Exhibit 99.1

PRESS RELEASE | March 3, 2022 | NASDAQ: PLL

Piedmont Lithium Partner Sayona Mining Doubles Quebec Lithium Resource Estimate

BELMONT, N.C., March 3, 2022 – Piedmont Lithium Inc. (“Piedmont” or the “Company”) (NASDAQ: PLL; ASX: PLL), a leading, diversified developer of lithium resources required to enable the U.S. electric vehicle supply chain, today announced that Piedmont’s partner, Sayona Mining (ASX:SYA), recently announced completion of a Mineral Resource estimate update for the North American Lithium and Authier Projects in Quebec totaling 119.1 million metric tonnes @ 1.05% Li2O.  Piedmont owns a 25% project interest in the North American Lithium and Authier Projects via an equity stake in Sayona Quebec as well as an equity interest of approximately 17% in Sayona Mining. Sayona Mining’s estimate, including 73.7 Mt @ 1.05% Li2O of Measured and Indicated Resources, was reported in accordance with JORC Code (2012) and NI 43-101 standards.

“Sayona’s reported doubling of the Mineral Resources at North American Lithium and Authier supports Sayona Quebec’s claim as the largest spodumene resource in Canada, and this is the next step in helping Piedmont achieve its vision of becoming the leading lithium hydroxide producer in North America,” said Piedmont COO, Patrick Brindle. Mr. Brindle added, “We are happy and excited for our partners. Sayona Quebec is one of the largest and best-located spodumene businesses in Canada and, as a past-producer with the bulk of plant and equipment in place, we believe is also the most advanced at this time. We look forward to Sayona’s upcoming release of new technical studies for both Authier and North American Lithium as we advance our plans to jointly restart spodumene concentrate production at North American Lithium in 2023 as the world’s demand for electric vehicles and lithium hydroxide continues to accelerate.”

The statements below were prepared by, and made by, Sayona. The following disclosures are not statements of Piedmont and have not been independently verified by Piedmont. Sayona is not subject to U.S. reporting requirements or obligations, and investors are cautioned not to put undue reliance on these statements.

Sayona’s original announcement can be found here.

For further information, contact:
Keith Phillips	Brian Risinger
President & CEO	VP – Investor Relations and Corporate Communications
T: +1 973 809 0505	T: +1 704 910 9688
E: kphillips@piedmontlithium.com	E: brisinger@piedmontlithium.com

About Piedmont Lithium

Piedmont Lithium (Nasdaq: PLL; ASX: PLL) is developing a world-class, multi-asset, integrated lithium business focused on enabling the transition to a net zero world and the creation of a clean energy economy in North America. The centerpiece of our operations, Carolina Lithium, is located in the renowned Carolina Tin-Spodumene Belt of North Carolina. Combining our U.S. assets with equally strategic and in-demand mineral resources, and minority equity investments in companies that own production assets in Quebec and Ghana, positions us to be one of the largest, lowest cost, most sustainable producers of battery-grade lithium hydroxide in the world. We will also be the most strategically located to best serve the fast-growing North American electric vehicle supply chain. The unique geology, geography and proximity of our resources, production operations and customer base, will allow us to deliver valuable continuity of supply of a high-quality, sustainably produced lithium hydroxide from spodumene concentrate, preferred by most EV manufacturers. Our diversified operations will enable us to play a pivotal role in supporting America’s move toward decarbonization and the electrification of transportation and energy storage. For more information, visit www.piedmontlithium.com.

Forward Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of or as described in securities legislation in the United States and Australia, including statements regarding exploration, development, and construction activities of Sayona and Piedmont; current plans for Piedmont’s mineral and chemical processing projects; and strategy. Such forward-looking statements involve substantial and known and unknown risks, uncertainties, and other risk factors, many of which are beyond our control, and which may cause actual timing of events, results, performance or achievements and other factors to be materially different from the future timing of events, results, performance, or achievements expressed or implied by the forward-looking statements. Such risk factors include, among others: (i) that

Piedmont or Sayona will be unable to commercially extract mineral deposits, (ii) that Piedmont’s or Sayona’s  properties may not contain expected reserves, (iii) risks and hazards inherent in the mining business (including risks inherent in exploring, developing, constructing and operating mining projects, environmental hazards, industrial accidents, weather or geologically related conditions), (iv) uncertainty about Piedmont’s ability to obtain required capital to execute its business plan, (v) Piedmont’s ability to hire and retain required personnel, (vi) changes in the market prices of lithium and lithium products, (vii) changes in technology or the development of substitute products, (viii) the uncertainties inherent in exploratory, developmental and production activities, including risks relating to permitting, zoning and regulatory delays related to our projects as well as the projects of our partners in Quebec and Ghana, (ix) uncertainties inherent in the estimation of lithium resources, (x) risks related to competition, (xi) risks related to the information, data and projections related to Sayona Quebec and Atlantic Lithium, (xii) occurrences and outcomes of claims, litigation and regulatory actions, investigations and proceedings, (xiii) risks regarding our ability to achieve profitability, enter into and deliver product under supply agreements on favorable terms, our ability to obtain sufficient financing to develop and construct our projects, our ability to comply with governmental regulations and our ability to obtain necessary permits, and (xiv) other uncertainties and risk factors set out in filings made from time to time with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”) and the Australian Securities Exchange, including Piedmont’s most recent filings with the SEC. The forward-looking statements, projections and estimates are given only as of the date of this presentation and actual events, results, performance, and achievements could vary significantly from the forward-looking statements, projections and estimates presented in this presentation. Readers are cautioned not to put undue reliance on forward-looking statements. Piedmont disclaims any intent or obligation to update publicly such forward-looking statements, projections, and estimates, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise. Additionally, Piedmont, except as required by applicable law, undertakes no obligation to comment on analyses, expectations or statements made by third parties in respect of Piedmont, its financial or operating results or its securities.

Cautionary Note to United States Investors Concerning Estimates of Measured, Indicated and Inferred Resources

The terms "mineral resource", "measured mineral resource", "indicated mineral resource" and "inferred mineral resource" are terms defined by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”) in Regulation S-K, Item 1300 (“S-K 1300”) as well as the 2012 Edition of the Australasian Code for Reporting of Exploration Results, Mineral Resources and Ore Reserves (the “JORC Code”) and the Canada Securities Administrators National Instrument 43-101 Standards for Disclosure for Mineral Projects (“NI 43-101”). In Sayona’s announcement, it indicates that it has prepared resources information in accordance with the standards set forth in the 2012 Edition of the JORC Code and NI 43-101. Such standards differ from the requirements of U.S. securities laws that would apply if Sayona were a reporting company in the United States. Therefore, the mineral resources reported by Sayona Mining are not comparable to similar information made public by U.S. companies subject to reporting and disclosure requirements under the U.S. federal securities laws and the rules and regulations thereunder. U.S. investors are urged to consider closely the context and nature of Sayona’s disclosures in its public communications, as well as the disclosure in Piedmont’s Form 10-KT, a copy of which may be obtained from Piedmont or from the EDGAR system on the SEC’s website at http://www.sec.gov/.