Exhibit 99.1
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

TerraForm Global Provides Preliminary 2Q 2016 Summary Results

BETHESDA, Md., September 16, 2016 (GLOBENEWSWIRE) -- TerraForm Global, Inc. (Nasdaq:GLBL) (“the Company”), a global owner and operator of clean energy power plants, has posted a presentation on its website today containing certain preliminary unaudited summary financial information for the second quarter of 2016. The preliminary summary financial information may change materially as a result of the completion of the audit of, and completion of quarterly review procedures with respect to, the Company’s financial results. The information does not represent a complete picture of the Company’s financial position, results of operations or cash flows and is not a replacement for full financial statements prepared in accordance with U.S. GAAP.

TerraForm Global previously furnished to the Securities and Exchange Commission risk factors relating to the Company’s business on Form 8-K on July 20, 2016, which also contained the Company’s published interim financial statements for the first quarter of 2016. The updated risk factors relating to the Company provided in the July 20, 2016 filing include a description of important new risks relating to the chapter 11 proceedings of SunEdison, the consequences of the absence of audited financial information, pending litigation and other matters, and should be read together with the Company’s preliminary 2Q 2016 summary results published today.

The financial information published today and risk factors published on July 20, 2016 may be found on the Investor section of the Company’s website at www.terraformglobal.com. They have also been included as exhibits to Forms 8-K furnished by the Company to the Securities and Exchange Commission.

About TerraForm Global

TerraForm Global is a renewable energy company that is changing how energy is generated, distributed and owned. TerraForm Global creates value for its investors by owning and operating clean energy power plants in high-growth emerging markets. For more information about TerraForm Global, please visit: www.terraformglobal.com.

Cautionary Note Regarding Forward-Looking Statements

This communication contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. Forward-looking statements can be identified by the fact that they do not relate strictly to historical or current facts. These statements involve estimates, expectations, projections, goals, assumptions, known and unknown risks, and uncertainties and typically include words or variations of words such as “expect,” “anticipate,” “believe,” “intend,” “plan,” “seek,” “estimate,” “predict,” “project,” “goal,” “guidance,” “outlook,” “objective,” “forecast,” “target,” “potential,” “continue,” “would,” “will,” “should,” “could,” or “may” or other comparable terms and phrases. All statements that address operating performance, events, or developments that TerraForm Global expects or anticipates will occur in the future are forward-looking statements. They may include estimates of expected adjusted EBITDA, cash available for distribution (CAFD), earnings, revenues, capital expenditures, liquidity, capital structure, future growth, financing arrangement and other financial performance items (including future dividends per share), descriptions of management’s plans or

objectives for future operations, products, or services, or descriptions of assumptions underlying any of the above. Forward-looking statements provide TerraForm Global’s current expectations or predictions of future conditions, events, or results and speak only as of the date they are made. Although TerraForm Global, believes its respective expectations and assumptions are reasonable, it can give no assurance that these expectations and assumptions will prove to have been correct and actual results may vary materially.

By their nature, forward-looking statements are subject to risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from those suggested by the forward-looking statements. Factors that might cause such differences include, but are not limited to, our relationship with SunEdison, including SunEdison’s bankruptcy filings and our reliance on SunEdison for management, corporate and accounting services, project level operation and maintenance and asset management services, to maintain critical information technology and accounting systems and to provide our employees; risks related to events of default and potential events of default arising under project-level financings and other agreements related to the chapter 11 proceedings of SunEdison and our failure to obtain corporate and project-level audits; risks related to our failure to satisfy the requirements of Nasdaq; our ability to integrate the projects we acquire from third parties or otherwise realize the anticipated benefits from such acquisitions, including through refinancing or future sales; actions of third parties, including but not limited to the failure of SunEdison to fulfill its obligations; price fluctuations, termination provisions and buyout provisions in offtake agreements; delays or unexpected costs during the completion of projects we intend to acquire; our ability to successfully identify, evaluate, and consummate acquisitions from third parties, including SunEdison or changes in expected terms and timing of any acquisitions; our ability to complete our pending acquisitions; regulatory requirements and incentives for production of renewable power; operating and financial restrictions under agreements governing indebtedness; the condition of the debt and equity capital markets and our ability to borrow additional funds and access capital markets; the impact of foreign exchange rate fluctuations; our ability to compete against traditional and renewable energy companies; hazards customary to the power production industry and power generation operations, such as unusual weather conditions and outages or other curtailment of our power plants; departure of some or all of SunEdison’s employees, particularly executive officers or key employees and operations and maintenance or asset management personnel that we significantly rely upon; pending and future litigation; and our ability to operate our business efficiently, to operate and maintain our information technology, technical, accounting and generation monitoring systems, to manage and complete governmental filings on a timely basis, and to manage our capital expenditures, economic, social and political risks and uncertainties inherent in international operations, including operations in emerging markets and the impact of foreign exchange rate fluctuations, the imposition of currency controls and restrictions on repatriation of earnings and cash, protectionist and other adverse public policies, including local content requirements, import/export tariffs, increased regulations or capital investment requirements, conflicting international business practices that may conflict with other customs or legal requirements to which we are subject, inability to obtain, maintain or enforce intellectual property rights, and being subject to the jurisdiction of courts other than those of the United States, including uncertainty of judicial processes and difficulty enforcing contractual agreements or judgments in foreign legal systems or incurring additional costs to do so. Furthermore, any dividends are subject to available capital, market conditions, and compliance with associated laws and regulations. Many of these factors are beyond TerraForm Global’s control.

TerraForm Global disclaims any obligation to publicly update or revise any forward-looking statement to reflect changes in underlying assumptions, factors, or expectations, new information, data, or methods, future events, or other changes, except as required by law. The foregoing list of factors that might cause results to differ materially from those contemplated in the forward-looking statements should be considered in connection with information regarding risks and uncertainties which are described in TerraForm Global’s Prospectus, dated July 31, 2015, and Forms 10-Q with respect to the second and third quarters of 2015, the risk factors furnished to the Securities and Exchange Commission as part of the Current Report on Form 8-K on July 20, 2016, as well as additional factors it may describe from time to time in other filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission or incorporated herein. You should

understand that it is not possible to predict or identify all such factors and, consequently, you should not consider any such list to be a complete set of all potential risks or uncertainties.

Contacts:

Investors:

Brett Prior
TerraForm Global
investors@terraform.com

Media:

Meaghan Repko / Joseph Sala / Nicholas Leasure
Joele Frank, Wilkinson Brimmer Katcher
media@terraform.com
(212) 355-4449