Experience Investment Corp. (CIK 1779128)
Form 10-Q
period 2020-03-31
filed 2020-05-13

UNITED STATES

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

Washington, D.C. 20549

FORM 10-Q

(MARK ONE)

x	QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the quarter ended March 31, 2020

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

As of May 13, 2020, 27,500,000 shares of Class A common stock, par value $0.0001 per share, and 6,875,000 shares of Class B common stock, par value $0.0001 per share, were issued and outstanding.

EXPERIENCE INVESTMENT CORP.

FORM 10-Q FOR THE QUARTER ENDED MARCH 31, 2020

PART I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION

EXPERIENCE INVESTMENT CORP.

CONDENSED BALANCE SHEETS

	March 31, 2020	December 31, 2019
	(unaudited)
ASSETS
Current assets
Cash	$1,093,335	$1,305,608
Prepaid expenses	148,625	125,000
Total Current Assets	1,241,960	1,430,608

Marketable securities held in Trust Account	277,130,866	276,261,596
TOTAL ASSETS	$278,372,826	$277,692,204

LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS’ EQUITY
Current liabilities
Accounts payable and accrued expenses	$93,176	$136,694
Accrued offering costs	26,000	26,000
Income taxes payable	360,681	208,612
Total Current Liabilities	479,857	371,306

Deferred underwriting fee payable	9,625,000	9,625,000
Total Liabilities	10,104,857	9,996,306

Commitments

Class A common stock subject to possible redemption, 26,163,140 and 26,180,927 shares at redemption value as of March 31, 2020 and December 31, 2019, respectively	263,267,961	262,695,890

Stockholders’ Equity
Preferred stock, $0.0001 par value; 1,000,000 authorized; none issued and outstanding		—
Class A Common stock, $0.0001 par value; 100,000,000 shares authorized; 1,336,860 and 1,319,073 shares issued and outstanding (excluding 26,163,140 and 26,180,927 shares subject to possible redemption) as of March 31, 2020 and December 31, 2019, respectively	134	132
Class B Common stock, $0.0001 par value; 10,000,000 shares authorized; 6,875,000 shares issued and outstanding March 31, 2020 and December 31, 2019	688	688
Additional paid-in capital	3,642,337	4,214,410
Retained earnings	1,356,849	784,778
Total Stockholders’ Equity	5,000,008	5,000,008
TOTAL LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS’ EQUITY	$278,372,826	$277,692,204

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these condensed financial statements.

1

EXPERIENCE INVESTMENT CORP.

CONDENSED STATEMENT OF OPERATIONS

THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2020

(Unaudited)

Operating costs	$145,130
Loss from operations	(145,130)

Other income:
Interest income on marketable securities held in Trust Account	869,270
Other income	869,270

Income before provision for income taxes	724,140
Provision for income taxes	(152,069)
Net income	$572,071

Weighted average shares outstanding, basic and diluted (1)	8,194,073

Basic and diluted net income per common share (2)	$(0.01)

(1)	Excludes an aggregate of 26,163,140 shares subject to possible redemption March 31, 2020.
(2)	Net loss per common share – basic and diluted excludes interest income of $634,775 attributable to common stock subject to possible redemption for the three months ended March 31, 2020.

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these condensed financial statements.

2

EXPERIENCE INVESTMENT CORP.

CONDENSED STATEMENT OF CHANGES IN STOCKHOLDERS’ EQUITY

THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2020

(Unaudited)

	Class A Common Stock		Class B Common Stock		Additional Paid-in	Retained	Total Stockholders’
	Shares	Amount	Shares	Amount	Capital	Earnings	Equity
Balance – January 1, 2020	1,319,073	$132	6,875,000	$688	$4,214,410	$784,778	$5,000,008

Change in value of common stock subject to possible redemption	17,787	2	—	—	(572,073)	—	(572,071)

Net income	—	—	—	—	—	572,071	572,071

Balance – March 31, 2020	1,336,860	$134	6,875,000	$688	$3,642,337	$1,356,849	$5,000,008

The accompanying notes are an integral part of the condensed financial statements.

3

EXPERIENCE INVESTMENT CORP.

CONDENSED STATEMENT OF CASH FLOWS

THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2020

(Unaudited)

Cash Flows from Operating Activities:
Net income	$572,071
Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash used in operating activities:
Interest income earned on marketable securities held in Trust Account	(869,270)
Changes in operating assets and liabilities:
Prepaid expenses	(23,625)
Accounts payable and accrued expenses	(43,518)
Income taxes payable	152,069
Net cash used in operating activities	(212,273)

Net Change in Cash	(212,273)
Cash – Beginning	1,305,608
Cash – Ending	$1,093,335

Non-cash investing and financing activities:
Change in value of common stock subject to possible redemption	$572,071

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these condensed financial statements.

4

EXPERIENCE INVESTMENT CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

MARCH 31, 2020

(Unaudited)

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

As of March 31, 2020, the Company had not commenced any operations. All activity through March 31, 2020 relates to the Company’s formation, the initial public offering (“Initial Public Offering”), which is described below, and identifying a target company for a Business Combination. The Company will not generate any operating revenues until after the completion of its initial Business Combination, at the earliest. The Company will generate non-operating income in the form of interest income from the proceeds derived from the Initial Public Offering.

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

Following the closing of the Initial Public Offering on September 17, 2019, an amount of $275,000,000 ($10.00 per Unit) from the net proceeds of the sale of the Units in the Initial Public Offering and the sale of the Private Placement Warrants was placed in a trust account (the “Trust Account”) and invested in U.S. government securities, within the meaning set forth in Section 2(a)(16) of the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended (the “Investment Company Act”), with a maturity of 180 days or less or in any open-ended investment company that holds itself out as a money market fund selected by the Company meeting the conditions of Rule 2a-7 of the Investment Company Act, as determined by the Company, until the earlier of: (i) the completion of a Business Combination or (ii) the distribution of the Trust Account, as described below.

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

5

EXPERIENCE INVESTMENT CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

MARCH 31, 2020

(Unaudited)

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

6

EXPERIENCE INVESTMENT CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

MARCH 31, 2020

(Unaudited)

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

The accompanying unaudited condensed financial statements should be read in conjunction with the Company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2019 as filed with the SEC on March 20, 2020, which contains the audited financial statements and notes thereto. The interim results for the three months ended March 31, 2020 are not necessarily indicative of the results to be expected for the year ending December 31, 2020 or for any future interim periods.

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

7

EXPERIENCE INVESTMENT CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

MARCH 31, 2020

(Unaudited)

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

Cash and Cash Equivalents

The Company considers all short-term investments with an original maturity of three months or less when purchased to be cash equivalents. The Company did not have any cash equivalents as of March 31, 2020 and December 31, 2019.

Marketable Securities Held in Trust Account

At March 31, 2020 and December 31, 2019, substantially all of the assets held in the Trust Account were held in money market funds that invests primarily in U.S. Treasury Bills.

Common Stock Subject to Possible Redemption

The Company accounts for its common stock subject to possible redemption in accordance with the guidance in Accounting Standards Codification (“ASC”) Topic 480 “Distinguishing Liabilities from Equity.” Common stock subject to mandatory redemption is classified as a liability instrument and is measured at fair value. Conditionally redeemable common stock (including common stock that features redemption rights that is either within the control of the holder or subject to redemption upon the occurrence of uncertain events not solely within the Company’s control) is classified as temporary equity. At all other times, common stock is classified as stockholders’ equity. The Company’s Class A common stock features certain redemption rights that are considered to be outside of the Company’s control and subject to occurrence of uncertain future events. Accordingly, common stock subject to possible redemption is presented at redemption value as temporary equity, outside of the stockholders’ equity section of the Company’s condensed balance sheets.

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

ASC 740 also clarifies the accounting for uncertainty in income taxes recognized in an enterprise’s financial statements and prescribes a recognition threshold and measurement process for financial statement recognition and measurement of a tax position taken or expected to be taken in a tax return. For those benefits to be recognized, a tax position must be more-likely-than-not to be sustained upon examination by taxing authorities. The Company recognizes accrued interest and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits as income tax expense. There were no unrecognized tax benefits and no amounts accrued for interest and penalties as of March 31, 2020 and December 31, 2019. The Company is currently not aware of any issues under review that could result in significant payments, accruals or material deviation from its position. The Company is subject to income tax examinations by major taxing authorities since inception.

On March 27, 2020, President Trump signed the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security “CARES” Act into law. The CARES Act includes several significant business tax provisions that, among other things, would eliminate the taxable income limit for certain net operating losses (“NOL) and allow businesses to carry back NOLs arising in 2018, 2019 and 2020 to the five prior years, suspend the excess business loss rules, accelerate refunds of previously generated corporate alternative minimum tax credits, generally loosen the business interest limitation under IRC section 163(j) from 30 percent to 50 percent among other technical corrections included in the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act tax provisions.

Net Loss per Common Share

Net loss per common share is computed by dividing net loss by the weighted average number of common shares outstanding for the period. The Company applies the two-class method in calculating earnings per share. Shares of common stock subject to possible redemption at March 31, 2020, which are not currently redeemable and are not redeemable at fair value, have been excluded from the calculation of basic loss per share since such shares, if redeemed, only participate in their pro rata share of the Trust Account earnings. The Company has not considered the effect of warrants sold in the Initial Public Offering and the private placement to purchase 14,166,667 shares of Class A common stock in the calculation of diluted loss per share, since the exercise of the warrants is contingent upon the occurrence of future events. As a result, diluted loss per common share is the same as basic loss per common share for the periods presented.

8

EXPERIENCE INVESTMENT CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

MARCH 31, 2020

(Unaudited)

Reconciliation of Net Loss per Common Share

The Company’s net income is adjusted for the portion of income that is attributable to common stock subject to possible redemption, as these shares only participate in the earnings of the Trust Account and not the income or losses of the Company. Accordingly, basic and diluted loss per common share is calculated as follows:

Three Months Ended March 31, 2020
Net income	$572,071
Less: Income attributable to common stock subject to possible redemption	(634,775)
Adjusted net loss available to common shares	$(62,704)

Weighted average shares outstanding, basic and diluted	8,194,073

Basic and diluted net loss per share	$(0.01)

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

Fair Value of Financial Instruments

The fair value of the Company’s assets and liabilities, which qualify as financial instruments under ASC 820, “Fair Value Measurement,” approximates the carrying amounts represented in the accompanying condensed balance sheets, primarily due to their short-term nature.

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

9

EXPERIENCE INVESTMENT CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

MARCH 31, 2020

(Unaudited)

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

10

EXPERIENCE INVESTMENT CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

MARCH 31, 2020

(Unaudited)

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

NOTE 7. STOCKHOLDERS’ EQUITY

Preferred Stock — The Company is authorized to issue 1,000,000 shares of preferred stock with a par value of $0.0001 per share with such designations, voting and other rights and preferences as may be determined from time to time by the Company’s board of directors. At March 31, 2020 and December 31, 2019, there were no shares of preferred stock issued or outstanding.

Class A Common Stock — The Company is authorized to issue 100,000,000 shares of Class A common stock with a par value of $0.0001 per share. Holders of Class A common stock are entitled to one vote for each share. At March 31, 2020 and December 31, 2019, there were 1,336,860 and 1,319,073 shares of Class A common stock issued and outstanding, excluding 26,163,140 and 26,180,927 shares of Class A common stock subject to possible redemption, respectively.

Class B Common Stock — The Company is authorized to issue 10,000,000 shares of Class B common stock with a par value of $0.0001 per share. Holders of Class B common stock are entitled to one vote for each share. At March 31, 2020 and December 31, 2019, there were 6,875,000 shares of Class B common stock issued and outstanding.

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

11

EXPERIENCE INVESTMENT CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

MARCH 31, 2020

(Unaudited)

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

If the Company calls the Public Warrants for redemption for cash, management will have the option to require all holders that wish to exercise the Public Warrants to do so on a “cashless basis,” as described in the warrant agreement. The exercise price and number of shares of Class A common stock issuable upon exercise of the warrants may be adjusted in certain circumstances including in the event of a stock dividend, or recapitalization, reorganization, merger or consolidation. However, except as described below, the warrants will not be adjusted for issuance of Class A common stock at a price below its exercise price. Additionally, in no event will the Company be required to net cash settle the warrants. If the Company is unable to complete a Business Combination within the Combination Period and the Company liquidates the funds held in the Trust Account, holders of warrants will not receive any of such funds with respect to their warrants, nor will they receive any distribution from the Company’s assets held outside of the Trust Account with the respect to such warrants. Accordingly, the warrants may expire worthless.

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

12

EXPERIENCE INVESTMENT CORP.

NOTES TO CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

MARCH 31, 2020

(Unaudited)

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

The following table presents information about the Company’s assets that are measured at fair value on a recurring basis at March 31, 2020 and December 31, 2019, and indicates the fair value hierarchy of the valuation inputs the Company utilized to determine such fair value:

Description	Level	March 31, 2020	December 31, 2019
Assets:
Marketable securities held in Trust Account	1	$277,130,866	$276,261,596

NOTE 9. SUBSEQUENT EVENTS

The Company evaluated subsequent events and transactions that occurred after the balance sheet date up to the date that the financial statements were issued. Based upon this review, the Company did not identify any subsequent events that would have required adjustment or disclosure in the condensed financial statements.

13

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

Overview

We are a blank check company incorporated as a Delaware Corporation on May 24, 2019 and formed for the purpose of effecting a merger, capital stock exchange, asset acquisition, stock purchase, reorganization or similar Business Combination with one or more businesses. We intend to complete our initial Business Combination using cash from the proceeds of this offering and the private placements of the Private Placement Warrant s, our capital stock, debt or a combination of cash, stock and debt.

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

14

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

Results of Operations

We have neither engaged in any operations nor generated any revenues to date. Our only activities from inception to March 31, 2020 were organizational activities and those necessary to prepare for our Initial Public Offering, described below, and, after our Initial Public Offering, identifying a target company for an initial Business Combination. We do not expect to generate any operating revenues until after completion of our Business Combination. We generate non-operating income in the form of interest income on marketable securities held in our trust account. We are incurring expenses as a result of being a public company (for legal, financial reporting, accounting and auditing compliance), as well as due diligence expenses.

For the three months ended March 31, 2020, we had net income of $572,071, which consisted of interest income on marketable securities held in the Trust Account of $869,270, offset by operating costs of $145,130 and a provision for income taxes of $152,069.

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

As of March 31, 2020, we had marketable securities held in the Trust Account of $277,130,866 (including approximately $2,131,000 of interest income) consisting of shares in a money market fund that invests primarily in U.S. Treasury Bills with a maturity of 180 days or less. Interest income on the balance in the Trust Account may be used by us to pay taxes. Through March 31, 2020, we did not withdraw any interest earned on the Trust Account.

For the three months ended March 31, 2020, cash used in operating activities was $212,273. Net income of $572,071 was offset by interest income earned on marketable securities held in the Trust Account of $869,270. Changes in operating assets and liabilities provided $84,926 of cash from operating activities.

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

15

As of March 31, 2020, we had cash of $1,093,335 held outside the Trust Account. We intend to use the funds held outside the Trust Account to pay for our remaining offering costs and to identify and evaluate target business, perform business due diligence on prospective target businesses, travel to and from the offices, plants or similar locations of prospective target businesses, review corporate documents and material agreements of prospective target businesses, select the target business to acquire and structure, negotiate and complete a Business Combination.

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

Off-Balance Sheet Arrangements

We have no obligations, assets or liabilities, which would be considered off-balance sheet arrangements as of March 31, 2020. We do not participate in transactions that create relationships with unconsolidated entities or financial partnerships, often referred to as variable interest entities, which would have been established for the purpose of facilitating off-balance sheet arrangements. We have not entered into any off-balance sheet financing arrangements, established any special purpose entities, guaranteed any debt or commitments of other entities, or purchased any non-financial assets.

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

Critical Accounting Policies

The preparation of condensed financial statements and related disclosures in conformity with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of assets and liabilities, disclosure of contingent assets and liabilities at the date of the financial statements, and income and expenses during the periods reported. Actual results could materially differ from those estimates. We have identified the following critical accounting policies:

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

16

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

Under the supervision and with the participation of our management, including our principal executive officer and principal financial and accounting officer, we conducted an evaluation of the effectiveness of our disclosure controls and procedures as of the end of the fiscal quarter ended March 31, 2020, as such term is defined in Rules 13a-15(e) and 15d-15(e) under the Exchange Act. Based on this evaluation, our principal executive officer and principal financial and accounting officer have concluded that during the period covered by this report, our disclosure controls and procedures were effective.

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

17

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

For a description of the use of the proceeds generated in our Initial Public Offering, see Part I, Item 2 of this Form 10-Q.

Item 3.	Defaults Upon Senior Securities.

None

Item 4.	Mine Safety Disclosures.

Not Applicable.

Item 5.	Other Information.

None.

Item 6.	Exhibits

The following exhibits are filed as part of, or incorporated by reference into, this Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q.

Exhibit No.	Description of Exhibits
31.1*	Certification of Principal Executive Officer Pursuant to Securities Exchange Act Rules 13a-14(a), as adopted Pursuant to Section 302 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002
31.2*	Certification of Principal Financial Officer Pursuant to Securities Exchange Act Rules 13a-14(a), as adopted Pursuant to Section 302 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002
32.1*	Certification of Principal Executive Officer Pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350, as adopted Pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002
32.2*	Certification of Principal Financial Officer Pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350, as adopted Pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002
101.INS*	XBRL Instance Document
101.CAL*	XBRL Taxonomy Extension Calculation Linkbase Document
101.SCH*	XBRL Taxonomy Extension Schema Document
101.DEF*	XBRL Taxonomy Extension Definition Linkbase Document
101.LAB*	XBRL Taxonomy Extension Labels Linkbase Document
101.PRE*	XBRL Taxonomy Extension Presentation Linkbase Document

* Filed herewith.

18

SIGNATURES

Pursuant to the requirements of Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned, thereunto duly authorized.

EXPERIENCE INVESTMENT CORP.

Date: May 13, 2020	By:	/s/ Eric Affeldt
	Name:	Eric Affeldt
	Title:	Chief Executive Officer
(Principal Executive Officer)

Date: May 13, 2020	By:	/s/ Charlie Martin
	Name:	Charlie Martin
	Title:	Chief Financial Officer
(Principal Financial and Accounting Officer)

19