Exhibit 99.1

News release

Biofrontera reports preliminary revenue for the month of August 2021

Leverkusen, Germany, September 8, 2021 – Biofrontera AG (NASDAQ: BFRA; Frankfurt Stock Exchange: B8F) (the “Company”), an international biopharmaceutical company, today reported preliminary, unaudited revenue for the month of August 2021.

The Company’s preliminary, unaudited revenue from product sales in August 2021 amounted to approximately EUR 1,485 thousand, compared to EUR 1,341 thousand in August 2020, an increase of 11%.

Preliminary revenues from product sales in the US were around EUR 1,027 thousand compared to EUR 917 thousand in August 2020, an increase of 12%. In Germany, revenues from product sales amounted to approximately EUR 349 thousand, compared to EUR 345 thousand in August 2020, a slight increase of 1%. In the rest of Europe, the Company generated product sales of around EUR 109 thousand, compared to EUR 79 thousand in August 2020, a plus of 38%.

Preliminary unaudited revenues

	August			January - August
in EUR thousands	2021	2020	2019	2021	2020	2019
USA	1,027	917	983	10,709	8,060	12,110
Germany	349	345	256	3,424	3,280	2,746
Europe (ex Germany)	109	79	103	2,016	1,200	1,670
Total revenue from product sales	1,485	1,341	1,342	16,149	12,539	16,526
Revenues from R&D projects and license payments	0	0	48	0	6,493	323
Total revenue	1,485	1,341	1,391	16,149	19,032	16,849

Due to commercial rounding, rounding differences may occur in tables.

Due to the pandemic, the monthly and year-to-date sales development is compared with sales in 2019 for increased transparency. As such, an increase of 11% in August 2021 total product sales was achieved in all markets compared to August 2019. In the USA, product sales increased by about 4% compared to August 2019. In August 2021, product sales were up by around 36% in Germany and product sales in the remaining European markets increased by approximately 7% compared to August 2019.

Compared to 2019, product sales in all markets were down by around 2% compared to sales in the period January to August 2021. Year-to-date product sales in 2021 increased by around 25% in Germany and by 21% in the rest of the European market compared to the same period in 2019. Product revenue in the US market was down 12%, mainly due to the weak sales months of January and February this year due to the pandemic as well as the lack of or lower sales of Aktipak® and Xepi® compared to the period January to August 2019.

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Biofrontera AG

Pamela Keck, Head of Investor Relations

ir@biofrontera.com

+49-214-87632-0

About Biofrontera:

Biofrontera AG is a biopharmaceutical company specializing in the development and sale of dermatological drugs and medical cosmetics.

The Germany-based company, with over 150 employees worldwide, develops and markets innovative products for the care, protection and treatment of the skin. The company’s lead product is the combination of Ameluz®, a topical prescription drug, and medical device BF-RhodoLED® for the photodynamic therapy of certain superficial skin cancers and their precursors. Ameluz® has been marketed in the EU since 2012 and in the United States since May 2016. In addition, the company markets the prescription medication Xepi® for the treatment of impetigo in the United States. In the EU, the company also sells the dermocosmetics series Belixos®, which offers specialized care for damaged or diseased skin.

Biofrontera is the first German founder-led pharmaceutical company to receive a centralized European and a US approval for a drug developed in-house. The Biofrontera Group was founded in 1997 by the current CEO Prof. Dr. Hermann Lübbert and is listed on the Frankfurt Stock Exchange (Prime Standard) and on the US NASDAQ.www.biofrontera.com.

Forward-Looking Statements: Certain statements in this press release are forward-looking within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 regarding the public offering and the intended use of proceeds from the offering.

These statements may be identified by the use of forward-looking words such as “anticipate,” “believe,” “forecast,” “estimate” and “intend,” among others. Such forward-looking statements are based on the currently held beliefs and assumptions of the management of Biofrontera AG, which are expressed in good faith and, in their opinion, reasonable. Forward-looking statements involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors, which may cause the actual results, financial condition, performance, or achievements of the Company, or industry results, to differ materially from the results, financial condition, performance or achievements expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. These risks, uncertainties and other factors are set forth in the annual report on Form 20-F filed with the SEC, including Item 3.D. “Key Information - Risk Factors,” and in future reports filed with the SEC. Given these risks, uncertainties and other factors, prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements. The Company does not undertake an obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statement.

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