Exhibit 99.1

Elanco Animal Health 2500 Innovation Way Greenfield, IN 46140

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Investor Contact: Jim Greffet +1.317.383.9935

Media Contact: Colleen Parr Dekker +1.317.989.7011

Elanco Animal Health to File Registration Statement in Connection

With Lilly Divestiture Announcement

GREENFIELD, Ind. (Feb. 8, 2019) Elanco Animal Health Incorporated (NYSE: ELAN), formerly the animal health business of Eli Lilly and Company (Lilly), today announced it intends to file a Form S-4 Registration Statement with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) in connection with Lilly’s proposed exchange offer whereby Lilly shareholders can exchange shares of Lilly common stock for shares of Elanco common stock owned by Lilly. The exchange offer is anticipated to be tax-free for participating Lilly shareholders in the United States, except with respect to cash received in lieu of fractional shares.

“We’re pleased to take this next step on our journey to independence that began with our IPO last September,” said Jeff Simmons, Elanco President and Chief Executive Officer. “We’re grateful for Lilly’s support as they helped Elanco grow into the diversified, global company we are today with the ability to stand alone.  I look forward to continuing to build Elanco for the future as we execute against our targeted value-generating strategy.”

The exchange offer is voluntary for Lilly shareholders.  No action is necessary for Lilly shareholders that choose not to participate, who retain their existing shares.

Cautionary Statement Regarding Forward-Looking Statements

This communication contains certain statements about Eli Lilly and Company (“Lilly”) and Elanco Animal Health Incorporated (“Elanco”) that are “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of Section 27A of the United States Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and Section 21E of the United States Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the “Exchange Act”). Forward-looking statements are based on current expectations and assumptions regarding Lilly’s and Elanco’s respective businesses, the economy and other future conditions. In addition, the forward-looking statements contained in this communication may include statements about the expected effects on Lilly and Elanco of the exchange offer, the anticipated timing and benefits of the exchange offer, Lilly’s and Elanco’s anticipated financial results, and all other statements in this communication that are not historical facts.

Because forward-looking statements relate to the future, by their nature, they are subject to inherent uncertainties, risks and changes in circumstances that are difficult to predict and are detailed more fully in Lilly’s and Elanco’s respective periodic reports filed from time to time with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”), the Registration Statement, including the prospectus forming a part thereof, and other exchange offer documents to be  filed by Elanco and Lilly with the SEC. Such uncertainties, risks and changes in circumstances could cause actual results to differ materially from those expressed or implied in such forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements included herein are made as of the date hereof, and neither Lilly nor Elanco undertakes any obligation to update publicly such statements to reflect subsequent events or circumstances, except to the extent required by applicable securities laws. Investors should not put undue reliance on forward-looking statements.

Additional Information and Where to Find It:

This document is for informational purposes only and is neither an offer to buy, sell or exchange nor the solicitation of an offer to buy, sell or exchange any securities. If the exchange offer is commenced, and there can be no assurances that the exchange offer will be commenced on the terms described in this document or at all, the terms

and conditions of the exchange offer will be more fully described in the registration statement to be filed by Elanco with the SEC and a Schedule TO to be filed by Lilly with the SEC. The prospectus, which will be included in the registration statement, will contain important information about Lilly, Elanco, the planned separation of Elanco from Lilly and related matters. Lilly will mail the prospectus to its shareholders. Investors and security holders are urged to read carefully and in its entirety the prospectus and any other relevant documents filed with the SEC by Lilly and Elanco, if and when they become available and before making any investment decision. None of Lilly, Elanco, or any of their respective directors or officers or any dealer manager appointed with respect to the exchange offer makes any recommendation as to whether investors should participate in the exchange offer. Investors will be able to obtain a free copy of the prospectus and other related documents filed with the SEC by Lilly and Elanco at the SEC’s website at www.sec.gov. Those documents also may be obtained for free, as applicable, from Lilly at www.lilly.com or Elanco at www.elanco.com.

ABOUT ELANCO

Elanco (NYSE: ELAN) is a global animal health company that develops products and knowledge services to prevent and treat disease in food animals and pets in more than 90 countries. With a 64-year heritage, we rigorously innovate to improve the health of animals and benefit our customers, while fostering an inclusive, cause-driven culture for more than 5,800 employees. At Elanco, we’re driven by our vision of food and companionship enriching life - all to advance the health of animals, people and the planet.