Remitly Reports Second Quarter 2023 Results
Active customers up 47% year over year
Send volume up 38% year over year
Revenue up 49% year over year

SEATTLE, WA / August 2, 2023 / GlobeNewswire / - Remitly Global, Inc. (NASDAQ: RELY), a leading digital financial services provider for immigrants and their families in over 170 countries around the world, reported results for the second quarter ended June 30, 2023.

“I am grateful to our customers and our global teams for our exceptional second quarter results and driving our outsized active customer growth,” said Matt Oppenheimer, co-founder and Chief Executive Officer, Remitly. “Based on our performance and the continued resilience of our customers, we are pleased to increase our 2023 outlook for both revenue and adjusted EBITDA, while at the same time making high-return investments to move us towards our long-term vision. Remitly is the trusted provider for millions of immigrants across the globe, and we continue to be motivated by their inspiring stories and unwavering commitment to continue supporting their loved ones across economic cycles.”

Second Quarter 2023 Highlights and Key Operating Data
(All comparisons relative to the second quarter of 2022)
•Active customers increased to 5.0 million, from 3.4 million, up 47%.
•Send volume increased to $9.6 billion, from $7.0 billion, up 38%.
•Revenue totaled $234.0 million, compared to $157.3 million, up 49%.
•Net loss was $18.9 million, compared to a net loss of $38.2 million.
•Adjusted EBITDA was $20.4 million, compared to $(5.3) million.

2023 Financial Outlook
For fiscal year 2023, Remitly currently expects:
•Total revenue in the range of $915 million to $925 million, representing a growth rate of 40% to 42% year over year. This outlook reflects an increase from our prior outlook of $875 million to $895 million.
•To remain in a GAAP net loss position for 2023 and for Adjusted EBITDA to be in the range of $33 million to $40 million. This outlook reflects an increase from our prior Adjusted EBITDA outlook of $5 million to $15 million.

Reconciliation of GAAP to Non-GAAP Financial Measures
A reconciliation of GAAP to non-GAAP financial measures has been provided in the financial statement tables included in this earnings release. An explanation of these measures is also included below under the heading “Non-GAAP Financial Measures.” We have not provided a quantitative reconciliation of forecasted Adjusted EBITDA to forecasted GAAP net income (loss) or to forecasted GAAP income (loss) before income taxes within this earnings release because we cannot, without unreasonable effort, calculate certain reconciling items with confidence due to the variability, complexity, and limited visibility of the adjusting items that would be excluded from forecasted Adjusted EBITDA. These items include, but are not limited to, income taxes and stock-based compensation expense, which are directly impacted by unpredictable fluctuations in the market price of our common stock. The variability of these items could have a significant impact on our future GAAP financial results.

Note: All percentage changes described within this press release are calculated using amounts in the Company’s Annual Reports on Form 10-K and Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”), for which revenue and active customers are presented in thousands and send volume is presented in millions. Rounding differences may occur when individually calculating percentages or totals from rounded amounts included within the press release body as compared to the amounts included with the Company’s SEC filings.

Webcast Information
Remitly will host a webcast at 5:00 p.m. Eastern time on Wednesday, August 2, 2023 to discuss its second quarter 2023 financial results. The live webcast and investor presentation will be accessible on Remitly’s website at https://ir.remitly.com. A webcast replay will be available on our website at https://ir.remitly.com following the live event.

We have used, and intend to continue to use, the Investor Relations section of our website at https://ir.remitly.com as a means of disclosing material nonpublic information and for complying with our disclosure obligations under Regulation FD.

Non-GAAP Financial Measures
Some of the financial information and data contained in this earnings release, such as Adjusted EBITDA and non-GAAP operating expenses, have not been prepared in accordance with United States generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”).
We regularly review our key business metrics and non-GAAP financial measures to evaluate our performance, identify trends affecting our business, prepare financial projections, and make strategic decisions. We believe that these key business metrics and non-GAAP financial measures provide meaningful supplemental information for management and investors in assessing our historical and future operating performance. Adjusted EBITDA and non-GAAP operating expenses are key output measures used by our management to evaluate our operating performance, inform future operating plans, and make strategic long-term decisions, including those relating to operating expenses and the allocation of internal resources. Remitly believes that the use of Adjusted EBITDA and non-GAAP operating expenses provides additional tools to assess operational performance and trends in, and in comparing Remitly’s financial measures with, other similar companies, many of which present similar non-GAAP financial measures to investors. Remitly’s non-GAAP financial measures may be different from non-GAAP financial measures used by other companies. The presentation of non-GAAP financial measures is not intended to be considered in isolation or as a substitute for, or superior to, financial measures determined in accordance with GAAP. Because of the limitations of non-GAAP financial measures, you should consider the non-GAAP financial measures presented herein in conjunction with Remitly’s financial statements and the related notes thereto. Please refer to the non-GAAP reconciliations in this press release for a reconciliation of these non-GAAP financial measures to the most comparable financial measure prepared in accordance with GAAP.

We calculate Adjusted EBITDA as net loss adjusted by (i) interest (income) expense, net, (ii) (benefit) provision for income taxes, (iii) noncash charge of depreciation and amortization, (iv) gains and losses from the remeasurement of foreign currency assets and liabilities into their functional currency, (v) noncash charges associated with our donation of common stock in connection with our Pledge 1% commitment, (vi) noncash stock-based compensation expense, net, and (vii) certain transaction and integration costs associated with acquisitions. We calculate non-GAAP operating expenses as our GAAP operating expenses adjusted by (i) noncash stock-based compensation expense, net, (ii) noncash charges associated with our donation of common stock in connection with our Pledge 1% commitment, as well as (iii) certain transaction and integration costs associated with acquisitions.

Forward-Looking Statements
This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. All statements other than statements of historical fact are forward-looking statements. These statements include, but are not limited to, statements regarding our future operating results and financial position, including our fiscal year 2023 financial outlook, including forecasted fiscal year 2023 revenue and Adjusted EBITDA, anticipated future expenses and investments, expectations relating to certain of our key financial and operating metrics, our business strategy and plans, market growth, our market position and potential market opportunities, and our objectives for future operations. The words “believe,” “may,” “will,” “estimate,” “potential,” “continue,” “anticipate,” “intend,” “expect,” “could,” “would,” “project,” “plan,” “target,” and similar expressions are intended to identify forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements are based on management’s expectations, assumptions, and projections based on information available at the time the statements were made. These forward-looking statements are subject to a number of risks, uncertainties, and assumptions, including risks and uncertainties related to our ability to successfully execute our business and growth strategy, our ability to achieve and maintain future profitability, our ability to further penetrate our existing customer base and expand our customer base in existing and new corridors, our ability to expand into broader financial services, our ability to expand internationally, the effects of seasonal trends on our results of operations, the current inflationary environment, our expectations concerning relationships with third parties, including strategic, banking, and disbursement partners, our ability to obtain, maintain, protect, and enhance our intellectual property and other proprietary rights, our ability to keep data and our technology platform secure, the success of any acquisitions or investments that we make, our ability to compete effectively, our ability to stay in compliance with applicable laws and regulations, our ability to buy foreign currency at generally advantageous rates, and the effects of changes to immigration laws, macroeconomic conditions, and geopolitical forces on our customers and business operations. It is not possible for our management to predict all risks, nor can we assess the impact of all factors on our business or the extent to which any factor, or combination of factors, may cause actual results to differ materially from those contained in any forward-looking statements we may make. In light of these risks, uncertainties, and assumptions, our actual results could differ materially and adversely from those anticipated or implied in the forward-looking statements. Further information on risks that could cause actual results to differ materially from forecasted results is included in our quarterly report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2023 to be filed with the SEC, and within our annual report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2022 filed with the SEC, which are or will be available on our website at https://ir.remitly.com and on the SEC’s website at www.sec.gov. Except as required by law, we assume no obligation to update these forward-looking statements, or to update the reasons if actual results differ materially from those anticipated in the forward-looking statements.

About Remitly
Remitly is a leading digital financial services provider for immigrants and their families in over 170 countries around the world. Remitly helps immigrants send money home in a safe, reliable and transparent manner. Its digitally native, cross-border remittance app eliminates the long wait times, complexities and fees typical of traditional remittance processes. Building on its strong foundation, Remitly is expanding its suite of products to further its mission and transform financial services for immigrants all around the world.

Contacts

Media:
Kendall Sadler
kendall@remitly.com

Investor Relations:
Stephen Shulstein
stephens@remitly.com

REMITLY GLOBAL, INC.
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations
(unaudited)

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
(in thousands, except share and per share data)	2023	2022	2023	2022
Revenue	$234,033	$157,255	$437,898	$293,269
Costs and expenses
Transaction expenses(1)	80,187	60,826	154,253	117,089
Customer support and operations(1) (2)	21,483	16,855	41,414	30,725
Marketing(1) (2)	53,600	43,849	97,723	84,470
Technology and development(1) (2)	54,309	36,083	103,685	59,658
General and administrative(1) (2)	39,490	37,509	80,898	60,851
Depreciation and amortization	3,187	1,510	6,216	3,027
Total costs and expenses	252,256	196,632	484,189	355,820
Loss from operations	(18,223)	(39,377)	(46,291)	(62,551)
Interest income	1,368	439	3,392	475
Interest expense	(592)	(332)	(981)	(645)
Other (expense) income, net	(1,546)	1,687	(3,057)	2,356
Loss before provision for income taxes	(18,993)	(37,583)	(46,937)	(60,365)
(Benefit) provision for income taxes	(143)	662	227	1,190
Net loss attributable to common stockholders	$(18,850)	$(38,245)	$(47,164)	$(61,555)
Net loss per share attributable to common stockholders:
Basic and diluted	$(0.11)	$(0.23)	$(0.27)	$(0.37)
Weighted-average shares used in computing net loss per share attributable to common stockholders:
Basic and diluted	179,076,496	166,498,333	177,105,720	165,450,862

(1) Exclusive of depreciation and amortization, shown separately, above.
(2) Includes stock-based compensation expense, net. The condensed consolidated financial statements for the three and six months ended June 30, 2022 include an adjustment of $6.3 million to stock-based compensation expense and additional paid-in capital, to correct for an error identified by management during the preparation of the financial statements for the three and six months ended June 30, 2022. This adjustment relates to the understatement of stock-based compensation expense during prior periods, of which $1.9 million relates to the three months ended March 31, 2022, and the remaining $4.4 million amount relates to prior annual fiscal periods. Management has determined that this error was not material to the historical financial statements in any individual period or in the aggregate and did not result in the previously issued financial statements being materially misstated. Substantially all of the cumulative adjustment was related to share-based compensation for personnel who support our general and administrative functions and was recorded to General and administrative expenses in the three months ended June 30, 2022.

Stock-Based Compensation Expense, net:

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
(in thousands)	2023	2022	2023	2022
Customer support and operations	$419	$277	$624	$370
Marketing	4,727	2,765	7,710	3,797
Technology and development	18,588	13,649	35,219	17,721
General and administrative	11,466	15,850	20,881	20,247
Total	$35,200	$32,541	$64,434	$42,135

REMITLY GLOBAL, INC.
Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets
(unaudited)

	June 30,	December 31,
(in thousands)	2023	2022
Assets
Current assets
Cash and cash equivalents	$227,507	$300,635
Disbursement prefunding	281,940	158,055
Customer funds receivable, net	138,870	191,402
Prepaid expenses and other current assets	30,848	19,327
Total current assets	679,165	669,419
Property and equipment, net	13,380	11,546
Operating lease right-of-use assets	11,718	8,675
Goodwill	54,940	—
Intangible assets, net	19,071	—
Other noncurrent assets, net	6,253	6,313
Total assets	$784,527	$695,953
Liabilities and Stockholders’ Equity
Current liabilities
Accounts payable	$17,608	$6,794
Customer liabilities	102,262	111,075
Short-term debt	2,432	—
Accrued expenses and other current liabilities	98,717	87,752
Operating lease liabilities	5,637	3,521
Total current liabilities	226,656	209,142
Operating lease liabilities, noncurrent	7,239	5,674
Long-term debt	34,000	—
Other noncurrent liabilities	895	1,050
Total liabilities	$268,790	$215,866
Commitments and contingencies
Stockholders’ equity
Common stock	$18	$17
Additional paid-in capital	936,496	854,276
Accumulated other comprehensive loss	(150)	(743)
Accumulated deficit	(420,627)	(373,463)
Total stockholders’ equity	515,737	480,087
Total liabilities and stockholders’ equity	$784,527	$695,953

REMITLY GLOBAL, INC.
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows
(unaudited)

	Six Months Ended June 30,
(in thousands)	2023	2022
Cash flows from operating activities
Net loss	$(47,164)	$(61,555)
Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net cash (used in) provided by operating activities:
Depreciation and amortization	6,216	3,027
Stock-based compensation expense, net	64,434	42,135
Other	2,203	179
Changes in operating assets and liabilities:
Disbursement prefunding	(117,870)	(39,873)
Customer funds receivable	54,245	(29,868)
Prepaid expenses and other assets	(10,344)	(2,687)
Operating lease right-of-use assets	2,434	1,743
Accounts payable	10,180	4,317
Customer liabilities	(12,477)	60,279
Accrued expenses and other liabilities	(1,518)	50,395
Operating lease liabilities	(1,806)	(2,062)
Net cash (used in) provided by operating activities	(51,467)	26,030
Cash flows from investing activities
Purchases of property and equipment	(1,566)	(1,492)
Capitalized internal-use software costs	(2,344)	(1,688)
Cash paid for acquisition, net of acquired cash, cash equivalents, and restricted cash	(40,933)	—
Net cash used in investing activities	(44,843)	(3,180)
Cash flows from financing activities
Proceeds from exercise of stock options	8,333	4,467
Proceeds from revolving credit facility borrowings	334,000	—
Repayments of revolving credit facility borrowings	(300,000)	—
Taxes paid related to net share settlement of equity awards	(2,111)	(30)
Repayment of assumed indebtedness	(17,068)	—
Net cash provided by financing activities	23,154	4,437
Effect of foreign exchange rate changes on cash, cash equivalents, and restricted cash	663	(840)
Net (decrease) increase in cash, cash equivalents, and restricted cash	(72,493)	26,447
Cash, cash equivalents, and restricted cash at beginning of period	300,734	403,313
Cash, cash equivalents, and restricted cash at end of period	$228,241	$429,760
Supplemental disclosure of cash flow information
Cash paid for interest	$771	$465
Cash paid for income taxes	804	829
Supplemental disclosure of noncash investing and financing activities
Operating lease right-of-use assets obtained in exchange for operating lease liabilities	$5,414	$6,932
Vesting of early exercised options	245	393
Noncash issuance of common stock in connection with ESPP	2,729	1,882
Stock-based compensation expense capitalized to internal-use software	1,374	900
Issuance of common stock for acquisition consideration	6,635	—
Issuance of unvested common stock, subject to service-based vesting conditions, in connection with acquisition	581	—
Amounts held back for acquisition consideration	11,899	—
Settlement of preexisting net receivable in exchange for net assets acquired in business combination	2,401	—
Reconciliation of cash, cash equivalents, and restricted cash
Cash and cash equivalents	$227,507	$429,709
Restricted cash included in prepaid expenses and other current assets	680	—
Restricted cash included in other noncurrent assets, net	54	51
Total cash, cash equivalents and restricted cash	$228,241	$429,760

REMITLY GLOBAL, INC.
Reconciliation of GAAP to Non-GAAP Financial Measures
(unaudited)

Reconciliation of net loss to Adjusted EBITDA:

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
(in thousands)	2023	2022	2023	2022
Net loss	$(18,850)	$(38,245)	$(47,164)	$(61,555)
Add:
Interest (income) expense, net	(776)	(107)	(2,411)	170
(Benefit) provision for income taxes	(143)	662	227	1,190
Depreciation and amortization	3,187	1,510	6,216	3,027
Foreign exchange (gain) loss	1,482	(1,687)	2,987	(2,356)
Stock-based compensation expense, net	35,200	32,541	64,434	42,135
Transaction costs(1)	316	—	1,489	—
Adjusted EBITDA	$20,416	$(5,326)	$25,778	$(17,389)

(1) Transaction costs primarily represents expenses related to the acquisition and integration of Rewire (O.S.G) Research and Development Ltd.

Reconciliation of operating expenses to non-GAAP operating expenses:

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
(in thousands)	2023	2022	2023	2022
Customer support and operations	$21,483	$16,855	$41,414	$30,725
Excluding: Stock-based compensation expense, net	419	277	624	370
Non-GAAP customer support and operations	$21,064	$16,578	$40,790	$30,355

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
	2023	2022	2023	2022
Marketing	$53,600	$43,849	$97,723	$84,470
Excluding: Stock-based compensation expense, net	4,727	2,765	7,710	3,797
Non-GAAP marketing	$48,873	$41,084	$90,013	$80,673

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
	2023	2022	2023	2022
Technology and development	$54,309	$36,083	$103,685	$59,658
Excluding: Stock-based compensation expense, net	18,588	13,649	35,219	17,721
Non-GAAP technology and development	$35,721	$22,434	$68,466	$41,937

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
	2023	2022	2023	2022
General and administrative	$39,490	$37,509	$80,898	$60,851
Excluding: Stock-based compensation expense, net	11,466	15,850	20,881	20,247
Excluding: Transaction costs	316	—	1,489	—
Non-GAAP general and administrative	$27,708	$21,659	$58,528	$40,604