6,900,000 Class B ordinary shares, par value $0.0001 per share, were issued and outstanding, respectively.

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

Form 10-Q

For the Quarter Ended March 31, 2021

PART I. FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Item 1.   Financial Statements

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

CONDENSED BALANCE SHEETS

	March 31, 2021	December 31, 2020
	(Unaudited)
Assets
Current assets:
Cash	$133,515	$161,271
Prepaid expenses	1,078,502	—
Total current assets	1,212,017	161,271
Investments held in Trust Account	276,044,513	—
Deferred offering costs associated with the initial public offering	—	413,039
Total Assets	$277,256,530	$574,310

Liabilities and Shareholders' Equity (Deficit)
Current liabilities:
Accounts payable	$62,898	$13,785
Accrued expenses	122,511	68,346
Accrued expenses - related party	1,659	—
Note payable - related party	—	500,000
Total current liabilities	187,068	582,131
Deferred underwriting commissions	9,660,000	—
Derivative warrant liabilities	19,488,800	—
Total liabilities	29,335,868	582,131

Commitments and Contingencies

Class A ordinary shares, $0.0001 par value; 24,292,066 shares subject to possible redemption at $10.00 per share as of March 31, 2021	242,920,660	—

Shareholders' Equity (Deficit):
Preference shares, $0.0001 par value; 1,000,000 shares authorized; none issued and outstanding	—	—
Class A ordinary shares, $0.0001 par value; 200,000,000 shares authorized; 3,307,934 shares issued and outstanding (excluding 24,292,066 shares subject to possible redemption) as March of 31, 2021	331	—
Class B ordinary shares, $0.0001 par value; 20,000,000 shares authorized; 6,900,000 shares issued and outstanding as of March 31, 2021 and December 31, 2020	690	690
Additional paid-in capital	3,503,723	24,310
Retained earnings (accumulated deficit)	1,495,258	(32,821)
Total shareholders' equity (deficit)	5,000,002	(7,821)
Total Liabilities and Shareholders' Equity (Deficit)	$277,256,530	$574,310

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these unaudited condensed financial statements.

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

CONDENSED STATEMENT OF OPERATIONS

FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2021

(Unaudited)

General and administrative expenses	$290,590
General and administrative expenses - related party	30,000
Total operating expenses	(320,590)
Other income (expense)
Income from investments held in Trust Account	44,512
Change in fair value of derivative warrant liabilities	2,659,200
Transaction costs - derivative warrant liabilities	(855,043)
Net income	$1,528,079

Basic and diluted weighted average shares outstanding, Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption	27,600,000

Basic and diluted net income per ordinary share, Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption	$—

Basic and diluted weighted average ordinary shares outstanding, Class B ordinary shares	6,800,000

Basic and diluted net income per ordinary share, Class B ordinary shares	$0.22

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these unaudited condensed financial statements.

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

CONDENSED STATEMENT OF CHANGES IN SHAREHOLDERS’ EQUITY (DEFICIT)

FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2021

(Unaudited)

	Ordinary Shares				Additional		Total
	Class A		Class B		Paid-in	Retained Earnings	Shareholders’
	Shares	Amount	Shares	Amount	Capital	(Accumulated Deficit)	Equity (Deficit)
Balance — December 31, 2020	—	$—	6,900,000	$690	$24,310	$(32,821)	$(7,821)
Sale of units in initial public offering, net of fair value of public warrants	27,600,000	2,760	—	—	261,369,240	—	261,372,000
Offering costs	—	—	—	—	(14,971,596)	—	(14,971,596)
Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption	(24,292,066)	(2,429)	—	—	(242,918,231)	—	(242,920,660)
Net income	—	—	—	—	—	1,528,079	1,528,079
Balance — March 31, 2021 (unaudited)	3,307,934	$331	6,900,000	$690	$3,503,723	$1,495,258	$5,000,002

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these unaudited condensed financial statements.

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

CONDENSED STATEMENT OF CASH FLOWS

FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2021

(Unaudited)

Cash Flows from Operating Activities:
Net income	$1,528,079
Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash used in operating activities:
Income from investments held in Trust Account	(44,512)
Change in fair value of derivative warrant liabilities	(2,659,200)
Transaction costs - derivative warrant liabilities	855,043
Changes in operating assets and liabilities:
Prepaid expenses	(1,078,502)
Accounts payable	49,113
Accrued expenses	11,298
Accrued expenses - related party	1,659
Net cash used in operating activities	(1,337,022)

Cash Flows from Investing Activities:
Cash deposited in Trust Account	(276,000,000)
Net cash used in investing activities	(276,000,000)

Cash Flows from Financing Activities:
Payment of note payable to related party	(500,000)
Proceeds received from initial public offering, gross	276,000,000
Proceeds received from private placement	7,520,000
Offering costs paid	(5,710,734)
Net cash provided by financing activities	277,309,266

Net change in cash	(27,756)
Cash — beginning of the period	161,271
Cash — end of the period	$133,515

Supplemental disclosure of noncash investing and financing activities:
Reversal of offering costs included in accrued expenses in prior year	$(42,133)
Offering costs included in accrued expenses	$85,000
Deferred underwriting commissions	$9,660,000
Initial value of Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption	$240,513,990
Change in value of Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption	$2,406,670

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these unaudited condensed financial statements.

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

(Unaudited)

Note 1 — Description of Organization and Business Operations

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

As of March 31, 2021, the Company had not yet commenced operations. All activity for the period from July 8, 2020 (inception) through March 31, 2021 relates to the Company’s formation and the initial public offering (the “Initial Public Offering”), which is described below.

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

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

(Unaudited)

earned on the funds held in the Trust Account and not previously released to the Company to pay its tax obligations). The per-share amount to be distributed to Public Shareholders who redeem their Public Shares will not be reduced by the deferred underwriting commissions the Company will pay to the underwriters (as discussed in Note 6). These Public Shares will be recorded at a redemption value and classified as temporary equity upon the completion of the Initial Public Offering, in accordance with the Financial Accounting Standards Board’s (“FASB”) Accounting Standards Codification (“ASC”) Topic 480 “Distinguishing Liabilities from Equity.” In such case, the Company will proceed with a Business Combination if the Company has net tangible assets of at least $5,000,001 upon such consummation of a Business Combination and a majority of the shares voted are voted in favor of the Business Combination. If a shareholder vote is not required by law and the Company does not decide to hold a shareholder vote for business or other legal reasons, the Company will, pursuant to the amended and restated memorandum and articles of association which will be adopted by the Company upon the consummation of the Initial Public Offering (the “Amended and Restated Memorandum and Articles of Association”), conduct the redemptions pursuant to the tender offer rules of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”), and file tender offer documents with the SEC prior to completing a Business Combination. If, however, a shareholder approval of the transactions is required by law, or the Company decides to obtain shareholder approval for business or legal reasons, the Company will offer to redeem shares in conjunction with a proxy solicitation pursuant to the proxy rules and not pursuant to the tender offer rules. Additionally, each Public Shareholder may elect to redeem their Public Shares irrespective of whether they vote for or against the proposed transaction. If the Company seeks shareholder approval in connection with a Business Combination, the holders of the Founder Shares prior to the Initial Public Offering (the “Initial Shareholders”) have agreed to vote their Founder Shares (as defined in Note 5) and any Public Shares purchased during or after the Initial Public Offering in favor of a Business Combination. In addition, the Initial Shareholders have agreed to waive their redemption rights with respect to their Founder Shares and Public Shares in connection with the completion of a Business Combination. In addition, the Company has agreed not to enter into a definitive agreement regarding an initial Business Combination without the prior consent of the Sponsor.

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

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

(Unaudited)

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

Liquidity and capital resources

As of March 31, 2021, the Company had approximately $134,000 in its operating bank account, and working capital of approximately $1.0 million.

The Company’s liquidity needs to date have been satisfied through a contribution of $25,000 from Sponsor to cover certain expenses in exchange for the issuance of the Founder Shares, a loan of $500,000 from the Sponsor pursuant to the Note (see Note 5), and the proceeds from the consummation of the Private Placement not held in the Trust Account. The Company repaid the Note in full on January 15, 2021. In addition, in order to finance transaction costs in connection with a Business Combination, the Sponsor or an affiliate of the Sponsor, or certain of the Company’s officers and directors may, but are not obligated to, provide the Company Working Capital Loans (as defined in Note 5). As of March 31, 2021, there were no amounts outstanding under any Working Capital Loans.

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

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

(Unaudited)

Note 2 — Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

Basis of Presentation

The accompanying unaudited condensed financial statements are presented in U.S. dollars in conformity with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America (“GAAP”) for financial information and pursuant to the rules and regulations of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”). Accordingly, they do not include all of the information and footnotes required by GAAP. In the opinion of management, the unaudited condensed financial statements reflect all adjustments, which include only normal recurring adjustments, necessary for the fair statement of the balances and results for the period presented. Operating results for the three months ended March 31, 2021 are not necessarily indicative of the results that may be expected through December 31, 2021.

The accompanying unaudited condensed financial statements should be read in conjunction with the audited financial statements and notes thereto included in the Annual Report on Form 10-K filed by the Company with the SEC on March 31, 2021.

Emerging Growth Company

The Company is an “emerging growth company,” as defined in Section 2(a) of the Securities Act, as modified by the Jumpstart Our Business Startups Act of 2012 (the “JOBS Act”), and it may take advantage of certain exemptions from various reporting requirements that are applicable to other public companies that are not emerging growth companies including, but not limited to, not being required to comply with the independent registered public accounting firm attestation requirements of Section 404 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, reduced disclosure obligations regarding executive compensation in its periodic reports and proxy statements, and exemptions from the requirements of holding a nonbinding advisory vote on executive compensation and shareholder approval of any golden parachute payments not previously approved.

Further, Section 102(b)(1) of the JOBS Act exempts emerging growth companies from being required to comply with new or revised financial accounting standards until private companies (that is, those that have not had a Securities Act registration statement declared effective or do not have a class of securities registered under the Exchange Act) are required to comply with the new or revised financial accounting standards. The JOBS Act provides that an emerging growth company can elect to opt out of the extended transition period and comply with the requirements that apply to non-emerging growth companies but any such an election to opt out is irrevocable. The Company has elected not to opt out of such extended transition period, which means that when a standard is issued or revised and it has different application dates for public or private companies, the Company, as an emerging growth company, can adopt the new or revised standard at the time private companies adopt the new or revised standard.

This may make comparison of the Company’s unaudited condensed financial statements with another public company that is neither an emerging growth company nor an emerging growth company that has opted out of using the extended transition period difficult or impossible because of the potential differences in accounting standards used.

Use of Estimates

The preparation of unaudited condensed financial statements in conformity with GAAP requires the Company’s management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of assets and liabilities and disclosure of contingent assets and liabilities at the date of the unaudited condensed financial statements and the reported amounts of revenues and expenses during the reporting period. Making estimates requires management to exercise significant judgment. It is at least reasonably possible that the estimate of the effect of a condition, situation or set of circumstances that existed at the date of the unaudited condensed financial statements, which management considered in formulating its

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

(Unaudited)

estimate, could change in the near term due to one or more future confirming events. One of the more significant accounting estimates included in these unaudited condensed financial statements is the determination of the fair value of the warrant liabilities. Such estimates may be subject to change as more current information becomes available and accordingly the actual results could differ significantly from those estimates.

Cash and Cash Equivalents

The Company considers all short-term investments with an original maturity of three months or less when purchased to be cash equivalents. The Company had no cash equivalents as of March 31, 2021 and December 31, 2020.

Concentration of Credit Risk

Financial instruments that potentially subject the Company to concentrations of credit risk consist of cash accounts in a financial institution, which, at times, may exceed the Federal Depository Insurance Corporation coverage limits of $250,000 and any cash held in Trust Account. The Company has not experienced losses on these accounts and management believes the Company is not exposed to significant risks on such account.

Investments Held in Trust Account

The Company’s portfolio of investments is comprised solely of U.S. government securities, within the meaning set forth in Section 2(a)(16) of the Investment Company Act, with a maturity of 185 days or less, or investments in money market funds that invest in U.S. government securities, or a combination thereof. The Company’s investments held in the Trust Account are classified as trading securities. Trading securities are presented on the balance sheet at fair value at the end of each reporting period. Gains and losses resulting from the change in fair value of these securities is included in investment income on Trust Account in the accompanying unaudited condensed statement of operations. The estimated fair values of investments held in the Trust Account are determined using available market information.

Fair Value Measurements

Fair value is defined as the price that would be received for sale of an asset or paid for transfer of a liability, in an orderly transaction between market participants at the measurement date. GAAP establishes a three-tier fair value hierarchy, which prioritizes the inputs used in measuring fair value. The hierarchy gives the highest priority to unadjusted quoted prices in active markets for identical assets or liabilities (Level 1 measurements) and the lowest priority to unobservable inputs (Level 3 measurements). These tiers include:

●	Level 1, defined as observable inputs such as quoted prices (unadjusted) for identical instruments in active markets;
●	Level 2, defined as inputs other than quoted prices in active markets that are either directly or indirectly observable such as quoted prices for similar instruments in active markets or quoted prices for identical or similar instruments in markets that are not active; and
●	Level 3, defined as unobservable inputs in which little or no market data exists, therefore requiring an entity to develop its own assumptions, such as valuations derived from valuation techniques in which one or more significant inputs or significant value drivers are unobservable.

In some circumstances, the inputs used to measure fair value might be categorized within different levels of the fair value hierarchy. In those instances, the fair value measurement is categorized in its entirety in the fair value hierarchy based on the lowest level input that is significant to the fair value measurement.

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

(Unaudited)

As of March 31, 2021 and December 31, 2020, the carrying values of cash, prepaid expense, accounts payable, accrued expenses, accrued expenses to related party and note payable to related party approximate their fair values due to the short-term nature of the instruments.

Derivative warrant liabilities

The Company does not use derivative instruments to hedge exposures to cash flow, market, or foreign currency risks. The Company evaluates all of its financial instruments, including issued stock purchase warrants, to determine if such instruments are derivatives or contain features that qualify as embedded derivatives, pursuant to ASC Topic 480 “Distinguishing Liabilities from Equity” (“ASC 480”) and ASC Subtopic 815-15 “Derivatives and Hedging — Embedded Derivatives” (“ASC 815”). The classification of derivative instruments, including whether such instruments should be recorded as liabilities or as equity, is re-assessed at the end of each reporting period.

The 9,200,000 warrants issued in connection with the Initial Public Offering (the “Public Warrants”) and the 5,013,333 Private Placement Warrants (as defined in Note 4) (collectively, the “Warrant”) are recognized as derivative liabilities in accordance with ASC 815-40. Accordingly, the Company recognizes the warrant instruments as liabilities at fair value and adjusts the instruments to fair value at each reporting period. The liabilities are subject to re-measurement at each balance sheet date until exercised, and any change in fair value is recognized in the Company’s statement of operations. The fair value of the Public Warrants issued in connection with the Initial Public Offering and Private Placement Warrants were initially measured at fair value using a Monte Carlo simulation model and subsequently, the fair value of the Private Placement Warrants have been estimated using a Monte Carlo simulation model each measurement date. The fair value of Public Warrants issued in connection with the Initial Public Offering have subsequently been measured based on the listed market price of such warrants.

Offering Costs Associated with the Initial Public Offering

Offering costs consisted of legal, accounting, underwriting fees and other costs incurred through the Initial Public Offering that were directly related to the Initial Public Offering.  Offering costs are allocated to the separable financial instruments issued in the Initial Public Offering based on a relative fair value basis, compared to total proceeds received.  Offering costs associated with warrant liabilities are expensed as incurred and presented as non-operating expenses in the statement of operations.  Offering costs associated with the Class A ordinary shares were charged to shareholders’ equity (deficit) upon the completion of the Initial Public Offering. For the three months ended March 31, 2021, of the total offering costs of the Initial Public Offering, approximately $855,000 is included in transaction cost - derivative warrant liabilities in the unaudited condensed statement of operations and approximately $15.0 million is included in the unaudited condensed statement of changes in shareholders’ equity (deficit).

Class A Ordinary Shares Subject to Possible Redemption

The Company accounts for its Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption in accordance with the guidance in ASC Topic 480 “Distinguishing Liabilities from Equity.” Class A ordinary shares subject to mandatory redemption (if any) are classified as liability instruments and are measured at fair value. Conditionally redeemable Class A ordinary shares (including Class A ordinary shares that feature redemption rights that are either within the control of the holder or subject to redemption upon the occurrence of uncertain events not solely within the Company’s control) are classified as temporary equity. At all other times, Class A ordinary shares are classified as shareholders’ equity. The Company’s Class A ordinary shares feature certain redemption rights that are considered to be outside of the Company’s control and subject to the occurrence of uncertain future events. Accordingly, as of March 31, 2021, 24,292,066 Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption are presented as temporary equity, outside of the shareholders’ equity (deficit) section of the unaudited condensed Company’s balance sheet.

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

(Unaudited)

Income Taxes

The Company complies with the accounting and reporting requirements of FASB ASC Topic 740, “Income Taxes,” which prescribes a recognition threshold and a measurement attribute for the financial statement recognition and measurement of tax positions taken or expected to be taken in a tax return. For those benefits to be recognized, a tax position must be more-likely-than-not to be sustained upon examination by taxing authorities. The Company’s management determined that the Cayman Islands is the Company’s only major tax jurisdiction. The Company recognizes accrued interest and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits as income tax expense. There were no unrecognized tax benefits and no amounts accrued for interest and penalties as of March 31, 2021. The Company is currently not aware of any issues under review that could result in significant payments, accruals or material deviation from its position.

There is currently no taxation imposed on income by the Government of the Cayman Islands. In accordance with Cayman federal income tax regulations, income taxes are not levied on the Company. Consequently, income taxes are not reflected in the Company’s unaudited condensed financial statement. The Company’s management does not expect that the total amount of unrecognized tax benefits will materially change over the next twelve months.

Net Income (Loss) Per Ordinary Share

Net income (loss) per ordinary share is computed by dividing net income (loss) by the weighted-average number of ordinary shares outstanding during the period. The Company has not considered the effect of the warrants underlying the Units sold in the Initial Public Offering (including the consummation of the Over-allotment) and the private placement warrants to purchase an aggregate of 14,213,333 Class A ordinary shares in the calculation of diluted income per share, because their inclusion would be anti-dilutive under the treasury stock method.

The Company’s unaudited condensed statement of operations include a presentation of income per share for ordinary shares subject to redemption in a manner similar to the two-class method of income per share. Net income per share, basic and diluted for Class A ordinary shares for the three months ended March 31, 2021 is calculated by dividing the income from investments held in the Trust Account of approximately $45,000, by the weighted average number of Class A ordinary shares outstanding for the period.

Net income per share, basic and diluted for Class B ordinary shares for the three months ended March 31, 2021 is calculated by dividing the net income of approximately $1.5 million, less net income attributable to Class A ordinary shares of approximately $45,000, resulting in a net income of approximately $1.5 million, by the weighted average number of Class B ordinary shares outstanding for the period.

Recent Accounting Standards

In August 2020, the FASB issued Accounting Standards Update (“ASU”) No. 2020-06, Debt --debt with Conversion and Other Options (Subtopic 470-20) and Derivatives and Hedging --Contracts in Entity’ Own Equity (Subtopic 815-40): Accounting for Convertible Instruments and Contracts in an Entity’ Own Equity (“ASU 2020-06”), which simplifies accounting for convertible instruments by removing major separation models required under current GAAP. The ASU also removes certain settlement conditions that are required for equity-linked contracts to qualify for the derivative scope exception, and it simplifies the diluted earnings per share calculation in certain areas. The Company adopted ASU 2020-06 on January 1, 2021. Adoption of the ASU did not impact the Company’s financial position, results of operations or cash flows.

The Company’s management does not believe that any other recently issued, but not yet effective, accounting standards if currently adopted would have a material effect on the accompanying unaudited condensed financial statements.

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

(Unaudited)

Note 3 — Initial Public Offering

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

Note 4 — Private Placement

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

Note 5 — Related Party Transactions

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

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

(Unaudited)

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

In addition, in order to finance transaction costs in connection with a Business Combination, the Sponsor, members of the Company’s founding team or any of their affiliates may, but are not obligated to, loan the Company funds as may be required (“Working Capital Loans”). If the Company completes a Business Combination, the Company would repay the Working Capital Loans out of the proceeds of the Trust Account released to the Company. Otherwise, the Working Capital Loans would be repaid only out of funds held outside the Trust Account. In the event that a Business Combination does not close, the Company may use a portion of proceeds held outside the Trust Account to repay the Working Capital Loans but no proceeds held in the Trust Account would be used to repay the Working Capital Loans. The Working Capital Loans would either be repaid upon consummation of a Business Combination, without interest, or, at the lenders’ discretion, up to $1.5 million of such Working Capital Loans may be convertible into warrants of the post Business Combination entity at a price of $1.50 per warrant. The warrants would be identical to the Private Placement Warrants. Except for the foregoing, the terms of such Working Capital Loans, if any, have not been determined and no written agreements exist with respect to such loans. As of March 31, 2021, the Company had no borrowings under the Working Capital Loans.

On April 9, 2021, the Company issued an unsecured convertible promissory note (the “Convertible Note”) to the Company’s Chief Executive Officer, Robert Friedland (“Mr. Friedland”), pursuant to which the Company may borrow up to $1,500,000 from Mr. Friedland for ongoing expenses reasonably related to the business of the Company and the consummation of the Business Combination. The Convertible Note does not bear any interest. All unpaid principal under the Convertible Note will be due and payable in full on the earlier of (i) January 11, 2023 and (ii) the effective date of the Business Combination (such earlier date, the “Maturity Date”). Mr. Friedland will have the option, at any time on or prior to the Maturity Date, to convert any amounts outstanding under the Convertible Note into warrants to purchase the Company's Class A ordinary shares, par value $0.0001 per share, at a conversion price of $1.50 per warrant, with each warrant entitling the holder to purchase one Class A ordinary share at a price of $11.50 per share, subject to the same adjustments applicable to the private placement warrants sold concurrently with the Company’s initial public offering. On April 16, 2021, the Company borrowed $500,000 under the Convertible Note.

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

(Unaudited)

Administrative Services Agreement

Commencing on the date that the Company’s securities were first listed on the NYSE through the earlier of consummation of the initial Business Combination and the liquidation, the Company agreed to pay the Sponsor $10,000 per month for office space, utilities, secretarial and administrative support services provided to members of the management team. Administrative expenses were included within general and administrative expenses - related party in the unaudited condensed statement of operations. For the three months ended March 31, 2021, the Company incurred $30,000 in administrative expenses. As of March 31, 2021, the full amount is paid.

In addition, the Sponsor, officers and directors, or any of their respective affiliates will be reimbursed for any out-of-pocket expenses incurred in connection with activities on the Company’s behalf such as identifying potential target businesses and performing due diligence on suitable Business Combinations. The Company’s audit committee will review on a quarterly basis all payments that were made to the Sponsor, officers or directors, or the Company’s or their affiliates. Any such payments prior to an initial Business Combination will be made from funds held outside the Trust Account. As of March 31, 2021, approximately $2,000 is included in accrued expenses to related party on the accompanying unaudited condensed balance sheets.

Note 6 — Commitments and Contingencies

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

Underwriting Agreement

The Company granted the underwriters a 45-day option from the date of the Initial Public Offering prospectus to purchase up to 3,600,000 additional Units at the Initial Public Offering price less the underwriting discounts and commissions. On January 11, 2021, the underwriter fully exercised its over-allotment option.

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

Risks and Uncertainties

Management continues to evaluate the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the industry and has concluded that while it is reasonably possible that the virus could have a negative effect on the Company’s financial position, results of its operations and/or search for a target company, the specific impact is not readily determinable as of the date of these unaudited condensed financial statements. The unaudited condensed financial statements do not include any adjustments that might result from the outcome of this uncertainty.

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

(Unaudited)

Note 7 — Derivative Warrant Liabilities

As of March 31, 2021, the Company had 9,200,000 Public Warrants and 5,013,333 Private Warrants outstanding.

Public Warrants may only be exercised for a whole number of shares. No fractional Public Warrants will be issued upon separation of the Units and only whole Public Warrants will trade. The Public Warrants will become exercisable on the later of (a) 30 days after the completion of a Business Combination or (b) 12 months from the closing of the Initial Public Offering; provided in each case that the Company has an effective registration statement under the Securities Act covering the Class A ordinary shares issuable upon exercise of the Public Warrants and a current prospectus relating to them is available and such shares are registered, qualified or exempt from registration under the securities, or blue sky, laws of the state of residence of the holder (or the Company permit holders to exercise their warrants on a cashless basis under certain circumstances). The Company has agreed that as soon as practicable, but in no event later than 15 business days after the closing of the initial Business Combination, the Company will use commercially reasonable efforts to file with the SEC and have an effective registration statement covering the Class A ordinary shares issuable upon exercise of the warrants and to maintain a current prospectus relating to those Class A ordinary shares until the warrants expire or are redeemed, as specified in the warrant agreement. If a registration statement covering the Class A ordinary shares issuable upon exercise of the warrants is not effective by the 60th day after the closing of the initial Business Combination, warrant holders may, until such time as there is an effective registration statement and during any period when the Company will have failed to maintain an effective registration statement, exercise warrants on a “cashless basis” in accordance with Section 3(a)(9) of the Securities Act or another exemption. Notwithstanding the above, if the Class A ordinary shares are at the time of any exercise of a warrant not listed on a national securities exchange such that they satisfy the definition of a “covered security” under Section 18(b)(1) of the Securities Act, the Company may, at its option, require holders of Public Warrants who exercise their warrants to do so on a “cashless basis” and, in the event the Company so elects, the Company will not be required to file or maintain in effect a registration statement, and in the event the Company does not so elect, it will use commercially reasonable efforts to register or qualify the shares under applicable blue sky laws to the extent an exemption is not available.

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

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

(Unaudited)

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

●	in whole and not in part;
●	at a price of $0.01 per warrant;
●	upon a minimum of 30 days’ prior written notice of redemption to each warrant holder; and
●	if, and only if, the last reported sale price (the “closing price”) of Class A ordinary shares equals or exceeds $18.00 per share (as adjusted) for any 20 trading days within a 30-trading day period ending on the third trading day prior to the date on which the Company sends the notice of redemption to the warrant holders.

The Company will not redeem the warrants as described above unless a registration statement under the Securities Act covering the Class A ordinary shares issuable upon exercise of the warrants is then effective and a current prospectus relating to those Class A ordinary shares is available throughout the 30-day redemption period.

Redemption of warrants when the price per Class A ordinary share equals or exceeds $10.00:

Once the warrants become exercisable, the Company may redeem the outstanding warrants:

●	in whole and not in part;
●	at $0.10 per warrant upon a minimum of 30 days’ prior written notice of redemption provided that holders will be able to exercise their warrants on a cashless basis prior to redemption and receive that number of Class A ordinary shares to be determined by reference to an agreed table based on the redemption date and the “fair market value” of Class A ordinary shares; and
●	if, and only if, the closing price of Class A ordinary shares equals or exceeds $10.00 per share (as adjusted) for any 20 trading days within the 30-trading day period ending three trading days before the Company sends the notice of redemption to the warrant holders.

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

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

(Unaudited)

Note 8 — Shareholders’ Equity (Deficit)

Preference Shares—The Company is authorized to issue 1,000,000 preference shares with a par value of $0.0001 per share. As of March 31, 2021 and December 31, 2020, there were no preference shares issued or outstanding.

Class A Ordinary Shares—The Company is authorized to issue 200,000,000 Class A ordinary shares with a par value of $0.0001 per share. Holders of the Company’s Class A ordinary shares are entitled to one vote for each share. As of March 31, 2021, there were 3,307,934 Class A ordinary shares issued and outstanding, excluding 24,292,066 Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption.

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

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

(Unaudited)

Note 9 — Fair Value Measurements

The following table presents information about the Company’s financial assets and liabilities that are measured at fair value.

March 31, 2021

	Quoted Prices in	Significant Other	Significant Other
	Active Markets	Observable Inputs	Unobservable Inputs
Description	(Level 1)	(Level 2)	(Level 3)
Assets:
Investments held in Trust Account	$276,044,513	$—	$—
Liabilities:
Derivative warrant liabilities - Public Warrants	$12,420,000	$—	$—
Derivative warrant liabilities - Private Placement Warrants	$—	$—	$7,068,800

Transfers to/from Levels 1, 2, and 3 are recognized at the beginning of the reporting period. Approximately $22.0 million of the estimated fair value of the Public Warrants transferred from a Level 3 measurement to a Level 1 fair value measurement in February 2021, when the Public Warrants were separately listed and traded.

For periods where no observable traded price was available, the fair value of the Public and Private Placement Warrants, issued in connection with the Public Offering, the Company utilizes a Monte Carlo simulation to estimate the fair value of the public warrants at each reporting period and Black-Scholes Option Pricing Model to estimate the fair value of the private warrants at each reporting period, with changes in fair value recognized in the condensed statement of operations. Inherent in a Monte Carlo simulation and Black-Scholes Option Pricing model are assumptions related to expected stock-price volatility, expected life, risk-free interest rate and dividend yield. The Black-Scholes analysis relies upon appropriate inputs derived from the Monte Carlo simulation of the public warrants; namely, the underlying stock price and the implied volatility from the traded Public Warrant price. The Company estimates the volatility of its common stock warrants based on implied volatility from the Company’s traded warrants and from historical volatility of select peer company’s common stock that matches the expected remaining life of the warrants. The risk-free interest rate is based on the U.S. Treasury zero-coupon yield curve on the grant date for a maturity similar to the expected remaining life of the warrants. The expected life of the warrants is assumed to be equivalent to their remaining contractual term. The dividend rate is based on the historical rate, which the Company anticipates remaining at zero.

The following table provides quantitative information regarding Level 3 fair value measurements inputs at their measurement dates:

	As of March 31, 2021	As of January 11, 2021
Option term (in years)	6.25	6.47
Volatility	19.2%	14.0%
Risk-free interest rate	1.22%	0.75%
Expected dividends	0.00%	0.00%

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

(Unaudited)

The change in the fair value of the derivative warrant liabilities for the three months ended March 31, 2021 is summarized as follows:

Derivative warrant liabilities beginning of the period	$—
Issuance of Public and Private Warrants	22,148,000
Change in fair value of derivative warrant liabilities	(2,659,200)
Derivative warrant liabilities at March 31, 2021	$19,488,800

Note 9 — Revision to Prior Period Financial Statements

During the course of preparing the quarterly report on Form 10-Q for the three months ended March 31, 2021, the Company identified a misstatement in its misapplication of accounting guidance related to the Company’s Warrants in the Company’s previously issued audited balance sheet dated January 11, 2021, filed on Form 8-K on January 15, 2021 (the “Post-IPO Balance Sheet”).

On April 12, 2021, the staff of the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC Staff”) issued a public statement entitled “Staff Statement on Accounting and Reporting Considerations for Warrants issued by Special Purpose Acquisition Companies (“SPACs”)” (the “SEC Staff Statement”). In the SEC Staff Statement, the SEC Staff expressed its view that certain terms and conditions common to SPAC warrants may require the Warrants to be classified as liabilities on the SPAC’s balance sheet as opposed to equity. Since their issuance on January 11, 2021, the Company’s Warrants have been accounted for as equity within the Company’s previously reported balance sheet. After discussion and evaluation, including with the Company’s audit committee, management concluded that the warrants should be presented as liabilities with subsequent fair value remeasurement.

The Warrants were reflected as a component of equity in the Post-IPO Balance Sheet as opposed to liabilities on the balance sheet, based on the Company’s application of ASC 815-40. The views expressed in the SEC Staff Statement were not consistent with the Company’s historical interpretation of the specific provisions within its warrant agreement and the Company’s application of ASC 815-40 to the warrant agreement. The Company reassessed its accounting for Warrants issued on January 11, 2021, in light of the SEC Staff’s published views. Based on this reassessment, management determined that the Warrants should be classified as liabilities measured at fair value upon issuance, with subsequent changes in fair value reported in the Company’s statement of operations each reporting period. Offering costs associated with warrant liabilities would be expensed as incurred.

IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

(Unaudited)

The Company concluded that the misstatement was not material to the Post-IPO Balance Sheet and the misstatement had no material impact to any prior interim period. The effect of the revisions to the Post-IPO Balance Sheet is as follows:

	As of January 11, 2021
	As Previously	Revised
	Reported	Adjustment	As Revised

Balance Sheet
Total assets	$278,183,053	$—	$278,183,053
Liabilities, redeemable non-controlling interest and shareholders’ equity
Total current liabilities	$861,057	$—	$861,057
Deferred underwriting commissions	9,660,000	—	9,660,000
Derivative warrant liabilities	—	22,148,000	22,148,000
Total liabilities	10,521,057	22,148,000	32,669,057
Class A ordinary shares, $0.0001 par value; shares subject to possible redemption	262,661,990	(22,148,000)	240,513,990
Shareholders’ equity
Preference shares - $0.0001 par value	—	—	—
Class A ordinary shares - $0.0001 par value	133	222	355
Class B ordinary shares - $0.0001 par value	690	—	690
Additional paid-in-capital	5,040,999	854,821	5,895,820
Accumulated deficit	(41,816)	(855,043)	(896,859)
Total shareholders’ equity	5,000,006	—	5,000,006
Total liabilities and shareholders’ equity	$278,183,053	$—	$278,183,053

Note 11 — Subsequent Events

The Company evaluated subsequent events and transactions that occurred up to the date of the unaudited condensed financial statements were available to be issued. Based upon this review, the Company determined that there have been no events that have occurred that would require adjustments to the disclosures in the unaudited condensed financial statements.

Item 2.    Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations.

References to the “Company,” “Ivanhoe Capital Acquisition Corp.,” “Ivanhoe Capital,” “our,” “us” or “we” refer to Ivanhoe Capital Acquisition Corp. The following discussion and analysis of the Company’s financial condition and results of operations should be read in conjunction with the unaudited interim condensed financial statements and the notes thereto contained elsewhere in this report. Certain information contained in the discussion and analysis set forth below includes forward-looking statements that involve risks and uncertainties.

Cautionary Note Regarding Forward-Looking Statements

This Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q includes forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and Section 21E of the Exchange Act. We have based these forward-looking statements on our current expectations and projections about future events. These forward-looking statements are subject to known and unknown risks, uncertainties and assumptions about us that may cause our actual results, levels of activity, performance or achievements to be materially different from any future results, levels of activity, performance or achievements expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. In some cases, you can identify forward-looking statements by terminology such as “may,” “should,” “could,” “would,” “expect,” “plan,” “anticipate,” “believe,” “estimate,” “continue,” or the negative of such terms or other similar expressions. Factors that might cause or contribute to such a discrepancy include, but are not limited to, those described in our other SEC filings.

Overview

We are a blank check company incorporated as a Cayman Islands exempted company on July 8, 2020. We were formed for the purpose of effecting a merger, share exchange, asset acquisition, share purchase, reorganization or similar business combination with one or more businesses (the “Business Combination”). We are an emerging growth company and, as such, we are subject to all of the risks associated with emerging growth companies.

Our sponsor is Ivanhoe Capital Sponsor LLC, a Cayman Islands limited liability company (“Sponsor”). The registration statement for our Initial Public Offering was declared effective on January 6, 2021. On January 11, 2021, we consummated its Initial Public Offering of 27,600,000 units (the “Units” and, with respect to the Class A ordinary shares included in the Units being offered, the “Public Shares”), including 3,600,000 additional Units to cover over-allotments (the “Over-Allotment Units”), at $10.00 per Unit, generating gross proceeds of $276.0 million, and incurring offering costs of approximately $15.8 million, of which approximately $9.7 million was for deferred underwriting commissions.

Simultaneously with the closing of the Initial Public Offering, we consummated the private placement (“Private Placement”) of 5,013,333 warrants (each, a “Private Placement Warrant” and collectively, the “Private Placement Warrants”), at a price of $1.50 per Private Placement Warrant with the Sponsor, generating gross proceeds of approximately $7.5 million.

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

Our management has broad discretion with respect to the specific application of the net proceeds of its Initial Public Offering and the sale of Private Placement Warrants, although substantially all of the net proceeds are intended to be applied generally toward consummating a Business Combination. Our initial Business Combination must be with one or more operating businesses or assets with a fair market value equal to at least 80% of the net assets held in the Trust Account (excluding the amount of any deferred underwriting discount held in Trust) at the time we sign a definitive agreement in

connection with the initial Business Combination. However, we will only complete a Business Combination if the post-transaction company owns or acquires 50% or more of the outstanding voting securities of the target or otherwise acquires a controlling interest in the target sufficient for it not to be required to register as an investment company under the Investment Company Act.

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

Liquidity and Capital Resources

As of March 31, 2021, we had approximately $134,000 in cash and working capital of approximately $1.0 million.

Our liquidity needs to date have been satisfied through a contribution of $25,000 from Sponsor to cover certain expenses in exchange for the issuance of the Founder Shares, a loan of $500,000 from the Sponsor pursuant to the Note, and the proceeds from the consummation of the Private Placement not held in the Trust Account. We repaid the Note in full on January 15, 2021. In addition, in order to finance transaction costs in connection with a Business Combination, the Sponsor or an affiliate of the Sponsor, or certain of our officers and directors may, but are not obligated to, provide us Working Capital Loans. As of March 31, 2021, there were no amounts outstanding under any Working Capital Loan.

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

Management continues to evaluate the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the industry and has concluded that while it is reasonably possible that the virus could have a negative effect on our financial position, results of our operations and/or search for a target company, the specific impact is not readily determinable as of the date of the unaudited condensed financial statements. The unaudited condensed financial statements do not include any adjustments that might result from the outcome of this uncertainty.

Results of Operations

Our entire activity since inception up to March 31, 2021 was in preparation for our formation and the Initial Public Offering. We will not be generating any operating revenues until the closing and completion of our initial Business Combination.

For the three months ended March 31, 2021, we had net income of approximately $1.5 million, which consisted of general and administrative expenses of approximately $291,000, general and administrative expenses to related party of $30,000 and transaction costs to derivative warrant liabilities of approximately $855,000, partially offset by investment income on the Trust Account of approximately $45,000 and change in fair value of derivative liabilities of approximately $2.7 million.

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

Underwriting Agreement

We granted the underwriters a 45-day option from the date of the Initial Public Offering prospectus to purchase up to 3,600,000 additional Units at the Initial Public Offering price less the underwriting discounts and commissions. On January 11, 2021, the underwriter fully exercised its over-allotment option.

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

Critical Accounting Policies

Derivative warrant liabilities

We do not use derivative instruments to hedge exposures to cash flow, market, or foreign currency risks. We evaluate all of our financial instruments, including issued stock purchase warrants, to determine if such instruments are derivatives or contain features that qualify as embedded derivatives, pursuant to ASC Topic 480 “Distinguishing Liabilities from Equity” (“ASC 480”) and ASC Subtopic 815-15 “Derivatives and Hedging — Embedded Derivatives” (“ASC 815”). The classification of derivative instruments, including whether such instruments should be recorded as liabilities or as equity, is re-assessed at the end of each reporting period.

The 9,200,000 warrants issued in connection with the Initial Public Offering (the “Public Warrants”) and the 5,013,333 Private Placement Warrants (as defined in Note 4) (collectively, the “Warrant”) are recognized as derivative liabilities in accordance with ASC 815-40. Accordingly, we recognize the warrant instruments as liabilities at fair value and adjusts the instruments to fair value at each reporting period. The liabilities are subject to re-measurement at each balance sheet date until exercised, and any change in fair value is recognized in our statement of operations. The fair value of the Public Warrants issued in connection with the Initial Public Offering and Private Placement Warrants were initially measured at fair value using a Monte Carlo simulation model and subsequently, the fair value of the Private Placement Warrants have been estimated using a Monte Carlo simulation model each measurement date. The fair value of Public Warrants issued in connection with the Initial Public Offering have subsequently been measured based on the listed market price of such warrants.

Offering Costs Associated with the Initial Public Offering

Offering costs consisted of legal, accounting, underwriting fees and other costs incurred through the Initial Public Offering that were directly related to the Initial Public Offering. Offering costs are allocated to the separable financial instruments issued in the Initial Public Offering based on a relative fair value basis, compared to total proceeds received. Offering costs associated with warrant liabilities are expensed as incurred and presented as non-operating expenses in the statement of

operations. Offering costs associated with the Class A ordinary shares were charged to shareholders’ equity (deficit) upon the completion of the Initial Public Offering. For the three months ended March 31, 2021, of the total offering costs of the Initial Public Offering, approximately $855,000 is included in transaction cost - derivative warrant liabilities in the unaudited condensed statement of operations and approximately $15.0 million is included in the unaudited condensed statement of changes in shareholders’ equity (deficit).

Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption

We account for our Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption in accordance with the guidance in ASC Topic 480 “Distinguishing Liabilities from Equity.” Class A ordinary shares subject to mandatory redemption (if any) are classified as liability instruments and are measured at fair value. Conditionally redeemable Class A ordinary shares (including Class A ordinary shares that feature redemption rights that are either within the control of the holder or subject to redemption upon the occurrence of uncertain events not solely within our control) are classified as temporary equity. At all other times, Class A ordinary shares are classified as shareholders’ equity. Our Class A ordinary shares feature certain redemption rights that are considered to be outside of our control and subject to the occurrence of uncertain future events. Accordingly, as of March 31, 2021, 24,292,066 Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption are presented as temporary equity, outside of the shareholders’ equity (deficit) section of our balance sheet.

Net income per ordinary share

Net income (loss) per ordinary share is computed by dividing net income (loss) by the weighted-average number of ordinary shares outstanding during the period. We have not considered the effect of the warrants underlying the Units sold in the Initial Public Offering (including the consummation of the Over-allotment) and the Private Placement Warrants to purchase an aggregate of 14,213,333 Class A ordinary shares in the calculation of diluted income per share, because their inclusion would be anti-dilutive under the treasury stock method.

Our unaudited condensed statement of operations includes a presentation of income per share for ordinary shares subject to redemption in a manner similar to the two-class method of income per share. Net income per share, basic and diluted for Class A ordinary shares for the three months ended March 31, 2021 is calculated by dividing the income from investments held in the Trust Account of approximately $45,000, by the weighted average number of Class A ordinary shares outstanding for the period.

Net income per share, basic and diluted for Class B ordinary shares for the three months ended March 31, 2021 is calculated by dividing the net income of approximately $1.5 million, less net income attributable to Class A ordinary shares of approximately $45,000, resulting in a net income of approximately $1.5 million, by the weighted average number of Class B ordinary shares outstanding for the period.

Recent Accounting Pronouncements

In August 2020, the FASB issued Accounting Standards Update (“ASU”) No. 2020-06, Debt --debt with Conversion and Other Options (Subtopic 470-20) and Derivatives and Hedging --Contracts in Entity’ Own Equity (Subtopic 815-40): Accounting for Convertible Instruments and Contracts in an Entity’ Own Equity (“ASU 2020-06”), which simplifies accounting for convertible instruments by removing major separation models required under current GAAP. The ASU also removes certain settlement conditions that are required for equity-linked contracts to qualify for the derivative scope exception, and it simplifies the diluted earnings per share calculation in certain areas. We adopted ASU 2020-06 on January 1, 2021. Adoption of the ASU did not impact our financial position, results of operations or cash flows.

Our management does not believe that any other recently issued, but not yet effective, accounting standards if currently adopted would have a material effect on the accompanying unaudited condensed financial statements.

Off-Balance Sheet Arrangements

As of March 31, 2021, we did not have any off-balance sheet arrangements as defined in Item 303(a)(4)(ii) of Regulation S-K.

JOBS Act

The Jumpstart Our Business Startups Act of 2012 (the “JOBS Act”) contains provisions that, among other things, relax certain reporting requirements for qualifying public companies. We qualify as an “emerging growth company” and under the JOBS Act are allowed to comply with new or revised accounting pronouncements based on the effective date for private (not publicly traded) companies. We are electing to delay the adoption of new or revised accounting standards, and as a result, we may not comply with new or revised accounting standards on the relevant dates on which adoption of such standards is required for non-emerging growth companies. As a result, the unaudited condensed financial statements may not be comparable to companies that comply with new or revised accounting pronouncements as of public company effective dates.

Additionally, we are in the process of evaluating the benefits of relying on the other reduced reporting requirements provided by the JOBS Act. Subject to certain conditions set forth in the JOBS Act, if, as an “emerging growth company,” we choose to rely on such exemptions we may not be required to, among other things, (i) provide an auditor’s attestation report on our system of internal controls over financial reporting pursuant to Section 404, (ii) provide all of the compensation disclosure that may be required of non-emerging growth public companies under the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act, (iii) comply with any requirement that may be adopted by the PCAOB regarding mandatory audit firm rotation or a supplement to the auditor’s report providing additional information about the audit and the financial statements (auditor discussion and analysis) and (iv) disclose certain executive compensation related items such as the correlation between executive compensation and performance and comparisons of the CEO’s compensation to median employee compensation. These exemptions will apply for a period of five years following the completion of our Initial Public Offering or until we are no longer an “emerging growth company,” whichever is earlier.

Item 3.    Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures About Market Risk

We are a smaller reporting company as defined by Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act and are not required to provide the information otherwise required under this item. As of March 31, 2021, we were not subject to any market or interest rate risk. The net proceeds of the Initial Public Offering, including amounts in the Trust Account, will be invested in U.S. government securities with a maturity of 185 days or less or in money market funds that meet certain conditions under Rule 2a-7 under the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended, that invest only in direct U.S. government treasury obligations. Due to the short-term nature of these investments, we believe there will be no associated material exposure to interest rate risk.

We have not engaged in any hedging activities since our inception and we do not expect to engage in any hedging activities with respect to the market risk to which we are exposed.

Item 4.    Controls and Procedures

On April 12, 2021, the staff at the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”) issued a statement on Accounting and Reporting Considerations for Warrants Issued by Special Purpose Acquisition Companies (“SPACs”) (the “SEC Statement”). In the SEC Statement, the SEC staff noted that certain provisions in the typical SPAC warrant agreement may require that the warrants be classified as a liability measured at fair value, with changes in fair value reported each period in earnings, as compared to the historical treatment of the warrants as equity, which has been the practice of most SPACs, including us. We had previously classified our private placement warrants and public warrants as equity (for a full description of our private placement warrants and public warrants, refer to the registration statement on Amendment No.1 to Form S-1 (File No. 333-251493), filed in connection with the Company’s initial public offering, declared effective by the SEC on January 6, 2021).

After considering the SEC Statement, we concluded that there were misstatements in the January 11, 2021 audited closing balance sheet we filed with the SEC on Form 8-K on January 15, 2021. Based on the guidance in Accounting Standards Codification (“ASC”) 815-40, “Derivatives and Hedging — Contracts in Entity’s Own Equity”, we concluded that provisions in the warrant agreement preclude the warrants from being accounted for as components of equity. As the warrants meet the definition of a derivative as contemplated in ASC 815, the warrants should have been recorded as derivative liabilities on the balance sheet and measured at fair value at inception and at each reporting date in accordance with ASC 820, “Fair Value Measurement”, with changes in fair value recognized in the statement of operations in the period of change. Further, ASC 815 requires that upfront costs and fees related to items for which the fair value option is elected (our warrant liabilities) should have been recognized as expense as incurred.

We have corrected the accounting for the warrants in this Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q. The effect of the adjustment on specific line items in our January 11, 2021 audited closing date balance sheet can be found in footnote 10 of the Notes to unaudited condensed Financial Statements.

Evaluation of Disclosure Controls and Procedures

In connection with the restatement of our January 11, 2021 audited closing balance sheet, our management reassessed the effectiveness of our disclosure controls and procedures as of March 31, 2021. As a result of that reassessment and in light of the SEC Statement, our management determined that our disclosure controls and procedures as of March 31, 2021 were not effective solely as a result of its classification of the warrants as components of equity instead of as derivative liabilities. Due solely to the events that led to our restatement, management has made changes in internal controls related to the accounting for warrants issued in connection with our initial public offering. In light of the material weakness that we identified, we performed additional analysis as deemed necessary to ensure that our unaudited condensed financial statements for the three months ended March 31, 2021, were prepared in accordance with U.S. generally accepted accounting principles. Accordingly, management believes that the unaudited condensed financial statements included in this Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q present fairly in all material respects our financial position, results of operations and cash flows for the period presented.

Changes in Internal Control over Financial Reporting

There were no changes in our internal control over financial reporting (as such term is defined in Rules 13a-15(f) and 15d-15(f) under the Exchange Act) during the most recent fiscal quarter that have materially affected, or are reasonably likely to materially affect, our internal control over financial reporting, as the circumstances that led to the restatement of our previously filed financial statements described above had not yet been identified. In light of the restatement of the previously filed financial statements, we plan to enhance our processes to identify and appropriately apply applicable accounting requirements to better evaluate and understand the nuances of the complex accounting standards that apply to our financial statements. Our plans at this time include providing enhanced access to accounting literature, research materials and documents and increased communication among our personnel and third-party professionals with whom we consult regarding complex accounting applications. The elements of our remediation plan can only be accomplished over time, and we can offer no assurance that these initiatives will ultimately have the intended effects.

PART II - OTHER INFORMATION

Item 1.    Legal Proceedings

None.

Item 1A.  Risk Factors

As of the date of this Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q, there have been no material changes to the risk factors disclosed in our Form 10-K filed with the SEC on March 31, 2021, except for the below risk factor. We may disclose changes to such factors or disclose additional factors from time to time in our future filings with the SEC.

The securities in which we invest the funds held in the trust account could bear a negative rate of interest, which could reduce the value of the assets held in trust such that the per-share redemption amount received by public shareholders may be less than $10.00 per share.

The proceeds held in the trust account will be invested only in U.S. government treasury obligations with a maturity of 185 days or less or in money market funds meeting certain conditions under Rule 2a-7 under the Investment Company Act, which invest only in direct U.S. government treasury obligations. While short-term U.S. government treasury obligations currently yield a positive rate of interest, they have briefly yielded negative interest rates in recent years. Central banks in Europe and Japan pursued interest rates below zero in recent years, and the Open Market Committee of the Federal Reserve has not ruled out the possibility that it may in the future adopt similar policies in the United States. In the event that we are unable to complete our initial business combination or make certain amendments to our amended and restated memorandum and articles of association, our public shareholders are entitled to receive their pro-rata share of the proceeds held in the trust account, plus any interest income, net of income taxes paid or payable (less, in the case we are unable to complete our initial business combination, $100,000 of interest to pay dissolution expenses). Negative interest rates could reduce the value of the assets held in trust such that the per-share redemption amount received by public shareholders may be less than $10.00 per share.

Item 2.    Unregistered Sales of Equity Securities and Use of Proceeds.

Simultaneously with the closing of the Initial Public Offering, we consummated the private placement (“Private Placement”) of 5,013,333 warrants (each, a “Private Placement Warrant” and collectively, the “Private Placement Warrants”), at a price of $1.50 per Private Placement Warrant with the Sponsor, generating gross proceeds of approximately $7.5 million (Note 4).

In connection with the Initial Public Offering, our sponsor had agreed to loan us an aggregate of up to $600,000 pursuant to the Note. This loan is non-interest bearing and payable on the consummation of the Initial Public Offering. As of March 31, 2021, the loan balance was $0.

Of the gross proceeds received from the Initial Public Offering and the full exercise of the option to purchase additional Shares, $276,000,000 was placed in the Trust Account. The net proceeds of the Initial Public Offering and certain proceeds from the Private Placement are invested in U.S. government treasury bills with a maturity of 180 days or less and in money market funds meeting certain conditions under Rule 2a-7 under the Investment Company Act which invest only in direct U.S. government treasury obligations.

We paid a total of approximately $5.7 million in underwriting discounts and commissions related to the Initial Public Offering. In addition, the underwriters agreed to defer $9.7 million in underwriting discounts and commissions.

Item 3.    Defaults upon Senior Securities

None.

Item 4.    Mine Safety Disclosures.

Not applicable.

Item 5.    Other Information.

None.

Item 6.    Exhibits.

Exhibit Number	Description
31.1*

Certification of Chief Executive Officer (Principal Executive Officer) Pursuant to Rules 13a-14(a) and 15d-14(a) under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as Adopted Pursuant to Section 302 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002.

31.2*

Certification of Chief Financial Officer (Principal Financial and Accounting Officer) Pursuant to Rules 13a-14(a) and 15d-14(a) under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as Adopted Pursuant to Section 302 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002.

32.1*	Certification of Chief Executive Officer (Principal Executive Officer) Pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350, as Adopted Pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002.
32.2*	Certification of Chief Financial Officer (Principal Financial and Accounting Officer) Pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350, as Adopted Pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002.
101.INS	XBRL Instance Document
101.SCH	XBRL Taxonomy Extension Schema Document
101.CAL	XBRL Taxonomy Extension Calculation Linkbase Document
101.DEF	XBRL Taxonomy Extension Definition Linkbase Document
101.LAB	XBRL Taxonomy Extension Label Linkbase Document
101.PRE	XBRL Taxonomy Extension Presentation Linkbase Document
*

These certifications are furnished to the SEC pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 and are deemed not filed for purposes of Section 18 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, nor shall they be deemed incorporated by reference in any filing under the Securities Act of 1933, except as shall be expressly set forth by specific reference in such filing.

SIGNATURE

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.

Dated: June 14, 2021		IVANHOE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.
	By:	/s/ Robert Friedland
	Name:	Robert Friedland
	Title:	Chief Executive Officer