Appendix

Adient plc
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Income
(Unaudited)

	Three Months Ended March 31,
(in millions, except per share data)	2020	2019
Net sales	$3,511	$4,228
Cost of sales	3,274	4,031
Gross profit	237	197
Selling, general and administrative expenses	127	168
Restructuring and impairment costs	52	113
Equity income (loss)	8	62
Earnings (loss) before interest and income taxes	66	(22)
Net financing charges	50	40
Other pension expense (income)	(2)	—
Income (loss) before income taxes	18	(62)
Income tax provision (benefit)	16	64
Net income (loss)	2	(126)
Income attributable to noncontrolling interests	21	23
Net income (loss) attributable to Adient	$(19)	$(149)

Diluted earnings (loss) per share	$(0.20)	$(1.59)

Shares outstanding at period end	93.9	93.6
Diluted weighted average shares	93.8	93.5

Appendix

Adient plc
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Financial Position
(Unaudited)

	March 31,	September 30,
(in millions)	2020	2019
Assets
Cash and cash equivalents	$1,640	$924
Accounts receivable - net	1,344	1,905
Inventories	775	793
Assets held for sale	40	—
Other current assets	477	494
Current assets	4,276	4,116

Property, plant and equipment - net	1,591	1,671
Goodwill	2,018	2,150
Other intangible assets - net	381	405
Investments in partially-owned affiliates	1,279	1,399
Assets held for sale	157	—
Other noncurrent assets	944	601
Total assets	$10,646	$10,342

Liabilities and Shareholders' Equity
Short-term debt	$846	$30
Accounts payable and accrued expenses	2,490	3,073
Liabilities held for sale	36	—
Other current liabilities	851	732
Current liabilities	4,223	3,835

Long-term debt	3,717	3,708
Liabilities held for sale	10	—
Other noncurrent liabilities	778	559
Redeemable noncontrolling interests	35	51
Shareholders' equity attributable to Adient	1,541	1,848
Noncontrolling interests	342	341
Total liabilities and shareholders' equity	$10,646	$10,342

Appendix

Adient plc
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows
(Unaudited)

	Three Months Ended March 31,
(in millions)	2020	2019
Operating Activities
Net income (loss) attributable to Adient	$(19)	$(149)
Income attributable to noncontrolling interests	21	23
Net income (loss)	2	(126)
Adjustments to reconcile net income (loss) to cash provided (used) by operating activities:
Depreciation	72	72
Amortization of intangibles	10	10
Pension and postretirement benefit expense (benefit)	—	1
Pension and postretirement contributions, net	(14)	(7)
Equity in earnings of partially-owned affiliates, net of dividends received	(1)	(35)
Deferred income taxes	10	42
Non-cash restructuring and impairment charges	—	66
Equity-based compensation	(3)	2
Other	2	—
Changes in assets and liabilities:
Receivables	113	(230)
Inventories	(53)	7
Other assets	40	27
Restructuring reserves	(15)	(56)
Accounts payable and accrued liabilities	(199)	400
Accrued income taxes	(20)	(5)
Cash provided (used) by operating activities	(56)	168
Investing Activities
Capital expenditures	(94)	(108)
Sale of property, plant and equipment	4	21
Settlement of cross-currency interest rate swap	10	—
Loans to affiliates	—	11
Other	—	4
Cash provided (used) by investing activities	(80)	(72)
Financing Activities
Increase (decrease) in short-term debt	835	1
Repayment of long-term debt	(2)	(1)
Debt financing costs	(1)	(4)
Dividends paid to noncontrolling interests	(5)	(7)
Other	(1)	—
Cash provided (used) by financing activities	826	(11)
Effect of exchange rate changes on cash and cash equivalents	(15)	—
Increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents	$675	$85

Appendix

Footnotes
1. Segment Results

Adient manages its business on a geographic basis and operates in the following three reportable segments for financial reporting purposes: 1) Americas, which is inclusive of North America and South America; 2) Europe, Middle East, and Africa ("EMEA") and 3) Asia Pacific/China ("Asia").

Adient evaluates the performance of its reportable segments using an adjusted EBITDA metric defined as income before income taxes and noncontrolling interests, excluding net financing charges, qualified restructuring and impairment costs, restructuring related-costs, net mark-to-market adjustments on pension and postretirement plans, transaction gains/losses, purchase accounting amortization, depreciation, stock-based compensation and other non-recurring items ("Adjusted EBITDA"). Also, certain corporate-related costs are not allocated to the segments. The reportable segments are consistent with how management views the markets served by Adient and reflect the financial information that is reviewed by its chief operating decision maker.

Financial information relating to Adient's reportable segments is as follows:

	Three Months Ended March 31,
(in millions)	2020	2019
Net Sales
Americas	$1,641	$1,915
EMEA	1,488	1,778
Asia	444	599
Eliminations	(62)	(64)
Total net sales	$3,511	$4,228

	Three Months Ended March 31,
(in millions)	2020	2019
Adjusted EBITDA
Americas	$106	$34
EMEA	62	59
Asia	63	123
Corporate-related costs (1)	(20)	(25)
Restructuring and impairment costs (2)	(52)	(113)
Purchase accounting amortization (3)	(11)	(10)
Restructuring related charges (4)	(7)	(14)
Stock based compensation	3	(2)
Depreciation	(72)	(72)
Other items (5)	(6)	(2)
Earnings (loss) before interest and income taxes	66	(22)
Net financing charges	(50)	(40)
Other pension income (expense)	2	—
Income (loss) before income taxes	$18	$(62)

Refer to the Footnote Addendum for footnote explanations.

Appendix

2. Earnings Per Share

The following table reconciles the numerators and denominators used to calculate basic and diluted earnings (loss) per share:

	Three Months Ended March 31,
(in millions, except per share data)	2020	2019
Income available to shareholders
Net income (loss) attributable to Adient	$(19)	$(149)

Weighted average shares outstanding
Basic weighted average shares outstanding	93.8	93.5
Effect of dilutive securities:
Stock options, unvested restricted stock and unvested performance share awards	—	—
Diluted weighted average shares outstanding	93.8	93.5

Potentially dilutive securities whose effect would have been antidilutive are excluded from the computation of diluted earnings per share, which for the three months ended March 31, 2020 and 2019 is a result of being in a loss position.

Appendix

3. Non-GAAP Measures

Adjusted EBIT, Adjusted EBIT margin, Adjusted EBITDA, Adjusted EBITDA margin, Adjusted net income attributable to Adient, Adjusted effective tax rate, Adjusted earnings per share, Adjusted equity income, Adjusted free cash flow and Net debt as well as other measures presented on an adjusted basis are not recognized terms under U.S. GAAP and do not purport to be alternatives to the most comparable U.S. GAAP amounts. Since all companies do not use identical calculations, our definition and presentation of these measures may not be comparable to similarly titled measures reported by other companies. Management uses the identified non-GAAP measures to evaluate the operating performance of the Company and its business segments and to forecast future periods. Management believes these non-GAAP measures assist investors and other interested parties in evaluating Adient's on-going operations and provide important supplemental information to management and investors regarding financial and business trends relating to Adient's financial condition and results of operations. Investors should not consider these non-GAAP measures as alternatives to the related GAAP measures. Reconciliations of non-GAAP measures to their closest U.S. GAAP equivalent are presented below. Reconciliations of non-GAAP measures related to guidance for any future period have not been provided due to the unreasonable efforts it would take to provide such reconciliations.

•	Adjusted EBIT is defined as income before income taxes and noncontrolling interests excluding net financing charges, restructuring, impairment and related costs, purchase accounting amortization, transaction gains/losses, other significant non-recurring items, and net mark-to-market adjustments on pension and postretirement plans. Adjusted EBIT margin is adjusted EBIT as a percentage of net sales.
•	Adjusted EBITDA is defined as adjusted EBIT excluding depreciation and stock based compensation. Certain corporate-related costs are not allocated to the business segments in determining Adjusted EBITDA. Adjusted EBITDA margin is adjusted EBITDA as a percentage of net sales.
•	Adjusted net income attributable to Adient is defined as net income attributable to Adient excluding restructuring, impairment and related costs, purchase accounting amortization, transaction gains/losses, other significant non-recurring items, net mark-to-market adjustments on pension and postretirement plans, the tax impact of these items and other discrete tax charges/benefits.
•	Adjusted effective tax rate is defined as adjusted income tax provision as a percentage of adjusted income before income taxes.
•	Adjusted earnings per share is defined as Adjusted net income attributable to Adient divided by diluted weighted average shares.
•	Adjusted equity income is defined as equity income excluding amortization of Adient's intangible assets related to its non-consolidated joint ventures and other unusual or one-time items impacting equity income.
•	Free cash flow is defined as cash from operating activities less capital expenditures.
•	Net debt is calculated as gross debt less cash and cash equivalents.

Appendix

Summarized Income Statement Information
(Refer to the Footnote Addendum for footnote explanations and details
of reconciling items between GAAP results and Adjusted results)

	Three Months Ended March 31,
	2020			2019
(in millions, except per share data)	GAAP Results	Adj.	Adjusted Results	GAAP Results	Adj.	Adjusted Results
Net sales	$3,511	$—	$3,511	$4,228	$—	$4,228
Cost of sales (6)	3,274	(3)	3,271	4,031	(14)	4,017
Gross profit	237	3	240	197	14	211
Selling, general and administrative expenses (7)	127	(19)	108	168	(11)	157
Restructuring and impairment costs (2)	52	(52)	—	113	(113)	—
Equity income (loss) (8)	8	2	10	62	1	63
Earnings (loss) before interest and income taxes (EBIT)	66	76	142	(22)	139	117

Memo accounts:
Depreciation			72			72
Stock based compensation costs			(3)			2
Adjusted EBITDA			$211			$191

Net financing charges	50	—	50	40	—	40
Other pension expense (income)	(2)	—	(2)	—	—	—
Income (loss) before income taxes	18	76	94	(62)	139	77
Income tax provision (benefit) (9)	16	(3)	13	64	(41)	23
Net income (loss) attributable to Adient	(19)	77	58	(149)	178	29
Diluted earnings (loss) per share	(0.20)	0.82	0.62	(1.59)	1.90	0.31
Diluted weighted average shares	93.8	0.4	94.2	93.5	0.3	93.8

Appendix

Segment Performance:

	Three months ended March 31, 2020
	Americas	EMEA	Asia	Corporate/Eliminations	Consolidated

Net sales	$1,641	$1,488	$444	$(62)	$3,511

Adjusted EBITDA	$106	$62	$63	$(20)	$211

Adjusted EBITDA margin	6.5%	4.2%	14.2%	N/A	6.0%

	Three months ended March 31, 2019
	Americas	EMEA	Asia	Corporate/Eliminations	Consolidated

Net sales	$1,915	$1,778	$599	$(64)	$4,228

Adjusted EBITDA	$34	$59	$123	$(25)	$191

Adjusted EBITDA margin	1.8%	3.3%	20.5%	N/A	4.5%

The following table reconciles income (loss) before income taxes to adjusted income before income taxes and presents the related effective tax rate and adjusted effective tax rate:

	Three Months Ended March 31,
	2020			2019
(in millions, except effective tax rate)	Income (loss) before income taxes	Tax impact	Effective tax rate	Income (loss) before income taxes	Tax impact	Effective tax rate
As reported	$18	16	88.9%	$(62)	64	n/m
Adjustments	76	(3)	(3.9)%	139	(41)	(29.5)%
As adjusted	$94	$13	13.8%	$77	$23	29.9%

The following table reconciles net income (loss) attributable to Adient to adjusted net income (loss) attributable to Adient:

	Three Months Ended March 31,
(in millions)	2020	2019
Net income (loss) attributable to Adient	$(19)	$(149)
Restructuring and impairment costs	52	113
Purchase accounting amortization	11	10
Restructuring related charges	7	14
Other items	6	2
Impact of adjustments on noncontrolling interests (10)	(2)	(2)
Tax impact of above adjustments and other tax items (9)	3	41
Adjusted net income attributable to Adient	$58	$29

Refer to the Footnote Addendum for footnote explanations

Appendix

The following table reconciles diluted earnings (loss) per share as reported to adjusted diluted earnings per share:

	Three Months Ended March 31,
	2020	2019
Diluted earnings (loss) per share as reported	$(0.20)	$(1.59)
Restructuring and impairment costs	0.55	1.20
Purchase accounting amortization	0.12	0.11
Restructuring related charges	0.08	0.15
Other items	0.06	0.02
Impact of adjustments on noncontrolling interests	(0.02)	(0.02)
Tax impact of above adjustments and other tax items	0.03	0.44
Adjusted diluted earnings per share	$0.62	$0.31

The following table presents calculations of net debt:

	March 31,	September 30,
(in millions)	2020	2019
Cash	$1,640	$924
Total debt	4,563	3,738
Net debt	$2,923	$2,814

The following table reconciles cash from operating activities to free cash flow:

	Three Months Ended March 31,
(in millions)	2020	2019
Operating cash flow	$(56)	$168
Capital expenditures	(94)	$(108)
Free cash flow	$(150)	$60

Appendix

The following table reconciles adjusted EBITDA to Free cash flow:

	FY20		FY19
(in millions)	Q2	YTD	Q2	YTD
Adjusted EBITDA	$211	$508	$191	$367
(+/-) Net equity in earnings	(3)	(110)	(37)	(119)
(-) Restructuring (cash)	(20)	(40)	(67)	(90)
(+/-) Net Customer Tooling	(8)	(2)	(3)	30
(+/-) Past Due Receivables	(2)	9	20	2
(+/-) Trade Working Capital (Net AR/AP + Inventory)	(101)	90	71	(73)
(+/-) Accrued Compensation	(23)	(84)	74	38
(-) Interest paid	(56)	(105)	(58)	(70)
(+/-) Tax refund/taxes paid	(26)	(55)	(27)	(48)
(+/-) Other	(28)	(28)	4	3
Operating cash flow	(56)	183	168	40
Capital expenditures	(94)	(185)	(108)	(252)
Free cash flow	$(150)	$(2)	$60	$(212)

Appendix

Footnote Addendum

(1) Corporate-related costs not allocated to the segments include executive office, communications, corporate development, legal and corporate finance.

(2) Reflects qualified restructuring charges for costs that are directly attributable to restructuring activities and meet the definition of restructuring under ASC 420 along with one-time asset impairment charges, as follows:

	Three Months Ended March 31,
(in millions)	2020	2019
Restructuring charges	$(52)	$(47)
Long-lived asset impairment - SS&M	—	(66)
	$(52)	$(113)

(3) Reflects amortization of intangible assets including those related to partially owned affiliates recorded within equity income.

(4) Reflects non-qualified restructuring charges for costs that are directly attributable to restructuring activities, but do not meet the definition of restructuring under ASC 420 including restructuring costs at partially owned affiliates recorded within equity income.

(5) Other items include:

	Three Months Ended March 31,
(in millions)	2020	2019
Futuris integration	$—	$(2)
Transaction costs	(6)	—
	$(6)	$(2)

(6) The adjustments to cost of sales include:

	Three Months Ended March 31,
(in millions)	2020	2019
Restructuring related charges	$(3)	$(11)
Futuris integration	—	(2)
Other	—	(1)
	$(3)	$(14)

(7) The adjustments to selling, general and administrative costs include:

	Three Months Ended March 31,
(in millions)	2020	2019
Purchase accounting amortization	$(10)	$(9)
Transaction costs	(6)	(1)
Restructuring related charges	(3)	(1)
	$(19)	$(11)

Appendix

(8) The adjustments to equity income include:

	Three Months Ended March 31,
(in millions)	2020	2019
Restructuring related charges	$1	$1
Purchase accounting amortization	1	—
	$2	$1

(9) The adjustments to income tax provision (benefit) include:

	Three Months Ended March 31,
(in millions)	2020	2019
Valuation allowances	$—	$(45)
Impairment of YFAI investment	—	2
Tax rate change	1	—
Other reconciling items	(4)	2
	$(3)	$(41)

(10) Reflects the impact of adjustments, primarily purchase accounting amortization and changes in income tax rates, on noncontrolling interests.