Brookline Capital Acquisition Corp. (CIK 1814140)
Form 10-Q
period 2021-03-31
filed 2021-06-07

UNITED STATES

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

Washington, D.C. 20549

FORM 10-Q

☒	QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the quarterly period ended March 31, 2021

OR

☐	TRANSITION REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the transition period from to

BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)

Delaware	001-39488	85-1260244
(State or other jurisdiction of incorporation or organization)	(Commission File Number)	(IRS Employer Identification No.)

280 Park Avenue, Suite 43W New York, New York		10017
(Address Of Principal Executive Offices)		(Zip Code)

(646) 643-6716

Registrant’s telephone number, including area code

Not Applicable

(Former name or former address, if changed since last report)

Securities registered pursuant to Section 12(b) of the Act:

Title of each class	Trading Symbol(s)	Name of each exchange on which registered
Units, each consisting of one Class A common share, $0.0001 par value, and one-half of one redeemable warrant	BCACU	Nasdaq Capital Market
Class A common shares included as part of the units	BCAC	Nasdaq Capital Market
Redeemable warrants included as part of the units	BCACW	Nasdaq Capital Market

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant (1) has filed all reports required to be filed by Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to file such reports), and (2) has been subject to such filing requirements for the past 90 days.    Yes  ☐    No  ☒

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant has submitted electronically every Interactive Data File required to be submitted pursuant to Rule 405 of Regulation S-T (§ 232.405 of this chapter) during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to submit such files).    Yes  ☒    No  ☐

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is a large accelerated filer, an accelerated filer, a non-accelerated filer, smaller reporting company, or an emerging growth company. See the definitions of “large accelerated filer,” “accelerated filer,” “smaller reporting company,” and “emerging growth company” in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act.

Large accelerated filer	☐	Accelerated filer	☐

Non-accelerated filer	☒	Smaller reporting company	☒

Emerging growth company	☒

If an emerging growth company, indicate by check mark if the registrant has elected not to use the extended transition period for complying with any new or revised financial accounting standards provided pursuant to Section 13(a) of the Exchange Act.  ☐

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is a shell company (as defined in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act).    Yes  ☒    No  ☐

As of June 3, 2021, 7,434,500 common shares, par value $0.0001 per share, were issued and outstanding.

BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

Form 10-Q

For the Quarter Ended March 31, 2021

PART I. FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Item 1.	Financial Statements (Unaudited)

BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

CONDENSED BALANCE SHEETS

	March 31, 2021	December 31, 2020
	(Unaudited)
Assets:
Current assets:
Cash	$421,021	$978
Prepaid expenses	186,240	—

Total current assets	607,261	978
Investments held in Trust Account	58,076,850	—
Deferred offering costs	—	96,274

Total Assets	$58,684,111	$97,252

Liabilities and Stockholders’ Equity:
Current liabilities:
Accounts payable	$7,029	$—
Accrued expenses	55,000	—
Franchise tax payable	20,613	—
Note payable—related party	—	73,106

Total current liabilities	82,642	73,106
Derivative warrant liabilities	208,720	—

Total liabilities	$291,362	$73,106

Commitments and Contingencies
Common stock, $0.0001 par value; 5,286,410 shares subject to possible redemption at $10.10 per share	$53,392,741	—

Stockholders’ Equity:
Preferred stock, $0.0001 par value; 1,000,000 shares authorized; none issued and outstanding	—	—
Common stock, $0.0001 par value; 25,000,000 shares authorized; 2,148,090 shares issued and outstanding (excluding 5,286,410 shares subject to possible redemption)	215	144
Additional paid-in capital	5,171,624	25,834
Accumulated deficit	(171,831)	(1,832)

Total stockholders’ equity	5,000,008	24,146

Total Liabilities and Stockholders’ Equity	$58,684,111	$97,252

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these unaudited condensed financial statements.

BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

UNAUDITED CONDENSED STATEMENT OF OPERATIONS

FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2021

General and administrative expenses	$81,547
Administrative expenses—related party	20,000
Franchise tax expense	21,142

Loss from operations	(122,689)
Other income (expenses)
Change in fair value of derivative warrant liabilities	(49,160)
Net gain from investments held in Trust Account	1,850

Total other expenses	(47,310)

Net loss	$(169,999)

Basic and diluted weighted average shares outstanding of Public Shares of common stock subject to possible redemption	5,299,767

Basic and diluted net income per share, Public Shares of common stock subject to possible redemption	—

Basic and diluted weighted average shares outstanding of non-redeemable common stock	1,646,500

Basic and diluted net loss per share, non-redeemable common stock	$(0.10)

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these unaudited condensed financial statements.

BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

CONDENSED STATEMENT OF CHANGES IN SHAREHOLDERS’ EQUITY

FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2021

	Common Stock		Additional Paid-In Capital	Accumulated Deficit	Total Stockholders’ Equity
	Shares	Amount
Balance—December 31, 2020	1,437,500	$144	$25,834	$(1,832)	$24,146
Sale of units in initial public offering, less fair value of public warrants	5,750,000	575	57,499,425	—	57,500,000
Offering costs	—	—	(1,271,838)	—	(1,271,838)
Sale of units in private placement, less derivative warrant liabilities	247,000	25	2,310,415	—	2,310,440
Common stock subject to possible redemption	(5,286,410)	(529)	(53,392,212)	—	(53,392,741)
Net loss	—	—	—	(169,999)	(169,999)

Balance—March 31, 2021 (unaudited)	2,148,090	$215	$5,171,624	$(171,831)	$5,000,008

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these unaudited condensed financial statements.

BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

UNAUDITED CONDENSED STATEMENT OF CASH FLOWS

Cash Flows from Operating Activities:
Net loss	$(169,999)
Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net cash used in operating activities:
General and administrative expenses paid by related party under promissory note	23,373
Change in fair value of derivative warrant liabilities	49,160
Net gain from investments held in Trust Account	(1,850)
Changes in operating assets and liabilities:
Prepaid expenses	(186,240)
Account payable	7,029
Accrued expenses	10,000
Franchise tax payable	20,613

Net cash used in operating activities	(247,914)

Cash Flows from Investing Activities
Cash deposited in Trust Account	(58,075,000)

Net cash used in investing activities	(58,075,000)

Cash Flows from Financing Activities:
Repayment of note payable to related party	(116,346)
Proceeds received from initial public offering, gross	57,500,000
Proceeds received from private placement	2,470,000
Offering costs paid	(1,110,697)

Net cash provided by financing activities	58,742,957

Net change in cash	420,043
Cash—beginning of the period	978

Cash—end of the period	$421,021

Supplemental disclosure of noncash activities:
Offering costs included in accrued expenses	$45,000
Offering costs paid by related party under promissory note	$19,867
Initial value of common stock subject to possible redemption	$53,530,010
Change in value of common stock subject to possible redemption	$(137,269)

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these unaudited condensed financial statements.

BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO UNAUDITED CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

Note 1 — Description of Organization and Business Operations

Brookline Capital Acquisition Corp. (the “Company”) is a newly organized blank check company incorporated in Delaware and formed for the purpose of effecting a merger, share exchange, asset acquisition, stock purchase, recapitalization, reorganization or other similar business combination with one or more businesses or entities (“Business Combination”). Although the Company has not yet identified a Business Combination target and may pursue an initial Business Combination target in any business or industry, the Company intends to focus its search on companies in the life sciences industry.

As of March 31, 2021, the Company had not yet commenced operations. All activity for the period from May 27, 2020 (inception) through March 31, 2021 relates to the Company’s formation and the initial public offering (the “Initial Public Offering”), which is described below. The Company will not generate any operating revenues until after the completion of its initial Business Combination, at the earliest. The Company will generate non-operating income in the form of interest income from the proceeds derived from the Initial Public Offering. The Company has selected December 31 as its fiscal year end.

The Company’s Sponsor is Brookline Capital Holdings, LLC, a Delaware limited liability company (the “Sponsor”), an affiliate of Brookline Capital Markets, a division of Arcadia Securities, LLC (“Brookline”). The registration statement for the Company’s Initial Public Offering was declared effective on January 28, 2021. On February 2, 2021, the Company consummated its Initial Public Offering of 5,750,000 units (the “Units” and, with respect to the common stock included in the Units being offered, the “Public Shares”), including 750,000 additional Units to cover over-allotments (the “Over-Allotment Units”), at $10.00 per Unit, generating gross proceeds of $57.5 million, and incurring offering costs of approximately $1.3 million.

Simultaneously with the closing of the Initial Public Offering, the Company consummated a private placement (“Private Placement”) of 247,000 private placement units (each, a “Private Placement Unit” and collectively, the “Private Placement Units”) at a price of $10.00 per unit to the Sponsor, generating proceeds of approximately $2.5 million (Note 4).

Upon the closing of the Initial Public Offering and the Private Placement, approximately $58.1 million ($10.10 per Unit) of the net proceeds of the Initial Public Offering and certain of the proceeds of the Private Placement were placed in a trust account (“Trust Account”) in the United States maintained by Continental Stock Transfer & Trust Company, as trustee, and will be invested only in U.S “government securities” within the meaning of Section 2(a)(16) of the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended, or the Investment Company Act, having a maturity of 185 days or less or in money market funds meeting certain conditions under Rule 2a-7 promulgated under the Investment Company Act which invest only in direct U.S. government treasury obligations, until the earlier of: (i) the completion of a Business Combination and (ii) the distribution of the Trust Account as described below.

The Company’s management has broad discretion with respect to the specific application of the net proceeds of its Initial Public Offering and the Private Placement, although substantially all of the net proceeds are intended to be applied generally toward consummating a Business Combination. The Company’s initial Business Combination must be with one or more operating businesses or assets with a fair market value equal to at least 80% of the net assets held in the Trust Account (excluding the amount of taxes payable on the income earned on the Trust Account) at the time the Company signs a definitive agreement in connection with the initial Business Combination. However, the Company will only complete a Business Combination if the post-transaction company owns or acquires 50% or more of the outstanding voting securities of the target or otherwise acquires a controlling interest in the target sufficient for it not to be required to register as an investment company under the Investment Company Act.

The Company will provide the holders of Public Shares (the “Public Stockholders”) with the opportunity to redeem all or a portion of their Public Shares upon the completion of a Business Combination either (i) in connection with a stockholder meeting called to approve the Business Combination or (ii) by means of a tender offer. The decision as to whether the Company will seek stockholder approval of a Business Combination or conduct a tender offer will be made by the Company, solely in its discretion. The Public Stockholders will be entitled to redeem their Public Shares for a pro rata portion of the amount then in the Trust Account (initially anticipated to be $10.10 per share, plus any pro rata interest earned on the funds held in the Trust Account and not previously released to the Company to pay its tax obligations). In such case, the Company will proceed with a Business Combination if the Company has net tangible assets of at least $5,000,001 and a majority of the shares voted

BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO UNAUDITED CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

are voted in favor of the Business Combination. If a stockholder vote is not required by law and the Company does not decide to hold a stockholder vote for business or other legal reasons, the Company will, pursuant to it’s Amended and Restated Certificate of Incorporation (the “Amended and Restated Certificate of Incorporation”), conduct the redemptions pursuant to the tender offer rules of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”), and file tender offer documents with the SEC prior to completing a Business Combination. If, however, stockholder approval of the Business Combination is required by law, or the Company decides to obtain stockholder approval for business or legal reasons, the Company will offer to redeem shares in conjunction with a proxy solicitation pursuant to the proxy rules and not pursuant to the tender offer rules. Additionally, each Public Stockholder may elect to redeem their Public Shares irrespective of whether they vote for or against the proposed transaction. If the Company seeks stockholder approval in connection with the Business Combination, the holders of the Founder Shares (as defined in Note 4) prior to this Initial Public Offering (the “Initial Stockholders”) have agreed to vote their Founder Shares and any Public Shares purchased during or after the Initial Public Offering in favor of the Business Combination. In addition, the Initial Stockholders agreed to waive their redemption rights with respect to their Founder Shares and Public Shares in connection with the completion of a Business Combination. The Company has agreed not to enter into a definitive agreement regarding an initial Business Combination without the prior consent of the Sponsor.

Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Company’s Amended and Restated Certificate of Incorporation provide that a Public Stockholder, together with any affiliate of such stockholder or any other person with whom such stockholder is acting in concert or as a “group” (as defined under Section 13 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the “Exchange Act”)), will be restricted from redeeming its shares with respect to more than an aggregate of 15% or more of the shares of common stock sold in the Initial Public Offering, without the prior consent of the Company.

The Company’s Sponsor, executive officers, directors and director nominees agreed not to propose an amendment to the Company’s Amended and Restated Certificate of Incorporation that would affect the substance or timing of the Company’s obligation to provide for the redemption of its Public Shares in connection with a Business Combination or to redeem 100% of its Public Shares if the Company does not complete a Business Combination, unless the Company provides the Public Stockholders with the opportunity to redeem their Public Shares in conjunction with any such amendment.

If a Business Combination has not been consummated within 15 months from the closing of the Initial Public Offering, or May 2, 2022 (the “Combination Period”), the Company will (i) cease all operations except for the purpose of winding up, (ii) as promptly as reasonably possible but not more than ten business days thereafter, redeem the Public Shares, at a per-share price, payable in cash, equal to the aggregate amount then on deposit in the Trust Account including interest earned on the funds held in the Trust Account and not previously released to the Company to pay its taxes (less up to $100,000 of interest to pay dissolution expenses), divided by the number of then outstanding Public Shares, which redemption will completely extinguish Public Stockholders’ rights as stockholders (including the right to receive further liquidating distributions, if any), subject to applicable law, and (iii) as promptly as reasonably possible following such redemption, subject to the approval of the remaining stockholders and the board of directors, dissolve and liquidate, subject in the case of clauses (ii) and (iii) above to the Company’s obligations under Delaware law to provide for claims of creditors and the requirements of other applicable law.

The Initial Stockholders agreed to waive their liquidation rights with respect to the Founder Shares if the Company fails to complete a Business Combination within the Combination Period. However, if the Initial Stockholders should acquire Public Shares in or after the Initial Public Offering, they will be entitled to liquidating distributions from the Trust Account with respect to such Public Shares if the Company fails to complete a Business Combination within the Combination Period. In the event of such distribution, it is possible that the per share value of the residual assets remaining available for distribution (including Trust Account assets) will be only $10.10 per share initially held in the Trust Account.

The Company will seek to have all third parties and any prospective target businesses enter into valid and enforceable agreements with the Company waiving any right, title, interest or claim of any kind they may have in or to any monies held in the Trust Account. Nevertheless, there is no guarantee that vendors, service providers and prospective target businesses will execute such agreements. The Sponsor agreed that it will be liable to the Company if and to the extent any claims by a vendor for services rendered or products sold to the Company, or

BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO UNAUDITED CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

a prospective target business with which the Company has discussed entering into a transaction agreement, reduce the amount of funds in the Trust Account to below $10.10 per Public Share, except as to any claims by a third party who executed a valid and enforceable agreement with the Company waiving any right, title, interest or claim of any kind they may have in or to any monies held in the Trust Account and except as to any claims under the Company’s indemnity of the underwriters in the Initial Public Offering against certain liabilities, including liabilities under the Securities Act. However, the Sponsor may not be able to satisfy its indemnification obligations. Moreover, the Sponsor will not be liable to the Public Stockholders and instead will only have liability to the Company.

Liquidity and Capital Resources

As of March 31, 2021, the Company had approximately $421,000 in its operating bank account, and working capital of approximately $545,000 (not taking into account approximately $21,000 in tax obligations that may be paid using investment income earned in the Trust Account).

The Company’s liquidity needs to date have been satisfied through a payment of $25,000 from the Sponsor to pay for certain offering costs in exchange for issuance of the Founder Shares, the loan under the Note of approximately $116,000 (as defined in Note 5), and the net proceeds from the consummation of the Private Placement not held in the Trust Account. The Company fully repaid the Note on February 2, 2021. In addition, in order to finance transaction costs in connection with an Initial Business Combination, the Company’s officers, directors and initial stockholders may, but are not obligated to, provide the Company Working Capital Loans (see Note 5). As of March 31, 2021, there were no amounts outstanding under any Working Capital Loans.

Based on the foregoing, management believes that the Company will have sufficient working capital and borrowing capacity to meet its needs through the earlier of the consummation of an Initial Business Combination or one year from this filing. Over this time period, the Company will be using these funds for paying existing accounts payable, identifying and evaluating prospective Initial Business Combination candidates, performing due diligence on prospective target businesses, paying for travel expenditures, selecting the target business to merge with or acquire, and structuring, negotiating and consummating the Initial Business Combination.

Note 2 — Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

Basis of Presentation

The accompanying unaudited condensed financial statements are presented in U.S. dollars in conformity with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America (“GAAP”) for financial information and pursuant to the rules and regulations of the SEC. Accordingly, they do not include all of the information and footnotes required by GAAP. In the opinion of management, the unaudited condensed financial statements reflect all adjustments, which include only normal recurring adjustments necessary for the fair statement of the balances and results for the periods presented. Operating results for the three months ended March 31, 2021 are not necessarily indicative of the results that may be expected through December 31, 2021.

The accompanying unaudited condensed financial statements should be read in conjunction with the audited financial statements and notes thereto included in the Current Report on Form 8-K and the final prospectus filed by the Company with the SEC on February 8, 2021 and January 29, 2021, respectively.

In April 2021, the Company identified an error in its accounting treatment for its Private Placement Warrants (as defined in Note 4) as presented in its audited balance sheet as of February 2, 2021 included in its Current Report on Form 8-K.

BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO UNAUDITED CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

The Private Placement Warrants were reflected as a component of equity as opposed to liabilities on the balance sheet. Pursuant to Accounting Standards Codification (“ASC”) 250, Accounting Changes and Error Corrections issued by the Financial Accounting Standards Board (“FASB”) and Staff Accounting Bulletin 99, “Materiality”) (“SAB 99”) issued by the SEC, the Company determined the impact of the error was immaterial. The impact of the error correction is reflected in the unaudited condensed financial statements contained herein which resulted in a $160,000 increase to the derivative warrant liabilities line item and offsetting decrease to the Class A common stock subject to possible redemption mezzanine equity line item recorded as part of the activity in the three months ended March 31, 2021 as reported herein. There would have been no change to total stockholders’ equity as reported.

Emerging Growth Company

The Company is an “emerging growth company,” as defined in Section 2(a) of the Securities Act, as modified by the Jumpstart Our Business Startups Act of 2012 (the “JOBS Act”), and it may take advantage of certain exemptions from various reporting requirements that are applicable to other public companies that are not emerging growth companies including, but not limited to, not being required to comply with the independent registered public accounting firm attestation requirements of Section 404 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, reduced disclosure obligations regarding executive compensation in its periodic reports and proxy statements, and exemptions from the requirements of holding a nonbinding advisory vote on executive compensation and stockholder approval of any golden parachute payments not previously approved.

Further, Section 102(b)(1) of the JOBS Act exempts emerging growth companies from being required to comply with new or revised financial accounting standards until private companies (that is, those that have not had a Securities Act registration statement declared effective or do not have a class of securities registered under the Exchange Act) are required to comply with the new or revised financial accounting standards. The JOBS Act provides that an emerging growth company can elect to opt out of the extended transition period and comply with the requirements that apply to non-emerging growth companies but any such an election to opt out is irrevocable. The Company has elected not to opt out of such extended transition period, which means that when a standard is issued or revised and it has different application dates for public or private companies, the Company, as an emerging growth company, can adopt the new or revised standard at the time private companies adopt the new or revised standard. This may make comparison of the Company’s financial statement with another public company that is neither an emerging growth company nor an emerging growth company that has opted out of using the extended transition period difficult or impossible because of the potential differences in accounting standards used.

Concentration of Credit Risk

Financial instruments that potentially subject the Company to concentrations of credit risk consist of cash accounts in a financial institution, which, at times, may exceed the Federal Depository Insurance Coverage limit of $250,000. As of March 31, 2021, the Company has not experienced losses on these accounts and management believes the Company is not exposed to significant risks on such accounts.

Cash and Cash Equivalents

The Company considers all short-term investments with an original maturity of three months or less when purchased to be cash equivalents. The Company had no cash equivalents as of March 31, 2021.

Investments Held in Trust Account

The Company’s portfolio of investments is comprised solely of U.S. government securities, within the meaning set forth in Section 2(a)(16) of the Investment Company Act, with a maturity of 185 days or less, or investments in money market funds that invest in U.S. government securities, or a combination thereof. The Company’s investments held in the Trust Account are classified as trading securities. Trading securities are presented on the balance sheet at fair value at the end of each reporting period. Gains and losses resulting from the change in fair value of these securities is included in net gain from investments held in Trust Account in the accompanying statement of operations. The estimated fair values of investments held in the Trust Account are determined using available market information.

BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO UNAUDITED CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

Fair Value of Financial Instruments

Fair value is defined as the price that would be received for the sale of an asset or paid for transfer of a liability, in an orderly transaction between market participants at the measurement date. U.S. GAAP establishes a three-tier fair value hierarchy, which prioritizes the inputs used in measuring fair value.

The hierarchy gives the highest priority to unadjusted quoted prices in active markets for identical assets or liabilities (Level 1 measurements) and the lowest priority to unobservable inputs (Level 3 measurements). These tiers include:

•	Level 1, defined as observable inputs such as quoted prices for identical instruments in active markets;

•

Level 2, defined as inputs other than quoted prices in active markets that are either directly or indirectly observable such as quoted prices for similar instruments in active markets or quoted prices for identical or similar instruments in markets that are not active; and

•

Level 3, defined as unobservable inputs in which little or no market data exists, therefore requiring an entity to develop its own assumptions, such as valuations derived from valuation techniques in which one or more significant inputs or significant value drivers are unobservable.

In some circumstances, the inputs used to measure fair value might be categorized within different levels of the fair value hierarchy. In those instances, the fair value measurement is categorized in its entirety in the fair value hierarchy based on the lowest level input that is significant to the fair value measurement.

As of March 31, 2021, the carrying values of cash, prepaid expenses, accounts payable, accrued expenses, franchise tax payable and notes payable to related party approximate their fair values due to the short-term nature of the instruments.

Use of Estimates

The preparation of financial statement in conformity with U.S. GAAP requires the Company’s management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of assets and liabilities and disclosure of contingent assets and liabilities at the date of the financial statement. Actual results could differ from those estimates.

Derivative warrant liabilities

The Company does not use derivative instruments to hedge exposures to cash flow, market, or foreign currency risks. The Company evaluates all of its financial instruments, including issued stock purchase warrants, to determine if such instruments are derivatives or contain features that qualify as embedded derivatives, pursuant to ASC Topic 480, “Distinguishing Liabilities from Equity” and ASC Topic 815-15, “Derivative and Hedging – Embedded Derivatives.” The classification of derivative instruments, including whether such instruments should be recorded as liabilities or as equity, is re-assessed at the end of each reporting period.

The 2,875,000 Public Warrants (as defined in Note 3) issued in connection with the Initial Public Offering (the “Public Warrants”) are classified as equity. The 123,500 Private Placement Warrants (as defined in Note 4) are recognized as derivative liabilities in accordance with ASC Topic 815-40, “Derivatives and Hedging – Contracts in Entity’s Own Equity.” Accordingly, the Company recognizes the Private Placement Warrants as liabilities at fair value and adjusts the instruments to fair value at each reporting period. The liabilities are subject to re-measurement at each balance sheet date until exercised, and any change in fair value is recognized in the Company’s statement of operations. The fair value of the Private Placement Warrants were initially and subsequently measured at fair value using a Monte Carlo simulation model.

Offering Costs Associated with the Initial Public Offering

Offering costs consisted of legal, accounting, underwriting fees and other costs incurred through the Initial Public Offering that were directly related to the Initial Public Offering. Offering costs are allocated to the separable financial instruments issued in the Initial Public Offering based on a relative fair value basis, compared to total proceeds received. Offering costs associated with warrant liabilities are expensed as incurred, presented as non-operating expenses in the statement of operations. Offering costs associated with the Public Shares were charged to stockholders’ equity upon the completion of the Initial Public Offering.

BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO UNAUDITED CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

Common Stock Subject to Possible Redemption

The Company accounts for its common stock subject to possible redemption in accordance with the guidance in ASC Topic 480 “Distinguishing Liabilities from Equity.” Common stock subject to mandatory redemption (if any) are classified as liability instruments and are measured at fair value. Conditionally redeemable common stock (including shares of common stock that feature redemption rights that are either within the control of the holder or subject to redemption upon the occurrence of uncertain events not solely within the Company’s control) are classified as temporary equity. At all other times, common stock is classified as stockholders’ equity. The Company’s common stock features certain redemption rights that are considered to be outside of the Company’s control and subject to occurrence of uncertain future events. Accordingly, at March 31, 2021, 5,286,410 shares of common stock subject to possible redemption at the redemption amount were presented at redemption value as temporary equity, outside of the stockholders’ equity section of the Company’s balance sheet.

Income Taxes

The Company’s taxable income primarily consists of net gain from investments held in the Trust Account. The Company’s general and administrative expenses are generally considered start-up costs and are not currently deductible. For the three months ended March 31, 2021, income tax expense for the period was deemed to be immaterial.

The Company follows the asset and liability method of accounting for income taxes under FASB ASC 740, “Income Taxes.” Deferred tax assets and liabilities are recognized for the estimated future tax consequences attributable to differences between the financial statements carrying amounts of existing assets and liabilities and their respective tax bases. Deferred tax assets and liabilities are measured using enacted tax rates expected to apply to taxable income in the years in which those temporary differences are expected to be recovered or settled. The effect on deferred tax assets and liabilities of a change in tax rates is recognized in income in the period that included the enactment date. Valuation allowances are established, when necessary, to reduce deferred tax assets to the amount expected to be realized. As of March 31, 2021, the Company had deferred tax assets of approximately $25,000 with a full valuation allowance against them.

FASB ASC 740 prescribes a recognition threshold and a measurement attribute for the financial statement recognition and measurement of tax positions taken or expected to be taken in a tax return. For those benefits to be recognized, a tax position must be more likely than not to be sustained upon examination by taxing authorities. There were no unrecognized tax benefits as end of quarter March 31, 2021. The Company recognizes accrued interest and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits as income tax expense. No amounts were accrued for the payment of interest and penalties at end of quarter March 31, 2021. The Company is currently not aware of any issues under review that could result in significant payments, accruals or material deviation from its position. The Company is subject to income tax examinations by major taxing authorities since inception.

Net income (loss) per common shares

The Company complies with accounting and disclosure requirements of FASB ASC Topic 260, “Earnings Per Share.” Net income (loss) per common share is computed by dividing net loss by the weighted average number of shares of common stock outstanding during the period. The Company has not considered the effect of the warrants sold in the Initial Public Offering and Private Placement to purchase an aggregate of 2,998,500 shares of the Company’s common stock in the calculation of diluted loss per share, since the exercise of the warrants are contingent upon the occurrence of future events and the inclusion of such warrants would be anti-dilutive.

The Company’s unaudited condensed statement of operations includes a presentation of income (loss) per common share for Public Shares of common stock subject to possible redemption in a manner similar to the two-class method of income (loss) per common share. Net income (loss) per common share, basic and diluted, for Public Shares of common stock subject to possible redemption is calculated by dividing the proportionate share of income or loss on investments held by the Trust Account, net of applicable franchise and income taxes, by the weighted average number of Public Shares of common stock subject to possible redemption outstanding since original issuance.

Net income (loss) per common share, basic and diluted, for non-redeemable common stock is calculated by dividing the net income (loss), adjusted for income or loss on investments held in the Trust Account attributable to Public Shares of common stock subject to possible redemption, by the weighted average number of non-redeemable shares of common stock outstanding for the period.

BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO UNAUDITED CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

Non-redeemable common stock includes Founder Shares and non-redeemable shares of Public Shares of common stock as these shares do not have any redemption features. Non-redeemable common stock participates in the income or loss on marketable securities based on non-redeemable shares’ proportionate interest.

The following table reflects the calculation of basic and diluted net income (loss) per common share:

For The Three Months Ended March 31, 2021

Common stock subject to possible redemption
Numerator: Earnings allocable to common stock subject to possible redemption
Income from investments held in Trust Account	$1,701
Less: Company’s portion available to be withdrawn to pay taxes	(1,701)

Net income attributable to Class A common stock subject to possible redemption	$—

Denominator: Weighted average Class A common stock subject to possible redemption
Basic and diluted weighted average shares outstanding, Class A common stock subject to possible redemption	5,299,767

Basic and diluted net income per share, Class A common stock subject to possible redemption	$—

Non-redeemable common stock
Numerator: Net Loss minus Net Earnings
Net loss	$(169,999)
Net income allocable to Class A common stock subject to possible redemption	—

Non-redeemable net loss	$(169,999)

Denominator: weighted average non-redeemable common stock
Basic and diluted weighted average shares outstanding, non-redeemable common stock	1,646,500

Basic and diluted net loss per share, non-redeemable common stock	$(0.10)

Recent Accounting Standards

The Company’s management does not believe that any recently issued, but not yet effective, accounting standards if currently adopted would have a material effect on the accompanying financial statements.

Note 3 — Initial Public Offering

On February 2, 2021, the Company consummated its Initial Public Offering of 5,750,000 Units, including 750,000 Over-Allotment Units, at $10.00 per Unit, generating gross proceeds of $57.5 million, and incurring offering costs of approximately $1.3 million.

Each Unit consists of one share of common stock and one-half of one redeemable warrant (“Public Warrant”). Each whole Public Warrant entitles the holder to purchase one share of common stock at a price of $11.50 per share, subject to adjustment (see Note 7). No fractional Public Warrants will be issued upon separation of the Units and only whole Public Warrants will trade. Accordingly, unless a holder purchases at least two Units, a holder will not be able to receive or trade a whole Public Warrant.

BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO UNAUDITED CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

Note 4 — Related Party Transactions

Founder Shares

In May 2020, the Sponsor paid an aggregate of $25,000 on behalf of the Company to cover certain offering costs in exchange for the issuance of 1,437,500 shares of common stock (the “Founder Shares”) to the Sponsor. In July 2020, the Sponsor forfeited 57,500 Founder Shares for no consideration, and Ladenburg Thalmann & Co. Inc., the representative of the underwriters (“Ladenburg”), and certain of its employees purchased an aggregate of 57,500 shares of common stock (the “Representative Shares”) at an average purchase price of approximately $0.017 per share, for an aggregate purchase price of $977.50.

The Sponsor and Ladenburg agreed to forfeit up to an aggregate of 180,000 Founder Shares and 7,500 Representative Shares, respectively, on a pro rata basis, to the extent that the option to purchase additional units was not exercised in full by the underwriters, so that the Founder Shares and the Representative Shares would represent 20% of the Company’s issued and outstanding shares after the Initial Public Offering (excluding the Private Placement Units and underlying securities). On February 2, 2021, the underwriters fully exercised the over-allotment option; thus, these 187,500 shares were no longer subject to forfeiture.

The Sponsor agreed not to transfer, assign or sell 50% of their Founder Shares until the earlier of (i) six months after the date of the consummation of the initial Business Combination or (ii) the date on which the closing price of the Company’s shares of common stock equals or exceeds $12.50 per share (as adjusted for stock splits, stock dividends, reorganizations, recapitalizations and the like) for any 20 trading days within any 30-trading day period commencing after the initial Business Combination, and the remaining 50% of the Founder Shares may not be transferred, assigned or sold until six months after the date of the consummation of the initial Business Combination, or earlier, in either case, if, subsequent to the initial Business Combination, the Company consummates a subsequent liquidation, merger, stock exchange or other similar transaction which results in all of the stockholders having the right to exchange their shares of common stock for cash, securities or other property.

Private Placement Units

Simultaneously with the closing of the Initial Public Offering, the Company consummated the Private Placement of 247,000 Private Placement Units at a price of $10.00 per unit to the Sponsor, generating proceeds of approximately $2.5 million.

Each Private Placement Unit consists of one share of common stock and one-half of one redeemable warrant (“Private Placement Warrant”). Each Private Placement Warrant entitles the holder thereof to purchase one share of common stock at an exercise price of $11.50 per full share. A portion of the proceeds from the Private Placement was added to the proceeds from the Initial Public Offering held in the Trust Account. If the Company does not complete a Business Combination within the Combination Period, the Private Placement Warrants will expire.

The Private Placement Units and their component securities and the Founder Shares held by Ladenburg will not be transferable, assignable or salable until 30 days after the consummation of the initial Business Combination except to permitted transferees.

Related Party Loans

On May 27, 2020, the Sponsor agreed to loan the Company up to $300,000 to be used for the payment of costs related to the Initial Public Offering pursuant to a promissory note, which was later amended on January 4, 2021 (the “Note”). The Note was non-interest bearing, unsecured and was due upon the date the Company consummated the Initial Public Offering. The Company borrowed approximately $116,000 under the Note and fully repaid the Note on February 2, 2021.

In addition, in order to finance transaction costs in connection with a Business Combination, the Initial Stockholders may, but are not obligated to, loan the Company funds, from time to time or at any time, in whatever amount they deem reasonable in their sole discretion (the “Working Capital Loans”). Each loan would be evidenced by a promissory note. The notes will either be paid upon consummation of the initial Business Combination, without interest, or, at the lender’s discretion, up to $1.5 million of the notes may be converted upon consummation of the

BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO UNAUDITED CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

Business Combination into additional Private Placement Units at a conversion price of $10.00 per Private Placement Unit. If the Company does not complete a Business Combination, the loans will not be repaid. As of February 2, 2021, the Company had no borrowings under the Working Capital Loans.

Administrative Support Agreement

Commencing on the effective date of the Company’s prospectus, the Company agreed to pay an affiliate of the Sponsor a total of $10,000 per month for office space, utilities and secretarial and administrative support. Upon completion of the Initial Business Combination or the Company’s liquidation, the Company will cease paying these monthly fees.

Financial Advisory Fee

The Company may pay Brookline Capital Markets (“Brookline”) or its affiliates, partners or employees, a fee for financial advisory services rendered in connection with the Company’s identification, negotiation and consummation of an initial Business Combination. The amount of any fee paid to Brookline or its affiliates, partners or employees, will be based upon the prevailing market rates for similar services for such transactions at such time.

Note 5 — Commitments and Contingencies

Registration and Shareholder Rights

The holders of the Founder Shares, Representative Shares, Private Placement Units and units that may be issued upon conversion of Working Capital Loans (and in each case holders of their component securities, as applicable) are entitled to registration rights pursuant to a registration rights agreement signed upon the effective date of the Initial Public Offering. These holders are entitled to make up to three demands, excluding short form registration demands, that the Company registered such securities for sale under the Securities Act. In addition, these holders will have “piggy-back” registration rights to include their securities in other registration statements filed by the Company. However, the holders of the Representative Shares may not exercise demand and “piggyback” registration rights after five (5) and seven (7) years, respectively, after the effective date of the Company’s initial registration statement was declared effective and may not exercise demand rights on more than one occasion. The Company will bear the expenses incurred in connection with the filing of any such registration statements.

Underwriting Agreement

The Company granted the underwriters a 45-day option from the date of the prospectus filed in the Initial Public Offering to purchase up to 750,000 additional Units at the Initial Public Offering price less the underwriting discounts and commissions. On February 2, 2021, the underwriters fully exercised the over-allotment option.

The underwriters were entitled to an underwriting discount of $0.15 per unit, or $862,500 in the aggregate, paid upon the closing of the Initial Public Offering.

Risks and Uncertainties

Management continues to evaluate the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the industry and has concluded that while it is reasonably possible that the virus could have a negative effect on the Company’s financial position, results of its operations, and/or search for a target company, the specific impact is not readily determinable as of the date of this financial statement. The financial statement does not include any adjustments that might result from the outcome of this uncertainty.

Note 6 — Warrants

Public Warrants may only be exercised for a whole number of shares. No fractional Public Warrants will be issued upon separation of the Units and only whole Public Warrants will trade. The Public Warrants will become exercisable

BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO UNAUDITED CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

30 days after the completion of the initial Business Combination; provided that the Company has an effective registration statement under the Securities Act covering the shares of common stock issuable upon exercise of the Public Warrants and a current prospectus relating to them is available and such shares are registered, qualified or exempt from registration under the securities, or blue sky, laws of the state of residence of the holder (or the Company permits holders to exercise their warrants on a cashless basis under certain circumstances). However, the Company agreed that as soon as practicable, but in no event later than 15 business days after the closing of the initial Business Combination, the Company will use its best efforts to file with the SEC a registration statement covering the shares of common stock issuable upon exercise of the Public Warrants, to cause such registration statement to become effective and to maintain a current prospectus relating to those shares of common stock until the Public Warrants expire or are redeemed. If a registration statement covering the shares of common stock issuable upon exercise of the Public Warrants is not effective by the 60th business day after the closing of the initial Business Combination, warrantholders may, until such time as there is an effective registration statement and during any period when the Company will have failed to maintain an effective registration statement, exercise Public Warrants on a “cashless basis” in accordance with Section 3(a)(9) of the Securities Act or another exemption. If that exemption, or another exemption, is not available, holders will not be able to exercise their Public Warrants on a cashless basis.

The Public Warrants have an exercise price of $11.50 per full share and will expire five years after the completion of a Business Combination or earlier upon redemption or liquidation. In addition, if (x) the Company issues additional shares of common stock or equity-linked securities for capital raising purposes in connection with the closing of the initial Business Combination at an issue price or effective issue price of less than $9.20 per share of common stock (with such issue price or effective issue price to be determined in good faith by the board of directors and, in the case of any such issuance to the Sponsor or its affiliates, without taking into account any Founder Shares held by the Sponsor or such affiliates, as applicable, prior to such issuance) (the “Newly Issued Price”), (y) the aggregate gross proceeds from such issuances represent more than 60% of the total equity proceeds, and interest thereon, available for the funding of the initial Business Combination on the date of the consummation of the initial Business Combination (net of redemptions), and (z) the volume weighted average trading price of the common stock during the 20 trading day period starting on the trading day prior to the day on which the Company consummates its initial Business Combination (such price, the “Market Value”) is below $9.20 per share, the exercise price of the Public Warrants will be adjusted (to the nearest cent) to be equal to 115% of the higher of the Market Value and the Newly Issued Price, and the $18.00 per share redemption trigger price described below will be adjusted (to the nearest cent) to be equal to 180% of the higher of the Market Value and the Newly Issued Price.

Once the Public Warrants become exercisable, the Company may redeem the outstanding Public Warrants (except as described herein with respect to the Private Placement Warrants):

•	in whole and not in part;

•	at a price of $0.01 per Public Warrant;

•	upon a minimum of 30 days’ prior written notice of redemption given after the Public Warrants become exercisable; and

•

if, and only if, the last sale price of the common stock equals or exceeds $18.00 per share (as adjusted for stock splits, stock dividends, reorganizations, recapitalizations and the like) for any 20 trading days within a 30-trading day period commencing once the Public Warrants become exercisable and ending on the third trading day prior to the date on which the Company sends the notice of redemption to the warrantholders.

•

if, and only if, there is a current registration statement in effect with respect to the shares of common stock underlying such Public Warrants at the time of redemption and for the entire 30-day trading period referred to above and continuing each day thereafter until the date of redemption.

If the Company calls the Public Warrants for redemption as described above, the Company’s management will have the option to require all holders that wish to exercise Public Warrants to do so on a “cashless basis.”

The Private Placement Warrants are identical to the Public Warrants underlying the Units sold in the Initial Public Offering, except that none of the Private Placement Warrants will be redeemable by the Company so long as they are held by the initial purchasers or any of their permitted transferees.

If the Company is unable to complete a Business Combination within the Combination Period and the Company liquidates the funds held in the Trust Account, holders of either the Public Warrants or the Private Placement Warrants will not receive any of such funds with respect to their warrants, nor will they receive any distribution from the Company’s assets held outside of the Trust Account with the respect to such warrants and such warrants would expire.

BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO UNAUDITED CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

Note 7 — Shareholders’ Equity

Preference Shares—The Company is authorized to issue 1,000,000 preference shares with a par value of $0.0001 per share. At March 31, 2021 and December 31, 2020, there were no preference shares issued or outstanding.

Common Shares—The Company is authorized to issue 25,000,000 common shares with a par value of $0.0001 per share. As of March 31, 2021 and December 31, 2020, there were 7,434,500 shares of common stock issued and outstanding, including 5,286,410 and -0- shares of common stock subject to possible redemption.

Of the 7,434,500 shares of common stock outstanding, up to 187,500 of these shares were subject to forfeiture by the Sponsor on a pro rata basis depending on the extent to which the underwriters’ over-allotment option was exercised in full by the underwriters, so that the Founder Shares and the Representative Shares would represent 20% of the Company’s issued and outstanding shares after the Initial Public Offering (excluding the Private Placement Units and underlying securities). On February 2, 2021, the underwriters fully exercised the over-allotment option; thus, these 187,500 shares were no longer subject to forfeiture.

Note 8 — Fair Value Measurements

The following tables present information about the Company’s financial assets and liabilities that are measured at fair value on a recurring basis as of March 31, 2021 by level within the fair value hierarchy:

Description	Quoted Prices in Active Markets (Level 1)	Significant Other Observable Inputs (Level 2)	Significant Other Unobservable Inputs (Level 3)
Assets – Investments held in Trust Account:
Mutual funds	$5,915	$—	$—
U.S. Treasury Securities	$58,070,935	$—	$—
Liabilities:
Derivative warrant liabilities—Private	$—	$—	$208,720

Transfers to/from Levels 1, 2, and 3 are recognized at the end of the reporting period. There were no transfers between levels of the fair value hierarchy during the period ended March 31, 2021.

Level 1 instruments include investments in mutual funds invested in government securities and U.S. Treasury Securities. The Company uses inputs such as actual trade data, benchmark yields, quoted market prices from dealers or brokers, and other similar sources to determine the fair value of its investments.

The fair value of the Private Placement Warrants have been measured at fair value using a Monte Carlo simulation. For the three months ended March 31, 2021, the Company recognized a charge to the statement of operations resulting from an increase in the fair value of liabilities of approximately $49,000 presented as change in fair value of derivative warrant liabilities on the accompanying unaudited condensed statement of operations.

The estimated fair value of the Private Placement Warrants is determined using Level 3 inputs. Inherent in a Monte Carlo simulation are assumptions related to expected stock-price volatility, expected life, risk-free interest rate and dividend yield. The Company estimates the volatility of its common stock warrants based on implied volatility from the Company’s traded warrants and from historical volatility of select peer company’s common stock that matches the expected remaining life of the warrants. The risk-free interest rate is based on the U.S. Treasury zero-coupon yield curve on the grant date for a maturity similar to the expected remaining life of the warrants. The expected life of the warrants is assumed to be equivalent to their remaining contractual term. The dividend rate is based on the historical rate, which the Company anticipates remaining at zero.

BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

NOTES TO UNAUDITED CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

The following table provides quantitative information regarding Level 3 fair value measurements inputs at their measurement dates:

	As of February 2, 2021	As of March 31, 2021
Volatility	24.1%	24.4%
Stock price	$9.36	$9.83
Expected life of the options to convert	5.92	5.75
Risk-free rate	0.57%	1.10%
Dividend yield	0.0%	0.0%

The change in the fair value of the derivative warrant liabilities for the period for the three months ended March 31, 2021 is summarized as follows:

Level 3 - Derivative warrant liabilities at December 31, 2020	$—
Issuance of Private Placement Warrants	159,560
Change in fair value of derivative warrant liabilities	49,160

Level 3 - Derivative warrant liabilities at March 31, 2021	$208,720

Note 9 — Subsequent Events

Management has evaluated subsequent events and transactions that occurred after the balance sheet date through the date the balance sheet was available for issuance. Based upon this review, the Company did not identify any subsequent events that would have required adjustment or disclosure in the financial statements.

Item 2.	Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations.

References to the “Company,” “Brookline Capital Acquisition Corp.,” “Brookline,” “our,” “us” or “we” refer to Brookline Capital Acquisition Corp. The following discussion and analysis of the Company’s financial condition and results of operations should be read in conjunction with the unaudited interim condensed financial statements and the notes thereto contained elsewhere in this report. Certain information contained in the discussion and analysis set forth below includes forward-looking statements that involve risks and uncertainties.

Cautionary Note Regarding Forward-Looking Statements

This Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q includes forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and Section 21E of the Exchange Act. These forward-looking statements are also made in reliance upon the safe harbor provision of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. We have based these forward-looking statements on our current expectations and projections about future events. These forward-looking statements are subject to known and unknown risks, uncertainties and assumptions about us that may cause our actual results, levels of activity, performance or achievements to be materially different from any future results, levels of activity, performance or achievements expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. In some cases, you can identify forward-looking statements by terminology such as “may,” “should,” “could,” “would,” “expect,” “plan,” “anticipate,” “believe,” “estimate,” “continue,” or the negative of such terms or other similar expressions. Factors that might cause or contribute to such a discrepancy include, but are not limited to, those described in our other SEC filings.

Overview

We are a blank check company incorporated in Delaware on May 27, 2020. We were formed for the purpose of effecting a merger, share exchange, asset acquisition, share purchase, reorganization or similar business combination with one or more businesses (the “Business Combination”). We are an emerging growth company and, as such, we are subject to all of the risks associated with emerging growth companies.

Our Sponsor is Brookline Capital Holdings, LLC, a Delaware limited liability company (the “Sponsor”), an affiliate of Brookline Capital Markets, a division of Arcadia Securities, LLC (“Brookline”). The registration statement for our Initial Public Offering was declared effective on January 28, 2021. On February 2, 2021, we consummated our Initial Public Offering of 5,750,000 units (the “Units” and, with respect to the common stock included in the Units being offered, the “Public Shares”), including 750,000 additional Units to cover over-allotments (the “Over-Allotment Units”), at $10.00 per Unit, generating gross proceeds of $57.5 million, and incurring offering costs of approximately $1.3 million.

Simultaneously with the closing of the Initial Public Offering, we consummated the private placement (“Private Placement”) of 247,000 private placement units (each, a “Private Placement Unit” and collectively, the “Private Placement Units”) at a price of $10.00 per unit to the Sponsor, generating proceeds of approximately $2.5 million (Note 4).

Upon the closing of the Initial Public Offering and the Private Placement, approximately $58.1 million ($10.10 per Unit) of the net proceeds of the Initial Public Offering and certain of the proceeds of the Private Placement was placed in a trust account (“Trust Account”) in the United States maintained by Continental Stock Transfer & Trust Company, as trustee, and will be invested only in U.S “government securities” within the meaning of Section 2(a)(16) of the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended, or the Investment Company Act, having a maturity of 185 days or less or in money market funds meeting certain conditions under Rule 2a-7 promulgated under the Investment Company Act which invest only in direct U.S. government treasury obligations, until the earlier of: (i) the completion of a Business Combination and (ii) the distribution of the Trust Account as described below.

Our management has broad discretion with respect to the specific application of the net proceeds of its Initial Public Offering and the sale of Private Placement Units, although substantially all of the net proceeds are intended to be applied generally toward consummating a Business Combination. Our initial Business Combination must be with one or more operating businesses or assets with a fair market value equal to at least 80% of the net assets held in the Trust Account (excluding the amount of taxes payable on the income earned on the Trust Account) at the time we sign a definitive agreement in connection with the initial Business Combination. However, we will only complete a Business

Combination if the post-transaction company owns or acquires 50% or more of the outstanding voting securities of the target or otherwise acquires a controlling interest in the target sufficient for it not to be required to register as an investment company under the Investment Company Act.

If we are unable to consummate a Business Combination within the Combination Period, we will (i) cease all operations except for the purposes of winding up; (ii) as promptly as reasonably possible but not more than ten business days thereafter, redeem the Public Shares, at a per-share price, payable in cash, equal to the aggregate amount then on deposit in the Trust Account, including any interest earned on the Trust Account not previously released to us to pay its tax obligations and up to $100,000 of interest to pay dissolution expenses, divided by the number of then outstanding Public Shares, which redemption will completely extinguish public stockholders’ rights as stockholders (including the right to receive further liquidating distributions, if any), subject to applicable law, and; (iii) as promptly as reasonably possible following such redemption, subject to the approval of our remaining stockholders and our board of directors, dissolve and liquidate, subject in each case to our obligations under Delaware law to provide for claims of creditors and the requirements of other applicable law. There will be no redemption rights or liquidating distributions with respect to our warrants, which will expire if we fail to complete a Business Combination within the Combination Period.

Liquidity and Capital Resources

As of March 31, 2021, we had approximately $421,000 in our operating bank account, and working capital of approximately $545,000. The balance of the cash proceeds generated from the Initial Public Offering and Private Placement was transferred into the Trust Account.

Our liquidity needs to date have been satisfied through a payment of $25,000 from the Sponsor to pay for certain offering costs in exchange for issuance of the Founder Shares (as defined in Note 4), the loan under the Note of approximately $116,000 (as defined in Note 4), and the net proceeds from the consummation of the Private Placement not held in the Trust Account. We fully repaid the Note on February 2, 2021. In addition, in order to finance transaction costs in connection with an Initial Business Combination, our officers, directors and initial stockholders may, but are not obligated to, provide us Company Working Capital Loans (see Note 4). As of March 31, 2021, there were no amounts outstanding under any Working Capital Loans.

Based on the foregoing, management believes that we will have sufficient working capital and borrowing capacity from our Sponsor or an affiliate of our Sponsor, or certain of our officers and directors to meet its needs through the earlier of the consummation of a Business Combination or one year from this filing. Over this time period, we will be using these funds for paying existing accounts payable, identifying and evaluating prospective initial Business Combination candidates, performing due diligence on prospective target businesses, paying for travel expenditures, selecting the target business to merge with or acquire, and structuring, negotiating and consummating the Business Combination.

Management continues to evaluate the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the industry and has concluded that while it is reasonably possible that the virus could have a negative effect on our financial position, results of our operations and/or search for a target company, the specific impact is not readily determinable as of the date of the financial statements. The financial statements do not include any adjustments that might result from the outcome of this uncertainty.

Results of Operations

Our entire activity since inception through March 31, 2021 related to our formation, the preparation for an Initial Public Offering, and since our Initial Public Offering, our activity has been limited to the search for a prospective initial Business Combination. We will not generate any operating revenues until the closing and completion of our initial Business Combination.

For the three months ended March 31, 2021, we had a loss of approximately $170,000, which consisted of approximately $82,000 of general and administrative expenses, $20,000 of administrative expenses – related party, approximately $21,000 of franchise tax expense, approximately $49,000 for change in fair value of derivative liabilities, partially offset by approximately $2,000 net gain from investments held in the Trust Account.

Contractual Obligations

Administrative Support Agreement

Commencing on the effective date of the prospectus, the Company agreed to pay an affiliate of the Sponsor a total of $10,000 per month for office space, secretarial and administrative services provided to the Company. Upon completion of the initial Business Combination or the Company’s liquidation, the Company will cease paying these monthly fees.

We incurred $20,000 in general and administrative expenses in the accompanying unaudited condensed statements of operations for the three months ended March 31, 2021.

Registration and Shareholder Rights

The holders of the Founder Shares, Representative Shares, Private Placement Units and units that may be issued upon conversion of Working Capital Loans (and in each case holders of their component securities, as applicable) are entitled to registration rights pursuant to a registration rights agreement signed upon the effective date of the Initial Public Offering. These holders are entitled to make up to three demands, excluding short form registration demands, that the Company registered such securities for sale under the Securities Act. In addition, these holders will have “piggy-back” registration rights to include their securities in other registration statements filed by us. However, the holders of the Representative Shares may not exercise demand and “piggyback” registration rights after five (5) and seven (7) years after the effective date of the registration statement for our Initial Public Offering and may not exercise demand rights on more than one occasion. We will bear the expenses incurred in connection with the filing of any such registration statements.

Underwriting Agreement

We granted the underwriters a 45-day option from the date of the final prospectus included in the Initial Public Offering to purchase up to 750,000 additional Units at the Initial Public Offering price less the underwriting discounts and commissions. On February 2, 2021, the underwriters fully exercised the over-allotment option.

The underwriters were entitled to an underwriting discount of $0.15 per unit, or $862,500 in the aggregate, paid upon the closing of the Initial Public Offering.

Critical Accounting Policies

Investments Held in Trust Account

Our portfolio of investments is comprised solely of U.S. government securities, within the meaning set forth in Section 2(a)(16) of the Investment Company Act, with a maturity of 185 days or less, or investments in money market funds that invest in U.S. government securities, or a combination thereof. Our investments held in the Trust Account are classified as trading securities. Trading securities are presented on the balance sheet at fair value at the end of each reporting period. Gains and losses resulting from the change in fair value of these securities is included in investment income on Trust Account in the accompanying statement of operations. The estimated fair values of investments held in the Trust Account are determined using available market information.

Common stock subject to possible redemption

We account for our common stock subject to possible redemption in accordance with the guidance in ASC Topic 480 “Distinguishing Liabilities from Equity.” Shares of common stock subject to mandatory redemption (if any) are classified as liability instruments and are measured at fair value. Shares of conditionally redeemable common stock (including common stock that feature redemption rights that are either within the control of the holder or subject to redemption upon the occurrence of uncertain events not solely within our control) are classified as temporary equity. At all other times, shares of common stock are classified as stockholders’ equity. Our common stock features certain redemption rights that are considered to be outside of our control and subject to the occurrence of uncertain future events. Accordingly, at March 31, 2021, 5,286,410 shares of common stock subject to possible redemption at the redemption amount were presented at redemption value as temporary equity, outside of the stockholders’ equity section of our balance sheet.

Derivative warrant liabilities

We do not use derivative instruments to hedge exposures to cash flow, market, or foreign currency risks. We evaluate all of our financial instruments, including issued stock purchase warrants, to determine if such instruments are derivatives or contain features that qualify as embedded derivatives, pursuant to ASC 480 and ASC 815-15. The classification of derivative instruments, including whether such instruments should be recorded as liabilities or as equity, is re-assessed at the end of each reporting period.

The 2,875,000 warrants issued in connection with the Initial Public Offering (the “Public Warrants”) are classified as equity. The 123,500 Private Placement Warrants are recognized as derivative liabilities in accordance with ASC 815-40. Accordingly, we recognize the Private Placement Warrants as liabilities at fair value and adjust the instruments to fair value at each reporting period. The liabilities are subject to re-measurement at each balance sheet date until exercised, and any change in fair value is recognized in our statement of operations. The fair value of the Private Placement Warrants were initially and subsequently measured at fair value using a Monte Carlo simulation model.

Offering Costs Associated with the Initial Public Offering

Offering costs consisted of legal, accounting, underwriting fees and other costs incurred through the Initial Public Offering that were directly related to the Initial Public Offering. Offering costs are allocated to the separable financial instruments issued in the Initial Public Offering based on a relative fair value basis, compared to total proceeds received. Offering costs associated with warrant liabilities are expensed as incurred, presented as non-operating expenses in the statement of operations. Offering costs associated with the Public Shares were charged to stockholders’ equity upon the completion of the Initial Public Offering.

Net loss per common shares

Net loss per share is computed by dividing net loss by the weighted-average number of common shares outstanding during the periods.

Our unaudited condensed consolidated statements of operation include a presentation of loss per share for common shares subject to redemption in a manner similar to the two-class method of income per share. Net loss per share, basic and diluted for Public Shares for three months ended March 31, 2021 is calculated by dividing the investment income earned on the Trust Account of approximately $2,000, net of applicable income and franchise taxes available to be withdrawn from the Trust Account by the weighted average number of Public Shares outstanding for the period.

Net loss per share, basic and diluted for Founder Shares for the three months ended March 31, 2021 is calculated by dividing the net loss of approximately $170,000, less net income attributable to Public Shares of $0, resulting in a net loss of approximately $170,000, by the weighted average number of non-redeemable common shares outstanding for the periods.

Recent Accounting Pronouncements

Management does not believe that any recently issued, but not yet effective, accounting standards if currently adopted would have a material effect on the accompanying unaudited condensed financial statements.

Off-Balance Sheet Arrangements

As of March 31, 2021, we did not have any off-balance sheet arrangements as defined in Item 303(a)(4)(ii) of Regulation S-K.

JOBS Act

The Jumpstart Our Business Startups Act of 2012 (the “JOBS Act”) contains provisions that, among other things, relax certain reporting requirements for qualifying public companies. We qualify as an “emerging growth company” and under the JOBS Act are allowed to comply with new or revised accounting pronouncements based on the effective date for private (not publicly traded) companies. We are electing to delay the adoption of new or revised accounting standards, and as a result, we may not comply with new or revised accounting standards on the relevant dates on which adoption of such standards is required for non-emerging growth companies. As a result, the financial statements may not be comparable to companies that comply with new or revised accounting pronouncements as of public company effective dates.

Additionally, we are in the process of evaluating the benefits of relying on the other reduced reporting requirements provided by the JOBS Act. Subject to certain conditions set forth in the JOBS Act, if, as an “emerging growth company,” we choose to rely on such exemptions we may not be required to, among other things, (i) provide an auditor’s attestation report on our system of internal controls over financial reporting pursuant to Section 404, (ii) provide all of the compensation disclosure that may be required of non-emerging growth public companies under the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act, (iii) comply with any requirement that may be adopted by the PCAOB regarding mandatory audit firm rotation or a supplement to the auditor’s report providing additional information about the audit and the financial statements (auditor discussion and analysis) and (iv) disclose certain executive compensation related items such as the correlation between executive compensation and performance and comparisons of the CEO’s compensation to median employee compensation. These exemptions will apply for a period of five years following the completion of our Initial Public Offering or until we are no longer an “emerging growth company,” whichever is earlier.

Item 3.	Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures About Market Risk

We are a smaller reporting company as defined by Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act and are not required to provide the information otherwise required under this item. As of March 31, 2021, we were not subject to any market or interest rate risk. The net proceeds of the Initial Public Offering, including amounts in the Trust Account, will be invested in U.S. government securities with a maturity of 185 days or less or in money market funds that meet certain conditions under Rule 2a-7 under the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended, that invest only in direct U.S. government treasury obligations. Due to the short-term nature of these investments, we believe there will be no associated material exposure to interest rate risk.

We have not engaged in any hedging activities since our inception and we do not expect to engage in any hedging activities with respect to the market risk to which we are exposed.

Item 4.	Controls and Procedures

Disclosure controls and procedures are controls and other procedures that are designed to ensure that information required to be disclosed in our reports filed or submitted under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the “Exchange Act”), is recorded, processed, summarized and reported within the time periods specified in the SEC’s rules and forms. Disclosure controls and procedures include, without limitation, controls and procedures designed to ensure that information required to be disclosed in company reports filed or submitted under the Exchange Act is accumulated and communicated to management, including our Chief Executive Officer (who serves as our Principal Executive Officer) and Chief Financial Officer (who serves as our Principal Financial and Accounting Officer), as appropriate, to allow timely decisions regarding required disclosure.

Evaluation of Disclosure Controls and Procedures

As required by Rules 13a-15 and 15d-15 under the Exchange Act, our Chief Executive Officer and Chief Financial Officer carried out an evaluation of the effectiveness of the design and operation of our disclosure controls and procedures as of March 31, 2021. Based upon their evaluation, our Chief Executive Officer and Chief Financial Officer concluded that our disclosure controls and procedures (as defined in Rules 13a-15(e) and 15d-15(e) under the Exchange Act) were not effective as of March 31, 2021, due solely to the material weakness in our internal control over financial reporting regarding the classification of the Company’s Warrants as components of equity instead of as derivative liabilities. See Note 2 (Summary of Significant Accounting Policies) above. In light of this material weakness, we performed additional analysis as deemed necessary to ensure that our financial statements were prepared in accordance with GAAP. Accordingly, management believes that the financial statements included in this Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q present fairly in all material respects our financial position, results of operations and cash flows for the period presented.

We do not expect that our disclosure controls and procedures will prevent all errors and all instances of fraud. Disclosure controls and procedures, no matter how well conceived and operated, can provide only reasonable, not absolute, assurance that the objectives of the disclosure controls and procedures are met. Further, the design of disclosure controls and procedures must reflect the fact that there are resource constraints, and the benefits must be considered relative to their costs. Because of the inherent limitations in all disclosure controls and procedures, no evaluation of disclosure controls and procedures can provide absolute assurance that we have detected all our control deficiencies and instances of fraud, if any. The design of disclosure controls and procedures also is based partly on certain assumptions about the likelihood of future events, and there can be no assurance that any design will succeed in achieving its stated goals under all potential future conditions.

Changes in Internal Control over Financial Reporting

During the most recently completed fiscal quarter, other than as noted below, there has been no change in our internal control over financial reporting that has materially affected, or is reasonably likely to materially affect, our internal control over financial reporting. Except, the Company’s management identified a material weakness in its internal control over financial reporting due solely to the material weakness in our internal control over financial reporting regarding the classification of the Company’s Warrants as components of equity instead of as derivative liabilities.

PART II—OTHER INFORMATION

Item 1.	Legal Proceedings

None.

Item 1A.	Risk Factors

As of the date of this Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q, there have been no material changes to the risk factors disclosed in our final prospectus filed with the SEC on January 29, 2021, except for the below risk factor. We may disclose changes to such factors or disclose additional factors from time to time in our future filings with the SEC.

Certain of our warrants are accounted for as a warrant liability and are recorded at fair value upon issuance with changes in fair value each period reported in earnings, which may have an adverse effect on the market price of our common stock.

As of March 31, 2021, the Company had 123,500 Private Placement Warrants outstanding. These warrants will become exercisable 30 days after completion of the initial Business Combination provided that the Company has an effective registration statement under the Securities Act covering the shares of our common stock issuable upon exercise and a current prospectus relating to them is available and such shares are registered, qualified or exempt from registration under the securities, or blue sky, laws of the state of residence of the holder (or the Company permits holders to exercise their warrants on a cashless basis under certain circumstances). Once the Private Placement Warrants become exercisable, the Company may redeem outstanding warrants in certain circumstances; provided, however, that the Private Placement Warrants will not be redeemable by the Company so long as they are held by the initial purchasers or any of their permitted transferees. Under U.S. GAAP, the Company is required to evaluate contingent exercise provisions of these warrants and then their settlement provisions to determine whether they should be accounted for as a warrant liability or as equity. Any settlement amount not equal to the difference between the fair value of a fixed number of our equity shares and a fixed monetary amount precludes these warrants from being considered indexed to its own stock, and therefore, from being accounted for as equity. As a result of the provision that the Private Placement Warrants, when held by someone other than the initial purchasers or their permitted transferees, will be redeemable by the Company, the requirements for accounting for these warrants as equity are not satisfied. Therefore, the Company is required to account for these Private Placement Warrants as a warrant liability and record (a) that liability at fair value, and (b) any subsequent changes in fair value as of the end of each period for which earnings are reported. The impact of changes in fair value on earnings may have an adverse effect on the market price of our common stock.

The securities in which we invest the funds held in the trust account could bear a negative rate of interest, which could reduce the value of the assets held in trust such that the per-share redemption amount received by public shareholders may be less than $10.00 per share.

The proceeds held in the trust account will be invested only in U.S. government treasury obligations with a maturity of 185 days or less or in money market funds meeting certain conditions under Rule 2a-7 under the Investment Company Act, which invest only in direct U.S. government treasury obligations. While short-term U.S. government treasury obligations currently yield a positive rate of interest, they have briefly yielded negative interest rates in recent years. Central banks in Europe and Japan pursued interest rates below zero in recent years, and the Open Market Committee of the Federal Reserve has not ruled out the possibility that it may in the future adopt similar policies in the United States. In the event that we are unable to complete our initial business combination or make certain amendments to our amended and restated memorandum and articles of association, our public shareholders are entitled to receive their pro-rata share of the proceeds held in the trust account, plus any interest income, net of income taxes paid or payable (less, in the case we are unable to complete our initial business combination, $100,000 of interest to pay dissolution expenses). Negative interest rates could reduce the value of the assets held in trust such that the per-share redemption amount received by public shareholders may be less than $10.00 per share.

We have identified a material weakness in our internal control over financial reporting as of March 31, 2021. If we are unable to maintain an effective system of internal control over financial reporting, we may not be able to accurately report our financial results in a timely manner, which may adversely affect investor confidence in us and materially and adversely affect our business and operating results.

In connection with the reclassification of our warrants, we identified a material weakness in our internal controls over financial reporting.

A material weakness is a deficiency, or a combination of deficiencies, in internal control over financial reporting such that there is a reasonable possibility that a material misstatement of our annual or interim financial statements will not be prevented or detected and corrected on a timely basis.

Effective internal controls are necessary for us to provide reliable financial reports and prevent fraud. We continue to evaluate steps to remediate the material weakness. These remediation measures may be time consuming and costly and there is no assurance that these initiatives will ultimately have the intended effects.

If we identify any new material weaknesses in the future, any such newly identified material weakness could limit our ability to prevent or detect a misstatement of our accounts or disclosures that could result in a material misstatement of our annual or interim financial statements. In such case, we may be unable to maintain compliance with securities law requirements regarding timely filing of periodic reports in addition to applicable stock exchange listing requirements, investors may lose confidence in our financial reporting and our stock price may decline as a result. We cannot assure you that the measures we have taken to date, or any measures we may take in the future, will be sufficient to avoid potential future material weaknesses.

Item 2.	Unregistered Sales of Equity Securities and Use of Proceeds.

Simultaneously with the closing of the Initial Public Offering, we consummated the Private Placement of 247,000 Private Placement Units at a price of $10.00 per unit to the Sponsor, generating proceeds of approximately $2.5 million.

In connection with the Initial Public Offering, our sponsor had agreed to loan us an aggregate of up to $300,000 pursuant to the Note. This loan is non-interest bearing and payable on the consummation of the Initial Public Offering. As of March 31, 2021, the loan balance was $0.

Of the gross proceeds received from the Initial Public Offering and the full exercise of the option to purchase additional Shares, $58,075,000 was placed in the Trust Account. The net proceeds of the Initial Public Offering and certain proceeds from the Private Placement are invested in U.S. government treasury bills with a maturity of 180 days or less and in money market funds meeting certain conditions under Rule 2a-7 under the Investment Company Act which invest only in direct U.S. government treasury obligations.

We paid a total of approximately $1.5 million in underwriting discounts and commissions related to the Initial Public Offering.

Item 3.	Defaults upon Senior Securities

None.

Item 4.	Mine Safety Disclosures.

Not applicable.

Item 5.	Other Information.

None.

Item 6.	Exhibits.

Exhibit Number	Description

31.1*	Certification of Chief Executive Officer (Principal Executive Officer) Pursuant to Rules 13a-14(a) and 15d-14(a) under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as Adopted Pursuant to Section 302 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002.

31.2*	Certification of Chief Financial Officer (Principal Financial and Accounting Officer) Pursuant to Rules 13a-14(a) and 15d-14(a) under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as Adopted Pursuant to Section 302 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002.

32.1*	Certification of Chief Executive Officer (Principal Executive Officer) Pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350, as Adopted Pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002.

32.2*	Certification of Chief Financial Officer (Principal Financial and Accounting Officer) Pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350, as Adopted Pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002.

101.INS	XBRL Instance Document

101.SCH	XBRL Taxonomy Extension Schema Document

101.CAL	XBRL Taxonomy Extension Calculation Linkbase Document

101.DEF	XBRL Taxonomy Extension Definition Linkbase Document

101.LAB	XBRL Taxonomy Extension Label Linkbase Document

101.PRE	XBRL Taxonomy Extension Presentation Linkbase Document

*

These certifications are furnished to the SEC pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 and are deemed not filed for purposes of Section 18 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, nor shall they be deemed incorporated by reference in any filing under the Securities Act of 1933, except as shall be expressly set forth by specific reference in such filing.

SIGNATURE

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.

Dated: June 4, 2021	BROOKLINE CAPITAL ACQUISITION CORP.

	By:	/s/ Dr. Samuel P. Wertheimer
	Name:	Dr. Samuel P. Wertheimer
	Title:	Chief Executive Officer and Chairman