Exhibit 99.1

29 April 2025 | NYSE: NXRT

EARNINGS SUPPLEMENT: FIRST QUARTER 2025

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC.

300 CRESCENT COURT, SUITE 700

DALLAS, TX 75201

INVESTOR RELATIONS:

KRISTEN (THOMAS) GRIFFITH

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Earnings Release	1
Cautionary Statement Regarding Forward-Looking Statements	2
Overview	3
Highlights of Recent Activity	4
Financial Summary	6
2025 Full Year Guidance	7
Components of Net Asset Value	8
Consolidated Balance Sheets	9
Consolidated Statements of Operations	10
NOI and Same Store NOI	11
Q1 Same Store Results	12
Q1 Same Store Properties Operating Metrics	14
QoQ Same Store Properties Operating Metrics	15
FFO, Core FFO and AFFO	16
Historical Capital Expenditures	17
Value-Add Program Details	18
Outstanding Debt Details	21
Debt Maturity Schedule	24
Historical Acquisition Details	25
Historical Disposition Details	26
Definitions and Reconciliations of Non-GAAP Measures	27

Residences at Glenview Reserve: Nashville, TN

Living Area - Upon Takeover

Living Area - Post Renovation

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact:

Investor Relations

Kristen (Thomas) Griffith

IR@nexpoint.com

(214) 276-6300

Media inquiries: Pro-Nexpoint@prosek.com

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. REPORTS FIRST QUARTER 2025 RESULTS

NXRT Accelerates Partial Upgrades and Boosts Core FFO Guidance

Dallas, TX, April 29, 2025 – NexPoint Residential Trust, Inc. (NYSE:NXRT) reported financial results for the first quarter ended March 31, 2025.

Highlights

•
NXRT1 reported net loss, FFO2, Core FFO2 and AFFO2 of $(6.9)M, $17.4M, $19.1M and $21.6M, respectively, attributable to common stockholders for the quarter ended March 31, 2025, compared to net income, FFO, Core FFO, and AFFO of $26.3M, $18.9M, $19.4M and $22.0M, respectively, attributable to common stockholders for the quarter ended March 31, 2024.
•
For the three months ended March 31, 2025, Q1 Same Store properties3 total revenue, NOI2 , average effective rent, and occupancy decreased 1.0%, 3.8%, 1.3% and 30 bps, respectively, over the prior year period.
•
The weighted average effective monthly rent per unit across all 35 properties held as of March 31, 2025 (the “Portfolio”), consisting of 12,984 units4, was $1,495, while physical occupancy was 94.4%.
•
NXRT paid a first quarter dividend of $0.51 per share of common stock on March 31, 2025.
•
During the first quarter, for the properties in the Portfolio, NXRT completed 210 full and partial upgrades, leased 201 upgraded units, achieving an average monthly rent premium of $62 and a 16.1% ROI5.
•
Since inception, NXRT has completed installation of 8,558 full and partial upgrades, 4,795 kitchen and laundry appliances and 11,389 technology packages, resulting in $172, $50 and $43 average monthly rental increase per unit and 20.7%, 64.5% and 37.2% ROI, respectively.
(1)
In this release, “we,” “us,” “our,” the “Company,” and “NXRT” each refer to NexPoint Residential Trust, Inc., a Maryland corporation.
(2)
FFO, Core FFO, AFFO and NOI are non-GAAP measures. For a discussion of why we consider these non-GAAP measures useful and reconciliations of FFO, Core FFO, AFFO and NOI to net income (loss), see the “Definitions and Reconciliations of Non-GAAP Measures” and “FFO, Core FFO and AFFO” sections of this release.
(3)
We define “Same Store” properties as properties that were in our Portfolio for the entirety of the periods being compared. There are 35 properties encompassing 12,948 units of apartment space in our Same Store pool for the three months ended March 31, 2025 (our “Q1 Same Store” properties). The same store unit count excludes 36 units that are currently down due to fires (Rockledge: 20 units and Bella Solara: 16 units).
(4)
Total number of units owned as of March 31, 2025 is 12,984, however 36 units are currently down due to fires (Rockledge: 20 units and Bella Solara: 16 units).
(5)
We define Return on Investment (“ROI”) as the sum of the actual rent premium divided by the sum of the total cost.

First Quarter 2025 Financial Results

•
Total revenues were $63.2 million for the first quarter of 2025, compared to $67.6 million for the first quarter of 2024.
•
Net loss attributable to common stockholders for the first quarter of 2025 totaled $(6.9) million, or loss of $(0.27) per diluted share, which included $24.4 million of depreciation and amortization expense. This compared to net income attributable to common stockholders of $26.3 million, or income of $1.00 per diluted share, which included a gain on sales of real estate of $31.7 million and $24.3 million of depreciation and amortization expense for the first quarter of 2024.
•
The change in our net loss of $(6.9) million for the three months ended March 31, 2025 as compared to our net income of $26.4 million for the three months ended March 31, 2024 primarily relates to decreases in gain on sales of real estate of $31.7 million.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 1

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

•
For the first quarter of 2025, NOI was $37.8 million on 35 properties, compared to $41.1 million for the first quarter of 2024 on 37 properties.
•
For the first quarter of 2025, Q1 Same Store NOI decreased -3.8% to $37.7 million, compared to $39.2 million for the full year 2024.
•
For the first quarter of 2025, FFO totaled $17.4 million, or $0.68 per diluted share, compared to $18.9 million, or $0.72 per diluted share, for first quarter of 2024. For the first quarter of 2025, Core FFO totaled $19.1 million, or $0.75 per diluted share, compared to $19.4 million, or $0.74 per diluted share, for the full year 2024. For the first quarter of 2025, AFFO totaled $21.6 million, or $0.84 per diluted share, compared to $22.0 million, or $0.83 per diluted share, for the first quarter of 2024.

Subsequent Events

•
On April 28, 2025, the Company’s Board approved a quarterly dividend of $0.51 per share, payable on June 30, 2025 to stockholders of record on June 16, 2024.
•
From April 1, 2025 through April 28, 2025, the Company has purchased 223,109 shares of its common stock, totaling approximately $7.6 million at an average price of $34.29 per share.
•
On April 3, 2025, the Company entered into a new five-year $100 million SOFR swap with JP Morgan Chase Bank with a fixed rate of 3.489%.

First Quarter Earnings Conference Call

NXRT will host a call on Tuesday, April 29, 2025, at 11:00 a.m. ET (10:00 a.m. CT), to discuss its first quarter 2025 financial results. The conference call can be accessed live over the phone by dialing 888-660-4430 or, for international callers, +1 646-960-0537 and using passcode Conference ID: 5001576. A live audio webcast of the call will be available online at the Company's website, nxrt.nexpoint.com (under "Resources"). An online replay will be available shortly after the call on the Company's website and continue to be available for 60 days.

A replay of the conference call will also be available through Tuesday, May 13, 2025, by dialing 800-770-2030 or, for international callers, +1 647-362-9199 and entering passcode 5001576.

About NXRT

NexPoint Residential Trust is a publicly traded REIT, with its shares listed on the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol “NXRT,” primarily focused on acquiring, owning and operating well-located middle-income multifamily properties with “value-add” potential in large cities and suburban submarkets of large cities, primarily in the Southeastern and Southwestern United States. NXRT is externally advised by NexPoint Real Estate Advisors, L.P., an affiliate of NexPoint Advisors, L.P., an SEC-registered investment advisor, which has extensive real estate experience. Our filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”) are available on our website, nxrt.nexpoint.com, under the “Financials” tab.

Cautionary Statement Regarding Forward-Looking Statements

This release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 that are based on management’s current expectations, assumptions and beliefs. Forward-looking statements can often be identified by words such as “expect,” “anticipate,” “estimate,” “may,” “plan,” “believe” and similar expressions, and variations or negatives of these words. These forward-looking statements include, but are not limited to, statements regarding NXRT’s business and industry in general, forecasted submarket deliveries, 2025 full year guidance for earnings per diluted share and Core FFO per diluted share and the related components and assumptions, including acquisitions and dispositions, shares outstanding, and same store growth projections, NXRT’s net asset value and the related components and assumptions, including estimated value-add expenditures, debt payments, outstanding debt, and shares outstanding, net income and NOI guidance for the full year and second quarter of 2025 and the related assumptions, planned value-add programs, including projected average rehab costs, rent change and return on investment, and expected settlement of interest rate swaps and the effect on the debt maturity schedule, rehab budgets. They are not guarantees of future results and are subject to risks, uncertainties and assumptions that could cause actual results to differ materially from those expressed in any forward-looking statement, including those described in greater detail in our filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, particularly those described in our Annual Report on Form 10-K. Readers should not place undue reliance on any forward-looking statements and are encouraged to review the Company’s most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K and other filings with the SEC for a more complete discussion of the risks and other factors that could affect any forward-looking statements. The statements made herein speak only as of the date of this release and except as required by law, NXRT does not undertake any obligation to publicly update or revise any forward-looking statements.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 2

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC: FIRST QUARTER 2025 OVERVIEW

Company Profile

(share counts in thousands)
Exchange/Ticker	NYSE:NXRT
Share Price (1)	$36.64
Insider Ownership (2)	15.68%
2025 Q2 Dividend Per Share	$0.51
Dividend Yield (1)	5.57%
Shares outstanding - basic (3)	25,448
Shares outstanding - diluted (3)	25,448

(1)
As of the close of market trading on April 28, 2025.
(2)
As of the close of market trading on March 31, 2025.
(3)
Weighted average for the three months ended March 31, 2025.

Portfolio Composition by Market

Market	% of Units
Phoenix	15.5%
South Florida	15.1%
Dallas/Fort Worth	15.0%
Atlanta	13.0%
Nashville	10.3%
Orlando	9.0%
Las Vegas	9.0%
Raleigh	4.8%
Tampa	4.4%
Charlotte	3.9%
Total	100.0%

Revenue & Average Rent Per Unit	Stock Price Performance (Since Inception; 4/1/2015)

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 3

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

Highlights of First Quarter 2025 Activity

NXRT Exposure to Top-Absorbing Markets
Rank	Market	Q1'25 Absorption(1)	NXRT Properties	NXRT Units	NXRT %
1	Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA	7,612	3	1,692	13.0%
2	Phoenix-Mesa-Scottsdale, AZ	7,461	7	2,009	15.5%
3	Dallas-Plano-Irving, TX	7,387	4	1,206	9.3%
6	Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC	4,903	2	504	3.9%
7	Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater, FL	4,808	2	576	4.4%
13	Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford, FL	3,095	3	1,172	9.0%
17	Fort Worth-Arlington, TX	2,835	3	739	5.7%
20	Raleigh/Durham, NC	2,474	2	625	4.8%
21	Fort Lauderdale-Pompano Beach-Deerfield Beach, FL	2,459	1	1,520	11.7%
30	Las Vegas-Henderson-Paradise, NV	1,470	3	1,164	9.0%
33	Nashville-Davidson--Murfreesboro--Franklin, TN	1,318	3	1,338	10.3%
35	West Palm Beach-Boca Raton-Delray Beach, FL	1,102	2	439	3.4%

(1)
Source: 2025 Realpage, Inc.; Data as of April 2025.

Q1’25 saw record breaking absorption for a first quarter with over 138,000 units leased nationally. NXRT properties are heavily concentrated in the top 10 markets and we are encouraged to see such positive momentum during what is historically a slower season.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 4

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

FORECASTED SUBMARKET DELIVERIES(1)

Market	Submarket (RealPage)	Property	NXRT Unit Exposure	2025 Q1 Inventory	2024 Deliveries	2025 Deliveries	2026 Deliveries	2027 Deliveries	3-year Deliveries	3-year % Growth
ATL	Southeast Marietta	Rockledge	708	14,105	-	-	-	-	-	0.0%
ATL	Southeast Marietta	The Preserve at Terrell Mill	752	14,105	-	-	-	-	-	0.0%
ATL	Sandy Springs	The Adair	232	20,201	-	286	-	-	286	1.4%
CHA	Huntersville/Cornelius	The Verandas at Lake Norman	264	8,391	312	2,193	413	-	2,606	31.1%
CHA	Matthews/Southeast Charlotte	Creekside at Matthews	240	12,214	328	610	199	320	1,129	9.2%
DFW	East Fort Worth	The Venue at 8651	333	13,395	-	158	240	-	398	3.0%
DFW	Far North Dallas	Versailles	388	30,455	897	-	-	-	-	0.0%
DFW	Far North Dallas	Versailles II	242	30,455	897	-	-	-	-	0.0%
DFW	Hurst/Euless/Bedford	Arbors on Forest Ridge	210	33,981	13	575	148	-	723	2.1%
DFW	Hurst/Euless/Bedford	Summers Landing	196	33,981	13	575	148	-	723	2.1%
DFW	Oak Lawn/Park Cities	Atera	380	21,026	140	622	498	-	1,120	5.3%
DFW	Richardson	Cutters Point	196	20,349	872	223	618	147	988	4.9%
LSV	Northwest Las Vegas	Bella Solara	320	21,952	965	832	112	-	944	4.3%
LSV	Northwest Las Vegas	Bloom	528	21,952	965	832	112	-	944	4.3%
LSV	Southwest Las Vegas	Torreyana	316	21,485	1,591	771	922	458	2,151	10.0%
NASH	East Nashville	Residences at Glenview Reserve	360	14,962	919	663	112	-	775	5.2%
NASH	South Nashville	Arbors of Brentwood	346	17,780	594	120	203	-	323	1.8%
NASH	South Nashville	Brandywine	632	17,780	594	120	203	-	323	1.8%
ORL	East Orlando	The Cornerstone	430	22,436	562	326	381	-	707	3.2%
ORL	Northwest Orlando	Residences at West Place	342	17,412	309	465	-	-	465	2.7%
ORL	South Orange County	Sabal Palm at Lake Buena Vista	400	34,976	2,216	2,167	498	320	2,985	8.5%
PHX	Chandler	Fairways at San Marcos	352	26,305	528	787	691	30	1,508	5.7%
PHX	North Central Phoenix	Heritage	204	27,128	918	396	58	-	454	1.7%
PHX	North Central Phoenix	The Venue on Camelback	415	27,128	918	396	58	-	454	1.7%
PHX	Northeast Phoenix	Bella Vista	248	22,734	926	217	577	-	794	3.5%
PHX	South Tempe	Enclave	204	17,870	144	-	229	-	229	1.3%
PHX	Southwest Mesa	Madera Point	256	18,246	147	129	104	22	255	1.4%
PHX	West Phoenix	Estates on Maryland	330	15,570	-	-	-	-	-	0.0%
RDU	Far North Raleigh	Six Forks Station	323	13,182	984	137	410	-	547	4.1%
RDU	North Cary/Morrisville	High House at Cary	302	23,267	2,075	537	664	-	1,201	5.2%
SFL	Pembroke Pines/Miramar	Avant at Pembroke Pines	1,520	26,081	520	332	-	-	332	1.3%
SFL	West Palm Beach	Parc500	217	33,657	1,343	671	1,115	216	2,002	5.9%
SFL	West Palm Beach	Seasons 704	222	33,657	1,343	671	1,115	216	2,002	5.9%
TPA	Egypt Lake/Lowry Park	Courtney Cove	324	12,734	-	245	28	-	273	2.1%
TPA	Temple Terrace	The Summit at Sabal Park	252	16,669	333	212	350	-	562	3.4%
Totals/ Averages		Total	12,984	578,563	17,636	13,674	8,570	1,513	23,757	4.1%

(1)
Source: 2025 Realpage, Inc.; Data as of April 2025.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 5

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

Financial Summary

	Q1 2025	Q1 2024	FY 2024	FY 2023
(in thousands, except for per share and unit data)
Company Profile
Market Capitalization	$1,011,000	$830,000	$1,061,000	$884,000
Share Price (as of the last day of the period)	$39.53	$32.19	$41.75	$34.43
Weighted average common shares outstanding - basic	25,448	25,721	25,516	25,654
Weighted average common shares outstanding - diluted	25,448	26,354	26,246	26,245

Earnings Profile
Total revenues	$63,216	$67,577	$259,701	$277,526
Net income (loss) attributable to common stockholders	(6,897)	26,298	1,110	44,264
NOI (1)	37,760	41,094	157,035	167,404
Same Store NOI (2)	37,734	39,221	154,050	152,730
Same Store NOI Growth (%) (2)	(3.8)%		0.9%

Earnings Metrics Per Common Share (diluted basis)
Earnings (loss)	$(0.27)	$1.00	$0.04	$1.69
FFO (1)	$0.68	$0.72	$1.69	$2.72
Core FFO (1)	$0.75	$0.74	$2.79	$2.92
AFFO (1)	$0.84	$0.83	$3.19	$3.27
Dividends declared per common share	$0.51	$0.46	$1.90	$1.72
Net Income (Loss) Coverage (3)	-0.53x	2.16x	0.02x	0.98x
FFO Coverage (3)	1.33x	1.55x	0.89x	1.58x
Core FFO Coverage (3)	1.46x	1.59x	1.47x	1.70x
AFFO Coverage (3)	1.65x	1.80x	1.68x	1.90x

Portfolio
Total Properties	35	37	35	38
Total Units (4)	12,948	13,376	12,984	14,133
Occupancy	94.4%	94.6%	94.7%	94.7%
Average Effective Monthly Rent per Unit	$1,495	$1,511	$1,491	$1,502

Same Store Portfolio Metrics (2)
Total Same Store Properties	35	35	35	35
Total Same Store Units	12,948	12,961	12,948	12,940
Occupancy	94.4%	94.7%	94.7%	94.7%
Average Effective Monthly Rent per Unit	$1,495	$1,514	$1,491	$1,516

Value-Add Program
Completed Full and Partial Interior Rehab Units	210	127	388	2,073
Cumulative Completed Rehab Units (5)	8,558
Average Increase to Effective Monthly Rent per Unit (Post-Rehab)	$172
ROI on Post-Rehab Units	20.7%

Outstanding Debt Summary
Total Mortgage Debt	$1,503,242	$1,498,277
Total Debt Outstanding	$1,503,242	$1,498,277
Leverage Ratio (Total Debt to Market Capitalization plus Total Debt)	60%	64%
Leverage Ratio (Net Debt to Enterprise Value) (6)	59%	64%

(1)
For more information and reconciliations of NOI, FFO, Core FFO and AFFO, see the “FFO, Core FFO and AFFO,” “NOI and Same Store NOI” and “Definitions and Reconciliations of Non-GAAP Measures” sections of this release.
(2)
We define “Same Store” properties as properties that were in our Portfolio for the entirety of the periods being compared. For additional information regarding our Q1 Same Store properties, see the “Q1 Same Store Results” section of this release.
(3)
Indicates coverage ratio of net income (loss)/FFO/Core FFO/AFFO per common share (diluted) over dividends declared per common share during the period. The Company uses actual diluted weighted average common shares outstanding when in a dilutive position for FFO, Core FFO and AFFO.
(4)
Total units owned is 12,984, however 36 units are currently down due to fires.
(5)
Inclusive of all full and partial interior upgrades completed through March 31, 2025. Cumulative results exclude rehabs completed for properties sold through March 31, 2025.
(6)
For more information and a reconciliation of debt to net debt, see the “Definitions and Reconciliations of Non-GAAP Measures” section of this release.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 6

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

2025 Full Year Guidance Summary

NXRT is revising 2025 guidance ranges for earnings (loss) per diluted share and Core FFO per diluted share, and reaffirming Same Store rental income, Same Store total revenue, Same Store total expenses, Same Store NOI, and Acquisitions and Dispositions as follows (dollars in millions, except per share amounts):

	Guidance Range (1)
	Low-End	Mid-Point	High-End	Prior Mid-Point
Earnings (loss) per diluted share (1)	$(1.36)	$(1.22)	$(1.08)	$(1.19)
Core FFO per diluted share (1) (2)	$2.61	$2.75	$2.89	$2.70

Same Store Growth: (3)
Rental Income	-0.5%	0.2%	1.0%	0.2%
Total Revenue	-0.2%	0.5%	1.3%	0.5%
Total Expenses	4.9%	3.7%	2.4%	3.7%
Same Store NOI (2)	-3.5%	-1.5%	0.5%	-1.5%

Other Considerations: (4)
Acquisitions	$—	$100.0	$200.0	$100.0
Dispositions	$—	$100.0	$200.0	$100.0

(1)
Weighted average diluted share count estimate for full year 2025 is approximately 25.8 million.
(2)
Same Store NOI and Core FFO are non-GAAP measures. For reconciliations of Full Year 2025 Same Store NOI and Core FFO guidance to net loss guidance, and a discussion of why we consider these non-GAAP measures useful, see the “Definitions and Reconciliations of Non-GAAP Measures” section of this release.
(3)
Year-over-year growth for the Full Year 2025 Same Store pool (35 properties).
(4)
We continue to evaluate our Portfolio for capital recycling opportunities. Transaction volumes presented are incorporated into the earnings per share and Core FFO guidance above. Actual acquisitions and dispositions could vary significantly from our projections. We undertake no duty to update these assumptions, except as required by law.

Additional information on 2025 financial and earnings guidance is included in the following sections of this release.

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NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

Components of Net Asset Value

(dollar and share amounts in thousands, except per share and per unit data)

REAL ESTATE VALUE BY MARKET

Property	NOI	Cap Rate Range (1)		Value Range (2)
Market	Contribution	Min	Max	Min	Max
Texas
Dallas/Fort Worth	10.4%	5.25%	5.75%	$267,918	$305,745

North Carolina
Raleigh	4.4%	5.25%	5.75%	113,684	129,735
Charlotte	3.9%	5.25%	5.75%	100,729	114,950

Georgia
Atlanta	12.4%	5.25%	5.75%	320,988	366,307

Tennessee
Nashville	9.0%	5.25%	5.75%	233,747	266,749

Florida
Orlando	9.4%	5.25%	5.75%	242,660	276,920
Tampa	3.6%	5.25%	5.75%	93,435	106,627
South Florida	20.8%	5.25%	5.75%	537,942	613,892

Nevada
Las Vegas	9.3%	5.25%	5.75%	239,546	273,367

Arizona
Phoenix	16.8%	5.25%	5.75%	434,866	496,263
Total / Ave	100.0%	5.25%	5.75%	$2,585,515	$2,950,555

NOI ESTIMATE

4Q 2024 NOI Actual		38,948
Q1 2025 NOI Actual		37,760
	Low		High
Estimated Q2 2025 NOI Guidance (3)	36,978		38,573
2025 NOI Guidance (3)	$148,667		$154,904

NAV SUMMARY

Component	Min		Max
Tangible Assets
Real Estate (2)	$2,585,515		$2,950,555
Cash		23,719
Restricted Cash - Renovation Reserves (4)		3,170
Renovation Expenditures (4)		(3,170)
Cash Adjustments		0
Fair Market Value of Interest Rate Swaps		31,618
Other Assets		46,832
Value of Assets	$2,687,684		$3,052,724

Tangible Liabilities
Credit Facility (5)		$0
Mortgage Debt		1,503,242
Total Outstanding Debt		1,503,242
Forward 12-month Principal Payments		0
Total Outstanding Debt (FY 2025 Est.)		1,503,242
Other Tangible Liabilities (at Book)		31,130
Value of Liabilities		$1,534,372
Net Leverage (mid-point)		53%
Net Asset Value	$1,153,312		$1,518,352
Shares outstanding - diluted (FY 2025 Est.)		26,090
Est. NAV / Share	$44.20		$58.20
NAV / Share (mid-point)		$51.20

IMPLIED VALUATION METRICS

	Min		Max
Implied Real Estate Value	$2,585,515		$2,950,555
No. of Units (March 31, 2025) (2)		12,984
Implied Value/Apartment Unit	$199.1		$227.2
Implied Value/Apartment Unit (mid-point)		$213.2

(1)
Management estimates based on independent third-party review of our properties.
(2)
Estimated value ranges are presented for the existing portfolio (35 properties at March 31, 2025).
(3)
The Company anticipates net loss will be in the range between approximately ($35.2) million and ($27.9) million for the full year 2025 and between ($9.7) million and ($8.0) million for the second quarter of 2025. FY 2025 NOI Guidance considers a commensurate volume of capital recycling.
(4)
Includes approximately $3.2 million that is held for value-add upgrades; reduced by $3.2 million for estimated 2025 rehab expenditures.
(5)
Includes outstanding balance as of March 31, 2025.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 8

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES

CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS

(in thousands, except share and per share amounts)

	March 31, 2025	December 31, 2024
	(Unaudited)
ASSETS
Operating Real Estate Investments
Land	$359,819	$359,819
Buildings and improvements	1,740,732	1,738,677
Construction in progress	2,784	1,267
Furniture, fixtures and equipment	205,993	202,029
Total Gross Operating Real Estate Investments	2,309,328	2,301,792
Accumulated depreciation and amortization	(532,919)	(508,569)
Total Net Operating Real Estate Investments	1,776,409	1,793,223
Cash and cash equivalents	23,719	23,148
Restricted cash	35,101	30,769
Accounts receivable, net	11,691	12,337
Prepaid and other assets	3,210	6,102
Fair value of interest rate swaps	31,618	41,841
TOTAL ASSETS	$1,881,748	$1,907,420

LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
Liabilities:
Mortgages payable, net	$1,465,090	$1,463,650
Accounts payable and other accrued liabilities	12,023	11,351
Accrued real estate taxes payable	7,396	4,260
Accrued interest payable	7,173	7,630
Security deposit liability	2,963	2,954
Prepaid rents	1,575	1,425
Total Liabilities	1,496,220	1,491,270

Redeemable noncontrolling interests in the OP	5,619	5,782

Stockholders' Equity:
Preferred stock, $0.01 par value: 100,000,000 shares authorized; 0 shares issued	—	—
Common stock, $0.01 par value: 500,000,000 shares authorized; 25,570,810 and 25,403,537 shares issued and outstanding, respectively	256	254
Additional paid-in capital	407,205	407,429
Accumulated earnings less dividends	(58,135)	(38,030)
Accumulated other comprehensive income	30,583	40,715
Total Stockholders' Equity	379,909	410,368
TOTAL LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY	$1,881,748	$1,907,420

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 9

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES

CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS

AND COMPREHENSIVE INCOME (LOSS)

(in thousands, except per share amounts)

(Unaudited)

	For the Three Months Ended March 31,
	2025	2024
Revenues
Rental income	$61,440	$65,598
Other income	1,776	1,979
Total revenues	63,216	67,577
Expenses
Property operating expenses	12,468	13,768
Real estate taxes and insurance	9,002	9,312
Property management fees (1)	1,820	1,958
Advisory and administrative fees (2)	1,696	1,743
Corporate general and administrative expenses	4,457	4,910
Property general and administrative expenses	2,000	2,281
Depreciation and amortization	24,350	24,323
Total expenses	55,793	58,295
Operating income before gain on sales of real estate	7,423	9,282
Gain on sales of real estate (3)	—	31,709
Operating income	7,423	40,991
Interest expense	(14,381)	(14,391)
Loss on extinguishment of debt and modification cost	—	(546)
Casualty gain (loss)	(163)	199
Equity in earnings of affiliate	55	38
Miscellaneous income	142	111
Net income (loss)	(6,924)	26,402
Net income (loss) attributable to redeemable noncontrolling interests in the OP	(27)	104
Net income (loss) attributable to common stockholders	$(6,897)	$26,298
Other comprehensive income (loss)
Unrealized gains (losses) on interest rate derivatives	(10,172)	2,683
Total comprehensive income (loss)	(17,096)	29,085
Comprehensive income (loss) attributable to redeemable noncontrolling interests in the OP	(67)	115
Comprehensive income (loss) attributable to common stockholders	$(17,029)	$28,970

Weighted average common shares outstanding - basic	25,448	25,721
Weighted average common shares outstanding - diluted	25,448	26,354

Earnings (loss) per share - basic	$(0.27)	$1.02
Earnings (loss) per share - diluted	$(0.27)	$1.00

(1)
Fees incurred to an unaffiliated third party that is an affiliate of a noncontrolling limited partner of NexPoint Residential Trust Operating Partnership, L.P. (the "OP").
(2)
Fees incurred to the Company’s adviser.
(3)
$31.7 million with a related party for the three months ended March 31, 2024.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 10

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

NOI and Same Store NOI

The following table, which has not been adjusted for the effects of noncontrolling interests, reconciles NOI and our Q1 Same Store NOI for the three months ended March 31, 2025 and 2024 to net income (loss), the most directly comparable GAAP financial measure (in thousands):

		For the Three Months Ended March 31,
		2025	2024
Net income (loss)		$(6,924)	$26,402
Adjustments to reconcile net income (loss) to NOI:
Advisory and administrative fees		1,696	1,743
Corporate general and administrative expenses		4,457	4,910
Corporate income		(442)	(296)
Casualty-related expenses/(recoveries)	(1)	(656)	33
Casualty loss (gain)		163	(199)
Property general and administrative expenses	(2)	790	988
Depreciation and amortization		24,350	24,323
Interest expense		14,381	14,391
Equity in earnings of affiliate		(55)	(38)
Loss on extinguishment of debt and modification costs		—	546
Gain on sales of real estate		—	(31,709)
NOI		$37,760	$41,094
Less Non-Same Store
Revenues		(4)	(3,885)
Operating expenses		(22)	2,015
Operating income		—	(3)
Same Store NOI		$37,734	$39,221

(1)
Adjustment to net income (loss) to exclude certain property operating expenses that are casualty-related expenses/(recoveries).
(2)
Adjustment to net income (loss) to exclude certain property general and administrative expenses that are not reflective of the continuing operations of the properties or are incurred on our behalf at the property for expenses such as legal, professional, centralized leasing service and franchise tax fees.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 11

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

Q1 Same Store Results of Operations for the Three Months Ended March 31, 2025 and 2024

There are 35 properties encompassing 12,948 units of apartment space, or approximately 100% of our Portfolio, in our same store pool for the three months ended March 31, 2025 and 2024. Our Q1 Same Store properties excludes 36 units that are currently down in our Portfolio as of March 31, 2025 and properties sold during the year ended December 31, 2024.

As of March 31, 2025, our Q1 Same Store properties were approximately 94.4% leased with a weighted average monthly effective rent per occupied apartment unit of $1,495, which were decreases of 30 bps and $19, respectively.

The following table reflects the revenues, property operating expenses and NOI for the three months ended March 31, 2025 and 2024 for our Q1 Same Store and Non-Same Store properties (dollars in thousands):

	For the Three Months Ended March 31,
	2025	2024	$ Change	% Change
Revenues
Same Store
Rental income	$61,436	$61,910	$(474)	-0.8%
Other income	1,334	1,486	(152)	-10.2%
Same Store revenues	62,770	63,396	(626)	-1.0%
Non-Same Store
Rental income	4	3,688	(3,684)	N/M
Other income	—	197	(197)	N/M
Non-Same Store revenues	4	3,885	(3,881)	N/M
Total revenues	62,774	67,281	(4,507)	-6.7%

Operating expenses
Same Store
Property operating expenses (1)	13,122	12,706	416	3.3%
Real estate taxes and insurance	9,026	8,555	471	5.5%
Property management fees (2)	1,820	1,821	(1)	-0.1%
Property general and administrative expenses (3)	1,210	1,201	9	0.7%
Same Store operating expenses	25,178	24,283	895	3.7%
Non-Same Store
Property operating expenses (4)	2	1,029	(1,027)	N/M
Real estate taxes and insurance	(24)	757	(781)	N/M
Property management fees (2)	—	137	(137)	N/M
Property general and administrative expenses (5)	—	92	(92)	N/M
Non-Same Store operating expenses	(22)	2,015	(2,037)	N/M
Total operating expenses	25,156	26,298	(1,142)	-4.3%

Operating income
Same Store
Miscellaneous income	142	108	34	31.5%
Non-Same Store
Miscellaneous income	—	3	(3)	N/M
Total operating income	142	111	31	27.9%

NOI
Same Store	37,734	39,221	(1,487)	-3.8%
Non-Same Store	26	1,873	(1,847)	N/M
Total NOI (6)	$37,760	$41,094	$(3,334)	-8.1%

(1)
For the three months ended March 31, 2025 and 2024, excludes approximately $(656,000) and $32,000, respectively, of casualty-related expenses/(recoveries).
(2)
Fees incurred to an unaffiliated third party that is an affiliate of a noncontrolling limited partner of the OP.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 12

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

(3)
For the three months ended March 31, 2025 and 2024, excludes approximately $791,000 and $917,000, respectively, of expenses that are not reflective of the continuing operations of the properties or are incurred on our behalf at the property for expenses such as legal, professional, centralized leasing service and franchise tax fees.
(4)
For the three months ended March 31, 2025 and 2024, excludes approximately $- and $1,000, respectively, of casualty-related expenses.
(5)
For the three months ended March 31, 2025 and 2024, excludes approximately $(1,000) and $71,000, respectively, of expenses that are not reflective of the continuing operations of the properties or are incurred on our behalf at the property for expenses such as legal, professional, centralized leasing service and franchise tax fees.
(6)
For additional information regarding NOI, see the “Definitions and Reconciliations of Non-GAAP Measures” and “NOI and Same Store NOI” sections of this release.

The following table contains additional information about our Q1 Same Store properties rent and occupancy metrics, revenues, operating expenses and NOI for the three months ended March 31, 2025 and 2024 (dollars in thousands, except for per unit data):

	Q1 2025	Q1 2024	% Change
Same Store Total Units	12,948	12,961
Same Store Occupied Units	12,228	12,280
Same Store Ending Occupancy	94.4%	94.7%	-0.3%
Same Store Average Rent per Unit	$1,495	$1,514	-1.3%

Same Store Revenues
Same Store Rental Income	$61,436	$61,910	-0.8%
Same Store Other Income	1,334	1,486	-10.2%
Total Same Store Revenues	62,770	63,396	-1.0%

Same Store Operating Expenses
Payroll	4,949	4,873	1.6%
Repairs & Maintenance	5,238	4,993	4.9%
Utilities	2,935	2,840	3.3%
Real Estate Taxes	7,329	7,122	2.9%
Insurance	1,697	1,433	18.4%
Property Management Fees	1,820	1,821	-0.1%
Office Operations	905	892	1.5%
Marketing	305	309	-1.3%
Total Same Store Operating Expenses	25,178	24,283	3.7%

Same Store Operating Income
Miscellaneous income	142	108	31.5%
Total Same Store Operating Income	142	108	31.5%

Q1 Same Store NOI	$37,734	$39,221	-3.8%

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 13

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

Q1 Same Store Properties Operating Metrics

(dollars in thousands, except for per unit data)

Properties by Market (1)	Unit Count	Average Effective Rent			Occupancy			Total Rental Income

	Total	Q1 2025	Q1 2024	% Change	Q1 2025	Q1 2024	bps ∆	Q1 2025	Q1 2024	% Change
Texas
Dallas	1,945	$1,236	$1,273	-2.9%	93.3%	92.9%	40	$7,992	$7,932	0.8%
Average/Total	1,945	1,236	1,273	-2.9%	93.3%	92.9%	40	7,992	7,932	0.8%

North Carolina
Charlotte	504	1,389	1,392	-0.2%	95.2%	96.0%	-80	2,274	2,322	-2.1%
Raleigh/Durham	625	1,409	1,451	-2.9%	92.2%	92.8%	-60	2,636	2,656	-0.8%
Average/Total	1,129	1,400	1,425	-1.8%	93.5%	94.2%	-70	4,910	4,978	-1.4%

Georgia
Atlanta	1,672	1,463	1,479	-1.1%	93.8%	96.1%	-230	7,552	7,697	-1.9%
Average/Total	1,672	1,463	1,479	-1.1%	93.8%	96.1%	-230	7,552	7,697	-1.9%

Tennessee
Nashville	1,338	1,265	1,290	-1.9%	95.4%	95.3%	10	5,483	5,585	-1.8%
Average/Total	1,338	1,265	1,290	-1.9%	95.4%	95.3%	10	5,483	5,585	-1.8%

Florida
Orlando	1,172	1,553	1,582	-1.8%	94.6%	94.7%	-10	5,635	5,713	-1.4%
Tampa	576	1,327	1,388	-4.4%	94.3%	94.3%	0	2,456	2,517	-2.4%
South Florida	1,959	2,142	2,109	1.6%	95.5%	95.2%	30	13,110	12,922	1.5%
Average/Total	3,707	1,829	1,830	-0.1%	95.0%	94.9%	10	21,201	21,152	0.2%

Arizona
Phoenix	2,009	1,435	1,479	-3.0%	94.6%	95.2%	-60	9,224	9,573	-3.6%
Average/Total	2,009	1,435	1,479	-3.0%	94.6%	95.2%	-60	9,224	9,573	-3.6%

Nevada
Las Vegas	1,148	1,357	1,349	0.6%	95.0%	94.7%	30	5,074	4,993	1.6%
Average/Total	1,148	1,357	1,349	0.6%	95.0%	94.7%	30	5,074	4,993	1.6%

Average/Total	12,948	$1,495	$1,514	-1.3%	94.4%	94.7%	-30	$61,436	$61,910	-0.8%

(1)
This table includes the 35 properties in our Q1 Same Store pool.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 14

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

QoQ Same Store Properties Operating Metrics

(dollars in thousands, except for per unit data)

Properties by Market (1)	Unit Count	Average Effective Rent			Occupancy			Total Rental Income

	Total	Q1 2025	Q4 2024	% Change	Q1 2025	Q4 2024	bps ∆	Q1 2025	Q4 2024	% Change
Texas
Dallas	1,945	$1,236	$1,226	0.8%	93.3%	96.3%	-300	$7,992	$8,108	-1.4%
Average/Total	1,945	1,236	1,226	0.8%	93.3%	96.3%	-300	7,992	8,108	-1.4%

North Carolina
Charlotte	504	1,389	1,380	0.7%	95.2%	97.0%	-180	2,274	2,308	-1.5%
Raleigh/Durham	625	1,409	1,426	-1.2%	92.2%	92.6%	-40	2,636	2,668	-1.2%
Average/Total	1,129	1,400	1,405	-0.4%	93.5%	94.6%	-110	4,910	4,976	-1.3%

Georgia
Atlanta	1,672	1,463	1,463	0.0%	93.8%	93.9%	-10	7,552	7,627	-1.0%
Average/Total	1,672	1,463	1,463	0.0%	93.8%	93.9%	-10	7,552	7,627	-1.0%

Tennessee
Nashville	1,338	1,265	1,281	-1.2%	95.4%	94.4%	100	5,483	5,518	-0.6%
Average/Total	1,338	1,265	1,281	-1.2%	95.4%	94.4%	100	5,483	5,518	-0.6%

Florida
Orlando	1,172	1,553	1,560	-0.4%	94.6%	94.5%	10	5,635	5,656	-0.4%
Tampa	576	1,327	1,302	1.9%	94.3%	93.6%	70	2,456	2,341	4.9%
South Florida	1,959	2,142	2,120	1.0%	95.5%	95.4%	10	13,109	13,042	0.5%
Average/Total	3,707	1,829	1,816	0.7%	95.0%	94.8%	20	21,200	21,039	0.8%

Arizona
Phoenix	2,009	1,435	1,443	-0.6%	94.6%	93.8%	80	9,224	9,374	-1.6%
Average/Total	2,009	1,435	1,443	-0.6%	94.6%	93.8%	80	9,224	9,374	-1.6%

Nevada
Las Vegas	1,148	1,357	1,336	1.6%	95.0%	94.6%	40	5,075	5,010	1.3%
Average/Total	1,148	1,357	1,336	1.6%	95.0%	94.6%	40	5,075	5,010	1.3%

Average/Total	12,948	$1,495	$1,491	0.3%	94.4%	94.7%	-30	$61,436	$61,652	-0.4%

(1)
This table includes the 35 properties in our Q1 Same Store pool.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 15

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

FFO, Core FFO and AFFO

The following table reconciles our calculations of FFO, Core FFO and AFFO to net income (loss), the most directly comparable GAAP financial measure, for the three months ended March 31, 2025 and 2024 (in thousands, except per share amounts):

		For the Three Months Ended March 31,
		2025	2024	% Change
Net income (loss)		$(6,924)	$26,402	N/M
Depreciation and amortization		24,350	24,323	0.1%
Gain on sales of real estate	(1)	—	(31,709)	N/M
Adjustment for noncontrolling interests		(69)	(75)	-8.0%
FFO attributable to common stockholders		17,357	18,941	-8.4%

FFO per share - basic		$0.68	$0.74	-7.4%
FFO per share - diluted		$0.68	$0.72	-5.6%

Loss on extinguishment of debt and modification costs		—	546	N/M
Casualty-related expenses/(recoveries)		(656)	33	N/M
Casualty losses (gains)		163	(199)	N/M
Amortization of deferred financing costs		1,644	717	N/M
Mark-to-market adjustments of interest rate caps		591	(626)	N/M
Adjustment for noncontrolling interests		(7)	2	N/M
Core FFO attributable to common stockholders		19,092	19,414	-1.7%

Core FFO per share - basic		$0.75	$0.75	-0.6%
Core FFO per share - diluted		$0.75	$0.74	1.3%

Equity-based compensation expense		2,475	2,547	-2.8%
Adjustment for noncontrolling interests		(10)	(9)	11.1%
AFFO attributable to common stockholders		21,557	21,952	-1.8%

AFFO per share - basic		$0.85	$0.85	-0.7%
AFFO per share - diluted		$0.84	$0.83	1.2%

Weighted average common shares outstanding - basic		25,448	25,721	-1.1%
Weighted average common shares outstanding - diluted	(2)	25,576	26,354	-3.0%

Dividends declared per common share		$0.51	$0.46	10.3%

Net income (loss) Coverage - diluted	(3)	-0.53x	2.16x	N/M
FFO Coverage - diluted	(3)	1.33x	1.55x	-14.4%
Core FFO Coverage - diluted	(3)	1.46x	1.59x	-8.1%
AFFO Coverage - diluted	(3)	1.65x	1.80x	-8.3%

(1)
$31.7 million with a related party for the three months ended March 31, 2024.
(2)
The Company uses the diluted weighted average common shares outstanding when in a dilutive position for FFO, Core FFO and AFFO.
(3)
Indicates coverage ratio of net income (loss)/FFO/Core FFO/AFFO per common share (diluted) over dividends declared per common share during the period.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 16

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

Historical Capital Expenditures

	Q1 2025	Q1 2024	% Change
($ in thousands)
Capital Expenditures
Acquisition Capital Expenditures	$—	$—	N/A

Capitalized Rehab Expenditures
Interior	652	1,730	-62.3%
Exterior and common area	58	474	-87.8%

Capitalized Maintenance Expenditures
Recurring	2,797	2,919	-4.2%
Non-Recurring	2,286	1,776	28.7%

Total Capital Expenditures	$5,793	$6,899	-16.0%

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 17

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

Value-Add Program Details: Interiors (Full & Partials)

Property Name (1)	Units	Rehab Units Completed (2)	Average Rent Pre-Rehab	Average Rent Post-Rehab	Avg. Rehab Cost Per Unit (3)	Post-Rehab Rent Change %	ROI (3)
Value-Add Programs In Progress
Arbors of Brentwood	346	170	$1,231	$1,445	$10,127	17.4%	25.4%
Arbors on Forest Ridge	210	183	817	919	4,382	12.5%	27.9%
Atera Apartments	380	234	1,206	1,355	3,419	12.4%	52.5%
Avant at Pembroke Pines	1,520	729	1,859	2,111	17,477	13.5%	17.3%
Bella Solara	320	131	1,287	1,447	11,055	12.4%	17.3%
Bella Vista	248	207	1,470	1,611	10,440	9.6%	16.3%
Bloom	528	172	1,247	1,400	13,185	12.3%	13.9%
Brandywine I & II	632	575	1,032	1,217	10,787	18.0%	20.6%
Courtney Cove	324	310	1,008	1,117	4,880	10.8%	26.8%
Creekside at Matthews	240	95	1,359	1,565	10,515	15.1%	23.5%
Cutter's Point	196	163	1,025	1,151	6,581	12.3%	23.0%
Estates on Maryland	330	119	1,301	1,476	12,400	13.5%	17.0%
Fairways of San Marcos	352	147	1,510	1,700	13,580	12.6%	16.8%
High House at Cary	302	121	1,340	1,597	12,883	19.2%	23.9%
Madera Point	256	265	876	986	4,501	12.6%	29.4%
Parc500	217	226	1,322	1,510	14,495	14.2%	15.6%
Residences at Glenview Reserve	360	283	1,109	1,333	13,526	20.3%	19.9%
Residences at West Place	342	166	1,519	1,711	11,179	12.7%	20.6%
Rockledge Apartments	708	483	1,243	1,445	10,831	16.2%	22.3%
Sabal Palm at Lake Buena Vista	400	110	1,610	1,839	12,684	14.2%	21.6%
Seasons 704 Apartments	222	236	1,244	1,384	7,747	11.2%	21.7%
Six Forks Station	323	140	1,150	1,433	12,529	24.7%	27.2%
Summers Landing	196	63	1,093	1,311	11,090	19.9%	23.6%
Summit at Sabal Park	252	246	1,016	1,115	5,750	9.8%	20.8%
The Adair	232	146	1,742	2,026	11,704	16.3%	29.2%
The Cornerstone	430	525	1,066	1,160	4,925	8.8%	22.8%
The Enclave	204	174	1,469	1,654	10,333	12.6%	21.5%
The Heritage	204	180	1,414	1,548	9,541	9.5%	16.8%
The Preserve at Terrell Mill	752	802	907	1,085	11,169	19.5%	19.0%
The Verandas at Lake Norman	264	87	1,315	1,507	12,020	14.7%	19.2%
The Venue on Camelback	415	296	783	1,029	10,085	31.4%	29.3%
Torreyana Apartments	316	57	1,477	1,608	13,202	8.8%	11.9%
Venue at 8651	333	306	828	938	6,931	13.3%	19.0%
Versailles	388	324	824	926	6,050	12.4%	20.2%
Versailles II	242	87	910	1,036	5,266	13.8%	28.7%
Total/Weighted Average	12,984	8,558	$1,182	$1,354	$9,967	14.6%	20.7%

(1)
We do not plan to upgrade 100% of the units at each of our properties.
(2)
Inclusive of all full and partial interior upgrades completed through March 31, 2025.
(3)
Inclusive of all full and partial interior upgrades completed and leased through March 31, 2025.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 18

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

Value-Add Program Details: Kitchen & Laundry Appliances

Property Name (1)	Units	Rehab Units Completed (2)	Avg. Rehab Cost Per Unit (3)	Post-Rehab Rent Change $	ROI (3)
Value-Add Programs In Progress
Arbors of Brentwood	346	315	$859	$50	69.6%
Arbors on Forest Ridge	210	136	787	47	71.4%
Atera Apartments	380	369	813	40	59.7%
Avant at Pembroke Pines	1,520	462	1,324	51	46.0%
Brandywine I & II	632	196	1,043	71	81.5%
Creekside at Matthews	240	174	1,095	56	60.9%
Cutter's Point	196	141	756	46	72.9%
Estates on Maryland	330	21	1,067	38	42.3%
Madera Point	256	158	893	31	41.3%
Residences at Glenview Reserve	360	63	1,134	55	58.2%
Rockledge Apartments	708	620	819	40	58.6%
Sabal Palm at Lake Buena Vista	400	634	599	86	171.8%
Six Forks Station	323	197	1,087	55	60.7%
Summers Landing	196	107	874	59	80.8%
Summit at Sabal Park	252	249	994	40	48.3%
The Adair	232	11	1,083	84	92.8%
The Cornerstone	430	17	809	50	74.2%
The Verandas at Lake Norman	264	212	1,083	46	51.0%
Venue at 8651	333	268	775	47	72.7%
Versailles	388	307	870	49	68.3%
Versailles II	242	138	885	28	38.4%
Total/Weighted Average	8,238	4,795	$934	$50	64.5%

(1)
We do not plan to upgrade 100% of the units at each of our properties.
(2)
Inclusive of all kitchen and laundry appliance upgrades completed through March 31, 2025.
(3)
Inclusive of all kitchen and laundry appliance upgrades completed and leased through March 31, 2025.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 19

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

Value-Add Program Details: Smart Home Technology Packages

Property Name (1)	Units	Rehab Units Completed (2)	Avg. Rehab Cost Per Unit (3)	Post-Rehab Rent Change $	ROI (3)
Value-Add Programs In Progress
Arbors of Brentwood	346	346	$1,419	$45	30.9%
Arbors on Forest Ridge	210	210	1,416	45	30.9%
Atera Apartments	380	380	1,339	50	37.0%
Avant at Pembroke Pines	1,520	1,520	1,350	45	32.4%
Bella Solara	320	320	820	35	39.5%
Bella Vista	248	248	970	40	39.3%
Bloom	528	528	901	40	42.3%
Brandywine I & II	632	632	1,234	45	35.5%
Courtney Cove	324	324	1,238	35	26.2%
Creekside at Matthews	240	240	913	65	72.9%
Cutter's Point	196	196	1,400	45	31.3%
Estates on Maryland	330	330	913	45	48.0%
Fairways of San Marcos	352	352	901	40	42.3%
Hight House at Cary	302	302	899	65	74.1%
Madera Point	256	256	1,283	45	34.1%
Residences at Glenview Reserve	360	360	1,017	45	43.1%
Rockledge Apartments	708	708	942	35	34.4%
Sabal Palm at Lake Buena Vista	400	400	1,237	45	35.4%
Six Forks Station	323	323	844	35	38.4%
Stone Creek at Old Farm	190	190	909	45	48.2%
Summers Landing	196	196	1,449	45	30.2%
The Adair	232	232	913	45	48.0%
The Cornerstone	430	430	1,236	45	35.4%
The Enclave	204	204	966	40	39.4%
The Heritage	204	204	997	40	38.2%
The Venue on Camelback Apartments	415	415	808	30	33.0%
The Verandas at Lake Norman	264	264	954	65	69.8%
Torreyana Apartments	316	316	900	35	36.0%
Venue at 8651	333	333	1,229	45	35.6%
Versailles	388	388	1,080	45	40.6%
Versailles II	242	242	1,241	45	35.3%
Total/Weighted Average	11,389	11,389	$1,113	$43	37.2%

Planned Value-Add Programs				Rent Change & ROI (Projections)
Residences at West Place	342	—	TBD	TBD	TBD
Seasons 704 Apartments	222	—	TBD	TBD	TBD
Summit at Sabal Park	252	—	TBD	TBD	TBD
The Preserve at Terrell Mill	752	—	TBD	TBD	TBD
Total/Weighted Average Planned	1,568	—	TBD	TBD	TBD

(1)
We do not plan to upgrade 100% of the units at each of our properties.
(2)
Inclusive of all smart home technology package upgrades completed through March 31, 2025.
(3)
Inclusive of all smart home technology package upgrades completed and leased through March 31, 2025.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 20

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

Outstanding Debt Details

Mortgage Debt

The following table contains summary information concerning the mortgage debt of the Company as of March 31, 2025 (dollars in thousands):

Operating Properties	Type	Term (months)	Outstanding Principal	Interest Rate (1)	Maturity Date
Residences at West Place	Fixed	120	$33,817	4.24%	10/1/2028
Arbors of Brentwood	Floating	84	39,977	5.42%	10/1/2031
Avant at Pembroke Pines	Floating	84	248,185	5.42%	10/1/2031
Bella Vista	Floating	84	37,400	5.42%	10/1/2031
Brandywine I & II	Floating	84	59,526	5.42%	10/1/2031
Cornerstone	Floating	84	45,815	5.42%	10/1/2031
Estates on Maryland	Floating	84	37,345	5.42%	10/1/2031
High House at Cary	Floating	84	32,478	5.42%	10/1/2031
Residences at Glenview Reserve	Floating	84	33,271	5.42%	10/1/2031
Sabal Palm at Lake Buena Vista	Floating	84	56,220	5.42%	10/1/2031
Six Forks Station	Floating	84	30,430	5.42%	10/1/2031
Summers Landing	Floating	84	14,135	5.42%	10/1/2031
The Adair	Floating	84	33,229	5.42%	10/1/2031
The Enclave	Floating	84	33,440	5.42%	10/1/2031
The Heritage	Floating	84	29,810	5.42%	10/1/2031
The Venue on Camelback	Floating	84	36,465	5.42%	10/1/2031
The Verandas at Lake Norman	Floating	84	30,113	5.42%	10/1/2031
Versailles II	Floating	84	15,706	5.42%	10/1/2031
Arbors on Forest Ridge	Floating	84	17,307	5.42%	12/1/2031
Atera Apartments	Floating	84	38,555	5.42%	12/1/2031
Bella Solara	Floating	84	37,772	5.42%	12/1/2031
Bloom	Floating	84	60,848	5.42%	12/1/2031
Courtney Cove	Floating	84	31,596	5.42%	12/1/2031
Creekside at Matthews	Floating	84	28,703	5.42%	12/1/2031
Cutter's Point	Floating	84	18,994	5.42%	12/1/2031
Fairways at San Marcos	Floating	84	55,056	5.42%	12/1/2031
Madera Point	Floating	84	29,676	5.42%	12/1/2031
Parc500	Floating	84	30,012	5.42%	12/1/2031
Rockledge Apartments	Floating	84	78,444	5.42%	12/1/2031
Seasons 704 Apartments	Floating	84	33,960	5.42%	12/1/2031
The Preserve at Terrell Mill	Floating	84	74,341	5.42%	12/1/2031
The Summit at Sabal Park	Floating	84	26,735	5.42%	12/1/2031
Torreyana Apartments	Floating	84	43,153	5.42%	12/1/2031
Venue at 8651	Floating	84	24,620	5.42%	12/1/2031
Versailles	Floating	84	26,108	5.42%	12/1/2031
			$1,503,242
Fair market value adjustment			371
Deferred financing costs, net of accumulated amortization of $2,579			(38,523)
			$1,465,090

(1)
Interest rate is based on a reference rate plus an applicable margin, except for fixed rate mortgage debt. The reference rates used in our portfolio is 30-Day Average Secured Overnight Financing Rate (“SOFR”). As of March 31, 2025, SOFR was 4.33%.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 21

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

Interest Rate Swap Agreements

As of March 31, 2025, the Company had the following outstanding interest rate swaps that were designated as cash flow hedges of interest rate risk (dollars in thousands):

Effective Date	Termination Date	Counterparty	Notional Amount	Fixed Rate (1)
September 1, 2019	September 1, 2026	KeyBank	$100,000	1.4620%
September 1, 2019	September 1, 2026	KeyBank	125,000	1.3020%
January 3, 2020	September 1, 2026	KeyBank	92,500	1.6090%
March 4, 2020	June 1, 2026	Truist	100,000	0.8200%
June 1, 2021	September 1, 2026	KeyBank	200,000	0.8450%
June 1, 2021	September 1, 2026	KeyBank	200,000	0.9530%
			$817,500	1.1002%	(2)

(1)
The floating rate option for the interest rate swaps is SOFR plus 0.11448% ("Adjusted SOFR"). As of March 31, 2025, Adjusted SOFR was 4.45%.
(2)
Represents the weighted average fixed rate of the interest rate swaps.

The following table contains summary information regarding our forward interest rate swap (dollars in thousands):

Effective Date	Termination Date	Counterparty	Notional Amount	Fixed Rate (1)
September 1, 2026	January 1, 2027	KeyBank	$92,500	1.7980%

(1)
The floating rate option for the interest rate swaps is Adjusted SOFR. As of March 31, 2025, Adjusted SOFR was 4.45%.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 22

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

Interest Rate Cap Agreements

As of March 31, 2025, the Company had the following interest rate caps outstanding that were not designated as cash flow hedges of interest rate risk (dollars in thousands):

Properties	Type	Maturity Date	Notional	Strike Rate
Estates on Maryland	Floating	4/1/2025	43,157	3.91%
The Adair	Floating	4/1/2025	35,115	3.91%
Rockledge Apartments	Floating	12/1/2025	93,129	6.45%
The Preserve at Terrell Mill	Floating	12/1/2025	71,098	6.45%
Fairways at San Marcos	Floating	12/1/2025	60,228	6.70%
Bloom	Floating	12/1/2025	59,830	6.70%
Torreyana Apartments	Floating	12/1/2025	50,580	6.70%
Cornerstone	Floating	12/1/2025	46,804	6.66%
Atera Apartments	Floating	12/1/2025	46,198	6.45%
Silverbrook	Floating	12/1/2025	46,088	6.45%
Bella Solara	Floating	12/1/2025	40,328	6.70%
Versailles	Floating	12/1/2025	40,247	6.45%
Courtney Cove	Floating	12/1/2025	36,146	6.70%
Madera Point	Floating	12/1/2025	34,457	6.70%
Seasons 704 Apartments	Floating	12/1/2025	33,132	6.70%
The Summit at Sabal Park	Floating	12/1/2025	30,826	6.70%
Creekside at Matthews	Floating	12/1/2025	29,648	6.45%
Parc500	Floating	12/1/2025	29,416	6.45%
Cutter's Point	Floating	12/1/2025	21,524	6.45%
Arbors on Forest Ridge	Floating	12/1/2025	19,184	6.70%
Venue at 8651	Floating	12/1/2025	18,690	6.45%
The Venue on Camelback	Floating	2/1/2026	42,788	6.07%
Avant at Pembroke Pines	Floating	10/1/2027	248,185	8.16%
Brandywine I & II	Floating	10/1/2027	59,526	8.16%
Sabal Palm at Lake Buena Vista	Floating	10/1/2027	56,220	8.41%
Cornerstone	Floating	10/1/2027	45,815	8.66%
Arbors of Brentwood	Floating	10/1/2027	39,977	8.16%
Bella Vista	Floating	10/1/2027	37,400	8.91%
Estates on Maryland	Floating	10/1/2027	37,345	8.91%
The Venue on Camelback	Floating	10/1/2027	36,465	8.16%
The Enclave	Floating	10/1/2027	33,440	8.66%
Residences at Glenview Reserve	Floating	10/1/2027	33,271	8.16%
The Adair	Floating	10/1/2027	33,229	8.16%
High House at Cary	Floating	10/1/2027	32,478	8.16%
Six Forks Station	Floating	10/1/2027	30,430	8.16%
The Verandas at Lake Norman	Floating	10/1/2027	30,113	8.16%
The Heritage	Floating	10/1/2027	29,810	8.91%
Versailles II	Floating	10/1/2027	15,706	8.16%
Summers Landing	Floating	10/1/2027	14,135	8.66%
Rockledge Apartments	Floating	12/1/2027	78,444	7.66%
The Preserve at Terrell Mill	Floating	12/1/2027	74,341	7.66%
Bloom	Floating	12/1/2027	60,848	7.66%
Fairways at San Marcos	Floating	12/1/2027	55,056	7.66%
Torreyana Apartments	Floating	12/1/2027	43,153	7.66%
Atera Apartments	Floating	12/1/2027	38,555	7.66%
Bella Solara	Floating	12/1/2027	37,772	7.66%
Seasons 704 Apartments	Floating	12/1/2027	33,960	7.66%
Courtney Cove	Floating	12/1/2027	31,596	7.66%
Parc500	Floating	12/1/2027	30,012	7.66%
Madera Point	Floating	12/1/2027	29,676	7.66%
Creekside at Matthews	Floating	12/1/2027	28,703	7.66%
The Summit at Sabal Park	Floating	12/1/2027	26,735	7.66%
Versailles	Floating	12/1/2027	26,108	7.66%
Venue at 8651	Floating	12/1/2027	24,620	7.66%
Cutter's Point	Floating	12/1/2027	18,994	7.66%
Arbors on Forest Ridge	Floating	12/1/2027	17,307	7.66%
			$2,398,038	7.37%

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 23

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

As of March 31, 2025, the Company had the following interest rate cap outstanding that was designated as a cash flow hedge of interest rate risk (dollars in thousands):

Property	Type	Maturity Date	Notional	Strike Rate
The Verandas at Lake Norman	Floating	7/1/2025	$34,925	3.40%

Debt Maturity Schedule

The following table summarizes our contractual obligations and commitments as of March 31, 2025 for the next five calendar years subsequent to March 31, 2025 and thereafter. We used the applicable reference rate as of March 31, 2025 to calculate interest expense due by period on our floating rate debt and net interest expense due by period on our interest rate swaps.

		Payments Due by Period (in thousands)
		Total	2025	2026	2027	2028	2029	Thereafter
Operating Properties Mortgage Debt
Principal payments		$1,503,242	$—	$—	$—	$33,817	$—	$1,469,425
Interest expense	(1)	424,542	37,606	50,387	67,812	68,951	69,100	130,686
Total		$1,927,784	$37,606	$50,387	$67,812	$102,768	$69,100	$1,600,111

(1)
Interest expense obligations includes the impact of expected settlements on interest rate swaps which have been entered into in order to fix the interest rate on the hedged portion of our floating rate debt obligations. As of March 31, 2025, we had entered into 6 interest rate swap transactions with a combined notional amount of $0.8 billion. We have allocated the total impact of expected settlements on the $0.8 billion notional amount of interest rate swaps to ‘Operating Properties Mortgage Debt.’ We used Adjusted SOFR as of March 31, 2025 to determine our expected settlements through the terms of the interest rate swaps.

(1)
As of March 31, 2025, we had total indebtedness of $1.5 billion at an adjusted weighted average interest rate of 3.58%, of which $1.5 billion was debt with a floating interest rate. The interest rate swap agreements we have entered into effectively fix the interest rate on $0.8 billion, or 55.6%, of our $1.5 billion of floating rate mortgage debt outstanding. For purposes of calculating the adjusted weighted average interest rate of the total indebtedness, we have included the weighted average fixed rate of 1.10% for Adjusted SOFR on the $0.8 billion notional amount of interest rate swap agreements that we have entered into as of March 31, 2025, which effectively fix the interest rate on $0.8 billion of our floating rate mortgage debt outstanding.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 24

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

Historical Acquisition Details

(in thousands, except for unit and per unit amounts)
Property Name (1)	Location	Units	Transaction Date	Purchase Price	Rehab Budget (2)	Total Investment	Per Unit
Arbors on Forest Ridge	Bedford, TX	210	1/31/2014	$12,805	$1,449	$14,254	$67,876
Cutter's Point	Richardson, TX	196	1/31/2014	15,845	1,379	17,224	87,878
The Summit at Sabal Park	Tampa, FL	252	8/20/2014	19,050	1,655	20,705	82,163
Courtney Cove	Tampa, FL	324	8/20/2014	18,950	1,635	20,585	63,534
Sabal Palm at Lake Buena Vista	Orlando, FL	400	11/5/2014	49,500	1,346	50,846	127,115
Cornerstone	Orlando, FL	430	1/15/2015	31,550	2,610	34,160	79,442
The Preserve at Terrell Mill	Marietta, GA	752	2/6/2015	58,000	6,688	64,688	86,021
Versailles	Dallas, TX	388	2/26/2015	26,165	3,997	30,162	77,737
Seasons 704 Apartments	West Palm Beach, FL	222	4/15/2015	21,000	1,900	22,900	103,153
Madera Point	Mesa, AZ	256	8/5/2015	22,525	1,808	24,333	95,051
Venue at 8651	Fort Worth, TX	333	10/30/2015	19,250	4,626	23,876	71,700
Parc500	West Palm Beach, FL	217	7/27/2016	22,421	5,082	27,503	126,742
The Venue on Camelback	Phoenix, AZ	415	10/11/2016	44,600	6,018	50,618	121,971
Rockledge Apartments	Marietta, GA	708	6/30/2017	113,500	7,685	121,185	171,165
Atera Apartments	Dallas, TX	380	10/25/2017	59,200	3,721	62,921	165,582
Versailles II	Dallas, TX	242	9/26/2018	24,680	2,843	27,523	113,731
Brandywine I & II	Nashville, TN	632	9/26/2018	79,800	7,787	87,587	138,587
Bella Vista	Phoenix, AZ	248	1/28/2019	48,400	3,414	51,814	208,927
The Enclave	Tempe, AZ	204	1/28/2019	41,800	2,608	44,408	217,686
The Heritage	Phoenix, AZ	204	1/28/2019	41,900	2,660	44,560	218,431
Summers Landing	Fort Worth, TX	196	6/7/2019	19,396	2,980	22,376	114,163
Residences at Glenview Reserve	Nashville, TN	360	7/17/2019	45,000	5,695	50,695	140,819
Residences at West Place	Orlando, FL	342	7/17/2019	55,000	4,129	59,129	172,892
Avant at Pembroke Pines	Pembroke Pines, FL	1,520	8/30/2019	322,000	32,583	354,583	233,278
Arbors of Brentwood	Nashville, TN	346	9/10/2019	62,250	4,248	66,498	192,191
Torreyana Apartments	Las Vegas, NV	316	11/22/2019	68,000	2,771	70,771	223,959
Bloom	Las Vegas, NV	528	11/22/2019	106,500	4,786	111,286	210,769
Bella Solara	Las Vegas, NV	320	11/22/2019	66,500	3,642	70,142	219,194
Fairways at San Marcos	Chandler, AZ	352	11/2/2020	84,480	4,366	88,846	252,403
The Verandas at Lake Norman	Charlotte, NC	264	6/30/2021	63,500	4,628	68,128	258,061
Creekside at Matthews	Charlotte, NC	240	6/30/2021	58,000	3,943	61,943	258,096
Six Forks Station	Raleigh, NC	323	9/10/2021	74,760	6,431	81,191	251,365
Hudson High House	Cary, NC	302	12/7/2021	93,250	1,677	94,927	314,328
The Adair	Sandy Springs, GA	232	4/1/2022	65,500	5,390	70,890	305,560
Estates on Maryland	Phoenix, AZ	330	4/1/2022	77,900	4,636	82,536	250,109
Total/Weighted Average		12,984		$2,032,977	$162,816	$2,195,793	$169,115

(1)
Only includes properties owned as of March 31, 2025.
(2)
Includes interior and exterior rehab.

NXRT.NEXPOINT.COM	Page 25

NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

Historical Disposition Details

(in thousands, except unit and per unit amounts)
Property Name	Location	Units	Purchase Price	Sale Price	Sales Price Per Unit	Sale Date	Net Cash Proceeds (1)	Gain on Sale
Meridian	Austin, TX	200	$12,300	$17,250	$86,250	5/10/2016	$16,981	$4,786
Park at Regency and Mandarin Reserve	Jacksonville, FL	679	34,500	47,000	69,219	6/6/2016	46,239	11,584
Park at Blanding and Colonial Forest	Jacksonville, FL	291	12,000	14,500	49,828	8/31/2016	14,259	2,007
Willowdale Crossings	Frederick, MD	432	41,000	45,200	104,630	9/15/2016	44,439	5,576
Jade Park	Dayton Beach, FL	144	7,800	10,000	69,444	9/30/2016	9,868	1,979
The Miramar Apartments	Dallas, TX	314	8,875	16,550	52,707	4/3/2017	16,326	6,368
Toscana	Dallas, TX	192	8,875	13,250	69,010	4/3/2017	13,040	4,283
The Grove at Alban	Frederick, MD	290	23,050	27,500	94,828	4/3/2017	27,021	4,514
Twelve 6 Ten at the Park	Dallas, TX	402	20,984	26,600	66,169	4/27/2017	26,349	4,731
Regatta Bay	Seabrook, TX	240	18,200	28,200	117,500	7/14/2017	27,670	10,423
NAVA Portfolio (2)	Atlanta, GA	1,100	66,200	116,000	105,455	9/27/2017	114,010	48,046
Timberglen	Dallas, TX	304	16,950	30,000	98,684	1/31/2018	29,553	13,742
Edgewater at Sandy Springs	Atlanta, GA	760	58,000	101,250	133,224	8/28/2019	100,219	47,329
Belmont at Duck Creek	Garland, TX	240	18,525	29,500	122,917	8/28/2019	29,148	11,985
The Ashlar	Dallas, TX	264	16,235	29,400	111,364	8/28/2019	29,050	13,205
Heatherstone	Dallas, TX	152	9,450	16,275	107,072	8/28/2019	16,054	6,368
The Pointe at the Foothills	Mesa, AZ	528	52,275	85,400	161,742	8/28/2019	84,663	37,925
Abbington Heights	Antioch, TN	274	17,900	28,050	102,372	8/30/2019	27,630	10,888
Southpoint Reserve at Stoney Creek	Fredericksburg, VA	156	17,000	23,500	150,641	3/20/2020	23,176	5,469
Willow Grove	Nashville, TN	244	13,750	31,300	128,279	3/26/2020	31,005	17,513
Woodbridge	Nashville, TN	220	16,000	31,700	144,091	3/26/2020	31,237	15,990
Eagle Crest	Irving, TX	447	27,325	55,500	124,161	9/30/2020	54,779	30,160
Beechwood Terrace	Antioch, TN	300	21,400	53,600	178,667	11/1/2021	53,003	33,960
Cedar Pointe	Antioch, TN	210	26,500	37,650	179,286	11/1/2021	37,231	12,252
Hollister Place	Houston, TX	260	24,500	36,750	141,346	12/29/2022	36,455	14,684
Silverbrook	Grand Prairie, TX	642	30,400	70,000	109,034	9/22/2023	69,431	43,107
Timber Creek	Charlotte, NC	352	22,750	49,000	139,205	12/13/2023	48,348	24,819
Old Farm	Houston, TX	734	84,721	103,000	140,327	3/1/2024	102,704	31,548
Radbourne Lake	Charlotte, NC	225	24,250	39,250	174,444	4/30/2024	38,904	18,847
Stone Creek at Old Farm	Houston, TX	190	23,332	24,500	128,947	10/1/2024	24,095	3,851
Total/Weighted Average		10,786	$775,047	$1,237,675	$114,748		$1,222,887	$497,939

(1)
Represents sales price, net of closing costs.
(2)
The NAVA Portfolio consists of The Arbors, The Crossings, The Crossings at Holcomb Bridge and The Knolls.

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NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

Definitions and Reconciliations of Non-GAAP Measures

Definitions

This presentation contains non-GAAP financial measures. A “non-GAAP financial measure” is defined as a numerical measure of a company’s financial performance that excludes or includes amounts so as to be different than the most directly comparable measure calculated and presented in accordance with GAAP in the statements of income (loss), balance sheets or statements of cash flows of the Company. The non-GAAP financial measures used within this presentation are net operating income (“NOI”), funds from operations attributable to common stockholders (“FFO”), FFO per diluted share, Core FFO, Core FFO per diluted share, adjusted FFO (“AFFO”), AFFO per diluted share and net debt.

NOI is used by investors and our management to evaluate and compare the performance of our properties to other comparable properties, to determine trends in earnings and to compute the fair value of our properties. NOI is calculated by adjusting net income (loss) to add back (1) interest expense (2) advisory and administrative fees, (3) depreciation and amortization expenses, (4) gains or losses from the sale of operating real estate assets that are included in net income (loss) computed in accordance with GAAP, (5) corporate income and corporate general and administrative expenses that are not reflective of operations of the properties, (6) other gains and losses that are specific to us including loss on extinguishment of debt and modification costs, (7) casualty-related expenses/(recoveries) and casualty gains (losses), (8) property general and administrative expenses that are not reflective of the continuing operations of the properties or are incurred on behalf of the Company at the property for expenses such as legal, professional, centralized leasing service and franchise tax fees and (9) equity in earnings of affiliate. We define “Same Store NOI” as NOI for our properties that are comparable between periods. We view Same Store NOI as an important measure of the operating performance of our properties because it allows us to compare operating results of properties owned for the entirety of the current and comparable periods and therefore eliminates variations caused by acquisitions or dispositions during the periods.

FFO is defined by the National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts (“NAREIT”), as net income (loss) computed in accordance with GAAP, excluding gains or losses from real estate dispositions, plus real estate depreciation and amortization. We compute FFO in accordance with NAREIT’s definition. Our presentation differs slightly in that we begin with net income (loss) before adjusting for amounts attributable to redeemable noncontrolling interests in the OP and we show the combined amounts attributable to such noncontrolling interests as an adjustment to arrive at FFO attributable to common stockholders.

Core FFO makes certain adjustments to FFO, which are not representative of the ongoing operating performance of our Portfolio. Core FFO adjusts FFO to remove items such as loss on extinguishment of debt and modification costs, casualty-related expenses/(recoveries) and losses (gains), the amortization of deferred financing costs, mark-to-market gains or losses related to interest rate cap agreements not designated as hedges for accounting purposes, and the noncontrolling interests (as described above) related to these items. Starting in the third quarter of 2024, the Company has adjusted Core FFO to remove (1) the amortization of all deferred financing costs instead of those solely related to short-term debt financing and (2) mark-to-market gains or losses related to interest rate cap agreements not designated as hedges for accounting purposes. Prior periods have been recast to conform to the current presentation.

AFFO makes certain adjustments to Core FFO in order to arrive at a more refined measure of the operating performance of our portfolio. There is no industry standard definition of AFFO and practice is divergent across the industry. AFFO adjusts Core FFO to remove items such as equity-based compensation expense and the noncontrolling interests related to this item.

Net debt is calculated by subtracting cash and cash equivalents and restricted cash held for value-add upgrades and green improvements from total debt outstanding.

We believe that the use of NOI, FFO, Core FFO, AFFO and net debt, combined with the required GAAP presentations, improves the understanding of operating results and debt levels of real estate investment trusts (“REITs”) among investors and makes comparisons of operating results and debt levels among such companies more meaningful. While NOI, FFO, Core FFO, AFFO and net debt are relevant and widely used measures of operating performance and debt levels of REITs, they do not represent cash flows from operations, net income (loss) or total debt as defined by GAAP and should not be considered an alternative to those measures in evaluating our liquidity, operating performance and debt levels. NOI, FFO, Core FFO and AFFO do not purport to be indicative of cash available to fund our future cash requirements. We present net debt because we believe it provides our investors a better understanding of our leverage ratio. Net debt should not be considered an alternative to total debt, as we may not always be able to use our available cash to repay debt. Our computation of NOI, FFO, Core FFO, AFFO and net debt may not be comparable to NOI, FFO, Core FFO, AFFO and net debt reported by other REITs. For a more complete discussion of NOI, FFO, Core FFO and AFFO, see our most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K and our other filings with the SEC.

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NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

Reconciliations

Reconciliation of Debt to Net Debt

(dollar amounts in thousands)	Q1 2025	Q1 2024
Total mortgage debt	$1,503,242	$1,498,277
Total Debt	1,503,242	1,498,277
Adjustments to arrive at net debt:
Cash and cash equivalents	(23,719)	(37,234)
Restricted cash held for value-add upgrades and green improvements	(3,170)	(2,907)
Net Debt	$1,476,353	$1,458,136
Enterprise Value (1)	$2,487,353	$2,288,136
Leverage Ratio (Total Debt to Market Capitalization plus Total Debt)	60%	64%
Leverage Ratio (Net Debt to Enterprise Value)	59%	64%

(1)
Enterprise Value is calculated as Market Capitalization as of the end of the period plus Net Debt.

Guidance Reconciliations of NOI, Same Store NOI, FFO, Core FFO and AFFO

The following table, which has not been adjusted for the effects of noncontrolling interests, reconciles our 2025 NOI guidance to our net loss (the most directly comparable GAAP financial measure) guidance for the year ended December 31, 2025 and for the three months ended June 30, 2025 (in thousands):

		For the Year Ended December 31, 2025	For the Three Months Ended June 30, 2025
		Mid-Point (1)	Mid-Point (1)
Net loss		$(31,547)	$(8,857)
Adjustments to reconcile net loss to NOI:
Advisory and administrative fees		7,045	1,756
Corporate general and administrative expenses		19,454	4,881
Corporate income		(1,709)	(443)
Property general and administrative expenses	(2)	3,316	544
Depreciation and amortization		95,937	24,662
Interest expense		59,512	15,275
Loss on extinguishment of debt and modification costs		18	18
Equity in earnings of affiliate		(240)	(60)
NOI	(3)	$151,786	$37,776
Less Non-Same Store
Revenues	(3)	—
Operating expenses	(3)	(41)
Same Store NOI	(3)	$151,745

(1)
Mid-Point estimates shown for full year and second quarter 2025 guidance. Assumptions made for full year and second quarter 2025 NOI guidance include the Same Store operating growth projections included in the “2025 Full Year Guidance Summary” section of this release and the effect of the acquisition and dispositions throughout the fiscal year.
(2)
Adjustment to net loss to exclude certain property general and administrative expenses that are not reflective of the continuing operations of the properties or are incurred on our behalf at the property for expenses such as legal, professional, centralized leasing service and franchise tax fees.
(3)
Year-over-year growth for the Full Year 2025 pro forma Same Store pool (35 properties).

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NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

The following table reconciles our FFO, Core FFO and AFFO guidance to our net loss (the most directly comparable GAAP financial measure) guidance for the year ended December 31, 2025 (in thousands, except per share data):

For the Year Ended December 31, 2025
Mid-Point
Net loss	$(31,547)
Depreciation and amortization	95,937
Adjustment for noncontrolling interests	(254)
FFO attributable to common stockholders	64,136
FFO per share - diluted (1)	$2.48

Loss on extinguishment of debt and modification costs	18
Amortization of deferred financing costs	6,213
Mark-to-market adjustments of interest rate caps	809
Adjustment for noncontrolling interests	(28)
Core FFO attributable to common stockholders	71,148
Core FFO per share - diluted (1)	$2.75

Equity-based compensation expense	10,572
Adjustment for noncontrolling interests	(42)
AFFO attributable to common stockholders	81,678
AFFO per share - diluted (1)	$3.16

Weighted average common shares outstanding - diluted	25,834

(1)
For purposes of calculating per share data, we assume a weighted average diluted share count of approximately 25.8 million for the full year 2025.

The following table reconciles our NOI to our net income (loss) for the years ended December 31, 2024 and 2023 and the three months ended December 31, 2024 (in thousands):

		For the Year Ended December 31,		For the Three Months Ended December 31,
		2024	2023	2024
Net income (loss)		$1,114	$44,433	$(27,038)
Adjustments to reconcile net income (loss) to NOI:
Advisory and administrative fees		6,899	7,645	1,720
Corporate general and administrative expenses		19,399	17,146	4,875
Corporate income		(2,215)	(483)	(959)
Casualty-related expenses/(recoveries)	(1)	1,389	(2,214)	(249)
Casualty losses		626	856	88
Gain on forfeited deposits		—	(250)	—
Property general and administrative expenses	(2)	3,998	3,701	1,277
Depreciation and amortization		97,762	95,186	24,389
Interest expense		58,477	67,106	15,521
Equity in earnings of affiliate		(172)	(205)	(28)
Loss on extinguishment of debt and modification costs		24,004	2,409	23,203
Gain on sales of real estate		(54,246)	(67,926)	(3,851)
NOI		$157,035	$167,404	$38,948

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NEXPOINT RESIDENTIAL TRUST, INC. [NYSE:NXRT]

The following table reconciles our NOI to our FFO, Core FFO and AFFO to net income, the most directly comparable GAAP financial measure, for the years ended December 31, 2024 and 2023 (in thousands):

		For the Year Ended December 31,
		2024	2023	% Change 2024 - 2023
Net income		$1,114	$44,433	N/M
Depreciation and amortization		97,762	95,186	2.7%
Gain on sales of real estate		(54,246)	(67,926)	-20.1%
Adjustment for noncontrolling interests		(176)	(273)	-35.5%
FFO attributable to common stockholders		44,454	71,420	-37.8%

FFO per share - basic		$1.74	$2.78	-37.3%
FFO per share - diluted		$1.69	$2.72	-37.8%

Loss on extinguishment of debt and modification costs		24,004	2,409	N/M
Casualty-related expenses/(recoveries)		1,389	(2,214)	N/M
Casualty losses		626	856	-26.9%
Gain on forfeited deposits		—	(250)	N/M
Amortization of deferred financing costs		3,364	2,945	14.2%
Mark-to-market adjustments of interest rate caps		(593)	1,484	N/M
Adjustment for noncontrolling interests		(114)	(20)	N/M
Core FFO attributable to common stockholders		73,130	76,630	-4.6%

Core FFO per share - basic		$2.87	$2.99	-4.1%
Core FFO per share - diluted		$2.79	$2.92	-4.6%

Equity-based compensation expense		10,543	9,287	13.5%
Adjustment for noncontrolling interests		(42)	(35)	20.0%
AFFO attributable to common stockholders		83,631	85,882	-2.6%

AFFO per share - basic		$3.28	$3.35	-2.1%
AFFO per share - diluted		$3.19	$3.27	-2.6%

Weighted average common shares outstanding - basic		25,516	25,654	-0.5%
Weighted average common shares outstanding - diluted	(1)	26,246	26,245	0.0%

Dividends declared per common share		$1.90	$1.72	10.2%

Net income Coverage - diluted	(2)	0.02x	0.98x	N/M
FFO Coverage - diluted	(2)	0.89x	1.58x	-43.5%
Core FFO Coverage - diluted	(2)	1.47x	1.70x	-13.4%
AFFO Coverage - diluted	(2)	1.68x	1.90x	-11.6%

(1)
The Company uses the diluted weighted average common shares outstanding when in a dilutive position for FFO, Core FFO and AFFO.
(2)
Indicates coverage ratio of net income/FFO/Core FFO/AFFO per common share (diluted) over dividends declared per common share during the period.

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