Exhibit 99.1

Bright Scholar Announces Receipt of Withdrawal of Going Private Proposal

FOSHAN, China, December 30, 2022 /PRNewswire/ — Bright Scholar Education Holdings Limited (“Bright Scholar” or the “Company”) (NYSE: BEDU), a global premier education service company, today announced that it has received a letter dated December 29, 2022 from Ms. Huiyan Yang and Ms. Meirong Yang (collectively, the “Buyer Group”), informing the Company the decision of the Buyer Group to withdraw the non-binding going private proposal (the “Proposal”) dated April 29, 2022 and forego the Proposal to privatize the Company.

About Bright Scholar Education Holdings Limited

Bright Scholar is a global premier education service company, which primarily provides quality international education to global students and equip them with the critical academic foundation and skillsets necessary to succeed in the pursuit of higher education.

Safe Harbor Statement

This announcement contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, and as defined in the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements include, without limitation, the Company’s business plans and development, which can be identified by terminology such as “may,” “will,” “expect,” “anticipate,” “aim,” “estimate,” “intend,” “plan,” “believe,” “potential,” “continue,” “is/are likely to” or other similar expressions. Such statements are based upon management’s current expectations and current market and operating conditions and relate to events that involve known or unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors, all of which are difficult to predict and many of which are beyond the Company’s control, which may cause the Company’s actual results, performance or achievements to differ materially from those in the forward-looking statements. Further information regarding these and other risks, uncertainties or factors is included in the Company’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. The Company does not undertake any obligation to update any forward-looking statement as a result of new information, future events or otherwise, except as required under law.

IR Contact:

GCM Strategic Communications

Email: BEDU.IR@gcm.international

Media Contact:

Email: media@brightscholar.com

Phone: +86-757-6683-2507