Exhibit 99.1

PRESS RELEASE

SMARTKEM, INC. APPOINTS MELISA A. DENIS TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Manchester, England – November 28, 2023 – SmartKem, Inc. (OTCQB: SMTK), a company seeking to reshape the world of electronics with its disruptive organic thin-film transistors (OTFTs) that have the potential to drive the next generation of displays, today announced the appointment of Melisa A. Denis to the SmartKem Board of Directors, effective November 21, 2023. Ms. Denis will serve as the Chair of the Audit Committee of the Board, a member of the Compensation Committee and Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee.

SmartKem Chairman and CEO, Ian Jenks, commented, “We are pleased to welcome Melisa Denis to the SmartKem Board. Melisa’s Big-4 accounting background and public company board experience will be invaluable to SmartKem as we grow our business and pursue our mission to disrupt the world of technology with our leading-edge organic thin-film transistors”.

Ms. Denis has served as a member of the audit committee and mergers and acquisitions committee of the board of directors of Hydrofarm Holdings Group, Inc. (NASDAQ: HYFM) since November 20, 2020. Ms. Denis previously served as a partner at KPMG from 1998 to October 2020, including as National Tax Leader for Consumer Goods and as the leader of the Consumer and Industrial Market for Dallas. Ms. Denis has served as a member of the Board of Regents and chair of the audit committee for the University of North Texas System since January 2020, an advisory board member of Women Corporate Directors since 2011, and a board member of Enactus, a global non-profit, since 2019. Ms. Denis is a Certified Public Accountant and received her degree in accounting and her Bachelor of Science and Master of Science from the University of North Texas.

Ms. Denis was appointed to the Board to fill a vacancy created by the resignation, effective November 21, 2023, of Barbra C. Keck as a member of the Board. Ms. Keck will continue to serve as SmartKem’s Chief Financial Officer.

SmartKem’s OTCQB information can be found on the OTC Markets website: www.otcmarkets.com/stock/SMTK/overview

About SmartKem

SmartKem is reshaping the world of electronics with its disruptive organic thin-film transistors (OTFTs) that have the potential to drive the next generation of displays. SmartKem’s patented TRUFLEX® semiconductor and dielectric inks, or electronic polymers, are used to make a new type of transistor that could potentially revolutionize the display industry. SmartKem’s inks enable low temperature printing processes that are compatible with existing manufacturing infrastructure to deliver low-cost displays that outperform existing technologies. The company’s electronic polymer platform can be used in a number of display technologies including microLED, miniLED and AMOLED displays for next generation televisions, laptops, augmented reality (AR) and virtual reality (VR) headsets, smartwatches and smartphones.

Smartkem Ltd

Manchester Technology Center, Hexagon Tower,

Delaunays Road, Blackley, Manchester, M9 8GQ UK

+44 (0) 161 721 1514

enquiries@smartkem.com

PRESS RELEASE

SmartKem develops its materials at its research and development facility in Manchester, UK, its semiconductor manufacturing processes at the Centre for Process Innovation (CPI) at Sedgefield, UK and retains a field application office in Taiwan. The company has an extensive IP portfolio including 125 granted patents across 19 patent families and 40 codified trade secrets. For more information, visit: www.smartkem.com and follow us on LinkedIn and Twitter @SmartKemTRUFLEX.

Forward-Looking Statements

All statements in this press release that are not historical are forward-looking statements, including, among other things, statements relating to the SmartKem’s expectations regarding its market position and market opportunity, expectations and plans as to its product development, manufacturing and sales, and relations with its partners and investors. These statements are not historical facts but rather are based on SmartKem Inc.’s current expectations, estimates, and projections regarding its business, operations and other similar or related factors. Words such as “may,” will,” “could,” “would,” “should,” “anticipate,” “predict,” “potential,” “continue,” “expect,” “intend,” “plan,” “project,” “believe,” “estimate,” and other similar or elated expressions are used to identify these forward-looking statements, although not all forward-looking statements contain these words. You should not place undue reliance on forward-looking statements because they involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties, and assumptions that are difficult or impossible to predict and, in some cases, beyond the Company’s control. Actual results may differ materially from those in the forward-looking statements as a result of a number of factors, including those described in the Company’s filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. The Company undertakes no obligation to revise or update information in this release to reflect events or circumstances in the future, even if new information becomes available.

Contact Details:

Barbra Keck, Chief Financial Officer, SmartKem

b.keck@smartkem.com

Selena Kirkwood, Head of Communications, SmartKem

s.kirkwood@smartkem.com

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Smartkem Ltd

Manchester Technology Center, Hexagon Tower,

Delaunays Road, Blackley, Manchester, M9 8GQ UK

+44 (0) 161 721 1514

enquiries@smartkem.com