TEO FOODS INC (CIK 1612188)
Form 10-Q
period 2021-06-30
filed 2021-08-20

UNITED STATES

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

Washington, D.C. 20549

FORM 10-Q

(Mark One)

☒ QUARTERLY REPORT UNDER SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

 For the quarterly period ended June 30, 2021

☐ TRANSITION REPORT UNDER SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE EXCHANGE ACT

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

Indicate by check mark whether the issuer (1) filed all reports required to be filed by Section 13 or 15(d) of the Exchange Act during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to file such reports), and (2) has been subject to such filing requirements for the past 90 days.     ☒  Yes   ☐ No

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant has submitted electronically, every Interactive Data File required to be submitted pursuant to Rule 405 of Regulation S-T (232.405 of this chapter) during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to submit such files).       ☒  Yes   ☐ No

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is a large accelerated filer, an accelerated filer, a non-accelerated filer, a smaller reporting company or an emerging growth company; See the definitions of “large accelerated filer”, “accelerated filer”, “non-accelerated filer”, “smaller reporting company” or “emerging growth company” in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act.

☐	large accelerated filer	☐	accelerated filer	☐	Non-accelerated filer	☒	smaller reporting company	☒	emerging growth company

If an emerging growth company, indicate by check mark if the registrant has elected not to extend the transition period for complying with any new or revised financial accounting standards provided pursuant to Section 13(a) of the Exchange Act. ☐

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is a shell company (as defined in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act).    ☐  Yes   ☒ No

As of August 19, 2021, there were 12,872,245 shares of the registrant’s common stock outstanding.

2

PART I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Item 1 - Interim Consolidated Financial Statements June 30, 2021

TEO Foods, Inc.

CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS

	June 30, 2021	December 31, 2020
Assets	(Unaudited)
Current assets
Cash and cash equivalents	$4,019	$27,539
Accounts receivable, net	40,867	28,591
License and royalty income receivable	12,959	7,957
Inventories, net	2,128	13,386
Taxes receivable, net	22,584	96,321
Prepaid and other assets	12,718	13,301
Total current assets	95,275	187,095

Property and equipment, net	46,081	51,456

Royalty Agreement	31,929	31,929

Total assets	$173,285	$270,480

Liabilities and stockholders' (deficit)
Current liabilities
Accounts payable and accrued expenses	$150,914	$934,483
License fee payable - related party	632,733	634,733
Notes payable	100,000	100,000
Convertible note payable - current portion	282,000	220,000
Total current liabilities	1,165,647	1,889,216

Total liabilities	1,165,647	1,889,216

Commitments and contingencies (Note 14)

Stockholders' deficit
Preferred stock, $0.001 par value, 10,000,000 shares authorized, 9,022,900 shares issued and outstanding	9,023	9,023
Common stock , $0.001 par value, 490,000,000 shares authorized, 12,872,245 and 12,622,245 shares issued and outstanding as of June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, respectively	12,873	12,623
Additional paid -in-capital	1,096,891	277,229
Accumulated deficit	(2,117,227)	(1,917,183)
Other comprehensive income	6,078	(428)
Total stockholders' deficit	(992,362)	(1,618,736)

Total liabilities and stockholders' deficit	$173,285	$270,480

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.

3

TEO Foods, Inc.

CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS AND COMPREHENSIVE INCOME

(Unaudited)

	For the Six Months Ended June 30,		For the Three Months Ended June 30,
	2021	2020	2021	2020

Sales	$45,531	$294,070	$35,481	$102,229
Cost of sales	(3,051)	(212,891)	443	(43,378)
Gross profit	42,480	81,178	35,924	58,851

Operating expense
Payroll	21,899	139,339	10,675	23,550
General and administrative	19,877	53,552	41,242	19,071
Rent and lease	82,380	41,396	10,551	23,865
Professional fees	112,682	32,755	67,682	24,467
Advertising and marketing	—	1,469	—	466
Depreciation	4,953	7,319	2,619	1,657
Total operating expenses	241,791	275,830	132,769	93,076

Operating loss	(199,311)	(194,651)	(96,845)	(34,225)

Other income (expense)
Licensing and royalty income	12,959	—	6,864	—
Other income (expense)	293	(4,804)	1,260	(25,503)
Interest expense	(13,985)	(12,880)	(7,281)	(6,457)
Total other (loss) income	(733)	(17,684)	843	(31,960)

Net (loss) income before income taxes	(200,044)	(212,335)	(96,002)	(66,185)
Income tax expense	—	—	—	—
Net (loss) income	(200,044)	(212,335)	(96,002)	(66,185)

Other comprehensive (loss) income
Foreign currency transaction adjustment	6,078	115,805	13,824	141,556
Comprehensive income (loss)	$(193,966)	$(96,530)	$(82,178)	75,371

Earnings (loss) per common share -
Basic and diluted	$(0.02)	$(0.02)	$(0.01)	(0.01)
Weighted average common
shares outstanding – basic and diluted	12,794,897	12,662,245	12,872,245	12,662,245

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.

4

TEO Foods Inc.

CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS

(Unaudited)

	For the Six Months Ended June 30,
	2021	2020

Net loss	$(200,044)	$(212,335)

Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net Cash used in operations:
Depreciation expense	4,953	7,391

Changes in operating assets and liabilities:
Accounts receivable, net	(25,125)	(96,696)

Royalty and licensing income receivable	(5,002)	(7,802)
Inventories, net	(6,003)	104,560
Tax receivables	—	(92,332)
Prepaid and other assets	583	55,686
Accounts payable and accrued expenses	101,147	(45,289)
Net cash (used) in operating activities	(129,491)	(102,225)

Cash flows from investing activities

Purchase of property and equipment	(6,959)	(3,231)
Net cash (used) in investing activities	(6,959)	(3,231)

Cash flows from financing activities

Proceeds from issuance of promissory notes	62,000	—
Proceeds from issuance of common stock	50,000	—
Capital contribution as a result of Targa disposal, net of cash	(3,149)	—
Payment of deemed dividend to Teo Inc. for license	(2,000)	(30,000)
Net cash provided by (used) in financing activities	106,851	(30,000)

Effect of foreign currency exchange translation	6,079	134,770

Net change for period	(23,520)	(686)
Cash at beginning of period	27,539	194,864
Cash at end of period	$4,019	$194,178

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.

5

TEO Foods, Inc.

CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF STOCKHOLDERS’ DEFICIT (Unaudited)

	Preferred Stock		Common Stock		Paid-in	Accumulated	Comprehensive
	Shares	Amount	Shares	Amount	Capital	deficit	Gain(loss)	Total
Six months ended June 30, 2020
Balance - December 31, 2019	9,022,900	$9,023	12,622,245	$12,623	$277,229	$(1,285,459)	$115,949	$(870,635)
Foreign currency translation adjustments	—	—	—	—	—	—	(25,751)	(25,751)
Net (loss) income	—	—	—	—	—	(146,150)	—	(146,150)
Balance - March 31, 2020	9,022,900	$9,023	12,622,245	$12,623	$277,229	$(1,431,609)	$90,198	$(1,042,536)
Foreign currency translation adjustments	—	—	—	—	—	—	141,556	141,556
Net (loss) income	—	—	—	—	—	(66,185)	—	(66,185)
Balance – June 30, 2020	9,022,900	$9,023	12,622,245	$12,623	$277,229	$(1,497,794)	$231,754	$(967,165)

Six months ended June 30, 2021
Balance - December 31, 2020	9,022,900	$9,023	12,622,245	$12,623	$277,229	$(1,917,183)	$(428)	$(1,618,736)
Capital contribution for disposal of Targa	—	—	—	—	769,912	—	428	770,340
Stock issued for cash	—	—	250,000	250	49,750	—	—	50,000
Foreign currency translation adjustments	—	—	—	—	—	—	7,746	7,746
Net (loss) income	—	—	—	—	—	(104,042)	—	(103,256)
Balance March 31, 2021	9,022,900	$9,023	12,872,245	$12,873	$1,096,891	$(2,021,225)	$7,746	$(894,692)
Foreign currency translation adjustments	—	—	—	—	—	—	(1,668)	(1,668)
Net (loss) income	—	—	—	—	—	(96,002)	—	(96,002)
Balance June 30, 2021	9,022,900	$9,023	12,872,245	$12,873	$1,096,891	$(2,117,227)	$6,078	$(992,362)

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

10

NOTE 5 – INVENTORY

Inventories consists of raw materials and finished goods located in the Company’s warehouse in Tijuana, Mexico. At June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, inventories were $2,128 and $13,386, respectively.

NOTE 6 – TAX RECEIVABLES

Tax receivables represent credits from the Mexican taxing authority. The Company’s Mexican subsidiaries have accumulated IVA tax payments that exceeded its IVA tax liabilities. The Company periodically applies for refunds of these accumulated overpayments. These overpayments are also available to the Company to offset future IVA liabilities. The net tax receivable balance at June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020 of $22,584 and $96,321, respectively is net of a reserve for the possible uncollectable portion of the tax credits totaling $0 and $418,953, respectively.

NOTE 7 – PROPERTY AND EQUIPMENT

At June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, property and equipment consisted of the following:

	June 30, 2021	December 31, 2020
Furniture and fixtures	$—	$356
Machinery and equipment	39,581	71,554
Transportation equipment	12,953	12,953
	52,534	84,863
Less accumulated depreciation	(6,453)	(33,407)
	$46,081	$51,456

Depreciation expense for the six months ended June 30, 2021 and as of December 31, 2020 was $4,953 and $13,034, respectively. The estimated useful lives of fixed assets is 5 years.

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

As a result of TEO being the majority shareholder of the Company and TEO's basis in the license being $0, the Company recorded a deemed dividend of $1 million for the initial fee payable to TEO. As of June 30, 2021, and December 31, 2020, the outstanding balance of the license fee payable was $632,733 and $634,733, respectively. For the six months ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, the Company made payments toward the license of $2,000 and $15,000, respectively.

11

NOTE 9 – NOTES PAYABLE

On July 31, 2018, the Company issued a note for $100,000 in principal bearing interest at 8% maturing on October 31, 2018. This note was subsequently amended to extend the maturity date to December 31, 2021. As of June 30, 2021, and December 31, 2020, the outstanding principal balance of the note was $100,000.

Convertible Note Payable

On June 28, 2018, the Company issued a note for $100,000. The note bears an 8% interest rate, due at maturity. The note is convertible into common shares at a 20% discount to the 30-day average bid price of the Company's common shares, as may be quoted on the OTCQB, OTCQX or listing on a national stock exchange, but at no rate lower than $0.20 per share. The maturity date of the note is December 31, 2021.

On February 4, 2019, the Company issued a note for $120,000. The note bears an 8% interest rate, due at maturity. The note can be converted to common stock at $0.20 per share or the 30-day average bid price of the Company's common shares, as may be quoted on the OTCQB, OTCQX or listing on a national stock exchange, but at no rate lower than $0.20 per share and converts automatically upon certain conditions. The note bears no interest until September 30, 2019 and then bears 8% interest, if not converted to common stock. The maturity date of the note is December 31, 2021.

On May 5, 2021, the Company issued a note for $25,000. The note bears an 8% interest rate, due at maturity. The note is convertible into common shares at a 20% discount to the 30-day average bid price of the Company's common shares, as may be quoted on the OTCQB, OTCQX or listing on a national stock exchange, but at no rate lower than $0.20 per share. The maturity date of the note is December 31, 2021.

On June 1, 2021, the Company issued a note for $20,000. The note bears an 8% interest rate, due at maturity. The note is convertible into common shares at a 20% discount to the 30-day average bid price of the Company's common shares, as may be quoted on the OTCQB, OTCQX or listing on a national stock exchange, but at no rate lower than $0.20 per share. The maturity date of the note is June 1, 2022.

On June 2, 2021, the Company issued a note for $17,000. The note bears an 8% interest rate, due at maturity. The note is convertible into common shares at a 20% discount to the 30-day average bid price of the Company's common shares, as may be quoted on the OTCQB, OTCQX or listing on a national stock exchange, but at no rate lower than $0.20 per share. The maturity date of the note is December 31, 2021.

As of June 30, 2021 and 2020, there is not a quoted bid price available as the Company’s shares are not listed on any exchanges. As the minimum conversion rate at the time of issuance is greater than or equal to the current stock value based on other similar transactions, these notes are not deemed to have an embedded derivative associated with them.

The principal balance of convertible debt at June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020 amounted to $282,000 and $220,000, respectively.

12

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

The provision for Federal income tax consists of the following June 30, 2021 and 2020:

Federal income tax (expense) benefit attributable to:	June 30, 2021	June 30, 2020
Current Operations	$42,009	$40,383
Less: valuation allowance	(42,009)	(40,383)
Net provision for Federal income taxes	$—	$—

The cumulative tax effect at the expected rate of 21% of significant items comprising our net deferred tax amount is as follows:

Deferred tax asset attributable to:	June 30, 2021	December 31, 2020
Net operating loss carryover	$199,107	$157,098
Less: valuation allowance	(199,107)	(157,098)
Net deferred tax asset	$—	$—

At June 30, 2021, the Company had net operating loss carry forwards of approximately $950,000 that may be offset against future taxable income. No tax benefit has been reported in the June 30, 2021 or December 31, 2020 consolidated financial statements since the potential tax benefit is offset by a valuation allowance of the same amount.

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

13

NOTE 12 - RELATED PARTY TRANSACTIONS

The Company has various related party receivables and payables derived from normal operating activities. These balances are non-interest bearing and are periodically settled as cash flow permits. These payables may include accrued compensation to officers. As of June 30, 2021, $47,600 was owed to the CEO and $0 at December 31, 2020.

Master License Agreement

On September 30, 2017, the Company entered into a Master Agreement with TEO, the founder and majority controlling shareholder of the Company. See Note 8.

NOTE 13 –ROYALTY AND LICENSE AGREEMENTS

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

As of June 30, 2021, the Company has received a total of $34,349 in licensing and royalty revenue from this agreement.

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

At June 30, 2021, the Company had three leases on commercial units that are contiguous in the same building located in Tijuana Mexico and comprising approximately 38,000 square feet total. The leases are 12 month leases with option to renew for additional 12 month periods. The total rents are approximately $14,000 per month gross with no additional common fees or other charges. The Company paid a total of $82,380 in the six month period ended June 30, 2021 related to the leases of commercial units in Tijuana.

NOTE 15 – CONCENTRATIONS

Cash Deposit

The Company minimizes its credit risk associated with cash by periodically evaluating the credit quality of its primary financial institution. The balance at times may exceed federally insured limits. At June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, no cash balances exceeded the federally insured limit.

NOTE 16 - SUBSEQUENT EVENTS

On July 12, 2021, the Company issued a note for $40,000. The note bears an 8% interest rate, due at maturity. The note is convertible into common shares at a 20% discount to the 30-day average bid price of the Company's common shares, as may be quoted on the OTCQB, OTCQX or listing on a national stock exchange, but at no rate lower than $0.20 per share. The maturity date of the note is December 31, 2021.

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

15

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

16

Results of Operations

Results of Operations for the Three Months Ended June 30, 2021 and 2020

During the three-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, the Company had $35,481 and $102,229 in sales revenue, respectively. The change was the result of the licensing and royalty agreement where the direct sales of the Nerys branded cheese products in Mexico were transferred. During the three-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, the Company had $6,864 and $0 in licensing and royalty revenue, respectively. The new production facility became operational in February 2021, additional facilities and equipment are being added to expand production opportunities.

During the three-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, we had general and administrative expenses of $10,551 and $23,865, respectively. Payroll expenses were $10,675 and $23,550 during the three-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, respectively. These expenses were reduced throughout the time between the periods by reducing consultants and administrative staff but are expected to increase as we continue to add production staff for operations. Rent and lease expenses were $41,242 and $19,071 for the three-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, respectively. Rent and lease expenses increased due to the addition of two new building units in September 2020. Depreciation expenses were $2,619 and $1,657 for the three-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, respectively.

Interest expense was $7,281 and $6,457 for the three-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, respectively. This interest primarily related to notes payable.

The Company's net loss for the three-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020 was $96,002 and $66,185, respectively. The losses in 2020 benefitted from the elimination of operations and expenses related to products and services that were not profitable. The losses in 2021 were impacted by additional lease expenses and professional fees.

Results of Operations for the Six Months Ended June 30, 2021 and 2020

During the six-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, the Company had $45,531 and $294,070 in sales revenue, respectively. The change was the result of the licensing and royalty agreement where the direct sales of the Nerys branded cheese products in Mexico were transferred. During the six-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, the Company had $12,959 and $0 in licensing and royalty revenue, respectively. Revenue increased over the first quarter of 2021 due to expanding production operations. We believe that production opportunities we have been doing pilot runs and product development for will result in our ability to continue to expand operations in the third quarter of 2021.

During the six-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, we had general and administrative expenses of $19,877 and $23,865, respectively. Payroll expenses were $21,899 and $139,339 during the six-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, respectively. These expenses were reduced throughout the time between the periods by reducing consultants and administrative staff but are expected to increase as we continue to add production staff for operations. Rent and lease expenses were $82,380 and $41,396 for the six-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, respectively. Rent and lease expected to increase due to the addition of two new building units in September 2020. Depreciation expenses were $4,953 and $7,319 for the six-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, respectively.

Interest expense was $13,985 and $12,880 for the six-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, respectively. This interest primarily related to notes payable.

The Company's net loss for the six-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020 was $200,044 and $212,335, respectively. The losses in 2020 benefitted from the elimination of operations and expenses related to products and services that were not profitable. The losses in 2021 were impacted by additional lease expenses and professional fees.

Expenses are expected to increase as our operations develop and we begin to provide services and introduce new products into the market.

Liquidity and Capital Resources

As of June 30, 2021, we had total assets of $173,285 and total liabilities of $1,165,647. As of December 31, 2020, we had total assets of $270,480 and total liabilities of $1,889,126. During the six-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, the Company paid $2,000 and $30,000, respectively, toward the current portion of the license fee payable.

Net cash used in investing activities for the six-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020 was $6,959 and $3,231, respectively. Net cash provided and (used) from financing activities for the six-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020 was $106,851 and ($30,000), respectively. The difference is primarily due to sales of equity and the issuance of promissory notes for the six-month periods ended June 30, 2021 and 2020 of $102,000 and $0, respectively.

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

17

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

18

PART II - OTHER INFORMATION

Item 1 - Legal Proceedings

No disclosure required.

Item 1A - Risk Factors

Not required for Smaller Reporting Companies.

Item 2 - Unregistered Sales of Equity Securities and Use of Proceeds

No disclosure required.

Item 3 - Defaults Upon Senior Securities

No disclosure required.

Item 4 – Mine Safety Disclosures

No disclosure required.

Item 5 - Other Information

No disclosure required.

Item 6 - Exhibits

Exhibit No.	Description

31.1*	Certification of Principal Executive Officer, pursuant to Rule 13a-14(a)/15d-14(a) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934.
31.2*	Certification of Principal Financial Officer, pursuant to Rule 13a-14(a)/15d-14(a) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934.
32.1*	Certification of Principal Executive Officer, pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350, as adopted pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002.
32.2*	Certification of Principal Financial Officer, pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350, as adopted pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002.
101.INS**	Inline XBRL Instance Document.
101.SCH**	Inline XBRL Taxonomy Extension Schema Document.
101.CAL**	Inline XBRL Taxonomy Extension Calculation Linkbase Document.
101.DEF**	Inline XBRL Taxonomy Extension Definition Linkbase Document.
101.LAB**	Inline XBRL Taxonomy Extension Label Linkbase Document.
101.PRE**	Inline XBRL Taxonomy Extension Presentation Linkbase Document.
104*	Cover Page Interactive Data File - the cover page from the Registrant’s Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2021 is formatted in Inline XBRL

*   Filed herewith

** Furnished herewith

19

SIGNATURES

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned, thereunto duly authorized.

TEO Foods Inc.

Date: August 20, 2021	By:	/s/ Jeffrey H. Mackay
Jeffrey H. Mackay, CEO and President
Principal Executive Officer

Date: August 20, 2021	By:	/s/ John O’Keefe
John O’Keefe, Chief Financial Officer
Principal Financial Officer

 20