An Isoflavonoid Modulator of Oxidative Metabolism with Therapeutic Potential in Obesity and Diabetes Timothy J. Kieffer1, Megan Pugsley1, Justin Stege1, Zhenhuan Zheng1, Brad Hirakawa1, Bryan Jones1, Musa M. Mhlanga2, Laszlo Groh2, Yavor Yordanov2, Sandra E. Wiley3, Patrick M. Boland4, Heinz-Josef Lenz5, Tien Lee1 1Aardvark Therapeutics, San Diego, CA, US. 2Department of Internal Medicine and Radboud Center for Infectious Diseases, Radboud University Medical Center, Nijmegen, NL. 3MEI Pharma, San Diego, CA, US. 4Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey, New Brunswick, NJ, US. 5University of Southern California Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center, Los Angeles, CA, US. AardvarkTherapeutics.com Introduction Theoretical OCR Changes with Uncoupler1 Phase 1b Study: Weight Loss in Patients with mCRC Conclusions References & Footnotes WE-868 Modulates Metabolism In Vitro Study 1: WE-868 Attenuates Weight Gain in Mice on HFD Study 2: WE-868 Induces Weight Loss in DIO Mice Figure 1. Clinical Phase 1b Schema A Phase 1b Open-label, Multiple Dose/Schedule Sequential Clinical Study in Patients2 with Relapsed Metastatic Colorectal Cancer (mCRC) Treated with WE-868 and Bevacizumab (NCT05824559)3 Grade 1 Grade 2 Grade 3 Grade 4 All Grades5 Decreased sodium 1 1 (4.3%) Atrial fibrillation 1 1 (4.3%) Fatigue 2 1 3 (13.0%) Decreased white blood cells 1 1 2 (8.7%) Constipation 1 1 (4.3%) Non-cardiac chest pain 1 1 (4.3%) Nausea 1 1 (4.3%) Abdominal pain 1 2 3 (13.0%) Peripheral neuropathy 4 4 (17.4%) Weakness 2 2 (8.7%) Chills 1 1 (4.3%) Hyponatremia 1 1 (4.3%) Vomiting 1 1 2 (8.7%) Headache 1 1 (4.3%) Diarrhea 2 1 1 4 (17.4%) Decreased neutrophil 1 1 (4.3%) Table 1. Adverse Events Considered Related to WE-868 (N=23)4 Figure 19. Body Weight Changes in Mice Treated with Vehicle, Semaglutide, or WE-868 over 5 Weeks14 Figure 22. Intraperitoneal Glucose Tolerance Test (IPGTT) Figure 14. Body Weight Changes in Mice Treated with Vehicle or WE-868 Over 8 Weeks8 Table 3. Histology Scores. Figure 2. Summary Of Weight Loss by Cycle Figure 3. Weight Loss by Subject Figure 4. Oxygen Consumption Rate (OCR) @ 4 Hours and Low Concentration Figure 5. Basal Respiration @ 4h Figure 6. Max Respiration @ 4h Figure 7. Proton Leak @ 4h Group N Treatment Administration Dose 1 12 Vehicle PO, QD - 2 12 Semaglutide SQ, QD 5 nmol/kg 3 12 WE-868 PO, QD 12.5 mg/kg 4 12 WE-868 PO, QD 25 mg/kg 5 12 WE-868 PO, QD 50 mg/kg Figure 24. Lean Body Mass17 Figure 23. IPGTT: Total Area Under the Curve16 Table 2. Study 1 Animal Grouping and Dosing Regimen Group N Treatment Administration Dose Diet 1 12 Vehicle PO, QD - Standard Chow6 2 12 Vehicle PO, QD - HFD7 3 12 WE-868 PO, QD 25 mg/kg HFD 4 12 WE-868 PO, QD 50 mg/kg HFD Table 4. Study 2 Animal Grouping and Dosing Regimen12 WE-868 dose-dependently prevented HFD-induced weight gain, with the higher dose inducing net weight loss. Patients with mCRC experienced an average body weight loss >10% over a median of 10 weeks – exceeding the expected amount.19 MoA studies indicates WE-868 suppressed OXPHOS and altered glycolytic flux without increasing proton leak. In DIO mice, significant weight loss was seen in medium and high-dose WE-868 compared to vehicle, and between high-dose WE-868 and Semaglutide. ObesityWeek, November 4-7, 2025 Body weight was measured 3x weekly; food and water consumption were recorded 2x weekly starting on Day 0. Body weight was evaluated twice weekly, starting at Day 0. Food and water consumption were recorded three to four times weekly starting at Day 10. Figure 18. Study 2 Schema13 Figure 13. Study 2 Schema Figure 15. Change in Body Weight from Baseline9 Figure 20. Change in Body Weight from Baseline15 Figure 21. Temperature Figure 16. Lean Body Mass10 Figure 17. Fat Mass11 Obesity drives cardiometabolic disease, yet durable, scalable therapies remain limited. WE-868, a synthetic isoflavonoid, shifts cellular energy metabolism—lowering oxidative phosphorylation (OXPHOS) while increasing glycolytic flux—without evidence of mitochondrial uncoupling. Mechanism: Determine whether WE-868 suppresses OXPHOS and enhances glycolysis without increasing proton leak (Seahorse XF; RNA-seq pathway signatures). Objectives OCR with WE-868 at High Concentration Vehicle (Standard Chow) Vehicle (HFD) WE-868 (25 mg/kg) WE-868 (50 mg/kg) Liver Ballooning 0 3 0.17 0 Muscle Inflammation 0.17 1 0.33 0.33 TOMM20 Liver 1 0.5 1 1 Muscle 1 1 0.67 0.58 Citrulline Synthesis Liver 1.33 0.67 1 1 Muscle 1 1.17 1 1 0 = Normal 1 = Mild 2 = Moderate 3 = Severe Figure 25. Fat Mass18 Figure 12. Oncolines Profiler: WE-868 Clusters with Other Drugs Targeting Microtubule Dynamics Figure 11. Mutations in Cell Lines Resistant to WE-868 Localize to the Same Binding Site on TUBA1B Mitochondrial stress assay was performed on 30,000 HepG2 cells, seeded in quintuplicate into each well of a 96‑well Seahorse assay plate, and allowed to adhere overnight. They were treated of WE-868 (0, 0.01, 0.05, 0.1, 0.2, and 0.4 µg/ml) for 4h each measurement consisting of three cycles (3 min mix, 2 min wait, 3 min measure). Following 3 baseline measurements, sequential injections of oligomycin (1 µM), FCCP (1,5 µM), and antimycin A/rotenone (2,5/1,25 µM) were performed each with a 3 measurement cycles.  Seahorse XF Analysis RNA Sequencing Samples were shipped to Novogene (CRO) for directional mRNA library preparation using poly(A) enrichment. Libraries were sequenced on the NovaSeq X Plus series platform using paired-end 150 bp reads. Figure 8. RNA Seq: Negative Regulation of Glycogen Metabolic Process Figure 9. RNA Seq: Glycophagy Figure 10. RNA Seq: Cori Cycle Divakaruni, A. S., & Jastroch, M. (2022). A practical guide for the analysis, standardization and interpretation of oxygen consumption measurements. Nature metabolism, 4(8), 978–994. https://doi.org/10.1038/s42255-022-00619-4 N=23 enrolled, N=21 completed dosing, N=19 used for weight loss analysis. Boland, P. M., Lenz, H. J., Ciombor, K. K., Florou, V., Pishvaian, M. J., Cusnir, M., Cohen, D., Guo, J. Y., Tang, M., Rajagopalan, P., Wiley, S. E., Ghalie, R. G., & Hochster, H. S. (2025). A Phase 1b study of the OxPhos inhibitor ME-344 with bevacizumab in refractory metastatic colorectal cancer. Investigational new drugs, 43(1), 60–68. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10637-024-01489-1 ME-344-03 clinical trial data. Company internal data on file. Denominator: N=23 subjects dosed with WE-868 in 28-day cycles in open-label extension. Standard Diet: 2018 Teklad Global 18% Protein, Inotiv, Inc., West Lafayette, IN. High-fat Diet: HFD, 60% kcal from fat; Research Diets No. D12492, Research Diets, Inc., New Brunswick, NJ. **** P < 0.0001, vs the vehicle (HFD) at Day 59. **** P < 0.0001, vs the vehicle (HFD). **** P < 0.0001, vs the vehicle (HFD). $ P < 0.05, and $$$$ P < 0.0001, vs baseline within the same treatment group. **** P < 0.0001, vs the vehicle (HFD). $$ P < 0.01, and $$$$ P < 0.0001, vs baseline within the same treatment group. Two mice in the WE-868 at 50 mg/kg succumbed to excessive body weight loss (>30%). For DEXA taken on Day 31, n=6 for vehicle, semaglutide, and WE-868 (25 and 50 mg/kg). 12.5mg/kg WE-868 group did not undergo DEXA on Day 31. For IPGTT on Day 32, n=6 for all groups. For temperature taken on Day 45, n=6 for vehicle, semaglutide, and WE-868 (25 and 50 mg/kg), and n=12 WE-868 (12.5 mg/kg). * P < 0.05, **** P < 0.0001, vs the vehicle at Day 39. ** P < 0.01, **** P < 0.0001, vs the vehicle. ** P < 0.01, *** P < 0.001, **** P < 0.0001, vs the vehicle. $ P < 0.05, and $$ P < 0.01, vs baseline within the same treatment group. * P < 0.05, ** P < 0.01, and **** P < 0.0001, vs the vehicle. $$ P < 0.01, and $$$$ P < 0.0001, vs baseline within the same treatment group. Guercio BJ, Zhang S, Venook AP, Ou FS, Niedzwiecki D, Lenz HJ, et al. Body Mass Index and Weight Loss in Metastatic Colorectal Cancer in CALGB (Alliance)/SWOG 80405. JNCI Cancer Spectr. 2020;4(3):pkaa024. Preclinical efficacy/safety: Test prevention and treatment effects on weight, body composition, glycemia, temperature, and histology in HFD/DIO mouse studies. Clinical signal: Describe weight trajectories and safety signals observed in an open-label Phase 1b mCRC cohort receiving WE-868 with bevacizumab. WE-868 does not behave like known Complex 1 Inhibitor Potentially impacting microtubule gene expression and dynamics. WE-868 Implicated in Microtubule Dynamics Mitochondrial uncoupling Exhibit 99.2